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156.001 DEFINITIONS. Subdivision 1. Except where the context other­
wise indicates, for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 156, and acts 
amendatory thereof, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given 
them. 

Subd. 2. "Animal" does not mean poultry or birds of any kind. 
Subd. 3. "Board" means the state veterinary examining board. 
Subd. 4. "Compensation" includes but is not limited to all fees, monetary 

rewards, discounts, and emoluments received directly or indirectly. 
Subd. 5. "Licensee" means a person licensed to practice veterinary medi­

cine In the state of Minnesota. 
Subd. 6. "Operation" includes but is not limited to any act of cutting, scrap­

ing, or disturbing the intact body surface in any way, and any surgical or 
dental procedure, except as otherwise provided in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 
156. 

Subd. 7. "Practice of veterinary medicine" has the meaning given by Min­
nesota Statutes, Section 156.12. 

[1965 c 204 8 11 
156.01 STATE VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD. Subdivision 1. There is 

hereby created a state veterinary examining board which shall consist of two public 
members as defined for purposes of Laws 1973, Chapter 638 and five qualified veteri­
narians appointed by the governor. Each appointee shall be a resident of the state 
of Minnesota, and the veterinarian members of the board shall have practiced veter­
inary medicine in this state for at least five years prior to their appointment and 
shall be graduates of an accredited veterinary college. Each member of the board, 
shall be appointed for a term of five years and until his successor is appointed and 
qualifies; provided, that the first board appointed by the governor pursuant to this 
chapter shall consist of five members, who shall hold office for one, two, three, four, 
and five years, respectively. The initial public members of the board shall be ap­
pointed for four and five year terms respectively. Vacancies occurring during an 
appointed term shall be filled by the governor for the unexpired term. 

Subd. 2. Whenever the occasion arises pursuant to this chapter for the appoint­
ment of a veterinarian member of the board by the governor the board of trustees 
of the Minnesota state veterinary medical society may recommend to the governor, 
at least 30 days in advance of the date that the appointment is to be made, three 
veterinarians qualified to serve on the board for each appointment so to be made. 

Subd. 3. The board shall elect from its number a president, vice president, 
secretary, treasurer, and such other officers as are necessary, all from within 
its membership. One person may hold the offices of both secretary and treasurer. 
The board shall have a seal and the power to subpoena witnesses, to administer 
oaths, and take testimony. It shall make, alter, or amend such rules and regu­
lations as may be necessary to carry into effect the provisions of this chapter. 
It shall hold examinations for applicants for license to engage in veterinary prac­
tice twice each year at a time and place of its own choosing. Notice of such exam­
ination shall be posted 90 days before the date set for an examination in all vet­
erinary schools approved by the board in the state, and shall be published in 
the journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association. The board may hold 
such other meetings as it deems necessary; but no meeting shall exceed three 
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days duration. Each member shall receive $35 per day for actual services to­
gether with mileage and subsistence a t the rates provided for state employees. 
Such fees and mileage shall be paid out of the funds of the board. 

Subd. 4. The board shall have the power to provide for its office and neces­
sary furniture, fixtures, and supplies and to appoint and employ and a t will to 
remove and discharge such officers, agents, and other employees as it deems 
necessary to perform its duties, and to fix the salaries and define the duties 
of such officers, agents, and employees. 

Subd. 5. The secretary shall conduct all correspondence necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this chapter. The board shall keep an official record of all 
meetings. The board shall keep an official register of all applicants for. licenses 
and a register of licensees. Such registers shall be prima facie evidence of the 
matters therein contained. 

11937 c 119 s l; 1965 c 20k s 2; 1973 c 638 S 39, 40] (5851-1) 

156.02 APPLICANTS FOR LICENSE; QUALIFICATIONS. Subdivision 1. 
Application for a license to practice veterinary medicine in this state shall be made 
in writing to the veterinary examining board upon a form furnished by the board, 
accompanied by satisfactory evidence that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, 
is of good moral character, and has received a diploma conferring the degree of 
doctor of veterinary medicine, or its equivalent, from some reputable veterinary 
school approved by the board. The application shall contain the information and 
material required by subdivision 2 and any other information that the board may, 
in its sound judgment, require. The application shall be filed with the secretary of 
the board at least 30 days before the date of the examination. If the board deems it 
advisable, it may require that such application be verified by the oath of the 
applicant. 

