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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions

Volume 24, Issue  40
(Issues #1-39 cumulative appeared in issue #39)

Health Dept
4600.0100; .0200; 0300; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; .0900;

.1000; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1400; .1500; .1600; .1700; .1900;

.2000; .2100; .2200; .2300; .2400; .2500; .2600; .2700; .2800;

.2900; .3000; .3100; .3200; .3300; .3400; .3500; .3600; .3700;

.3800; .4000; .4100; .4200; .4300; .4400; .4500; .4600; .4700;

.4800; .4900; .5000; .5100; .5200; .5300; .5400; .5500; .4800;

.4900; .5000; .5100; .5200; .5300; .5400; .5500; .5600; .5700;

.5800; .5900; .6000; .6100; .6200; .6300; .6400; .6500; .6600;

.6700 (proposed repealer)............................................................. 1379
4601.0100; .0200; .0300; .0400; .0500; .0600; .0700; .0800; .0900;

.1000; .1100; .1200; .1300; .1400; .1500; .1600; .1700; .1800;

.1900; .2000; .2100; .2200; .2300; 02400; .2500; .2525; .2550; 
.2600; (proposed) .......................................................................... 1379

Natural Resources Department
6216.0350 (adopted expedited emergency) .................................... 1421

Nursing Board
6305.0400; .0500; 6310.2800; .2810; .2900; .3000; .3100; .3200;

.3600; .3700 (proposed) ................................................................. 1399
6310.2600; s. 1b, 5b; 6330.0100; .0200; .0300; .0350; .0500

(proposed repealer)...................................................................... 1399

Transportation
8820.0100; .0600; .1400; .1500; .2300; .2500; .2700; .3100;

.9920; .9926; .9936; .9946; .9956; .9961; .9981; .9986; .9990;

.9995 (proposed) ............................................................................ 1404

NOTICE:  How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register

The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages.  State agencies are
required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register.  Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and
participate in the important rulemaking process.  Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules.  Each agency is assigned specific
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers.  Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  The current 1997 set is a 13-volume bound col-
lection of all adopted rules in effect at the time.  Supplements are published to update this set of rules.  Generally speaking, proposed and adopted
exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the State Register.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter
of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice in
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules.  This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules and with-
drawn proposed rules are also published in the State Register.  After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten
into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety in the State
Register, only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules.  To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two
issues of the State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted.  For a more detailed description of the rulemaking
process, see the most current edition of the Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services.

The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule:  issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-25
inclusive; issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26; issues #27-38 inclusive; issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39; issues #40-51 inclusive; and issue 52
(or 53 in some years), cumulative for issues #1-52 (or 53).  An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but start-
ing with Volume 19 now appears in the final issue of each volume.  For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota's Bookstore,
117 University Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757.
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Department of Health
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Vital Statistics
DUAL NOTICE:  Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons

Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing If 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received
Proposed Repeal of Rules Governing Vital Records, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4600 and replacing it with

Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4601

Introduction. The Department of Health intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings,
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules
within 30 days or by 4:30 p.m. on May 3, 2000, a public hearing will be held in the Chesley Room, Minnesota Department of
Health, 717 Delaware Street Southeast, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55414 starting at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, May 18, 2000.  To find
out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact person
after May 3, 2000 and before May 18, 2000.

Agency Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is Gloria Haluptzok at the Minnesota Department of Health,
717 Delaware Street Southeast, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55414, phone:  612-676-5109, FAX:  612-676-5264, or email:
gloria.haluptzok@health.state.mn.us.  TTY users may call the Department of Health at 651-215-5800.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. According to the Vital Statistics Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.211 to
144.227, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is responsible for creating and maintaining the official records of each birth
and death that occurs in Minnesota. MDH collects descriptive and medical information about births and deaths for civil registration,
public health initiatives, statistical analysis, and research activities. The proposed rules govern the collection, filing, registering,
maintenance, and reporting of vital statistics information including duties of the state and local registrars, fees, filing documentation
of births and deaths, filing delayed registrations for births and deaths, amendments to birth and death records, fetal death reporting,
the roles of funeral homes, hospitals and physicians in the filing, registration, and amendment processes, standardized format for
certified birth and death certificates as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 8, and demonstration of tangi-
ble interest as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7. The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota
Statutes, section 144.12, subdivision 1, clause 11; Minnesota Statutes, section 144.213, subdivision 1, Minnesota Statutes, section

Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments
An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject

matter of a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this by pub-
lishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the
effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing
After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the rule, an agency drafts its rule.  It then publishes its rules with a

notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may
do so at the hearing, or within five working days of the close of the hearing.  Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend the
period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the agency and interested persons
may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period and the record then is closed.  The administrative law
judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, conclusions and recommendations.  After receiving the report, the agency
decides whether to adopt, withdraw or modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing proce-
dure and the report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing  
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing.

An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public.  The agency then pub-
lishes a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register.  If, during the 30-day
comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the
provisions of §§ 14.14-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.
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144.215, subdivision 2, and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.221, subdivision 2.  A copy of the proposed rules is published in the
State Register. A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, May 3, 2000 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to
the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person
by the due date. Comment is encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason
for the comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would
like to make on the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on May 3, 2000.
Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed rules
to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not
valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged to state
the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the with-
drawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing
process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing and the adopted
rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged
to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for May 18, 2000 will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests from
25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules.  If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the
scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at 612-676-5109 after May
3, 2000 to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The hearing will be held on the date and at the time and place
listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard.  Administrative Law Judge Phyllis Reha is
assigned to conduct the hearing.  Judge Phyllis Reha can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington
Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, telephone 612-341-7602, and FAX 612-349-2665.

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in
writing at any time before the close of the hearing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public
hearing ends.  This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.  Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day response period during which
the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be
submitted during the five-day response period.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be
received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will
be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts
1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  Questions about procedure may be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or
during the comment or response period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  The statement may also be reviewed and
copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from either the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings.
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KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure
Board at: First Floor South, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 651-296-5148 or
1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment
period.  The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.
You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy
of the adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the
agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing, record, the Administrative Law Judge
will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the Administrative Law Judge’s report will
become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rules and files them with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Dated: 16 March 2000

Julie Brunner
Deputy Commissioner

4601.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1.  Scope. For purposes of parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600, the terms used have the meanings given them in this part.

Subp. 2. Amendment. “Amendment” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivision 1a.

Subp. 3. Certified birth certificate. “Certified birth certificate” means the portion of a registered birth record, certified by a
registrar, printed in a standardized format according to parts 4601.2500 and 4601.2525 and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225,
subdivision 8, and subject to tangible interest requirements under part 4601.2600 and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivi-
sion 7.

Subp. 4. Certified death certificate. “Certified death certificate” means the portion of a registered death record, certified by a
registrar, printed in a standardized format according to parts 4601.2500 and 4601.2550 and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225,
subdivision 8, and subject to tangible interest requirements under part 4601.2600 and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivi-
sion 7.

Subp. 5. Civil registration information. “Civil registration information” means the portion of a birth record describing the reg-
istrant and the date and place of birth.  Civil registration information includes fact of birth and demographic information.  Civil reg-
istration information does not include health information as defined under subpart 14.

Subp. 6. Date. “Date” means month, day, and year.

Subp. 7. Date filed. “Date filed” means the date a vital record is presented for registration.

Subp. 8. Delayed registration.  “Delayed registration” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivi-
sion 2a.

Subp. 9. Demographic information. “Demographic information” means information required by the state registrar to describe
characteristics of a registrant, the family of a registrant, and geographic locations pertinent to a registrant and a birth or death.
Demographic information does not include health information as defined under subpart 14.

