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Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1971, c 874 s 5] 
Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
(NOTE: Section 177.02, Subdivisions 6 and 7, were also amended by Laws 1973. Chapter 725, Sections 25 

and 26, to read as follows: 
"Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1971, Section 177.02, Subdivision 6, is amended to read: 
Subd. 6. LMinor.J "Minor' means any person under the age of 18 years. 
Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 1971, Section 177.02, Subdivision 7, is amended to read: 
Subd. 7. LLearner, apprentice.] "Learner" and "apprentice" may mean any minor or person over 18 

years of age."J 
177.03 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
177.04 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
177.05 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
177.06 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
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177.13 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
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177.18 [Repealed, 1965 c 45 s 73] 
177.19 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
177.20 [Repealed, 1973 c 721 s 16] 
177.21 CITATION; FAHfc LABOR STANDARDS ACT. Sections 177.21 to 

177.35 may be cited as the Minnesota fair labor standards act. 
11973 c 721 s n 
177.22 STATEMENT OF POLICY. It is declared to be the policy of the Minne-
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sota fair labor standards act (1) to establish minimum wage and overtime compen­
sation standards for workers a t levels consistent with their health, efficiency, and 
general well-being; (2) to safeguard existing minimum wage and overtime com­
pensation standards which are adequate to maintain the health, efficiency, and 
general well-being of workers against the unfair competition of wage and hour 
standards which do not provide such adequate standards of living; and (3) to sus­
tain purchasing power and increase employment opportunities. 

[1973 c 721 s 21 

177.23 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. Unless the language or context clearly 
indicates that a different meaning is intended, the following terms, for the purposes 
of sections 177.21 to 177.35, shall have the meanings given to them in this section. 

Subd. 2. "Department" means the Minnesota department of labor and industry. 
Subd. 3. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry of Min­

nesota or his authorized designee. 
Subd. 4. "Wage" means compensation due to an employee by reason of his em­

ployment, payable in legal tender of the United States or check on banks convertible 
into cash on demand at full face value, subject to such allowances as may be per­
mitted by regulations of the department under section 177.28. 

Subd. 5. "Employ" means to suffer or permit to work. 
Subd. 6. "Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corpora­

tion, business trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly 
in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee. 

Subd. 7. "Employee" means any individual employed by an employer but shall 
not include 

(1) any individual employed in agriculture on a farming unit or operation em­
ploying less than the equivalent of two full time workers and on any given day 
employing no more than four employees. For the purpose of this clause, equivalent 
of a full time worker means 40 weeks of employment in a calendar year; 

(2) an individual who has not attained the age of 18 who is employed in agri­
culture on a farm; 

(3) any individual employed as a counselor to work with programs and 
campers in an organized resident or day camp; 

(4) any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or pro­
fessional capacity, or a salesman who conducts no more than 20 percent of his sales 
on the premises of the employer, as such terms are defined and delimited by regu­
lations of the department; 

(5) any individual who renders service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization 
as such terms are defined by regulations of the department; 

(6) any individual who serves as an elected official for a political subdivision or 
who serves on any governmental board, commission, committee or other similar 
body, or who renders service gratuitously for a political subdivision; 

(7) any individual employed by a political subdivision to provide police or fire 
protection services or who is employed by an entity whose principal purpose is to 
provide police or fire protection services to a political subdivision; 

(8) any individual employed by a political subdivision who is ineligible for 
membership in the public employees retirement association by reason of the pro­
visions of section 353.01, subdivision 2b, clauses (a), (b), (d), and (i); 

(9) any driver employed by an employer engaged in the business of operating 
taxicabs; 

(10) any individual engaged in babysitting as a sole practitioner; 
(11) any individual employed on a part-time basis in a carnival, circus or fair; 
(12) any individual under the age of 18 employed part-time by a municipality 

as par t of a recreational program. 
Subd. 8. "Occupation" means any occupation, service, trade, business, industry, 

or branch or group of industries or employment or class of employment in which 
employees are gainfully employed. 

