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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. The current 1999 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 28, Issues #14-19
Administration Department
1230.0100; .0150; .0300; .0600; .0700; .0750; .0900; .1700; .1850;

.1905 (adopted) ................................................................................ 499
1346.0050; .0060; .0101; .0102; .0103; .0104; .0105; .0106; .0107; 

.0108; .0109; .0110; .0201; .0202; .0301; .0306; .0309; .0401; 

.0403; .0404; .0505; .0506; .0507; .0508; .0603; .0604; .0703; 

.0709; .0801; .0803; .0901; .1001; .1003; .1004; .1006; .1007; 

.1011; .1204; .1500; .1601; .1602; .1603; .1604; .1605; .1606; 

.5050; .5201; .5202; .5301; .5303; .5304; .5306; .5402; .5403; 

.5404; .5406; .5407; .5408; .5409; .5410; .5501; .5503; .5504; 

.5602; .5620; .5629; .5630; .5700; .5801; .5802; .5803;.5804; 

.5805; .5806; .5807; .5900 (proposed) ............................................ 414
1346.0108; .0203; .0204; .0302; .0304; .0405; .0406; .0407; .0408;

.0409; .0410; .0411; .0414; .0418; .0421; .0424; .0504; .0602;

.0605; .0606; .0607; .0608; .0707; .0710; .0807; .0808; .0809;

.0913; .1002; .1005; .1104; .1107; .1207; .1503; .1505; .1520; 

.1521; .1906; .2002; .2003; .2101; .2102; .2104; .2106; .2107;

.2108; .2109; .2110; .2111; .2113; .2114; .2115; .2120; .2122;

.2123; .2124; .2125; .2126; .2127; .2133; .2201; .2202; .2205;

.2206; .2211; .2212; .2213; .2215; .2216; .2220; 2226; .2500;

.2600 (proposed repealer)................................................................ 414

Education Department
3501.0505; .0510; .0515; .0520; .0525; .0530; .0535; .0540; 

.0545; .0550; .0560; .0565; .0570; .0575; .0580; .0585; 

.0590; .0595; .0600; .0605; .0610; .0620; .0625; .0630; 

.0635 (Expedited Emergency) ........................................................ 468
3525.0210; .3600; .3700; .3750; .3790; .3900; .4010; .4110; .4220; 

.4300; .4320; .4350; .4420; .4700; .4770 (proposed) ...................... 599
3525.0200 s.1; .3300; .3400; 3800; .4000; .4100; .4210; .4410; 4500; 

.4600; .4770 s.4 and 7 (proposed repealer) .................................... 599

Labor and Industry Department
5205.0010 (adopted exempt) ............................................................ 609

Natural Resources Department
6135.0400; .0520; .0620; .0720; .0820 (adopted exempt) ................ 545
6135.0510; .0610; .0710; .0810 (repealed effective July 1, 2004) .. 545
6232.0800 (adopted expedited emergency)...................................... 549
6236.0810; .1060 (adopted expedited emergency) .......................... 609
6236.0810 (27 SR 1378); .1060 (27 SR 1378) (repealed expedited 

emergency)........................................................................................ 609

Transportation Department
8840.5100; .5300; .5400; .5525; .5640; .5650; .5700; .5800; .5900; 

.5910; .5925; .5940; .5950; .5975; .6000; .6100; .6200; .6250; 

.6300; .6400 (proposed).................................................................... 567
8840.5100 s.4, .5300 s.2, 3; .5500 s.3, 4; .5600; .5800 s.4; .5900 s.3; 

.5910 s.3, 7; .6100 s.2 (proposed repealer) .................................... 567
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Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Amendments

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rules Amendments from the public on the subject mat-
ter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes § § 14.101). It does this by publishing a
notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date
of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rules. It then publishes its rules with a notice

of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may do so at
the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the period for
receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons may respond to
any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record is then closed. The administrative law judge prepares a report
within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency decides whether to adopt, with-
draw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing procedure and the report of the admin-
istrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rules Amendments from the public. The agency then
publishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under
the provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.

Department of Education
Division of Compliance and Assistance

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Due Process Hearings for Special Education
NOTICE OF HEARING on Proposed Rules Governing Special Education, Minnesota Rules, parts
3525.0210, 3525.3600, 3525.3700, 3525.3750, 3525.3790, 3525.3900, 3525.4010, 3525.4110,
3525.4220, 3525.4300, 3525.4320, 3525.4350, 3525.4420, 3525.4700 and 3525.4770; and Rules
Proposed for Repeal, parts 3525.3300, 3525.3400, 3525.3800, 3525.4000, 3525.4100, 3525.4210,
3525.4410, 3525.4500 and 3525.4600
Public Hearing. The Department of Education intends to adopt rules after a public hearing following the procedures set forth in

the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2200 to 1400.2240, and the Administrative
Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The agency will hold a public hearing on the above-entitled rules in
Conference Center Rooms 13 & 14, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, Minnesota 55113,
starting at 12:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 16, 2003. An evening session will commence at 7 p.m. and continue until the hearing
is completed.  Additional days of hearing will be scheduled if necessary.  All interested or affected persons will have an opportu-
nity to participate by submitting either oral or written data, statements, or arguments.  Written statements may be submitted with-
out appearing at the hearing.

Administrative Law Judge. The hearing will be conducted by Administrative Law Judge George Beck, who can be 
reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, 
telephone (612) 341-7601, and FAX (612) 349-2665.  The rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes, sections
14.131 to 14.20, and by the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240.
Questions concerning the rule hearing procedure should be directed to the Administrative Law Judge. 

Subject of Rules, Statutory Authority, and Agency Contact Person. The proposed rules are about special education due process
hearings. Among the changes in the proposed amendments are provisions that implement the new requirement of a single state-level
administrative hearing, comprehensive and consistent notice requirements and criteria for hearing officer selection. The proposed
rules are also intended to reduce the amount of time parties spend in a due process hearing by requiring more procedural steps be
addressed at the pre-hearing conference. The proposed rules are authorized by 2003 Minnesota Laws, chapter 9, article 2, section
19 (1st special session) and are intended to implement recent statutory changes.  Each of the rule parts proposed for repeal contain
provisions that have been amended and incorporated into the proposed provisions. A copy of the proposed rules is published in the
State Register and attached to this notice as mailed. 

The agency contact person is: Kristen Schroeder at Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN
55113.  Telephone: (651) 582-8607. FAX: (651) 582-8248. E-mail: kristen.schroeder@state.mn.us. TTY users may call the
Department of Education at (651) 582-8201.
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Proposed Rules
Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available for review at the agency

office and at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules,
including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.
The statement may be reviewed and copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from the agency. 

Public Comment. You and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations and other interested groups,
may submit comments in writing to the agency contact person or the administrative law judge and will have an opportunity to par-
ticipate at the hearing.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the close of the hear-
ing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules.  You may also submit written material to the Administrative
Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends.  This five-day comment peri-
od may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.
Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period during which the agency and any interested person may
respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be submitted during the five-day rebuttal peri-
od.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be received at the Office of Administrative
Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will be available for review at the Office of
Administrative Hearings.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or dur-
ing the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stat-
ed above.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format.  To make such
a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address
or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of the rule hearing process.  Modifications must be supported by
data and views presented during the rule hearing process, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these pro-
posed rules, unless the procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110, has been followed.  If the proposed rules affect you in
any way, you are encouraged to participate.

Adoption Procedure After The Hearing. After the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report
on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the judge's report will become available, and can make this
request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be notified of the date on which the
agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secretary of State, or ask to register with the agency to receive notice of
future rule proceedings, and can make these requests at the hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign 
Finance and Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public
Disclosure Board at: Suite 190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 296-5148 
or 1-800-657-3889.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Dated: 25 October 2003 Cheri Pierson Yecke, Ph.D.
Commissioner

3525.0210 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 3525.0210 to 3525.4770, the terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.

Subp. 4. Alternative dispute resolution (ADR). “Alternative dispute resolution” (ADR) means any process used to resolve a
special education dispute which is not a due process hearing or a state complaint.

Subp. 8. Conciliation conference. “Conciliation conference” means a meeting, which follows an IEP.team meeting, held for the
purpose of resolving a dispute between the parents and district over identification, evaluation, educational placement, manifestation
determination, interim alternative educational placement, or the provision of a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to a child
with a disability.  A.conciliation conference must have in attendance, at a minimum, a parent and a district staff person with author-
ity to resolve the dispute.

Subp. 12. Department. “Department” means the Minnesota Department of Education.

Subp. 15. District. “District” means any local education agency, charter school, or state agency that provides education services
to pupils.

Subp. 16. Due process hearing or hearing. “Due process hearing” or “hearing” refers to a special education due process hear-
ing or expedited due process hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.091, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 34,
subpart E.

Subp. 20. Facilitated IEP meeting. “Facilitated IEP.meeting” means an IEP/IFSP/IIIP.meeting that includes an impartial state
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Proposed Rules
provided facilitator who promotes effective communication, addresses conflicts that arise, and assists a team in developing an
IEP/IFSP/IIIP.

Subp. 21. Filing or file. “Filing” or “file” means transmission of a document to the department or hearing officer by mail, deliv-
ery, fax, or licensed overnight express mail service.  Filing is complete upon actual receipt of the document.  Any document received
after 4:30 p.m. or on a weekend or holiday will be treated as received the following business day.

Subp. 25. Hearing officer. “Hearing officer” means the person appointed by the department, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 125A.091, to decide matters in a due process hearing.

Subp. 31. Mediation. “Mediation” means an ADR process in which a neutral person, provided by the state, assists parents and
districts in resolving disputes over identification, evaluation, educational placement, manifestation determination, interim alterna-
tive educational placement, or the provision of a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to a child with a disability.

