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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specif-
ic Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published. The current 1999 set is a 13-volume bound
collection of all adopted rules in effect at the time. Supplements are published to update this set of rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopt-
ed exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a notice
in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed. Proposed emergency rules and
withdrawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety
in the State Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person sim-
ply needs two issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. For a more detailed description of the
rulemaking process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and
issues #1-52 (or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in
August, but starting with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact
Minnesota's Bookstore, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.

Volume 27, Issue # 28
Chiropractic Examiners Board
2500.0100; .0710; .1100; .1110; .1200; .1410; .1420; .1550; .1710; 

.1720; .1800; .1900; .2020; .2040; .2100; .2110; .3000 (proposed).... 1102
2500.1110 s.5 (repealed)................................................................... 1102

Departments of Corrections and Human Services 
2960.0010; .0020; .0030; .0040; .0050; .0060; .0070; .0080; .0090; 

.0100; .0110; .0120; .0130; .0140; .0150; .0160; .0170; .0180; .0190;

.0200; .0210; .0220; .0230; .0240; .0250; .0260; .0270; .0280; .0290;

.0300; .0310; .0320; .0330; .0340; .0350; .0360; .0370; .0380; .0390;

.0400; .0410; .0420; .0430; .0440; .0450; .0460; .0470; .0480; .0490;

.0500; .0510; .0520; .0530; .0540; .0550; .0560; .0570; .0580; .0590;

.0600; .0610; .0620; .0630; .0640; .0650; .0660; .0670; .0680; .0690;

.0700; .0710; .3000; .3010; .3020; .3030; .3040; .3050; .3070; .3080;

.3090; .3100; .3200; .3210; .3220; .3230; .3300; .3310; .3320; .3330;

.3340 (proposed) ............................................................................ 1039
2925.0100; .0200; .0500; .0600; .0800; .1000; .1200; .1400; .1500; 

.1600; .1800 - .2950; .3100; .3300; .3500 - .4100; 2930.0100 -

.9900; 2935.0100 - .7100; 2950.0100 - .1900; .4450; 9545.0010 -

.0260; .0905 - .1480 (proposed repealer) ..................................... 1039

Children, Families and Learning
3525.0850 - .0854; .1100 s. 2F; .2710 s.4f; .2810 1a(11); 

(proposed) ...................................................................................... 1035
3525.0200 s. 1d, 1e, 1g, 2a, 2c, 8e, 8f, 25a, 25b, .2900 s.5

(proposed repealer)....................................................................... 1035
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Minnesota Department of Children, Families, & Learning
Division of Accountability and Compliance

Notice of Additional Hearing on Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Behavioral
Interventions, Minnesota Rules, parts 3525.0850 to 3525.0854, 3525.1100, subpart 2F,
3525.2710, subpart 4f, and 3525.2810, 1a(11); and the repeal of parts 3525.0200,
subparts 1d, 1e, 1g, 2a, 2c, 8e, 8f, 25a, and 25b, and 3525.2900, subpart 5.

Public Hearing. The Department of Children, Families, & Learning intends to adopt rules after a public hearing following the
procedures set forth in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2200 to 1400.2240, and the
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

The agency will hold a public hearing on the above-entitled rules on Thursday, January 30, 2002, from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. and 5:00
to 7:00 p.m. at the Moundsview Community Center, 5394 Edgewood Drive, Mounds View, Minnesota. All interested or affected
persons will have an opportunity to participate by submitting either oral or written data, statements, or arguments. Statements may
be submitted without appearing at the hearing. Additional days of hearing will be scheduled if necessary.

Administrative Law Judge. The hearing will be conducted by Administrative Law Judge Beverly Heydinger, who can be
reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, tele-
phone (612) 341-7606, and FAX (612) 349-2665. Questions concerning the rule hearing procedure should be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge.

Agency Contact Person. The agency contact person is Sara Winter at the Minnesota Department of Children, Families, &
Learning, 1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113, telephone (651) 582-8237, fax: (651) 582-8725, email:
sara.winter@state.mn.us. TTY users may call the Department of Children, Families, & Learning at (651) 582-8201.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The subject of the hearing will be the proposed modifications to the rules governing:
behavioral interventions, including the definitions of aversive procedure, aversive stimulus, behavioral intervention plan, depriva-
tion procedure, emergency, manual restraint, mechanical restraint, positive behavioral supports, regulated intervention, seclusion,
target behavior, and time out; training requirements for use of positive behavioral supports and other interventions; and the use of
positive behavioral supports and other interventions, including the public agency's responsibility when law enforcement officials are
involved and the use of locked seclusion. Minnesota Rules 3525.0850 - 3525.0854; 3525.1100, subp. 2F; 3525.2710, subp. 4f; and

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject
matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule. It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed. The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public. The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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Proposed Rules
3525.2810, subp. 1a(11). The proposed rules also include the repeal of Minnesota Rules, parts 3525.0200, subparts 1d, 1e, 1g, 2a,
2c, 8e, 8f, 25a, and 25b, and 3525.2900, subpart 5.

The proposed rules and modifications are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.07(a), which requires the Department
to adopt "necessary rules for instruction of children with a disability...These rules must also provide standards for the discipline,
control, management, and protection of children with a disability," and Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.67, which states, "The
commissioner must adopt rules governing the use of aversive and deprivation procedures by school district employees or persons
under contract with a school district."

A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register, Monday 28 October 2002, Volume 27, #18 pages 631-637 (27 SR
631). A free copy of the proposed modified rules and a free copy of the proposed rules is available upon request from the agency
contact person.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The agency issued a Statement of Need and Reasonableness on October 25, 2002, and
a Preliminary Statement on December 16, 2002. These documents contain a summary of the justification for the proposed rules,
any modifications to the proposed rules to date, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an esti-
mate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. You may obtain a copy of the Statement of Need and Reasonableness and
Preliminary Statement from the agency contact person, the agency website at http://cfl.state.mn.us/rulemaking/, or the Office of
Administrative Hearings.

Public Comment. You and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations and other interested
groups, are encouraged to participate in this rulemaking process. You may present your views either orally at a hearing or in
writing at any time before the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for 15 calendar days. All comments or
responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30
p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of the rule hearing process. Modifications must be supported by
data and views presented during the rule hearing process, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these pro-
posed rules, unless the procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110, has been followed. If the proposed rules affect you in any
way, you are encouraged to participate.

Adoption Procedure After the Hearing. After the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report
on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date when the judge's report will become available, and can make this
request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date on which the
agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secretary of State or ask to register with the agency to receive notice of
future rule proceedings. These requests may be made at the hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board. Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board
at: Suite 190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 296-5148 or 1-800-657-3889.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the dates, times, and locations listed above.

Christine Jax, Ph.D.
Commissioner
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Departments of Corrections and Human Services
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Governing the Licensure and Certification of

Residential Treatment and Detention Facilities and Foster Care for Children
NOTICE OF HEARING
Proposed Permanent Rules Governing the Licensure and Certification of Residential Treatment and Detention

Facilities and Foster Care for Children, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 2960 [Parts 2960.0010 to 2960.3340], and
Proposed Repeal of Rules, Chapters 2925, 2930, 2935, and 2950, and parts 9530.4450; 9545.0010;
9545.0020; 9545.0030; 9545.0040; 9545.0050; 9545.0060; 9545.0070; 9545.0080; 9545.0090; 9545.0100;
9545.0110; 9545.0120; 9545.0130; 9545.0140; 9545.0150; 9545.0160; 9545.0170; 9545.0180; 9545.0190;
9545.0200; 9545.0210; 9545.0220; 9545.0230; 9545.0240; 9545.0250; 9545.0260; 9545.0905; 9545.0915;
9545.0925; 9545.0935; 9545.0945; 9545.0955; 9545.0965; 9545.0975; 9545.0985; 9545.0995; 9545.1005;
9545.1015; 9545.1025; 9545.1035; 9545.1045; 9545.1055; 9545.1065; 9545.1075; 9545.1085; 9545.1095;
9545.1105; 9545.1115; 9545.1125; 9545.1200; 9545.1210; 9545.1220; 9545.1230; 9545.1240; 9545.1250;
9545.1260; 9545.1270; 9545.1280; 9545.1290; 9545.1300; 9545.1310; 9545.1320; 9545.1400; 9545.1410;
9545.1420; 9545.1430; 9545.1440; 9545.1450; 9545.1460; 9545.1470, and 9545.1480.

Public Hearing. The Departments of Human Services and Corrections intend to adopt rules after a public hearing following the
procedures set forth in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2200 to 1400.2240, and the
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The agency will hold a public hearing on the above-
entitled rules in the Itasca room, located in the lower level at 1450 Energy Park Drive, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55108, starting at 9:30
a.m. on Tuesday, February 11, 2003, for persons interested in testifying about foster care licensing rules; and at 9:30 a.m. on
Wednesday, February 12, 2003, for persons interested in testifying about treatment and detention facility licensing and certification
rules, and continuing until the hearing is completed. It is requested that persons limit their testimony to the topic selected for each
day. However, the Administrative Law Judge may allow persons to testify about either foster care licensing or residential treatment
and detention facility licensing topics on either day, if necessary to accommodate the person's schedule. The public hearing will
continue on Thursday, February 13, 2002, starting at 9:30 a.m. The Thursday hearing will be conducted in a  video-conference
format, in which persons who wish to testify about any part of  the rule appear at one of the five locations listed below and speak to
the Administrative Law Judge at 1450 Energy Park Drive via a video camera and microphone from one of the five locations listed
below. Persons who wish to testify about the rule via video-conference format may go to one of the following video-conference
locations on Thursday, February 13, 2002, starting at 9:30 a.m.:

• Beltrami County 2 - Social Services, Suite 250, 616 America Avenue, Northwest, Bemidji MN 56601;

• Moose Lake State Operated Services, Administration Building, 1111 Highway 73, Moose Lake MN 55767;

• Willmar Regional Treatment Center, Administration Building, 1550 Highway 71, North, Willmar MN 56201;

• Nobles County Offices, Board Room, 315 Tenth Street, Worthington MN 56187; or

• Saint Peter Regional Treatment Center, Administration Building, 100 Freeman Drive, Saint Peter MN 56082.

All interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to participate by submitting either oral or written data, statements, or
arguments. Statements may be submitted without appearing at the hearing.

Administrative Law Judge. The hearing will be conducted by Administrative Law Judge Allan Klein, who can be reached at
the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, telephone (612)
341-7609, and FAX 612-349-2665. The rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20, and
by the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240. Questions concerning the
rule hearing procedure should be directed to the Administrative Law Judge.

Subject of Rules, Statutory Authority, and Agency Contact Person. The Minnesota Department of Human Services [DHS]
and the Minnesota Department of Corrections [DOC] are proposing to jointly adopt rules governing the licensure and certification
of residential treatment and detention facilities, and foster homes for children and juveniles. The proposed rules will replace five
DHS and four DOC existing rules and create a new certification category for programs that offer transitional services. Transitional
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Proposed Rules
services programs are now licensed by DHS under group homes license requirements, with appropriate rule variances granted to
these programs to meet the unique care requirements of transitional services programs. The proposed rule will also create standards
for foster homes that offer treatment foster care.

Many children have multiple problems including homelessness, chemical dependency and severe emotional disturbance and need
multiple services such as transitional services, chemical dependency or mental health treatment and correctional services to meet
their needs. Existing licensing rules license only one service per licensed program. This rule allows care and treatment programs to
be certified to offer one or more kinds of treatment which will enable programs to provide appropriate needed services to children
and juveniles with single or multiple problems.

The proposed rules are authorized by Laws of Minnesota 1995, Chapter 226, Article 3, section 60, Minnesota Statutes, sections
241.021 and 245A.03 and 245A.09. A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register with the Notice of Hearing on
January 6, 2003.

A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: Robert Klukas at
the Minnesota Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, MN 55155-3816. Mr. Klukas can be reached by
phone at (651) 296-2794. His fax number is (651) 297-3173. His email address is robert.klukas@state.mn.us TTY users may call
the Department of Human Services at (651) 296-5705. TTY users may call the Department of Human Services at (651) 296-7385.
The Minnesota Relay Service phone number is 1-800-627-3529.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available for review at the agency
offices and at the Office of Administrative Hearings. This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules,
including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. The
statement may be reviewed and copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from the agency.

Public Comment. You and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations and other interested
groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time
before the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also submit written
material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends.
This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the Administrative
Law Judge at the hearing. Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period during which the agency and
any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted. No additional evidence may be submitted during
the five-day rebuttal period. All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be received at the Office
of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for review
at the Office of Administrative Hearings.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified as a result of the rule hearing process. Modifications must be supported by
data and views presented during the rule hearing process, and the adopted rules may not be substantially different than these pro-
posed rules, unless the procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110, has been followed. If the proposed rules affect you in any
way, you are encouraged to participate.

Adoption Procedure After the Hearing. After the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report
on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date when the judge's report will become available, and can make this
request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date on which the
agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secretary of State, or ask to register with the agency to receive notice of
future rule proceedings, and can make these requests at the hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board. Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure
Board at: Suite 190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 651-296-5148 or 1-800-657-3889.

Order. We order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the dates, times, and locations listed above.

Sheryl Ramstad Hvass Weston Kooistra
Commissioner Acting Commissioner
Minnesota Department of Corrections Minnesota Department of Human Services
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2960.0010 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. This chapter governs the licensing of providers of residential care and treatment or detention or fos-

ter care services for children in out-of-home placement. This chapter contains the licensing requirements for residential
facilities and foster care and program certification requirements for program services offered in the licensed facilities.

The purpose of residential care is to provide temporary care or treatment for children in need of out-of-home care or treat-
ment which is determined to meet the child's individual needs and is consistent with the timelines in Minnesota Statutes,
section 260C.201, subdivisions 11 and 11a. The license holder must cooperate with and give support to the efforts of the
placing agency regarding permanency planning for children in out-of-home placement.

Subp. 2. Scope. This chapter applies to any unit of government, individual, corporation, limited liability corporation,
partnership, voluntary association, other organization or entity, or controlling individual that operates or applies to operate a
facility that provides care, treatment, detention, or rehabilitation service on a 24-hour basis to a resident. Facilities excluded
from licensure under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, are excluded from this chapter.

Subp. 3. Exemptions from this chapter.
A. Residential service sites for persons with mental retardation and related conditions that are licensed by the commis-

sioner of the Department of Human Services under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245B, and by the commissioner of the
Department of Health under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144, are exempt from this chapter.

B. Transitional services programs and shelter care service programs are exempt from parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220.
Subp. 4. Exemption from parts 9543.1000 to 9543.1060. Group residential facilities licensed or certified under parts

2960.0010 to 2960.0710 are exempt from parts 9543.1000 to 9543.1060.
Subp. 5. Certification. No entity may be granted a certificate or continue to be certified without a license. A license

holder or applicant may seek certification to provide more than one program service.
Subp. 6. Juvenile sex offender treatment programs. Juvenile sex offender treatment programs are licensed under parts

2960.0010 to 2960.0220 and certified under parts 2955.0010 to 2955.0170.
Subp. 7. Statutory authority. This chapter is adopted according to Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, section 60, and

Minnesota Statutes, sections 241.021 and 245A.09.

2960.0020 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710 have the meanings given them in this part.
Subp. 2. Adolescent. "Adolescent" means an individual under 18 years of age, defined as a child under Minnesota

Statutes, section 260C.007, subdivision 4.
Subp. 3. Applicant. "Applicant" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 3, and has

completed and signed a license or certificate application form. Applicant includes a current license holder who is seeking
relicensure or recertification.

Subp. 4. Assessment. "Assessment" means the process used by a qualified person to identify and evaluate the resident's
strengths, weaknesses, problems, and needs.

Subp. 5. Aversive procedure. "Aversive procedure" has the meaning given in part 9525.2710, subpart 4.
Subp. 6. Basic services. "Basic services" means services provided at the licensed facility to meet the resident's basic

need for food, shelter, clothing, medical and dental care, personal cleanliness, privacy, spiritual and religious practice, safe-
ty, and adult supervision.

Subp. 7. Caregiver. "Caregiver" means a person who provides services to a resident according to the resident's case plan
in a setting licensed or certified under parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710.

Subp. 8. Case manager. "Case manager" means the supervising agency responsible for developing, implementing, and
monitoring the case plan.

Subp. 9. Case plan. "Case plan" means a plan of care that is developed and monitored by the placing agency for a resi-
dent in a residential facility.

Subp. 10. Certification. "Certification" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 3a.
Subp. 11. Chemical. "Chemical" means alcohol, solvents, and other mood-altering substances, including controlled sub-

stances as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 152.01, subdivision 4.
Subp. 12. Chemical abuse. "Chemical abuse" means a pattern of inappropriate and harmful chemical use as defined in

subpart 41. Chemical abuse includes inappropriate and harmful patterns of chemical use that are associated with specific
situations in an individual's life such as loss of a job, death of a loved one, or sudden change in life circumstances.
Chemical abuse does not involve a pattern of pathological use, but it may progress to pathological use.
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Subp. 13. Chemical dependency. "Chemical dependency" means a pattern of pathological use as defined in subpart 52,

accompanied by the physical manifestations of increased tolerance to the chemical or chemicals being used or withdrawal
syndrome following cessation of chemical use.

Subp. 14. Chemical dependency treatment services. "Chemical dependency treatment services" means therapeutic and
treatment services provided to a resident to alter the resident's pattern of harmful chemical use.

Subp. 15. Chemical irritant. "Chemical irritant" means any nonlethal chemical compound approved by the Department
of Health that is used in an emergency situation to subdue or gain control of a resident who is endangering self, others, or
the security of the program.

Subp. 16. Child in need of protection or services or CHIPS child. "Child in need of protection or services" or "CHIPS
child" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.007, subdivision 4.

Subp. 17. Child with a disability. "Child with a disability" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
125A.02.

Subp. 18. Child with severe emotional disturbance. "Child with severe emotional disturbance" has the meaning given
in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4871, subdivision 6.

Subp. 19. Clinical supervision. "Clinical supervision" means the oversight responsibility for the planning, development,
implementation, and evaluation of clinical services, admissions, intake assessment, individual treatment plans, delivery of
sex offender treatment services, resident progress in treatment, case management, discharge planning, and staff development
and evaluation.

Subp. 20. Clinical supervisor. "Clinical supervisor" means the person designated as responsible for clinical supervision.
Subp. 21. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Corrections or the commis-

sioner of the Department of Human Services.
Subp. 22. Correctional program services. "Correctional program services" means any program or activity that uses

treatment services, consequences, and discipline to control or modify behavior. Correctional program services hold resi-
dents accountable for their behavior and assume that residents behave in illegal or unacceptable ways as a result of a faulty
reasoning process. Correctional program services are provided to residents who are at least ten years old, but younger than
21 years old, and extended jurisdictional juveniles.

Subp. 23. Criminal sexual behavior. "Criminal sexual behavior" means any sexual behavior as identified in Minnesota
Statutes, sections 609.293 to 609.352, 609.36, 609.365, 609.79, 609.795, and 617.23 to 617.294.

Subp. 24. Critical incident. "Critical incident" means an occurrence which involves a resident and requires the program
to make a response that is not a part of the program's ordinary daily routine. Examples of critical incidents include, but are
not limited to, suicide, attempted suicide, homicide, death of a resident, injury that is either life-threatening or requires med-
ical treatment, fire which requires fire department response, alleged maltreatment of a resident, assault of a resident, assault
by a resident, client-to-client sexual contact, or other act or situation which would require a response by law enforcement,
the fire department, an ambulance, or another emergency response provider.

Subp. 25. Cultural competence or culturally competent. "Cultural competence" or "culturally competent" means a set
of congruent behaviors, attitudes, and policies that come together in a system or agency or among professionals to work
effectively in cross-cultural situations.

Subp. 26. Deprivation procedure. "Deprivation procedure" has the meaning given in part 9525.2710, subpart 12.
Subp. 27. Detention setting. "Detention setting" means a residential program offering temporary care to the alleged

delinquent with new charges or adjudicated delinquent residents with new charges who are at least ten years old, but
younger than 21 years old, on a predispositional status.

Subp. 28. Direct contact. "Direct contact" means the provision of face-to-face care, training, supervision, counseling,
consultation, or medication assistance to a resident.

Subp. 29. Disability. "Disability" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 363.01, subdivision 13.
Subp. 30. Disciplinary room time. "Disciplinary room time" means a penalty or sanction in which the resident of a

Department of Corrections licensed program is placed in a room from which the resident is not permitted to exit, and which
must be issued according to the facility's due process system as stated in the facility's disciplinary plan.

Subp. 31. Discipline. "Discipline" means the use of reasonable, age-appropriate consequences designed to modify and
correct behavior according to a rule or system of rules governing conduct.

Subp. 32. Education. "Education" means the regular and special education and related services to which school-age resi-
dents are entitled as required by applicable law and rule.

Subp. 33. Eight-day temporary holdover facility. "Eight-day temporary holdover facility" means a physically restrict-
ing and unrestricting facility of not more than eight beds, two rooms of which must be capable of being physically restrict-
ing. The maximum period that a juvenile can be detained in this facility is eight days, excluding weekends and holidays.

Subp. 34. Emotional disturbance. "Emotional disturbance" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
245.4871, subdivision 15.
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Subp. 35. Extended jurisdiction juvenile or EJJ. "Extended jurisdiction juvenile" or "EJJ" means a person who has
been convicted of a felony and been designated by the court as an extended jurisdiction juvenile according to Minnesota
Statutes, section 260B.130, and was subject to a disposition under Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.198.

Subp. 36. Family or household members. "Family or household members" has the meaning given in Minnesota
Statutes, section 260C.007, subdivision 17.

Subp. 37. Foster care. "Foster care" has the meaning given in part 9560.0521, subpart 9.
Subp. 38. Gender-specific. "Gender-specific" means a facility's capacity to respond to the needs of residents according

to their gender-based psychosocial developmental process.
Subp. 39. Group residential setting. "Group residential setting" means a residential program that offers care to resi-

dents and extended jurisdiction juveniles in which the license holder does not live at the licensed facility.
Subp. 40. House parent model. "House parent model" means a staffing pattern by which the license holder employs

staff to act as parents to the residents and those staff are not employed on an hourly or shift basis.
Subp. 41. Inappropriate and harmful chemical use. "Inappropriate and harmful chemical use" means use of a chemi-

cal that exceeds social or legal standards of acceptability, the outcome of which is characterized by:
A.  weekly use to intoxication; 
B. inability to function in a social setting without becoming intoxicated; 
C. driving after consuming sufficient chemicals to be considered legally impaired under Minnesota Statutes, section

169A.20, whether or not an arrest takes place; 
D. excessive spending on chemicals that results in an inability to meet financial obligations; 
E. loss of friends due to behavior while intoxicated; or 
F. chemical use that prevents the individual from meeting work, school, family, or social obligations.

Subp. 42. Individual treatment plan. "Individual treatment plan" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
245.4871, subdivision 21.

Subp. 43. Legal guardian. "Legal guardian" has the meaning given "guardian" in Minnesota Statutes, section 525.539,
subdivision 2, or "custodian" in Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.007, subdivision 10.

Subp. 44. License. "License" means written authorization issued by the commissioner allowing the license holder to pro-
vide a residential service at a facility for a specified time and in accordance with the terms of the license and the rules of the
commissioners of human services and corrections.

Subp. 45. License holder. "License holder" means an individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or
other organization or entity that is legally responsible for the operation of the facility that has been granted a license by the
commissioner of corrections under Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, or the commissioner of human services under
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and the rules of the commissioners of human services and corrections. The duties of the
license holder may be discharged by a person designated by the license holder to act on behalf of the license holder.

Subp. 46. Mechanical restraint. "Mechanical restraint" means the restraint of a resident by use of a restraint device to
limit body movement.

Subp. 47. Medication assistance. "Medication assistance" means assisting residents to take medication and monitoring
the effects of medication, but does not include administering injections. For purposes of this subpart, "medication" means a
prescribed substance that is used to prevent or treat a condition or disease, to heal, or to relieve pain.

Subp. 48. Mental health professional. "Mental health professional" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 245.4871, subdivision 27.

Subp. 49. Mental health treatment services. "Mental health treatment services" means all of the therapeutic services
and activities provided to a resident with emotional disturbance or severe emotional disturbance to care and treat the resi-
dent's mental illness.

Subp. 50. Nighttime hours. "Nighttime hours" means the time period between 10:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m.
Subp. 51. No eject policy. "No eject policy" means a residential facility may not eject a resident from a facility if the

resident meets continued stay criteria.
Subp. 52. Pathological use. "Pathological use" means the compulsive use of a chemical characterized by three or more

of the behaviors in items A to F:
A. daily use required for adequate functioning; 
B. an inability to abstain from use; 
C.  repeated efforts to control or reduce excessive use; 
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D. binge use, such as remaining intoxicated throughout the day for at least two days at a time; 
E. periods of amnesia for events occurring while intoxicated; and
F. continuing use despite a serious physical disorder that the individual knows is exacerbated by continued chemical

use.
Subp. 53. Physical escort. "Physical escort" means the temporary touching or holding of a resident's hand, wrist, arm,

shoulder, or back to induce a resident in need of a behavioral intervention to walk to a safe location.
Subp. 54. Physical holding. "Physical holding" means immobilizing or limiting a person's movement by using body

contact as the only source of restraint. Physical holding does not include actions used for physical escort.
Subp. 55. Placement critical. "Placement critical" means those goals or issues that required a particular out-of-home

placement as opposed to nonresidential services.
Subp. 56. Program completion. "Program completion" means that the treatment team or supervising agency determined

that placement critical goals, as outlined in the resident's treatment or placement plan, were sufficiently achieved.
Subp. 57. Program director. "Program director" means an individual who is designated by the license holder to be

responsible for overall operations of a rehabilitation or corrections program.
Subp. 58. Psychotropic medication. "Psychotropic medication" means a medication prescribed to treat mental illness

and associated behaviors or to control or alter behavior. The major classes of psychotropic medication are antipsychotic or
neuroleptic, antidepressant, antianxiety, antimania, stimulant, and sedative or hypnotic. Other miscellaneous classes of
medication are considered to be psychotropic medication when they are specifically prescribed to treat a mental illness or to
alter behavior based on a resident's diagnosis.

Subp. 59. Resident. "Resident" means a person under 18 years old, or under 19 years old and under juvenile court juris-
diction, who resides in a program licensed or certified by parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710.

Subp. 60. Resident district. "Resident district" has the meaning given in part 3525.0200, subpart 19a.
Subp. 61. Residential juvenile sex offender treatment program. "Residential juvenile sex offender treatment pro-

gram" means a residential program that is certified by the state to provide sex offender treatment to juvenile sex offenders.
Subp. 62. Residential program. "Residential program" means a program that provides 24-hour-a-day care, supervision,

food, lodging, rehabilitation, training, education, habilitation, or treatment for a resident outside of the resident's home.
Subp. 63. Restrictive procedure. "Restrictive procedure" means a procedure used by the license holder to limit the movement of a resi-

dent, including disciplinary room time, mechanical restraint, physical escort, physical holding, and seclusion.
Subp. 64. Screening. "Screening" means an examination of a resident by means of a test, interview, or observation to

determine if the resident is likely to have a condition that requires assessment or treatment.
Subp. 65. Seclusion. "Seclusion" means confining a person in a locked room.
Subp. 66. Secure program. "Secure program" means a residential program offered in a building or part of a building secured

by locks or other physical plant characteristics intended to prevent the resident from leaving the program without authorization.
Subp. 67. Sex offender. "Sex offender" means a person who has engaged in, or attempted to engage in, criminal sexual

behavior.
Subp. 68. Sex offender treatment. "Sex offender treatment" means a comprehensive set of planned and organized ser-

vices, therapeutic experiences, and interventions that are intended to improve the prognosis, function, or outcome of resi-
dents by reducing the risk of sexual reoffense and other aggressive behavior and assist the resident to adjust to, and deal
more effectively with, life situations.

Subp. 69. Sexually abusive behavior. "Sexually abusive behavior" means any sexual behavior in which:
A.  the other person involved does not freely consent to participate; 
B.  the relationship between the persons is unequal; or 
C. manipulation, exploitation, coercion, verbal or physical intimidation, or force is used to gain participation.

Subp. 70. Shelter care services. "Shelter care services" means a residential program offering short-term, time-limited
placements of 90 days or less to residents who are in a behavioral or situational crisis and need out-of-home placement.

Subp. 71. Target population. "Target population" means youth experiencing special problems who have specific char-
acteristics that require residential program services.

Subp. 72. Temporary holdover facility. "Temporary holdover facility" means a facility licensed for either 24 hours,
excluding weekends and holidays, or an eight-day classification, excluding weekends and holidays.

Subp. 73. Time-out. "Time-out" means a treatment intervention in which a caregiver trained in time-out procedures
removes a resident from an ongoing activity to an unlocked room or other separate living space that is safe and where the
resident remains until the precipitating behavior stops.

Subp. 74. Transitional housing. "Transitional housing" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.115,
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (3).

Subp. 75. Transitional services plan. "Transitional services plan" means a plan developed by the license holder for a
resident who will be discharged from the license holder's facility. The transitional services plan must identify the education,
rehabilitation, habilitation, vocational, and treatment the resident will need after discharge and recommend which agency
could provide these services.
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Subp. 76. Treatment plan. "Treatment plan" means a written plan of intervention, treatment, and services for a resident
in a family or group residential program that is developed by a license holder on the basis of a resident's screening, assess-
ment, and case plan. The treatment plan identifies goals and objectives of treatment, treatment strategy, a schedule for
accomplishing treatment goals and objectives, and the entities responsible for providing treatment services to the resident.

Subp. 77. Twenty-four-hour temporary holdover facility. "Twenty-four-hour temporary holdover facility" means a
physically restricting (secure) or a physically unrestricting (nonsecure) facility licensed for up to 24 hours, excluding week-
ends and holidays, for the care of one or more children who are being detained.

Subp. 78. Variance. "Variance" means written permission from the commissioner of human services under Minnesota
Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 9, or the commissioner of corrections under Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, or
their designee, for a license holder to depart or disregard a rule standard for a specific period of time.

Subp. 79. Victim. "Victim" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.01, clause (b).

2960.0030 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSING.
Subpart 1. Scope. The administrative licensing requirements of this part apply to facilities licensed under parts

2960.0010 to 2960.0290 and programs certified under parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0710.
Subp. 2. Application and license requirements.

A. Except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021 or 245A.03, subdivision 2, a person, corporation, partner-
ship, voluntary association, controlling individual, or other organization may operate a program if it is licensed by the
appropriate licensing authority. A license is not transferable to another individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary asso-
ciation, other organization, controlling individual, or another location.

B. An applicant must provide the information in subitems (1) to (7) to the appropriate licensing authority before a
license application will be processed.

(1) The applicant must submit a license and certification application, on a form provided by the commissioner of
human services or corrections, that includes:

(a) the applicant's name and address; 
(b) the name and location of the program; 
(c) the geographic area to be served, if applicable; 
(d) the type of license or certification being requested; 
(e) the requested license capacity; and
(f) the age limits of persons served by the applicant, if applicable.

(2) The applicant must provide the names and addresses of the owners, board members, or controlling individuals, and
an organizational chart depicting organizational authority over the program.

(3) A program operating in Minnesota which has headquarters outside of the state must provide the name of the state
license holder.

(4) The applicant must provide statement of intended use for the facility, a description of the services to be offered, the
program's service philosophy, the target population to be served, and program outcomes.

(5) The applicant must:
(a) document approval of the facility by the Department of Health or local health inspector, local building code

inspector, and local zoning authority; and
(b) document inspection and approval of the facility according to Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, and the

Uniform Fire Code by the state fire marshal or a local fire code inspector who is approved by the state fire marshal; or 
(c) document that an appropriate waiver has been granted to the inspections and approvals in units (a) and (b).

If the commissioner of human services or corrections has reason to believe that a potentially hazardous condition may
exist, or if a license holder seeks to increase the capacity of a licensed program, the commissioner of human services or cor-
rections may require the license holder to obtain renewed inspections and approvals required under units (a) and (b).