Subd. 9. "Gratuities" means voluntary monetary contributions received by an 
employee from a guest, patron, or customer for services rendered. 

11973 c 721 s 3; 197Jf c 406 s 881 

177.24 PAYMENT OF MINIMUM WAGES. Except as may otherwise be pro­
vided in sections 177.21 to 177.35, or by regulation issued pursuant thereto, every 

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1974



177.25 MINIMUM WAGES 2510 

employer shall pay to each of his employees wages at a ra te of not less than $1.80 
an hour. 

[1973 c 721 s Jf] 

177.25 OVERTIME. Subdivision 1. No employer shall employ any of his em­
ployees for a workweek longer than 48 hours, unless such employee receives com­
pensation for his employment in excess of 48 hours in a workweek at a ra te of not 
less than one and one-half times the regular ra te at which he is employed; provided, 
however, that an employer if it is the State of Minnesota or a political subdivision 
may grant time off at the rate of one and one-half hours for each hour worked in 
excess of 48 hours in any week in lieu of monetary compensation; and, provided, 
however, that no employer shall be deemed to have violated the overtime pay pro­
visions of this section by employing any employees for a workweek in excess of that 
specified in this section without paying the compensation for overtime employment 
prescribed herein if such employee is so employed under an agreement meeting the 
requirement of section 7(b) (2) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended. 

Subd. 2. No employer engaged in the operation of a health care facility shall be 
deemed to have violated subdivision 1 if pursuant to an agreement or understanding 
arrived a t between the employer and employee before performance of the work, a 
work period of 14 consecutive days is accepted in lieu of the work week of seven 
consecutive days for the purpose of overtime compensation and if for his employ­
ment in excess of 8 hours in any work day and in excess of 80 hours in such 14 day 
period the employee receives compensation at a ra te not less than one and one-half 
times the regular ra te a t which he is employed. 

Subd. 3. The provisions of subdivision 1 shall not apply with respect to any 
salesman, parts man, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing auto­
mobiles, trailers, trucks, or farm implements and paid on a commission or incentive 
basis, if employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment primarily engaged in the 
business of selling such vehicles to ultimate purchasers. 

[1973 c 721 s 51 

177.26 DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS. Subdivision 1. Creation. A divi­
sion of labor standards is hereby created in the department of labor and industry 
under the supervision and control of the commissioner of labor and industry. 

Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The powers, duties, and functions vested in or im­
posed upon, the division of women and children of the department of labor and in­
dustry by chapter 177, and other applicable laws relating to wages, hours, and 
working conditions, are transferred, vested in, and imposed upon the division of 
labor standards. In addition, the division of labor standards shall administer the 
provisions of sections 177.21 to 177.35 and chapter 184. 

Subd. 3. Employees; transfer from division of women and children. All per­
sons employed by the department of labor and industry in the division of women 
and children shall be transferred to the division of labor standards without loss to 
the person of any rights acquired by reason of his employment a t the time of 
transfer. 

11973 c 721 s 6] 

177.27 POWERS AND DUTD3S OF THE COMMISSIONER. Subdivision 1. 
The commissioner or his authorized representative may enter during reasonable 
office hours upon request and inspect the place of business or employment of any 
employer of employees in any occupation in the state, for the purpose of examining 
and inspecting any or all books, registers, payrolls, and other records of any such 
employer that in any way relate to or have a bearing upon the question of wages, 
hours, and other conditions of employment of any such employees; transcribe any 
or all of such books, registers, payrolls, and other records as he or his authorized 
representative may deem necessary or appropriate; and question such employees for 
the purpose of ascertaining whether the provisions of sections 177.21 to 177.35 and 
the regulations issued pursuant thereto have been and are being complied with. 