Subp. 34. Parent. “Parent” means:

A.  an individual who is the child’s legal guardian and has the right to make education decisions for the child;

B.  the child if 18 years of age or older and no other legal guardian has been appointed; or

C.  a surrogate parent appointed by the district.

Subp. 40. Service or serve. “Service” or “serve” means personal service, service by electric facsimile, service by first class
United States mail, or licensed overnight express mail service.  Service is complete upon receipt, except for service by United States
mail which is complete three days after the date mailed.  When a dispute over service arises the serving party must demonstrate
proof of service.

3525.3600 NOTICE OF CHANGE OR REFUSAL TO CHANGE EDUCATIONAL PLACEMENT OR PROGRAM
PRIOR WRITTEN NOTICE.

Before the initiation or significant change or the refusal to initiate or significantly change a pupil’s educational placement or spe-
cial education services, as defined in part 3525.0200, subpart 19b, the school district shall prepare and serve a When a district pro-
poses or refuses to initiate or change the identification, evaluation, or educational placement of a pupil, or the provision of FAPE
to the pupil, the district must serve prior written notice on the parent.  The district must serve the notice on the parent within a rea-
sonable time, and in no case less than 14 calendar days before the proposed effective date of change or evaluation.  If the notice
only includes a refusal of a request, it must be served on the parent within 14 calendar days of the date the request was made.

The notice that meets must meet the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.503 Minnesota Statutes,
section 125A.091, subdivisions 3 and 4.  The notice must also:

The portion of the notice which is specific to the educational placement and provision of services shall:

A.  include a copy of the individual educational program plan as described in part 3525.2810, subpart 1, item A;

B. inform the parents that the school district will not proceed with the initial placement and provision of services as defined
in part 3525.0200 without prior written consent of the pupil’s parents; and 

C. B. inform the parents that except for the initial placement and provision of services, the district will proceed with the pro-
posed placement and provision of services unless the parents object in writing on the enclosed response form or otherwise in writ-
ing within 14 calendar days after the receipt of the notice. 

The district must provide the parents with a copy of the individual educational program plan as described in part 3525.2810, sub-
part 1, item A, whenever the district proposes to change the content of the IEP.

3525.3700 CONCILIATION CONFERENCE. 

Subpart 1.  When a conference must be offered. When provided notice of the district’s proposed action or refusal to act, a par-
ent must be notified by the district that if the parent refuses to provide prior written consent for initial evaluation or initial place-
ment, the parent objects in writing to any proposal, or the district refuses to initiate or change the identification, evaluation, or edu-
cational placement of the pupil or the provision of a free appropriate public education to the pupil, the parent may request a con-
ciliation conference, mediation, or other form of alternative dispute resolution.  The district must engage in a conciliation confer-
ence if one is requested by the parent Parents must have an opportunity to meet with appropriate district staff in at least one con-
ciliation conference if the parents object to any proposal or refusal of which the parents are notified under Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 125A.091, subdivision 2.  If the parent refuses efforts by the district to conciliate the dispute with the district, the district is
deemed to have satisfied its requirement to offer a conciliation conference.  

Subp. 1a.  When and where held; results. A conciliation conference must be held in accordance with the following: items Acto E.

A.  A conciliation conference must be held within ten calendar days from the district’s receipt of the parent’s agreement to par-
ticipate and at a time and place mutually convenient to the parent and school district representatives;.

B.  A conciliation conference must not be used to unilaterally delay or deny a parent’s right to a hearing;.
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C.  All discussion involving or concerning the contents of a conciliation conference must remain confidential and must not be

permitted as evidence in a due process hearing, except as provided in item D;.

D.  Within seven calendar five business days after the final conciliation conference, the district must serve the parent with a
written memorandum that conforms with the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.503 Minnesota
Statutes, section 125A.091, subdivisions 3 and 4, and must provide the parent with any proposed IEP following the conciliation
conference.  The memorandum and IEP may be used in a subsequent proceeding as permitted by part 3525.4100 and Minnesota
Statutes, section 125A.09, subdivision 4; and are admissible evidence in a due process hearing.

E.  If the proposed action is an initial evaluation and or initial placement, the district must not proceed upon unless provided
with informed written consent of the parents.  For all other proposed actions, the district must proceed within seven calendar ten
business days after the memorandum is sent to served on the parents, unless the parent objects in writing to the proposed action
within that time period. 

Subp. 3.  Refusal to conciliate; request for hearing. When the parent refuses efforts by the district to conciliate the dispute and
notifies the district of the intent to go to an impartial due process hearing, the district must provide inform the parent with of the
procedure and time in which to request for requesting the hearing, and the identification of the district employee to whom the writ-
ten request form or other written request for a hearing must be mailed, and to whom questions and legal documents or requests
about the hearing may be directed and all other procedural safeguards pursuant to part 3525.3900, subpart 3, item J, and Code of
Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.504. 

3525.3750 MEDIATION AND OTHER ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.09 125A.091, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.506, districts
must make mediation or and other forms of alternative dispute resolution, including those developed by the commissioner, avail-
able to parents to encourage resolution of disputes about any matter described in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section
300.503(a)(1) Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.091, subdivision 12.  Mediations and other forms of dispute resolution must be
agreed to by are voluntary for both parties.  A district must not use a mediation or other form of alternative dispute resolution must
not be used to unilaterally delay or deny a parent’s right to a hearing.  All discussion involving or concerning the contents of a medi-
ation or other form of alternative dispute resolution must remain confidential and must not be permitted as evidence in a due process
hearing. Mediation must be conducted in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.506.  Other forms of
alternative dispute resolution must be conducted pursuant to the agreement of the parties. 

3525.3790 TIME COMPUTATION. 

In computing any period of time prescribed by this chapter, the day of the event from which the designated period of time begins
to run shall not be included.  The last day of the time period shall be included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, in
which case the time period ends on the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

3525.3900 NOTICE OF INITIATING A.DUE PROCESS HEARING. 

Written notice of the time, date, and place of a hearing shall be given to all parties by the hearing officer at least ten calendar days in
advance of the hearing.  The hearing shall be held at a time, date, and place in the district responsible for assuring that an appropriate
program is provided and that is reasonably convenient to the parents and child involved, as determined by the hearing officer.

Upon receipt of the parent’s written request for a hearing, or upon the district’s initiation of a hearing, the district shall serve the
parent with a written notice of rights and procedures relative to the hearing that informs the parent:

Subpart 1. Request to be filed with department. A.request for a due process hearing must be in writing and filed with the depart-
ment.  A.school district administrator receiving a request for a due process hearing must immediately file the request with the depart-
ment and in no case more than two business days following receipt of the request.  Within two business days of receipt of a request for
a due process hearing, the department shall notify the district of the request.  The department must not deny a request for hearing if it
is incomplete.  When a district is notified of a due process hearing request it must serve notice on the parent, within two business days,
which includes the information required under subpart 3, item J, if it has not already done so as part of the pending dispute.

Subp. 2. Parent request for hearing. A.parent request for hearing must include:

A.  a statement indicating the parents request a hearing;

B.  the name and address of the child involved;

C.  the name, address, and telephone number, if available, of the parent;

D.  the name of the school the child is attending at the time of the request;

E.  the name or number of the school district of the parent’s residence;

F.  a description of the nature of the problem about providing special education services to the student, including facts relating
to the problem; and

G.  a proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to the parents at the time of the request.
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Subp. 3. District request for hearing. A.district must serve a written notice of hearing on the parents and file it with the depart-

ment in order to initiate a hearing.  The notice must include:

A.  a statement that the district requests a hearing;

B.  the name and address of the child involved;

C.  the name, address, and telephone number, if available, of the parent;

D.  the name of the school the child is attending at the time of the request;

E.  the name or number of the school district of the parent’s residence;

F.  a description of the proposed initiation or change, including facts relating to the proposal or change;

G.  a proposed resolution of the problem;

H.  a copy of the current or proposed IEP, evaluation plan, and any relevant progress information;

I.  a copy of the prior written notice; and

J.  a statement of the basic procedures and safeguards for due process hearings that includes the items in subpart 4.

Subp. 4. Requirements of basic procedures and safeguards. The statement of the basic procedures and safeguards in subpart
3, item J, must include:

A.  the names and telephone numbers of any free or low-cost legal or other relevant services available in the area and a statement
that both parties have the right to be accompanied and advised by counsel and by individuals with special knowledge or training with
respect to the problems of children with disabilities;

A. B.  a statement that the hearing shall will take place before an impartial hearing officer mutually agreed to by the school board
and the parent.  The notice must include a list of possible hearing officers and information on their backgrounds as maintained by the
state.  If the parties have not agreed upon a hearing officer, and the board has not requested that a hearing officer be appointed by the
commissioner within four business days after the receipt of the request, the commissioner shall appoint a hearing officer upon the
request of either party. assigned by the department.  If the department is the provider of services to the child, this statement must indi-
cate that the department will request the Office of Administrative Hearings to appoint a qualified hearing officer;

B. C.  a statement that the parent will receive notice of the time, date, and place of the evidentiary hearing from the hearing offi-
cer at least ten calendar days in advance of the evidentiary hearing which.  This statement must also state that the evidentiary hearing
must be held within 30 calendar days after from the written request. date the hearing request was filed with the department, at a loca-
tion within the district responsible for ensuring a free appropriate public education is provided to the student;

C.  Of the parent’s right to receive a list of persons who will testify on behalf of the district concerning the issues within five busi-
ness days of the date the district receives the parent’s written request for the list of persons testifying.

