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150A.01 DEFINITIONS. 
Subdivision 1. As used in sections 150A.01 to 150A.12, the following terms 

shall have the meanings given them. 
Subd. 2. "Board" means the state board of dentistry. 
Subd. 3. "Dental technician" means a person performing acts authorized 

under section 150A.10, subdivision 3. 
Subd. 4. "Dental hygienist" means a person licensed pursuant to sections 

150A.01 to 150A.12 to perform the services authorized pursuant to section 
150A.10, subdivision 1, or any other services authorized by sections 150A.01 to 
150A.12. 

Subd. 5. "Dental assistant" means a person performing acts authorized 
under section 150A.10, subdivision 2. 

Subd. 6. "Dentist" means a dentist licensed pursuant to sections 150A.01 
to 150A.12. 

Subd. 7. "Person" includes an individual, corporation, partnership, associa­
tion or any other legal entity. 

Subd. 8. "Registered dental assistant" means a person registered pursuant 
to section 150A.06. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 1; 1976 c 263 s 1 

150A.02 BOARD OF DENTISTRY. 
Subdivision 1. There is hereby created a board of dentistry whose duty it 

shall be to carry out the purposes and enforce the provisions of sections 150A.01 
to 150A.12. The board shall consist of two public members as defined by section 
214.02, five qualified resident dentists, one qualified resident registered dental 
assistant, and one qualified resident dental hygienist appointed by the governor. 
Membership terms, compensation of members, removal of members, the filling 
of membership vacancies, and fiscal year and reporting requirements shall be as 
provided in sections 214.07 to 214.09. The provision of staff, administrative ser­
vices and office space; the review and processing of board complaints; the set­
ting of board fees; and other provisions relating to board operations shall be as 
provided in chapter 214 and Laws 1976, Chapter 222, Sections 2 to 7. Each 
board member who is a dentist, registered dental assistant,.or dental hygienist 
shall have been lawfully in active practice in this state for five years immediately 
preceding his appointment; and no board member shall be eligible for appoint­
ment to more than two consecutive four year terms, and members serving on 
the board at the time of the enactment hereof shall be eligible to reappointment 
provided they shall not have served more than nine consecutive years at the 
expiration of the term to which they are to be appointed. At least 90 days prior 
to the expiration of the terms of dentists, registered dental assistants, or dental 
hygienists, the Minnesota dental association, Minnesota dental assistants associa­
tion, or the Minnesota state dental hygiene association shall recommend to the 
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governor for each term expiring not less than two dentists, two registered dental 
assistants, or two dental hygienists, respectively, who are qualified to serve on 
the board, and from the list so recommended the governor may appoint mem­
bers to the board for the term of four years, the appointments to be made 
within 30 days after the expiration of the terms. Within 60 days after the occur­
rence of a dentist, registered dental assistant or dental hygienist vacancy, prior 
to the expiration of the term, in the board, the Minnesota dental association, 
the Minnesota dental assistants association, or the Minnesota state dental 
hygiene association shall recommend to the governor not less than two dentists, 
two registered dental assistants, or two dental hygienists, who are qualified to 
serve on the board and from the list so recommended the governor, within 30 
days after receiving such list of dentists, may appoint one member to the board 
for the unexpired term occasioned by such vacancy. Any appointment to fill a 
vacancy shall be made within 90 days after the occurrence of such vacancy. The 
first four year term of the dental hygienist and of the registered dental assistant 
shall commence on the first Monday in January, 1977. 

Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1975 c 136 s 77 ] 

History: 1969 c 974 s 2; 1973 c 638 s 25; 1975 c 136 s 25; 1976 c 222 s 73; 
1976 c 239 s 57; 1976 c 263 s 2 

150A.03 OFFICERS; SALARIES; EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES. 
Subdivision 1. The board shall elect from its members a president, a vice-

president, and a secretary. The board shall have a common seal. It may hold 
meetings at such times as may be necessary and as it may determine. The board 
may affiliate and participate, both in and out-of-state, with regional and national 
testing agencies for the purpose of conducting examinations for licensure and 
registration. The fee charged by such an agency for conducting the examination 
may be in addition to the application fee established by the board pursuant to 
section 150A.06. 

