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CHAPTER 571 

GARNISHMENT
Prejudgm cnt garnishm ent before 
notice and hearing.
Prejudgment garnishment after notice 
and hearing.

571.72 GENERAL GARNISHMENT PROVISIONS.

[For text o f subds I to 7, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 8. Exemption notice. In every garnishment where the debtor is a natural person, 
the debtor shall be provided with a garnishment exemption notice. If the creditor is garnish­
ing earnings, the earnings exemption notice provided in section 571.924 must be served ten 
or more days before the service of the first garnishment summons. If the creditor is garnish­
ing funds in a financial institution, the exemption notice provided in section 571.912 must be 
served with the garnishment summons. In all other cases, the exemption notice must be in the 
following form and served on the debtor with a copy of the garnishment summons.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ........................................  .................... JUDICIAL DISTRICT
.......................................... (Creditor)
against
.......................................... (Debtor) EXEMPTION NOTICE
and
.......................................... (Garnishee)

A Garnishment Summons is being served upon you. Some of your property may be ex­
empt and cannot be garnished. The following is a list of some of the more common exemp­
tions. It is not complete and is subject to section 550.37 of the Minnesota Statutes and other 
state and federal laws. The dollar amounts contained in this list are subject to the provisions. 
of section 550.37, subdivision 4a, at the time of garnishment. If you have questions about an 
exemption, you should obtain legal advice.

(1) a homestead or the proceeds from the sale of a homestead;
(2) household furniture, appliances, phonographs, radios, and televisions up to a total 

current value of $5,850;
(3) a manufactured (mobile) home used as your home;
(4) one motor vehicle currently worth less than $2;600 after deducting any security in­

terest;
(5) farm machinery used by an individual principally engaged in farming, or tools, ma­

chines, or office furniture used in your business or trade. This exemption is limited to 
$13,000; •

(6) relief based on need. This includes:
(i) Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) and Work First Program;
(ii) Medical Assistance (MA);
(iii) General Assistance (GA);
(iv) General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC);
(v) Emergency General Assistance (EGA);
(vi) Minnesota Supplemental AID (MSA);
(vii) MSA-Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA);
(viii) Supplemental Security Income (SSI); .
(ix) Energy Assistance; and
(x) Emergency Assistance (EA);

571.72 General garnishment provisions. 571.931
571.75 Garnishee disclosure.
571.912 Form of exemption notice. 571.932
571.925 Form of notice.
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571.72 GARNISHMENT 228

(7) social security benefits;
(8) reemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, or veteran’s benefits;
(9) an accident, disability, or retirement pension or annuity;
(10) life insurance proceeds;
(11) earnings of your minor child; and
(12) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (such as house­

hold goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or a car).

[For text o f subd 9, see M. S. 1998/

History: 1999 c 107 s 66; 1999 c 159 s 148

571.75 GARNISHEE DISCLOSURE.

. [For text o f subd 1, see M.S.J998J

Subd. 2. Contents of disclosure. The disclosure must state:
(a) Tf an earnings garnishment disclosure, the amount of disposable earnings earned by 

the debtor within the debtor’s pay periods as specified in section 571.921.
(b) If a nonearnings garnishment disclosure, a description of any personal property or 

any instrument or papers relating to this property belonging to the judgment debtor or in 
which the debtor is interested or other indebtedness of the garnishee to the debtor.

(c) If the garnishee asserts any setoff, defense, claim, or lien on disposable earnings, 
other indebtedness, money, or property, the garnishee shall disclose the amount and the facts 
concerning the same.

(d) Whether the debtor asserts any exemption, or any other objection, known to the gar­
nishee against the right of the creditor to garnish the disposable earnings, other indebtedness, 
money, or property disclosed.

(e) If other persons assert claims to any disposable earnings, other indebtedness, money, 
or property disclosed, the garnishee shall disclose the names and addresses of these claimants 
and, so far as known by the garnishee, the nature of their claims.

