CHAPTER 168A

MOTOR VEHICLE TITLES

168A.01Definitions.168A.05Certificate of title.168A.10Transfer of interest by owner.

168A.11 Purchase of vehicle by dealer.168A.29 Fees.

168A.01 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subds 1 to 7, see M.S.1996]

Subd. 8. **Implement of husbandry.** (a) "Implement of husbandry" means every vehicle, including a farm tractor and farm wagon, designed or adapted exclusively for agricultural, horticultural, or livestock raising operations or for lifting or carrying an implement of husbandry and in either case not subject to registration if used upon the highways.

(b) A towed vehicle meeting the description in paragraph (a) is an implement of husbandry without regard to whether the vehicle is towed by an implement of husbandry or by a registered motor vehicle.

(c) A self-propelled motor vehicle used in livestock raising operations is an implement of husbandry only if it is:

(1) owned by or under the control of a farmer;

(2) operated at speeds not exceeding 30 miles per hour; and

(3) displaying the slow-moving vehicle emblem described in section 169.522.

[For text of subds 8a to 24, see M.S.1996]

History: 1997 c 143 s 4

168A.05 CERTIFICATE OF TITLE.

[For text of subds 1 to 7, see M.S.1996]

Subd. 8. Liens filed for enforcement of child support. This subdivision applies if the court or a public authority responsible for child support enforcement orders or directs the commissioner to enter a lien, as provided in section 518.551, subdivision 14. If a certificate of title is applied for by the owner, the department shall enter a lien on the title in the name of the state of Minnesota or in the name of the obligee in accordance with the notice if the value of the motor vehicle determined in accordance with either the definitions of section 297B.01, subdivision 8, or the retail value described in the N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, for the current year exceeds the exemption allowed in section 550.37. The lien on the title is subordinate to any bona fide purchase money security interest as defined in section 336.9–107 regardless of when the purchase money security interest is perfected. With respect to all other security interests, the lien is perfected as of the date entered on the title.

History: 1997 c 245 art 1 s 1

168A.10 TRANSFER OF INTEREST BY OWNER.

[For text of subds 1 to 5, see M.S.1996]

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1997 c 135 s 4]

168A.11 PURCHASE OF VEHICLE BY DEALER.

[For text of subd 1, see M.S.1996]

Subd. 2. **Purchase receipt.** A dealer, on buying a vehicle for which the seller does not present a certificate of title, shall at the time of taking delivery of the vehicle execute in triplicate a purchase receipt for the vehicle in a form designated by the department, and deliver one

Copyright © 1997 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

MINNESOTA STATUTES 1997 SUPPLEMENT

MOTOR VEHICLE TTTLES 168A.29

copy to the seller. When a vehicle purchased by a dealer has not been resold after 21 days, the dealer shall mail, transmit, or deliver one copy of the receipt to the department.

[For text of subd 3, see M.S.1996]

History: 1997 c 250 s 5

168A.29 FEES.

Subdivision 1. Amounts. (a) The department shall be paid the following fees:

(1) for filing an application for and the issuance of an original certificate of title, the sum of \$2;

(2) for each security interest when first noted upon a certificate of title, including the concurrent notation of any assignment thereof and its subsequent release or satisfaction, the sum of \$2, except that no fee is due for a security interest filed by a public authority under section 168A.05, subdivision 8;

(3) for the transfer of the interest of an owner and the issuance of a new certificate of title, the sum of \$2;

(4) for each assignment of a security interest when first noted on a certificate of title, unless noted concurrently with the security interest, the sum of \$1;

(5) for issuing a duplicate certificate of title, the sum of \$4.

(b) After June 30, 1994, in addition to each of the fees required under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3), the department shall be paid \$3.50.

The additional fee collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the public safety motor vehicle account established in section 299A.70.

[For text of subds 2 and 3, see M.S.1996]

History: 1997 c 159 art 2 s 16

31