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326B.986 FEES FOR INSPECTION.

Subdivision 1. Fee amount; vessels operated on inland waters. The fees for the inspection
of the hull, boiler, machinery, and equipment of vessels operated on inland waters and that carry
passengers for hire are as follows:

(1) annual operating permit and safety inspections shall be $200; and

(2) other inspections, including dry-dock inspections, boat stability tests, and plan reviews,
are billed at the hourly rate set in subdivision 4.

Subd. 2. Fee amounts; master's. The license and application fee for an initial master's
license is $70, or $40 if the applicant possesses a valid, unlimited, current United States Coast
Guard master's license. The renewal fee for a master's license is $20 for one year or $40 for two
years. If the renewal fee is paid later than 30 days after expiration, then a late fee of $15 will be
added to the renewal fee.

Subd. 3. Boiler and pressure vessel inspection fees. The fees for the annual inspection of
boilers and biennial inspection of pressure vessels are as follows:

(1) boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, $55;

(2) boiler accessible for internal inspection, $55;

(3) boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet heating surface shall be billed at the
hourly rate set in subdivision 4;

(4) boiler accessible for internal inspection requiring one-half day or more of inspection time
shall be billed at the hourly rate set in subdivision 4;

(5) pressure vessel for internal inspection via manhole, $35; and

(6) pressure vessel inaccessible for internal inspection, $35.

Subd. 4. Hourly rate. The hourly rate for an inspection not set elsewhere in sections
326B.952 to 326B.998 is $80 per hour. Inspection time includes all time related to the inspection.
Travel time, billed at the hourly rate, and travel expenses shall be billed for shop inspections,
triennial audits, boat stability tests, hydrostatic tests of a boiler or pressure vessel, or any other
inspection or consultation requiring a special trip.

Subd. 5. Boiler engineer license fees. (a) For the following licenses, the nonrefundable
license and application fee is:

(1) chief engineer's license, $70;

(2) first class engineer's license, $70;

Copyright © 2009 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



2 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2009 326B.986

(3) second class engineer's license, $70;

(4) special engineer's license, $40;

(5) traction or hobby boiler engineer's license, $50; and

(6) provisional license, $50.

(b) An engineer's license, except a provisional license, may be renewed upon application and
payment of a renewal fee of $20 for one year or $40 for two years. If the renewal fee is paid later
than 30 days after expiration, then a late fee of $15 will be added to the renewal fee.

Subd. 6. National board inspectors. The fee for an examination of an applicant for a
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessels Inspectors commission is $100.

Subd. 7. Nuclear endorsement. The fee for each examination of an applicant for a National
Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessels commissioned inspectors nuclear endorsement is $100.

Subd. 8. Certificate of competency. The fee for issuance of the original state of Minnesota
certificate of competency for inspectors is $85 for inspectors who did not pay the examination fee
or $35 for inspectors who paid the examination fee. All initial certificates of competency shall be
effective for more than one calendar year and shall expire on December 31 of the year after the
year in which the application is made. The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the
commissioner, without the need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of
certificates of competency from one calendar year to two calendar years. By June 30, 2011, all
renewed certificates of competency shall be valid for two calendar years. The fee for renewal
of the state of Minnesota certificate of competency is $35 for one year or $70 for two years,
and is due the day after the certificate expires.

Subd. 9. Boiler and pressure vessel registration fee. The annual registration fee for boilers
and pressure vessels in use and required to be inspected per section 326B.958 shall be $10 per
boiler and pressure vessel.

Subd. 10. Late fee. The commissioner may assess a late fee of up to $100 for each invoice
issued under subdivision 1, 3, or 4 that is not paid in full by the due date stated on the invoice.

History: 1957 c 503 s 17; 1959 c 586 s 1; 1969 c 1148 s 30-32; 1974 c 427 s 1,2; 1978 c
485 s 1-4; 1982 c 379 s 19; 1983 c 301 s 157; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 296; 1987 c 70 s 5; 1989 c 335
art 4 s 106; 1996 c 305 art 3 s 27; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 4 s 49; 2007 c 140 art 9 s 15,27; art 13 s
4; 2008 c 309 s 4; 2009 c 78 art 5 s 28-30
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