Subp. 10. Fact of birth information. “Fact of birth information” means information required by the state registrar to record the
time and place a birth occurs and to identify the person born.  Fact of birth information does not include health information as
defined under subpart 14.

Subp. 11.  Fact of death information.  “Fact of death information” means information required by the state registrar to record
the time and place a death occurs and to identify the person who is deceased.  Fact of death information does not include cause and
manner of death information.
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Subp. 12. Fetal death. “Fetal death” means death of a product of human conception before the complete expulsion or extraction

from its mother, irrespective of the duration of pregnancy, that is not an induced termination of pregnancy.  The death is indicated
by the fact that after expulsion or extraction, the fetus does not breathe or show any other evidence of life, including beating of the
heart, pulsation of the umbilical cord, or definite movement of the voluntary muscles.  Heartbeats are to be distinguished from tran-
sient cardiac contractions.  Respirations are to be distinguished from fleeting respiratory efforts or gasps.

Subp. 13. Funeral establishment. “Funeral establishment” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.02, sub-
division 20.

Subp. 14. Health information. “Health information” means medical or statistical information from which an identification of
risk for disease, disability, or developmental delay in a mother or child can be made.

Subp. 15. Induced termination of pregnancy. “Induced termination of pregnancy” means the purposeful interruption of an
intrauterine pregnancy, with the intention other than to produce a live-born infant, that does not result in a live birth.  This definition
excludes management of prolonged retention of products of conception following fetal death.

Subp. 16. Institution. “Institution” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.215, subdivision 5.

Subp. 17. Live birth. “Live birth” means the complete expulsion or extraction of a product of human conception from its
mother, irrespective of the duration of pregnancy, that, after expulsion or extraction, breathes, or shows any other evidence of life,
including beating of the heart, pulsation of the umbilical cord, or definite movement of voluntary muscles, whether or not the umbil-
ical cord has been cut or the placenta is attached.  Heartbeats are to be distinguished from transient cardiac contractions.
Respirations are to be distinguished from fleeting respiratory efforts or gasps.

Subp. 18. Notarized statement.  “Notarized statement” means a statement attested by a notary public who has fulfilled the
requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sections 358.41 to 358.50 and chapter 359.

Subp. 19. Physician. “Physician” means a person with a valid license in good standing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147,
to practice medicine as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 147.081, subdivision 3, or a person currently licensed in good
standing to practice medicine under the laws of the person’s resident state or the state where the person is actively practicing medi-
cine.

Subp. 20. Register. “Register” means the acceptance of a birth or a death record by a registrar as the official record of the birth
or death.

Subp. 21. Registrant. “Registrant” means the subject of a birth or death record.

Subp. 22. Registrar. “Registrar” means a local registrar as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivision 10,
or the state registrar as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivision 6.

Subp. 23. Subregistrar. “Subregistrar” means a licensed mortician who is authorized to issue a disposition permit or a transit
permit as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.93.

Subp. 24. System of vital statistics. “System of vital statistics” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212,
subdivision 7.

Subp. 25. Vital record. “Vital record” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivision 8.

Subp. 26. Vital statistics. “Vital statistics” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.212, subdivision 9.

4601.0200 DUTIES OF STATE REGISTRAR.

According to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 and the Vital Statistics Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.211 to 144.227, the
state registrar must:

A.  administer and enforce parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 and the Vital Statistics Act and issue instructions for the efficient
administration of the system of vital statistics;

B.  work in partnership with local registrars to maintain a system of vital statistics;

C.  be the custodian of records of the system of vital statistics, including establishing a retention schedule for all information
maintained in the system of vital statistics;

D.  establish operating procedures for the system of vital statistics;

E.  conduct training programs to promote uniformity of policy and procedures throughout the state in matters pertaining to the
system of vital statistics;

F.  develop and make available electronic and paper input and output forms for the submission, processing, and issuance of
birth and death records;