Subd. 2. The commissioner or his authorized representative may require from 
any employer of employees in any occupation in the state full and correct state­
ments in writing, including sworn statements, with respect to wages, hours, name, 
addresses, and such other information pertaining to his employees and their employ­
ment as the commissioner or his authorized representative may deem necessary or 
appropriate. 
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Subd. 3. The commissioner or his authorized representative may issue any order 
requiring an employer to comply with the provisions of sections 177.21 to 177.35 or 
with any regulation promulgated under the provisions of section 177.28. Any order 
shall be served by the department upon the employer or his authorized representa­
tive in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. If an employer 
wishes to contest the order for any reason, he shall file written notice of his objec­
tion to the order with the commissioner within 10 days after service of said order 
upon said employer. Thereafter, a public hearing shall be held in accordance with 
the provisions of sections 15.0418 to 15.0426, and such regulations consistent there­
with as the commissioner may make. 

Subd. 4. The commissioner may investigate, mediate, and settle wage claims by 
an employee against an employer if the failure to pay any such wage may violate 
Minnesota laws or any order or regulation of the department thereunder. 

Subd. 5. The commissioner may commence a civil action in any court of com­
petent jurisdiction for the benefit of any employee for appropriate relief with re­
spect to any wage claim which the commissioner deems to be valid, upon a written 
request being filed with the commissioner by such employee, provided: (1) the 
failure to pay such wage would constitute a violation of Minnesota laws or any 
order or regulation of the department thereunder, and (2) the wage claim does not 
exceed $300. The employer shall pay all costs and disbursements as may be allowed 
by the court, and shall further pay an assessment of ten percent of the amount of 
any awarded wage claim to the treasurer of the state of Minnesota. In any action 
herein no security for payment of costs shall be required. Nothing herein shall be 
construed to prevent an employee from prosecuting his own claim for wages. 

Subd. 6. Upon the written request of the commissioner, the attorney general of 
the state of Minnesota shall commence a civil action for appropriate relief against 
the employer as provided in subdivision 5. 

11973 c 1U s 7] 
177.28 POWER TO MAKE REGULATIONS. Subdivision 1. The commis­

sioner shall make and revise such regulations, including definitions of terms, as he 
shall deem appropriate to carry out the purposes of sections 177.21 to 177.35, to 
prevent the circumvention or evasion thereof, and to safeguard the minimum wage 
and overtime rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25. 

Subd. 2. The commissioner shall appoint an advisory committee composed of 
an equal number of not more than three representatives each of employers and 
employees and of not more than three disinterested persons representing the public, 
which he shall consult concerning the making and revising of administrative regu­
lations. 

Subd. 3. The commissioner shall establish regulations which define and govern 
sections 177.21 to 177.35 with respect to, salesmen who conduct no more than 20 per­
cent of their sales on the premises of the employer; allowances as part of the wage 
rates for board, lodging and other facilities or services furnished by the employer 
and used by the employees. Regulations issued by the department pursuant to this 
section shall include, but are not limited to, bonuses; special rates for employees 
under the age of 18, which rate shall not be more than 90 percent of the minimum 
wage established in section 177.24; part-time rates; special pay for special or extra 
work; procedures in contested cases; other facilities or services furnished by em­
ployers and used by employees; and other special items usual in a particular em­
ployer-employee relationship. Regulations required by this subdivision shall be estab­
lished by November 1, 1973. 

Subd. 4. An employee who receives $20 or more per month in gratuities is a 
tipped employee. His employer is entitled to a credit in an amount up to 25 percent 
of the minimum wage which a tipped employee receives. Said credit against the 
wages due for gratuities received by a tipped employee may not be taken unless a 
signed statement from each tipped employee states that he did receive during the 
pay period an amount equal to or greater than the credit applied against the wages 
due by his employer. Such statements shall be maintained by the employer as a part 
of his business records. 