Subd. 2. Every application shall contain the following information and ma­
terial: (1) A fee of $50 in the form of a check or money order payable to 
the state treasurer, which fee shall not be returnable in the event permission 
to take the examination is denied upon good cause; (2) A certificate from 
the dean or secretary of an approved college of veterinary medicine showing 
the time spent in such school, and the date when the applicant was duly 
and regularly graduated therefrom. If the applicant attended more than one 
college of veterinary medicine, he shall furnish transcripts from each as to 
work done in each; (3) Affidavits of at least two veterinarians and three 
adults who are not related to the applicant setting forth how long a time, 
when, and under what circumstances such persons have known the applicant, 
details respecting the applicant's habits and general reputation, and such other 
facts as may be proper to enable the board to determine the moral character 
of the applicant; (4) If the applicant has served in the armed forces, he shall 
furnish a copy of his discharge papers. 

11937 c 119 s 2; 1965 c 20k s 3; 1973 c 725 s 22] (5851-2) 

156.03 F E E ; EXAMINATION. Upon filing such application and any other 
papers, affidavits, or proof that the veterinary examining board may require, 
together with the payment to the board of a fee of $50, the board, if satisfied, 
shall issue to the applicant for license an order for examination. Every applicant 
for a license shall submit to a theoretical or practical examination, or both, as 
designated by the board. The examination may be oral, or written, or both. 

11937 C119 S 3; 1965 C 20k S k~\ (5851-3) 

156.04 BOARD TO ISSUE LICENSE. The veterinary examining board shall 
issue to every applicant who has successfully passed the required examination and 
who shall have been adjudged to be duly qualified to practice veterinary medicine 
a license to practice. 

U9S7 C. 119 S. kl (5851-k) 
156.05 LICENSE. The license shall be subscribed by the members of the 

veterinary examining board and have affixed to it by the secretary the seal of the 
board. 

U937 C119 S 5; 1965 c 20k S 5] (5851-5) 

156.06 LICENSE RECORDED. The license, before issued, shall be recorded 
in a book to be kept in the office which the veterinary examining board shall 
establish for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of this chapter. These 
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records shall be open to public inspection with proper restrictions as to their 
preservation. 

11937 C119 s 6; 1965 c 204 S 6] (5851-6) 
156.07 ANNUAL REGISTRATION. Every person licensed under Minnesota 

Statutes, Chapter 156, shall conspicuously display his license in his principal 
place of business. 

Each person now qualified to practice veterinary medicine in this state, or 
who shall hereafter be licensed by the veterinary examining board to engage 
in such practice, shall register with the board before March 1 each year and 
thereupon the license of such veterinarian shall be renewed for such calendar 
year. 

The annual fee for such registration shall be not more than $10 as deemed 
necessary by the board to maintain sufficient funds to carry out its duties. 
Such fees shall be paid by each licensed veterinarian in this state to the secre­
tary of the board before March 1 each year. Notice of such fee shall be given 
to all veterinarians licensed in the preceding year by January 1 of the year 
for which the license fee is due. 

Any such veterinarian failing so to register and pay this registration fee 
before March 1 each year shall pay to the secretary of the board the sum of 
$10 plus the regular fee before his license shall be renewed; provided, that in 
the event any such licensed veterinarian fails to pay the registration fee 
provided herein within 60 days after March 1 in any year, then and in that event 
the board shall suspend his license to practice veterinary medicine in this state. 

Any person who is licensed to practice veterinary medicine in this state 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 156, shall be entitled to receive a license 
to continue such practice upon making application to the board and complying 
with the terms of this section for annual registration. 