D.  Of the parent’s responsibility, within five business days after written request by the school district, to provide to the district a
list of persons who will testify on the parent’s behalf concerning the issues. a statement that both parties have the right to present evi-
dence and confront, cross-examine, and compel the attendance of witnesses;

E.  Consistent with Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.509, a statement that the hearing officer may will prohibit,
at the request of either party, evidence not disclosed five business days before a the evidentiary hearing., including evaluations com-
pleted by that date and recommendations based on those evaluations;

F.  a statement that at the hearing the burden of proof is on the district to show that it is in compliance with the law and that the
proposed action or refusal is justified on the basis of the pupil’s educational needs, current educational performance, or progress, tak-
ing into account the presumption that placement in a regular public school class with special education services is preferable to removal
from the regular classroom.;

G.  a statement that the hearing officer will make a written decision based only on evidence received and introduced into the record
at the hearing not more than 45 calendar days from the receipt of the request for the hearing date the hearing request was filed with the
department and that the proposed action or refusal will be upheld only upon showing by the school district by a preponderance of the
evidence.;

H.  a statement that the parent or district may appeal a decision of the hearing officer is binding on all parties unless appealed to
the commissioner by the parent or the district, except as provided in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.514. to the
Minnesota Court of Appeals or United States District Court for the District of Minnesota within 60 calendar days of receipt of the deci-
sion;

I.  a statement that unless the district and parents agree otherwise, the pupil shall not be denied initial admission to school and the
pupil’s education program shall not be changed in conformance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.514.;

J.  a statement that the parents have the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the evidence, that services for which the par-
ents are paying or have paid, and for which the parents are seeking public funds, are appropriate for the pupil. This statement must also
indicate that in order for parents to prevail, the hearing officer must have found that the district has failed to provide a free appropriate
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public education in the least restrictive environment;

K.  a statement that the parents may choose to have the pupil, who is the subject of the hearing, present and that they may open
the evidentiary hearing to the public;

L.  a statement that the department will provide the parents with a written verbatim record of the hearing, at no cost, as well as
the findings of fact and decision;

M.  a statement that parents prevailing at a hearing may be entitled to reasonable attorney fees at the discretion of the federal
District Court; and

N.  a statement that the hearing officer may apply a statute of limitations that may limit the complaints that will be heard.

Subp. 5. Appointment. The department must appoint a hearing officer within two business days of the date the hearing request
was filed with the department.

3525.4010 HEARING OFFICERS. 

Subpart 1. Criteria for selection. An individual must meet, at a minimum, the following criteria to be placed on the department’s
list of hearing officers:

A.  have at least five years of experience practicing law and hold a current license to practice law in the state of Minnesota or
at least five years of experience as a special education due process hearing officer;

B.  have litigation experience and an understanding of administrative law; and

C.  swear an oath to support the Constitutions of the United States and the state of Minnesota, adhere to the standards of con-
duct for hearing officers indicated in subpart 2, and uphold the laws of the federal government and the state of Minnesota.

Subp. 2. Standards of conduct. Impartial hearing officers are expected to follow the Professionalism Aspirations for Judges,
Referees, and Administrative Law Judges to Lawyers and Parties, as promulgated by the Minnesota Supreme Court, January 2001. 

Subp. 3. Evaluation. The department will collect and maintain data on the hearing system which must include, at a minimum:
the number of hearing requests, the method of resolving hearings, and participant evaluation of the process and outcome.

3525.4110 PREHEARING CONFERENCE. 

Subpart 1. Generally. A.prehearing conference must be held within five business days of the date the department appoints the
hearing officer.  The hearing officer will initiate the prehearing conference which may be conducted by telephone or in person at a
location within the district.  The hearing officer will have a written verbatim record of the prehearing conference created which must
be made available to both parties if either party requests the record.

Subp. 2. Purpose. The hearing officer has the following duties at a prehearing conference:

A.  The hearing officer must establish the management, control, and location of the hearing to ensure its fair, efficient, and
effective disposition including, but not limited to:

(1) informing the parties of their rights should the dispute proceed;

(2) ensuring parents have been provided access to or copies of all education records and ensuring all required notices,
information on the pupil’s educational progress, and any information requested by the hearing officer has been shared between the
parties with copies provided to the hearing officer;

(3) determining the necessity for participation of appropriate education agencies, issuing orders to join agencies not
already participating and consolidating cases pursuant to part 3525.4350;

(4) determining the amount of time parties will have to present their cases by balancing the due process rights of the par-
ties with the need for administrative efficiency and limited public resources; and

(5) requiring and assisting the parties in establishing a list of evidence and witnesses necessary for each party to make its
case, such as responding to requests to hearing officers to compel the attendance of witnesses, determining the necessity of tele-
phone testimony, and stipulating to undisputed facts.  A.hearing officer may permit a witness to testify via telephone if such a pro-
cedure would not prejudice either party.

B.  The hearing officer must clearly identify the questions the hearing officer must answer to resolve the dispute and eliminate
claims and complaints that are frivolous or beyond a statute of limitations period.  If necessary, the hearing officer must assist the
parties in identifying the issues for hearing.  An issue for hearing must include two parts:

(1) an element of law, or an interpretation of law that is in dispute; and

(2) the relevant facts of the case to which the law will be applied.

C.  The hearing officer must set a scheduling order for the hearing and for any additional prehearing activities including
requests for extensions to the 45-day timeline in which to dispose of the matter.  A.hearing officer may only grant an extension for
a period of up to 30 calendar days if the requesting party shows good cause on the record.  Extensions may last longer than 30 cal-
endar days if both parties agree and the hearing officer approves.  All written orders granting or denying motions must be filed with
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the department.  All orders granting or denying motions to extend the 45-day timeline must be in writing.  The hearing officer may
require an independent education evaluation be conducted at district expense.

D.  The hearing officer must determine if the hearing may be disposed of without an evidentiary hearing and set the schedule
and procedure accordingly.  The hearing officer may dispose of the case by summary judgment if there are no material facts in dis-
pute, or by the facilitation of a settlement, if possible, including suggesting the parties participate in mediation or another alterna-
tive dispute resolution option.

Subp. 3. Hearing officer authority. The hearing officer has the authority to take any actions necessary to ensure the compliance
with all requirements and may dismiss the matter, with or without prejudice, if the party requesting the hearing fails to provide infor-
mation required or ordered by the hearing officer.

Subp. 4. Subpoenas. Parties may request subpoenas for witnesses from the hearing officer.  Any subpoena must include a state-
ment that the parties have the right, pursuant to federal law, to confront, cross-examine, and compel the attendance of witnesses in
a special education due process hearing.  A.hearing officer may refuse to issue a subpoena for a proposed witness who is to offer
evidence the hearing officer determines will be incompetent, irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious.

3525.4220 HEARING RIGHTS OF RESPECTIVE PARTIES. 

Subpart 1. Basic hearing rights. Parties have the right at hearing to:

A.  be accompanied and advised by counsel and by individuals with special knowledge or training with respect to the prob-
lems of children with disabilities;

B.  present evidence and confront, cross-examine, and compel the attendance of witnesses;

C.  prohibit the introduction of any evidence at the hearing that has not been disclosed to that party at least five business days
before the hearing;

D.  obtain a written, or, at the option of the parents, electronic, verbatim record of the hearing; and

E.  obtain written, or, at the option of the parents, electronic findings of fact and decisions.

Subp. 2. Parental rights at hearings. Parents involved in hearings have the right to:

A.  have the child who is the subject of the hearing present;

B.  open the hearing to the public; and

C.  receive a free copy of the hearing transcript or recording and the findings of fact and decisions.

3525.4300 HEARING PROCEDURES. 

Subpart 1. Generally. The hearing officer shall preside over and conduct the hearing and shall rule on procedural and evidentiary
matters.  The district bears the burden of proof as to all facts and the grounds for the proposed action or refusal. The hearing offi-
cer must ensure that issues for hearing are appropriately identified and that evidence is limited to that which is relevant to the issues
and is not incompetent, immaterial, cumulative, or irrelevant.  The hearing officer must limit the hearing to the amount of time nec-
essary for each party to present its case and must establish the means for doing so.  The hearing officer has unlimited authority to
question witnesses and request information.  

A tape recording, stenographic record, or other written record of the hearing shall be made. 

Subp. 2. Protective orders. When a party is asked to reveal data that is classified as not public pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 13, and the opposing party is not privileged to see this data, the party from whom the data is requested may bring the mat-
ter to the attention of the hearing officer who will review the data in camera and make protective orders that are reasonable and nec-
essary or as otherwise provided by law.

Subp. 3. Responding to orders. If the hearing officer orders that parties do an act or not do an act, the parties must comply with
the order.  If a party objects to an order, the objection must be stated in advance of the order as part of the record.  If the party had
no advance knowledge the order was to be issued, any objection must be made as part of the record as soon as the party becomes
aware of the order.

Subp. 4. Copies. The hearing officer must send copies of all orders or decisions to all parties simultaneously.  Any party send-
ing a letter, exhibit, brief, memorandum, subpoena request, or other document to the hearing officer must simultaneously send a
copy to all other parties.

Subp. 5. Representation by attorney. A.party need not be represented by an attorney.  If a party is represented by an attorney
and notifies the other parties of such representation, all communications pertaining to the hearing must be directed to that attorney. 

Subp. 6. Communication with hearing officer. No party or attorney may communicate with the hearing officer on the merits of
the case unless all parties have the opportunity to participate.

Subp. 7. Participation of nonparties. With the approval of the hearing officer, any person may offer testimony or other evidence
relevant to the case.  Any nonparty offering testimony or other evidence may be questioned by parties to the case and by the hear-
ing officer.
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Subp. 8. Witnesses. At the discretion of the hearing officer, any party may be a witness and may present witnesses on the party’s

behalf at the hearing.  All oral testimony at the hearing must be under oath or affirmation.  At the request of a party or upon the
hearing officer’s own motion, the hearing officer may exclude witnesses from the hearing room so that they cannot hear the testi-
mony of other witnesses.  The hearing officer has unlimited authority to question witnesses and request information.