(f) The garnishment disclosure forms and earnings disclosure worksheet must be the 
same or substantially-similar to the following forms. If the garnishment affects earnings of 
the debtor, the creditor shall use the earnings garnishment disclosure form. If the garnish­
ment affects any indebtedness, money, or property of the debtor, other than earnings, the 
creditor shall;use the nonearnings garnishment disclosure form. Nothing contained in this 
paragraph limits the simultaneous use of the earnings and nonearnings garnishment disclo­
sure forms.

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM AND WORKSHEET

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF . . . : ...............................  ........................... JUDICIAL DISTRICT

...................... : .  . (Creditor)
.......................................... (Debtor) GARNISHMENT
.......................................... (Garnishee) EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

DEFINITIONS
“EARNINGS”: For the purpose of garnishment, “earnings” means compensation paid 

or payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the pro­
ducer for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultur­
al products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corpora­
tion, or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether 
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic pay­
ments pursuant to a pension or retirement.

“DISPOSABLE EARNINGS”: Means that part of the earnings of an individual remain­
ing after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld.
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229 GARNISHMENT 571.75

(Amounts required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, char­
itable contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

“PAYDAY”: For the purpose of garnishment, “payday(s)” means the date(s) upon 
which the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the debt­
or has no regular payday, payday(s) means the fifteenth and the last day of each month. 

THE GARNISHEE MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:
1. Do you now owe, or within 70 days from die date the garnishment summons was 

served on you, will you or do you expect to owe money to the debtor for earnings?

Yes ................ ' No . . . . . . . .
2. Does the debtor earn more than $ ........per week? (This amount is the federal mini­

mum wage per week.)

Yes ................ No . . . . . . . .

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 
: EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to either question 1 or 2 is “No,” then you must sign the affirmation on 
Page 2 and return this disclosure to the creditor’s attorney (or the creditor if not represented 
by an attorney) within 20 days after it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the 
remaining questions.

B. If your answers to both questions 1 and 2 are “Yes,” you must complete this form and 
the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 70 days from the date the garnishment summons 
was served on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by 
completing Steps 3 through 11, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure 
Worksheet. UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE 
DEBTOR WITH INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS RE­
QUIRED BY THIS DISCLOSURE WERE M A D E.:
Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in Column I on the 
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
You must return this Earnings Disclosure Form and the Earnings Disclosure 

. Worksheet to the creditor’s attorney (or the creditor if not represented by an attor­
ney) and deliver a copy to the debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls 
within the 70-day period.
If the claim is wholly satisfied or if the debtor’s employment ends before the ex­
piration of the 70-day period, your disclosure should be made within ten days after 
the last payday for which earnings were attached.

For Steps 3 through 11, “Columns” refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
3. COLUMN A. Enter the date of debtor’s

payday.
4. COLUMN B. Enter debtor’s gross earnings for

each payday.
5. COLUMN C. Enter debtor’s disposable earnings

for each payday.
6. COLUMN D. Enter 25 percent of disposable earnings.

(Multiply Column C by .25.)
7. COLUMN E. Enter here 40 times the hourly federal

minimum wage ($ . . .  ) times the number , 
of work weeks included in each payday. (Note:
If a pay period includes days in excess of 
whole work weeks, the additional days should 
be counted as a fraction of a work week equal 
to the number of work days in excess of a 
whole work week divided by the number of work 
days in a normal work week.)
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571.75 GARNISHMENT 230

8. COLUMN F.

9. COLUMN G.

10. COLUMN H.

Subtract the amount in Column E from the 
amount in Column C, and enter here.
Enter here the lesser of the amount in 
Column D and the amount in Column F.
Enter here any amount claimed by you as a 
setoff, defense, lien, or claim, or any 
amount claimed by any other person as an 
exemption or adverse interest which would 
reduce the amount of earnings owing to the 
debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness to you 
incurred by the debtor within the ten 
days before the receipt of the first 
garnishment on a debt may not be set 
off against amounts otherwise subjcct to 
the garnishment. Any assignment of earnings 
made by the debtor to any party within ten 
days before the receipt of the first 
garnishment on a debt is void.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the 
claims of others, if known, in the space 
provided below the worksheet and state the 
name(s) and address(es) of these persons.