Any person who was qualified to practice veterinary medicine on or before 
March 31, 1937, and who has remained active in the field of veterinary medicine 
for a period of 35 years but who has failed to register with the state veterinary 
examining board may receive a license to practice veterinary medicine upon 
making application to the board and complying with the terms of this sec­
tion for annual registration. 

11937 c 119 S 7; 1963 c 578 S 1; 1965 C 204 S 7] (5851-7J 
156.071 REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED LICENSE. Except as otherwise 

provided in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 156, an expired license, which is sus­
pended by the board pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 156.07, may be 
reinstated at any time within five years after its suspension on filing an ap­
plication for reinstatement on a form prescribed by the board and by pay­
ment of the renewal fee in effect on the last preceding regular renewal date, 
plus all back fees and the late filing fee. 

A person who fails to renew his license within five years after its suspension 
may not renew it, and it shall not be restored, reissued, or reinstated thereafter, 
but such person may apply for and obtain a new license if he complies with the 
following conditions: (1) He is of good moral character; (2) No fact, circum­
stance, or condition exists which, if the license were issued, would justify 
its revocation or suspension; (3) He takes and passes the examination, if any, 
which would be required of him if he were then applying for a license for 
the first time, or otherwise establishes to the satisfaction of the board that, 
with due regard for the public interest he is qualified to practice veterinary 
medicine; and (4) He pays all of the fees that would be required of him if 
he were then applying for the license for the first time. 

11965 c 204 s 8] 
156.072 NONRESIDENTS; LICENSES. Subdivision 1. A doctor of veteri­

nary medicine duly admitted to practice in any of the other states or territories 
or District of Columbia desiring permission to practice veterinary medicine in this 
state shall submit his application to the board upon forms prescribed by the 
board. Upon proof that he has been duly licensed to practice in such other 
state or territory or in the District of Columbia and has been actively engaged 
in practicing veterinary medicine therein, for at least five years next preced­
ing his application, or has been engaged in full time teaching of veterinary 
medicine in an approved college for at least five years next preceding his appli­
cation, the examination may be waived, upon the recommendation of the board, 
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and the applicant be admitted to practice without examination. However, the 
board may impose such other tests as it considers proper. 

Subd. 2. Such doctor of veterinary medicine shall accompany his applica­
tion by the following: 

(1) A certified copy of his license registration and affidavits of two prac­
ticing doctors of veterinary medicine of the state, territory or District of Colum­
bia so certifying that they are well acquainted with such applicant, that he is a 
person of good moral character, that he has been actively engaged in practicing 
or teaching as the case may be in such state, territory, or District of Columbia 
for the period above prescribed; 

(2) A certificate from the proper body therein having jurisdiction over the con­
duct of practice of veterinary medicine that such applicant is in good standing 
and not under pending charges of misconduct; and 

(3) A fee of $100 in form of check or money order payable to the treasurer 
of the state of Minnesota, no part of which shall be refunded, should the appli­
cation be denied. 

Subd. 3. A doctor of veterinary medicine duly admitted to practice in any 
of the other states or territories or in the District of Columbia desiring ad­
mission to practice In this state but who has not been actively engaged in the 
practice thereof for the period prescribed herein must be examined for admis­
sion in accordance with the rules prescribed herein for those not admitted to 
practice anywhere and in addition, must meet all of the requirements of this 
section except that the fee shall be $50 instead of $100. 

[1965 c Wk s 9] 
156.08 [Repealed, 1965 c 204 s 13] 
156.081 REVOCATION; SUSPENSION. Subdivision 1. The board may re­

voke or suspend for a certain time the license of any person to practice veteri­
nary medicine or any branch thereof in this state after notice and hearing 
for any of the causes provided in this section. Such person shall be entitled 
to counsel of his own choosing. The board shall have the power to subpoena 
witnesses and take testimony. The secretary, in all cases of suspension or 
revocation of licenses, shall enter on the register the fact of suspension or revo­
cation, as the case may be. The record of such suspension or revocation so 
made by the secretary shall be prima facie evidence of the fact thereof, and 
of the regularity of all the proceedings of the board in the matter of the sus­
pension or revocation. 