Proposed Rules

PAGE 1383(CITE 24 S.R. 1383) State Register, Monday 3 April 2000

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

G.  establish a centralized electronic system for the processing of birth and death records, including reports of fetal deaths;

H.  approve and order security paper for statewide use to print certified birth or death certificates according to part 4601.2500
and Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 8;

I.  develop and implement procedures for local registrars to order the security paper described in item H;

J.  obtain legal interpretations from the Office of the Attorney General when needed for issues related to processing birth,
death, and fetal death records and receiving marriage and divorce data according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.223 and
144.224, and relay legal interpretations to local registrars; and

K.  delegate duties and responsibilities to local registrars to ensure the efficientt and secure operation of thesystem of vital sta-
tistics.

4601.0300 DUTIES OF LOCAL REGISTRARS.

According to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 and the Vital Statistics Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.211 to 144.227, a local
registrar must:

A.  work in partnership with the state registrar to maintain a system of vital statistics;

B.  attend training conducted by the state registrar at least once per year;

C.  actively support and promote uniformity of policy and procedures throughout the state in matters pertaining to the system
of vital statistics;

D.  use and actively support the use of the centralized electronic system of the state registrar for all vital records processing,
including:

(1) actively promote the use of the system by funeral directors, hospitals, physicians, and other health care providers in the
local registrar’s county; and

(2) support electronic ordering of and payment for certified death certificates by funeral directors;

E.  be in compliance with the requirements of parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600; the Vital Statistics Act; the Minnesota
Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13; and other state or federal laws or regulations that apply to the
system of vital statistics;

F.  refuse to accept a birth or death electronic or paper input form if the form is incomplete, inaccurate, illegible, or mutilated.
The registrar must clearly communicate to the person filing the birth or death record why the electronic or paper input form is not
acceptable and must provide the person with refiling instructions;

G.  process birth, death, and fetal death records, including entering the data into the electronic system of the state registrar;

H.  maintain paper birth and death records that are not part of the electronic system of the state registrar according to the reten-
tion schedule established by the state registrar;

I.  issue certified birth and death certificates;

J.  issue noncertified copies of birth and death records and provide other services related to vital records;

K.  order security paper approved by the state registrar to print certified birth and death certificates;

L.  amend and replace birth records and amend death records as instructed by the state registrar;

M.  act as an agent of the state registrar and provide assistance to funeral directors, hospitals, physicians and other health care
providers, and other individuals in matters related to the system of vital statistics;

N.  refer matters related to the system of vital statistics according to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 and as instructed by the
state registrar;

O.  comply with the procedures established by the state registrar; and

P.  perform other duties as instructed by the state registrar.
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4601.0400 FEES. 

Subpart 1. Statutory fees.  Fees for the following services related to vital records are in the amounts prescribed under Minnesota
Statutes, section 144.226:

A.  for issuing a copy, verification, or certification of a vital record, including a certification that a record cannot be found;

B.  for replacing a birth record; 

C.  for filing a delayed registration;

D.  for amending a vital record; and

E.  for copying a document pertaining to a vital record.

Subp. 2. Multiple copies. If a person requests multiple copies of a record or certified birth or death certificate in the same trans-
action, the fee for each additional copy of an identical record or certified birth or death certificate is $2, plus any applicable sur-
charges under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.

Subp. 3. Replacing a birth record; adoption. The fee for replacing a birth record following adoption is $20.

Subp. 4. Expedited fee. For a service that is not requested in person, a registrar may charge a fee of $20 to expedite the comple-
tion of a service related to a vital record if the requester wants the service completed faster than the service would be completed
during the ordinary course of business.  If a person is requesting multiple services related to the same record, the expedited fee is
$20 for that record.  If the person is requesting a service for multiple records, the expedited fee is multiplied by the number of
records.  A registrar must not expedite a service and must not accept or must refund an expedited fee if the applicable requirements
of parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 are not met by the requester at the time of the request.