Subd. 5. In order to prevent curtailment of opportunities for employment, avoid 
undue hardship, and safeguard the minimum wage rates under sections 177.24 and 
177.25, the department shall also issue regulations providing for the employment of 
handicapped workers at wages lower than the wage rates applicable under sections 
177.24 and 177.25, under permits and for such periods of time as specified therein; 

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1974



177.29 MINIMUM WAGES 2512 

and providing for the employment of learners and apprentices at wages lower than 
the wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and subject 
to such limitations on number, proportion, length of learning period, occupations, 
and other conditions as the department may prescribe. The regulations issued by the 
department shall provide that where a handicapped person is now performing or is 
being considered for employment where he will perform work which is equal to 
work performed by a non-handicapped person, such handicapped person shall be 
paid the same wage as a non-handicapped person with similar experience and skill. 

Subd. 6. Regulations shall be adopted by the department only after a public 
hearing held upon due publication of notice, at which any interested person may be 
heard and of which a record shall be made. Regulations shall be published by the 
department and shall take effect upon publication and filing with the secretary of 
state and the department of administration. Such regulations shall have the force 
and effect of law upon filing as provided herein. 

[1973 c 721 s 8] 

177.29 JUDICIAL REVIEW. Subdivision 1. Any person who may be aggrieved 
by any administrative regulation issued pursuant to section 177.28 may obtain a 
review thereof in the district court for Ramsey county, by filing in such court a 
written petition for declaratory judgment praying that the regulation be modified or 
set aside. A copy of such petition shall be served upon the department. The depart­
ment's findings of fact, if any, shall be conclusive upon the court if supported by 
substantial evidence. The court shall determine whether the regulation is in ac­
cordance with law. 

If the court determines that such regulation is not in accordance with law, it 
shall remand the case to the department with directions to modify or revoke such 
regulation. If application is made to the court by any aggrieved party for leave to 
adduce additional evidence, such party shall show to the satisfaction of the court 
tha t such additional evidence is material, and that there were reasonable grounds 
for the failure to adduce such evidence before the department. If the court finds tha t 
such evidence is material and that reasonable grounds exist for the failure of the 
aggrieved par ty to adduce such evidence in prior proceedings, the court may remand 
the case to the department with directions that such additional evidence be taken 
by the department. The department may modify its findings and conclusions, in 
whole or in part, by reason of such additional evidence. 

Subd. 2. Hearings in the district court on all appeals taken under subdivision 1 
shall be privileged and take precedence over all matters, except mat ters of the same 
character. The jurisdiction of the court shall be exclusive and its judgment and 
decree shall be final except that the same shall be subject to review on appeal to the 
supreme court. 

Subd. 3. The commencement of proceedings under subdivision 1 shall not, unless 
specifically ordered by the court, operate as a stay of an administrative regulation 
issued pursuant to section 177.28. The court shall not grant any stay of an adminis­
trative regulation unless the person complaining of such regulation shall file in the 
•court an undertaking with a surety or sureties satisfactory to the court for the pay­
ment to the employees affected by the regulation, in the event such regulation is 
affirmed, of the amount by which the compensation such employees are entitled to 
receive under the regulation exceeds the compensation they actually receive while 
such stay is in effect. 

[1973 c 721 s 9] 
177.30 KEEPING RECORDS. Every employer subject to any provision of sec­

tions 177.21 to 177.35 or of any regulation issued pursuant thereto shall make and 
keep, for a period of not less than three years in or about the premises wherein any 
employee is employed, a record of the name, address and occupation of. each of his 
employees, the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each such em­
ployee, the hours worked each day and each workweek by such employee, and such 
other information as the department shall prescribe by regulation as necessary or 
appropriate for the enforcement of the provisions of sections 177.21 to 177.35 or of 
the regulations issued pursuant thereto. 

[1973 C 721 S 101 

177.31 POSTING OF LAW AND REGULATIONS. Every employer subject to 
any provision of sections 177.21 to 177.35 shall keep a summary thereof, approved by 
the department, and copies of any applicable regulations issued pursuant thereto, or a 

                           
MINNESOTA STATUTES 1974



2513 MINIMUM WAGES 177.41 

summary of such regulations, posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or 
about the premises wherein any person subject thereto is employed. The department 
shall furnish copies of such summaries and regulations to employers without charge. 