Subd. 2. The board shall appoint an executive secretary who shall not be a 
member of the board and who shall be in the unclassified civil service. The 
board may accept any funds which may be made available to the board from any 
source. All funds received by the board under sections 150A.01 to 150A.12 shall 
be paid to the executive secretary thereof. The expenses of administering sec­
tions 150A.01 to 150A.12 shall be paid from the appropriation made to the 
board of dentistry. 

Subd. 3. The board may expend the necessary funds for its offices and fur­
niture, fixtures, and supplies. The board may affiliate with the American associ­
ation of dental examiners as an active member and pay regular annual dues to 
this association, and send members of the board as delegates to the meetings of 
the American association of dental examiners. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 3; 1973 c 507 s 45; 1973 c 638 s 26; 1975 c 136 s 26-
28; 1976 c 222 s 74; 1978 c 770 s 1 

150A.04 RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD. 
Subdivision 1. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 
Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 
Subd. 3. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 
Subd. 4. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 
Subd. 5. Rules and regulations. The board may promulgate such rules as 

are necessary to carry out and make effective the provisions and purposes of 
sections 150A.01 to 150A.12, in accordance with sections 15.0411 to 15.0422. 
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History: 1969 c 974 s 4; 1976 c 222 s 75 

150A.05 PRACTICE OF DENTISTRY. 
Subdivision 1. Definition. A person shall be deemed to be practicing den­

tistry within the meaning of sections 150A.01 to 150A.12: 
(1) Who uses a dental degree, or designation, or card, device, directory, 

sign, or other media whereby he represents himself as being able to diagnose, 
treat, prescribe, or operate for any disease, pain, deformity, deficiency, injury, 
or physical condition of the human tooth, teeth, alveolar process, gums or jaw, 
or adjacent or associated structures; or 

(2) Who is a manager, proprietor, operator or conductor of a place where 
dental operations are performed; or 

(3) Who performs dental operations of any kind gratuitously, or for a fee, 
gift, compensation or reward, paid or to be paid, either to himself or to another 
person or agency; or 

(4) Who uses a roentgen or x-ray machine for dental treatment, roentgeno­
grams or for dental diagnostic purposes; or 

(5) Who extracts a human tooth or teeth, or corrects or attempts to correct 
malpositions of the human teeth or jaws; or 

(6) Who offers and undertakes, by any means or method, to diagnose, 
treat or remove stains or accretions from human teeth or jaws; or 

(7) Who takes impressions of the human tooth, teeth, or jaws or performs 
any phase of any operation incident to the replacement of a part of a tooth, a 
tooth, teeth or associated tissues by means of a filling, a crown, a bridge, a den­
ture or other appliance; or 

(8) Who furnishes, supplies, constructs, reproduces, or repairs, or offers to 
furnish, supply, construct, reproduce or repair prosthetic dentures or plates, 
bridges or other substitutes for natural teeth, to the user or prospective user 
thereof; or 

(9) Who performs any clinical operation included in the curricula of recog­
nized dental schools and colleges. 

Subd. 2. Exemptions and exceptions of certain practices and operations. 
Sections 150A.01 to 150A.12 shall not apply to: 

(1) A duly licensed physician and surgeon unless he practices dentistry as a 
specialty; 

(2) The practice of dentistry in any branch of the armed services of the 
United States, the United States public health service, or the United States vet­
erans administration; 

(3) Dental schools or colleges or schools of dental hygiene as now 
approved, or as may be approved, by the board of dentistry, and the practice of 
dentistry or dental hygiene by students in dental schools or colleges or schools of 
dental hygiene approved by the board, when acting under the direction and 
supervision of licensed dentists acting as instructors; 

(4) The practice of dentistry by licensed dentists of other states or coun­
tries while appearing as clinicians under the auspices of a duly approved dental 
school or college, or a reputable dental society, or a reputable dental study club 
composed of dentists; 

(5) The use of roentgens or other rays for making roentgenograms or simi­
lar records of dental or oral tissues in a hospital or under the supervision of a 
physician or dentist; 

(6) The service, other than service performed directly upon the person of a 
patient, of constructing, altering, repairing or duplicating any denture, partial 
denture, crown, bridge, splint, orthodontic, prosthetic or other dental appliance, 
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when performed pursuant to a written work order from a licensed dentist in 
accordance with section 150A.10, subdivision 3. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 5 