Subp. 5. Reports of vital record data. A registrar must charge a fee of $15 for a report that displays public birth or death data if
the generation of that report is an automated feature of the electronic system of the state registrar.  Data included in a report under
this subpart are limited to one type of record, a time span of no greater than one year, and one county.  Upon request, a registrar
must provide a list of reports available.

Subp. 6. Fees waived.

A.  When a fee for an amendment is charged according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226, and a certified birth or death
certificate is issued in the same transaction, a registrar must waive the fee for the certified birth or death certificate if the person
requesting the amendment and the certified birth or death certificate surrenders a previously issued certificate that is in error.
Surcharges under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226, apply.

B.  A registrar must waive the fee for a report described in subpart 5 if:

(1) the report will be used by the Department of Health or by local government in the county where the report is generated; or

(2) the report will be used by the state registrar to fulfill a contractual obligation.

4601.0500 NO FURTHER DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED.

The state or local registrar is not required to obtain further documentation to verify the contents of a birth or death record, except
as provided under parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600.

BIRTH RECORDS

4601.0600 FILING DOCUMENTATION OF BIRTH WITHIN FIRST YEAR OF BIRTH.

Subpart 1. Births occurring in institution.  According to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.215, subdivision 5, the person in
charge of an institution or that person’s authorized designee must collect the required birth information, verify the accuracy of the
information, and file documentation of birth with a registrar according to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 for each birth that occurs in
the institution and for each birth that occurs en route to the institution.

Subp. 2. Births occurring outside institution. According to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.215, subdivision 6, when a birth
occurs outside of an institution, one of the following persons, in the indicated order of preference, must collect the required birth
information, verify the accuracy of the information, and file documentation of birth with a registrar according to subpart 6:

A.  the physician or certified nurse midwife present at the time of the birth or immediately thereafter;

B.  in the absence of a physician or certified nurse midwife, a person present at the time of the birth or immediately thereafter;

C.  the father or mother of the child; or

D.  in the absence or inability of the father or the mother, the person with primary responsibility for the premises where the
child was born.
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Subp. 3. Infants of unknown parentage. According to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.216, subdivision 1, whoever finds a live
born infant of unknown parentage must file documentation of the birth with a registrar according to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600.
Whoever assumes custody of a live born infant of unknownparentage must contact the state registrar and provide any information
required that was not provided by the person who found the infant.

Subp. 4. Birth information required. The person filing the documentation of birth must include the following birth information:

A.  For a birth filed under subpart 1 or 2 or part 4601.0900, fact of birth, demographic, and health information associated with
the birth as prescribed on an input birth record form supplied by the state registrar.  A registrar may waive a birth information
requirement if the person filing the documentation of birth can demonstrate that:

(1) the information is not available through reasonable inquiries;

(2) providing the information endangers the safety of the mother or child;

(3) the mother of the child refuses to provide the information; or

(4) the services of a health care provider were not used for prenatal care or delivery.

B.  If birth information requirements are waived according to item A, at least the following information must be provided:

(1) date and county of birth;

(2) child’s sex; 

(3) birth order if multiple birth; and

(4) first name, middle name, and maiden surname of mother.

C.  For infants of unknown parentage, the persons identified in subpart 3 must provide as much fact of birth information as
possible.  A registrar must register a birth record according to the following:

(1) if the actual date of birth cannot be determined, the date found must be recorded as the date of birth;

(2) if the actual place of birth cannot be determined, the place found must be recorded as the place of birth;

(3) the name given to the child by the custodian of the child must be recorded as the child’s legal name; and

(4) the name and address of the custodian must be recorded as the name and address of the attendant.

Subp. 5. Recognition of parentage. If the mother and father of a child are not married at the time of birth and there is no pre-
sumption of paternity according to Minnesota Statutes, section 257.55, the father’s name must not be entered on the birth record
unless, at the time of filing, a recognition of parentage prepared according to Minnesota Statutes, section 257.75, accompanies the
filing of birth documentation.