Subd. 2. The board may revoke or suspend a license for any of the follow­
ing causes: 

(1) The employment of fraud, misrepresentation or deception in obtaining 
such license. 

(2) Conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude or conviction of a felony, 
in which case the record shall be conclusive evidence of such conviction. 

(3) Chronic inebriety or addiction to the use of habit forming drugs. 
(4) Existence of professional connection with or the lending of one's name 

to any illegal practitioner of veterinary medicine and the various branches thereof. 
(5) Violation or attempt to violate, directly or indirectly, any of the pro­

visions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 156. 
(6) Revocation by a sister state or territory of a license or certificate by 

virtue of which one is licensed to practice veterinary medicine in that state 
or territory, notwithstanding that such license or certificate did not support the 
application for license to practice in this state. 

(7) Conviction of or cash compromise of a charge or violation of the Harrison 
Narcotic Act, regulating narcotics, in which case the record of such conviction or 
compromise, as the case may be, shall be conclusive evidence. 

(8) Fraud or dishonesty in applying, treating, or reporting on tuberculin or 
other biological tests. 

(9) Employment of anyone but a veterinarian licensed in the state of Min­
nesota to demonstrate the use of biologies in the treatment of animals. 

(10) False or misleading advertising having for its purpose or intent deception 
or fraud. 

(11) Habitual conduct reflecting unfavorably on the profession of veterinary 
medicine or conduct in violation of law or rules or regulations of the board. 

(12) Conviction on a charge of cruelty to animals. 
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(13) Failure, after written notification by the board, to keep one's premises 
and all equipment therein in a clean and sanitary condition, according to rea­
sonable standards adopted by the board. 

(14) Fraud, deception, or incompetence in the practice of veterinary medicine. 
A plea or verdict of guilty to a charge of a felony or of any offense involv­

ing moral turpitude is deemed to be a conviction within the meaning of this 
section. The board may order the license suspended or revoked, or may decline 
to issue a license, when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of 
conviction has been affirmed on appeal. 

Subd. 3. The adjudication of insanity or mental illness, of any licensee shall 
operate as a suspension of his right to practice under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 156. Such suspension shall continue until such licensee is restored to 
capacity by proper authorities, except that any such licensee may practice veter­
inary medicine while on a provisional discharge. 

11965 c Wk s 10] 
156.09 LICENSE FILED WITH CLERK OF DISTRICT COURT. Every person 

licensed by the veterinary examining board shall file his license for record with the 
clerk of the district court in the county in which he resides within 60 days after the 
date when he commenced to practice veterinary medicine in such county. Upon 
removal to another county he shall file his license in like manner. It shall not be 
necessary to record the annual renewal of such license. The clerk of court's fees 
for filing such license for record shall be $1. 

The clerk shall keep in the record book of such licenses an index thereof showing 
the date and page of the record and in January each year shall furnish to the secre­
tary of the board a list of licenses so filed. Upon notice to the clerk of the death 
or removal of a licensee or of a revocation of a license, he shall note the same upon 
the record of such license. 

11937 C. 119 S. 9] (5851-9) 
156.10 PRACTICE OF VETERINARY MEDICINE WITHOUT LICENSE UN­

LAWFUL. It shall be unlawful for any person to practice veterinary medicine, 
or any branch thereof, in the state without having first secured a license, as pro­
vided in this chapter, and any person violating the provisions of this section shall 
be guilty of a gross misdemeanor and punished therefor according to the laws of 
the state. 

[19S7 c. 119 s. 10] (5851-10) 
156.11 CORPORATIONS NOT TO PRACTICE. It shall be unlawful in the state 

of Minnesota for any corporation, other than one organized pursuant to and for 
the purposes of sections 319.972 to 319.993, to practice veterinary medicine, or to 
hold itself out or advertise itself in any way as being entitled to practice veterinary 
medicine, or to receive the fees, or portions of fees, or gifts or other emoluments 
or benefits derived from the practice of veterinary medicine, or the performance of 
veterinary services by any person, whether such person be licensed to practice 
veterinary medicine or not. Any corporation violating the provisions of this section 
shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor and fined not more than $1,000 for each of­
fense, and each day that this chapter is violated shall be considered a separate 
offense. 