150A.06 LICENSURE. 
Subdivision 1. Dentists. A person of good moral character not already a 

licensed dentist of the state, having submitted an application and fee as pre­
scribed by the board and his diploma or equivalent from a dental college of 
good standing, of which standing the board shall be the sole judge, may be 
examined by the board or by an agency pursuant to section 150A.03, subdivision 
1, in a manner to test the applicant's fitness to practice dentistry. In the case of 
examinations conducted pursuant to section 150A.03, subdivision 1, applicants 
may take the examination prior to applying to the board for licensure. The 
examination shall include an examination of the applicant's knowledge of the 
laws of Minnesota relating to dentistry and the rules of the board. The board 
may by rule provide that an applicant shall be ineligible to retake the clinical 
examination required by the board upon failing it on two occasions until such 
time as he obtains further education and training as specified by the board in the 
rule. A separate fee may be charged for each time a person applies which in no 
case shall be refunded. An applicant who passes the examination and meets all 
other requirements of the board shall be licensed to practice dentistry and sup­
plied with a license by the board. Rules of the board establishing an examina­
tion fee shall remain in effect and shall constitute the application fee provided 
for herein until such time as the board shall amend, repeal, or otherwise change 
the rules pursuant to chapter 15. 

Subd. 2. Dental hygienists. A person of good moral character not already 
a licensed dental hygienist of this state, being a graduate of an accredited high 
school or its equivalent, and having submitted an application and fee as pre­
scribed by the board and his diploma or equivalent from a training school for 
dental hygienists of good standing, of which standing the board shall be the sole 
judge, or equivalent approved by the board, may be examined by the board or 
by an agency pursuant to section 150A.03, subdivision 1, in a manner to test the 
applicant's fitness to practice dental hygiene. In the case of examinations con­
ducted pursuant to section 150A.03, subdivision 1, applicants may take the 
examination prior to applying to the board for licensure. Each applicant shall 
also be examined on the applicant's knowledge of the laws of Minnesota relating 
to dentistry and of the rules of the board. The board may by rule provide that 
an applicant shall be ineligible to retake the clinical examination required by the 
board upon failing it on two occasions until such time as he obtains further edu­
cation and training as specified by the board in the rule. A separate fee may be 
charged for each time a person applies which in no case shall be refunded. An 
applicant who passes the examination and meets all the other requirements of 
the board shall be licensed as a dental hygienist and supplied with a license by 
the board. Rules of the board establishing an examination fee shall remain in 
effect and shall constitute the application fee provided for herein until such time 
as the board shall amend, repeal, or otherwise change the rules pursuant to 
chapter 15. 

Subd. 2a. Registered dental assistant. A person of good moral character, 
having submitted an application and fee as prescribed by the board and his 
diploma or equivalent from a training school, of good standing, for dental assis­
tants, of which standing the board shall be sole judge, or equivalent as approved 
by the board, may be examined by the board or by an agency pursuant to sec­
tion 150A.03, subdivision 1, in a manner to test the applicant's fitness to per­
form as a registered dental assistant. In the case of examinations conducted pur­
suant to section 150A.03, subdivision 1, applicants may take the examination 
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prior to applying to the board for registration. The examination shall include an 
examination of the applicant's knowledge of the laws of Minnesota relating to 
dentistry and the rules of the board. The board may by rule provide that an 
applicant shall be ineligible to retake the clinical examination required by the 
board upon failing it on two occasions until such time as he obtains further edu­
cation and training as specified by the board in the rule. A separate fee may be 
charged for each time a person applies which in no case shall be refunded. An 
applicant who passes the examination and meets all the other requirements of 
the board shall be registered as a dental assistant. Rules of the board establish­
ing an examination fee shall remain in effect and shall constitute the application 
fee provided for herein until such time as the board shall amend, repeal, or oth­
erwise change the rules pursuant to chapter 15. 

Subd. 2b. Examination. When the examination of persons applying for 
licensure or registration is given by board members, it shall be administered by 
those board members qualified for the particular examination being given. 