Subp. 6. Additional evidence required. To file documentation of birth with a registrar for a birth occurring outside an institu-
tion according to subpart 2:

A.  The person filing documentation of birth must include the information required in subpart 4 and must present evidence that:

(1) the mother was pregnant;

(2) the child was born alive; and

(3) the mother was present in Minnesota on the date of the birth.

B. The registrar must determine if the evidence presented verifies the facts listed in item A.  A document listed in subitems (1)
to (3), if it meets the requirements of part 4601.1100, subpart 1, may be submitted:

(1) a notarized statement from a person who attended the birth that attests to item A, subitems (1) to (3);

(2) a postnatal medical record from a clinic or a hospital; or

(3) a prenatal medical record from a clinic or other health care provider that verifies that the mother was pregnant.

C.  If a registrar determines that the documentation of birth meets the requirements of this part, the registrar must register the birth.

D.  If a local registrar determines that the documentation of birth does not meet the requirements of this part, the local registrar
must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not meet the
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requirements of this part.  The local registrar must notify the person of the option to file the documentation of birth with the state
registrar.

E.  If the state registrar determines that the documentation of birth presented does not meet the requirements of this part, the
state registrar must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not
meet the requirements of this part and must notify the person of the right to petition a court to establish the record according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.215, subdivision 7.

4601.0700 BIRTHS IN MOVING CONVEYANCE.

When a birth occurs in a moving conveyance within the United States, while in international waters or air space, or in a foreign
country or its air space and the child is first removed from the conveyance in Minnesota, the birth must be registered in Minnesota
and the place where the child is first removed is considered the place of birth.  The birth record must include the type of con-
veyance.

4601.0800 MONTHLY REPORT OF BIRTHS.

This part applies only to an institution that does not file documentation of birth through the centralized electronic system of the
state registrar.  The person in charge of the institution or that person’s authorized designee must submit to the state registrar, on or
before the tenth day of each month, a report of all births occurring in the institution and all births occurring en route to the institution
during the previous month.  The report must be in a format approved by the state registrar.

4601.0900 DELAYED BIRTH REGISTRATION.

Subpart 1. Delayed registration. For a person born in Minnesota whose birth is not recorded, the registrant age 18 or older,
parent, guardian, or legal representative who demonstrates tangible interest may file with a registrar documentation of birth for a
delayed registration of birth.  The person filing the documentation of birth must use a form prescribed by the state registrar and
provide a certified statement that a birth record is not on file in Minnesota.  In addition to meeting the requirements of part
4601.0600, subpart 4, documentation of birth for a delayed registration must meet the requirements of this part.

Subp. 2. Verification by registrar.  Before registering the birth record, the registrar must ensure that no prior birth record is reg-
istered for the person whose birth is to be registered.

Subp. 3. Delayed registration within seven years of birth.  To file documentation of birth for a delayed registration of birth
within seven years of the birth:

A.  A person filing the documentation must provide the information required under part 4601.0600, subpart 4.

B.  For a birth that occurred in or en route to an institution, the person filing the documentation must provide:

(1) a notarized statement from the person in charge of the institution where the birth occurred or that person’s designee
responsible for filing documentation of birth for the institution, substantiating the fact of birth and documenting the reason for the
delay in filing the documentation of birth; or

(2) a notarized statement from the physician, certified nurse midwife, or other person who attended the birth, substantiating
the fact of birth and documenting the reason for the delay in filing the documentation of birth.

C.  For a birth that did not occur in or en route to an institution or if the institution cannot substantiate the fact of birth infor-
mation, documentation must include:

(1) the additional evidence required under part 4601.0600, subpart 6;

(2) a document substantiating the registrant’s name, date of birth, name of the mother, and name of the father if the parents
were married or if paternity is legally established; and

(3) a notarized statement as described in part 4601.0600, subpart 6, item B, subitem (1).

D.  A document submitted must meet the requirements of part 4601.1100, subpart 1.

E.  If a registrar determines that the documentation of birth meets the requirements of this part, the registrar must register the birth.