Enter zero in Column H if there are no 
claims by you or others which would reduce 
the amount of earnings owing to the debtor.
Subtract the amount in Column H from the 
amount in Column G and enter here. This is 
the amount of earnings that you must retain 
for the payday for which the calculations 
were made.

AFFIRMATION
I , ........................(person signing Affirmation), am the garnishee or I am authorized by

the garnishee to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done so truthfully and to the best 
of my knowledge.
Dated: ............................................... ..............................................................................

Signature .

T i t le ................................................................

Telephone Number 

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET

II. COLUMN I.

1.
2 .

3.
4.
5.
6 .

Debtor’s Name

A B C
Payday Gross Disposable
Date Earnings Earnings
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231 GARNISHMENT 571.75

7.
8.
9.
10.

D E F
25% of 40 X Min. Column C
Column C Wage minus

Column E

1. 
2 .
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8 .

9.
10.

G
Lesser of 
Column D 
and
Column F

H
Setoff, Lien, 
Adverse 
Interest, or 
Other Claims

I
Column G 
minus 
Column H

1......................................................................................................................
2 .

 3  ” ! ’ ’ ’ ’ ’ ! !  ”  X ! ” ! !  ”
 4  
 5  
 6 ..................... ..............................
 7 .............................................................................
 8 
 9 ; ....................
1 0 .............................................

TOTAL OF COLUMN I $ ...................... , ...........

*If you entered any amount in Column Ii for any payday(s), you must describe below 
either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others you must both state 
the names and addresses of these persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION

I , ......................... (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by
the third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully 
and to the best of my knowledge.
Dated: ..............................................................
Signature ..........................................................
Title ............................................................
Telephone Number ( . . . )  .............................
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571.75 GARNISHMENT 232

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM AND WORKSHEET 
FOR CHILD SUPPORT DEBTOR

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
COUNTY OF ..................

DISTRICT COURT
JUDICIAL DISTRICT

(Creditor)
(Debtor)
(Garnishee)

GARNISHMENT 
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

DEFINITIONS

“EARNINGS”: For the purpose of execution, “earnings” means compensation paid or 
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the produc­
er for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural 
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation, 
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in seciion 500.24, subdivision 2, whether de­
nominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic pay­
ments pursuant to a pension or retirement, workers’ compensation, or reemployment com­
pensation.

“DISPOSABLE EARNINGS”: Means that part of the earnings of an individual remain­
ing after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. 
(Amounts required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, char­
itable contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

“PAYDAY”: For the purpose of execution, “payday(s)” means the date(s) upon which 
the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If thejudgment 
debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of each month.

THE GARNISHEE MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTION:
(1) Do you now owe, or within 70 days from the date the execution levy was served on 

you, will you or may you owe money to the debtor for earnings?

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to question 1 is “No,’’ then you must sign the affirmation below and 
return this disclosure to the creditor’s attorney (or the creditor if not represented by an attor­
ney) within 20 days after it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the remaining

B. If your answer to question I is “Yes,” you must complete this form and the Earnings 
Disclosure Worksheet as follows.:

For each payday that falls within 70 days from the date the garnishment summons 
was served on you, Y OU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by 
completing steps 2 through 8 on page 2, and enterthe amounts on the Earnings Dis­
closure Worksheet. UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE 
THE DEBTOR WITH INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS 
REQUIRED BY THIS DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.
Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column G on the 
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet. .
You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and 
the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the creditor’s attorney (or the creditor if not 
represented by an attorney) and deliver a copy.to the debtor within ten days after, 
the last payday that falls within the 70-day period. If the claim is wholly satisfied 
or if the debtor’s employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day period, 
your disclosure should be made within ten days after the last payday for which 
earnings were attached.