Subd. 3. Waiver of examination. All or any part of the examination for 
dentists or dental hygienists, except that pertaining to the law of Minnesota 
relating to dentistry and the rules and regulations of the board, may, at the dis­
cretion of the board, be waived for an applicant who shall present a certificate 
of qualification from the national board of dental examiners or evidence of 
having maintained an adequate scholastic standing in dental school as to den­
tists, or dental hygiene school as to dental hygienists, of which standing the 
board shall be the sole judge. 

Subd. 4. Reciprocity. Any person who is lawfully practicing dentistry or 
dental hygiene in another state or Canadian province having and maintaining a 
standard of examination for licensure and of laws regulating such practice within 
that state or Canadian province, substantially equivalent to Minnesota, of which 
fact the board shall be the sole judge, and who is a reputable dentist or dental 
hygienist of good moral character and desirous of removing to this state, and 
deposits, in person, with the board of dentistry a certificate from the board of 
dentistry of the state or Canadian province in which he is licensed, certifying to 
the fact of his licensure and that he is of good moral character and professional 
attainments, may, upon payment of the fee, established by the board and at the 
discretion of the board be granted a license to practice in this state without fur­
ther examination, provided that he shall be examined in the laws of Minnesota 
relating to dentistry and the rules of the board of dentistry. 

Subd. 5. Fraud in securing licenses. Every person implicated in employing 
fraud or deception in applying for or securing a license to practice dentistry or 
dental hygiene or in the annual registration of such license under sections 
150A.01 to 150A.12 shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

Subd. 6. Display of name and certificates. Every licensed dentist, dental 
hygienist, or registered dental assistant shall post and keep conspicuously dis­
played his name, license certificate and annual registration certificate in every 
office wherein he practices, in plain sight of his patients and if there is more 
than one dentist, dental hygienist, or registered dental assistant practicing or 
employed in any office the manager or proprietor of such office shall post and 
display or cause to be posted and displayed, in like manner the name, license 
certificate and annual registration certificate of each dentist, dental hygienist, or 
registered dental assistant so practicing or employed therein. In addition there 
shall be posted or displayed near or upon the entrance door to every office 
wherein dentistry is practiced, the name of each and every dentist practicing 
therein and such names shall be the name of the person inscribed upon the 
license certificate and annual registration certificate of each dentist. 
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History: 1969 c 974 s 6; 1976 c 222 s 76; 1976 c 263 s 3-5; 1978 c 770 s 2-5; 
1979 c50s 15; 1980 c 596 s 1-3 

NOTE: Subdivisions 1, 2 and 2a, as amended by Laws 1980, Chapter 596, Sections 1 to 3, are effective July 1, 1981, See 
Laws 1980, Chapter 596, Section 10. 

150A.07 [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 

150A.08 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, LIMITATION, MODIFICATION OR 
DENIAL OF LICENSE. 

Subdivision 1. Grounds. The board may refuse or by order suspend or 
revoke, limit or modify by imposing such conditions as the board may deem nec­
essary in the manner hereinafter provided, any license to practice dentistry or 
dental hygiene or the registration of any dental assistant issued heretofore or 
hereunder upon any of the following grounds: 

(1) Fraud or deception in connection with the practice of dentistry or the 
securing of such license or annual registration certificate; 

(2) Conviction of the holder in any court of a felony reasonably related to 
the practice of dentistry; 

(3) Conviction of the holder in any court of an offense involving moral tur­
pitude; 

(4) Habitual indulgence in the use of narcotics or habitual overindulgence 
in the use of intoxicating liquors; 

(5) Conduct unbecoming a person licensed to practice dentistry or dental 
hygiene or registered as a dental assistant, or conduct contrary to the best inter­
est of the public, as such conduct is defined by the rules of the board; 

(6) Gross immorality; 
(7) Advanced physical or mental disability; 
(8) Failure to maintain adequate safety and sanitary conditions for a dental 

office in accordance with the standards established by the rules of the board; 
(9) Employing, assisting, or enabling in any manner an unlicensed person 

to practice dentistry; or 
(10) Violation of, or failure to comply with, any other provisions of sec­

tions 150A.01 to 150A.12 or the rules of the board of dentistry or any other just 
cause related to the practice of dentistry. Suspension, revocation, modification 
or limitation of any license shall not be based upon any judgment as to thera­
peutic or monetary value of any individual drug prescribed or any individual 
treatment rendered, but only upon a repeated pattern of conduct. 

Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] £.c,(a, $M *-
NOTE: Subdivision 2 was also amended by Laws 1976, Chapter 263, to read: 
"Subd. 2. Procedure. Before the board shall order any such suspension or revocation it shall on its own motion cause an 

investigation to be made and a citation to issue under the seal of the board, signed by the secretary-treasurer, requiring the holder to 
show cause on a certain date why his license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene or registration as a dental assistant should not be 
suspended or revoked on the grounds specified therein. The holder of such license shall have 20 days' notice of the hearing and be 
entitled to be represented by an attorney. 

A stenographic record shall be kept of all such proceedings. A certified copy of the conviction of any licensee shall be con­
clusive evidence as to the conviction in any proceeding before the board. The action of the board in suspending or revoking a license 
shall be subject to a review by a writ of certiorari brought in the district court of Ramsey county. The action of the board shall stand 
until otherwise directed by the district court or by the supreme court upon appeal." 

Subd. 3. Reinstatement. Any licensee or registrant whose license or regis­
tration has been suspended or revoked may have his license or registration rein­
stated or a new license or registration issued, as the case may be, when in the 
discretion of the board such action is warranted and the board may require the 
licensee or registrant to pay all costs of proceedings resulting in his suspension 
or revocation of license or registration and reinstatement or new license and, in 
addition thereto, the fee for reinstatement established by the board. 
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Subd. 4. Records. The executive secretary of the board shall keep a record 
of all licenses and registration certificates issued, suspended, or revoked. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 8; 1976 c 222 s 77; 1976 c 263 s 6; 1978 c 770 s 6 

150A.09 REGISTRATION OF LICENSES AND REGISTRATION CERTIFI­
CATES. 

Subdivision 1. Registration information and procedure. On or before the 
license or registration certificate expiration date every licensed dentist, dental 
hygienist, and registered dental assistant shall transmit to the executive secretary 
of the board, such pertinent information as may be required by the board, 
together with the fee established by the board. At least 30 days before a license 
or registration certificate expiration date, the board shall cause a written notice 
stating the amount and due date of the fee and the information to be provided, 
to be sent to every licensed dentist, dental hygienist, and registered dental assis­
tant. 

Subd. 2. [ Repealed, 1976 c 222 s 209 ] 
Subd. 3. Change of address and duplicate certificates. Every licensed den­

tist upon changing his location of practice, every dental hygienist and every reg­
istered dental assistant, upon changing his address shall, within 30 days thereaf­
ter, furnish the board with his new address. Duplicate licenses or duplicate 
annual certificates of license renewal may be issued by the board upon satisfac­
tory proof being furnished to the board of the need for such duplicates and upon 
the payment of the fee established by the board. 

Subd. 4. Late fee. A late fee established by the board shall be paid if the 
information and fee required by subdivision 1 is not received by the executive 
secretary of the board on or before the registration or license renewal date. 

Subd. 5. Eye examination. The board may establish by rules, requirements 
for eye examinations of individual dentists, dental hygienists or registered dental 
assistants if in the opinion of the board it is reasonably necessary, from licensed 
optometrists or ophthalmologists indicating that the licensee or registrant has 
visual acuity to perform the services required of such licensee or registrant. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 9; 1976 c 222 s 78,79; 1976 c 263 s 7,8; 1978 c 674 s 
16; 1978 c 770 s 7,8; 1980 c 596 s 4 

NOTE: Subdivision 3, as amended by Laws 1980. Chapter 596, Section 4, is effective July 1, 1981. See Laws 1980. Chapter 
596, Section 10. 

150A.10 DENTAL AUXILIARIES. 
Subdivision 1, Dental hygienists. Any licensed dentist, public institution, or 

school authority may use -the services of a licensed dental hygienist. Such 
licensed dental hygienist may perform those services which are educational, 
diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive in nature and are authorized by the board 
of dentistry. Such services shall not include the establishment of a final diagnosis 
or treatment plan for a dental patient. Such services shall be performed under 
supervision of a licensed dentist. Any licensed dentist who shall permit the per­
formance of any dental service by a dental hygienist other than those authorized 
by the board of dentistry, shall be deemed to be violating the provisions of sec­
tions 150A.01 to 150A.12, and performance of such unauthorized dental service 
by a dental hygienist shall constitute a violation of sections 150A.01 to 150A.12. 