(6) The applicant must perform and document an analysis of the community where the facility will be located. The
analysis must include a description of the neighborhood surrounding the applicant's proposed facility, which must describe
the relevant neighborhood demographic characteristics. The following nonexclusive list of topics could be analyzed by the
applicant:  race; socioeconomic characteristics of area residents; crime statistics; vehicle traffic on streets near the proposed
facility; proximity of the proposed facility to schools, day care providers, public transportation, public and private recreation
facilities, and the type and location of neighborhood religious and spiritual organizations; and information about local busi-
ness groups, community groups, block clubs, and service organizations.
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(7) The license holder must discuss with the county social services agency of the county in which the facility is located,

the facility's policy regarding the county's role in screening facility residents. The facility must document the contact with the
county and any agreement between the county and the facility regarding the county's role in screening facility residents.

C. An application for licensure is complete when the applicant signs the license application and submits the information
required in this subpart.

D. In addition to the requirements in item C, an applicant for Department of Human Services licensure or certification
must pay a licensing fee which is calculated according to parts 9545.2000 to 9545.2040.

E. A license holder must meet the management and programming standards requirements of Laws 1995, chapter 226,
article 3, section 60, subdivision 2, to obtain a license.

Subp. 3. Criteria for licensure and certification by Department of Corrections. License and certification applicants
who meet the criteria in this subpart must submit a completed application to the Department of Corrections Licensing Unit.
The applicant must plan to:

A. primarily serve delinquent children who are at least ten years old, but younger than 21 years old, in a residential setting; 
B. operate a detention or group residential facility for children alleged to be delinquent; 
C. be certified to provide residential program services for residents who need correctional programming; or 
D. operate a foster care home and have been licensed as a foster care home by the Department of Corrections under

chapter 2925 at the time of the adoption of this chapter.
Subp. 4. Criteria for licensure and certification by Department of Human Services. License and certification appli-

cants who meet the criteria in this subpart must submit a completed application to the Department of Human Services
Licensing Division according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04. The applicant must plan to:

A.  serve children through the age of 19 in a residential setting if the license holder meets the criteria in Minnesota
Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 11, paragraph (b); 

B. operate a group residential program; 
C. obtain certification to provide residential program services for residents who need chemical dependency treatment,

treatment for severe emotional disturbance, shelter services, or transitional services; or 
D. operate a foster home.

Subp. 5. Multiple program certifications. If an applicant intends to provide multiple treatment services that are
licensed or certified by both the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections, according to subparts 3
and 4, then the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections shall determine which commissioner will
license or certify the applicant.

Subp. 6. Variance standards. An applicant or license or certificate holder may request, in writing, a variance from rule
requirements that do not affect the health, safety, or rights of persons receiving services. A variance request must include:

A.  the part or parts of the rule for which a variance is sought; 
B.  the reason why a variance from the specified provision is sought; 
C.  the period of time for which a variance is requested; 
D.  written approval from the fire marshal, building inspector, or health authority when the variance request is for a vari-

ance from a fire, building, zoning, or health code; and
E. alternative equivalent measures the applicant or license holder will take to ensure the health and safety of residents if

the variance is granted. A variance issued by the Department of Human Services must meet the requirements of Minnesota
Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 9. A variance issued by the Department of Corrections must meet the requirements
of Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021. The decision of the commissioner of human services or corrections to grant or deny
a variance request is final and not subject to appeal under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.

Subp. 7. County notification. Prior to submitting the initial application for licensure or certification to the licensing
agency, the applicant shall notify the county board of the county in which an applicant intends to operate a program that the
applicant will submit an application form to the commissioner of human services or corrections. The applicant shall include
information about the intended use of the applicant's facility in the notice to the county.

Subp. 8. Denial of application. The commissioner of human services or corrections shall deny a new license or certifi-
cate application if the applicant fails to fully comply with laws or rules governing the program. Failure to fully comply shall
be indicated by:

A. documentation of specific facility or program deficiencies that endanger the health or safety of residents; 
B. failure to correct a hazardous condition or be approved by fire, building, zoning, or health officials; 
C. any other evidence that the applicant is not in compliance with applicable laws or rules governing the program; 
D. failure to obtain approval of an on-site school from the Department of Children, Families, and Learning; 
E. documentation of a disqualification of the applicant for licensure or relicensure, or the controlling individual regard-

ing a background study which has not been set aside; or 
F. failure to submit a completed application.

An applicant whose application was denied by either agency must not be granted a license by either the Department of
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Corrections or the Department of Human Services for two years following a denial, unless the applicant's subsequent appli-
cation contains new information which constitutes a substantial change in the conditions that caused the previous denial. A
negative determination by one agency is proof of denial for both agencies.

Subp. 9. Drug or alcohol use prohibited. An applicant or license holder must have a policy that prohibits license hold-
ers, employees, subcontractors, and volunteers, when directly responsible for residents, from abusing prescription medica-
tion or being in any manner under the influence of a chemical that impairs or could impair the person's ability to provide
services or care for a resident. The license holder must train employees, subcontractors, and volunteers about the program's
drug and alcohol policy.

Subp. 10. Policy and procedure review. The license holder must submit the facility's program policies and procedures
to the commissioner of human services or corrections for review.

Subp. 11. License and certification terms. If the commissioner of human services or corrections determines that the
program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner of human services or corrections shall issue a
license. The license must state:

A.  the name of the license holder; 
B.  the address of the program; 
C.  the effective date and expiration date of the license; 
D.  the type of license; 
E.  the maximum number and ages of person that may reside at the program; 
F. any special conditions of licensure; and
G. any certification which is granted to the program.

Subp. 12. Licensing actions. The Department of Human Services shall take licensing actions according to Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 245A. The Department of Corrections shall take licensing actions according to Minnesota Statutes, section
241.021.

2960.0040 STATEMENT OF INTENDED USE.
The license holder must submit a statement of intended use as part of the license application. The statement of intended

use must, at a minimum, meet the requirements in items A to F:
A.  state the license holder's expertise and qualifications to provide the services noted in the program description; 
B. describe the target population to be served with consideration of at least the following characteristics of the residents:

cultural background, gender, age, medically fragile condition, and legal status, including children in need of protection or
services petition status, delinquency, and whether the resident is in the facility as a voluntary placement or self-referral; 

C.  state the primary needs of residents that the license holder will meet in the licensed facility; 
D. identify those resident services provided within the setting and those services to be provided by programs outside the

setting; 
E.  state how the license holder will involve the resident's cultural or ethnic community to ensure culturally appropriate

care; and
F. describe the specific extent and limitations of the program, including whether the license holder would use a restric-

tive procedure with a resident, under what conditions a restrictive procedure would be used, and what type of restrictive pro-
cedures a license holder would use if the license holder was certified to use restrictive procedures.

2960.0050 RESIDENT RIGHTS AND BASIC SERVICES.
Subpart 1. Basic rights. A resident has basic rights including, but not limited to, the rights in this subpart. The license

holder must ensure that the rights in items A to R are protected:
A.  right to reasonable observance of cultural and ethnic practice and religion; 
B.  right to a reasonable degree of privacy; 
C.  right to participate in development of the resident's treatment and case plan; 
D.  right to positive and proactive adult guidance, support, and supervision; 
E.  right to be free from abuse, neglect, inhumane treatment, and sexual exploitation; 
F.  right to adequate medical care; 
G.  right to nutritious and sufficient meals and sufficient clothing and housing; 
H.  right to live in clean, safe surroundings; 
I.  right to receive a public education; 
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J.  right to reasonable communication and visitation with adults outside the facility, such as a parent, extended family

members, siblings, a legal guardian, a caseworker, an attorney, a therapist, a physician, a religious advisor, and a case man-
ager in accordance with the resident's case plan; 

K.  right to daily bathing or showering and reasonable use of materials, including culturally specific appropriate skin
care and hair care products or any special assistance necessary to maintain an acceptable level of personal hygiene; 

L.  right of access to protection and advocacy services, including the appropriate state-appointed ombudsman; 
M.  right to retain and use a reasonable amount of personal property; 
N.  right to courteous and respectful treatment; 
O. if applicable, the rights stated in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.651 and 253B.03; 
P.  right to be free from bias and harassment regarding race, gender, age, disability, spirituality, and sexual orientation; 
Q.  right to be informed of and to use a grievance procedure; and
R.  right to be free from restraint or seclusion used for a purpose other than to protect the resident from imminent danger

to self or others, except for the use of disciplinary room time as it is allowed in the correctional facility's discipline plan.
Subp. 2. License holder duties. The license holder must provide basic services to residents and develop operational

policies and procedures which correspond to the basic rights in subpart 1.
Subp. 3. Basic rights information. The license holder must meet the requirements of this subpart.

A. The license holder must give the resident a written copy of the resident's basic rights information and explain to the
resident in a language that the resident can understand, if the resident is incapable of understanding the written basic rights
documents, information about the resident's rights related to the resident's care in the licensed facility within 24 hours of
admission.

B. The information in item A must be provided to the resident's parent, guardian, or custodian within a reasonable time
after admission to the facility.

C. A copy of the resident's rights must be posted in an area of the facility where it can be readily seen by staff and the
resident.

D. A copy of the resident's rights must be posted in the staff work station.
E. The license holder must inform residents how to contact the appropriate state-appointed ombudsman and give resi-

dents the name, address, and telephone number of the state-appointed ombudsman.

2960.0060 PROGRAM OUTCOMES MEASUREMENT, EVALUATION, AND COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT.
Subpart 1. Statement of program outcomes. The license holder must have written policies that identify program out-

comes and promote the resident's development as a physically and mentally healthy person. The program services offered
by the license holder must be consistent with the resident's case plan.

Subp. 2. Outcome measures. The license holder must ensure measurement of the outcomes of the license holder's ser-
vices intended to promote the resident's development as physically and mentally healthy persons. The measurement must
note the degree to which the license holder's services provided to the resident or the resident's family have been successful
in achieving the intended outcome of the services offered to the resident and the resident's family. The license holder must
measure the success in achieving the outcomes identified in the license holder's policy statement required by subpart 1. The
commissioner of human services or corrections may require license holders to measure specific factors related to the out-
comes in subpart 1.

Subp. 3. Program evaluation.
A. The license holder must annually evaluate strengths and weaknesses of the program using at least the performance

indicators in subitems (1) to (7):
(1) accidents; 
(2) the use of restrictive procedures; 
(3) grievances; 
(4) adverse findings, allegations of maltreatment under Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, citations, and legal actions

against the license holder; 
(5) results of a resident and family satisfaction survey required in part 2960.0140, subpart 1; 
(6) information from subparts 1 and 2; and
(7) critical incidents.

B. The program evaluation in item A must be kept for two licensing periods.
Subp. 4. Use of findings. The license holder must use the program evaluation reports and findings in subpart 3 as a basis

to make improvements in its programs.
Subp. 5. Independent program audit. The license holder must comply and cooperate with independent program audits

conducted by the commissioner of human services or corrections and comply with the findings of the audit. The license
holder must document the facility's compliance with its operational policies and procedures. The license holder must retain
demographic information on a resident and must document the extent of the resident's program completion on a form desig-
nated by the commissioner of human services or corrections.
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Subp. 6. Community involvement. Each facility must have a board of directors or advisory committee that represents
the interests, concerns, and needs of the residents and community being served by the facility. The board of directors or
advisory committee must meet at least annually. The license holder must meet at least annually with community leaders
representing the area where the facility is located to advise the community leaders about the nature of the program, the types
of residents served, the results of the services the program provided to residents, the number of residents served in the past
12 months, and the number of residents likely to be served in the next 12 months.

2960.0070 ADMISSION POLICY AND PROCESS.
Subpart 1. Exemptions. Transitional services programs certified under part 2960.0500 are exempt from the requirements

of subparts 4 and 5.
Subp. 2. Admission criteria. The license holder must have written specific identifiable admission criteria that are con-

sistent with the license holder's statement of intended use in part 2960.0040. The license holder must:
A. have sufficient resources available and qualified staff to respond to the needs of persons with disabilities admitted to

the facility; 
B. consider the appropriateness of placing female residents in facilities that have few other female residents and

whether or not the facility could offer gender-specific program services for female residents; 
C. consider the appropriateness of placing male residents in facilities that have few other male residents and whether or

not the facility could offer gender-specific program services for male residents; and
D.  seek the approval of the commissioner of corrections to serve EJJs who are older than 19 years of age in the same

facility with residents who are less than 19 years of age.
Subp. 3. Resident admission documentation. Upon or within five working days after admission, the license holder

must obtain and document the information in items A and B to the extent permitted by law:
A. legal authority for resident placement; and
B. in collaboration with the placing agency, gather information about the resident in subitems (1) to (11), and place that

information in the resident's file:
(1) date and time of admission; 
(2) name and nicknames; 
(3) last known address and permanent address; 
(4) name, address, and telephone number of parents, guardian, and advocate; 
(5) gender; 
(6) date and place of birth; 
(7) race or cultural heritage, languages the resident speaks and writes, and tribal affiliation, if any; 
(8) description of presenting problems, including medical problems, circumstances leading to admission, mental health

concerns, safety concerns including assaultive behavior, and victimization concerns; 
(9) description of assets and strengths of the resident and, if available, related information from the resident, resident's

family, and concerned persons in the resident's life; 
(10) name, address, and telephone number of the contact person for the last educational program the resident attended,

if applicable; and
(11) spiritual or religious affiliation of the resident and the resident's family.

Subp. 4. Inventory and handling of resident property. The license holder must inventory the resident's personal prop-
erty, including clothing, and have the resident and the license holder sign the inventory upon admission. If the resident
refuses to sign the inventory, two facility staff must sign the inventory. The license holder must ensure that a resident retain
the use and availability of personal funds or property unless restrictions are justified in the resident's treatment plan.

A. The license holder must ensure separation of resident funds from funds of the license holder, the residential program,
or program staff.

B. Whenever the license holder assists a resident with the safekeeping of funds or other property, the license holder must:
(1) document receipt and disbursement of the resident's funds or other property, including the signature of the resident,

conservator, or payee; and
(2) return to the resident funds and property in the license holder's possession subject to restrictions in the resident's

treatment plan, upon request or as soon as possible but not later than three working days after the date of the resident's
request.
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C. License holders and program staff must not:

(1) borrow money from a resident; 
(2) purchase personal items from a resident; 
(3) sell merchandise, except through a canteen-type service, or sell personal services to a resident; 
(4) require a resident to buy items for which the license holder is eligible for reimbursement; or 
(5) use resident funds in a manner that would violate part 9505.0425, subpart 3.

Subp. 5. Resident screening. A resident admitted to a facility must be appropriately screened by a trained person, using
screening instruments approved by the commissioner of human services and corrections.

A. The license holder must ensure that the screenings in subitems (1) to (6) are completed if not completed prior to
admission. The form used for screening in subitems (1) to (6) must be reviewed by a licensed professional in a related field.

(1) The health screening must note the resident's history of abuse and vulnerability to abuse, potential for self-injury,
current medications, and most recent physician's and clinic's name, address, and telephone number.

(2) The mental health screening must be administered.
(3) The education screening must be administered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.52.
(4) The chemical abuse or chemical dependency screening must be administered. The license holder will provide or

contact the resident's case manager, if applicable, to arrange a screening to determine if the resident is a chemical abuser.
(5) The screening for sexually abusive behavior must determine if a resident is likely to have sexually abusive behav-

ior. If the screening indicates that the resident is likely to have sexually abusive behavior, the license holder must have writ-
ten risk management plans to protect the resident, other residents, staff, and the community.

(6) The vulnerability assessment must determine whether the resident may be vulnerable to abuse.
B. The license holder must make an effort to determine the resident's culture and gender-based needs.

(1) Cultural screening must include relevant information about the resident's cultural background that will help the
license holder respond to the resident's cultural needs.

(2) Gender-specific needs screening must identify the psychosocial needs of the resident and identify the resident's
needs regarding the gender of the staff.

C. The license holder must screen or arrange to have a resident screened according to the timelines in subitems (1) to (3).
(1) The health screening in item A, subitem (1), must occur within 24 hours of admission.
(2) The other screenings in item A, subitems (2) to (6), must begin within three working days of admission, and be

completed within six working days of admission.
(3) The resident need not be screened if a screening or assessment completed within the last six months is already on

file. If there is reason to believe that the resident's condition has changed since the last screening or assessment, a new
screening must be completed. If the resident is transferred from another facility, the sending facility's records about the resi-
dent must be immediately requested by the receiving facility. The requirements in this item do not apply to residents on
detention status for less than six working days in a detention facility.

D. The screenings must include documented inquiries and the results of the inquiries regarding the degree to which the
resident's family desires to be involved during the resident's stay at the facility. The resident and resident's family response
must be documented.

E. The license holder must follow the resident's case plan and cooperate with the case manager to:
(1) take specific steps to meet the needs of the resident identified by screening and, if needed, request authorization to

arrange for the resident's assessment, or medical or dental care or treatment needs, based on the information obtained from
the resident's screening; 

(2) arrange for the resident's transportation to a hospital, if screening indicates the resident's health problems require
hospitalization, and the license holder must take the necessary precautions at the facility to ensure the safety of the resident
pending transfer to the hospital; 

(3) contact the case manager or appropriate agency, if screening indicates that the resident needs mental health ser-
vices. The resident and the resident's legal guardian must be informed of the reasons for action arising from the mental
health screening, unless a mental health professional states that they should not be informed of those reasons; and

(4) contact the resident's case manager and recommend that a chemical use assessment of the resident be done, if
screening indicates that a resident is a chemical abuser or is chemically dependent.

2960.0080 FACILITY OPERATIONAL SERVICES, POLICIES, AND PRACTICES.
Subpart 1. Exemptions. Transitional services programs certified under part 2960.0500 are exempt from the requirements

of subparts 3; 4, items C to E; 5; 6; 8 to 13; and 15.
Subp. 2. Basic services. The license holder must provide services that fulfill the basic rights of a resident as identified in

part 2960.0050, subpart 1.
A. Basic services provided by the license holder must have stated objectives and measurable outcomes.
B. License holders who do not provide a basic service in the facility must coordinate and ensure that the service is pro-

vided by the placement agency or by resources in the community.
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C. The license holder must meet the basic needs of the residents served by the facility.
Subp. 3. Cooperation in treatment and basic service delivery. The license holder must cooperate with the resident's

case manager and other appropriate parties in creating and delivering basic services. In addition, the license holder must:
A.  work with the resident, parent, or legal representative, and the resident's case manager and treatment team, if applica-

ble, to implement the resident's case plan during the resident's stay in the facility; 
B. identify and share information about the resident's treatment and major treatment outcomes the resident will achieve

while in the facility, including attaining developmentally appropriate life skills that the resident needs to have in order to be
functional in the community, with persons who are directly involved in the resident's treatment plan; 

C. communicate as necessary with the resident's previous school and the school the resident attends while the resident is
in the license holder's facility as indicated in the resident's case plan; 

D.  report the resident's behaviors and other important information to the placing agency and others as indicated in the
resident's case plan; 

E.  recommend case plan changes to the placing agency; and
F.  upon request, unless prohibited by law, share information about the resident, the resident's family, and the license

holder's plans and strategies to resolve the resident's identified problems with the placing authority; agencies that are provid-
ing services to the resident, resident's therapist, physician, or professional treating the resident; and agencies that must pro-
vide services to the resident after discharge from the facility. The records also must be provided to the resident's parent and
guardian, if any, and the resident, unless a court or a mental health professional determines that the disclosure would be
harmful to the resident. If an authorized person requests a resident's records, or their release is authorized by court order or
otherwise provided by law, the license holder must respond to requests for information in three business days.

Subp. 4. Facility rules and due process system for residents. The license holder must communicate verbally and in
writing to a resident who is capable of understanding the facility's rules and the details of the due process system used in the
facility. The rules must address the following topics:

A.  which behaviors are considered acceptable and unacceptable and the reasons why; 
B.  the consequences that will be applied in recognizing and rewarding acceptable behavior and modifying unacceptable

behavior; 
C.  the circumstances, if any, that will result in time-out or the use of a restrictive procedure; 
D.  the due process system that governs the facility's use of disciplinary consequences; and
E.  the relationship of the resident's individual education plan discipline recommendations, if any, to the facility's disci-

pline plan.
Subp. 5. Discipline policy and procedures required. The license holder must have discipline policies and procedure

that require the resident's abuse history and developmental, cultural, disability, and gender needs be taken into consideration
when deciding the disciplinary action to be taken with a resident. The policy must include the requirements in items A to E.

A. The license holder must not subject residents to:
(1) corporal punishment, including, but not limited to:  rough handling, shoving, ear or hair pulling, shaking, slapping,

kicking, biting, pinching, hitting, throwing objects, or spanking; 
(2) verbal abuse, including, but not limited to: name calling; derogatory statements about the resident or resident's

family, race, gender, disability, sexual orientation, religion, or culture; or statements intended to shame, threaten, humiliate,
or frighten the resident; 

(3) punishment for lapses in toilet habits, including bed wetting and soiling; 
(4) withholding of basic needs, including, but not limited to: a nutritious diet, drinking water, clothing, hygiene facilities,

normal sleeping conditions, proper lighting, educational services, exercise activities, ventilation and proper temperature, mail,
family visits, positive reinforcement, nurturing, or medical care. However, a resident who destroys bedding or clothing, or uses
these or other items to hurt the resident or others, may be deprived of such articles according to the resident's case plan;

(5) assigning work that is dangerous or not consistent with the resident's case plan; 
(6) disciplining one resident for the unrelated behavior or action of another, except for the imposition of restrictions on

the resident's peer group as part of a recognized treatment program; 
(7) use of restrictive techniques or procedures as punishment, for convenience of staff, to compensate for not having an

adequate number of staff, or to substitute for program services; 
(8) restrictions on a resident's communications beyond the restrictions specified in the resident's treatment plan or case

plan; and
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(9) requirements to assume uncomfortable or fixed positions for an extended length of time, or to march, stand, or

kneel as punishment.
B. The delegation of authority by the license holder to a resident or group of residents to punish another resident or

group of residents is prohibited.
C. The license holder must meet the requirements of part 9525.2700, subpart 2, item G, regarding the use of aversive or

deprivation procedures with a resident who has mental retardation or a related condition.
D. The license holder must meet the following requirements for the use of time-out:

(1) time-out must be used as a nonemergency behavior management technique which is used to intervene in a resident's
undesirable behavior and to allow the resident to reflect and become calm before returning to ongoing activities at the facility; 

(2) time-out must be used under the direction of a mental health professional, the facility director, or the program manager; 
(3) the use of time-out must be consistent with the resident's treatment plan; 
(4) staff must escort a resident to an unlocked room or other separate living space in the facility that is safe; 
(5) staff must assess the resident in time-out at least every 30 minutes and determine when the resident may return to

ongoing activity at the facility; 
(6) staff must have completed at least the following training before they use time-out with a resident:

(a) the needs and behaviors of residents; 
(b) building relationships with residents; 
(c) alternatives to time-out; 
(d) de-escalation methods; 
(e) avoiding power struggles with residents; and
(f) documentation standards for the use of time-out; 

(7) the treatment team must include and document the review of the use of time-out for each resident during the review
of the resident's treatment plan; and

(8) staff must document the use of time-out in the resident's record and include the information in units (a) to (d):
(a) the factors or circumstances which caused the need for the use of time-out; 
(b) the resident's response to the time-out; 
(c) the resident's ability to de-escalate during the time-out procedure; and
(d) the resident's ability to maintain acceptable behavior after the time-out.

E. The license holder must be certified to use restrictive procedures according to part 2960.0710 prior to the use of a
restrictive procedure with a resident.

Subp. 6. Daily resident activities. The license holder must develop a written schedule of daily activities that generally
describes the resident's activities for each day of the week. The license holder must know the whereabouts of each resident.
The license holder must immediately notify the referring or placing agency if a resident runs away or is missing.

Subp. 7. Culturally appropriate care. The license holder must document the provision of culturally appropriate care to
each resident that includes:

A. opportunities to associate with culturally and racially similar adults, peers, and role models; 
B. opportunities to participate in positive experiences related to the resident's cultural and racial group; 
C. culturally appropriate program services that address the needs of all residents in care; and
D. cultural sensitivity, including the provision of interpreters and English language skill development to meet the needs

of facility residents as required by Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, section 60, subdivision 2, paragraph (2), clause (v).
Subp. 8. Spirituality services and counseling.

A. Residents must be given an opportunity to participate in spirituality services, activities, and counseling on a voluntary
basis. A resident must not be required to attend the services or activities. All spirituality services and activities must be held
in a location that the residents who do not wish to participate are not exposed to the services or activities. Attendance or lack
of attendance at religious services or activities must not be considered as a basis for any right or privilege in the facility.

B. The license holder must arrange with the clergy or spiritual leaders within the area to provide spiritual counseling if
requested by a resident. Every effort must be made by the license holder to accommodate a resident or a resident's family's
request to meet the resident's spiritual needs, including spiritual needs related to the resident's culture, in the facility. If the
resident's or resident's family's request cannot be met, the license holder must document the reason.

C. The license holder shall allow residents who request private interviews or counseling regarding spiritual, personal, or
family problems the opportunity to meet with a spiritual or religious person of their choice within reasonable facility rules
needed to protect the facility's security and the safety of other residents and staff within the facility.

Subp. 9. Educational services. The license holder must ensure that educational services are provided to residents accord-
ing to items A to D, except where not applicable, due to the age of the resident or the resident's short stay in the facility.

A. The license holder must facilitate the resident's admission to an accredited public school or, if the resident is
home-schooled or educated at a private school or school operated by the license holder, the school must meet applicable
laws and rules. If the educational services are provided on the grounds of the facility, the license holder must:
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(1) arrange for educational programs that provide for instruction on a year-round basis, if required by law; 
(2) get the approval of the education services from the Department of Children, Families, and Learning; and
(3) cooperate with the school district.

B. The license holder must facilitate the resident's school attendance and homework activities.
C. The license holder must inquire at least every 90 days to determine whether the resident is receiving the education

required by law and the resident's individual education plan that is necessary for the resident to make progress in the appropri-
ate grade level. The license holder must report the resident's educational problems to the case manager or placing agency.

D. The license holder must provide education about chemical health to the resident who has had a problem related to
inappropriate chemical use, but who does not have a sufficient chemical use history to refer to treatment. The education
must provide the resident with opportunities to examine the problems associated with inappropriate chemical use.

Subp. 10. Exercise and recreation. The license holder must develop and implement a plan that offers individualized
exercise and recreation for residents.

Subp. 11. Health and hygiene services. The license holder must meet the conditions in items A to F.
A. The license holder must provide a resident with timely access to basic, emergency, and specialized medical, mental

health, and dental care and treatment services by qualified persons that meet the resident's needs. The license holder's health
services plan must include the requirements in subitems (1) to (3).

(1) A pregnant resident must receive ongoing and appropriate prenatal care from a licensed health care provider. The
license holder must provide information and resources on prenatal, postnatal, and parenting topics to a pregnant resident.

(2) The license holder must ensure that appropriate medical and dental services are provided for the resident. The
license holder must comply with the requirements of the medical or dental insurance that covers the resident.

(3) The license holder must consider a resident's request for a male or female health care provider. If a female resident
requests a female health care provider, and one is not available, the license holder must request permission from the health
care provider that an adult female be allowed to be present during the health care procedure. If a male resident requests a
male health care provider, and one is not available, the license holder must request permission from the health care provider
that an adult male be allowed to be present during the health care procedure.

B. The license holder must maintain a record of the illness reported by the resident, the action taken by the license hold-
er, and the date of the resident's medical, psychological, or dental care.

C. Maintaining stock supplies of prescription drugs at the facility is prohibited.
D. The license holder, in consultation with a licensed physician, physician's assistant, registered nurse, nurse practition-

er, or pharmacist, must have a plan for the safe storage and delivery of medicine. The license holder must meet the require-
ments in subitems (1) to (5).

(1) The license holder must contact a newly admitted resident's prescribing physician or other prescribing medical pro-
fessional to verify the following information regarding prescribed medication:

(a) instructions about how the medication must be administered; 
(b) the symptoms that the medication will alleviate; and
(c) the symptoms that would warrant consultation with the physician.

(2) The license holder must document attempts to contact the child's parent or guardian to seek permission for the facil-
ity to administer the medication. If permission is denied and the parent has the legal right to deny permission, then the med-
ication may not be administered until a court order to administer the medication is obtained.

(3) The license holder must maintain at the facility a list of the side effects of medication at the facility.
(4) The license holder must document and follow the prescribing physician's directions for monitoring medications

used by the resident.
(5) Facility staff responsible for medication assistance, other than a licensed nurse or physician, must have a certificate

verifying their successful completion of a trained medication aide program for unlicensed personnel offered through a post-
secondary institution, or staff must be trained to provide medication assistance according to a formalized training program
offered by the license holder and taught by a registered nurse. The specific medication assistance training provided by the
registered nurse to staff must be documented and placed in the unlicensed staff person's personnel records. A medically
licensed person must provide consultation and review of the license holder's administration of medications at least weekly.

E. The license holder must keep records for a resident who receives prescription drugs at the facility and note:  the
quantity initially received from the pharmacy, amount of medication given, dosage, and time when the medication was
taken. The license holder must document a resident's refusal to take prescription medication.
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F. Prescription medicine belonging to a resident must be given to the resident's parent or legal guardian upon the resi-

dent's release or must be disposed of according to a pharmacy-approved plan. The license holder must note the disposition
of the resident's medicine in the resident's file. The license holder must give a resident who is 18 years of age or older the
prescription medication prescribed for the resident.

Subp. 12. Food and nutrition. The license holder must provide:
A. a balanced diet consisting of foods and beverages that are palatable, of adequate quantity and variety, and prepared

and served at appropriate temperatures to protect residents from foodborne illness and conserve nutritional value; 
B. a diet medically prescribed, if ordered by a resident's physician or, in the case of a pregnant resident, recommended

or ordered by a prenatal care provider; and
C. a diet that does not conflict with the resident's religious or cultural dietary regimen.

Subp. 13. Resident clothing, bedding, and laundry. The license holder must ensure that a resident has:
A. an adequate amount of clean clothing appropriate for the season; 
B. an appropriate sized, clean, fire-retardant mattress; two sheets or one sheet and clean mattress cover; sufficient clean

blankets to provide comfort under existing temperature conditions; and one pillow and one pillowcase that is antiallergenic,
if required, to meet a resident's health care needs; and

C. adequate bath towels and washcloths. Clean bedding and linens must be furnished upon each new admission, and
bedding and linens must be cleaned once a week or more often as needed to maintain a clean and safe environment.
Bedding and linens that are worn out or unfit for further use must not be used.

Subp. 14. Emergency plan. The license holder must develop a written emergency plan that specifies actions by staff and
residents required for the protection of all persons in the case of an emergency, such as a fire, natural disaster, serious ill-
ness, severe weather, disappearance of a resident, or other situation that may require a law enforcement response or other
emergency response. The plan must be developed with the advice of the local fire and emergency response authorities. The
plan must specify responsibilities assumed by the license holder for assisting a resident who requires emergency care or spe-
cial assistance to a resident in emergencies. The license holder must review the plan with staff and residents at least once
every six months. The license holder must keep documentation showing compliance with the emergency plan and the semi-
annual review.

Subp. 15. Communication and visitation. The license holder must have a written policy about resident communications
and visiting with others inside and outside of the facility that meets the requirements of items A and B.

A. The license holder must have a written policy about the use of the telephone, mail, adaptive communications
devices, and other means of communication, compatible with the needs of other residents and the resident's case plan.

B. License holders may not restrict the visiting rights of the parents of a resident beyond the limitations placed on those
rights by a court order under Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.201, subdivision 5, or limitations in the resident's case plan.
The visiting policy must allow parental visits at times that accommodate the parent's schedule.

Subp. 16. Resident records. A license holder must:
A. maintain and make available to the commissioner of human services and corrections sufficient documentation to ver-

ify that all requirements of the rules governing the care of the resident have been met; 
B. maintain and make available upon request the resident's records according to the requirements of rule and statute; 
C. comply with the requirements of the case manager for the release of information about the resident, unless prohibited

by law; and
D.  use forms approved by the commissioner of human services or corrections and collect demographic information

about residents and their families and outcome measures about the success of services that meet the requirements of Laws
1995, chapter 226, article 3, section 60, subdivision 2, clause (1)(iii).

Subp. 17. Critical incident and maltreatment reports. The license holder must report critical incidents and the mal-
treatment of a resident according to items A to D.