Subp. 9. Direct examination. The hearing officer may require the parties to submit any or all direct examination of witnesses
and responses in writing five calendar days prior to the start of the evidentiary hearing.  A.witness’s testimony must be written in
his or her own words and signed by the witness.  If a witness is not available for cross-examination, that witness’s direct examina-
tion must be excluded from the record.

3525.4320 RULES OF EVIDENCE. 

Subpart 1. Admissible evidence. The hearing officer may admit all evidence that possesses probative value, including hearsay,
if it is the type of evidence on which reasonable, prudent persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of their serious affairs.  The
hearing officer must give effect to the rules of privilege recognized by law.  The hearing officer must exclude evidence that is incom-
petent, irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious.  The testimony or records of mediators or state-provided IEP.meeting facilita-
tors are not admissible.  The hearing officer may admit evidence offered for the purpose of impeachment even if not disclosed five
days prior to the hearing.

Subp. 2. Evidence part of record. All evidence to be considered in the case must be offered and made a part of the record in the
case.  The hearing officer must not consider any other factual information or evidence in the determination of the case.  This does
not prohibit the hearing officer from questioning witnesses or seeking other evidence from the parties and directing them to pro-
vide it.

Subp. 3. Documents. Documentary evidence in the form of copies or excerpts may be received or incorporated by reference in
the discretion of the hearing officer or upon agreement of the parties.  A.hearing officer may receive copies of a document to the
same extent as the original document.

Subp. 4. Official notice of facts. The hearing officer may take notice of judicially cognizable facts but must do so on the record
and with the opportunity for any party to contest the facts so noticed.

3525.4350 CONSOLIDATION OF CASES. 

Subpart 1. Standards for consolidation. The hearing officer may consolidate two or more separate cases for hearing if the cases
present substantially the same issues of fact and law, if the consolidation would save time and costs, and if consolidation would not
prejudice any party.

Subp. 2. Request for consolidation. A.party requesting consolidation must serve a written request for consolidation on all par-
ties to the cases to be consolidated and must file the originals with the hearing officers assigned to the cases, together with a proof
of service showing service as required herein.  Any party objecting to the request must serve and file their objections within five
calendar days following service of the request for consolidation.

Subp. 3. Determination. When more than one hearing officer is assigned to the cases that are the subject of the request for con-
solidation, the hearing officer assigned to the first case filed with the department will make the determination regarding consolidation. 

Subp. 4. Order. Upon determining whether cases should be consolidated, the hearing officer must serve a written order on all
parties and on the department.  The order must contain information such as a description of the cases for consolidation, the reasons
for the decision, and a notification of a consolidated prehearing conference if one is being scheduled.

3525.4420 DECISIONS OF HEARING OFFICER. 

The hearing officer must conclude all hearings with a written decision or order and must serve the decision or order on all parties.
This order must include information detailing the right to appeal the decision and the time in which to do so.  The hearing officer
must maintain the hearing record until the date of the final decision or order and send it to the department within one week of the
issuance of the final decision or order.  The record must include all pleadings, motions and orders; evidence offered or considered;
offers of proof, objections, and rulings thereon; the hearing officer’s final decision or order; all memoranda or data submitted by
any party in connection with the case; and the transcripts of all proceedings.  The date of the final decision or order is the date the
hearing is concluded. A.decision must:

A.  be in writing;

B.  state the controlling and material facts to which the law is applied;

C.  state the conclusions of law applied to the facts; and

D.  be based on local standards, state statute, the rules of the department, and federal law.  A.summary disposition based upon
stipulation, settlement, or withdrawal of a hearing request need not contain extensive findings or conclusions.  An order, to be treat-
ed as a consent decree approved by the hearing officer, must expressly state it is a consent decree.
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3525.4700 FINAL DECISION ENFORCEMENT AND APPEALS.  

The hearing review officer’s final decision must be in writing, include findings and conclusions, and be based on the standards in
this chapter; Minnesota Statutes; and Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, part 300.

The decision of the hearing review officer is final and effective upon issuance.  Any party aggrieved by the findings and decisions
made by a hearing review officer shall have the right to bring a civil action pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, sec-
tion 300.512.

If the district fails to implement the hearing officer’s or hearing review officer’s decision, the parent shall have has the right to
bring the failure to the attention of the commissioner department through the special education complaint process.  The department
must monitor final orders and ensure they are enforced with or without a complaint and may seek clarification regarding the order
from the hearing officer. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 127A.42, the commissioner of education shall impose
sanctions necessary to correct any failure.  Once the hearing officer has issued a final decision, the hearing officer lacks authority
to amend the decision except for clerical or mathematical errors.  Parties may appeal a final decision, within 60 calendar days of
receipt, to the Minnesota Court of Appeals or to the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes, section 125A.091 and Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.512.

3525.4770 EXPEDITED HEARINGS, TIMELINES. 

Subpart 1.  When parents request hearing. When requesting an expedited hearing the parents shall provide the district and
department with: 

A.  the address of the residence of the pupil a statement indicating the parents request an expedited hearing; 

B.  the name and address of the child involved;

C.  the name, address, and telephone number, if available, of the parent;

D. the name of the school the pupil child is attending at the time of the request; 

C. E.  the name or number of the school district of the parent’s residence;

F. a description of the nature of the problem of the pupil child relating to the manifestation determination, interim placement,
or proposed interim placement, including facts relating to the problem; and 

D. G. a proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to the parents at the time. 

The district may not deny or delay a parent’s right to an expedited hearing must not be denied or delayed for failure to provide the
notice required here. 

Immediately upon the district’s receipt of the request for an expedited hearing by the district superintendent, or upon initiating the ini-
tiation of an expedited hearing, the district shall serve the parents with a written notice of right rights and procedures relative to the
hearing, including the availability of free or low-cost legal and other relevant legal services, and a list of approved hearing officers. 

Subp. 2.  When district requests hearing. When the district requests an expedited hearing it shall provide the parents and depart-
ment with a written notice of: 

A.  a description of the nature of the problem including the behavior for which the change of placement is requested; 

B.  a description of the interim placement or proposed interim placement; and

C.  a proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known at the time; and

D.  a list of approved hearing officers. 

Subp. 3.  Hearing officer appointment. The parties may agree upon a hearing officer, but the district shall send a copy of the
hearing request to the commissioner by facsimile by the end of the business day following receipt of the parent’s notice to the dis-
trict superintendent or initiation of an expedited hearing. Within two business days of receipt of the notice, if the parties have not
agreed to a hearing officer, the commissioner shall appoint a hearing officer.  If the parties agree upon a hearing officer, the hear-
ing officer must be from the roster maintained by the department.  The district must contact the agreed upon hearing officer, and
the hearing officer, if available to hear the matter, must notify the commissioner, who will then assign a hearing case number.  If
the agreed upon hearing officer is unavailable, the district shall inform the parent and the commissioner of that fact, and the com-
missioner must appoint another hearing officer by the end of the following business day.  If the parties are unable to reach agree-
ment, either party may inform the department of that fact and request the immediate appointment of the next available hearing offi-
cer. The same hearing officers shall be used for the expedited hearings as for hearings under parts 3525.3800 to 3525.4500.

Subp. 4.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 5.  Disclosure of data. At least three business days prior to an expedited hearing, or longer, if ordered by the hearing offi-
cer, each party shall disclose to all other parties all evaluations completed by that date and recommendations based on the offering
party’s evaluations that the party intends to use at the hearing.  A hearing officer may bar any party who fails to comply with this
subpart from introducing the relevant evaluation or recommendation at the hearing without the consent of the other party. 
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Subp. 6.  Prehearing conference. Within two business days of appointment, the hearing officer shall hold a prehearing confer-

ence, which may be by telephone.  At that conference, or later, the hearing officer may take any appropriate action relating to sched-
uling, jurisdiction, and listing witnesses, including expert witnesses. Specific pleadings including statements of objection under
Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.09, subdivision 6, clause (5), and the statement of material allegations under part 3525.4200 shall
be required; however the timelines for their exchange shall be established by the hearing officer. Issues not pled with specificity
raised in an expedited due process hearing are not waived in subsequent proceedings.  Any exchange of witness lists, evidence, and
any other information deemed necessary by the hearing officer shall be exchanged based on the timeline ordered by the hearing
officer as required to allow the hearing officer to render a written decision within 20 business ten calendar days of the request for
the hearing.  At the prehearing conference, and subsequently, the hearing officer may order either party to submit educational
records, evaluations, and any other information to the hearing officer for prehearing review.  The hearing officer may establish pro-
cedures necessary to ensure the timely and fair resolution of the dispute. 

Subp. 7.  [See repealer.]

Subp. 8.  Decision. A written decision for an expedited hearing shall be rendered by the hearing officer in 20 business ten calen-
dar days.  An extension of up to five business calendar days may be granted by the hearing officer for good cause shown on the
record.  The decision is effective upon issuance consistent with Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 300.514.  All regula-
tions in this chapter apply to expedited due process hearings to the extent not modified by this part.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 3525.0200, subpart 1; 3525.3300; 3525.3400; 3525.3800; 3525.4000; 3525.4100;
3525.4210; 3525.4410; 3525.4500; 3525.4600; and 3525.4770, subparts 4 and 7, are repealed.

REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

(a) In the next issue of Minnesota Rules, the Revisor of Statutes shall renumber each subpart listed in column A.with the num-
ber listed in column B.  The revisor shall make necessary cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering.