F.  If a local registrar determines that the documentation of birth does not meet the requirements of this part, the local registrar
must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not meet the
requirements.  The local registrar must notify the person of the option to file documentation of birth with the state registrar.

G.  If the state registrar determines that the documentation of birth does not meet the requirements of this part, the state regis-
trar must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not meet the
requirements.  The state registrar must notify the person of the right to petition a court to establish the record according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.217, subdivision 2.
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Subp. 4. Delayed registration seven or more years after birth. To file documentation of birth for a delayed registration of
birth seven or more years after the birth:

A.  A person filing documentation of birth must provide the information required under part 4601.0600, subpart 4.

B.  The person filing documentation of birth must provide evidence of:

(1) the name of the person at the time of birth;

(2) the date and place of birth;

(3) the name of the mother; and

(4) the name of the father if the parents were married or if paternity is legally established.

C.  The following documentation is required:

(1) at least two documents to support the registrant’s name, date, and place of birth.  If the earliest document presented to
substantiate the date or place of birth was established more than seven years after birth, one additional document is required; and

(2) a document to support the facts of parentage.

D.  All documents submitted must meet the requirements of part 4601.1100, subpart 1.

E.  If a registrar determines that the documentation of birth meets the requirements of this part, the registrar must register the birth.

F.  If a local registrar determines that the documentation of birth does not meet the requirements of this part, the local registrar
must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not meet the
requirements.  The local registrar must notify the person of the option to file documentation of birth with the state registrar.

G.  If the state registrar determines that the documentation of birth does not meet the requirements of this part, the state regis-
trar must notify the person who presented the information of the reasons the information or evidence presented does not meet the
requirements.  The state registrar must notify the person of the right to petition a court to establish the record according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.217, subdivision 2.

4601.1000 BIRTH RECORD AMENDMENTS.

Subpart 1. Requesting amendment. A registrant age 18 or older or the registrant’s parent, legal guardian, or legal representa-
tive may request a registrar to amend the civil registration information in a birth record.  The person requesting the amendment must
demonstrate tangible interest in the birth record to be amended according to part 4601.2600 and Minnesota Statutes, section
144.225, subdivision 7.

Subp. 2. Amending within 45 days and before issuance.

A.  A parent of the registrant or the person who filed the documentation of birth according to part 4601.0600 or 4601.0900
may request an amendment of the registrant’s birth record under this subpart.  An amendment requested under this subpart must:

(1) be made to a registrar within 45 days of the date filed and before the date of issuance of the first certified birth certifi-
cate; and

(2) be limited to changes to the registrant’s name, correction of information originally recorded in error, or the provision of
missing information.  Changes to the registrant’s name are limited to spelling corrections if a document that established the legal
name of the child has been processed by a registrar.

B.  If the registrar determines that the requested amendment meets the requirements of this subpart, the registrar must amend
the record.  Amendments to the registrant’s birth record made under this subpart must not be noted on a certified birth certificate.

Subp. 3. Amending after 45 days or issuance.

A.  If a request to amend a birth record is made more than 45 days after the date filed, if a certified birth certificate has been
issued, or if the requested amendment does not meet the requirements of subpart 2, item A, subitem (2), the person requesting the
amendment must provide the following documentation:

(1) at least two documents to support the amendment of an item that appears on the standardized format for a certified birth
certificate as described in parts 4601.2500 and 4601.2525; or
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(2) a document to support the amendment of any other item on the civil registration information of the birth record.

B.  A document submitted to a registrar must meet the requirements of part 4601.1100, subpart 1.

Subp. 4. Adding information after 45 days or issuance. A document to support the addition of an item on the civil registration
information of a birth record is required to add missing information to a birth record if the request is made more than 45 days after
the date filed or if a certified birth certificate has been issued.  A document submitted to a registrar must meet the requirements of
part 4601.1100, subpart 1.