A. The license holder must report critical incidents of a serious nature that involve or endanger the life or safety of the
resident or others to the commissioner of human services or corrections within ten days of the occurrence on forms
approved by the commissioner of human services or corrections. The license holder must maintain records of all critical
incidents on file in the facility.

B. The license holder must meet the reporting requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 and 626.557, if
applicable, and other reporting requirements based on the age of the resident.

C. The license holder must develop policies and procedures to follow if maltreatment is suspected.
D. The license holder must review policies and procedures about maltreatment at least annually and revise the policies

if the maltreatment laws change or if the license holder's review of incident reports or quality assurance reports indicates
that a change in maltreatment policy or procedure is warranted.

Subp. 18. Resident and family grievance procedures.
A. The license holder must develop and follow a written grievance procedure that allows a resident, the resident's parent

or legal representative, a guardian, or a concerned person in the resident's life to make a formal complaint or suggestion or
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express a concern about any aspect of the resident's care during the resident's stay in the facility. The license holder and
staff must not attempt to influence a resident's statement about the facility in the grievance document or during an investiga-
tion resulting from the grievance. The written grievance procedure must require, at a minimum, that:

(1) the license holder must give the person who wants to make a grievance the necessary forms and assistance to file a
grievance; 

(2) the license holder must identify the person who is authorized to resolve the complaint and to whom an initial reso-
lution of the grievance may be appealed and, upon request, a license holder must carry a grievance forward to the highest
level of administration of the facility or placing agency; 

(3) a person who reports a grievance must not be subject to adverse action by the license holder as a result of filing the
grievance; and

(4) a person filing a grievance must receive a response within five days.
B. If a grievance is filed, the license holder must document the grievance along with the investigation findings and

resulting action taken by the license holder. Information regarding the grievance must be kept on file at the facility for two
licensing periods.

2960.0090 DISCHARGE AND AFTERCARE.
Subpart 1. Exemption. Transitional services programs certified under part 2960.0500 are exempt from the requirements

of subpart 3.
Subp. 2. No eject policy. A license holder must have a written no eject policy. Before discharging a resident who has

not reached the resident's case plan goals, or treatment plan goals for a resident who has a treatment plan, the license holder
must confer with other interested persons to review the issues involved in the decision. During this review process, which
must not exceed five working days, the license holder must determine whether the license holder, treatment team, interested
persons, if any, and the resident can develop additional strategies to resolve the issues leading to the discharge and to permit
the resident an opportunity to continue to receive services from the license holder. If the review indicates that the decision
to discharge is warranted, the reasons for it and the alternatives considered or attempted must be documented. A resident
may be temporarily removed from the facility during the five-day review period. This subpart does not apply to a resident
removed by the placing authority or a parent or guardian.

Subp. 3. Return of resident's property. The license holder must return all of the resident's personal property to the resi-
dent along with a signed receipt upon discharge, unless prohibited to do so by law or case plan. Discrepancies between the
resident's inventoried property turned over to the facility at admission and the property returned to the resident at discharge,
and the resolution of the discrepancy, must be documented by facility staff.

2960.0100 PERSONNEL POLICIES.
Subpart 1. Staffing plan. The license holder must have a staffing plan that:

A. is approved by the commissioner of human services or corrections; 
B. identifies the assignments of facility staff; and
C. meets the cultural and ethnic needs of the facility residents to the extent permitted by law.

Subp. 2. Recruitment of culturally balanced staff. To the extent permitted by law, it is the license holder's responsibil-
ity to actively recruit, hire, and retain full-time staff who are responsive to the diversity of the population served. If the
facility staffing plan does not meet the cultural and racial needs of facility residents according to subpart 1, item C, the
license holder must document the reasons why and work with cultural or racial communities to meet the needs of residents.
In addition, the license holder must contact a cultural or racial community group related to the resident's cultural or racial
minority background and seek information about how to provide opportunities for the resident to associate with adult and
peer role models with similar cultural and racial backgrounds on a regular basis. The license holder must maintain annual
documentation regarding the license holder's efforts to meet the requirements of this subpart.

Subp. 3. Orientation and in-service training. The license holder must provide training for staff that is modified annual-
ly to meet the current needs of individual staff persons. The training must be directly related to serving the program's target
population and to achieving the program's outcomes. The license holder must ensure that staff who will have direct contact
with residents attend and successfully complete orientation training before having unsupervised contact with residents.

A. Orientation training must include at least the subjects in subitems (1) to (6):
(1) emergency procedures, including evacuation routes, emergency telephone numbers, severe storm and tornado pro-

cedures, and location of facility alarms and equipment; 
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(2) relevant statutes and administrative rules and legal issues, including reporting requirements for abuse and neglect

specified in Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 and 626.557, and other reporting requirements based on the ages of the
residents; 

(3) cultural diversity and gender sensitivity, culturally specific services, and information about discrimination and
racial bias issues to ensure that caregivers have cultural sensitivity and will be culturally competent to care for residents; 

(4) general and special needs, including disability needs, of residents and families served; 
(5) operational policies and procedures of the license holder; and
(6) data practices regulations and issues.

B. The license holder must ensure that staff who have direct contact with residents receive ongoing training. Training
must help staff meet the needs of residents and must include skills development.

Subp. 4. Specialized training. If needed, license holders and staff must have specialized training to develop skills to
care for residents. Specialized training must be directly related to serving the program's target population and to meeting the
program's certification requirement, if the program has been certified.

Subp. 5. Documentation of training. The license holder must document the date and number of hours of orientation and
in-service training completed by each staff person in each topic area and the name of the entity that provided the training.

Subp. 6. License holder and staff qualifications.
A. The license holder and staff must have the education and experience required to meet the functions and program

activities that the license holder declared in the facility statement of intended use according to part 2960.0040. The license
holder, or the license holder's representative acting on behalf of the license holder, must be a responsible, mature, healthy
adult who is able to carry out the license holder's duties. The license holder and staff must be able to accomplish the license
holder's duties to the resident's case plan and treatment plan and meet the resident's needs.

B. Staff who work with female residents must be trained in gender-based needs and issues.
C. The license holder and staff must be at least 21 years old unless stated otherwise in this chapter.

Subp. 7. Background study. A license holder and individuals identified in Minnesota Statutes, sections 241.021 and
245A.04, subdivision 3, must submit to a background study.

A. Background checks conducted by the Department of Human Services are conducted according to Minnesota
Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 3.

B. Background checks conducted by the Department of Corrections are conducted according to Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 241.021, subdivision 6.

2960.0110 PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT AND EQUIPMENT.
Subpart 1. Physical environment and equipment. The facility must be equipped and maintained in a manner that con-

forms to its statement of intended use.
Subp. 2. Comfort, privacy, and dignity. The physical environment must provide for the comfort, privacy, and dignity

of residents.
Subp. 3. Adequate facilities for services.

A. The license holder must ensure that food services, storage, housekeeping, laundry, and maintenance are operated on
a consistent, healthy basis.

B. If food service is contracted to a food service vendor, the food service vendor must meet health code requirements.
C. If the license holder provides educational services on site, the classrooms must provide an atmosphere that is con-

ducive to learning and meets the resident's special physical, sensory, and emotional needs.
D. The license holder must provide adaptive equipment and furnishings to meet the resident's special needs.

Subp. 4. First aid kits. A facility must have first aid kits readily available for use by residents and staff. The kits must
be sufficient to meet the needs of residents and staff.

2960.0120 PHYSICAL PLANT STANDARDS.
Subpart 1. Exemptions. Transitional services programs certified under part 2960.0500 are exempt from the requirements

in subpart 2, item C.
Subp. 2. Code compliance. A facility must comply with the applicable fire, health, zoning, and building codes and meet

the physical plan and equipment requirements in items A to I.
A. A sleeping room must not be used to accommodate more than four residents. Multibed bedrooms must provide a

minimum of 60 square feet per resident of useable floor space with three feet between beds placed side by side and one foot
between beds placed end to end for ambulatory residents. For nonambulatory residents, the multibed bedrooms must pro-
vide 80 square feet per resident of useable floor space.

B. A resident must have adequate space for clothing and personal possessions, with appropriate furnishings to accom-
modate these items.

C. Facility grounds must provide adequate outdoor space for recreational activities.
D. There must be one shower or bathtub and sink with hot and cold water and one toilet for every eight residents.
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E. The heating plant must be of a size and capacity to maintain a comfortable temperature in all resident rooms and
other areas of the facility used by residents.

F. The facility must have sufficient electric lighting in combination with natural lighting to provide reasonable light lev-
els for the function of each given area.

G. The facility must have sufficient space provided for indoor quiet and group program activities.
H. The facility providing educational services on site must meet the physical plant and equipment requirements of the

Department of Children, Families, and Learning for the provision of educational services.
I. A facility providing intake or admission services must have sufficient space to conduct intake functions in a private,

confidential manner or provide the opportunity to conduct private meetings, including intake activities in a separate space.

ADDITIONAL STANDARDS FOR GROUP RESIDENTIAL SETTINGS

2960.0130 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220 establish the minimum standards that a group residential facility must

meet to qualify for licensure by the designated commissioner. A group residential setting license holder must also meet the
requirements of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120.

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220 govern facilities licensed as group residential settings.
Subp. 3. Certification option. A program licensed as a group residential setting is not required to obtain a treatment cer-

tification.
Subp. 4. Exemptions. The exemptions in items A and B apply.

A. Transitional services programs certified under part 2960.0500 are exempt from the requirements of parts 2960.0130
to 2960.0220.

B. Shelter services programs certified under parts 2960.0510 to 2960.0530 are exempt from the requirements of parts
2960.0130 to 2960.0220.

2960.0140 QUALITY ASSURANCE, IMPROVEMENT, AND PROGRAM OUTCOMES.
Subpart 1. Resident and family satisfaction survey.

A. The license holder may ask the commissioner of human services or corrections for permission to use a random sam-
ple of residents, parents, and guardians. At a minimum, the license holder must attempt to survey each released resident, the
resident's parents or legal guardians and custodians, and the referring agency regarding the license holder's satisfaction with
the services in subitems (1) to (7):

(1) daily care and support of the resident during the resident's stay, including recreation, food, sleeping accommoda-
tions, general care, and emotional support of the resident; 

(2) the accuracy, usefulness, and appropriateness of the screening and assessment of the resident's physical and emo-
tional well-being and functioning; 

(3) provisions for the resident's safety; 
(4) support of the resident's regular and special education, related services, and support for implementing the resident's

individual education plan; 
(5) support of obtaining needed medical, dental, mental health, and other services identified in the resident's screening

and assessments or otherwise observed or reported by staff or other persons involved with the resident's care; 
(6) the positive and negative effects on the resident and the resident's family of the treatment offered to the resident,

such as mental health, chemical dependency, or sex offender treatment; and
(7) support of family and community reintegration, if appropriate.

B. The results of each resident's survey must be available on file in the facility for review for at least two inspection
cycles.

Subp. 2. Treatment plan compliance. Following the resident's discharge, the license holder must document the extent
to which the resident's stay in the facility met the goals and objectives identified in the resident's treatment plan.
Documentation must include at least:

A.  the services identified in the resident's treatment plan that were provided to the resident directly by the license holder
and the services that were provided by a provider other than the license holder; and

B.  the extent to which the services provided to the resident contributed to achieving the goals and objectives identified
in the resident's treatment plan.
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2960.0150 PERSONNEL POLICIES.

Subpart 1. Job descriptions. The license holder must have written job descriptions for all position classifications and
post assignments that define the responsibilities, duties, and qualifications staff need to perform those duties. The job
descriptions must be readily available to all employees.

Subp. 2. Professional licensure. The license holder must keep records showing that staff professional licensure is current.
Subp. 3. Staffing plan. The license holder must prepare and obtain approval from the commissioner of human services

or corrections of a written staffing plan that shows staffing assignments and meets the needs of the residents in placement.
The license holder must use the criteria in items A to J to develop the facility's staffing plan.

A. The license holder must designate a chief administrator of each facility.
B. In the temporary absence of the chief administrator, a staff person must be designated as a person in charge of the

facility.
C. The license holder must designate a program director of the facility. A program with more than 24 residents must

have a full-time program director.
D. The license holder must not assign staff who supervise residents in a manner that invades the privacy of residents or

embarrasses or diminishes the dignity of residents by requiring staff of the opposite gender to perform the duties in subitems
(1) to (4):

(1) strip searches; 
(2) witnessing or assisting at internal body searches; 
(3) direct visual supervision of residents during showers or lavatory use; and
(4) assisting a resident with a personal hygiene activity if assisting the resident with the hygiene activity would require

the staff person to view the resident unclothed or to touch the genitals, buttocks, or breasts of the resident.
The written staffing plan must include a contingency plan that ensures an immediate response by on-call staff of the same

gender as the resident when supervision of a resident by staff of the same gender is required under subitems (1) to (4) and
when necessary to meet the assessed needs of the resident who, according to the official records or documentation, has been
victimized by a person of the opposite gender and who has demonstrated anxiety to staff about supervision by staff of the
opposite gender. The contingency plan must include requirements which ensure that staff will document and tell other staff
about the resident's need for supervision by staff of the same gender as the resident. The contingency plan must also require
staff to document the actions taken by staff to implement the contingency plan for supervision of the resident by staff of the
same gender.

When the requirements of this item are not fully met, the license holder must document the circumstances and reasons the
requirements were not met and document what the license holder will do to prevent a recurrence of the failure to fully meet
the requirements of this item. The documentation of failure to meet the requirements of this item and the description of
what the license holder will do to prevent a recurrence of the failure must be kept on file at the facility for at least two years
or until the next licensing renewal inspection, whichever period is longer.

E. The license holder may assign medically licensed staff and purchase the services of persons who are medically
licensed to care for or treat residents of the opposite sex. However, if a resident asks that a medically licensed person of the
same sex perform the procedures in item D, subitem (2), the license holder must provide same sex medically licensed per-
sonnel to perform the procedures in item D, subitem (2). Medically licensed personnel must perform the duties in item D,
subitem (2).

F. The minimum number of direct care staff that must be present and awake when residents are present and awake is
one staff person per 12 residents. At a minimum, one staff person per 25 residents must be present and awake at all times in
the facility when residents are normally asleep. Programs must meet the requirements of subitems (1) to (3) if they do not
have awake staff at times when residents are normally asleep:

(1) the program must be operated according to the houseparent model; 
(2) the program must have fewer than seven residents; and
(3) the program must have and follow a policy which explains when it will use awake staff to supervise residents at

night. The policy must consider the age and condition and known or suspected behavior characteristics of the residents.
G. The license holder must ensure that educational services that meet the educational needs of the residents are provid-

ed by qualified teachers certified by the Department of Children, Families, and Learning.
H. The license holder must designate one full-time staff person for every 25 residents to coordinate resident treatment

and case plans.
I. The license holder must designate a person to coordinate volunteer services, if volunteers are used by the facility.

The license holder must have a system for registration and identification of volunteers. Volunteers who have unsupervised
contact with residents must have a background check. The license holder must require volunteers to agree in writing to
abide by facility policies. Volunteers must be trained and qualified to perform the duties assigned to them.

J. The staffing plan must be appropriate for the program services offered to the resident, physical plant features and
characteristics of the facility, and condition of the resident. The license holder must consider the factors in subitems (1) to
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(9) when developing the staffing plan:
(1) the age of the resident being served; 
(2) the resident's physical and mental health; 
(3) the vulnerability of the resident; 
(4) the resident's capacity for self-preservation in the event of any emergency; 
(5) the degree to which the resident may be a threat to self or others; 
(6) the risk of the resident absconding; 
(7) the gender of the resident; 
(8) the disability of the resident; and
(9) the number and types of education service programs offered or coordinated for the resident.

Subp. 4. Personnel training. The license holder must develop an annual training plan for employees that addresses
items A to D.

A. Full-time and part-time direct care staff and volunteers must have sufficient training to accomplish their duties. The
license holder must determine the amount of training needed by considering an employee's position description, the tasks to
be performed, and the performance indicators for the position. To determine the type and amount of training an employee
needs, the license holder must also consider the program's target population, the services the program delivers, and the out-
comes expected from the services.

B. Staff who have direct contact with residents must complete at least 24 hours of in-service training per year. One-half
of the training must be skill development training. Staff who do not have direct contact and volunteers must complete
in-service training requirements consistent with their duties.

C. The license holder must provide orientation and training to staff and volunteers regarding:
(1) culturally competent care; 
(2) racial bias and racism issues; 
(3) gender issues, including the psychosocial development of boys and girls; 
(4) sexual orientation issues; and
(5) physical, mental, sensory, and health-related disabilities, bias, and discrimination.

D. Part-time direct care staff must receive sufficient training to competently care for residents. The amount of training
must be provided at least at a ratio of one hour of training for each 50 hours worked, up to 24 hours of training per part-time
employee per year.

2960.0160 ADMISSION POLICIES AND PROCESS.
Subpart 1. Admission criteria. A license holder must develop resident admission criteria consistent with the license

holder's statement of intended use and program services certifications. The admission criteria must describe the age of the
resident to be served, whether both male and female residents are served, whether there are limitations about who the pro-
gram will serve, and what types of problems and primary needs the program will meet during the resident's stay.

Subp. 2. Ability to meet resident needs. Before admission of a resident, the license holder must examine the placement
agency's information about the resident and must determine and document whether the program can meet the resident's
needs. The license holder must document whether:

A.  the resident is a danger to the resident's self or others; 
B.  the relevant screening and assessment of the resident was completed; 
C.  the program is able to meet the resident's cultural, emotional, educational, mental health, and physical needs; 
D.  the resident is a sex offender. The license holder must take special precautions when a resident is considered likely

to engage in sexually abusive behavior. The license holder must assess the resident to determine which precautions may be
appropriate, give the resident an individual sleeping room, and direct staff to pay special attention to the resident's interac-
tions with others. The license holder's care for a resident likely to engage in sexually abusive behavior must protect the resi-
dent, other residents, staff, and the community. The license holder must consider the vulnerability of other residents in the
facility when caring for a sex offender; and

E.  the resident is a chemical abuser or is chemically dependent. If the resident requires a chemical use assessment, the
chemical use assessment must be conducted by an alcohol and drug counselor licensed according to Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 148C, or an assessor, as defined in part 9530.6605, subpart 4. Information obtained in the chemical use assessment
must be recorded in the resident's record and must include the information required in part 9530.6620, subpart 1. The chem-
ical use assessment must address the resident's:
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(1) current state of intoxication and potential for withdrawal problems; 
(2) current biomedical condition; 
(3) emotional or behavioral problems; 
(4) recognition of an alcohol or drug problem and the resulting need for treatment; 
(5) likelihood of continued inappropriate use or relapse, including the ability to participate in leisure activities that do

not involve chemical use; 
(6) work, school, and living environment, including the resident's family relationships and the need for parenting skills

education; 
(7) susceptibility to abuse or neglect; and
(8) need for additional support services, such as transportation or resident care, in order to participate in the program.

A summary of the assessment results must be written by a chemical dependency counselor or assessor, indicating whether
the needs identified in the assessment can be addressed by the license holder while the resident participates in the license
holder's program, or whether the resident must be referred to an appropriate treatment setting.

Subp. 3. Privacy. All admission procedures must be conducted in a manner and location that ensures the personal priva-
cy of the resident.

Subp. 4. Information to residents. The license holder must give residents the information in items A to C.
A. Copies of facility rules must be made available to all residents who can read at the time of admission. The facility

rules must include:
(1) rules governing conduct, disciplinary consequences, and appeal procedures; 
(2) procedures for obtaining hygiene and other personal items; and
(3) policies and procedures governing visiting, correspondence, bathing, laundry, grievances, clothing, bedding

exchange, and other operational procedures.
B. Each resident, within 24 hours of admission, must be provided with a copy of a description of the applicable pro-

grams and activities available to residents in the facility.
C. Rules and program information must be read to those residents incapable of understanding written documents or who

are unable to read. The license holder must consider the languages the resident understands and the resident's age and abili-
ty when presenting information to the resident.

2960.0170 CLASSIFICATION AND SEPARATION OF RESIDENTS.
Subpart 1. Classification of residents. The license holder must develop a classification plan and house residents in liv-

ing units that are consistent with the license holders's statement of intended use. Resident classification criteria for living
unit assignment must include consideration of at least the following factors: age, developmental level, gender, physical
assaultiveness, delinquent sophistication, and run risk. The classification plan must be reviewed and approved by the com-
missioner of human services or corrections.

Subp. 2. Separation of residents by gender. There must be complete separation of sleeping and toilet facilities to the
extent necessary to ensure a resident's privacy from residents of the opposite gender.

2960.0180 FACILITY OPERATIONAL SERVICE POLICIES AND PRACTICES.
Subpart 1. Policy manuals. The license holder must submit the facility policy and procedures manuals to the commis-

sioner of human services or corrections for review and make the manuals available to all staff within the facility.
Subp. 2. Facility programs. The license holder must prepare written program descriptions and policies and procedures

that implement the program described. Measurable program outcomes must also be identified.
A. The minimum program components must include the requirements in subitems (1) to (3).

(1) For group residential facilities offering educational services on site, there must be a 12-month comprehensive and
continuous education program for residents that meets the requirements of Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, section 60,
subdivision 2, clause (2)(ix), and rules of the Department of Children, Families, and Learning.

(2) The license holder must provide or coordinate the delivery of social services that, at a minimum, includes individ-
ual, group, and family counseling services.

(3) Policies and procedures must ensure that a trained staff person is available to counsel residents upon request and
during times of crisis.

B. Each resident must have a treatment plan.
(1) The license holder must begin to develop a treatment plan within ten days of admission. If the resident's case plan

or screening or assessment results indicates that the needs of the resident cannot be met by the license holder, the license
holder must document contact with the placement agency and notify the placement agency of the results of the screening or
assessment and tell the placement agency that the program is not able to meet the resident's needs.

(2) The license holder must review the resident's case and treatment plans on a monthly basis or, if necessary, more
often and recommend changes, if appropriate.

(3) The license holder must develop a transitional services plan for each resident prior to the resident's discharge, with
identified measurable outcomes, including applicable education outcomes.
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(4) The license holder must document the involvement of community treatment, education, and care resources related
to the case plan or treatment plan.

(5) The license holder must assign every resident to a designated staff person to ensure regular face-to-face contact and
to monitor and assist the resident to implement the treatment plan.

(6) The license holder must make individualized written progress reports available to the resident's parent or legal
guardian upon request.

(7) The license holder must forward written educational progress reports to the resident's school district of residence, if
it is likely that the resident will return to the resident's district of residence, unless prohibited by law.

Subp. 3. Records and reports. The license holder must have a record retention schedule. The license holder must:
A. comply with reporting requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 253C.01; 
B. maintain the records in subitems (1) to (11) according to state law:

(1) admission and release records; 
(2) resident personal property records; 
(3) special occurrence or incident records; 
(4) records of staff and volunteer training; 
(5) food service records; 
(6) daily log records; 
(7) records about which services were provided to each resident, outcomes of treatment for each resident, and out-

comes for program services and program evaluation reports; 
(8) medical and dental records; 
(9) disciplinary records and records of appeals; 
(10) special and regular education records; and
(11) resident, family, and referring agency satisfaction survey; and

C.  store records in an organized, retrievable manner that ensures confidentiality.
Subp. 4. Audio or visual recording of resident. Photographs, videotapes, and motion pictures of a resident taken on

program premises or by program personnel are considered a resident record. Photographs of a resident for identification and
recordings by videotape and audiotape for the purpose of enhancing therapy, staff supervision, or security may be required.
A resident must be informed when actions are being recorded, and have the right to refuse any recording except as autho-
rized by law. The use of an audio or visual recording of a resident must comply with data practices laws.

2960.0190 DISCHARGE AND AFTERCARE.
Subpart 1. Discharge. The license holder must meet requirements of items A and B.

A. Prior to the resident's release from the program, the license holder, in conjunction with the placing agency, must
develop a transition services plan for the resident. The plan must recommend ways to meet the resident's needs and identify
resources that are available in the community to address the resident's continuing needs after release from the facility. The
plan must consider the environment into which the resident will return, and recommend how the resident may deal with
issues and potential challenges within that environment. The plan must be developed with input from the resident, the resi-
dent's family members, if appropriate, the providing school district, and the persons who will provide support services to the
resident upon release. A copy of the plan must be given to the resident and to the school, or to the residential treatment
facility that the resident will attend or is placed in after release.

B. The transition services plan must include at least the elements in subitems (1) to (7):
(1) housing, recreation, and leisure arrangements; 
(2) appropriate educational, vocational rehabilitation, or training services; 
(3) a budget plan and a description of the resident's financial and employment status; 
(4) transportation needs; 
(5) treatment services; 
(6) health services; and
(7) personal safety needs.

For a resident with a disability, the transition services plan must address the resident's need for transition from secondary
education services to postsecondary education and training, employment provider participation, recreation and leisure, and
home living according to Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.08.
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C. The license holder must give written notice of the resident's projected discharge date to:

(1) the resident; 
(2) the resident's case manager and parent, if permitted, or legal guardian; 
(3) the providing school district; and
(4) the school district the resident will go to, if known.

Subp. 2. Treatment plan compliance. The license holder must document the extent to which the resident's stay in the
facility met the goals and objectives of the resident's treatment plans as follows:

A. identify which services, including education, were provided directly or indirectly to the resident and who provided
the services; and

B. identify the services, including education, that were recommended in the resident's case plan or treatment plan but
were not provided to the resident.

2960.0200 PHYSICAL PLANT AND ENVIRONMENT.
A group residential facility must meet the requirements in items A to D.

A. Buildings, structures, or enclosures used by the facility, including walls, floors, ceilings, registers, fixtures, equip-
ment, and furnishings, must be kept in good repair.

B. Written policies and procedures must specify the facility's fire prevention protocols, including fire drills, and prac-
tices to ensure the safety of staff, residents, and visitors. The policies must include provisions for adequate fire protection
service, inspection by local or state fire officials, and placement of fire hoses or extinguishers at appropriate locations
throughout the facility.

C. The license holder must have a written maintenance plan that includes policies and procedures for detecting, report-
ing, and correcting building and equipment deterioration, safety hazards, and unsanitary conditions.

D. The license holder must have a written smoking policy for the facility that applies to staff and residents that complies
with Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.411 to 144.417, and Public Law 103-227, title X, section 1043.

2960.0210 FACILITY AND EQUIPMENT CODES.
Subpart 1. Facility codes. The facility's location, buildings and grounds, offices, and other structures must conform to

applicable health, fire, zoning, and building codes and the requirements of part 2960.0110.
Subp. 2. Equipment codes. The facility's food service, plumbing, ventilation, heating, cooling, lighting, elevators, and

other fixtures and equipment must conform to applicable health, sanitation, and safety codes and regulations.
Subp. 3. Safety reports maintained. The facility must maintain in a permanent file the reports of insurance coverage;

occupational safety and health administration reports; incident reports; and reports of health, fire, and other safety inspections.

2960.0220 NEW CONSTRUCTION STANDARDS.
Subpart 1. New construction standards. New secure juvenile certified correctional group residential facilities must

meet the minimum physical plant construction standards developed by the Department of Corrections.
Subp. 2. Nonsecure construction standards. New construction of nonsecure residential facilities must meet state and

local building codes and the physical plant requirements in part 2960.0120. Correctional group residential construction
plans and schematics must be reviewed and approved by the Department of Corrections before the license holder allows
bids for construction.

ADDITIONAL STANDARDS FOR DETENTION SETTINGS

2960.0230 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0230 to 2960.0290 establish additional minimum standards that facilities providing detention

services must meet to qualify for licensure by the Department of Corrections. The license holder must also meet the require-
ments of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120, except that part 2960.0050, subpart 1, item R, does not apply to detention settings.

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0230 to 2960.0290 apply to any unit of government, individual, corporation, limited
liability corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other organization, or controlling individual that operates a facility
that provides detention services on a 24-hour basis to a juvenile who is alleged to be a delinquent, an adjudicated delinquent,
an extended jurisdiction juvenile, or a child in need of protection or services on predispositional status who is at least ten
years old but not older than 21 years old. The facility classifications governed by parts 2960.0230 to 2960.0290 are:

A.  secure detention facilities; 
B. eight-day temporary holdover facilities; and
C.  24-hour temporary holdover facilities.

2960.0240 PERSONNEL POLICIES.
Subpart 1. Job descriptions and staff qualifications. Job descriptions and staff qualifications must meet the require-

ments in items A and B.
A. The license holder must have written job descriptions for all position classifications and post assignments that define

responsibilities, duties, and qualifications needed to perform those duties. The job description must be readily accessible to
all employees.
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B. Staff who supervise residents must be at least 21 years old and provide evidence of at least a high school diploma or
general education development degree. Persons older than 18 years old but younger than 21 years old may be employed if
they are enrolled in a secondary education program to pursue a degree in a behavioral science.

Subp. 2. Professional licensure. The license holder must maintain documentation showing that licensure is current for
staff whose positions require professional licensure.

Subp. 3. Staffing plan. The license holder must prepare and obtain approval from the commissioner of corrections of a
written staffing plan that shows staff assignments and meets the needs of the residents in placement. The license holder
must use the criteria in items A to J to develop the facility's staffing plan.

A. The license holder must designate a chief administrator of each facility.
B. In the temporary absence of the chief administrator, a staff person must be designated as the person in charge of the

facility.
C. The license holder must designate a program director of the facility. A program with more than 24 residents must

have a full-time program director.
D. The license holder must not assign staff in a manner that invades the privacy of residents or embarrasses or diminish-

es the dignity of residents by requiring staff of the opposite sex to perform the duties in subitems (1) to (4):
(1) strip searches; 
(2) witnessing or assisting at internal body searches; 
(3) direct visual supervision of residents during showers or lavatory use; and
(4) assisting a resident with a personal hygiene activity if assisting the resident with the hygiene activity would require

the staff person to view the resident unclothed or to touch the genitals, buttocks, or breasts of the resident.
The written staffing plan must include a contingency plan that ensures an immediate response by on-call staff of the same

gender, who must be available when needed, to maintain the resident's privacy in situations described in subitems (1) to (4)
and meet the needs of residents during times when the resident feels vulnerable or is deemed by staff to be vulnerable.

The license holder may assign medically licensed staff and purchase the services of persons who are medically licensed to
care for or treat residents of the opposite sex. However, if a resident asks that a medically licensed person of the same sex
perform the procedures in subitem (2), the license holder must provide same sex medically licensed personnel to perform
the procedures in subitem (2). Medically licensed personnel must perform the duties in subitem (2).

When the requirements of this item are not fully met, the license holder must document the circumstances and reasons the
requirements were not met and document what the license holder will do to prevent a recurrence of the failure to fully meet
the requirements of this item. The documentation of failure to meet the requirements of this item and the description of
what the license holder will do to prevent a recurrence of the failure must be kept on file at the facility for at least two years
or until the next licensing renewal inspection, whichever period is longer.

E. The minimum number of staff who have direct contact that must be present and awake when residents are present is
one staff person per 12 residents. At a minimum, one staff person per 25 residents must be present and awake at all times in
the facility when residents are normally asleep.

F. Minimum staffing requirements for temporary holdover facilities are described in subitems (1) to (5).
(1) No person may be housed in a temporary holdover facility without at least one staff person on duty, awake, alert,

and capable of responding to the reasonable needs of a resident in the facility.
(2) Staff must not be placed in positions of responsibility for the supervision and welfare of a resident of the opposite

gender in circumstances that can be described as an invasion of privacy, degrading, or humiliating to the resident. Male
staff must not supervise female residents except in activity areas and only when female staff are on duty and present in the
facility. Female staff may supervise male residents, provided resident privacy is protected and visual and audio monitoring
equipment is operating and constantly attended by other staff.

(3) One staff person may supervise up to four juveniles at one time, provided they are all of the same gender. Two
staff persons are required to be on duty if five or more juveniles are being detained in a nonsecure temporary holdover facil-
ity.

(4) Staff supervising residents in a secure 24-hour temporary holdover facility must remain at their posts at all times.
Staff must document residents' behavior at 30-minute intervals.

(5) In eight-day temporary holdover facilities having both secure and nonsecure detention beds, two staff persons must
be on duty when five or more residents are being detained. If all detention beds are secure, a minimum of one staff person
must be on duty during each shift.
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G. The license holder must designate a person to coordinate volunteer services, if volunteers are used by the facility.