Column A Column B

3525.0200, subpart 1a 3525.0210, subpart 2

3525.0200, subpart 1b 3525.0210, subpart 3

3525.0200, subpart 1d 3525.0210, subpart 5

3525.0200, subpart 1e 3525.0210, subpart 6

3525.0200, subpart 1f 3525.0210, subpart 7

3525.0200, subpart 1g 3525.0210, subpart 9

3525.0200, subpart 1h 3525.0210, subpart 10

3525.0200, subpart 2 3525.0210, subpart 11

3525.0200, subpart 2a 3525.0210, subpart 13

3525.0200, subpart 2b 3525.0210, subpart 14

3525.0200, subpart 2c 3525.0210, subpart 17

3525.0200, subpart 2d 3525.0210, subpart 18

3525.0200, subpart 2e 3525.0210, subpart 19

3525.0200, subpart 3a 3525.0210, subpart 22

3525.0200, subpart 3b 3525.0210, subpart 23

3525.0200, subpart 4a 3525.0210, subpart 24

3525.0200, subpart 8a 3525.0210, subpart 26

3525.0200, subpart 8c 3525.0210, subpart 27

3525.0200, subpart 8d 3525.0210, subpart 28

3525.0200, subpart 8e 3525.0210, subpart 29

3525.0200, subpart 8f 3525.0210, subpart 30

3525.0200, subpart 10 3525.0210, subpart 32

3525.0200, subpart 10a 3525.0210, subpart 33

3525.0200, subpart 15a 3525.0210, subpart 35

3525.0200, subpart 16a 3525.0210, subpart 36

3525.0200, subpart 17a 3525.0210, subpart 37

3525.0200, subpart 18a 3525.0210, subpart 38
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3525.0200, subpart 19a 3525.0210, subpart 39

3525.0200, subpart 19b 3525.0210, subpart 41

3525.0200, subpart 20a 3525.0210, subpart 42

3525.0200, subpart 20b 3525.0210, subpart 43

3525.0200, subpart 24 3525.0210, subpart 44

3525.0200, subpart 25 3525.0210, subpart 45

3525.0200, subpart 25a 3525.0210, subpart 46

3525.0200, subpart 25b 3525.0210, subpart 47

3525.0200, subpart 26 3525.0210, subpart 48

Expedited Emergency Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the

Commissioner to comply with the requirements for emergency rules. The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review
and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions. Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency expe-
dited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months. Specific Minnesota Statutes citations accompanying these emergency 
expedited rules detail the agency’s rulemaking authority.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rules;  Relating to Spring Wild Turkey Hunting
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above entitled rules have been adopted through the process prescribed by Minnesota

Statutes, section 84.027, subdivision 13 (b).  The statutory authority for the contents of the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections
97A.137, 97A.435, 97B.711, and 97B.723.  

Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes § 14.386 and 14.388). They are most often of two kinds.

One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of Statutes, reviewed for
legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings, and then published in the State Register. These exempt rules are effective for two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking provisions of Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest. This exemption can only be used where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or

(2) comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance with Minnesota Statutes
14.14-14.28, or

(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or

(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning or effect the rules.

These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor or Statutes, for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings and then pub-
lished in the State Register. In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate justifi-
cation for the use of this exemption. Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years from the date of publication of the
rule in the State Register. Rules adopted, amended or repealed under clause (3) or (4) are effective upon publication in the State Register.

The Legislature may also exempt an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive requirements
unique to that exemption.

Department of Labor and Industry 
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Occupational Safety and Health; Adoption of
Federal Standards by Reference 
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 28, Number 8, pages 171-172, August 25, 2003 (28 SR 171), are

adopted as proposed.
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The emergency conditions that do not allow compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.0451 to 97A.0459, are that popu-
lation and harvest data needed for setting quotas and areas are not available until August.

Dated: 15 October 2003 Gene Merriam 
Commissioner of Natural Resources

6236.0810 WILD TURKEY PERMIT AREA DESCRIPTIONS. 

Wild turkey permit areas are comprised of partial, single, or grouped deer and bear registration blocks, as established in part
6232.4700, and are described as follows:  

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  Wild turkey permit areas in Zone 2: 

(1) wild turkey permit area 221 consists of those portions of registration block 221 described as follows:

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 23 and the Mississippi River; thence along the east
shore of the Mississippi River to a point due west of the junction of County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) 48 and 
STH 371; thence east to said junction; thence east along CSAH 48 to STH 25; thence along STH 25 to STH 95; 
thence along STH 95 to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to the point of beginning; 

[For text of subitems (2) to (11), see M.R.]

(12) wild turkey permit area 249 consists of registration block 249;

(13) wild turkey permit area 251 consists of registration block 251; 

(13) (14) wild turkey permit area 286 consists of registration block 286; and 

(14) (15) wild turkey permit area 297-298 consists of registration blocks 297 and 298; 

C.  Wild turkey permit areas in Zone 3: 

(1) wild turkey permit area 337-338 337 consists of registration blocks block 337 and 338; 

(2) wild turkey permit area 338 consists of registration block 338;

(3) wild turkey permit area 339 consists of registration block 339;

(4) wild turkey permit area 341-342 341 consists of registration blocks block 341 and 342; 

(5) wild turkey permit area 342 consists of registration block 342;

(3) (6) wild turkey permit area 343-347 343 consists of registration blocks block 343 and 347; 

(4) (7) wild turkey permit area 344 consist consists of registration block 344; 

(5) (8) wild turkey permit area 345-348 345 consists of registration blocks block 345 and 348; 

(6) (9) wild turkey permit area 346 consists of registration block 346; and

(10) wild turkey permit area 347 consists of registration block 347;

(11) wild turkey permit area 348 consists of registration block 348; and

(7) (12) wild turkey permit area 349 consists of registration block 349; 

D.  Wild turkey permit areas in Zone 4: 

[For text of subitems (1) to (7), see M.R.]

(8) wild turkey permit area 411 consists of those portions of registration block 411 described as follows:;

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 78 and STH 210; thence along STH 210 in an
easterly direction to STH 29; thence along STH 29 in a southerly direction to STH 235; thence along STH 235
in a westerly direction to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 38; thence along CSAH 38 to the intersection of STH 78; thence
along STH 78 in a northerly direction to the point of beginning;

[For text of subitems (9) to (11), see M.R.]

(12) wild turkey permit area 415 consists of those portions of registration block 415 described as follows:

Beginning at the intersection of Interstate Highway 94 (I-94) and State Trunk Highway (STH) 28; thence along STH 28 in a
northeasterly direction to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 2; thence along CSAH 2 in an easterly direction to STH 238;
thence along STH 238 to CSAH 26; thence along CSAH 26 to the Mississippi river; thence along the Mississippi river in a 
southerly direction to STH 23; thence along STH 23 to the intersection of CSAH 75; thence along CSAH 75 to the 
intersection of I-94; thence along I-94 in a westerly direction to the point of beginning registration block 415; 

(13) wild turkey permit area 416 consists of registration block 416; 

Expedited Emergency Rules
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(14) wild turkey permit area 417 consists of those portions of registration block 417 described as follows:

Beginning at the intersection of State Trunk Highway (STH) 55 and STH 4; thence along STH 4 in a southerly direction to
U.S. Highway 12; thence along U.S. Highway 12 to County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 104, Swift county; thence northerly 
on CSAH 104 to STH 55, Douglas county; thence along STH 55 in a southeasterly direction to the point of beginning
registration block 417;

(15) wild turkey permit area 418 consists of those portions of registration block 418 described as follows:

Beginning at the intersection of Interstate Highway 94 and County State Aid Highway (CSAH) 10; thence along CSAH 10 in
a southerly direction to State Trunk Highway (STH) 23; thence along STH 23 to STH 55, Stearns County; thence along STH 
55 to STH 15; thence along STH 15 to Interstate Highway 94; thence along Interstate Highway 94 to the point of beginning
registration block 418; 

[For text of subitems (16) to (21), see M.R.]

(22) wild turkey permit area 425 consists of registration block blocks 425 and 435: 

[For text of subitems (23) to (27), see M.R.]

(28) wild turkey permit area 433-446-447 consists of registration blocks block 433, 446, and 447; 

(29) wild turkey permit area 435 consists of registration block 435;

(30) (29) wild turkey permit area 440 consists of registration block 440; 

(31) (30) wild turkey permit area 442 consists of registration block 442; 

(32) (31) wild turkey permit area 443 consists of registration block 443; 

(32) wild turkey permit area 446 consists of registration blocks 446 and 447;

(33) wild turkey permit area 448-449-451 consists of registration blocks block 448, 449, and 451; 

(33a) wild turkey permit area 449 consists of registration block 449;

[For text of subitem (34), see M.R.]

(34a) wild turkey permit area 451 consists of registration blocks 451, 452, and 453;

(35) wild turkey permit area 452 consists of registration block 452;

(36) wild turkey permit area 453 consists of registration block 453;

(37) wild turkey permit area 454-455-456-458 454 consists of registration blocks 454, 455, 456, and 458; 

(38) (36) wild turkey permit area 457 consists of registration block 457; 

(39) (37) wild turkey permit area 459 consists of registration block 459; 

(40) (38) wild turkey permit area 461 consists of registration block 461; 

(39) wild turkey permit area 462 consists of registration block 462;

(41) (40) wild turkey permit area 463 consists of registration block 463; 

(42) (41) wild turkey permit area 464-465 464 consists of registration blocks block 464 and 465; and

(43) (42) wild turkey permit area 465 consists of registration block 465;

(43) wild turkey permit area 466-467 466 consists of registration blocks block 466 and 467; and 

(44) wild turkey permit area 467 consists of registration block 467.