[1973 c 721 s 11] 

177.32 PENALTIES. Subdivision 1. Any employer who hinders or delays the 
department or its authorized representative in the performance of its duties under 
sections 177.21 to 177.35 or refuses to admit the commissioner or his authorized repre­
sentative to any place of employment as required by section 177.27, subdivision 1; or 
fails to make, keep, and preserve records as required by section 177.30; or falsifies 
any such record; or refuses to make any such record accessible, or to furnish a 
sworn statement of such record or any other information as required by section 
177.27; or fails to post a summary of sections 177.21 to 177.35 or a copy of any appli­
cable regulation as required by section 177.31; or pays or agrees to pay wages at a 
ra te less than the rate applicable under or pursuant to sections 177.21 to 177.35; or 
otherwise violates any provision of sections 177.21 to 177.35 or of any regulation 
issued pursuant thereto; is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Subd. 2. Any employer who discharges or in any other manner discriminates 
against any employee because such employee has complained to his employer, to the 
department, or to an authorized representative of the department that he has not 
been paid wages in accordance with sections 177.21 to 177.35 or regulations issued 
pursuant thereto or because such employee has caused to be instituted or is about 
to cause to be instituted any proceeding under or related to sections 177.21 to 177.35, 
or because such employee has testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding 
shall, upon conviction therefor, be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1000. 

[1973 c 721 s 121 

177.33 EMPLOYEES' REMEDIES. Any employer who pays any employee less 
than the wages and overtime compensation to which such employee is entitled under 
sections 177.21 to 177.35 and regulations issued pursuant thereto shall be liable to 
such employee for the full amount of such wages and overtime compensation, less 
any amount actually paid to such employee by the employer, for an additional 
equal amount as liquidated damages, and for costs and such reasonable attorney's 
fees as may be allowed by the court. Any agreement between such employee and the 
employer to work for less than the applicable wage ra te shall be no defense to such 
action. Such action may be maintained in any court of competent jurisdiction by any 
one or more employees for and in behalf of himself or themselves. 

[1973 c 721 s 13] 

177.34 RELATION TO OTHER LAWS. Any standards relating to minimum 
wages, maximum hours, overtime compensation, or other working conditions in 
effect under any other law of this state on January 1,1974 which are more favorable 
to employees than those applicable hereunder shall not be deemed to be amended, 
rescinded, or otherwise affected by sections 177.21 to 177.35 but shall continue in full 
force and effect until they are specifically superseded by standards more favorable 
to such employees by operation of or in accordance with sections 177.21 to 177.35 or 
regulations issued pursuant thereto. 

[1973 c 721 s lJf] 

177.35 RIGHT OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING. Nothing in sections 177.21 to 
177.35 shall be deemed to interfere with, impede, or in any way diminish the right of 
employees to bargain collectively with their employers through representatives of 
their own choosing in order to establish wages or other conditions of work more 
favorable to the employees than those required by sections 177.21 to 177.35 and regu­
lations issued pursuant thereto. 

[1973 c 721 s 15] 

177.41 STATE PROJECTS AND STATE HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION; PUB­
LIC POLICY. I t is in the public interest that public buildings and other public 
works be constructed and maintained by the best means and highest quality of labor 
reasonably available, and that persons working on public works be compensated 
according to the real value of the services they perform. It is therefore declared to 
be the public policy of this state that wages of laborers, workmen and mechanics 
engaged in state projects should be comparable to wages paid for similar work in 
the community as a whole. 

[1973 c 724 s 1] 
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177.42 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. As used in sections 177.41 to 177.44 the 
terms defined in this section have the meanings given them except where the context 
indicates otherwise. 

Subd. 2. "Project" means erection, construction, remodeling or repairing of 
any public building or other public work. 

Subd. 3. "Area" means the county or other locality from which labor for any 
project would normally be secured. 