Subd. 2. Dental assistants. Every licensed dentist who uses the services of 
any unlicensed person for the purpose of assisting him in the practice of den­
tistry shall be responsible for the acts of such unlicensed person while engaged 
in such assistance. Such dentist shall permit such unlicensed assistant to perform 
only those acts which he is authorized to delegate to unlicensed assistants by the 
board of dentistry. Such acts shall be performed under supervision of a licensed 
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dentist. The board may permit differing levels of dental assistance based upon 
recognized educational standards, approved by the board, for the training of 
dental assistants. The board may also define by rule the scope of practice of reg­
istered and non-registered dental assistants. The board by rule may require con­
tinuing education for differing levels of dental assistants, as a condition to their 
registration or authority to perform their authorized duties. Any licensed dentist 
who shall permit such unlicensed assistant to perform any dental service other 
than that authorized by the board shall be deemed to be enabling an unlicensed 
person to practice dentistry, and commission of such an act by such unlicensed 
assistant shall constitute a violation of sections 150A.01 to 150A.12. 

Subd. 3. Dental technicians. Every licensed dentist who uses the services of 
any unlicensed person, other than under the dentist's supervision and within 
such dentist's own office, for the purpose of constructing, altering, repairing or 
duplicating any denture, partial denture, crown, bridge, splint, orthodontic, 
prosthetic or other dental appliance, shall be required to furnish such unlicensed 
person with a written work order in such form as shall be prescribed by the rules 
of the board; said work order shall be made in duplicate form, a duplicate copy 
to be retained in a permanent file in the dentist's office for a period of two 
years, and the original to be retained in a permanent file for a period of two 
years by such unlicensed person in his place of business. Such permanent file of 
work orders to be kept by such dentist or by such unlicensed person shall be 
open to inspection at any reasonable time by the board or its duly constituted 
agent. 

History: 7969 c 974 s 10; 1976 c 263 s 9 

150A.11 UNLAWFUL ACTS. 
Subdivision 1. Unlawful practice. It shall be unlawful for any person to: 

enable an unlicensed person to practice dentistry; or to practice or attempt to 
practice dentistry without a license; or to practice dentistry under the name of a 
corporation or company; or to practice under any name that may tend to 
deceive the public or imply professional superiority to or greater skill than that 
possesed by another dentist. If a dentist practices under his own name, any 
public display or cards shall include the initials of his dental degree, such as 
D.D.S. or D.M.D., following the name. If a dentist practices under a name 
other than his own, the name shall include some designation which makes clear 
that the person is practicing dentistry or some specialty thereof; and that the 
names of all of the participating dentists practicing under the name be clearly 
identified on letterheads and building or office signs that display a name other 
than the dentist's own name. Any communication between dentist and patient 
shall clearly indicate the name of the dentist treating the patient. The board may 
promulgate rules regarding the name under which a dentist may practice. No 
corporation shall practice dentistry or engage therein, or hold itself out as being 
entitled to practice dentistry, or furnish dental services or dentists, or advertise 
under or assume the title of dentists or dental surgeons or equivalent title. No 
corporation shall furnish dental advice, or advertise or hold itself out with any 
other person or alone, that it has or owns a dental office or can furnish dental 
service, dentists, or dental surgeons, or solicit, through itself, or its agents, offi­
cers, employees, directors or trustees, dental patronage for any dentist or dental 
surgeon. The provisions of this section: 

(1) Shall not apply to any licensee while acting as an instructor in or under 
the University of Minnesota including the Mayo graduate school of medicine, or 
any other school in the state recognized by the state board of dentistry; 

(2) Shall not prohibit any dentist from incorporating his practice of den­
tistry for business purposes under the special provisions of a corporate practice 
act for dentistry; 
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(3) Shall not be construed to change or amend the right of licensed dentists 
to provide dental care under any form of organization that is now or hereafter 
lawful under the laws of this state, or to contract to sell their services in any 
manner that is now or hereafter lawful under the laws of this state. 