Yes No

questions.
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233 GARNISHMENT 571.75

For steps 2 through 8, “columns” refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Work­
sheet.

(2) COLUMN A. Enter the date of debtor’s payday.
(3) COLUMN B. Enter debtor’s gross earnings for each payday.
(4) COLUMN C. Enter debtor’s disposable earnings for each payday.
(5) COLUMN D. Enter either 50,55,60, or 65 percent of disposable earnings, based on 

which of the following descriptions fits the child support judgment debtor:
(a) 50 percent of thejudgment debtor’s disposable income, if thejudgm ent debtor is 

supporting a spouse or dependent child and thejudgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to 
be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(b) 55 percent of thejudgm ent debtor’s disposable income, if thejudgment debtor is 
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and thejudgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to 
be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(c) 60 percent of the judgment debtor’s disposable income, if thejudgment debtor is not 
supporting a spouse or dependent child and thejudgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to 
be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received); or

(d) 65 percent of thejudgment debtor’s disposable income, if thejudgment debtor is not 
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and thejudgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to 
be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received). 
(Multiply column C by .50, .55, .60, or .65, as appropriate.)

(6) COLUMN E. Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or 
claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest that 
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the debtor. (Note: Any assignment of earnings 
made by the debtor to any party within ten days before the receipt of the first garnishment on a 
debt is void. Any indebtedness to you incurred by the debtor within the ten days before the 
receipt of the first garnishment on a debt may not be set off against amounts otherwise subject 
to the garnishment.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space 
provided below, the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.

Enter zero in column E if there are no claims by you or others that would reduce the 
amount of earnings owing to thejudgment debtor.

(7) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column D and 
enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the 
calculations were made.

AFFIRMATION
I , .................... (person signing Affirmation), am the garnishee or 1 am authorized by the

garnishee to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done so truthfully and to the best of 
my knowledge.
Dated: ...............................  ..............................................................

Signature

Title

Telephone Number
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET ............. ..........................

Debtor’s Name
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571.75 GARNISHMENT 234

A
Payday
Date

1...............
2................
 3 
 4  
 5  
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9  1 0 

D
Either 50, 55, 
60, or 65% of 
Column C

1. 
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.

B
Gross
Earnings

E
Setoff, Lien, 
Adverse 
Interest, or 
Other Claims

C
Disposable 
Earnings 
S ................

F
Column D 
minus 
Column E

9.
10.

TOTAL OF COLUMN F $
*If you entered any amount in column E for any payday(s), you must describe below 

either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both 
state the names and addresses of such persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION
I , ..................(person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the

third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and to 
the best of my knowledge.

Signature
Dated: ....................  ...............................  ( . . .  ) ...........................

Title Phone Number

NONEARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ........................................  ..................  JUDICIAL DISTRICT
............................................... (Creditor)
against
...............................................(Debtor) NONEARNTNGS DISCLOSURE
and
...............................................(Garnishee)

On th e .... day o f ......... , ....... , the time of service of garnishment summons herein, there
was due and owing the debtor from the garnishee the following:

(1) Money. Enter on the line below any amounts due and owing the debtor, except earn­
ings, from the garnishee.
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235 GARNISHM ENT 571.912

(2) Property. Describe on the line below any personal property, instruments, or papers 
belonging to the debtor and in the possession of the garnishee.

(3) Setoff. Enter on the line below the amount of any setoff, defense, lien, or claim 
which the garnishee claims against the amount set forth on lines (1) and (2) above. State the 
facts by which the setoff, defense, lien, or claim is claimed. (Any indebtedness to a garnishee 
incurred by the debtor within the ten days before the receipt of the first garnishment on a debt 
may not be set off against amounts otherwise subject to the garnishment.)

(4) Exemption. Enter on the line below any amounts or property claimed by the debtor 
to be exempt from execution.

(5) Adverse Interest. Enter on the line below any amounts claimed by other persons by 
reason of ownership or interest in the debtor’s property.

(6) Enter on the line below the total of lines (3), (4), and (5).