The license holder must have a system for registration and identification of volunteers. Volunteers who have unsupervised
contact with residents must have a background check. The license holder must require volunteers to agree in writing to
abide by facility policies. Volunteers must be trained and qualified to perform the duties assigned to them.

H. The staffing plan must be appropriate for the program services offered to the resident and the condition of the resi-
dent. The license holder must consider the factors in subitems (1) to (9) when developing the staffing plan:

(1) the age of the resident being served; 
(2) the resident's physical and mental health; 
(3) the vulnerability of the resident; 
(4) the resident's capacity for self-preservation in the event of an emergency; 
(5) the degree to which the resident may be a threat to self or others; 
(6) the risk of the resident absconding; 
(7) the gender of the resident; 
(8) the disability of the resident; and
(9) the number and types of educational service programs offered or coordinated for the resident.

I. Physical plant features and characteristics must also be considered when approving the program's staffing plan.
J. Staffing plans must be readily available for each licensing inspection.

Subp. 4. Personnel training. The license holder must provide staff training.
A. The license holder must develop and implement a training plan for orientation and continuing in-service training pro-

grams for all employees and volunteers. The plan must enable personnel to improve their knowledge, skills, and abilities
and promote awareness and appreciation of, and sensitivity to, the cultural background and needs of the residents served by
the facility. The training and development plan must:

(1) be documented and be descriptive of the course curriculum, methods of instruction, and objectives of instruction; 
(2) be reviewed annually and revised according to the facility's assessment of its training needs; and
(3) include specific expectations regarding the amount of training time required for personnel in various positions.

B. The facility must offer orientation for new employees regarding agency objectives, resources, policies, and services.
Employees must be oriented to the facility's goals, services, policies, and operational procedures; the cultural diversity of the
service population; and the agency's relationship with the providing school district and other community resources.

(1) Staff employed in a long-term secure detention facility and in an eight-day temporary holdover facility must com-
plete at least 24 hours of orientation training before working alone with residents. Other staff and volunteers must complete
orientation consistent with their responsibilities.

(2) Staff employed in a 24-hour temporary holdover facility must complete the 24-hour juvenile care attendant work-
shop sponsored by the Department of Corrections during their first six months of employment. Volunteers or staff who have
not completed the workshop, but have received and completed the required orientation training, may work alone on a shift.

C. Employees of a long-term secure detention facility who have direct contact with residents must complete a minimum
of 40 hours of in-service training per year. One-half of the training must be skill development training. Staff of an
eight-day temporary holdover facility must complete 24 hours of in-service training. Twenty-four-hour temporary holdover
staff and other facility staff and volunteers must complete in-service training consistent with professional licensure require-
ments and responsibilities and the license holder's annual training plan.

2960.0250 ADMISSION AND RELEASE POLICY AND PROCESS.
Subpart 1. Personal privacy. Admission procedures must be conducted in a manner and location that ensures the per-

sonal privacy of the resident and the confidentiality of the transaction from unauthorized personnel.
Subp. 2. Admissiosn criteria. Detention statutory criteria for admission into a facility must be met prior to any person

being admitted into the detention facility.
Subp. 3. Information to residents. The license holder must make information available to a resident in a language the

resident can understand.
A. A copy of facility rules must be made available to a resident throughout confinement concerning rules governing

conduct, the facility's due process system, and disciplinary consequences; procedures for obtaining personal hygiene and
canteen items; and policies governing visiting, correspondence, bathing, laundry, and clothing and bedding exchange.

B. The license holder, within 24 hours of admission, must either give a copy to or advise the resident of the facility's rules
and activities, the outside resources available, and the addresses and telephone numbers of the state-appointed ombudsman.
A juvenile admitted into a 24-hour temporary holdover facility must be provided the information at the time of admission.

C. Items A and B must be explained to a resident who is unable to read or who has questions about facility rules.
D. The license holder must advise the resident upon admission of the resident's legal rights regarding detention or con-

finement. The resident must be advised of the official charge or legal basis for detention.
E. The license holder must notify the parent or legal custodian or guardian of the resident's admission into detention and

the address of the facility, unless notice was given by the referring agency.
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Subp. 4. Search. Upon admission, personal belongings of a resident must be examined in a manner and in a location that
ensures the personal privacy of the resident. Items taken from the resident during the search must be included in the resident's
personal property inventory. The search of the resident must be done by a staff person of the same gender as the resident.

Subp. 5. Resident clothing. The license holder may determine the type of clothing a resident must wear. However, uni-
forms are discouraged and the license holder must consider the resident's cultural dress customs when developing resident
clothing policies.

Subp. 6. Discharges and releases. Discharges and releases must be according to items A and B.
A. No resident must be released in inclement weather without proper clothing to ensure health and safekeeping.
B. A resident must be permitted to make arrangements for transportation prior to release.

Subp. 7. Transitional services plan. The license holder must assist the case manager to develop the transitional services
plan, if requested by the case manager.

Subp. 8. Case plan compliance. The license holder must document the extent to which the requirements of the resident's
case plan were addressed while the resident was in the facility, if the resident has a case plan. The license holder must:

A. identify which services were provided directly or indirectly to the resident and who provided the services; 
B. identify which services were not provided to the resident, but should have been, and the party who was responsible

to provide the services; and
C. document the extent to which the license holder met the expected outcomes identified in the resident's case plan.

2960.0260 CLASSIFICATION, SEPARATION, AND SEGREGATION OF RESIDENTS.
Subpart 1. Classification of residents. The license holder must develop a classification plan that is consistent with the

license holder's statement of intended use. The license holder must house residents in living units according to the classifi-
cation plan. Resident classification criteria for living unit assignment must include consideration of at least the following
factors: age, developmental level, gender, physical aggressiveness, delinquent sophistication, and abscond risk. The classi-
fication plan must be reviewed and approved by the commissioner of corrections.

Subp. 2. Separation of residents by gender. There must be complete separation of living and sanitation facilities to the
extent necessary to ensure a resident's privacy from residents of the opposite gender. Gender-appropriate program services
must be provided to male and female residents separately when possible.

Subp. 3. Residents who may have sexually abusive behaviors. The license holder must take special precautions when
a resident is considered likely to have sexually abusive behavior. The license holder must screen the resident to determine
which precautions may be appropriate, give the resident an individual sleeping room, and direct staff to pay special attention
to the resident's interactions with others. The license holder's care for a resident likely to have sexually abusive behavior
must protect the resident, other residents, staff, and the community. The license holder must consider the vulnerability of
other residents in the facility.

2960.0270 FACILITY OPERATIONAL POLICIES AND PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS, SERVICES, AND
PROGRAMS.

Subpart 1. Administrative structure. The license holder must designate a single administrator of the facility, and in that
person's absence, a staff person must be designated as being in charge. Upon request, the license holder must provide the
names and addresses of the owners, board members, or controlling individual, and an organizational chart depicting organi-
zational authority over the program to the commissioner of corrections.

Subp. 2. Policies and procedures manual. License holders must have a policy and procedures manual reviewed by the
commissioner of corrections that is readily available to staff. The policy manual must contain policies and procedures for
all aspects of the facility's operation. The license holder must ensure that the policies and procedures in the manual safe-
guard residents' rights and require the provision of basic services to residents.

Subp. 3. Posting of medical, dental, and emergency resources. A list of medical, dental, and emergency resources
must be posted at each staff station in the facility. The list must include the emergency resources' telephone numbers and
hours that each resource is available.

Subp. 4. Medical services.
A. A facility must provide space, staff, and a procedure for daily sick call to ensure residents the opportunity to report

illness and injury and receive appropriate medical services for illness or injury.
B. A resident must be examined by trained medical personnel within a reasonable time if the resident is visibly ill,

chronically ill, or whenever it is suspected that medical attention is necessary.
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C. If medical services are delivered in the facility or through contract services, adequate space, equipment, supplies, and

materials, as determined by the responsible physician, must be provided to deliver primary health care.
D. Staff responsible for the supervision, safety, and well-being of residents must be trained in emergency first aid pro-

cedures. At least one person per shift must have training in receiving, screening, basic life support, cardiopulmonary resus-
citation, and recognition of symptoms of the illnesses most common to the residents detained in the facility.

E. A facility must have at least one first aid kit located at the facility's control center or primary staff station. The first
aid kit must be inspected by a designated staff person regularly to assess the adequacy of first aid supplies. The kit must be
adequate to meet the needs of residents and staff.

F. The license holder, in consultation with a physician or licensed or registered nurse, must develop plans and establish
procedures and accessories for the secure storage, delivery, supervision, and control of medications and medical supplies in
the facility.

Subp. 5. Visitation. A license holder must have a written visitation plan. The plan must include at least the requirements
in items A to D.

A. A resident may visit, at reasonable times of the day, with parents, relatives, or other adults who were responsible for
the resident's care before the resident was admitted to the facility, unless the license holder has convincing evidence that
such a visit would not be in the best interest or welfare of the resident.

B. The facility administrator must set a facility-wide visiting policy regarding visitors, other than those described in item
A. Visitors may be monitored, but notice of monitoring must be posted in the visiting area. The administrator may limit vis-
its by persons other than those described in item A to scheduled visiting hours. Scheduled visiting hours must include morn-
ings, evenings, weekdays, and weekends. A minimum of eight scheduled hours per week must be maintained for visiting.

C. Visits by an attorney, probation officer, case worker, or religious or spiritual counselor are allowed and must be per-
mitted to take place in private.

D. The license holder must request visitors to register upon arrival at the facility; give their name, address, and relation-
ship to the resident; and produce a reliable form of identification. If a visit is denied, the resident and visitor must be given
the reason for denial and the reason must be documented in the resident's file.

Subp. 6. Discipline plan. The license holder must have a discipline plan that includes the requirements in items A to F.
A. A facility must have a resident discipline plan that explains:

(1) the consequences or administrative sanctions for specific behaviors or omissions; 
(2) the administrative process for handling major and minor violations; 
(3) the right of written notice of major charges made against the resident; 
(4) the right to internal review; and
(5) the appeal process.

B. The license holder must include in the disciplinary plan a system of due process that has been reviewed by the com-
missioner of corrections.

C. The license holder must post and explain the rules of conduct and related consequences to a resident in a way and in
a language that the resident will understand.

D. Disciplinary room time must be used according to due process procedures reflected in the facility's discipline plan.
The status of a resident placed in disciplinary room time after a due process hearing must be reviewed by the facility

administrator or the administrator's designee at least once every eight hours. Each review of the need for continued discipli-
nary room time must be done according to the facility's due process system and must be documented. A resident placed in
disciplinary room time prior to a due process hearing must have a due process hearing within 24 hours, unless documented
cause is shown to delay the hearing. Examples of cause for delay of a due process hearing include resident requests for a
delay or that a due process hearing is logistically impossible as in the case of mass disturbances.

E. Other limitations on disciplinary actions include the limitations in subitems (1) to (4).
(1) Disciplinary rooms must have the minimum furnishings and space specified in the Department of Corrections con-

struction standards.
(2) When a resident persists in the destruction of clothing or bedding or harms the resident's self with the clothing or

bedding while in disciplinary room time, the facility may deprive the resident of clothing and bedding. The decision to
deprive residents of clothing and bedding must be reviewed by the shift supervisor during each eight-hour period, unless
specific orders to the contrary have been issued by the facility administrator or a designee or on the advice of a licensed
physician or psychologist.

(3) The delegation of authority to a resident or group of residents to punish another resident or group of residents is
prohibited.

(4) The license holder must not deprive the resident of the use of materials necessary to maintain an acceptable level of
personal hygiene while on disciplinary status.

F. The license holder must keep a record of a resident's disciplinary infractions and the punishment administered. The
license holder must retain copies of rule violation reports and reports of the disposition of each infraction and record of any
resident's appeals for one licensing period.
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Subp. 7. Education program. The license holder must provide education programs and services to a resident that are
consistent with Department of Children, Families, and Learning rules and statutory requirements governing education of a
resident. If the license holder suspects that a resident has a disability, and educational evaluation must be conducted accord-
ing to applicable rules to determine if the resident has a disability. The license holder must ensure that the appropriate eval-
uation is completed and must assist a student who has disabilities and needs special education and related services to obtain
those services.

Subp. 8. Exercise and recreation. The license holder must implement a plan that provides opportunities for physical
exercise and recreational activities for residents. At a minimum, the plan must provide for and include:

A.  regulations that are reasonable and necessary to protect the facility's security and the residents' welfare; 
B. provisions for a minimum of two hours of daily preplanned exercise or activities supervised and directed by trained

staff and recreational activities and leisure time activities, excluding time spent watching television; 
C. provisions for indoor space and equipment for active recreation; and
D. provisions for outdoor recreational space, equipment, and support staff for outdoor recreational program services,

except that this item does not apply to eight-day and 24-hour temporary holdover facilities.
Subp. 9. Correspondence and telephone. The license holder must implement a plan for handling resident mail and resi-

dent telephone use that is consistent with established legal rights of juveniles and reasonable and necessary facility regula-
tions to protect the facility's security.

Subp. 10. Juvenile clothing, bedding, and laundry services. The license holder must meet the requirements of items A
to C.

A. A resident must have neat, clean clothing that is appropriate for the season. The license holder must provide the resi-
dent with clothing if the resident does not have clothing.

B. The facility administrator or person in charge may consider it necessary to remove clothing or bedding from a resi-
dent if the resident's behavior threatens the safety or security of the resident or others in the facility. Facility staff must take
all reasonable steps to ensure the safety and security of the resident and others and the security of the facility without suc-
cess, prior to removing the resident's clothing or bedding. If bedding or clothing is removed from a resident, a critical inci-
dent report must be completed and kept on file at the facility for two licensing periods.

C. Laundry services must meet the resident's clothing, linen, and bedding needs.
Subp. 11. Emergencies. The license holder must develop a written emergency plan with procedures for the protection

and evacuation of all persons in the case of fire, explosion, flood, tornado, or other emergencies. In addition, the emergency
plan must provide for immediate and effective action in the event of hostage incidents, escape and escape attempts, suicide
and attempted suicide, any illness or accident considered an emergency, power failure, major resident disturbances, assaults,
and outbreaks or epidemics of contagious disease.

Subp. 12. Reporting critical incidents. Critical incidents of an unusual or serious nature that involve, or endanger the
lives or safety of, facility staff or residents must be reported to the commissioner of corrections within ten days on a form
supplied by the commissioner of corrections.

Subp. 13. General requirements for food service. Food service must meet the requirements of items A to F.
A. The goals of food service in a facility must be to provide food and beverages to residents that are nutritionally ade-

quate, palatable, produced in a manner to prevent food-borne illness, of adequate quantity and variety, served at appropriate
temperatures, and prepared by methods which conserve nutritional value.

B. Any food service provided in a detention facility must follow the requirements of chapter 4626.
C. When food is catered into the facility, it must be obtained from a source licensed by the Department of Health.
D. A facility housing a resident in need of a medically prescribed therapeutic diet must document that the diet is provid-

ed as ordered by the resident's physician.
E. If a resident's religious or spiritual beliefs require adherence to dietary customs, the license holder must make efforts

to provide the special diet. If the license holder is unable to meet a resident's religious or spiritual dietary customs, the
license holder must document why the resident's dietary customs could not be met.

F. Food must be covered during transport through nondietary areas, but need not be covered when served in a dining
area which is contiguous to the food preparation area. The food service system must be capable of maintaining hot foods at
150 degrees Fahrenheit or higher and maintaining cold foods at 40 degrees Fahrenheit or lower. A dumbwaiter or conveyor
that has a cab or carrier used for the transport of soiled linen or soiled dishes must not be used for the transport of food.
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Subp. 14. Housekeeping, sanitation, and plant maintenance. The license holder must meet the requirements of items

A to C.
A. The facility and all buildings, structures, or enclosures used by the facility, including walls, floors, ceilings, registers,

fixtures, equipment, and furnishings, must be kept in good repair and maintained to protect the health, comfort, safety, and
well-being of residents and staff.

B. The license holder must have and implement a written plan to inspect and document daily housekeeping, sanitation,
and plant maintenance needs in the occupied parts of the facility.

C. The license holder, in cooperation with the facility's governing body, must develop plans, policies, and procedures to
detect and correct building and equipment deterioration, safety hazards, and unsanitary conditions in the early stages of their
development and provide for their repair, correction, or modification.

Subp. 15. Physical plant and environment. The license holder must meet the requirements of this subpart.
A. Building features, space for programs, equipment, and materials must be consistent with the facility's statement of

intended use and program objectives. The facility's physical plant features must comply with chapter 2900.
B. The license holder must ask the local health authority and fire marshal to inspect the facility annually for health, san-

itation, and fire safety conditions.
C. The Department of Corrections must review and approve all new construction and renovation of detention facilities.

The license holder must meet the requirements of chapter 2900 governing the construction of new corrections facilities.
D. A nonsecure 24-hour temporary holdover facility must:

(1) be located in a nonsecure area of a public or private building where either law enforcement or emergency services
staff are available on a 24-hour-a-day basis and who agree to respond immediately with backup assistance in the event of an
emergency; 

(2) have a minimum of 120 square feet of floor space for the first resident held and an additional 50 square feet of floor
space for each additional resident held; 

(3) have provisions for each resident to lie down, sleep, or sit in comfort; 
(4) have access to bathroom and shower facilities on the same floor; 
(5) have telephone or audio communication equipment with direct access to emergency backup personnel; 
(6) have the capability to prepare meals or arrange for meals to be delivered; 
(7) have lighting, ventilation, and temperature controls to maintain reasonable comfort; 
(8) provide separation between male and female residents to meet the privacy needs of the residents; 
(9) have minimum furnishings in the facility, consisting of telephone, radio, television, table, chairs, storage space,

bed, lamps, first aid kit, bedding, replacement clothing, personal hygiene items, and leisure activity materials; 
(10) comply with all federal, state, and local fire safety requirements and sanitation, safety, and health codes.

Furnishings also must comply with these requirements and codes; and
(11) have a storage area that can be locked to store necessary supplies and equipment.

E. A secure 24-hour temporary holdover facility must:
(1) comply with all of the minimum standards required of a nonsecure 24-hour facility with the exception that toilet

and washbasin facilities must be located within the secure room; 
(2) have all fixtures and furnishings in a secure detention room and be of a secure type and be appropriately secured to

ensure safety for staff and the juvenile being detained; 
(3) have a door to the secure room with an observation window with a cover to afford privacy when necessary and a

food-pass feature; and
(4) have secure temporary holdover rooms used to detain juveniles that are single occupancy with a minimum of 70

square feet of floor space.
F. A secure or nonsecure eight-day temporary holdover facility must meet the requirements of subitems (1) to (12).

(1) The facility must not exceed a maximum capacity of eight beds.
(2) The facility must have at least two secure single occupancy detention rooms. Each secure room in the facility must

be single occupancy, have a minimum of 70 square feet, and be equipped with toilet and washbasin facilities. Furnishings
and fixtures must be of a secure type and room doors must have observation windows with panel covers. Space for day
activity areas outside of the detention rooms must be provided with access to natural light. Audio monitoring that allows a
resident to communicate with facility staff when in need of assistance must be in each room and day activity area. Visual
monitoring cameras must be in the day activity areas if the areas cannot be directly observed from the staff station.

(3) Nonsecure detention rooms in the facility must have a minimum of 70 square feet in single occupancy rooms and a
minimum of 60 square feet per juvenile in multiple occupancy rooms.

(4) The facility must have access to natural light in the activity area.
(5) Activity space must be provided to accommodate multiple uses, specifically for dining, school, physical exercise,

recreation, leisure, and visiting activities. The space must be no less than 625 square feet.
(6) Separate space must be provided for admission and intake procedures that provides for private and confidential pro-

cessing.
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(7) The facility must provide separation capability between the secure and nonsecure rooms within the facility and for
proper separation between male and female residents to afford privacy.

(8) The facility must provide separate bathroom and shower facilities for the secure and nonsecure units of the facility.
(9) The facility must provide the same furnishings as required in the secure and nonsecure 24-hour temporary holdover

facilities.
(10) The facility must have the capability to prepare meals or arrange for meals to be delivered.
(11) Functional physical exercise equipment must be readily available for use by juveniles in the secure and nonsecure

programs on a daily basis.
(12) The facility and furnishings must comply with federal, state, and local fire safety requirements and sanitation,

safety, and health codes.
Subp. 16. Information reporting required. The license holder must report information and statistics about program ser-

vices, outcomes, and data about residents in the license holder's facility to the commissioner of corrections according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

2960.0280 NEW CONSTRUCTION STANDARDS.
A new juvenile detention facility must meet the minimum physical plant construction standards of chapter 2900.

2960.0290 PHYSICAL PLANT AND EQUIPMENT CODES.
Subpart 1. Equipment codes. The facility's food service, plumbing, ventilation, heating, cooling, lighting, elevators, and

other fixtures and equipment must conform to health, sanitation, and safety codes and regulations.
Subp. 2. Safety reports maintained. The facility must maintain in its file the reports of insurance, inspections, occupa-

tional safety and health administration reports, incident reports, and reports of health, fire, and other safety inspections.

PROGRAM CERTIFICATION STANDARDS FOR SECURE PROGRAMS

2960.0300 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0420 establish the minimum certification standards that licensed settings

must meet for certification as a secure program.
Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0420 govern a license holder who wishes to operate a secure program.

Parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0420 do not apply to a locked group residential facility certified to provide treatment to residents
with severe emotional disturbance certified under parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700.

Subp. 3. License requirements. A program certified under parts 2960.0300 to 2960.0420 must meet the requirements of
parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and be licensed as a group residential setting according to parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220 or as
a detention setting according to parts 2960.0230 to 2960.0290.

2960.0310 STATEMENT OF PROGRAM OBJECTIVES.
The license holder must prepare a written statement of measurable secure program goals and outcomes. The goals and

outcomes must be developed with the input of local juvenile justice personnel including judges, probation officers, case
managers, social workers, and other persons considered appropriate by the license holder.

2960.0320 PROGRAM SERVICES STANDARDS.
A secure program service must meet the needs of the resident served by the program, based on the resident's offense his-

tory, age, gender, disability, cultural and ethnic heritage, mental health and chemical dependency problems, and other char-
acteristics. Services offered must include at least items A and B:

A. intensive regular and special educational programs, with an individual educational plan for each resident who has a
disability and needs special education and related services; and

B.  specific educational components that meet the resident's program services needs for the management of anger, non-
violent conflict resolution, mental health, and other program services needs, such as physical abuse, cultural and ethnic her-
itage, gender, parenting education, and program services to educate sex offenders about sexuality and address issues specific
to victims and perpetrators of sexual abuse.

2960.0330 ADMISSION AND CONTINUED STAY.
Subpart 1. Placement authorized by statute or court order. A resident may not be placed in a secure facility unless the

placement meets the statutory criteria or is approved by the juvenile court.
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Subp. 2. Admission documentation. No resident may be received by a license holder until the referring agency has pro-

duced proper credentials and the placement person signs the placement person's name and title on a form identifying the
purpose for placement that will be part of the intake record.

2960.0340 SECURITY STANDARDS.
Subpart 1. Supervision of nonemployee service personnel. A person working at the facility, who is not employed by

the facility, must be under the general supervision of facility staff. No contact by such persons with residents is permitted.
Subp. 2. Extra duty. No employee may be scheduled for duty for two consecutive work periods except in a documented

emergency, or when unusual circumstances require reasonable and prudent exception. No employee may work more than
16 hours in each 24-hour period.

Subp. 3. Continuing need reviewed. Policies and procedures must be established that include time lines for the review
of individual cases to determine the need for continued secure placement. There must be written criteria addressing circum-
stances under which a resident must be moved to less restrictive parts of the facility if appropriate. When a license holder
moves a resident from a secure to a nonsecure space in a facility for programming purposes, the license holder must notify
the appropriate juvenile court.

Subp. 4. Plans for group arrest. A secure facility providing correctional program services must have written plans gov-
erning space arrangements and procedures to follow in the event of a group arrest that exceeds the maximum capacity of the
facility. These plans must be reviewed at least annually and updated

2960.0350 DISCHARGE.
Subpart 1. Discharge criteria. The facility must have written discharge criteria that allow discharge according to items

A and B:
A. completion of the resident's facility treatment plan; or 
B.  the resident is ordered to a different placement by the court.

Subp. 2. Return of property. When a resident is discharged, the resident's property must be returned to the resident with
a receipt, signed by the license holder, listing the property returned, unless the property is held for authorized investigation
or litigation.

2960.0360 SECURITY POLICIES AND PROCEDURES.
Subpart 1. Content of policies and procedures. A license holder who offers correctional program services must devel-

op security policies and procedures regarding the following:
A. control and recovery of contraband; 
B. delivery and service procedures; 
C. prohibition of firearms and other weapons in resident areas and measures to ensure that weapons are inaccessible to

residents; 
D.  search procedures; 
E. escort of residents outside the secured area; and
F. one-half hour interval well-being checks, when residents are not under direct supervision.

Subp. 2. Inspection of facility and deliveries to facility. The facility must be regularly inspected for contraband, evi-
dence of breaches in security, and inoperable security equipment. Materials delivered to or transported from the facility
must be inspected for contraband prior to distribution.

Subp. 3. Chemical irritant use.
A. The license holder must have written policies approved by the licensing agency governing the use of chemical irri-

tants and related chemicals.
B. The use of chemical irritants is permitted only in secure facilities with correctional program services.

(1) Chemical irritants must not be used except by order of the facility administrator or person in charge to prevent a
resident from seriously injuring the resident's self or others or to prevent damage to a substantial amount of property.

(2) Decontamination must occur immediately after all uses of chemical irritant.
(3) The documentation must include a description of what behavior on the part of the resident resulted in the use of

chemical irritants, what alternative methods were considered along with a description of these methods, exactly what the
decision to use chemical irritants was based on, and any other relevant factors.

(4) Facility personnel authorized to use chemical irritants must have documented annual training in the use of chemical
irritants and decontamination procedures.

(5) A documented supervisory review must be conducted after an incident that resulted in the use of chemical irritants.

2960.0370 LOCKS AND KEYS.
Subpart 1. Storage.

A. The license holder must ensure that when not in use, keys to security locks are properly tagged and stored in a secure
cabinet within a secure area, out of reach of residents or the public. At least one complete set of facility keys must be kept
on hand for replacement purposes.
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B. The license holder must ensure that keys that serve a critical security purpose must be easily identifiable and never
issued except upon order of the facility administrator or person in charge, and according to established procedure. No secu-
rity keys shall be made available to residents.

Subp. 2. Inspection. The license holder must ensure that:
A. all locks to security doors or gates are inspected daily to ensure their efficient operation and the inspections are docu-

mented; 
B. no lock to a security door or gate is broken, inoperable, or left in an unsuitable condition for any unnecessary period

of time; and
C. no residents are placed in a secure room or area that has inoperable locks.

2960.0380 WEAPONS, TOOLS, EQUIPMENT, AND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES.
Subpart 1. Dangerous materials. Materials that can be deleterious to security, safety, and health must be properly

secured, inventoried, and dispensed.
Subp. 2. Tools. When not in use, tools must be kept in locked storage areas. Security precautions must be developed and

implemented regarding any tools entering or leaving the facility.
Subp. 3. Hazardous substances. A hazardous substance must not be stored in living areas. A cleaning substance that is

hazardous must be handled only by staff or residents under direct staff supervision.

2960.0390 COUNT PROCEDURE.
Subpart 1. Written statement. A facility must have a written statement specifying the system used to regularly count the

number of residents in the facility.
Subp. 2. Frequency of counts. There must be a resident count at least once each eight hours.
Subp. 3. Master count board. A system for counting must include procedures that account for the total number of resi-

dents at any given time. Changes in the number of residents must be documented and reported immediately.

2960.0400 HOSPITALIZATION OF RESIDENTS.
When a resident requires hospitalization, the resident must be supervised on a 24-hour-a-day basis unless the conditions in

items A and B have been satisfied:
A.  the facility administrator has determined that the resident does not need custody supervision; or 
B.  the resident is incapacitated in the opinion of the attending physician.

2960.0410 RESTRICTIVE PROCEDURES.
Detention facilities that want to use restrictive procedures may use restrictive procedures according to the program's state-

ment of intended use if the license holder is certified to use restrictive procedures according to part 2960.0710.

2960.0420 SECURE PHYSICAL PLANT STANDARDS.
New secure juvenile facility construction plans must be reviewed and approved by the Department of Corrections.

CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT PROGRAM
CERTIFICATION STANDARDS

2960.0430 PURPOSE.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 establish the minimum standards that residential treatment programs

serving residents with chemical abuse or dependency problems must meet to qualify for certification.
Subp. 2. Outcome. Compliance with parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 requires that services:

A. are provided as specified in an individual treatment plan; 
B. are developed with assistance from the resident's family or legal representative in deciding what services are needed

and how they are provided; 
C.  support the resident in gaining the skills necessary to return to the community; 
D.  support the family in gaining the skills necessary to care for the returning resident; and
E. are provided by qualified staff under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.

Subp. 3. License requirements. A program certified under parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 must meet the requirements of
parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and be licensed as a group residential setting according to parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0120.

2960.0440 APPLICABILITY.
Parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 apply to residential programs according to items A and B.
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A. A residential program licensed under parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220 to provide services that address the chemical use

problems for persons who are under 19 years of age must be certified under parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490.
B. A residential program that addresses the chemical use problems of a person older than 15 years of age, and under 21

years of age must either be licensed under parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220 and certified under parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490
or be licensed under parts 9530.4100 to 9530.4450.

2960.0450 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT SERVICES.
Subpart 1. Description. Chemical dependency treatment services are services provided by a professional to alter the res-

ident's pattern of chemical use by helping the resident recognize the harmful effects of chemicals on the resident and others,
to develop the skills necessary to avoid inappropriate and harmful chemical use, and to identify alternative methods of meet-
ing the needs previously met by chemical use.

Subp. 2. Required services. A certificate holder must provide each resident at least 15 hours each week of the type and
amount of services specified in each resident's individual treatment plan. The certificate holder must provide the services in
items A to C, unless the service is determined to be contrary to the resident's treatment plan by a licensed alcohol and drug
counselor. Self-help groups must not be counted in the number of hours of service a program provides. The program must
provide:

A. a comprehensive resident evaluation that consists of a compilation of information from the resident, the resident's
family, the referral source, and others and meets the requirements for an assessment in parts 2960.0070, subpart 5, items A
and B, and 2960.0160, subpart 2, item E; 

B. individual and group counseling to help the resident identify and address problems related to chemical use and devel-
op strategies for avoiding inappropriate chemical use after treatment; and

C.  resident information concerning chemical health awareness, sexuality, health problems related to chemical use, and
the necessary changes in lifestyle to regain and maintain health. Resident education must include information concerning
the human immunodeficiency virus according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.19, and tobacco addiction and cessation
resources.

Subp. 3. Additional chemical dependency treatment services. A certificate holder may provide or arrange for the pro-
vision of additional chemical dependency treatment in this subpart as indicated in the resident's individual treatment plan.

A. The program may provide family counseling to assist the resident in identifying the impact of inappropriate chemical
use on others and to assist the resident and those closest to the resident in identifying and changing behaviors that contribute
to inappropriate chemical use. Family counseling must be provided by a family therapist.

B. The program may provide therapeutic recreation to provide the resident with an opportunity to participate in recre-
ational activities without the use of mood-altering chemicals and to learn to plan and select leisure activities that do not
involve the inappropriate use of chemicals.

C. The program may provide health monitoring, stress management, and physical well-being training by a qualified
licensed practical nurse or registered nurse or under the supervision of a registered nurse to assist the resident in reaching
and maintaining an acceptable level of health, physical fitness, and well-being.

D. The program may provide living skills development to assist the resident in learning basic skills necessary for living
in the larger community, including; 

(1) employment or educational services to assist the resident in becoming financially independent; and
(2) socialization skills development to assist the resident in living and interacting with others in a positive and produc-

tive manner.
Subp. 4. Counselors to provide chemical dependency treatment services. Chemical dependency treatment services

must be provided by a qualified alcohol and drug counselor unless the individual is specifically qualified according to the
accepted professional standards.