Subd. 4. "Prevailing hours of labor" means the hours of labor per day and per 
week worked within the area by a larger number of workmen of the same class than 
are employed within the area for any other number of hours per day and per week; 
provided, that in no event shall the prevailing hours of labor be deemed to be more 
than eight hours per day or more than 40 hours per week. 

Subd. 5. "Hourly basic rate" means the hourly wage paid to any employee. 
Subd. 6. "Prevailing wage rate" means the hourly basic rate of pay plus the 

contribution for health and welfare benefits, vacation benefits, pension benefits and 
any other economic benefit paid to the largest number of workmen engaged in the 
same class of labor within the area, and includes for the purposes of section 177.44, 
rental rates for truck hire paid to those who own and operate the truck. In no event 
shall the prevailing wage rate be deemed to be less than a reasonable and living 
wage. 

[1973 c 7U s 2] 
177.43 CONTRACTS FOR STATE PROJECTS; HOURS OF LABOR; WAGE 

RATES. Subdivision 1. Any contract which provides for a project within the 
meaning of section 177.42, shall contain a stipulation that no laborer or mechanic 
employed directly upon the project work site by the contractor or any subcontractor, 
agent or other person doing or contracting to do all or a part of the work of the 
project, shall be permitted or required to work more hours than the prevailing hours 
of labor unless such laborer or mechanic is paid for all hours in excess of the pre­
vailing hours at a rate of at least V/i times his hourly basic rate of pay; nor shall 
he be paid a lesser rate of wages than the prevailing wage rate in the same or most 
similar trade or occupation in the area. 

Subd. 2. This section shall not apply to wage rates and hours of employment of 
laborers or mechanics engaged in the processing or manufacture of materials or 
products or to the delivery thereof by or for commercial establishments which 
have a fixed place of business from which they regularly supply such processed 
or manufactured materials or products; except that this section shall apply to 
laborers or mechanics who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel or 
stone which is incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the 
material substantially in place, directly or through spreaders, from the transporting 
vehicle. 

Subd. 3. The prevailing wage rates, prevailing hours of labor, and hourly basic 
rates of pay shall be set forth specifically in the contract. 

Subd. 4. The prevailing wage rates, prevailing hours of labor and hourly basic 
rates of pay for all trades and occupations required in any contemplated project 
shall be ascertained before the state asks for bids. The state agency contemplating 
the project shall make such investigations as may be necessary to enable it to ascer­
tain such information. The agency shall report the prevailing wage rates, prevailing 
hours of labor and hourly basic rates to the commissioner of labor and industry and 
shall keep the same information posted on the project in at least one conspicuous 
place for the information of the employees working on the project. 

Subd. 5. Any officer or employee of the state who executes any contract for a 
project as defined in section 177.41 without complying with this section, and any 
contractor, subcontractor or agent thereof who, after executing a contract in compli­
ance with this section, pays to any laborer, workman or mechanic employed directly 
upon the project site a lesser wage for work done under such contract than the pre­
vailing wage rate as set forth in the contract shall be fined not more than $200, or 
imprisoned for not more than 90 days, or both. Such agent or subcontractor shall 
furnish to the contractor evidence of compliance with this section. Each day any 
violation of this section continues shall be deemed a separate offense. 

Subd. 6. It is the duty of the department of labor and industry to enforce this 
section. To this end it may demand, and it shall be the duty of every contractor and 
subcontractor to furnish to the department, copies of any or all payrolls, and the 
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department may examine all records relating to wages paid laborers or mechanics 
on work to which sections 177.41 to 177.44 are applicable. 

Subd. 7. This section shall not apply to a contract, or work under a contract, 
under which (a) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $2,500 
and only one trade or occupation is required to complete it, or (b) the estimated 
total cost of completing the project is less than $25,000 and more than one trade or 
occupation is required to complete it. 