(7) Enter on the line below the difference obtained (never less than zero) when line (6) is 
subtracted from the sum of lines (1) and (2).

(8) Enter on the line below 110 percent of the amount of the creditor’s claim which re­
mains unpaid.

(9) Enter on the line below the lesser of line (7) and line (8). Retain this amount only if it 
isS lO orm ore.

AFFIRMATION
I , ...................... (person signing Affirmation), am the garnishee or I am authorized by

the garnishee to complete this nonearnings garnishment disclosure, and have done so truth­
fully and to the best of my knowledge.
Dated: ............... : ............. ................................................................

Signature

Title ’ ...............................................

Telephone Number 

[ For text ofsubds 3 and 4, see M.S.1998]

History: 7999 c 107 s 66

571.912 FORM  OF EXEM PTION NOTICE.
The notice informing a debtor that an order for attachment, garnishment summons, or 

levy by execution has been used to attach funds of the debtor to satisfy a claim must be sub­
stantially in the following form:

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ........................ , ............. .................... JUDICIAL DISTRICT
.......................................................... (Creditor)
.......................................................... (Debtor)
TO: Debtor EXEMPTION NOTICE

An order for attachment, garnishment summons, or levy of execution (strike inapplica­
ble language) has been served o n ............ (bank or other financial institution)............ .
where you have an account.
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571.912 GARNISHMENT 236

Your account balance is S................
The amount being held is S............
However, all or a portion of the funds in your account will normally be exempt from 

creditors’ claims if they are in one of the following categories:
(I) relief based on need. This includes the Minnesota Family Investment Program 

(MFIP), Emergency Assistance (EA), Work First Program, Medical Assistance (MA), Gen­
eral Assistance (GA), General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), Emergency General As­
sistance (EGA), Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), MSA Emergency Assistance (MS A - 
EA), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Energy Assistance;

■ (2) Social Security benefits (Old Age, Survivors, or Disability Insurance);
(3) reemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, or veterans’ benefits;
(4) an accident, disability, or retirement pension or annuity;
(5) life insurance proceeds;
(6) the earnings of your minor child and any child support paid to you; or
(7) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (such as house­

hold goods, farm tools, business equipment, a mobile home, or a car). 1
The following funds are also exempt:
(8) all earnings of a person in category (1);:
(9) all earnings of a person who has received relief based on need, or who has been an 

inmate of a correctional institution, within the last six months;
(10) 75 percent of every debtors after tax earnings; and
(II)  all of a debtor’s after tax earnings below 40 limes the federal minimum wage.
TIME LIMIT ON EXEMPTIONS AFTER DEPOSIT IN BANK:
Categories (10) and (11): 20 days
Categories (8) and (9): 60 days
All others: no time limit, as long as funds are traceable to the exempt source. (In tracing 

funds, the first-in, first-out method is used. This means money deposited first is spent first.) 
The money being sought by the creditor is being'held in your account to give you a chance to 
claim an exemption.

T O  C L A I M  A N  E X E M P T I O N :
Fill out, sign, and mail or deliver one copy of the attached exemption claim form to the 

institution which sent you this notice and mail or deliver one copy to the creditor’s attorney. 
In the event that there is no attorney for the creditor, then such notice shall be sent directly to 
the creditor. The address for the creditor’s altorney or the creditor is set forth below. Both 
copies must be mailed or delivered on the same day.

If they do not get the exemption claim back from you within 14 days of the date they 
mailed or gave it to you, they will be free to turn the money over to the sheriff or the creditor. 
If you are going to claim an exemption, do so as soon as possible, because your money may 
be held until it is decided.