E.  Wild turkey permit area 339-462 consists of registration blocks 339 and 462 in Zones 3 and 4.

6236.1060 TURKEY HUNT QUOTAS. 

Subpart 1. Open wild turkey permit areas and permit quotas by time period. The following wild turkey permit areas are open
for the 2004 spring wild turkey season with the quotas on numbers of permits per time period established below:

2004 Spring Wild Turkey Permit Area Quotas

Wild Time Period
Turkey A B C D E F G H
Permit
Area April April April April May May May May
Number 14-18 19-23 24-28 29- 4-8 9-13 14-20 21-27

May 3
157 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
159 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
221 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15

Expedited Emergency Rules
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223 60 60 60 60 60 60 60 60
225 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
227 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50
228 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40
235 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15
236 80 80 80 80 80 80 80 80
244 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15
248 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
249 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
337 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50
338 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70
339 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70
341 200 200 200 200 200 200 200 200
342 200 200 200 200 200 200 200 200
343 150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150
344 110 110 110 110 110 110 110 110
345 185 185 185 185 185 185 185 185
346 285 285 285 285 285 285 285 285
347 150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150
348 175 175 175 175 175 175 175 175
349 360 360 360 360 360 360 360 360
410 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
411 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
412 35 35 35 35 35 35 35 35
414 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
415 55 55 55 55 55 55 55 55
416 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
417 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
418 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50
419 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
420 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
422 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
425 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50
426 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
427 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
428 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15
429 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20
431 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
433 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
440 60 60 60 60 60 60 60 60
442 160 160 160 160 160 160 160 160
443 70 70 70 70 70 70 70 70
446 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
448 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
449 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
450 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
451 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
454 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
457 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
459 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15
461 80 80 80 80 80 80 80 80
462 80 80 80 80 80 80 80 80
463 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20
464 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25
465 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
466 35 35 35 35 35 35 35 35

Expedited Emergency Rules
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467 40 40 40 40 40 40 40 40

Total 3,450 3,450 3,450 3,450 3,450 3,450 3,450 3,450

Grand total = 27,600

Subp. 2. Permits for disability hunts. For wild turkey permit area 337, two additional permits per time period are available for
individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt on the Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge.  For wild turkey per-
mit area 223, one additional permit per time period is available for individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt on
the Sand Prairie Wildlife Management Area.  Capable Partners is the sponsoring nonprofit organization.

REPEALER. The emergency amendment to Minnesota Rules, part 6236.0810, published in the State Register, volume 27, page
1378, March 3, 2003, is repealed.  Minnesota Rules, part 6236.1060, published in the State Register, volume 27, page 1378, March
3, 2003, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE PERIOD. The emergency amendment to Minnesota Rules, part 6236.0810, expires 18 months after adoption.
After the emergency amendment expires, the permanent rule as it read prior to the amendment again takes effect, except as it may
be amended by permanent rule.  Minnesota Rules, part 6236.1060, expires December 31, 2004.

Expedited Emergency Rules

Minnesota State Agricultural Society (STATE FAIR)
Board Meeting Notice
MINNESOTA STATE FAIRGROUNDS - The board of managers of the Minnesota State Agricultural Society will meet at 10 a.m.

Friday, Nov 14 at the Libby Conference Center on the State Fairgrounds. The board meeting will be preceded by 9 a.m. meetings
of the sales and planning committees. The Society is the governing body of the Minnesota State Fair. Agendas are available upon
request; please phone the Minnesota State Fair at (651) 288-4400.

Dated: Nov. 4, 2003

Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
Notice of Meeting of the Public Policy Committee
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a meeting of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association’s (MCHA), Public Policy

Committee will be held at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, November 17, 2003. The meeting will take place at the MCHA executive office
located at 5775 Wayzata Blvd., Suite 900, St. Louis Park, MN.

For additional information, please call Lynn Gruber at (952) 593-9609.

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Request for Contracts on Environmental Response to Clandestine Laboratories for
Manufacture of Methamphetamine or Other Controlled Substances
The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is seeking comment on environmental response to clandestine laboratories for

the manufacture of methamphetamine or other controlled substances.  MPCA is considering application for a federal National
Brownfields Assessment, Revolving Loan Fund, and/or Cleanup Grant to address clandestine laboratory sites contaminated by haz-
ardous substances, pollutants, or contaminants.  Such a grant would be obtained from the United States Environmental Protection
Agency pursuant to the 2002 Small Business Liability Relief and Brownfields Revitalization Act which authorizes federal financial
assistance for brownfields revitalization, including grants for assessment, cleanup, and job training.  MPCA specifically is seeking
comment on establishing procedures and priorities for investigating and remedying sites where wells, septic tanks, drainfields,

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § § 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking. The State Register also 
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest.
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ground, indoor areas of homes and other structures, vehicles or other areas that may be contaminated by methamphetamine or waste
or precursor chemicals.  Written comments should be directed to:

Stephen J. Lee, Supervisor
Emergency  Response Team
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, Minnesota   55155

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
Environmental Outcomes Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendments to Rules Governing State Water
Quality Standards, Minnesota Rules Chapters 7050 and 7052
The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) requests comments, opinions, and information on its possible amendment to

rules governing state water quality standards found in Minnesota Rules Chapters 7050 and 7052.

Subject of Rules. Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050 includes provisions that protect Minnesota’s lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands and
ground water from pollution.  It assigns to all waters of the state the beneficial uses Minnesotans expect our water resources to pro-
vide, such as drinking, fishing, swimming, aesthetics, and industrial and agricultural uses. Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050 also
includes narrative and numeric water quality standards designed to protect beneficial uses, nondegradation requirements to protect
high quality waters, discharge limits for city and industrial wastewater treatment plants, and other provisions to protect water
resources.  Minnesota Rules Chapter 7052 contains similar provisions, but is applicable only to the waters in the Lake Superior basin.

The federal Clean Water Act requires states to review their water quality standards every three years and to amend and update them
if necessary.  The MPCA believes that some of the water quality standards in Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050 are outdated and in
need of revision.  The MPCA requests information and opinion from the public on any subject matter contained in Minnesota Rules
Chapters 7050 and 7052, but is particularly interested in the public's opinions on the items listed below.  The MPCA has set a goal
to complete these rule amendments by July 2005.

The MPCA has not decided on the exact scope of proposed amendments to these rules, but is considering the following items:

A.  Addition and Revision of Numeric Water Quality Standards
1. Addition of eutrophication (nutrient) water quality standards for lakes.  These new standards will help protect lakes from

the negative impacts of excess nutrient loading, such as excess growth of algae (algae blooms) and loss of water clarity.
The increase in abundance and growth of algae and other aquatic plants in lakes, in response to increased nutrients (usu-
ally total phosphorus), is called “eutrophication”.

2. Revise the state-wide water quality standard for mercury.

3. Update as many as 35 water quality standards in Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050, and as many as 14 standards in
Minnesota Rules Chapter 7052, to establish concentrations that protect both the people who eat sport-caught fish and
those who drink water from public drinking water sources.

4. Revise the ammonia standard that protects aquatic life from its toxic effects.

5. Revise the fecal coliform standard that protects surface waters for swimming.

B.  Examples of Other Changes Being Considered
1. Reorganize and split Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050 into two rules to make it easier to read and understand.

2. Update the list of trout waters listed in Minnesota Rules, part 7050.0470, to reflect the most recent list of waters desig-
nated as trout streams or trout lakes from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.

3. Propose additional calcareous fens and waters in certain designated Scientific and Natural Areas as Outstanding
Resource Value Waters (ORVW).  ORVWs receive extra protection from point and nonpoint sources of pollution.

4. Review requests to reclassify specific water bodies as Limited Resource Value Waters.  The aquatic community and
recreational opportunities in Limited Resource Value Waters is limited by the lack of water, poor habitat and significant
alterations.

5. Minnesota Session Laws, Chapter 128, Sec. 156 (passed in 2003) requires the MPCA to: define terms in existing narra-
tive standards, outline an administrative process for any person to demonstrate that a use does not exist in a given water
body, and clarify factors affecting the assessment of nutrient inputs to impoundments.

6. Non-substantive “housekeeping” changes.

Official Notices
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Persons Affected. The possible amendments to the rules would likely affect municipal and industrial dischargers to waters of the
state, statewide and local lake associations, the agricultural community, and members of the general public who benefit from pro-
tection of Minnesota’s lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands and groundwater.  Because the revisions under consideration to the rules are
applicable state-wide, any person in Minnesota may potentially be affected by changes made to these rules. 

Statutory Authority.  The MPCA has general authority to promulgate and/or revise the water quality rules under Minnesota
Statutes § 115.03, subdivision 1(e) and Minnesota Statutes § 115.44.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rule amendments in writ-
ing or orally until 4:30 p.m. on December 31, 2003.  The MPCA does not anticipate appointing a formal advisory committee to
comment on the possible rule amendments; however, the MPCA plans to conduct a series of meetings with interested parties dur-
ing 2004 to provide additional opportunity for input on the possible rule amendments. 

Rules Drafts. The MPCA has not yet prepared a draft of the possible rule amendments. 

Agency Contact Person. Written or oral comments, questions and requests for more information on these possible rule
amendments should be directed to: 

David E. Maschwitz
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
520 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN  55155-4194
Phone: (651) 296-7255
MN Toll Free: 1-800-657-3864
Fax: (651) 297-7709
E-mail: david.maschwitz@pca.state.mn.us
TTY users may call the MPCA teletypewriter at (651) 282-5332 or 1-800-657-3864.

Any interested person or group is encouraged to submit ideas, comments or opinions on the proposal, outlined above, or any other
part of Minnesota Rules Chapter 7050 or 7052. Additional information on the MPCA's plans to revise water quality standards can
be obtained at the following MPCA Web site: http://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/standards/rulechange.html

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Request for Comments can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print,
Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the MPCA contact person at the address or telephone number list-
ed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted to the adminis-
trative law judge. 

Dated: 30 October 2003

Sheryl A. Corrigan
Commissioner

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Minnesota State Rehabilitation Council
Applications Sought for Appointments
The Minnesota State Rehabilitation Council has immediate openings for a representative of the Statewide Independent Living

Council; a Rehabilitation Counselor; a community rehabilitation program service provider; a representative of the Governor's
Workforce Development Council; a representative of the director of an American Indian 121 project;  and three openings repre-
senting business, labor and industry.