11937 C 119 S 11; 1971 c 450 S 1] (5851-11) 
156.12 PRACTICE OF VETERINARY MEDICINE. The practice of veteri­

nary medicine, as used in this chapter, shall include the act or acts of prescribing, 
or applying, any drug, medicine, biologic, biochemical, anesthetic, or other ma­
terial agency for the treatment of any animal, or for the testing of any animal 
for the diagnosis of any disease, condition of pregnancy or sterility, or for the 
vaccination of any animal for the prevention of transmissible disease or dis­
eases, surgically altering the appearance of an animal, spaying of female 
animals, or performing any operation for the treatment, relief, or cure of any 
sick, diseased, or injured animal. Such practice shall not be construed to in­
clude the dehorning of cattle and goats or the castration of cattle, swine, 
goats, and sheep, or the docking of sheep; nor shall any provision of this 
chapter prohibit any one from rendering necessary gratuitous assistance in the 
treatment of any animal when the same does not amount to prescribing, test­
ing for, or diagnosing, operating, or vaccinating or when the attendance of a 
licensed veterinarian cannot be procured, nor shall it prohibit the employment 
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by a licensed veterinarian of a regularly enrolled student in an approved college 
of veterinary medicine who has successfully completed his third year therein 
and who has obtained from the board an undergraduate permit to practice in the 
office and under the direct supervision of a practicing veterinarian licensed within 
this state, which permit is valid for a period of one year only. 

Nothing herein contained shall be construed to prevent or prohibit any acts 
performed by state agencies, accredited schools, institutions, foundations, business 
corporations or associations, physicians licensed to practice medicine and sur­
gery in all its branches, or their employees or associates, in the conduct of experi­
ments and scientific research on animals in the development of pharmaceuticals, 
biologicals, serums, or methods of treatment, or techniques, for the diagnosis 
and treatment of human ailments. 

Any person who makes both a sale of, and applies or offers to apply, any 
drug, medicine, biologic preparation, including sera, vaccines, bacterins, tuber­
culin, mallein, johnin, or any other material agency for the treatment, vaccination, 
or testing of any animal belonging to another, shall be engaged in the practice 
of veterinary medicine. 

A person who does not hold a license or permit to practice veterinary medi­
cine and who assumes or uses any of the following titles or designations is guilty 
of practicing veterinary medicine without a license: Veterinary, veterinarian, 
animal doctor, animal surgeon, or any other title, designation, word, letter, ab­
breviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the person is qualified 
to practice veterinary medicine. 

The board may, at any time upon written complaint, inspect the premises in 
which veterinary medicine is being practiced for cleanliness and sanitation and 
may direct action to insure such cleanliness and sanitation. 

[1937 C119 S 12; 1965 C 201, S 11] (5851-12) 
156.13 PENALTIES, HOW RECOVERED. The penalties prescribed in this 

chapter may be recovered in a civil case instituted by the veterinary examining 
board in the name of the state or by a criminal prosecution upon complaint being 
made. In case any county attorney shall omit or refuse to conduct such civil action 
or such criminal prosecution, the board may employ another attorney for that 
purpose. 

[1937 c. 119 S. IS] (5851-13) 
156.14 FUNDS PAID TO STATE TREASURER. All fees collected on behalf of 

the veterinary examining board, as provided by this chapter, and all receipts of 
every kind or nature received by the board shall be collected by the treasurer of 
the board and by him deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general 
fund, together with the unexpended balance in any special account of the board as 
of July 1, 1973. The expenses of administering sections 156.001 to 156.14 shall be 
paid from the appropriations made to the state veterinary examining board. 

11937 c 119 s U; 1965 c 201, s 12; 1973 c 638 s 1,1] (5851-11,) 
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