IF YOU CLAIM AN EXEMPTION:
(1) nonexempt money can be turned over to the creditor or sheriff;
(2) the financial institution will keep holding the money claimed to be exempt; and
(3) seven days'after receiving your exemption'claim, the financial institution will re­

lease the money to you unless before then it receives an objection to your exemption claim.
IF THE CREDITOR OBJECTS TO YOUR EXEMPTION CLAIM:
The'institution will hold the money until a court decides if your exemption claim is val­

id, BUT ONLY IF the institution gets a copy of your court motion papers asserting the ex­
emption WITHIN TEN DAYS after the objection is mailed or given to you. You may wish to 
consult an attorney al once if the creditor objects to your exemption claim.

MOTION TO DETERMINE EXEMPTION:
■ Al any time after your funds have been held,,you may ask for a court decision on the 

validity of your exemption claim by filing a request for hearing which may be obtained at the 
office of the court administrator of the above court.
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237 GARNISHM ENT 571.925

PENALTIES:
If you claim an exemption in bad faith, or if the creditor wrongly objects to an exemp­

tion in bad faith, the court may order the person who acted in bad faith to pay costs, actual 
damages, attorney fees, and an additional amount of up to $100.

Name and address of (Attorney 
for) Judgment Creditor

EXEMPTION:
(If you claim an exemption complete the following):
(a) Amount of exemption claim.
I I I claim ALL the funds being held are exempt.
I l l  claim SOME of the funds being held are exempt.

The exempt amount is $ ....................
(b) Basis for exemption.
Of the eleven categories listed above, I am in category number.............(If more than one

category applies, you may fill in as many as apply.) The source of the exempt funds is the 
following:

(If the source is a type of relief based 011 need, list the case number and county:
case num ber:................;
county:.... .................... )
I hereby authorize any agency'that has distributed relief to me or any correctional insti­

tution in which I was an inmate to disclose to the above named creditor or its attorney only 
whether or not I am or have been a recipient of relief based on need or an inmate of a correc­
tional institute within the last six months.

I have mailed or delivered a copy of the exemption notice to the creditor’s attorney.
DATED: ............................. .......................................................................

DEBTOR

DEBTOR ADDRESS 

History: 1999 c 107 s 66; 1999 c 159 s 149

571.925 FORM OF NOTICE.
The ten-day notice informing a debtor that a garnishment summons may be used to gar­

nish the earnings of an individual must be substantially in the following form:

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ........................... .................... .... JUDICIAL DISTRICT
.................................................(Creditor)
against

GARNISHMENT EXEMPTION
.................................................(Debtor) NOTICE AND NOTICE OF
and INTENT TO GARNISH EARNINGS

WITHIN TEN DAYS
.................................................(Garnishee)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that a garnishment summons or levy may be served upon 
your employer or other third parties, without any further court proceedings or notice to you, 
ten days or more from the date hereof. Some or all of your earnings are exempt from garnish­
ment. If your earnings are garnished, your employer must show you how the amount that is
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garnished from your earnings was calculated. You have the right to request a hearing if you 
claim the garnishment is incorrect.

Your earnings are completely exempt from garnishment if you are now a recipient of 
relief based on need, if you have been a recipient of relief within the last six months, or if you 
have been an inmate of a correctional institution in the last six months.

Relief based on need includes the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), 
Emergency Assistance (EA), Work First Program, Medical Assistance (MA), General Assis­
tance (GA), General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), Emergency General Assistance 
(EGA), Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), MSA Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA), 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Energy Assistance.

If you wish to claim an exemption, you should fill out the appropriate form below, sign 
it, and send it to the creditor’s attorney and the garnishee.

You may wish to contact the attorney for the creditor in order to arrange for a settlement 
of the debt or contact an attorney to advise you about exemptions or other rights.

PENALTIES
(1) Be advised that even if you claim an exemption, a garnishment summons may 
still be served on your employer. If your earnings are garnished after you claim an 
exemption, you may petition the court for a determination of your exemption. If 
the court finds that the creditor disregarded your claim of exemption in bad faith, 
you will be entitled to costs, reasonable attorney fees, actual damages, and an 
amount not to exceed $ 100.
(2) HOWEVER, BE WARNED if you claim an exemption, the creditor can also 
petition the court for a determination of your exemption, and if the court finds that 
you claimed an exemption in bad faith, you will be assessed costs and reasonable 
attorney’s fees plus an amount not to exceed $ 100.
(3) I f after receipt of this notice, you in bad faith take action to frustrate the garnish­
ment, thus requiring the creditor to petition the court to resolve the problem, you 
will be liable to the creditor for costs and reasonable attorney’s fees plus an amount 
not to exceed $100.