Subp. 5. Volunteers. A volunteer or student intern may provide chemical dependency treatment services if under the
direct supervision of the license holder or a qualified staff person. A volunteer who has direct contact with residents is sub-
ject to a background check if the contact with a resident is not directly supervised by the license holder or staff. The pro-
gram must provide a volunteer an orientation to the program, its purpose, and the population served.

Subp. 6. Location of service provision. The chemical dependency treatment services required in subpart 2 must be pro-
vided at the address stated on the certificate. Additionally, at least one-half of all of the required hours of service that a resi-
dent receives must be provided at the address on the certificate.

2960.0460 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.
Subpart 1. Staff qualifications. The qualifications in this part are in addition to the qualifications required under part

2960.0100, subpart 6.
Subp. 2. Qualifications applying to employees with direct resident contact. An employee working directly with resi-

dents must be at least 21 years of age and must, at the time of hiring, document meeting the qualifications in item A or B.
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A. A program director, supervisor, counselor, or any other person who has direct resident contact must be free of chem-
ical use problems for at least the two years immediately preceding hiring and freedom from chemical use problems must be
maintained during employment.

B. Overnight staff must be free of chemical use problems for at least one year preceding their hiring and maintain free-
dom from chemical use problems during their employment.

Subp. 3. Program director qualifications. In addition to meeting the requirements in subpart 2, the program director
must know and understand the implications of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 and
626.557.

Subp. 4. Alcohol and drug counselor supervisor qualifications. In addition to the requirements in subpart 2, the per-
sonnel file of an alcohol and drug counselor supervisor must include documentation that the individual meets the criteria in
items A to C.

A. The individual is competent in the areas in subpart 6, and the competency is documented according to subpart 7.
B.  the individual has three or more years of experience providing individual and group counseling to chemically depen-

dent residents.
C. The individual knows and understands the implications of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710 and Minnesota Statutes,

sections 626.556 and 626.557.
Subp. 5. Alcohol and drug counselor qualifications. In addition to the requirements in subpart 2, the personnel file of

an alcohol and drug counselor must include:
A. documentation of the individual's competency in the core functions presented in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148C; 
B. documentation that the individual has had an additional 30 hours of classroom instruction in adolescent develop-

ment; and
C. documentation that the individual has had at least 150 hours of supervised experience as an adolescent alcohol and

drug counselor, either as a student or as an employee.
Subp. 6. Counselor licensing. A counselor governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148C, must have a current license

according to parts 4747.0010 to 4747.1600. The commissioner of human services shall accept documentation of current
licensure as satisfying the requirements in subpart 5.

Subp. 7. Documentation of alcohol and drug counselor qualifications. For an alcohol and drug counselor not gov-
erned by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148C, the department must consider a counselor qualified according to subpart 5, item
A, if:

A.  the individual has at least a baccalaureate degree including 480 hours of alcohol and drug education in which each of
the core functions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148C, is covered; and has successfully completed 880 hours of supervised
experience as an alcohol and drug counselor, either as a student or as an employee; 

B.  the individual has documented the successful completion of 270 clock hours of alcohol and drug counselor training,
60 hours of which have occurred within the last five years, including completion of 880 hours of supervised experience as
an alcohol and drug counselor, either as a student or as an employee. The training must cover the core functions in
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148C; or 

C.  the individual is certified by the Institute for Chemical Dependency Professionals of Minnesota, Inc., as a chemical
dependency counselor or as a chemical dependency counselor reciprocal, through the evaluation process established by the
Certification Reciprocity Consortium Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc., and published in the Case Presentation Method
Trainers Manual, copyright 1993. This manual is incorporated by reference. It is available at the State Law Library, 25
Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, MN 55155. It is not subject to frequent change.

Subp. 8. Overnight staff. The personnel file of overnight staff employed by a residential program must include the doc-
umentation required in subpart 7 and documentation of the individual's competency in the areas in items A to D:

A. knowledge of resident rights and staff responsibilities as outlined in parts 2960.0050 and 2960.0150; 
B. knowledge of and ability to perform basic first aid procedures, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid

for seizures, trauma, and fainting; 
C. crisis intervention techniques consistent with the program's protective procedures plan; and
D. ability to notify the off-site, on-call supervisor regarding any unusual resident occurrences.

Overnight staff may not admit, transfer, or discharge residents, but may serve as the person in charge of the facility required
in part 2960.0150, subpart 3, item B.
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2960.0470 STAFFING REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Program director required. Each certificate holder must have a program director. The program director
must be under contract or employed full time by the license holder.

Subp. 2. Alcohol and drug counselor supervisor requirements. A rehabilitation program must employ an alcohol and
drug counselor supervisor who meets the requirements of part 2960.0460, subpart 4. An individual may be simultaneously
employed as the program director, an alcohol and drug counsselor supervisor, and a licensed alcohol and drug counselor if
the individual meets the qualifications for each position. If a licensed alcohol and drug counselor is simultaneously an alco-
hol and drug counselor supervisor or program director, that individual must be considered a 0.5 full-time equivalent licensed
alcohol and drug counselor for purposes of meeting the staffing requirements under subpart 3.

Subp. 3. Staffing requirements. If a chemical dependency treatment service is being provided, the group size must not
exceed ten residents per qualified alcohol and drug counselor present. A license holder serving adolescents must have at
least one alcohol and drug counselor for each ten or fewer adolescent residents who are chemically abusive or dependent.

2960.0480 ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE POLICIES.
Subpart 1. Admission policy. The certificate holder must not admit individuals who do not meet the admission criteria

in the certificate holder's admission policy. The admission policy must also designate which staff are authorized to admit
and discharge residents.

Subp. 2. Individuals not served by program. A certificate holder has specific responsibilities when denying admission
to individuals for reasons of health, behavior, or criminal activity. The certificate holder must have a policy that includes
items A and B.

A. The certificate holder must have a protocol for addressing the needs of individuals in need of emergency medical
care not provided by the program and individuals who pose a substantial likelihood of harm to themselves or others, if the
behavior is beyond the behavior management capabilities of the program and staff. All denials of admission for these rea-
sons that involve a bona fide medical emergency, as provided under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 2.51,
must be referred to a medical facility capable of admitting the individual.

B. All denials of admission that involve the commission of a crime against a license holder's property, as provided
under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 2.12(c)(5), must be reported to a law enforcement agency with proper
jurisdiction.

Subp. 3. Discharge policies. A certificate holder must have a written policy that must be followed when a resident is
discharged. A client must be discharged by a counselor or the program director. The policy must establish procedures that:

A. are consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.16, subdivision 2, and that staff must follow when a resident
who has been admitted under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B, is to be discharged; and

B.  staff must follow when a resident leaves against staff or medical advice and when the resident may be dangerous to
self or others.

2960.0490 INDIVIDUAL TREATMENT PLAN.
Subpart 1. Treatment plan required. The certificate holder must meet the treatment plan requirements of subparts 2

and 3. These treatment plan requirements may be substituted for the requirements of part 2960.0180, subpart 2, item B, if
chemical dependency is the only certificate the license holder has been issued.

Subp. 2. Plan must reflect resident's current condition. An individual treatment plan for a resident in a certified
chemical dependency program must continually evolve based on new information gathered about the resident's condition
and whether planned treatment interventions have had the intended effect. The plan must provide for the involvement of the
resident's family at the earliest opportunity consistent with the resident's treatment needs. The plan begins on completion of
the comprehensive assessment and is subject to amendment until the resident is discharged.

The resident must have an opportunity to have active, direct involvement in selecting the anticipated outcomes of the
treatment process and in developing the individual treatment plan. The individual treatment plan must be signed by the resi-
dent and a licensed alcohol and drug counselor, and the participation of others must be noted in the plan. The individual
treatment plan and documentation related to it must be kept at the facility in the resident's case file and also sent to other
professionals as indicated within designated time lines.

Subp. 3. Plan contents. An individual treatment plan must include:
A.  resources to which the resident is being referred for problems to be addressed concurrently outside the program and

why the referral was made; 
B.  treatment goals in each of the evaluation areas in which a problem has been identified in part 2960.0160, subpart 2,

item E; 
C.  specific objectives to be used to address the problems in item B, including frequency of intervention, and expected

outcomes for each goal. The objectives must be appropriate to the resident's language and reading skills and must consider
the resident's cultural background and other strengths and assets; 

D.  specific intervals at which resident progress must be reviewed; and
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E. anticipated outcomes that are to be met before the resident is discharged.
Subp. 4. Progress notes. Progress notes must be entered in a resident's file at least daily and must indicate the type and

amount of each service the resident has received weekly and whether the services have had the desired impact. All entries
in resident records must be legible, signed by staff, with title indicated, and dated.

Subp. 5. Plan reviews. The individual treatment plan must be reviewed by an alcohol and drug counselor at the intervals
identified in subpart 3, item D, and no less frequently than every two weeks, and the specific services changed if expected
outcomes are not being achieved. A resident must be notified of the right to access a plan review.

Subp. 6. Client records. Client records must be maintained and information released from them only according to Code
of Federal Regulations, title 42, subchapter A, sections 2.1 and 2.2.

2960.0500 TRANSITIONAL SERVICES CERTIFICATION.
Subpart 1. Purpose. This part establishes the minimum standards that a transitional services program must meet to quali-

fy for certification. A transitional services program provides congregate, scattered site, or cooperative housing for residents
considered to be targeted youth according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.115, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1).

Subp. 2. Applicability. This part governs a license holder who provides transitional services to residents.
Subp. 3. License requirements. A program certified under this part must meet the requirements of parts 2960.0010 to

2960.0120, except as noted in subpart 4.
Subp. 4. Exemptions. A transitional services program is exempt from the requirements of parts 2960.0070, subparts 4

and 5; 2960.0080, subparts 3, 4, items C to E, 5, 6, 8 to 13, and 15; 2960.0090, subpart 3; 2960.0120, subpart 2, items A, C,
and G; and 2960.0130 to 2960.0220.

Subp. 5. Description. A transitional services program serves residents 16 to 21 years old according to the resident's
independent living plan. Transitional services program services include housing, independent living skills training, and
related supportive services. A transitional services program is designed to prepare a resident to live independently or reinte-
grate to a community setting following a stay in transitional housing. A resident may be housed in a community setting that
includes individual or shared apartments, rental rooms, or other rental housing or in a congregate living program.

Subp. 6. Statement of program outcomes. The license holder must have written policies that identify program outcomes
and promote the resident's development of independent living skills. The program services offered by the license holder must
support the resident's reintegration into the community and bse consistent with the resident's independent living plan.

Subp. 7. Outcome measures. The license holder must measure, at least quarterly, the outcomes of services provided to
the resident by the license holder that were intended to promote the resident's development of independent living skills. The
license holder must document the measurement of outcomes. The documentation must note:

A.  whether the provided services promoted the development of independent living skills; 
B.  the extent to which the resident has developed independent living skills; and
C.  the license holder's success in achievement of the program outcomes identified according to subpart 6.

The commissioner of human services may require the license holder to measure specific factors related to the outcomes
identified in subpart 6, and gather demographic information on residents.

Subp. 8. Program effectiveness. The license holder must monitor and annually evaluate the effectiveness of the facili-
ty's programs. The license holder must evaluate resident satisfaction with individual program services. The license holder
must use the information gathered from the evaluations and program monitoring as a guide to improve program services.

Subp. 9. Community involvement. The facility must have a board of directors or advisory committee that represents the
interests, concerns, and needs of the residents and community served by the facility. The license holder must meet the
requirements of subparts 6 to 9 instead of the requirements of part 2960.0060.

Subp. 10. Admission. The license holder may admit persons to a transitional services program who are eligible for
admission and meet the criteria in this subpart. The license holder must determine whether a resident meets the criteria in
item A, B, or C, and part 2960.0070, subpart 2, prior to admission. The license holder must determine that:

A.  the resident must be leaving out-of-home placement, homeless, or at risk of homelessness; 
B.  the resident must be employed or seeking employment or enrolled in an academic or vocational program; and
C.  youth who have the following behaviors will not be admitted to the program:

(1) current drug or alcohol problems; 
(2) recent history of violent behavior; and
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(3) a mental health disorder or issue that is not being resolved through counseling or treatment.

The license holder must use the admission requirements of this subpart instead of the admission requirements in part
2960.0070, subparts 2 and 3, item B, subitem (8).

Subp. 11. Criteria for termination of services. The license holder, in conjunction with the resident, shall establish a
service termination plan for the resident that specifies how services will be terminated and the actions to be performed by
the involved agencies, including necessary referrals for other ongoing services.

Subp. 12. Supervision standards. The license holder must provide supervision according to items A to C.
A. For a resident living in congregate or cooperative housing arrangements, the license holder must provide at least 12

hours of on-site supervision during weekday evening and early morning hours, to be increased to 16 hours of supervision on
weekends.

B. For a resident served by the transitional services program, the license holder must designate an on-call staff person
who must be at least available by telephone or pager to respond to requests for assistance from a resident during hours when
a staff person is not on site. A resident must be seen by a staff person at least three times per week. Each site where a resi-
dent resides must be visited by a staff person at least three times per week.

C. The license holder must develop a supervision plan that is based on the youth served and approved by the licensing
agency. Depending upon the assessment of the youth served by the program, the commissioner of human services may
require the license holder to provide 24-hour supervision of residents.

Subp. 13. Services required. The license holder must provide the services or adequate access to the services in this sub-
part. The following services must be consistent with the resident's independent living plan:

A. counseling services, to help individual residents and their families; 
B. job services, to help residents prepare for or secure employment; 
C. living skills training, to help a resident prepare for independent living; 
D. education services, to assist a resident to enroll in academic programs if the resident is not currently enrolled in a

program; and
E.  related supportive services such as assistance in locating housing, budgeting, meal preparation, or other services, to

meet the needs of the resident and improve the resident's ability to live independently.
Subp. 14. Custodial minor parent programs. In addition to the services in subpart 13, the following services or access

to the following services must be available from the license holder for custodial parents:
A.  training in child development and parenting skills; and
B. child care services or access to child care services when custodial parents are in school, at work, or otherwise unable

to care for their children.
Subp. 15. Residence. The place of residence provided to a resident by the license holder must meet the needs of resi-

dents, including residents with disabilities.

CERTIFICATION STANDARDS FOR SHELTER CARE SERVICES

2960.0510 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0510 to 2960.0530 establish additional minimum standards that a facility providing shel-

ter care services must meet to qualify for certification.
Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0510 to 2960.0530 apply to a unit of government, individual, corporation, limited lia-

bility corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other organization, entity, or controlling individual that operates a
facility that provides shelter care services to a resident on a 24-hour-a-day basis. Parts 2960.0510 to 2960.0530 do not apply
to foster care settings licensed according to parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340.

Subp. 3. License requirements. Programs certified under this part must meet the requirements of parts 2960.0010 to
2960.0120.

2960.0520 SERVICES.
Subpart 1. General requirements. A facility that is certified to provide shelter services must meet the requirements of

parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120.
Subp. 2. Shelter programs. A shelter program must offer the additional services in items A to C.

A. Instead of the requirements in part 2960.0070, subpart 5, the license holder must:
(1) assess the resident's vulnerability to maltreatment and develop a plan to reduce the resident's risk of maltreatment

while in the shelter; and
(2) assess the resident's situation, condition, and immediate needs as a basis for developing a plan to meet the resident's

needs for basic services in part 2960.0080, subparts 2 and 3.
B. Instead of the requirements in part 2960.0070, subpart 5, item A, subitem (1), the license holder must, within 24

hours of admitting a resident to shelter services, arrange for a qualified professional according to this item to conduct a basic
health screening to determine if a resident needs a physical examination by a physician or dental examination by a dentist.
If the need for an examination is determined, the license holder must notify the resident's case manager of the need to make
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an appointment with a licensed physician or dentist to complete the required examination and document notification of the
case manager. A qualified professional is:

(1) a certified pediatric nurse practitioner; 
(2) a licensed nurse trained to do child and teen checkups; 
(3) a certified family nurse practitioner; or 
(4) a registered nurse experienced in the care of children in a shelter facility under the direction of a physician.

C. If a resident remains in a shelter for more than ten days, the license holder must follow the discharge requirements of
part 2960.0190, subparts 1, item A; and 2, and must note the name and address of the party the resident was released to fol-
lowing discharge.

Subp. 3. Plan for immediate needs. Within 24 hours of admitting a resident, the license holder must develop a plan for
meeting the resident's immediate needs. The plan for meeting the immediate needs of a resident in this subpart may be used
in lieu of the individual treatment plan. The plan must:

A. identify what is immediately needed to help stabilize or ameliorate the resident's situation, behavior, or condition
based on the assessment in subpart 2; 

B.  specify short-term objectives and methods for meeting the needs identified in item A; and
C. indicate the license holder's responsibilities for meeting the resident's needs identified by the placing agency.

Subp. 4. Shelter staffing pattern and minimum staff to resident ratio. Shelter services programs must meet the
requirements of this subpart.

A. During normal waking hours, when residents are present, a program certified to provide shelter services to residents
must not have a ratio of staff who provide care services to residents less than the requirements of subitems (1) to (4):

(1) at least one staff person to three residents, if the residents are less than six years old; 
(2) at least on staff person to four residents, if the residents are six to eight years old; 
(3) at least one staff person to six residents, if the residents are nine to 11 years old; and
(4) at least one staff person to eight residents, if the residents are 12 to 18 years old.

B. During normal sleeping hours, a program certified to provide shelter services to residents must maintain a ratio of
staff who provide care services to residents which is not less than the requirements of subitems (1) and (2):

(1) at least one staff person to seven residents, if the residents are less than nine years old; or 
(2) at least one staff person to 12 residents, if the residents are nine years old or older.

C. The license holder must not assign staff in a manner that invades the privacy of residents or embarrasses or diminishes
the dignity of residents.

The license holder may assign medically licensed staff and purchase the services of persons who are medically licensed to
care for or treat residents of the opposite sex.

Subp. 5. Criteria for emergency use of restrictive procedures. Shelter facilities that want to use restrictive procedures
may use restrictive procedures according to the program's statement of intended use if the license holder is certified to use
restrictive procedures according to part 2960.0710.

2960.0530 LIMITATIONS ON LENGTH OF STAY.
Subpart 1. 90-day limit. A program providing shelter must not retain a resident longer than 90 days. The license holder

must apply for a variance to retain a resident in a shelter beyond 90 days.
Subp. 2. 30-day review. If a resident remains in a shelter program for more than 30 days, the license holder must review

the need for the resident to remain in a shelter program and consider alternative placement plans. The written summary of
the review of the resident's need to remain in a shelter beyond 30 days must be placed in the resident's file and a copy sent to
the placing agency.

CERTIFICATION STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONAL PROGRAM SERVICES

2960.0540 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0540 to 2960.0570 establish program certification requirements that govern facilities

providing correctional program services to residents in licensed facilities.
Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0540 to 2960.0570 apply to a licensed facility providing correctional program services.
Subp. 3. License requirements. Programs certified under parts 2960.0540 to 2960.0570 must meet the requirements of

parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and be licensed as either a group residential setting according to parts 2960.0130 to
2960.0220 or a family foster setting according to parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3230.
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2960.0550 PROGRAM CERTIFICATION APPROVAL.

Subpart 1. Certification authority. Correctional program services must be approved and certified by the Department of
Corrections.

Subp. 2. Certification applicability. Group residential settings and family foster settings may be certified to provide
correctional program services according to parts 2960.0540 to 2960.0570.

Subp. 3. Program certification approval. A license holder who wishes to be certified to offer correctional program ser-
vices must apply for certification to the certifying authority on forms approved by the certifying authority. The certifying
authority must decide whether to approve the license holder's application for certification based on the information provided
on the completed application and on an inspection of the program and facts gathered by the certifying authority. The certifi-
cation document must state how long the program will care for residents in the program and describe the program content
and types and amounts of services offered to residents.

Subp. 4. Minimum criteria for certification. The certificate holder must meet the requirements of items A to D.
A. The license holder must identify specific, measurable outcomes that indicate that the license holder will meet the

needs of the target population served by the facility's program. The measurable outcomes must be directly related to the
program objectives stated in the license holder's correctional program services certification application.

B. The certification applicants must offer at least the services in subitems (1) to (4) in their correctional services program:
(1) social and interpersonal skills development to achieve the outcomes in units (a) to (d):

(a) the resident resolves conflict in an appropriate manner; 
(b) the resident develops and maintains supportive relationships; 
(c) the resident communicates and interacts appropriately with peers and adults; and
(d) the resident is aware of race and gender bias issues; 

(2) chemical use and abuse awareness; 
(3) correctional programming to achieve the outcomes in units (a) and (b):

(a) the resident makes reparations for past behavior; and
(b) the resident addresses relationships with the resident's family, community, and school; and

(4) transition and life skills development to achieve the outcomes in units (a) and (b):
(a) the resident practices age appropriate self-care and self-reliance; and
(b) the resident is released with a place to live, a plan for constructive daily activity, a means of financial support, and

a system to support continued progress in the community.
C. The license holder must notify the placement agency that the license holder cannot meet the resident's needs if the

license holder's program of correctional program services inadequately addresses the resident's needs that were identified
through screening or assessment. The license holder must document notification of the placement agency and the action
taken by the placement agency in response to notification from the license holder.

D. The license holder must implement a plan that provides opportunities for physical exercise and recreational activities
for residents. The plan must include at least the following requirements:

(1) regulations that are reasonable and necessary to protect the facility's security and the resident's welfare; 
(2) at least two hours daily of organized and supervised physical exercise and recreational activities and leisure time

activities for residents, excluding time spent watching television. Organized and supervised physical exercise and recre-
ational activities include preplanned exercise or activities that are supervised and directed by qualified or trained staff; 

(3) provisions for indoor space and equipment for active recreation; and
(4) provisions for outdoor recreational space, equipment, and supportive staff for outdoor recreational program services.

2960.0560 PERSONNEL STANDARDS.
Subpart 1. Staffing plan approval. In addition to the staffing plan approval criteria in parts 2960.0100 and 2960.0150, sub-

part 3, the certifying authority must use the criteria in items A and B to approve a correctional program services staffing plan.
A. A facility having 25 or more residents must have at least one staff person designated to develop, implement, and

coordinate recreational programs for the residents. The person designated to develop, implement, and coordinate the recre-
ational programs must have the training or experience needed to perform the duties of the position.

B. In coeducational or female-only programs, female resident housing units must, at a minimum, have one female staff
person on duty during night time hours. The license holder must exceed the minimum staff-to-resident ratio if necessary to
meet this requirement.

Subp. 2. Staff qualifications. In addition to the requirements of parts 2960.0100 and 2960.0150, the license holder must
designate an individual as:

A.  the administrator, who must have at least a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences, public administration, or a
related field. The administrator must be responsible for ongoing operation of the facility, and maintenance and upkeep of
the facility; and

B. a program director, who must have the qualifications in subitems (1) and (2):
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(1) a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences or a related field with at least two years of work experience providing
correctional services to residents; and

(2) one year of experience or training in program administration and supervision of staff.
Subp. 3. Supervision of treatment. The program director must:

A.  supervise the development of each resident's individual treatment plan; 
B. be involved in the resident's treatment planning process and sign the resident's individual treatment plan; 
C.  supervise the implementation of the individual treatment plan and the ongoing documentation and evaluation of each

resident's progress; and
D. document on a biweekly basis a review of all the program services provided for the resident in the preceding week.

Subp. 4. Initial staff orientation training. A staff person who provides correctional program services must complete
orientation training related to the specific job functions for which the staff person was hired and the needs of the residents
the person is serving. During the first 45 calendar days of employment, and before assuming sole responsibility for care of
residents, staff who provide correctional program services must complete training in the topics in items A to G:

A.  the license holder's policies and procedures related to correctional program services; 
B.  resident rights; 
C. emergency procedures; 
D. policies and procedures concerning approved restrictive procedures; 
E.  rules of conduct and policies and procedures related to discipline of the residents; 
F. emergency and crisis services; and
G. problems and needs of residents and their families.

No staff person may participate in the use of physical holding, seclusion, or other restrictive procedures with a resident
before completing approved training according to item D.

Subp. 5. Individual staff development and evaluation plan. The license holder must ensure that an annual individual
staff development and evaluation plan is developed and implemented for each person who provides, supervises, or directly
administers correctional program services. The plan must:

A. be developed within 90 days after the person begins employment and at least annually thereafter; 
B. meet the staff development needs specified in the person's annual employee evaluation; and
C. ensure that an employee who provides, supervises, or directly administers program services has sufficient training to

be competent to deliver the correctional services assigned to the employee.

2960.0570 FACILITY OPERATIONAL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES.
Subpart 1. Use of restrictive procedures. Correctional facilities that want to use restrictive procedures may use restric-

tive procedures according to the program's statement of intended use if the license holder is certified to use restrictive proce-
dures according to part 2960.0710.

Subp. 2. Critical incidents. The certification holder must report critical incidents and the disposition of the critical inci-
dents to the Department of Corrections. Critical incidents that involve or endanger the lives or safety of facility staff or resi-
dents must be reported in writing to the certifying authority within ten days on forms approved by the certifying authority.

Subp. 3. Security policies and procedures. The license holder must have security policies and procedures that include
the topics in items A to K:

A. control and recovery of contraband; 
B. delivery and service procedure; 
C. prohibition of firearms and other weapons in resident areas; 
D.  search procedures; 
E. escort of residents outside security area; 
F. one-half hour interval security inspection routines when residents are not under direct supervision; 
G. lock and key procedures; 
H. inspection of physical plant procedures; 
I. count procedures; 
J.  weapons, tools, equipment, medications, and hazardous substances; and
K.  use of chemical irritants.
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Subp. 4. Information reporting required. The license holder must report information and statistics about program ser-
vices, outcomes, and data about residents in the license holder's facility to the commissioner of corrections according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

CERTIFICATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAMS PROVIDING
RESIDENTIAL MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT FOR CHILDREN

WITH SEVERE EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE

2960.0580 PURPOSE.
Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700 establish the minimum standards that a residential treatment program

serving a resident with severe emotional disturbance must meet to qualify for certification. Parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700
also implement and must be read in conjunction with Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.487 to 245.4888.

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700 govern license holders who provide residential mental health ser-
vices to children with severe emotional disturbance.

Subp. 3. Outcomes. Compliance with the standards and requirements in parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700 requires that services:
A. are provided as specified in an individual treatment plan based on the clinical needs of the resident; 
B. are developed with assistance from the resident's family or legal representative in deciding what services are needed

and how they are provided; 
C.  support the resident in gaining the skills necessary to return to the community; 
D.  support the family in gaining the skills necessary to care for the returning resident; 
E. are provided by qualified people under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; and
F. meet the quality of services criteria in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4876, subdivision 1, that are applicable to resi-

dential treatment providers.
Subp. 4. License requirements. A program certified under parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700 must meet the requirements of

parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120 and be licensed as a group residential setting according to parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220.

2960.0590 PROGRAM AND SERVICE STANDARDS.
An applicant or license holder must offer services scheduled at accessible times that are appropriate to the resident's age

or level of functioning to support achieving the goals and outcomes in the resident's treatment plan. The license holder must
offer the services and achieve the outcomes in items A to I.

A. The license holder must offer individual and group psychotherapy that is designed to achieve the outcomes and meet
the specific requirements of the resident's individual treatment plan and, when possible, help the resident reintegrate into the
resident's family, the community, and a less restrictive setting than residential treatment. The person providing individual
and group psychotherapy must, at a minimum, qualify as a mental health practitioner who is supervised by a mental health
professional.

B. The license holder must offer crisis assistance services designed to help the resident and family members recognize
factors that precipitate a psychiatric crisis, anticipate behaviors and symptoms, and know the resources to use when crisis is
imminent or occurs. The person providing crisis assistance services must, at a minimum, qualify as a mental health practi-
tioner and must be supervised by a mental health professional.

C. The license holder must offer medication education designed to have the resident and family understand:
(1) the role of psychotropic medication in the resident's treatment and the effect the medication may have on the resi-

dent's physical and mental health; and
(2) the physical, emotional, or behavioral changes resulting from the resident's use, misuse, or refusal to use psy-

chotropic medications prescribed. The person who provides medication education must be licensed as, or supervised by, a
registered nurse, pharmacist, or physician.

D. The license holder must offer instruction in independent living skills designed to strengthen a resident's ability to
function in a less restrictive environment than a residential treatment center. The services must support the resident in car-
rying out the tasks of daily living, encourage the development of self-esteem, and promote self-sufficiency. The person pro-
viding independent living skills services must either qualify as a mental health practitioner or as a staff person with direct
contact who is supervised by a mental health practitioner.

E. The license holder must offer recreation, leisure, and play activities designed to achieve the outcomes in subitems (1)
and (2):

(1) the resident develops recreational skills; and
(2) the resident and family learn how to plan and participate in recreation and leisure activities. The person providing

these services must, at a minimum, qualify as a staff person with direct contact under the supervision of a mental health
practitioner or a recreational therapist.

F. The license holder must offer social and interpersonal skills development designed to achieve the outcomes in
subitems (1) and (2):

(1) the resident develops and maintains friendships; and
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(2) the resident communicates and interacts appropriately with peers and adults. The person providing these services
must, at a minimum, qualify as a staff person with direct contact under the supervision of a mental health practitioner.

G. The license holder must offer vocational skills development services designed to prepare the resident for the world
of work by exploring the importance of such areas as use of time, acting responsibly, and working within the goal of an
organization. The person providing these services must, at a minimum, qualify as a mental health practitioner or must be a
staff person with direct contact supervised by a mental health practitioner. The license holder may make vocational skills
development services available to the resident through the school district either on the facility campus or at a site provided
by the school district.

H. The license holder must offer assistance in parenting skills designed to achieve the outcome of parents using thera-
peutic parenting techniques that address management of specific behaviors or learning issues directly related to or resulting
from the resident's emotional disturbance. The person providing parenting skills services must be supervised by a mental
health practitioner.

I. The license holder must offer family support services designed to achieve the outcomes in subitems (1) to (3):
(1) family members gain insight into family dynamics and resolving conflicts; 
(2) family members have broader family support, family goals, and improved family coping skills; and
(3) the resident is reintegrated into the resident's family and community. The license holder must provide the services

in this item at times, including evenings and weekends, that are mutually agreed upon by the resident's family and facility
staff. The person providing family support services must, at a minimum, qualify as a mental health practitioner.

2960.0600 DEVELOPING AND REVIEWING INDIVIDUAL TREATMENT PLAN.
Within ten working days of admitting a resident, the license holder must develop an individual treatment plan that sup-

ports achieving the outcomes in items A and B.
A. The development and content of the plan are consistent with the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, sections

245.4871, subdivision 21, and 245.4876, subdivision 3.
B. The plan is based on the diagnostic and functional assessments required in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4885,

subdivision 1, and reflects the resident's age or level of development and any other assessments completed by the license
holder or provided by other agencies such as the county, a mental health center or other community agency, and the
Minnesota state Departments of Health; Human Services; Children, Families, and Learning; and Corrections.

C. If the resident is placed in a locked setting for mental health treatment, the resident must be screened according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4885, and have a diagnostic assessment according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4876,
subdivision 2.

2960.0610 CRITERIA FOR CONTINUED STAY, DISCHARGE, AND DISCHARGE PLANNING.
At least ten days before discharge, the treatment team must develop a discharge plan consistent with Minnesota Statutes,

section 245.4882, subdivisions 3 and 4. For residents who are from a cultural minority group, the plan must be developed
with advice from a special mental health consultant or multicultural adviser.

2960.0620 USE OF PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATIONS.
Subpart 1. Conditions for use of psychotropic medications. When psychotropic medications are administered to a resi-

dent in a facility certified under parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, the license holder is responsible for ensuring that the condi-
tions in items A to C are met.

A. Use of the medication must be included in the resident's individual treatment plan and is based on the prescribing
physician's diagnosis and the diagnostic and functional assessments defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4871.