Subd. 2. Professional advertising. Public advertising by dentists may be 
controlled by reasonable rules and regulations of the board. Such rules and reg­
ulations shall include permission for such things as publication of a professional 
card, reasonable signs on or about the place of business, announcements of 
changes or opening of offices and telephone listings. 

Subd. 3. Advertising or use of dental services and appliances. No person 
shall advertise in any manner that he can or will sell, supply, furnish, construct, 
reproduce, reline, or repair without a written work order by a licensed dentist, 
prosthetic dentures, bridges, plates or other appliances to be used or worn as 
substitutes for natural teeth, or for the regulation thereof. All such advertise­
ments shall contain the words "A written work order from a licensed dentist is 
required" in at least 10-point type size. Except for advertising permitted under 
this subdivision, a person not licensed to practice dentistry in this state shall not 
sell or offer any such service or products to other than the dental profession or 
its ancillary trades, provided, however that the mere delivery of such products to 
an ultimate consumer or person acting in his behalf for the purpose of trans­
porting such products to the licensed dentist who provided the work order shall 
not violate this subdivision. This subdivision shall not apply to mailings, dis­
plays, and advertisements the primary distribution of which is to the dental pro­
fession or its ancillary trades. 

Subd. 4. Dividing fees. It shall be unlawful for any dentist to divide fees 
with or promise to pay a part of his fee to, or to pay a commission to, any den­
tist or other person who calls him in consultation or who sends patients to him 
for treatment, or operation, but nothing herein shall prevent licensed dentists 
from forming a bona fide partnership for the practice of dentistry, nor to the 
actual employment by a licensed dentist of a licensed dental hygienist or another 
licensed dentist. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 11; 1980 c 596 s 5 
NOTE: Subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 1980, Chapter 596, Section 5, is effective July 1, 1981. See Laws 1980, Chapter 

596. Section 10. 

150A.12 VIOLATION AND DEFENSES. 
Every person who violates any of the provisions of sections 150A.01 to 

150A.12 for which no specific penalty is provided herein, shall be guilty of a 
gross misdemeanor; and, upon conviction, punished by a fine of not more than 
$1,000 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year or by 
both such fine and imprisonment. In the prosecution of any person for violation 
of sections 150A.01 to 150A.12, it shall not be necessary to allege or prove lack 
of a valid license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene but such matter shall be 
a matter of defense to be established by the defendant. 

History: 1969 c 974 s 12 

150A.21 REMOVABLE DENTAL PROSTHESES; OWNER IDENTIFICA­
TION. 

Subdivision 1. Every complete upper and lower denture and removable 
dental prosthesis fabricated by a dentist licensed under section 150A.06, or fab­
ricated pursuant to his work order, shall be marked with the name and social 
security number of the patient for whom the prosthesis is intended. The mark­
ings shall be done during fabrication and shall be permanent, legible and cos­
metically acceptable. The exact location of the markings and the methods used 
to apply or implant them shall be determined by the dentist or dental laboratory 
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fabricating the prosthesis. If in the professional judgment of the dentist or dental 
laboratory, this identification is not practicable, identification shall be provided 
as follows: 

(a) The social security number of the patient may be omitted if the name 
of the patient is shown; 

(b) The initials of the patient may be shown alone, if use of the name of 
the patient is impracticable; 

(c) The identification marks may be omitted in their entirety if none of the 
forms of identification specified in clauses (a) and (b) are practicable or clini­
cally safe. 

Subd. 2. Any removable dental prosthesis in existence prior to August 1, 
1978, which was not marked in accordance with subdivision 1 at the time of its 
fabrication, shall be so marked at the time of any subsequent rebasing. 

Subd. 3. The commissioner of health shall provide technical assistance for 
marking methods and materials and other matters necessary to effectuate the 
provisions of this section. 

Subd. 4. Failure of any dentist to comply with this section shall be deemed 
to be a violation for which the dentist may be subject to proceedings pursuant to 
section 150A.08, provided that he is charged with the violation within two years 
of initial insertion of the dental prosthetic device. 

History: 1978 c 716 s 1 
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