[1973 c 72J, s 3] 
177.44 HIGHWAY CONTRACTS; HOURS OF LABOR; WAGE RATES. Subdi­

vision 1. No laborer or mechanic employed by any contractor, subcontractor, agent 
or other person doing or contracting to do all or a part of the work under a contract 
based on bids as provided in Minnesota Statutes 1971, Section 161.32, to which the 
state is a party, for the construction or maintenance of any highway, shall be per­
mitted or required to work more hours than the prevailing hours of labor unless 
such laborer or mechanic is paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing hours at a 
rate of at least VA times his hourly basic rate of pay; nor shall he be paid a lesser 
rate of wages than the prevailing wage rate in the same or most similar trade or 
occupation in the area. 

Subd. 2. This section shall not apply to wage rates and hours of employment of 
laborers or mechanics engaged in the processing or manufacture of materials or 
products or to the delivery thereof by or for commercial establishments which have 
a fixed place of business from which they regularly supply such processed or manu­
factured materials or products; except that this section shall apply to laborers or 
mechanics who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel or stone which is in­
corporated into the work under the contract by depositing the material substantially 
in place, directly or through spreaders, from the transporting vehicle. 

Subd. 3. The department of labor and industry shall conduct investigations 
and hold public hearings necessary to define classes of laborers and mechanics and 
to inform itself as to the hours of labor and wage rates prevailing in all areas of 
the state for all classes of labor and mechanics commonly employed in highway 
construction work, with a view to ascertaining and determining prevailing hours of 
labor, prevailing wage rates and hourly basic rates of pay accordingly. 

The department shall inform itself of the nature of the equipment furnished by 
truck drivers who own and operate trucks on such contract work, with a view to 
ascertaining and determining minimum rates for the equipment, and shall establish 
by regulation such minimum rates to be computed into the prevailing wage rate in 
accordance with the definition thereof in section 177.42. 

Subd. 4. The commissioner of labor and industry shall prior to May 1 of the 
next calendar year certify the prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rate 
and the hourly basic rate of pay for all classes of laborers and mechanics referred 
to in subdivision 3 in each area. The certification shall in addition to the current 
prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rates and the hourly basic rates of 
pay include future hours and rates when such hours and rates can be determined 
for any such classes of laborers and mechanics in any area and shall specifically set 
forth the effective dates thereof when future hours and rates are certified. If a con­
struction project extends into more than one area there shall be but one standard of 
hours of labor and wage rates for the entire project. 

Subd. 5. The prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rates and the hourly 
basic rates of pay and classifications for all labor as certified by the commissioner 
shall be specifically set forth in the proposals and contracts for each highway con­
struction contract to which the state is a party, and shall, together with the pro­
visions of subdivision 6 be kept posted on the project by the employer in at least one 
conspicuous place for the information of employees working on the project. 

Subd. 6. Any contractor, subcontractor or agent thereof who violates this sec­
tion may be fined not less than $50 nor more than $200 or imprisoned not more than 
90 days or both. Each day that any such violation continues shall be deemed a 
separate offense. 

Whoever induces any individual who seeks to be or is employed on any project 
subject to this section to give up or forego any part of the wages to which he is en­
titled under the contract governing such project by threat not to employ, by threat 
of dismissal from such employment or by any other means may be fined not ex­
ceeding $1,000 or imprisoned not more than one year or both. 

Any person employed on a project under a contract subject to this section who 
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knowingly permits the contractor or subcontractor to pay him less than the pre­
vailing wage rate set forth in such contract, or who gives up any part of the com­
pensation to which he is entitled thereunder, may be fined not exceeding $20 or im­
prisoned not more than 30 days or both. Each day any violation of this paragraph 
continues shall be deemed a separate offense. 

Subd. 7. The department of highways shall require adherence to this section. 
The highway commissioner may demand, and every contractor and subcontractor 
shall furnish, copies of payrolls, and it may examine all records relating to hours 
of work and the wages paid laborers and mechanics on the work to which this 
section is applicable. Upon request of the department of highways or upon com­
plaint of alleged violation, the county attorney of the county in which the work is 
located shall make such investigation as is necessary and prosecute violations in a 
court of competent jurisdiction. 

[1973 c nit s 4] 
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