The State Rehabilitation Council participates in assessment of the state’s Vocational Rehabilitation Program and jointly with RS
develops and reviews annually the VR Program goals and priorities.  Members are appointed by the Governor.  The council meets
approximately 10 times annually on the fourth Wednesday of the month.  A minimum of one meeting per year will be held in
Greater Minnesota.  Appointments are made to ensure representation of persons with disabilities and Vocational Rehabilitation
Program consumers.  For more information, contact Gail Lundeen, State Rehabilitation Council, Rehabilitation Services, 390 North
Robert Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, (651) 296-5629, (800) 328-9095, or email her at gail.lundeen@state.mn.us.  TTY: (800)
657-3973; (651) 296-3900. Applications can be obtained by calling the Secretary of State at (651) 296-5629.

Official Notices
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State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts Section), the State Register also 

publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs 
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register itself.
Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested 
parties to respond.

Minnesota Board on Aging
Request for Proposal to Provide Data Collection, Encoding, and Maintenance to the
Minnesotahelp.info Website for Seniors, People with Disabilities, Their Caregivers and
Families and Their Children
The Minnesota Board on Aging (MBA) requests proposals (RFP) for a grant to a single provider, to collect, encode, and enter com-

munity resource data (based on a inclusion/exclusion policy adopted by the Board on Aging) into the Minnesotahelp.info website
for Seniors, People with Disabilities, their Caregivers and Families and their Children for the 87 counties.  Minnesotahelp.info pro-
vides information and other linkages to service for both consumers and professionals.  The website has community resources for
Minnesotans of all ages, with future plans to add an online case management interface to assist individuals in living independent-
ly and residing in their communities.

In completing the RFP, proposers need to refer to the requirements found in the Appendices as well as those in the RFP document.  

A copy of the RFP and Appendices is posted on the agency website at http://www.mnaging.org under Site Map, Community,
Request for Proposals, or by contacting:

Deborah Laing
Minnesota Board on Aging
444 Lafayette Road, 4S
St. Paul, MN  55155-3843
deborah.laing@state.mn.us

Proposals must be submitted by 4:30p.m. November 25th, 2003.

State Contracts
Informal Solicitations: Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over $5,000 through $50,000, may either 
be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administration, Materials Management Division’s (MMD) website. Interested 
vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T Contract Section of the MMD website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for informal solicitation 
announcements.

Formal Solicitations: Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announcements for contracts with an estimated
value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in the State Register. Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State
College and University institutions are exempt from these requirements.

Department of Administration
State Architect’s Office

Notice of Availability of Request for Proposals to Provide Constructability and
Interdisciplinary Coordination Review of Drawings and Specifications for the DHS Office
Building and Parking Ramp (SAO Project No. 02281SPX and 02282SPX)
The State of Minnesota through its Department of Administration, State Architect's Office (“State”) is soliciting proposals for the serv-

ices of Constructability and Interdisciplinary Coordination Review of Drawings and Specifications for the new DHS Office Building
and Parking Ramp.

The full Request for Proposals is available at www.sao.admin.state.mn.us, click on “Solicitation Announcements”, click on “RFP for
Constructability and Interdisciplinary Coordination for Project No. 02281SPX and 02282SPX”.  Written responses must be received no
later than, 2:00 p.m. Central Standard Time on December 3, 2003.  RFP clarifications or changes and responses to questions, if any, will
also be available on Web Site www.sao.admin.state.mn.us, click on “Solicitation Announcements”, click on “RFP for Constructability
and Interdisciplinary Coordination for Project No. 02281SPX and 02282SPX”.  Late responses will not be considered.



(Cite 28 SR 617) State Register, Monday 10 November 2003 Page 617

State Contracts   
Questions may be faxed to attention of Glenn Metz at (612) 296-7650 or emailed to Glenn Metz at glenn.metz@state.mn.us.

Questions must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on November 21, 2003 and response to questions will be available by end of
day November 25, 2003 on Web Site www.sao.admin.state.mn.us.  The contact person identified is the only person authorized to
respond to questions.

Department of Administration
State Register

Subscriptions Available
Subscriptions to the State Register are available ON-LINE.  These subscriptions include advantages that can be found nowhere else.

A running index of the current issue can be used to quickly locate the articles you are searching for.  Each has links to the issue in
which the article appeared.  A current log of contracts, grants and loans, as well as non-state contracts can also be accessed which
helps in locating contracts you can bid on.  Best of all, the State Register is E-mailed to you the afternoon it is published, on Friday,
so you can be ready with your phone calls on Monday morning.

Subscriptions cost $180 for an entire year, that’s $80 less than the cover price.  Service, speed, accuracy, and on-time delivery with
the State Register on-line.  Order yours today by calling (651) 297-8774 and charge your credit card, or FAX your credit card
information: (651) 297-8260; or send in your check or credit card information to Minnesota’s Bookstore, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul,
MN 55155.

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)
Hibbing Community College

Sealed Bids Accepted for Foundry and Pottery Building Project
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that sealed bids for foundry and pottery building work will be addressed and delivered to the

Business Office - Room M140, Hibbing Community College, 1515 East 25th Street, Hibbing, MN 55746.

Re-bid Date: November 20, 2003
Bid Time: 2:00 pm Local Time

All bids must be prepared on the form provided by the Architect and submitted in accordance with the Instructions To Bidders
(Section 00500).  Bids are to be addressed to Ron Blakesley, Vice President of Administrative Services, at the aforesaid address and
are to be in a sealed opaque envelope conspicuously marked on the outside identifying the project name.

Plans, Specifications and Proposal Forms as prepared by Architectural Resources, Inc., 704 East Howard Street, Hibbing, MN
55746, (218) 263-6868, are available at the Architect’s office upon a deposit of $100.00 which will be refunded only to contractors
who submit bids and return same within ten working days of bid date.  Plans and Specifications may be reviewed at the offices of
the Architect; the Owner; and at the Builders Exchanges in Duluth, Hibbing, Minneapolis, St. Paul, MN; Dodge Scan in
Minneapolis, MN; and Construction Bulletin in New Hope, MN.

Each bid must be accompanied by a certified check, cashier’s check, or bidder’s bond in the amount of five percent (5%) of the
bid, payable to the Owner; as provided in the specifications, said check and the amount thereof or the amount of the bidder’s bond
to be forfeited as liquidated damages if the bidder furnishing the same neglects or refuses to promptly carry out said bid or enter
into contract with the State of Minnesota.

No bids may be withdrawn within thirty (30) days from the scheduled closing time for receiving bids.

The right is reserved to reject any or all bids or parts of bids and to waive informalities therein, and to award the contract to other
than the lowest bidder if in their discretion the interests of the Owner will be best served thereby.

Hibbing Community College
1515 East 25th Street
Hibbing, MN 55746

Colleges and Universities, Minnesota State (MnSCU)
St. Cloud Technical College

Request for Proposal (RFP) for SCTC Website Design
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Offers will be received by the Director of Purchasing, St. Cloud Technical College, until 2:00
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P.M. on December 1, 2003 for the purpose of designing a website, according to the specifications on file at:

St. Cloud Technical College
Business Office
1540 Northway Drive
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56303

Attention: Jeff John
Director of Purchasing
Phone: (320) 308-5512
Fax: (320) 308-5027
Email: jaj@sctc.edu

Specifications and Request for Proposal forms may be obtained from Jeff John the Director of Purchasing at the address shown
above. The request for proposal may also be downloaded off of the St Cloud Technical College’s web site by visiting
www.sctc.edu/rfp beginning November 10, 2003 until December 1, 2003.

A pre-bid question and answer meeting will be held at 9:00am until 11:00am on November 20, 2003 in room 1-240 at St Cloud
Technical College to answer any questions about the project.

Offers are to be submitted in a sealed envelope addressed to the Director of Purchasing at the above address and clearly marked:
“RFP for SCTC Website design”

All applicants must provide one original and five (5) copies of the proposal.  Each copy of the proposal must be signed, in ink, by
an authorized member of the company.  Prices and terms of the proposal as stated must be valid for the length of any resulting con-
tract. The final date for submitting a proposal is December 1, 2003 by 2:00 P.M. Central Daylight Time.  Late proposals will
not be considered.  Faxed or e-mailed proposals will not be considered.

St. Cloud Technical College reserves the right to reject any and all offers and to waive any informalities contained in such offers.
This request does not obligate the St Cloud Technical College to complete this project.  The St Cloud Technical College reserves
the right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the responder.

Department of Commerce
eHEAT Technology Initiative: Phase III Request For Proposals
The Minnesota Department of Commerce is seeking proposals for services to complete the technical design, construction, testing

and implementation EAP/WAP technology initiatives known as eHEAT (Electronic Household energy Automation Technology).

This Request for Proposal (RFP) relates to services in Phase III of a three-phase process of the technology initiative project. Phase
I was the project definition process, which determined the intention, scope, values and context of the project. Phase II included busi-
ness modeling, planning, assessment and quality assurance services. Phase III is development and implementation of the solutions.

The eHEAT Project is developing technological solutions for Minnesota’s EAP and WAP to serve customers, manage data and
program functions. The solution will help service providers serve customers by managing record keeping and reporting and has a
goal of facilitating customer self-service access.

The key product from this phase is an information system solution to be used to facilitate the delivery of program service for both
EAP and WAP. Success is dependent on following the intentions, scope and values outlined in the eHEAT Project Definition and
basing the final design on the business models created in Phase II. The consultant will act as a data architect and, developer. They
will also participate in as training facilitation, quality assurance and implementation for deployment of the subsequent system.

All proposals are due December 1, 2003. Contractors who provided services in Phase I and/or Phase II are not eligible to apply
for Phase III. The Department of Commerce has estimated that the total cost of awarded contract(s) should not exceed $1,400,000.