B. The license holder must document subitems (1) and (2) in the resident's individual treatment plan:
(1) a description in observable and measurable terms of the symptoms and behaviors that the psychotropic medication

is to alleviate; and
(2) data collection methods the license holder must use to monitor and measure changes in the symptoms and behav-

iors that are to be alleviated by the psychotropic medication.
C. Psychotropic medication must not be administered as punishment, for staff convenience, as a substitute for a behav-

ioral or therapeutic program, or in quantities that interfere with learning or other goals of the individual treatment plan.
Subp. 2. Monitoring side effects. The license holder must monitor for side effects if a resident is prescribed a psy-

chotropic medication and must have the prescribing physician or a pharmacist list possible side effects. The license holder,
under the direction of a registered nurse or physician, must document and check for side effects at least weekly for the first
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six weeks after a resident begins taking a new psychotropic medication or a significantly increased or decreased dose of a
currently used psychotropic medication, and at least quarterly thereafter. Minor increases or decreases in the dose of a cur-
rently used psychotropic medication need not be monitored as frequently as a new medication or a significant increase or
decrease of a currently used psychotropic medication. In addition to appropriate physical or laboratory assessments as
determined by the physician, standardized checklists or rating scales, or scales developed for a specific drug or drug class,
must be used as monitoring tools. The license holder must provide the assessments to the physician for review.

Subp. 3. Monitoring for tardive dyskinesia. The license holder, under the direction of a licensed nurse or physician,
must monitor for tardive dyskinesia at least every three months if a resident is prescribed antipsychotic medication or
amoxapine and must document the monitoring. A resident prescribed antipsychotic medication or amoxapine for more than
90 days must be checked for tardive dyskinesia at least 30 and 60 days after discontinuation of the antipsychotic medication
or amoxapine. Monitoring must include use of a standardized rating scale and examination procedure. The license holder
must provide the assessments to the physician for review if the results meet criteria that require physician review.

Subp. 4. Training required to administer psychotropic medications. An employee other than a physician, registered
nurse, or licensed practical nurse who is responsible for medication assistance must provide a certificate verifying successful
completion of a trained medication aide program for unlicensed personnel. The program must be offered through a postsec-
ondary institution or the medication aide must be trained according to a formalized training program offered by the license
holder that must be taught and supervised by a registered nurse to provide medication assistance. The specific medication
administration training provided by a registered nurse to unlicensed personnel must be documented and placed in the unli-
censed employee's personnel records. A registered nurse, physician, or pharmacist must provide consultation and review of
the license holder's administration of medications at least weekly. The consultation must review the license holder's compli-
ance with subparts 5 and 6.

Subp. 5. Psychotropic medication review. If a resident is prescribed a psychotropic medication, the license holder must
conduct and document a psychotropic medication review as frequently as required by the physician, but at least monthly for
the first six months and at least quarterly thereafter. The license holder must consider and document items A to D at the
quarterly review and provide the information to the physician for review:

A.  targeted symptoms and behaviors of concern; 
B. data collected since the last review; 
C.  side effects observed and actions taken; and
D.  status of the resident's goals in the individual treatment plan.

Subp. 6. Informed consent. The license holder must obtain informed consent before any nonemergency administration
of psychotropic medication. To the extent possible, the resident must be informed and involved in the decision making.

A. Informed consent is required either orally or in writing before the nonemergency administration of psychotropic
medication, except that for antipsychotic or neuroleptic medication, informed consent must be in writing. If oral informed
consent is obtained for a nonantipsychotic medication, subitems (1) to (4) must be followed:

(1) an explanation why written informed consent could not be initially obtained; 
(2) documentation that the oral consent was witnessed and the name of the witness; 
(3) oral and written communication of all items required in subpart 7; and
(4) an explanation that written informed consent material is immediately being sent by the license holder to the resi-

dent's parent or legal representative, that the oral consent expires in one month, and that the medication must be discontin-
ued one month from the date of the telephone consent if written consent is not received.

B. Informed consent for any psychotropic medication must be renewed in writing at least yearly.
C. Informed consent must be obtained from an individual authorized to give consent. An individual authorized to give

consent is specified in subitems (1) to (4).
(1) If the resident has a legal representative or conservator authorized by a court to give consent for the resident, con-

sent is required from the legal representative or conservator.
(2) If subitem (1) does not apply, consent is required from at least one of the resident's parents. If the parents are

divorced or legally separated, the consent of a parent with legal custody is required, unless the separation or marriage disso-
lution decree otherwise delegates authority to give consent for the resident.

(3) If the commissioner of human services is the resident's legal representative, consent is required from the county
representative designated to act as legal representative on behalf of the commissioner of human services.

(4) If the resident is an emancipated minor according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.341, or the resident has been
married or borne a child, the resident may give consent under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.432.

D. Informed consent is not necessary in an emergency situation where the physician determines that the psychotropic
medication is needed to prevent serious and immediate physical harm to the individual or others. In the event of the emer-
gency use of psychotropic medication, the license holder must:

(1) inform and document that the individual authorized to give consent was informed orally and in writing within 24
hours or on the first working day after the emergency use of the medication; 
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(2) document the specific behaviors constituting the emergency, the circumstances of the emergency behaviors, the
alternatives considered and attempted, and the results of the use of the emergency psychotropic medication; and

(3) arrange for an interdisciplinary team review of the individual treatment plan within seven days of the emergency
to determine what actions, if any, are required in light of the emergency. If a psychotropic medication continues to be
required, the license holder must seek a court order according to Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.092, subdivision 3.

E. Informed consent must be obtained by the license holder within 30 days to continue the use of psychotropic medica-
tion for a resident admitted with prescribed psychotropic medication.

Subp. 7. Information communicated in obtaining consent. The information in this subpart must be provided both oral-
ly and in writing in nontechnical language to the resident's parent, the resident's legal representative, and, to the extent possi-
ble, the resident. The information must include:

A.  the diagnosis and level of severity of the symptoms and behaviors for which the psychotropic medication is pre-
scribed; 

B.  the expected benefits of the medication, including the level to which the medication is to change the symptoms and
behavior and an indication of the method used to determine the expected benefits; 

C.  the pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatment options available and the course of the condition with and
without the treatment options; 

D.  specific information about the psychotropic medication to be used, including the generic and commonly known
brand name, the route of administration, the estimated duration of therapy, and the proposed dose with the possible dosage
range or maximum dose; 

E.  the more frequent and less frequent or rare but serious risks and side effects of the psychotropic medication, includ-
ing how the risks and possible side effects must be managed; 

F. an explanation that consent may be refused or withdrawn at any time and that the consent is time-limited and auto-
matically expires as described in subpart 6; and

G.  the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of appropriate professionals to contact if questions or concerns arise.
Subp. 8. Refusal to consent to routine administration of psychotropic medication. If the authorized person refuses

consent for a routine administration of psychotropic medication, the conditions in items A to C apply.
A. The psychotropic medication must not be administered or, if the refusal involves a renewal of consent, the psy-

chotropic medication for which consent had previously been given must be discontinued according to a written plan as
expediently as possible, taking into account withdrawal side effects.

B. A court order must be obtained to override the refusal.
C. Refusal to consent to use of a specific psychotropic medication is not grounds for discharge of a resident. A decision

to discharge a resident must be reached only after the alternatives to the specific psychotropic medication have been
attempted and only after an administrative review of the proposed discharge has occurred. If the refusal to consent to the
routine administration of a psychotropic medication results in an emergency situation, then the requirements of subpart 6,
item D, must be met when psychotropic medication will be administered to a resident.

2960.0630 CLINICAL SUPERVISION BY MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.
Subpart 1. Mental health professional consultation. The license holder must ensure that the residential program

employs or contracts with a mental health professional to provide consultation relating to the planning, development, imple-
mentation, and evaluation of program services.

Subp. 2. Supervision of staff. A mental health professional must provide at least weekly face-to-face clinical supervi-
sion to staff providing program services to a resident. The mental health professional:

A. must provide clinical supervision of staff either individually or as a group; 
B. must document the clinical supervision of staff; 
C. must advise the facility director about the planning, development, and implementation of staff development and eval-

uation; and
D. may provide consultation instead of clinical supervision to other mental health professionals under contract or

employed by the license holder to provide program services to a resident.
Subp. 3. Supervision of treatment. A mental health professional must:

A.  supervise the diagnostic assessment of each resident in the facility and the development of each resident's individual
treatment plan; 
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B. document involvement in the treatment planning process by signing the individual treatment plan; 
C.  supervise the implementation of the individual treatment plan and the ongoing documentation and evaluation of each

resident's progress, including the quarterly progress review; and
D. document on a biweekly basis a review of all the program services provided for the resident in the preceding week.

The license holder must ensure that the mental health professional can be reached for consultation about a mental health
emergency, at least by telephone, within 30 minutes.

2960.0640 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.
Subpart 1. General qualifications. The general staff qualifications of parts 2960.0100 and 2960.0150 apply to the staff

described in this part.
Subp. 2. Administrator. The license holder must designate an individual as administrator. The administrator must have

at least a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences, health administration, public administration, or a related field such as
special education or education administration. The administrator must be responsible for the ongoing operation of the facili-
ty and maintenance and upkeep of the facility.

Subp. 3. Program director. The license holder must designate an individual as program director. The license holder
must have at least one program director for every 50 residents receiving program services. The positions of program direc-
tor and administrator may be filled by the same person if the person meets the qualifications in items A and B. The program
director must have the qualifications in items A and B:

A. a master's degree in the behavioral sciences or a related field with at least two years of work experience providing
services to residents with severe emotional disturbance or have a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences or a related
field with a minimum of four years of work experience providing services to residents with severe emotional disturbance;
and

B. one year of experience or training in program administration and supervision of staff.

2960.0650 STAFF ORIENTATION.
Subpart 1. Initial orientation training for staff who provide program services. A staff person who provides program

services must complete orientation training related to the specific job functions for which the person was hired and that
meets the needs of the residents the person is serving. During the first 45 calendar days of employment, and before assum-
ing sole responsibility for the care of residents, staff who provide program services must complete training in:

A.  the Maltreatment of Minors Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, and the license holder's policies and proce-
dures related to this statute; 

B.  residents' rights; 
C. emergency procedures; 
D. policies and procedures concerning approved physical holding and seclusion techniques, de-escalation techniques,

and physical and nonphysical intervention techniques; 
E.  rules of conduct and policies and procedures related to discipline of residents served; 
F. psychiatric emergencies and crisis services; and
G. problems and needs of residents with severe emotional disturbance and their families. A staff person must not partic-

ipate in the use of physical holding, seclusion, or other restrictive procedures with a resident before completing approved
training according to item D.

Subp. 2. Orientation training for staff who do not provide program services. Facility staff who do not provide pro-
gram services must receive orientation training according to subpart 1, items A to C and G.

2960.0660 INDIVIDUAL STAFF DEVELOPMENT.
Subpart 1. Individual staff development and evaluation plan. The license holder must ensure than an annual individ-

ual staff development and evaluation plan is developed and implemented for each person who provides, supervises, or
directly administers program services. The plan must:

A. be developed within 90 days after the person begins employment, and at least annually thereafter; 
B. meet the staff development needs specified in the person's annual employee evaluation; and
C. address training relevant to specific age, developmental, cultural, and mental health needs of the residents the person

serves.
Subp. 2. Amount of annual training. The license holder must ensure that staff who provide, supervise, or directly

administer program services have sufficient training to be competent to deliver the mental health services assigned to the
staff person.

2960.0670 ADMISSION.
Subpart 1. Admission requirements. The admission of a resident for residential mental health treatment must meet the

requirements of parts 2960.0070 and 2960.0160 and the conditions of subpart 2.
Subp. 2. Conditions governing admission. A license holder may admit a resident only if the resident meets the condi-

tions in items A to G.
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A. The person must meet the age requirements of a resident as defined in part 2960.0020, subpart 59, at the time of
admission.

B. If public funds are used to pay for the services, the resident must be screened by the referring county before admis-
sion, as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4885, subdivision 1.

C. If public funds are not used to pay for the services, the resident must be screened by a mental health professional
using a screening process that is equivalent to that required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4885, subdivision 1, before
admission.

D. The prior-to-admission screening in item B or C must determine that the residential treatment proposed is necessary
and appropriate for the resident's treatment needs, provides a length of stay as short as possible consistent with the resident's
need for treatment, and could not be effectively provided in the resident's home.

E. The resident must not be in need of primary chemical abuse treatment or detoxification at the time of admission,
unless the license holder is certified to provide primary chemical abuse treatment under parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 or
licensed to provide detoxification services.

F. The developmental and mental health needs of the resident can be met by the license holder's program.
G. The license holder must ensure that residents admitted on an emergency basis, or for the purpose of short-term assess-

ment, diagnosis, and evaluation, must complete the screening required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4885, subdivision
1, and have a preliminary diagnosis and treatment plan established within ten working days as required in part 2960.0600. In
addition to determining a resident's basic needs, programs that offer mental health diagnostic and evaluation services must:

(1) perform a diagnostic assessment of a resident that meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4871,
subdivision 11; and

(2) have a mental health professional interpret diagnostic and evaluation tests given to residents.

2960.0680 STANDARDS GOVERNING USE OF RESTRICTIVE PROCEDURES.
Facilities that provide treatment for children with severe emotional disturbance that want to use restrictive procedures

may use restrictive procedures according the program's statement of intended use if the license holder is certified to use
restrictive procedures according to part 2960.0710.

2960.0690 STAFFING PATTERN AND MINIMUM STAFF-TO-RESIDENT RATIO.
Subpart 1. Sufficient staff. The license holder must provide enough appropriately trained staff to ensure that a resident

will have the treatment needs identified in the resident's individual treatment plan met during the resident's stay in the facili-
ty. A facility providing treatment in a locked setting according to part 2960.0700 must meet the staff-to-resident ratio of
part 2960.0700, subpart 3.

Subp. 2. Awake hours. During normal waking hours, when residents are present, a facility certified to provide mental
health treatment to residents with severe emotional disturbance according to parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700 must not have a
ratio of staff who provide care services to residents of less than:

A. at least one staff person to three residents, if the residents are less than six years old; 
B. at least one staff person to four residents, if the residents are six to eight years old; 
C. at least one staff person to six residents, if the residents are nine to 11 years old; and
D. at least one staff person to eight residents, if the residents are 12 to 18 years old.

Subp. 3. Sleeping hours. During normal sleeping hours, a license holder caring for residents younger than nine years old
must provide at least one staff person for every seven residents present. During normal sleeping hours, a license holder car-
ing for residents nine years old or older must provide at least one staff person for every 12 residents.

2960.0700 STANDARDS FOR TREATMENT IN LOCKED SETTING.
Subpart 1. Limitations on admissions to residential mental health program offering treatment in locked setting. A

residential mental health program offering treatment in a locked setting must address the use of a locked setting in its state-
ment of intended use. Before accepting a resident for admission to a locked setting in a residential mental health program,
the license holder must meet the criteria in items A and B.

A. The resident's record must include a written statement that a diagnostic assessment conducted according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4871, subdivision 11, has established that a persistent pattern of the resident's mental health
presents a likely threat of harm to the resident's self or others that would best be treated in a locked setting.

B. The resident has an individual treatment plan that:
(1) meets the requirements of part 2960.0600; 
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(2) identifies the need for treatment in a locked setting; 
(3) identifies the relationship of treatment within a locked setting to the resident's overall treatment goals; 
(4) identifies the treatment goals the resident must meet to have access to increased freedom of movement or be placed

in a less restrictive appropriate treatment setting; 
(5) includes a plan for discharge from treatment in a locked setting to a less restrictive treatment environment when it

is consistent with the resident's ability to be in a less restrictive environment; and
(6) is reviewed weekly by the program director to determine the level of treatment needed, unless the resident's indi-

vidual treatment plan specifically states that the resident's prognosis or court-imposed conditions merit review of the indi-
vidual treatment plan at less frequent intervals. In any case, the interval for the review of the individual treatment plan may
not exceed 90 days.

Subp. 2. Prohibited placements. The license holder must not admit a child for treatment in a locked setting as a disposi-
tion resulting from adjudication of an offense under the juvenile code without meeting the diagnostic assessment require-
ments of subpart 1, item A, nor transfer a resident from an unlocked part of a residential facility to a locked part of the same
facility solely as a disciplinary measure for violating the rules of conduct of the treatment facility.

Subp. 3. Staff ratio. During waking hours, the part of the facility providing treatment in a locked setting must provide at
least a ratio of one treatment staff person to three residents. The staff-to-resident ratio for treatment in a locked facility does
not apply during waking hours when residents are attending school out of that part of the facility. During sleeping hours,
the part of the facility providing treatment in a locked setting must provide at least two treatment staff persons to nine resi-
dents. At least one of the two treatment staff persons required during sleeping hours must be awake and present in that part
of the facility. If the required second staff person is not awake and present in the locked setting, the program must ensure
that the second staff person is in the immediate vicinity and may be readily contacted either by telephone, radio, or alarm to
come to the immediate assistance of the staff person in the locked part of the facility.

Subp. 4. Additional staff training. In addition to the training required in part 2960.0660, staff providing treatment in a
locked setting must have at least eight hours of additional training annually in subjects that will improve the staff's ability to
deal with residents who present a risk of harm to themselves or others.

Subp. 5. Compliance with codes. A facility must, prior to offering mental health treatment in a locked setting, comply
with additional health, fire, or building code requirements that the commissioner of human services, state fire marshal, or
Department of Health requires.

Subp. 6. Limitations on use of rooms for seclusion. The license holder must ensure that the requirements of part 2960.0680
are met if a resident is locked in a room in the part of the facility offering mental health treatment in a locked setting.

CERTIFICATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAMS WHICH INTEND TO
USE RESTRICTIVE PROCEDURES WITH RESIDENTS

2960.0710 RESTRICTIVE PROCEDURES CERTIFICATION.
Subpart 1. Certification required. A license holder who wishes to use a restrictive procedure with a resident must meet

the requirements of this part to be certified to use restrictive procedures with a resident.
Subp. 2. Restrictive procedures plan required. The license holder must have a restrictive procedures plan for residents

that is approved by the commissioner of human services or corrections, and the plan must provide at least the following:
A.  the plan must list the restrictive procedures and describe the physical holding techniques which will be used by the

program; 
B. how the license holder will monitor and control the emergency use of restrictive procedures; 
C. a description of the training that staff who use restrictive procedures must have prior to staff implementing the emer-

gency use of restrictive procedures, which includes at least the following:
(1) the needs and behaviors of residents; 
(2) relationship building; 
(3) alternatives to restrictive procedures; 
(4) de-escalation methods; 
(5) avoiding power struggles; 
(6) documentation standards for the use of restrictive procedures; 
(7) how to obtain emergency medical assistance; 
(8) time limits for restrictive procedures; 
(9) obtaining approval for use of restrictive procedures; 
(10) requirement for updated training at least every other year; and
(11) the proper use of the restrictive techniques approved for the facility; 

D.  the license holder must prepare a written review of the use of restrictive procedures in the facility at least annually;
and

E.  the license holder must ensure that the resident receives treatment for any injury caused by the use of a restrictive
procedure.
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Subp. 3. Department of Human Services licensed facilities. License holders who are licensed by the Department of
Human Services and certified by the Department of Human Services to provide residential treatment for children with a
severe emotional disturbance and children in need of shelter care may seek certification to use one or more of the following
restrictive procedures:

A. physical escort; 
B. physical holding; 
C.  seclusion; and
D.  the limited use of mechanical restraint only for transporting a resident.

Subp. 4. Department of Corrections licensed facilities. License holders who are licensed by the Department of
Corrections may seek certification to use one or more of the following restrictive procedures:

A. physical escort; 
B. physical holding; 
C.  seclusion; 
D. mechanical restraints; and
E. disciplinary room time. Disciplinary room time may be secure or nonsecure. Disciplinary room time may be used as

a consequence for resident behavior as permitted in the facility's restrictive procedures plan. If disciplinary room time is
used at the facility, the facility restrictive procedures plan must:

(1) provide for a system of due process for residents who violate facility rules; 
(2) contain a written set of facility rules of conduct which includes a description of the consequences or penalties for

infractions of facility rules; and
(3) require that the written facility rules must be given to each resident and explained and made available to each resi-

dent at the time of admission. The facility rules must be explained to a resident in a language that the resident understands.
Subp. 5. Physical escort requirements. The physical escort of a resident is intended to be a behavior management tech-

nique that is minimally intrusive to the resident. It is to be used to control a resident who is being guided to a place where
the resident will be safe and to help de-escalate interactions between the resident and others. A license holder who uses
physical escort with a resident must meet the following requirements:

A.  staff must be trained according to subpart 2, item C; 
B.  staff must document the use of physical escort and note the technique used, the time of day, and the name of the staff

person and resident involved; and
C.  the use of physical escort must be consistent with the resident's case plan or treatment plan.

Subp. 6. Use of physical holding or seclusion. Physical holding and seclusion are behavior management techniques
which are used in emergency situations as a response to imminent danger to the resident or others and when less restrictive
interventions are determined to be ineffective. The emergency use of physical holding or seclusion must meet the condi-
tions of items A to M:

A. an immediate intervention is necessary to protect the resident or others from physical harm; 
B.  the physical holding or seclusion used is the least intrusive intervention that will effectively react to the emergency; 
C.  the use of physical holding or seclusion must end when the threat of harm ends; 
D.  the resident must be constantly and directly observed by staff during the use of physical holding or seclusion; 
E.  the use of physical holding or seclusion must be used under the supervision of a mental health professional or the

facility's program director; 
F. physical holding and seclusion may be used only as permitted in the resident's treatment plan; 
G.  staff must contact the mental health professional or facility's program director to inform the program director about

the use of physical holding or seclusion and to ask for permission to use physical holding or seclusion as soon as it may
safely be done, but no later than 30 minutes after initiating the use of physical holding or seclusion; 

H. before staff uses physical holding or seclusion with a resident, staff must complete the training required in subpart 2
regarding the use of physical holding and seclusion at the facility; 

I.  when the need for the use of physical holding or seclusion ends, the resident must be assessed to determine if the resi-
dent can safely be returned to the ongoing activities at the facility; 

J.  staff must treat the resident respectfully throughout the procedure; 
K.  the staff person who implemented the emergency use of physical holding or seclusion must document its use imme-

diately after the incident concludes. The documentation must include at least the following information:
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(1) a detailed description of the incident which led to the emergency use of physical holding or seclusion; 
(2) an explanation of why the procedure chosen needed to be used to prevent or stop an immediate threat to the physi-

cal safety of the resident or others; 
(3) why less restrictive measures failed or were found to be inappropriate; 
(4) the time the physical hold or seclusion began and the time the resident was released; 
(5) in at least 15-minute intervals during the use of physical holding or seclusion, documentation of the resident's

behavioral change and change in physical status that resulted from the use of the procedure; and
(6) the names of all persons involved in the use of the procedure and the names of all witnesses to the use of the proce-

dure; 
L.  the room used for seclusion must be well lighted, well ventilated, clean, have an observation window which allows

staff to directly monitor a resident in seclusion, fixtures that are tamperproof, with electrical switches located immediately
outside the door, and doors that open out and are unlocked or are locked with keyless locks that have immediate release
mechanisms; and

M. objects that may be used by a resident to injure the resident's self or others must be removed from the resident and
the seclusion room before the resident is placed in seclusion.

Subp. 7. Use of mechanical restraints. Mechanical restraints are a behavior management device which may be used only
when transporting a resident or in an emergency as a response to imminent danger to a resident or others and when less restric-
tive interventions are determined to be ineffective. A facility that uses mechanical restraints must include mechanical restraints
in its restrictive procedures plan. The emergency use of mechanical restraints must meet the conditions of items A to J:

A. an immediate intervention is necessary to protect the resident or others from physical harm; 
B.  the mechanical restraint used is the least intrusive intervention that will effectively react to the emergency; 
C.  the use of mechanical restraint must end when the threat of harm ends; 
D.  the resident must be constantly and directly observed by staff during the use of mechanical restraint; 
E.  the use of mechanical restraint must be supervised by the program director or the program director's designee; 
F. mechanical restraint may be used only as permitted in the resident's treatment plan; 
G. as soon as it may safely be done, but no later than 60 minutes after initiating the use of a mechanical restraint, staff

must contact the facility's program director or the program director's designee to inform the program director about the use
of a mechanical restraint and to ask for permission to use the mechanical restraint; 

H. before staff uses a mechanical restraint with a resident, staff must complete training in the use of the types of
mechanical restraints used at the facility; 

I.  when the need for the use of mechanical restraint ends, the resident must be assessed to determine if the resident can
safely be returned to the ongoing activities at the facility; and

J.  the staff person who used mechanical restraint must document its use immediately after the incident concludes. The
documentation must include at least the following information:

(1) a detailed description of the incident or situation which led to the use of the mechanical restraint; 
(2) an explanation of why the mechanical restraint chosen was needed to prevent an immediate threat to the physical

safety of the resident or others; 
(3) why less restrictive measures failed or were found to be inappropriate; 
(4) the time when the use of mechanical restraint began and the time when the resident was released from the mechani-

cal restraint; 
(5) in at least 15-minute intervals during the use of mechanical restraints, documentation of the observed behavior

change and physical status of the resident that resulted from the use of mechanical restraint; and
(6) the names of all the persons involved in the use of mechanical restraint and the names of all witnesses to the use of

mechanical restraint.
Subp. 8. Disciplinary room time use. Disciplinary room time must be used only for major violations and be used

according to the facility's restrictive procedures plan. In addition to the restrictive procedures plan requirements in subpart
2, the license holder who uses disciplinary room time must meet the following requirements:

A.  the license holder must give the resident written notice of an alleged violation of a facility rule; 
B.  the license holder must tell the resident that the resident has a right to be heard by an impartial person regarding the

alleged violation of facility rules; and
C.  the license holder must tell the resident that the resident has the right to appeal the determination made by the impar-

tial person in item B internally to a higher authority at the facility.
Subp. 9. Training for staff using physical holding or seclusion. In addition to the training in subpart 2, item C, staff

who use physical holding or seclusion must have the following training before using physical holding or seclusion with a
resident:

A. documentation standards for physical holding and seclusion; 
B.  thresholds for employing physical holding or seclusion; 
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C.  the physiological and psychological impact of physical holding and seclusion; 
D. how to monitor and respond to the resident's physical signs of distress; 
E.  symptoms and interventions for positional asphyxia; and
F.  time limits and procedures for obtaining approval of the use of physical holding and seclusion.

Training must be updated at least once every two years.
Subp. 10. Administrative review. The license holder must complete an administrative review of the use of a restrictive

procedure within three working days after the use of the restrictive procedure. The administrative review must be conducted
by someone other than the person who decided to impose the restrictive procedure, or that person's immediate supervisor.
The resident or the resident's representative must have an opportunity to present evidence and argument to the reviewer
about why the procedure was unwarranted. The record of the administrative review of the use of a restrictive procedure
must state whether:

A.  the required documentation was recorded; 
B.  the restrictive procedure was used in accordance with the treatment plan; 
C.  the rule standards governing the use of restrictive procedures were met; and
D.  the staff who implemented the restrictive procedure were properly trained.

Subp. 11. Review of patterns of use of restrictive procedures. At least quarterly, the license holder must review the
patterns of the use of restrictive procedures. The review must be done by the license holder or the facility's advisory com-
mittee. The review must consider:

A. any patterns or problems indicated by similarities in the time of day, day of the week, duration of the use of a proce-
dure, individuals involved, or other factors associated with the use of restrictive procedures; 

B. any injuries resulting from the use of restrictive procedures; 
C. actions needed to correct deficiencies in the program's implementation of restrictive procedures; 
D. an assessment of opportunities missed to avoid the use of restrictive procedures; and
E. proposed actions to be taken to minimize the use of physical holding and seclusion.

REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER FAMILY SETTINGS, FOSTER RESIDENCE
SETTINGS, AND ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR TREATMENT

FOSTER CARE

2960.3000 FOSTER FAMILY SETTINGS.
Subpart 1. Purpose and applicability. Parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3100 establish the minimum standards that a foster fam-

ily setting must meet to qualify for licensure. Parts 2960.3200 to 2960.3230 contain requirements for foster residence set-
tings. Additional licensing requirements for foster family settings that offer treatment foster care are in parts 2960.3300 to
2960.3340.

Subp. 2. Outcomes. One of the goals of foster care must be that the foster child will experience a safe and healthy fami-
ly life. The license holder must also promote the child's development as a physically and mentally healthy person. To
accomplish these outcomes, the license holder must:

A. actively participate with the agency placing the child, to implement the case plan and meet the needs of the child; and
B. as much as possible, considering the child's age, the child's needs, and the case plan, include the child in the daily life

of the family, including eating meals with the family and participating in recreational activities.
Subp. 3. Community interests. The license holder must rely on the advice and counsel of the advisory board or board of

directors of the licensing agency regarding community interests and the needs of the community served by the foster home.
A license holder, who is supervised by a county, may rely on the advice and counsel of the supervising county and its
employees regarding community interests and the needs of the clients and community. The requirements of this subpart do
not apply to foster homes licensed by the Department of Corrections.

Subp. 4. Statement of intended use. The license holder must work with the licensing agency to develop a statement of
intended use. The statement of intended use must specify:

A.  the number of children the foster home is licensed for, the age range of children to be placed in the home, and any
limitations affecting the placement of children in the home; 

B.  whether or not the home will serve as an emergency shelter home, a treatment foster care home, or a home for med-
ically fragile children; and

C. circumstances when the ratio of one adult to five children does not need to be maintained.
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The statement of intended use must be approved by the licensing agency, but may be modified at any time by agreement

between the licensing agency and the license holder to reflect changes that affect the placement of children in the home.
Subp. 5. Program outcomes. The license holder must cooperate with the licensing agency's attempt to determine the

outcomes of a child's foster care placement. The outcome information must be shared with the license holder and incorpo-
rated into the evaluation process outlined in part 2960.3100, subpart 1, item G.

2960.3010 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340 have the meanings given them in this part.
Subp. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 3, and a

person who has completed and signed an application form. Applicant includes a current license holder who is seeking reli-
censure or recertification.

Subp. 3. Assessment. "Assessment" means the process used by a qualified person to identify and evaluate the child's
strengths, weaknesses, problems, and needs.

Subp. 4. Aversive procedure. "Aversive procedure" has the meaning given in part 9525.2710, subpart 4.
Subp. 5. Basic services. "Basic services" means services provided at the foster home to the foster child that meets the

foster child's basic need for food, shelter, clothing, medical and dental care, personal cleanliness, privacy, spiritual and reli-
gious practice, safety, and adult supervision.

Subp. 6. Caregiver. "Caregiver" means a person who provides services to a child according to the child's case plan in a
setting licensed or certified under parts 2960.0010 to 2960.3340.

Subp. 7. Case manager. "Case manager" means the supervising agency responsible for developing, implementing, and
monitoring the case plan.

Subp. 8. Case plan. "Case plan" means a plan of care for a foster child that is developed by the supervising agency with
the child's parents and license holder and monitored by the placing agency.

Subp. 9. Chemical. "Chemical" means alcohol, solvents, and other mood altering substances, including controlled sub-
stances as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 152.01, subdivision 4.

Subp. 10. Chemical dependency. "Chemical dependency" means a pattern of pathological use accompanied by the
physical manifestations of increased tolerance to the chemical or chemicals being used or withdrawal syndrome following
cessation of chemical use.

Subp. 11. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Human Services or the com-
missioner of the Department of Corrections.

Subp. 12. Cultural competence or culturally competent. "Cultural competence" or "culturally competent" means a set
of congruent behaviors, attitudes, and policies that come together in a system, agency, or among professionals to work
effectively in cross-cultural situations.

Subp. 13. Deprivation procedure. "Deprivation procedure" has the meaning given in part 9525.2710, subpart 12.
Subp. 14. Direct contact. "Direct contact" means providing face-to-face care, training, supervision, counseling, consul-

tation, or medication assistance to a child.
Subp. 15. Disability. "Disability" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 363.01, subdivision 13.
Subp. 16. Discipline. "Discipline" means the use of reasonable, age-appropriate consequences designed to modify and

correct behavior according to a rule or system of rules governing conduct.
Subp. 17. Education. "Education" means the regular and special education and related services to which school-age

children are entitled as required by applicable law and rule.
Subp. 18. Emotional disturbance. "Emotional disturbance" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section

245.4871, subdivision 15.
Subp. 19. Family. "Family" means persons related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption, or an individual who is

an important friend with whom the child has resided or had significant contact.
Subp. 20. Foster care. "Foster care" has the meaning given in part 9560.0521, subpart 9.
Subp. 21. Foster child. "Foster child" means a person under 18 years of age, a person in special education, or a juvenile

under the jurisdiction of a juvenile court who is under 22 years of age and is placed in a foster home.
Subp. 22. Foster family or household members. "Foster family or household members" means persons related by

blood, marriage, or adoption and unrelated persons who are presently residing together.
Subp. 23. Foster family setting. "Foster family setting" means the foster home in which the license holder resides.
Subp. 24. Foster home. "Foster home" means the dwelling unit used by the license holder to provide foster care to the

foster child.
Subp. 25. Foster parent. "Foster parent" means an individual licensed under Minnesota Statutes to provide foster care.
Subp. 26. Foster residence setting. "Foster residence setting" means a foster home in which the license holder does not

reside.
Subp. 27. License. "License" means written authorization issued by the commissioner of human services or corrections

allowing the license holder to provide foster care service at a foster home for a specified time and in accordance with the
terms of the license and the rules of the commissioner of human services or corrections.
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Subp. 28. License holder. "License holder" means an individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or
other organization or entity that is legally responsible for the operation of the foster home that has been granted a license by
the commissioner of human services under Minnesota Rules and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, or the commissioner of
corrections under Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 2. The duties of the license holder may be discharged by
a person designated by the license holder to act on behalf of the license holder.