DATED: ........................... ........................................................
(Attorney for) Creditor

Address

Telephone

DEBTOR’S EXEMPTION CLAIM NOTICE 
I hereby claim that my earnings are exempt from garnishment because:
(1) I am presently a recipient of relief based on need. (Specify the program, case 
number, and the county from which relief is being received.)

Program Case Number (if known) County
(2) I am not now receiving relief based on need, but I have received relief based on 
need within the last six months. (Specify the program, case number, and the county 
from which relief has been received.)

Program Case Number (if known) County
(3) I have been an inmate of a correctional institution within the last six months. 
(Specify the correctional institution and location.)

Correctional Institution Location
I hereby authorize any agency that has distributed relief to me or any correctional insti­

tution in which I was an inmate to disclose to the above-named creditor or the creditor’s at­
torney only whether or not I am or have been a recipient of relief based on need or an inmate
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of a correctional institution within the last six months. I have mailed or delivered a copy of 
this form to the creditor or creditor’s attorney.

Date Debtor

Address

H istory: 1999 c 159 s 150

571.931 PREJU D G M EN T GARNISHM ENT BEFO RE N O TIC E AND HEARING.

[For text o f  subds 1 to 5, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 6. Notice. The debtor shall be served with a copy of the prejudgment garnishment 
order issued pursuant to this section together with a copy of all pleadings and other docu­
ments not previously served, including any affidavits upon which the claimant intends to rely 
at the subsequent hearing and a transcript of any oral testimony given at the prejudgment gar­
nishment hearing upon which the creditor intends to rely and a notice of hearing. Service 
must be in the manner prescribed for personal service of a summons unless that service is 
impracticable or would be ineffective and the court prescribes an alternative method of ser­
vice calculated to provide actual notice to the debtor.

The notice of hearing served upon the debtor must be signed by the creditor or the attor­
ney for the creditor and must be accompanied by an exemption notice. The notice of hearing 
must be accompanied by an exemption notice, and both notices must provide, at a minimum, 
the following information in substantially the following language:

NOTICE OF HEARING
TO: (the debtor)
The (insert the name of court) Court has ordered the prejudgment garnishment of some 

of your property in the possession or control of a third party. Some of your property may be 
exempt from seizure. See the exemption notice below.

The Court issued this Order based upon the claim of (insert name of creditor) that (insert 
name of creditor) is entitled to a court order for garnishment of your property to secure your 
payment of any money judgment that (insert name of creditor) may later be obtained against 
you and that immediate action was necessary.

You have the legal right to challenge (insert name of creditor) claims at a court hearing 
before ajudge. The hearing will be held at the (insert place) on (insert date) at (insert time). 
You may attend the court hearing alone or with an attorney. After you have presented your 
side of the matter, the court will decide what should be done with your property until the law­
suit against.you is finally decided.

IF YOU DO NOT ATTEND THTS HEARING, THE COURT MAY ORDER GAR­
NISHMENT OF YOUR PROPERTY

EXEMPTION NOTICE
Some of your property may be exempt and cannot be garnished. The following is a list 

of some of the more common exemptions. It is not complete and is subject to section 550.37, 
and other state and federal laws. If you have questions about an exemption, you should obtain 
competent legal advice.