Prospective responders can get a complete RFP by contacting:

Jeff Mitchell
Energy Division-Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, Minnesota  55101
(651) 296-2458
jeff.mitchell@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Historical Society
Notice of Request for Bids for Printing Services - Minnesota Treasures
The Minnesota Historical Society (Society) is seeking bids from qualified firms and individuals for printing of 4,000 books, titled

Minnesota Treasures (Also requesting quotes for additional 500’s).  A delivery date of April 1, 2004 at the Chicago Distribution
Center must be guaranteed.

The Request for Bids is available by calling or writing Mary Green-Toussaint, Contracting and Purchasing Assistant, Minnesota
Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul, MN  55102.  Telephone (651) 297-7007 or e-mail mary.green-tous-
saint@mnhs.org.

Bids must be received no later than 2:00 P.M., Local Time, Tuesday, November 25, 2003.  No late bids will be accepted.

Dated: November 10, 2003

Department of Human Services
Partnerships for Child Development

Notice of Request for Proposal to Provide a Household Child Care Survey in Minnesota
The Department of Human Services is soliciting proposals from qualified organizations to gather, analyze and evaluate data on

statewide child care usage patterns of Minnesota families with young children as well as data on the families, friends and neigh-
bors who provide care for some of these families.  The research will be used for the development and assessment of policies and
programs related to Minnesota’s early childhood and school-age care system, specifically those designed to support the school
readiness of young children and improve the quality and availability of child care for low-income families.

The Department of Human Services has received federal funding for the purposes of this household survey and evaluation.  The
Department will award one contract to a single organization or a representative of a collaboration of partners with expertise in
designing surveys, analyzing and evaluating data, conducting research, publishing reports, and extensive knowledge of child care
at a state and national level.

The goal of this project is twofold:  (1) to conduct a comprehensive statewide survey of child care use based on a statistically valid,
random sample of Minnesota families; and, (2) to conduct a simultaneous statewide survey of a random sample of informal or fam-
ily, friends and neighbor child care providers.  The survey of families with children will be used to gather information on the range
of child care options that Minnesota families use for their children from infancy up to age 14, including licensed formal care and
informal care by relatives and neighbors.  Once data has been gathered, an extensive analysis and evaluation of the data will be done
to determine the child care usage patterns of Minnesota families with young children in 2004 and compare these patterns to usage
in 1999.  In addition, analysis and evaluation of data on the sample of family, friend and neighbor caregivers will be completed.
Two separate reports based on this data collection, analysis and evaluation will be presented to the Department of Human Services.  

The Department has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $200,000.  The project period will be January 2004
through March 2005.

For a complete copy of the Request for Proposal, please contact the Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road North,
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-3860, telephone (651) 297-3340, fax (651) 215-5714, e-mail: dhs.child.care@state.mn.us.

Completed proposals are due by 3:00 p.m. Central Time, on Monday, December 8, 2003.

Minnesota Supreme Court
Office of the State Court Administrator

Request For Proposals for Identifying Cost Effective Ways to Enhance Collection of Court-
Imposed Fines, Charges, Co-payments and Restitution
The State Court Administrator is authorized by Minnesota Statute 480.15, subdivision 2, to “examine the administrative methods

and systems employed in the offices of … court administrators … and make recommendations--through the Chief Justice--for the
improvement of the same.”  The Minnesota Courts collect approximately $130 million dollars each year.  These funds are distrib-
uted to municipal, county, state entities and private entities and individuals.  The State Court Administrator is seeking assistance in
identifying cost effective ways to enhance the collection of court-imposed fines, surcharges, co-payments and restitution. 

The goals of the project are to:
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a) maximize the efforts of court staff in the process of collecting fines, surcharges, co-payments and restitution through stream-

lined procedures, more effective utilization of existing state resources in other agencies or private collection entities,

b) reduce the collection time from imposition to payment,

c) develop administrative procedures which would reduce the necessity for court hearings to enforce court judgments,

d) improve the collection rate, i.e. the amount collected relative to the amount imposed, and

e) propose performance measures for the collection process.

Inquiries regarding proposals should be directed to:

Bruce Biser
Director of Finance
110 Minnesota Judicial Center
25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
(651) 215-0044

Proposal Submission Deadline: November 21, 2003 at 4:30 p.m. Central Standard Time

Department of Transportation
Program Support Group

Notice of Potential Availability of Contracting Opportunities for a Variety of Highway Related
Technical Activities (the “Consultant Pre-Qualification Program”)
This document is available in alternative formats for persons with disabilities by calling Robin Valento at (651) 284-3622 for per-

sons who are hearing or speech impaired by calling the Minnesota Relay Service at (800) 627-3529.

Mn/DOT, working in conjunction with the Consultant Reform Committee, the Minnesota Consulting Engineers Council, and the
Department of Administration, has developed the Consultant Pre-qualification Program as a new method of consultant selection.
The ultimate goal of the Pre-Qualification Program is to streamline the process of contracting for highway related professional/tech-
nical services.  Mn/DOT anticipates that most consultant contracts for highway-related technical activities will be awarded using
this method, however, Mn/DOT also reserves the right to use RFP or other selection processes for particular projects.  Nothing in
this solicitation requires Mn/DOT to complete or use the Consultant Pre-qualification Program.

Mn/DOT is currently requesting applications from consultants.  Refer to Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services web site, indicated below,
to see which highway related professional/technical services are available at this time.  Following the advertisement of a particular
category of services, applications will be accepted on a continual basis.

All expenses incurred in responding to this notice will be borne by the responder. Response to this notice becomes public infor-
mation under the Minnesota Government Data Practices.

Consultant Pre-Qualification Program information, application requirements and application forms are available on Mn/DOT’s
web site at http://www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

Send completed application material to:
Robin Valento
Pre-Qualification Administrator
Minnesota Department of Transportation 
Consultant Services
395 John Ireland Boulevard, Seventh Floor North, Mail Stop 680
St. Paul, MN  55155

Note: DUE DATE:  APPLICATION MATERIAL WILL BE ACCEPTED ON A CONTINUAL BASIS. 

Department of Transportation
Engineering Services Division

Notice Concerning Professional/Technical Contract Opportunities
NOTICE TO ALL: The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is now placing additional public notices for profes-

sional/technical contract opportunities on Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services website at: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult.

New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be available for the time period as indicated within the public notice.   



Non-State Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The State Register meets state and federal

guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests
for proposals from the private sector. It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person; 2) institution name,
address,and telephone number; 3) brief description of project and tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of completed contract 
proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication). Surveys show that subscribers
are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact editor for further details.
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Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals (RFP) for a Comprehensive Facility Plan for a Third Party
ADA Eligibility Assessment Project

Contract Number 02P146 
The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for a comprehensive Facility Plan for a Third Party ADA Eligibility Assessment

Project. This will include evaluation of applicants who are requesting ADA paratransit eligibility. The evaluation is based upon in-
person functional assessment of the applicant’s physical and/or cognitive and/or mental abilities and makes ADA paratransit eligi-
bility recommendations to Council staff. 

Issue Request for Proposals November 3, 2003
Receive Proposals December 8, 2003
Evaluate and Rank Proposals January 2004
Contract negotiated, executed, NTP February 2004

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive a RFP package 

are invited to submit a Letter of Interest to: 

Harriet Simmons, Senior Administrative Assistant, Contracts and Procurement Unit 
Metropolitan Council 
230 East Fifth Street 
Mears Park Centre 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
PHONE: 651-602-1068
FAX: (651) 602-1138
e-mail: harriet.simmons@metc.state.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals (RFP) for an Interactive Voice Response System 
Contract Number 03P095
The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for an Interactive Voice Response System for schedule information with inter-

faces to SmartCard Fare Collection System & Siemens SmartCOM Transit Master System. 

Issue Request for Proposals November 3, 2003
Receive Proposals December 8, 2003
Contract negotiated, executed, NTP January 2004

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive a RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to: 

Harriet Simmons, Senior Administrative Assistant, Contracts and Procurement Unit 
Metropolitan Council 
230 East Fifth Street 
Mears Park Centre 
St. Paul, MN 55101 
PHONE: (651) 602-1068



Page 622 State Register, Monday 10 November 2003 (Cite 28 SR 622)

Non-State Contracts & Grants
FAX: (651) 602-1138
e-mail: harriet.simmons@metc.state.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

Metropolitan Council - Metro Transit
Invitation for Bids for Bus Wash Rack
The Metropolitan Council is soliciting sealed bids for a Bus Wash Rack.  Bids are due at 2:00 PM, Thursday, December 4, 2003.

Bids must be submitted in accordance with the Invitation for Bids document available from:

Metropolitan Council
Metro Transit Purchasing Department
515 N. Cleveland Avenue
St. Paul, MN  55114
(612) 349-5070

Mower County
Department of Human Services

Request for Proposals to Operate Transit System
Mower County is seeking proposals from providers interested in contracting to operate Mower County Transit, (MCT), beginning

January 1, 2004 and continuing through December 31, 2004.  

MCT is a countywide state subsidized public transportation system, utilizing small buses and volunteer drivers to transport pas-
sengers. The annual budget is approximately $537,000. However, this proposal does not obligate the agency to spend this dollar
amount.

Call or write for the full RFP, which will be sent free of charge to interested vendors by contacting:

Bruce Henricks, Director
Mower County Human Services
1005 North Main Street
Austin, MN  55912
(507) 437-9729

Other department personnel are not allowed to discuss the Request for Proposal with anyone, including responders, before the pro-
posal submission deadline.

All proposals must be delivered by mail or in person by December 10, 2003.

Mower County reserves the right to reject any and all proposals.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors
The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid

Information Services (BIS). Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year. Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
(612) 625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in the
Purchasing Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN  55454.
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