Subp. 29. Licensed professional. "Licensed professional" means a person qualified to complete a diagnostic evaluation,
including a physician licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147, or a qualified mental health professional licensed
under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.18, subdivision 10.

Subp. 30. Licensing agency. "Licensing agency" means a county, individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary associ-
ation, the Department of Corrections, or other organization or entity that recommends licensure of an applicant for a license
or license renewal to the state according to parts 9543.0010 to 9543.0150.

Subp. 31. Medication assistance. "Medication assistance" means helping children take medication and monitoring the
effects of medication but does not include administering injections. For purposes of this subpart, "medication" means a pre-
scribed substance that is used to prevent or treat a condition or disease, to heal, or to relieve pain.

Subp. 32. Person assisted by medical technology. "Person assisted by medical technology" means a person who has a
chronic or acute health condition which requires the routine use of a medical device to assist or maintain a life-sustaining
body function and requires ongoing care or monitoring by trained personnel on at least a daily basis.

Subp. 33. Placing agency. "Placing agency" means a private agency licensed according to parts 9545.0755 to 9545.0845
or a county agency that places a child according to parts 9560.0500 to 9560.0670.

Subp. 34. Psychotropic medication. "Psychotropic medication" means a medication prescribed to treat mental illness
and associated behaviors or to control or alter behavior. The major classes of psychotropic medication are antipsychotic or
neuroleptic, antidepressant, antianxiety, antimania, stimulant, and sedative or hypnotic. Other miscellaneous classes of
medication are considered to be psychotropic medication when they are specifically prescribed to treat a mental illness or to
alter behavior based on a foster child's diagnosis.

Subp. 35. Residential program. "Residential program" means a program that provides 24-hour-a-day care, supervision,
food, lodging, rehabilitation, training, education, habilitation, or treatment for a child outside of the child's home pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A.

Subp. 36. Respite care. "Respite care" means temporary care of foster children in a licensed foster home other than the
foster home the child was placed in.

Subp. 37. Screening. "Screening" means an examination of a child by means of a test, interview, or observation to deter-
mine if the child is likely to have a condition that requires assessment or treatment.

Subp. 38. Seclusion. "Seclusion" means confining a person in a locked room.
Subp. 39. Shelter care or emergency shelter care. "Shelter care" or "emergency shelter care" means a residential pro-

gram offering short-term, time-limited placements of 90 days or less to children who are in a behavioral or situational crisis,
need out-of-home placement in a protective environment, and have an immediate need for services.

Subp. 40. Staff. "Staff" means a person who works for a foster residence setting license holder and is employed to work
as an hourly employee, shift-staff employee, or houseparent.

Subp. 41. Substitute care. "Substitute care" means temporary care of foster children inside the foster home by someone
other than the foster parent for overnight or longer.

Subp. 42. Time-out. "Time-out" means a treatment intervention in which a caregiver trained in time-out procedures
removes a child from an ongoing activity to an unlocked room or area commonly used as a living space that is safe and
where the child remains until the precipitating behavior abates or stops.

Subp. 43. Treatment foster care. "Treatment foster care" means a culturally relevant, community-based and
family-based method by which planned, integrated treatment services are provided to foster children and their parents by
foster parents who are qualified to deliver treatment services. Treatment service may be provided to children with severe
emotional disturbance, developmental disabilities, serious medical conditions, or serious behavioral problems, including,
but not limited to, criminal sexual conduct, assaultiveness, or substance abuse.

Subp. 44. Treatment plan. "Treatment plan" means a written plan of intervention, treatment, and services for a child in
a foster setting that is developed by a license holder or placing agency on the basis of a child's screening, assessment, and
case plan. The treatment plan, which is developed with the child and the child's parents, identifies goals and objectives of
treatment, treatment strategy, a schedule for accomplishing treatment goals and objectives, and the entities responsible for
providing treatment services to the child.
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Subp. 45. Variance. "Variance" means written permission from the commissioner of human services or corrections for a

license holder to depart from a rule standard for a specific period of time pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04,
subdivision 9.

2960.3020 LICENSING PROCESS.
Subpart 1. License required. An individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other organization, or con-

trolling individual must not provide foster care without a license from the commissioner of human services or corrections
unless an exclusion specified in this chapter or Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, applies.

Subp. 2. Application. Application for a license must be made to the county agency in the county where the applicant
resides or to a Minnesota-licensed child placing agency on a form approved by the commissioner of human services. Group
foster homes licensed by the Department of Corrections under chapter 2925 and Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdi-
vision 2, as of the adoption of this chapter, may apply to the Department of Corrections for a foster care license according to
subpart 12. An application for licensure is complete when the applicant signs the license application and submits all of the
information required in this subpart.

Subp. 3. License does not guarantee placement. Licensure under parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340 is not an entitlement, a
right, or a guarantee that children will be placed in the foster home. The agency responsible for the child retains the right to
choose which licensed foster home is best suited for an individual child in need of foster care placement.

Subp. 4. License not transferable. A license under parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340 is not transferable to another person,
entity, or site.

Subp. 5. Commissioner's right of access. The commissioner of human services' right of access must be according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 5. The commissioner of corrections must have access to a Department of
Corrections licensed foster home according to Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021.

Subp. 6. Limited licensure. A license holder may be licensed through only one Minnesota-licensed child placing agency
or county social services agency at a time. A license holder must not be licensed at the same time by both the Department
of Human Services and the Department of Corrections. A license holder must not simultaneously hold a relative foster care
emergency license issued according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.035, and a separate foster family setting license
issued under this chapter.

Subp. 7. Notice of changes in household conditions. The license holder must immediately notify the licensing agency
of foster home and foster family or household member changes that effect the terms of the license or the ability of the
license holder to provide care to children.

Subp. 8. Roomers and boarders. A license holder must not have adult roomers or boarders in the foster home without
the licensing agency's approval. Roomers or boarders are subject to an applicant background study according to part
2960.3060, subpart 2.

Subp. 9. Variance standards. A license applicant or license holder may request, in writing, a variance from rule
requirements that do not affect the health, safety, or rights of the child or others. The commissioner of human services or
corrections may grant variances according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 9. A variance request must
include:

A.  the part or parts of the rule for which a variance is sought; 
B.  the reason why a variance from the specified provision is sought; 
C.  the period of time for which a variance is requested; 
D.  written approval from the fire marshal, building inspector, or health authority when the variance request is for a vari-

ance from a fire, building, or health code; and
E. alternative equivalent measures the foster care applicant or license holder will take to ensure the health and safety of

children if the variance is granted.
The decision of the commissioner of human services or corrections to grant or deny a variance request is final and not

subject to appeal under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.
Subp. 10. Other licenses. A license holder cannot concurrently hold a license for family child care or adult family foster

care without a variance from the licensing agency.
Subp. 11. Denial of license. The commissioner of human services or corrections shall deny a license if the applicant fails

to fully comply with laws or rules governing the program or fails to cooperate with a placing or licensing agency. Failure to
fully comply shall be indicated by:

A. documentation of specific foster home deficiencies that may endanger the health or safety of children; 
B. failure to be approved by fire, building, zoning, or health officials; 
C. documentation of a disqualification of the applicant for licensure or relicensure, or the controlling individual regard-

ing a background study which has not been set aside; or 
D. any other evidence that the applicant is not in compliance with applicable laws or rules governing the program.

Subp. 12. Department of Corrections licensed foster homes. Foster homes licensed by the Department of Corrections
under chapter 2925 and Minnesota Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 2, at the time of the adoption of this chapter, may
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continue to be licensed as foster homes by the Department of Corrections, acting as the licensing agency. Foster homes that
are licensed by the Department of Corrections must meet the standards in parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340. The Department
of Corrections will use the standards in this part to issue or deny a foster care license.

2960.3030 CAPACITY LIMITS.
Subpart 1. Maximum foster children allowed. A foster home must have no more than six foster children. The maxi-

mum number of children allowed in a home is eight, including a foster parent's own children. The license holder must
maintain a ratio of one adult for each five children.

Subp. 2. Capacity limits. The capacity limits in items A to C apply to foster homes.
A. A foster home must have no more than three children who are under two years of age or who are nonambulatory,

unless the license holder maintains a ratio of at least one adult present when children are present for every three children
under two years of age or children who are nonambulatory.

B. A foster home must have no more than four foster children at one time if any of the children have severe or profound
mental retardation, have severe emotional disturbance, or is a person assisted by medical technology.

C. The number of foster children a foster home may accept must be limited based on the factors in subitems (1) to (5):
(1) the license holder's ability to supervise, considering the adult-to-child ratio in the home; 
(2) the license holder's training, experience, and skills related to child care; 
(3) the structural characteristics of the home; 
(4) the license holder's ability to assist children in the home during emergencies; and
(5) the characteristics of the foster children, including age, disability, and emotional problems.

Subp. 3. Exceptions to capacity limits. A variance may be granted to allow up to eight foster children in addition to the
license holder's own children if the conditions in items A to E are met:

A. placement is necessary to keep a sibling group together, or is necessary because the foster child was formerly living
in the home and it would be in the child's best interest to be placed there again; 

B.  there is no risk of harm to the children currently in the home; 
C.  the structural characteristics of the home, including sleeping space, can accommodate the additional foster children; 
D.  the home remains in compliance with applicable zoning, health, fire, and building codes; and
E.  the statement of intended use states the conditions for the exception to capacity limits and explains how the license

holder will maintain a ratio of adults to children which ensures the safety and appropriate supervision of all the children in
the foster home.
A foster home licensed by the Department of Corrections need not meet the requirement in item A.

2960.3040 FOSTER HOME PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT.
Subpart 1. Fire, health, building, and zoning codes. The foster home must comply with applicable fire, health, build-

ing, and zoning codes.
Subp. 2. Sleeping space. A foster child must be provided with a separate bed suitably sized for the child, except that two sib-

lings of the same sex may share a double bed. A foster child must not be assigned sleeping space in a building, apartment, trail-
er, or other structure that is separate from the foster family home or in an unfinished attic, an unfinished basement, or a hall or
any other room normally used for purposes other than sleeping. Bedrooms that are used by foster children must have two exits.

Subp. 3. Space for belongings. A foster child must have an identified space for clothing and personal possessions with
cabinets, closets, shelves, or hanging space sufficient to accommodate clothing and personal possessions.

Subp. 4. Dining area. The dining area must be able to accommodate, at one time, all persons residing in the home.
Subp. 5. Construction or remodeling. Changes in a foster home resulting from construction or remodeling must meet

applicable building codes. The license holder must notify the licensing agency of changes to the licensed setting resulting
from construction if those changes affect a licensing requirement.

2960.3050 FOSTER HOME SAFETY.
Subpart 1. Inspection by licensing agency. Prior to licensure, the foster home must be inspected by a licensing agency

employee using the home safety checklist from the commissioner of human services. The applicant must correct deficien-
cies in the foster home which were identified by the agency.

Subp. 2. Additional inspections required. If one of the conditions in items A to E exist, the foster home must document
inspection and approval of the foster home according to Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, and the Uniform Fire Code
by the state fire marshal or a local fire code inspector who is approved by the state fire marshal and document approval of
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the foster home by the Department of Health or local health inspector, local building code inspector, and local zoning
authority, or document that an appropriate waiver has been granted to the inspections and approvals:

A.  the foster home contains a freestanding solid fuel heating appliance; 
B.  the foster home is a manufactured home as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 327B.01, subdivision 13, and was

manufactured before June 15, 1976; 
C.  the licensing agency identifies a potential hazard in a single-family detached home, or a mixed or multiple-occupan-

cy building; 
D.  the home is to be licensed for four or more foster children; or 
E.  the foster home has a foster child sleeping in a room that is 50 percent or more below ground level.

Subp. 3. Emergency procedures. The license holder must give the licensing agency a floor plan of the foster home
showing emergency evacuation routes. Emergency procedures must include a plan for care of children, evacuation, tempo-
rary shelter, and gathering at a meeting place to determine if anyone is missing. The plan must specifically address the
needs of children whose behavior increases the risk of having a fire. The foster parent must give the emergency procedures
to the agency, and the foster parent and licensing agency must review the emergency procedures during relicensure.

Subp. 4. Pets. A foster home serving children less than six years of age must not keep reptiles, chickens, or ducks as
pets. A foster home serving children six years of age and older that keeps reptiles, chickens, or ducks as pets must require a
thorough hand washing following the handling of the animal, its food, and anything the animal has touched. Pets in family
residences must be immunized and maintained as required by local ordinances and state law.

2960.3060 LICENSE HOLDER QUALIFICATIONS.
Subpart 1. Experience. The prospective license holder must agree to cooperate with the licensing agency and:

A. have at least the equivalent of two years of full-time experience caring for or working with the issues presented by
the children they will care for, whether they are the license holder's own children or other children; 

B. agree to receive training in child care and development as needed in order to meet the individual needs of the chil-
dren placed in the foster home; 

C. be related to the child needing foster care; or 
D. be an important friend with whom the child has resided or had significant contact.

Subp. 2. Background study. A license holder and individuals identified in Minnesota Statutes, sections 241.021 and
245A.04, subdivision 3, must submit to a background study.

A. Background checks conducted by the Department of Human Services must be conducted according to Minnesota
Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 3.

B. Background checks conducted by the Department of Corrections must be conducted according to Minnesota
Statutes, section 241.021, subdivision 6.

Subp. 3. Personal characteristics of applicants. The applicant must comply with the requirements of items A to G.
A. The applicant must be at least 21 years old at the time of application.
B. The applicant and household members must provide a signed statement which indicates that they are receiving all

necessary medical care, and are physically able to care for foster children and indicate any limitations the applicant and
household members may have.

C. The applicant and adult household members must sign a statement that they have been free of chemical use problems
for the past two years.

D. The applicant must help the licensing agency obtain at least three letters of reference that provide information about
the license holder's support system, the observed license holder's interactions with children, and the ability of the license
holder and foster family to accept different points of view.

E. The applicant must help the licensing agency get previous foster care studies completed on the applicant by any other
agency to which the applicant has applied for foster care licensure.

F. The licensing agency must make a determination as to whether a prospective license holder and foster parent can provide
appropriate structure and is suitable to be licensed if a prospective license holder or foster parent has had either of the following:

(1) a child for whom the applicant is legally responsible was removed from the applicant's home and placed in foster
care, a correctional facility, or a residential treatment center for severe emotional disturbance under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 260C, within one year prior to the date of application; or 

(2) the applicant has a child in voluntary foster care under Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.212, subdivision 8,
260C.193, 260C.201, or 260C.205.

G. The licensing agency may consult with a specialist in such areas as health, mental health, or chemical dependency to
evaluate the abilities of the applicant to provide a safe environment for foster children. The licensing agency and the spe-
cialist must evaluate each applicant individually. The licensing agency must request a release of information from the appli-
cant prior to assigning the specialist to evaluate the applicant. The licensing agency must tell the applicant why it is using a
specialist to evaluate the applicant.

Subp. 4. Home study of applicant. The applicant must cooperate with a home study conducted by the licensing agency.
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At a minimum, there must be one in-home interview and documented interviews with all household members over seven
years of age. The home study must be completed using the commissioner of human services' designated format. The appli-
cant must demonstrate the ability to:

A. provide consistent supervision, positive and constructive discipline, and care and training to contribute to the foster
child's well-being; 

B.  understand the licensing agency's programs and goals; 
C.  work within agency and state policies; 
D.  share responsibility for the foster child's well-being with the foster child's social worker, school, and legal parents; 
E. actively support the foster child's racial or ethnic background, culture, and religion, and respect the child's sexual ori-

entation; 
F. accept the foster child's relationship with the child's family and relatives and to support visitation and family reunifi-

cation efforts; 
G. have a current network of support that may include extended family, and neighborhood, cultural, and community ties

that the applicant can use to strengthen the applicant's abilities, and for support and help; 
H. meet the foster child's special needs, if any, including medical needs, disabilities, or emotional disturbance; 
I. deal with anger, sorrow, frustration, conflict, and other emotions in a manner that will build positive interpersonal

relationships rather than in a way that could be emotionally or physically destructive to other persons; and
J. nurture children, be mature and demonstrate an ability to comply with the foster child's care plan, and meet the needs

of foster children in the applicant's care.

2960.3070 FOSTER PARENT TRAINING.
Subpart 1. Orientation. A nonrelative foster parent must complete a minimum of six hours of orientation before admit-

ting a foster child. Orientation is required for relative foster parents who will be licensed as a child's foster parents.
Orientation for relatives must be completed within 30 days following the initial placement. The foster parent's orientation
must include items A to E:

A. emergency procedures, including evacuation routes, emergency telephone numbers, severe storm and tornado proce-
dures, and location of alarms and equipment; 

B.  relevant laws and rules, including, but not limited to, chapter 9560; Minnesota Statutes, chapters 245A, 260, and
260C; and Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556; and legal issues and reporting requirements; 

C. cultural diversity, gender sensitivity, culturally specific services, cultural competence, and information about dis-
crimination and racial bias issues to ensure that caregivers will be culturally competent to care for foster children according
to Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.212, subdivision 11; 

D. information about the role and responsibilities of the foster parent in the development and implementation of the
case plan and in court and administrative reviews of the child's placement; and

E.  requirements of the licensing agency.
Subp. 2. In-service training. Each foster parent must complete a minimum of 12 hours of training per year in one or

more of the areas in this subpart or in other areas as agreed upon by the licensing agency and the foster parent. If the foster
parent has not completed the required annual training at the time of relicensure and does not show good cause why the train-
ing was not completed, the foster parent may not accept new foster children until the training is completed. The nonexclu-
sive list of topics in items A to Z provides examples of in-service training topics that could be useful to a foster parent:

A. cultural competence and transcultural placements; 
B. adoption and permanency; 
C. crisis intervention, including suicide prevention; 
D.  sexual offender behaviors; 
E. children's psychological, spiritual, cultural, sexual, emotional, intellectual, and social development; 
F. legal issues including liability; 
G. foster family relationships with placing agencies and other service providers; 
H. first aid and life-sustaining treatment such as cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 
I. preparing foster children for independent living; 
J. parenting children who suffered physical, emotional, or sexual abuse or domestic violence; 
K. chemical dependency, and signs or symptoms of alcohol and drug abuse; 
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L. mental health and emotional disturbance issues; 
M. Americans with Disabilities Act and Individuals With Disabilities Education Act; 
N. caring for children with disabilities and disability-related issues regarding developmental disabilities, emotional and

behavioral disorders, and specific learning disabilities; 
O. privacy issues of foster children; 
P. physical and nonphysical behavior guidance, crisis de-escalation, and discipline techniques, including how to handle

aggression for specific age groups and specific issues such as developmental disabilities, chemical dependency, emotional
disturbances, learning disabilities, and past abuse; 

Q. birth families and reunification; 
R. effects of foster care on foster families; 
S. home safety; 
T. emergency procedures; 
U. child and family wellness; 
V.  sexual orientation; 
W. disability bias and discrimination; 
X. management of sexual perpetration, violence, bullying, and exploitative behaviors; 
Y. medical technology-dependent or medically fragile conditions; and
Z.  separation, loss, and attachment.

Subp. 3. Medical equipment training. Foster parents who care for children who rely on medical equipment to sustain
life or monitor a medical condition must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.155.

2960.3080 PLACEMENT, CONTINUED STAY, AND DISCHARGE.
Subpart 1. Placement criteria. Foster care placement is governed by the statement of intended use developed by the

licensing agency and the license holder. The license holder may decline to accept a foster child without a stated reason.
The requirements of parts 2960.0510 to 2960.0530 do not apply if the foster home serves as an emergency shelter home.

Subp. 2. Screening. The license holder must cooperate with the placing agency to ensure that the child's needs are iden-
tified and addressed.

Subp. 3. Child's property. The foster child must be allowed to bring personal possessions, as agreed upon between the
child, the child's parent, the placing agency, and the license holder, to the foster home and must be allowed to accumulate
possessions to the extent the home is able to accommodate them. The license holder must make a written inventory of the
foster child's personal property, including clothing, at admission and at discharge. The license holder and the foster child, if
capable, must sign the inventory.

Subp. 4. Information about foster children. Before placement or within five days following placement, the placing
agency shall give the license holder written information in items A to K about the child:

A.  the child's placement history summary; 
B. name and nicknames; 
C. date of birth; 
D. gender; 
E. name, address, and telephone number of the child's parents, guardian, and advocate; 
F.  race or cultural heritage of the child, including tribal affiliation, if any; 
G. description of the child's presenting problems, including medical problems, circumstances leading to placement,

mental health concerns, safety concerns including assaultive behavior, and victimization concerns; 
H. description of assets and strengths of the child and, if available, related information from the child, child's family,

including siblings, and concerned persons in the child's life; 
I. name, address, and telephone number of the contact person for the last educational program the child attended, if

applicable; 
J.  spiritual or religious affiliation of the child and the child's family; and
K. information about the child's medication and diet needs and the identities of the child's recent health care providers.

The child's placing agency shall update the information in items A to K as new information becomes available.
Subp. 5. Cooperation required. The license holder must cooperate with the child's placing agency according to items A

and B.
A. The license holder must provide basic services to the child.
B. The license holder must cooperate with the child's case manager and other appropriate parties to develop and imple-

ment the child's case plan during the child's stay in the foster home. The license holder shall cooperate in at least the follow-
ing areas:

(1) identify and share information, if appropriate, with persons who are directly involved in the child's treatment plan
and tell those persons about major treatment outcomes the child will achieve while in the home, including attaining develop-
mentally appropriate life skills that the child needs to become functional in the community; 
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(2) report the child's behaviors and other important information to the placing agency and others as indicated in the
child's case plan; 

(3) recommend changes in the child's case plan to the case manager if needed; 
(4) give the placing agency additional significant information about the foster child as it becomes known; 
(5) facilitate the child's school attendance and enroll the child in a local school district or, if appropriate, the child's dis-

trict of residence; 
(6) provide a child with timely access to basic, emergency, and specialized medical, mental health, and dental care and

treatment services by qualified persons; and
(7) maintain a record of illness reported by the child, action taken by the foster parent, and the date of the child's med-

ical, psychological, or dental care.
Subp. 6. Foster child services. The license holder must:

A.  work with the child's placing agency and child's parents to develop a plan to identify and meet a foster child's imme-
diate needs. The license holder must collaborate with the placing agency to provide the basic services to the child; 

B. encourage age-appropriate activities, exercise, and recreation for the foster child; 
C.  seek consultation or direction from the placing agency if issues arise that cannot be resolved between the license

holder and the foster child; 
D. explain house rules and tell the foster child about the license holder's expectations about behavior, the care of house-

hold items, and the treatment of others; and
E. know the whereabouts of the child in the license holder's care. The license holder must be guided by the case plan or

court order in determining how closely to supervise the child. The license holder must immediately notify the placing
agency if the child runs away or is missing.

Subp. 7. Foster child diet. A foster child must be provided food and beverages that are palatable, of adequate quantity
and variety, served at appropriate temperatures, and have sufficient nutritional value to promote the child's health. If the
child has a medically prescribed diet, then the license holder must provide the diet as ordered by a physician or other
licensed health care provider.

Subp. 8. Discipline. The license holder must consider the child's abuse history and developmental, cultural, disability,
and gender needs when deciding the disciplinary action to be taken with the child. Disciplinary action must be in keeping
with the license holder's discipline policy. The discipline policy must include the requirements in items A and B.

A. Children must not be subjected to:
(1) corporal punishment, including, but not limited to:  rough handling, shoving, ear or hair pulling, shaking, slapping,

kicking, biting, pinching, hitting, throwing objects at the child, or spanking; 
(2) verbal abuse, including, but not limited to: name calling; derogatory statements about the child or child's family,

race, gender, disability, sexual orientation, religion, or culture; or statements intended to shame, threaten, humiliate, or
frighten the child; 

(3) punishment for lapses in toilet habits, including bed wetting or soiling; 
(4) withholding of basic needs, including, but not limited to: a nutritious diet, drinking water, clothing, hygiene facili-

ties, normal sleeping conditions, proper lighting, educational services, exercise activities, ventilation and proper tempera-
ture, mail, family visits, positive reinforcement, nurturing, or medical care. However, a child who destroys bedding or
clothing, or uses these or other items to hurt the child's self or others, may be deprived of such articles according to the
child's case plan; 

(5) assigning work that is dangerous or not consistent with the child's case plan; 
(6) disciplining one child for the unrelated behavior or action of another, except for the imposition of restrictions on

the child's peer group as part of a recognized treatment program; 
(7) restrictions on a child's communications beyond the restrictions specified in the child's treatment plan or case plan,

unless the restriction is approved by the child's case manager; and
(8) requirements to assume uncomfortable or fixed positions for an extended length of time, or to march, stand, or

kneel as punishment.
B. The license holder:

(1) must not require a child to punish other children; 
(2) must follow the child's case plan regarding discipline; 
(3) must not use mechanical restraints or seclusion, as defined in part 2960.3010, subpart 38, with a foster child; 
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(4) must ensure that the duration of time-out is appropriate to the age of the child; and
(5) must meet the requirements of part 9525.2700, subpart 2, item F, regarding the use of aversive or deprivation pro-

cedures with a foster child who has mental retardation or a related condition.
Subp. 9. Visitation and communication. The license holder must follow the visitation and communication plan in a fos-

ter child's case plan, which was developed by the placing agency and child's parents, or required by court order. In the
absence of a case plan or court order regarding visitation, the license holder must work with the placing agency and the
child's parents to jointly develop a visitation plan.

Subp. 10. Complaints and grievances. The license holder must work with the licensing agency to develop written com-
plaint and grievance procedures for foster children. The procedures must meet at least the following requirements:

A.  the agency or license holder must tell the child and the child's parent or legal representative about the complaint and
grievance procedures and upon request give the child or the child's parent or legal representative a copy of the procedures
and any forms needed to complain or grieve; 

B.  the license holder must notify the placing and licensing agency about a written complaint or grievance and the reso-
lution of the complaint or grievance; and

C. a license holder's response to a complaint or grievance that alleges abuse or neglect must meet the requirements of
the Maltreatment of Minors Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556.

Subp. 11. Discharge. The license holder must work with the child's placing agency to ensure a planned discharge and
compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.212, subdivision 3. Before an unplanned discharge, the license holder
must confer with other interested persons to review the issues involved in the decision. During this review process, which
must not exceed 30 days, the license holder must determine whether the license holder, treatment team, if any, interested
persons, and the child can develop additional strategies to resolve the issues leading to the discharge and to permit the child
an opportunity to continue to receive services from the license holder. If the review indicates that the decision to discharge
is warranted, the reasons for it and the alternatives considered or attempted must be documented. A child may be temporari-
ly removed from the foster home during the review period if the child is a danger to self or others. This subpart does not
apply to a child removed by the placing authority or a parent or guardian.

2960.3090 RESPITE AND SUBSTITUTE CARE FOR FAMILY SETTINGS.
Subpart 1. Notice requirements. In nonemergency situations, the license holder, parent, and placing agency must agree

on respite care and substitute care arrangements within ten working days prior to the use of respite care or substitute care.
In an emergency that may require the use of respite or substitute care, the license holder must notify the placing agency of
the emergency as soon as possible. The license holder must notify the placing agency when respite care or long-term substi-
tute care is being provided.

Subp. 2. Qualifications of long-term substitute caregiver. A substitute caregiver must:
A. be at least 18 years of age; 
B. have completed a background study within the past 12 months; 
C. have no statutory or rule disqualification; 
D. if providing more than 30 cumulative days of substitute care in a 12-month period:

(1) submit a signed statement attesting to good health and being physically able to care for foster children; and
(2) have at least six hours of training or 20 hours of experience in caring for children with the particular needs of the

foster children to be cared for; and
E. provide documentation of medical equipment training on the equipment used to care for the foster child from an

appropriate training source.
Subp. 3. Short-term substitute caregiver. As used in parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, "short-term substitute care" means

less than 72 hours of continuous care for a child. A short-term substitute caregiver does not have to meet the requirements
of subpart 2. However, the foster parent and the placing agency must agree that the short-term substitute caregiver is able to
meet the needs of the foster child. The short-term substitute caregiver must provide documentation of medical equipment
training on the equipment used to care for the foster child from an appropriate training source.

Subp. 4. Information to respite caregiver. The license holder must give a respite care provider the information in items
A to D related to the foster child's health, safety, and welfare:

A. information about the foster child's emotional, behavioral, medical, and physical condition; 
B. any medication the foster child takes; 
C.  the foster child's daily routine and schedule; and
D.  the names and telephone numbers of individuals to contact in case of emergency and information about medical

providers and how to obtain medical care for the child.
Subp. 5. Information to substitute caregivers. The license holder must give a substitute care provider the information

in subpart 4, and in items A to D:
A.  the location of a fire extinguisher and first aid supplies; 
B. emergency and fire evacuation plans; 
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C. information about child abuse and mandatory reporting laws; and
D. if an emergency occurs which involves the foster child, the substitute caregiver must notify the placing agency as

soon as possible about the emergency.
Subp. 6. Overnights and short trips. The license holder must seek direction from the placing agency about whether or

not the foster child may go on overnights or short trips outside the supervision of the license holder.
Subp. 7. Foster residence settings. Foster residence settings may not use respite caregivers, long-term substitute care-

givers, and short-term substitute caregivers. Subparts 1 to 6 do not apply to foster residence settings.

2960.3100 RECORDS.
Subpart 1. Foster care license records. The license holder must cooperate with the licensing agency to ensure the

agency has the following records:
A. a copy of the application for licensure signed by the applicant; 
B. a license holder agreement form supplied by the Department of Human Services which is signed by the applicant and

the agency; 
C.  reports and signed statements from specialists, and signed statements from the license holder, the license holder's

children, and other household members concerning the physical health of the license holder, the license holder's children,
and other household members; 

D. a current completed commissioner's home safety checklist (D.S.-644) plus a written report from the fire marshal on
any specific fire hazards, if required; 

E.  the prelicensing home study and supporting documentation; 
F.  references obtained through the licensing process; 
G. a documented annual evaluation of the licensed foster home, conducted jointly by the license holder and the licens-

ing agency, including, at a minimum:
(1) a review of all foster placements in the past year and an assessment of the impact and outcomes of the placement

on the child, child's family, license holder, and development and implementation of the case plan; 
(2) a review of any comments, suggestions, or concerns raised by placing agencies and an assessment of implications

for training and foster home policies or procedures; 
(3) a review of any grievances, their outcomes, and an assessment of implications for training and foster home policies

or procedures; 
(4) a review of the ability of the license holder to care for children; and
(5) the development of a plan for the next year's foster care training and development; 

H. documentation for any rule variance from this chapter; and
I. a record of training received by the license holder and staff, if any, and foster parents, including a list of training on

medical equipment used to sustain life or monitor a medical condition.
Subp. 2. Foster child records. The license holder must keep a record for each foster child in care. The record must

include the initial inventory of the child's belongings at admission; the child's medical records, which includes records of ill-
nesses and medical care provided to the child; grievance records, including documentation of the grievance resolution; and
other documentation as required by the child's case plan.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER RESIDENCE SETTINGS

2960.3200 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER RESIDENCE SETTING LICENSE HOLDERS.
Subpart 1. Scope. Parts 2960.3200 to 2960.3230 apply to foster homes which are foster residence settings.
Subp. 2. Purpose and applicability. Parts 2960.3200 to 2960.3230 apply to foster homes in which the license holder

does not reside at the licensed foster home. The foster residence setting license holder must meet the requirements of parts
2960.3200 to 2960.3230, in addition to the requirements of parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3100.