(1) A homestead or the proceeds from the sale of a homestead.
(2) Household furniture, appliances, phonographs, radios,- and televisions up to a total 

current value of $4,500 at the time of attachment.
(3) A manufactured (mobile) home used as your home.
(4) One motor vehicle currently worth less than $2,000 after deducting any security in­

terests.
(5) Farm machinery used by someone principally engaged in farming, or tools, ma­

chines, or office furniture used in your business or trade. This exemption is limited to 
SJ0,000.
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(6) Relief based on need. This includes the Minnesota Family Investment Program 
(MFIP), Emergency Assistance (EA), Work First Program, Medical Assistance (MA), Gen­
eral Assistance (GA), General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), Emergency General As­
sistance (EGA), Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), MSA Emergency Assistance (M SA- 
EA), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Energy Assistance.

(7) Social Security benefits.
(8) Reemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, or veterans’ benefits.
(9) An accident, disability or retirement pension or annuity.
(10) Life insurance proceeds. .
(11) The earnings of your minor child.
(12) Money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (such as house­

hold goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or a-car).
H istory: 7999 c 107 s 66; 1999 c 159 s 151

571.932 PR EJU D G M EN T GARNISHM ENT A FTER N O TIC E AND HEARING.

[For text o f subd 1, see M.S.1998]

Subd. 2. Service. The creditor’s motion to obtain an order'of garnishment together with 
the creditor’s affidavit and notice of hearing must be.served in the manner prescribed for ser­
vice of a summons in a civil action in district court unless that service is impracticable or 
would be ineffective and the court prescribes an alternative method of service calculated to 
provide actual notice to the debtor. If the debtor has already appeared in the action, the mo­
tion must be served in the manner prescribed for service of pleadings subsequent to the sum­
mons. The date of the hearing must be fixed in accordance with Rule 6 of the Minnesota 
Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts, unless a different date is fixed by order of the 
court.

The notice of hearing served upon the debtor shallbe signed by the creditor or the attor­
ney for the creditor and shall provide, at a minimum, the following information in substan­
tially the following language:

NOTICE OF HEARING
TO: (the debtor)
A hearing will be held (insert place) on (insert date) at (insert time) to determine wheth­

er nonexempt property belonging to you will be garnished to secure a judgm entthat may be 
entered against you.

You may attend the court.hearing alone or with an attorney. After you have presented 
your side of the matter, the court will decide whether your property should be garnished until 
the lawsuit which has been commenced against you is finally decided. •

If the court directs the issuance of a garnishment summons while the lawsuit is pending, 
you may still keep the property until the lawsuit is decided if you file a bond in an amount set 
by the court.

IF YOU DO NOT ATTEND THIS HEARING, THE COURT MAY ORDER YOUR 
NONEXEMPT PROPERTY TO BE GARNISHED.

EXEMPTION NOTICE
Some of your property may be exempt and cannot be garnished. The following is a list 

of some of the more common exemptions. It is not complete and is subject to.section 550.37, 
and other state and federal laws. The dollar amounts contained in this list are subject to the 
provisions of section 550.37, subdivision 4a, at the time of the garnishment. If you have ques­
tions about an exemption, you should obtain competent legal advice.

(1) A homestead or the proceeds from the sale of a homestead.
(2) Household furniture, appliances, phonographs, radios, and televisions up to a total 

current value of $5,850.
(3) A manufactured (mobile) home used as your home.
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(4) One motor vehicle currently worth less than $2,600 after deducting any security in­
terests.

(5) Farm machinery:used by an individual principally engaged in farming, or tools, ma­
chines, or office furniture used in your business or trade. This exemption is limited to 
$13,000.

(6) Relief based on need. This includes the Minnesota Family Investment Program 
(MFIP), Emergency Assistance (EA), Work First Program, Medical Assistance (MA), Gen­
eral Assistance (GA), General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), Emergency General As­
sistance (EGA), Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), MSA Emergency Assistance (M SA- 
EA), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Energy. Assistance. .

(7) Social Security benefits.
, (8) Reemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, or veterans’ benefits.

(9) An accident, disability or retirement pension or annuity.
(10) Life insurance proceeds.
(11) The earnings of your minor child.
(12) Money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (such as house­

hold goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or a car).

I For text ofsubds 3 to 7, see M.S.1998]

History: 1999 c 107 s 66; 1999 c 159 s 152
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