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326B.956 STEAM FARM TRACTION ENGINES; SHOW BOILERS AND ENGINES.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of sections 326B.952 to 326B.998, the terms
"show boiler" and "hobby boiler" are synonymous and mean a boiler that is used only for display
and demonstration purposes. In recognition of the historical significance of show boilers in
maintaining a working reminder of Minnesota's agricultural, transportation, and lumber industries,

show boilers and engines are considered to be historical artifacts.

Subd. 2. Inspection. When used for display and demonstration purposes, steam farm traction
engines, portable and stationary show engines and portable and stationary show boilers shall be
inspected every two years according to law.

(a) Show boilers or engines not certified in Minnesota shall be inspected thoroughly by a
boiler inspector certified to inspect boilers in Minnesota, using inspection standards in paragraph

(b), before being certified for use in Minnesota.

(b) Standards for inspection of show boilers shall be those established by the National Board
Inspection Code ANSI/NB23 and by the rules adopted by the department and as follows:

(1) the boiler shall be subjected to the appropriate method of nondestructive examination, at
the owner's expense, as deemed necessary by the boiler inspector to determine soundness and
safety of the boiler;

(2) the boiler shall be tested by ultrasonic examination for metal thickness (for purposes
of calculating the maximum allowable working pressure the thinnest reading shall be used and
a safety factor of six shall be used in calculating maximum allowable working pressure on all
non-ASME-code hobby and show boilers); and

(3) repairs and alterations made to show boilers must be made pursuant to section 326B.966.
(c) Further each such object shall successfully complete an inspection of:
(1) the fusible plug;

(2) the safety valve, which must be of ASME approved design and set at the maximum
allowable working pressure and sealed in an appropriate manner not allowing tampering with the
valve setting without destroying the seal; and

(3) the boiler power piping.

Any longitudinal cracks found in riveted longitudinal seams requires that the vessel be
sealed and not approved for use in Minnesota. If the boiler or show engine is jacketed, the jacket

must be removed prior to inspection.
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Subd. 3. Inspection fees. The fee for inspecting traction engines, show boilers, and show

engines shall be the hourly rate pursuant to section 326B.986, subdivision 4.

Subd. 4. Licenses. A license to operate steam farm traction engines, portable and stationary

show engines, and portable and stationary show boilers shall be issued to an applicant who:
(1) is 16 years of age or older;

(2) has a licensed second class grade A or higher class engineer or steam traction (hobby)
engineer sign an affidavit attesting to the applicant's competence in operating these devices and
that the applicant has demonstrated the ability to perform each task on the list, approved by the

chief boiler inspector, of tasks associated with the operation of the devices;

(3) has at least 50 hours of operating experience on the devices, eight hours of which must be
operating the boiler under load, and up to 16 hours of which may be satisfied by attendance at a

school of instruction in operating the devices;
(4) passes a written test for competence in operating the devices; and
(5) pays the required fee.

A license is valid for the lifetime of the licensee unless revoked for cause. A onetime fee pursuant
to section 326B.986, subdivision 5, shall be charged for the license.

Subd. 5. Exemption. Any licensed steam engineer may operate steam farm traction engines,
portable and stationary show engines and portable and stationary show boilers, subject to the
apparatus and horsepower restrictions set forth in the license, without obtaining a license under

subdivision 4.

Subd. 6. Licensed operator; presence required. An operator licensed under this section
must be present when a traction engine, portable or stationary show engine, or portable or

stationary show boiler is in operation and a member of the public is present.

History: 71980 ¢ 601 s 1; 1981 ¢ 385 1, 1983 ¢ 301 s 156, 1986 ¢ 444; 1987 ¢ 70 s 2,3, 1988
c719art 195 2-4; 1991 ¢ 331 s 1; 1994 ¢ 402 s 1; 1996 ¢ 305 art 3 s 25,26; 1997 ¢ 38 5 1-3;
18p2005 ¢ 1 art 4 s 43,44, 2007 ¢ 140 art 95 3,27; art 13 5 4, 2008 ¢ 309 s 1
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