Subp. 3. Exemption. The training and orientation requirements of part 2960.3070 do not apply to foster residence set-
tings.

2960.3210 STAFF TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Orientation. The license holder must ensure that all staff attend and successfully complete at least six hours

of orientation training before having unsupervised contact with foster children. The number of hours of orientation training
are not counted as part of the hours of annual training. Orientation training must include at least the topics in items A to F:
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A. emergency procedures, including evacuation routes, emergency telephone numbers, severe storm and tornado proce-

dures, and location of facility alarms and equipment; 
B.  relevant statutes and administrative rules and legal issues, including reporting requirements for abuse and neglect

specified in Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 and 626.557, and other reporting requirements based on the ages of the
children; 

C. cultural diversity and gender sensitivity, culturally specific services, and information about discrimination and racial
bias issues to ensure that caregivers have cultural sensitivity and will be culturally competent to care for children according
to Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.212, subdivision 11; 

D. general and special needs, including disability needs, of children and families served; 
E. operational policies and procedures of the license holder; and
F. data practices regulations and issues.

Subp. 2. Personnel training. The license holder must provide training for staff that is modified annually to meet the cur-
rent needs of individual staff persons. The license holder must develop an annual training plan for employees that addresses
items A to C.

A. Full-time and part-time direct care staff and volunteers must have sufficient training to accomplish their duties. To
determine the type and amount of training an employee needs, the license holder must consider the foster care program's tar-
get population, services the program delivers, and outcomes expected from the services, as well as the employee's position
description, tasks to be performed, and the performance indicators for the position. The license holder and staff who care
for children who rely on medical equipment to sustain life or monitor a medical condition must meet the requirements of
Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.155.

B. Full-time staff who have direct contact with children must complete at least 18 hours of in-service training per year.
One-half of the training must be skill development training. Other foster home staff and volunteers must complete in-ser-
vice training requirements consistent with their duties.

C. Part-time direct care staff must receive sufficient training to competently care for children. The amount of training
must be provided at least at a ratio of one hour of training for each 60 hours worked, up to 18 hours of training per part-time
employee per year.

Subp. 3. Documentation of training. The license holder must document the date and number of hours of orientation and
in-service training completed by each staff person in each topic area and the name of the entity that provided the training.

2960.3220 STAFFING PATTERNS AND PERSONNEL POLICIES.
Subpart 1. Job descriptions. The license holder must have written job descriptions for all position classifications and

post assignments that define the responsibilities, duties, and qualifications staff need to perform those duties. The job
descriptions must be readily available to all staff.

Subp. 2. Recruitment of culturally balanced staff. To the extent permitted by law, it is the license holder's responsibil-
ity to actively recruit, hire, and retain staff who are responsive to the diversity of the population served. If the license hold-
er's staffing plan does not meet the cultural and racial needs of the child, the license holder must document the reasons why
and work with cultural or racial communities to meet the needs of the child. In addition, the license holder must contact a
cultural or racial community group related to the child's racial or cultural minority background and seek information about
how to provide opportunities for the child to associate with adult and peer role models with similar cultural and racial back-
grounds on a regular basis.

Subp. 3. Professional licensure. The license holder must keep records showing that staff's professional licensure which
is related to staff's foster care duties is current.

Subp. 4. Staffing plan. The license holder must prepare and obtain approval from the licensing agency of a written
staffing plan that shows staff assignments and meets the needs of the children in care. The license holder must use the crite-
ria in items A to D to develop the foster home's staffing plan.

A. The license holder must designate a person in charge at each facility.
B. In the temporary absence of the person designated as the person in charge at the facility, a different staff person must

be designated as the person in charge of the facility.
C. The license holder must designate a person to coordinate volunteer services, if volunteers are used by the facility.

The license holder must have a system for registration and identification of volunteers. Volunteers who have unsupervised
contact with children must have a background check. The license holder must require volunteers to agree in writing to abide
by facility policies. Volunteers must be trained and qualified to perform the duties assigned to them.

D. The staffing plan must be appropriate for the program services offered to the children, the physical plant features and
characteristics of the facility, and the condition of the children in care. The license holder must consider the factors in
subitems (1) to (8) when developing the staffing plan:

(1) the age of the children served; 
(2) the children's physical and mental health; 
(3) the vulnerability of the children; 
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(4) the children's capacity for self-preservation in the event of an emergency; 
(5) the degree to which the children may be a threat to self or others; 
(6) the gender of the children; 
(7) disabilities of the children; and
(8) the number and types of service programs offered or coordinated for the children.

Subp. 5. License holder and staff qualifications. The license holder and staff must have the education and experience
required to meet the functions and program activities that the license holder declared in the foster home's statement of
intended use according to part 2960.3000, subpart 4. The license holder must be a responsible, mature, healthy adult who is
able to carry out the license holder's duties. The license holder must be able to accomplish the license holder's duties and
meet the child's needs as stated in the child's case plan. Staff must be at least 21 years of age.

2960.3230 COMMUNICATIONS AND DOCUMENTATION.
Subpart 1. Communication plan. The license holder must have a communication plan that ensures that all important

information about a child is communicated to the license holder and staff. At a minimum, the communication plan must
ensure that:

A.  updated information about the child's needs, condition, care plan changes, medications, incidents, and other informa-
tion which affects the health and safety of the child is documented and made available to staff and other persons who care
for the child; and

B.  staff who help the child meet care plan and treatment plan goals are given the information needed to carry out the
staff's duties to help the child attain care plan and treatment plan goals.

Subp. 2. Documentation. A license holder must:
A. maintain and make available to the commissioner of human services or corrections sufficient documentation to veri-

fy that all requirements of the rules governing the care of the child have been met; 
B. keep and share the child's records according to the requirements of statute; and
C. collect demographic information about children and their families and outcome measures about the success of ser-

vices that meet the requirements of Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, section 60, subdivision 2, clause (1)(iii).

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER CARE SETTINGS THAT
OFFER TREATMENT FOSTER CARE SERVICES

2960.3300 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS.
A foster family setting license holder, who offers treatment foster care services, must meet the requirements of parts

2960.3300 to 2960.3340 in addition to the requirements of parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3100.

2960.3310 ADMISSION, TREATMENT, AND DISCHARGE.
Subpart 1. Generally. Treatment foster care serves children and youth whose special needs would place them at risk of

placement in more restrictive residential settings such as hospitals, psychiatric centers, correctional facilities, or residential
treatment programs.

Subp. 2. Admission. Admission to a treatment foster care home must meet the requirements of items A and B.
A. Admission to a treatment foster care program is based on the recommendation of a licensed professional who is qual-

ified to direct treatment and is familiar with the child's individual needs. The recommendation must be based on a diagnos-
tic evaluation and recognize the reasons the child is at risk for placement in more restrictive residential settings. The recom-
mendation must identify behavioral concerns to be addressed in a treatment plan.

B. Upon admission to a treatment foster care placement, a treatment team must be established for the child. Members
of the treatment team are parents, treatment foster parents, county case manager, licensed professional directing treatment,
treatment foster care social worker, and other persons identified by the team who are needed to develop and execute a com-
prehensive treatment plan.

Subp. 3. Treatment. The child's treatment plan must be developed within ten days of admission and meet the require-
ments in items A to D.

A. The treatment goals in the treatment plan must address the child's needs as determined by a licensed professional
directing treatment. The treatment plan must be consistent with the placement plans in Minnesota Statutes, section
260C.212, the case plan in Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.198, subdivision 5, or service plan in Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tion 256B.092. The child's treatment goals must be measurable and identify desired treatment outcomes. Treatment foster
parents shall document daily observations of the desired treatment outcomes.
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B. The treatment plan must identify treatment strategies to be used with the child by the treatment foster parents.
C. The plan must identify specific supports and services the treatment foster parents will use with the child. Substitute

and respite care services must be addressed in the plan.
D. The treatment team must develop the treatment plan and meet the requirements in subitems (1) to (3).

(1) The treatment foster care social worker shall lead the development and documentation of the treatment plan.
(2) The treatment plan must be reviewed and evaluated every 30 days by the treatment foster parent and the treatment

foster care social worker.
(3) The treatment team must reassess the treatment plan every 90 days. The treatment team must report the child's

progress in attaining treatment goals and update the treatment goals as appropriate. A licensed professional directing the treat-
ment, who must be familiar with the child's individual needs, must review the child's treatment plan and consider the child's
progress toward meeting treatment goals, and provide recommendations about the treatment plan to the treatment team.

Subp. 4. Discharge. The treatment plan must define outcomes and goals that the child needs to meet for discharge from
treatment foster care. The unplanned discharge of a child must follow part 2960.3080, subpart 11. If an unplanned dis-
charge is by the request of the treatment foster parents, the treatment foster care licensing agency shall document the review
and evaluation of the treatment foster parent's skills to determine if the treatment foster parents had the appropriate skills to
care for the discharged child.

2960.3320 TREATMENT FOSTER CARE REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Treatment foster care provider qualifications. In addition to the qualifications in parts 2960.3000 to

2960.3230, treatment foster parents must:
A. have previously been licensed as a foster parent for at least two years or have equivalent experience; 
B. be able to carry out the treatment plan in the foster home; 
C. ensure that the foster family is willing to accept children who need this level of service and are able to accept the

increased involvement and supervision of treatment foster care; 
D. ensure that the foster family is able to work as part of a treatment team to implement in-home treatment strategies

and document the child's progress, as defined by the treatment plan and treatment team; and
E. have the commitment to work with the child, parents, and treatment team to set and implement strategies, which

define outcomes that enable the child to live in the treatment foster home.
Subp. 2. Intended use. The statement of intended use required by part 2960.3000, subpart 4, must indicate that the foster

home will be used as a treatment foster care home. The licensing agency must deem the foster home to be a treatment foster
care home and consider information from the license holder's statement of intended use in the home study.

2960.3330 TREATMENT FOSTER CARE TRAINING.
Subpart 1. Initial training required. Each treatment foster parent must complete the training requirements in items A to C.

A. The treatment foster care social worker, in partnership with the treatment foster parents, shall write a professional
development plan for the treatment foster parent which is based on the training needs of the treatment parents and the child's
individual treatment plan requirements.

B. Each treatment foster care parent must complete 30 hours of primary skill development training prior to accepting a
treatment foster care placement. The content of this training must be about at least the following topics: grief and loss,
attachment, behavioral intervention, child development, discipline, dynamics of child abuse, children's mental health, sub-
stance abuse, cultural competency, treatment plan development and documentation, relationship building with primary fami-
lies, and the role of medication in treatment.

C. Maintain first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification.
Subp. 2. Annual training required. Each treatment foster parent must complete 18 hours of annual training.

A. Annual training must be competency-based and emphasize skill development needed by the foster parent to care for
the individual child placed in the home.

B. The training may be in various formats, including in-home training provided by treatment professionals, group pre-
sentations, or in-service training approved by the placing or licensing agency.

Subp. 3. Exemption. Foster parents who provide treatment foster care and meet the training requirements of this part are
exempt from the training requirements of parts 2960.3070 and 2960.3210.

2960.3340 TREATMENT FOSTER HOME CAPACITY.
Subpart 1. Treatment foster home capacity. The total number of treatment foster care children placed in one home

shall not exceed two unless a variance is granted under subpart 3 for special circumstances. At no time shall a foster home
exceed the capacity limits in part 2960.3030.

Subp. 2. Continuing care. A treatment foster home may continue to provide care for a child after the child has attained
the child's treatment goals to support the permanency goals in the child's case plan.

Subp. 3. Capacity limit variance. The capacity variance conditions must ensure that the foster home will meet the indi-
vidual treatment needs of the children in care and address specific vulnerabilities that may occur when children are placed
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together. The variance must identify added support services that will be offered to the treatment foster family to meet the
needs of each child in the home and tell how the additional support services can be obtained. A variance granted to treat-
ment foster care parents must also meet the requirements in part 2960.3020, subpart 9. A variance may be granted to allow
the capacity of a treatment foster home to exceed two children, if one of the following special circumstances applies:

A.  there is a need to place a sibling group together in the foster home; 
B.  to keep the child in the child's home community; or 
C.  to place a child with foster parents with which the child had been previously placed.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 2925.0100; 2925.0200; 2925.0500; 2925.0600; 2925.0800; 2925.1000; 2925.1200;
2925.1400; 2925.1500; 2925.1600; 2925.1800; 2925.1900; 2925.2000; 2925.2100; 2925.2200; 2925.2300; 2925.2400; 2925.2500;
2925.2600; 2925.2700; 2925.2800; 2925.2900; 2925.2950; 2925.3100; 2925.3300; 2925.3500; 2925.3600; 2925.3700; 2925.3800;
2925.3900; 2925.4000; 2925.4100; 2930.0100; 2930.0200; 2930.0300; 2930.0400; 2930.0500; 2930.0600; 2930.0700; 2930.0800;
2930.0900; 2930.1000; 2930.1100; 2930.1200; 2930.1300; 2930.1400; 2930.1500; 2930.1600; 2930.1700; 2930.1800; 2930.1900;
2930.2000; 2930.2100; 2930.2200; 2930.2300; 2930.2400; 2930.2500; 2930.2600; 2930.2700; 2930.2800; 2930.2900; 2930.3000;
2930.3100; 2930.3200; 2930.3300; 2930.3400; 2930.3500; 2930.3600; 2930.3700; 2930.3800; 2930.3900; 2930.4000; 2930.4100;
2930.4200; 2930.4300; 2930.4400; 2930.4500; 2930.4600; 2930.4700; 2930.4800; 2930.4900; 2930.5000; 2930.5100; 2930.5200;
2930.5300; 2930.5400; 2930.5500; 2930.5600; 2930.5700; 2930.5800; 2930.5900; 2930.6000; 2930.6100; 2930.6200; 2930.6300;
2930.6400; 2930.6500; 2930.6600; 2930.6700; 2930.6800; 2930.6900; 2930.7000; 2930.7100; 2930.7200; 2930.7300; 2930.7400;
2930.7500; 2930.7600; 2930.7700; 2930.7800; 2930.7900; 2930.8000; 2930.8100; 2930.8200; 2930.8300; 2930.8400; 2930.8500;
2930.8600; 2930.8700; 2930.8800; 2930.8900; 2930.9000; 2930.9100; 2930.9200; 2930.9300; 2930.9400; 2930.9500; 2930.9600;
2930.9700; 2930.9800; 2930.9900; 2935.0100; 2935.0200; 2935.0300; 2935.0400; 2935.0410; 2935.0500; 2935.0600; 2935.0700;
2935.0800; 2935.0900; 2935.1000; 2935.1100; 2935.1200; 2935.1300; 2935.1400; 2935.1500; 2935.1600; 2935.1700; 2935.1800;
2935.1900; 2935.2000; 2935.2100; 2935.2200; 2935.2300; 2935.2400; 2935.2500; 2935.2600; 2935.2700; 2935.2800; 2935.2900;
2935.3000; 2935.3100; 2935.3200; 2935.3300; 2935.3400; 2935.3500; 2935.3600; 2935.3700; 2935.3800; 2935.3900; 2935.4000;
2935.4100; 2935.4200; 2935.4300; 2935.4310; 2935.4320; 2935.4330; 2935.4400; 2935.4500; 2935.4600; 2935.4700; 2935.4800;
2935.4900; 2935.5000; 2935.5100; 2935.5200; 2935.5300; 2935.5400; 2935.5500; 2935.5600; 2935.5700; 2935.5800; 2935.5900;
2935.6000; 2935.6100; 2935.6200; 2935.6300; 2935.6400; 2935.6500; 2935.6600; 2935.6700; 2935.6800; 2935.6900; 2935.7000;
2935.7100; 2950.0100; 2950.0110; 2950.0120; 2950.0130; 2950.0135; 2950.0140; 2950.0150; 2950.0160; 2950.0200; 2950.0300;
2950.0310; 2950.0320; 2950.0330; 2950.0400; 2950.0500; 2950.0510; 2950.0600; 2950.0610; 2950.0620; 2950.0700; 2950.0720;
2950.0800; 2950.0810; 2950.0820; 2950.0840; 2950.0850; 2950.0860; 2950.0870; 2950.0880; 2950.0890; 2950.0895; 2950.0900;
2950.0910; 2950.0920; 2950.0930; 2950.0940; 2950.0950; 2950.0960; 2950.1000; 2950.1100; 2950.1200; 2950.1300; 2950.1400;
2950.1500; 2950.1600; 2950.1700; 2950.1800; 2950.1900; 9530.4450; 9545.0010; 9545.0020; 9545.0030; 9545.0040; 9545.0050;
9545.0060; 9545.0070; 9545.0080; 9545.0090; 9545.0100; 9545.0110; 9545.0120; 9545.0130; 9545.0140; 9545.0150; 9545.0160;
9545.0170; 9545.0180; 9545.0190; 9545.0200; 9545.0210; 9545.0220; 9545.0230; 9545.0240; 9545.0250; 9545.0260; 9545.0905;
9545.0915; 9545.0925; 9545.0935; 9545.0945; 9545.0955; 9545.0965; 9545.0975; 9545.0985; 9545.0995; 9545.1005; 9545.1015;
9545.1025; 9545.1035; 9545.1045; 9545.1055; 9545.1065; 9545.1075; 9545.1085; 9545.1095; 9545.1105; 9545.1115; 9545.1125;
9545.1200; 9545.1210; 9545.1220; 9545.1230; 9545.1240; 9545.1250; 9545.1260; 9545.1270; 9545.1280; 9545.1290; 9545.1300;
9545.1310; 9545.1320; 9545.1400; 9545.1410; 9545.1420; 9545.1430; 9545.1440; 9545.1450; 9545.1460; 9545.1470; and
9545.1480, are repealed effective January 1, 2004.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.3340, are effective January 1, 2004.

INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE: Part 2960.0460, subpart 7: Evaluation process established by the Certification
Reciprocity Consortium Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc., published in the Case Presentation Method Trainers Manual, copy-
right 1993, is available at the State Law Library, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155.
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Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Continuing Education

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 27, Number 10, pages 319-327, September 3, 2002 (27 SR 319), are
adopted with the following modifications:

2500.1110 LICENSE TERMINATION PROCEDURE.
Subpart 1. For failure to renew license. A license expires if it is not renewed by midnight of December 31 of any

calendar year for any of the following reasons:
C. failure to complete all continuing education requirements.

An expired license is not considered a disciplined license solely as a result of the expiration.
An expired license whisch continues to remain expired by reason of failure to comply with as a result of item A, B,

or C must be terminated according to this part. A terminated license is not considered a disciplined license solely as a result
of the termination.

Adopted Rules
A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes §§14.05-14.28 have been met and five working days after the rule

is published in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule.

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a citation to its previous State
Register publication will be printed.

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will
be underlined. The rule’s previous State Register publication will be cited.

Expedited and Emergency Expedited Rules
Provisions for the Commissioner of Natural Resources to adopt emergency expedited Game and Fish Rules are specified in Minnesota

Statutes §§ 84.027. The commissioner may adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the Commissioner to
comply with the requirements for emergency rules. The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must
publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions. Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions. Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.
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Department of Agriculture
Rural Finance Authority

Notice of Meeting Schedule, Meeting via Conference Call
Future monthly meetings of the Rural Finance Authority Board are scheduled for 1:00 P.M. at 90 West Plato Blvd. on the follow-

ing dates in 2003: January 8, February 5; March 5; April 2; May 7; June 4; July 2; August 6; September 3; October 1; November 5;
December 3.

Some Members may participate in certain of these meetings by electronic means. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes Sec.
471.705 (1997), the Agency, to the extent practicable, will allow a person to monitor those certain meetings electronically from a
remote location. If such monitoring shall occur, the Agency may require the person making such a connection to pay for docu-
mented marginal costs that the Agency incurs as a result of the additional connection. For additional information, contact Wayne
Marzolf, MN Dept. of Agriculture, 90 W. Plato Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55107 or call 651-296-1748.

Curtis Pietz
RFA Director

Minnesota State Arts Board
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota State Arts Board is Seeking Comment on

Proposed Rule Amendments
Request for Comments on possible amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1900:

• Rules governing procedures and criteria for receiving, considering, and reviewing requests for, and distribution of, grants
and other forms of assistance

• Rules governing procedures and criteria to conduct a decentralized system of providing grants and other forms of assis-
tance at the grass roots level

Subject of rules. The Minnesota State Arts Board requests comments on its possible amendments to rules that establish:

• Eligibility requirements for the Institutional Support program;

• Eligibility requirements for the Institutional Presenter Support program;

• Process for an organization to receive council designation through challenge to an existing council;

• Reporting requirements for regional arts councils.

Persons affected. The first two amendments would likely affect Minnesota nonprofit organizations that produce, present, or
exhibit art, or provide services to artists. The second two amendments would likely affect Minnesota's eleven regional arts councils.

Statutory authority. Minnesota Statute 129D.04, subdivision 1, authorizes the Minnesota State Arts Board to:

Subd 1.(e) promulgate by rule procedures to be followed by the board in receiving and reviewing requests for 
grants, loans or other forms of assistance; 

Subd 1.(f) promulgate by rule standards consistent with this chapter to be followed by the board in the distri-
bution of grants, loans, and other forms of assistance;

Subd 1.(i) serve as a fiscal agent to disburse appropriations for regional arts councils throughout the state.

Public comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comment or information on these possible rules in writing until
further notice is published in the State Register that the Minnesota State Arts Board intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. The
Arts Board does not contemplate appointing an advisory committee to comment on the possible rules.

Rules draft. The Minnesota State Arts Board has prepared a draft of the possible rules amendments.

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking. The State Register also
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest.
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Official Notices
Agency contact person. Written comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules, and requests for more information

on these possible rules should be directed to Sue Gens, Minnesota State Arts Board, Park Square Court, Suite 200, 400 Sibley
Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55101-1928.

Phone (651) 215-1600 or (800) 866-2787
TTY (651) 215-6235
Fax (651) 215-1602
E-mail sue.gens@arts.state.mn.us.

Alternative format. Upon request, this request for comments can be made available in an alternate format. To make such a
request, please contact the agency contact person at the mailing address, telephone numbers, or electronic address listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted
to the administrative law judge when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required to submit to the judge only those
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you submitted comments during the development of
the rules and you want to ensure that the administrative law judge reviews the comments, you should resubmit the comments after
the rules are formally proposed.

Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
Notice of Meeting of the Enrollee Appeal Committee

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a meeting of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association's (MCHA), Enrollee
Appeal Committee will be held at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, January 13, 2003, at the MCHA executive office located at 5775 Wayzata
Blvd., Suite 910, St. Louis Park, MN.

This meeting may be closed to the public, if so requested by the appellant, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 62E.10, subd. 4.

For additional information, please call Lynn Gruber at (952) 593-9609.

Department of Military Affairs
Office of the Judge Advocate

Notice of Adoption of Minnesota Rules for Courts-Martial
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT: (1) Under the authority of the Governor of Minnesota, the Minnesota Rules for Courts-

Martial have been promulgated pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 192.A. 20 and became effective December 16, 2002.

(2) These rules will be used in non-judicial punishment and court-martial actions taken by the Minnesota National Guard pur-
suant Minnesota Statutes Chapter 192.A.

(3) Copies of the rules may be obtained by contacting the Office of the Judge Advocate, Minnesota National Guard at (651) 
282-4612.

(4) The rules will be available for review at the Minnesota National Guard web site: www.dma.state.mn.us.

Public Employees Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting of the Board of Trustees

A meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) will be held on Thursday,
January 9, 2002, at 9:30 a.m., in the PERA offices, 60 Empire Drive, Room 117, Saint Paul, Minnesota.
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Minnesota Veterans Homes Board
Request for Comments on Possible Amendments to Rules on the Governance of the

Minnesota Veterans Homes, Minnesota Rules, 9050.0040; 9050.0055; 9050.0070;
9050.0150; 9050.0200; 9050.0220; 9050.0230; 9050.0400; 9050.0500; 9050.0550;
9050.0560; 9050.0600; 9050.0650; 9050.0710; 9050.0720; 9050.0750; 9050.0800;
9050.0820; 9050.0900; 9050.1070

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Veterans Homes Board (MVH) requests comments on its possible amendment to rules govern-
ing the Minnesota Veterans Homes operation. MVH is considering rules and rule amendments that add new or modify existing def-
initions; obtain compliance with statutory changes; and make technical corrections. The changes will permit MVH to start collect-
ing financial data on prospective residents prior to their admission so as to allow for more accurate billing; modify management of
the waiting lists to permit more accurate usage of them; limit the time a bed may be reserved prior to the residents admission; and
eliminate the exception for a bed hold. The rules will simplify the involuntary discharge procedures and language; modify the com-
position of the utilization review committee to reflect actual facility physician staffing; clarify the handling of resident's receipt of
lump sum government benefits. The definition of a substantial change in the financial status of a person will be clarified as will the
handling of resident's or spousal non-salable real property. The motor vehicle property exclusions will be clarified; and the Board
will be authorized to review on an annual basis the burial account maximum exclusions and modify as necessary. The rule changes
will clarify that the value of personal property needed to produce income for a business or farm is excluded from consideration; and
how fraudulent transfers of property or assets are handled and the effect of such transfers on maintenance charges and spousal
allowances. Income not otherwise mentioned will be clarified to be included in the gross income calculations. The rules will elimi-
nate duplicative language in the exclusions from income section; authorize as an income exclusion only pre-existing debt that is
related to long-term care that was received within 30 days prior to the resident's admission while prohibiting consideration of all
other types of consumer debt. The allowances for dependent children will be clarified. A spouse who is seeking a spousal
allowance must disclose their assets in a timely manner. The rules will establish Board authority to annually review and adjust
spousal allowance basic needs and personal need expenditure maximums. Home maintenance allowances will be limited to mainte-
nance of the home, not remodeling except as needed for handicapped access. The expenditure of income or assets for purchase of
life insurance policies after admission to a Home will be prohibited. It will be clarified that monetary investment instruments and
accounts that are income producing are excluded from income calculations; increase the level of disclosure for spousal assets in
existence in the 12 months prior to the residents admission. Spouses will be prohibited from transferring assets - to any one other
than the resident, after the resident's admission unless the sale of the assets is used to support the spouse or dependent. The rules will
permit a legal representative to be present at financial interviews if the resident or applicant is unable to participate in the meeting;
and authorize pre-admission verification of financial information of an applicant for admission. An applicant's admission to the
Home will be prohibited unless complete financial data is provided and all authorization forms are completed on or by admission
day. Only non-skilled residents will be authorized to keep a motor vehicle at a Home.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect current and future potential residents of the Minnesota
Veterans Homes, the resident's spouses and dependent children, veteran service organizations and individuals or groups advising
veterans and their families.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 198.003, Subd. 1, authorizes MVH to adopt, amend or repeal rules for the
governance of the Veterans Homes.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writing until
further notice is published in the State Register that MVH intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. MVH does contemplate
appointing an advisory committee to comment on the rules. It is anticipated that the advisory committee will initially meet in early
February 2003.

Rules Drafts. MVH has prepared a draft of the possible amendments.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules, and requests for more informa-
tion on these possible rules should be directed to: Diane Madsen at Veterans Homes Board, 20 West 12th Street, Room 122, St.
Paul, MN 55155. Phone: (651) 215-9010; Fax: (651) 296-6177 and email dimadsen@mvhmail.mvh.state.mn.us . A copy of the
draft rules may also be obtained on the agency web site at http://www.mvh.state.mn.us

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Request for Comments can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number
listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted
to the administrative law judge when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required to submit to the judge only those
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State Contracts
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you submitted comments during the development of
the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews the comments, you should resubmit the comments after
the rules are formally proposed.

Dated:  23 December 2002

Stephen J. Musser, Executive Director
Minnesota Veterans Homes Board

Department of Administration
Division of State Building Construction

Notice of Availability of Request for Qualifications (RFQ) and Fee Schedule for
Professional Services of Minnesota Registered Architects, Engineers, Land Surveyors,
Landscape Architects, and Geoscientists

The State of Minnesota through its Department of Administration, Division of State Building Construction ("State") is soliciting
qualifications and fee schedules for the services of Minnesota registered architects, engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects,
and geoscientists  ("Consultant") to assist the State in providing studies, predesign, design documents, construction documents, con-
struction administration, land surveys, geoscientist and project-related professional services. These projects will be varied in nature
and scope and will involve new construction and remodeling, which includes but is not limited to buildings, commissioning,
bridges, roadways, and land development.

State agency construction projects requiring a primary designer will have an estimated cost of construction of no greater than
$750,000.00. A study, report or predesign for a state agency planning project will have a Consultant estimated fee no greater than
$60,000.00. Higher education construction projects requiring a primary designer will have an estimated cost of construction of no
greater than $2,000,000.00; and a study, report or predesign for a planning project will have a Consultant estimated fee no greater
than $200,000.00. Projects requiring a primary designer in excess of the above-stated amounts will be selected by the State
Designer Selection Board in accordance with Minnesota Statutes §16B.33.

All qualified firms responding to the RFQ will be added to the State's current Master Roster for use by the State through June 30,
2007. All qualified firms submitting a fee schedule will also be offered a Master Contract that will be effective for five years. At
the State's option, it may use either the Master Roster or a Master Contract to obtain services identified in the RFQ. The State
reserves the right to not use the Master Roster or Master Contracts if it is considered in its best interest.

The full Request for Qualifications and Fee Schedule is available at http://www.dsbc.admin.state.mn.us, click on "Solicitation
Announcements". All responses and fee schedules must be received no later than 3:00 p.m., Central Standard Time, on Monday,
February 3, 2003. Late responses will not be considered.

Firms not already on the State's Master Roster may respond to the RFQ. A list of firms currently on the State's Master Roster is
available on State's Web Site http://www.dsbc.admin.state.mn.us, click on Consultant Master Roster. If you are already on the
Master Roster, do not respond to the RFQ. Firms currently on the Master Roster will be given an opportunity at a later date to
submit qualifying information to add additional experience categories.

Questions may be faxed to the attention of Sharon Schmidt, Contracts Officer, at (651) 296-7650 or emailed to
sharon.schmidt@state.mn.us. Questions must be received no later than Tuesday January 21, 2003. RFQ clarifications or changes
and a response to questions will be available by Monday, January 27, 2003, on Web Site http://www.dsbc.admin.state.mn.us, click
on "Solicitation Announcements". This is the only person authorized to respond to questions regarding his RFQ.

State Contracts
Informal Solicitations: Effective March 1, 2002, informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over $5,000
through $50,000, may either be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administration, Materials Management Division’s
(MMD) website. Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T Contract section of the MMD website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for
informal solicitation announcements.

Formal Solicitations: Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announcements for contracts with an estimated
value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in the State Register. Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State
College and University institutions are exempt from these requirements.
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Department of Transportation
Program Support Group

Notice Concerning Professional/Technical Contract Opportunities
NOTICE TO ALL: The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is now placing additional public notices for pro-

fessional/technical contract opportunities on Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services website at: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be available for the time period as indicated within the
public notice.

Minnehaha Creek Watershed District
Request for Proposal to Conduct an Audit and Develop a 5-Year Strategic Plan for the

District’s Education and Communication Programs
The Minnehaha Creek Watershed District is soliciting proposals for consulting services to conduct an audit and develop a 5-year

strategic plan of the education and communication programs of the District.

Proposals must be submitted to the District Office at 18202 Minnetonka Boulevard, Deephaven, MN 55391 by 4:30 p.m. CST, on
January 24, 2003 and should include background and profile information on the firm or individual, along with the specific informa-
tion as to expertise in conducting an education and communication audit and developing a 5-year strategic plan, project costs,
hourly billing rate for 2003, and names and qualifications of personnel assigned to the project.

A formal Request for Proposal is available at the District Office at 18202 Minnetonka Boulevard, Deephaven, MN 55391.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid
Information Services (BIS). Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year. Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
(612) 625-5534.

Request for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454.

Non-State Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector. The State Register meets state and

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices. Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts
and requests for proposals from the private sector. It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1) name of contact person;
2) institution name, address, and telephone number; 3) brief description of project and tasks; 4) cost estimate; and 5) final submission date of
completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).
Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact the editor for further details.
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