Subp. 5. Amending information previously amended.  A person must contact the state registrar with a written request for an
amendment if the amendment requested is to information that has been previously amended.

Subp. 6. Verification by registrar. Before amending a birth record, a registrar must review the documents submitted.  If the
registrar determines that the documents presented meet the requirements of this part, the registrar must amend the record.  If the
requested amendment is to information that has been previously amended or if a local registrar determines that the documents pre-
sented do not meet the requirements of this part, the local registrar must notify the person of the option to request the amendment
through the state registrar.  If the state registrar determines that the documents presented do not meet the requirements of this part,
the state registrar must notify the person of the right to appeal to a court of competent jurisdiction.

Subp. 7. Court order. If a court order is presented by a person requesting an amendment according to subpart 1, a registrar must
add or change information that the court order specifically directs the registrar to add or change.  To add or change information that
the court order does not specifically direct, the person must present the evidence required under subpart 3 or 4.

Subp. 8. Establishment of paternity. To change the father recorded on a birth record because of establishment or revocation of
paternity:

A.  if the request is made within 45 days after the date filed and before the issuance of a certified birth certificate and docu-
mentation of paternity is provided according to part 4601.1300, subpart 1, items B to D, the registrar must change the father
recorded on the birth record; or

B.  if the request is made more than 45 days after the date filed or if a certified birth certificate has been issued, the person
must request a replacement record under part 4601.1300.

Subp. 9. Amending health information. A person who filed the documentation of birth under part 4601.0600 or 4601.0900 or
the biological mother of the registrant may request the state registrar to amend the health information of a birth record according to
items A and B.

A.  Requests to amend health information on the birth record must be made to the state registrar on a form prescribed by the
state registrar and must include a notarized statement of approval from the entity that originally filed the documentation of birth.
Upon receipt of a request and a notarized statement, the state registrar must amend the health information on the birth record.

B.  If a request to amend health information on the birth record is received directly from the entity that originally filed the doc-
umentation of birth, the state registrar must waive the requirement for the notarized statement.

Subp. 10. Corrections and amendments by state registrar. If a birth occurs in Minnesota and the state registrar finds that the
information provided in the documentation of birth is not accurate, the state registrar must contact the person who filed the docu-
mentation of birth to request correction of the information.  If the person who filed the documentation of birth cannot be located, the
state registrar must consider the record in error and must not issue a certified birth certificate until corrections are made.

Subp. 11. Amending replaced record. A request for an amendment to a record that has been replaced under part 4601.1300
must be made to the state registrar and must include a notarized statement agreeing to the amendment from the registrant and each
parent whose name appears on the birth record or whose name is requested to be added to the birth record through the amendment.

4601.1100 REQUIREMENTS FOR DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED.

Subpart 1. Document requirements. The documents submitted to support a birth registration or amendment must:

A.  be legible;

B.  be without any sign of erasure, alteration, or change of the pertinent information;

C.  indicate the date and by whom the original document was made;

D.  be the original document or authenticated as a true document by the issuing agent;

E.  for a registrant age seven years or over, have been established at least seven years before the date of the request for a birth
registration or amendment or within three years of the date of birth; and

F.  for a registrant under seven years of age, have been established at least one year before the date of the request for a birth
registration or amendment or within the first year of life.
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Subp. 2. Acceptable documents.  A registrar may accept a document listed in items A to J if the registrar determines that the
document is sufficient to support the requested amendment and that the document meets the requirements of subpart 1:

A.  a notarized statement of a physician, certified nurse midwife, or traditional lay midwife who attended the birth;

B.  a school record;

C.  a social security number history (Numident) printout from the Social Security Administration; 

D.  a United States military discharge;

E.  a valid United States passport;

F.  a hospital or clinic record;

G.  a United States census record;

H.  a marriage certificate;

I.  a naturalization certificate, alien registration card, or other documentation issued by Immigration and Naturalization
Services; or

J.  a tribal enrollment record.

Subp. 3. Other documents. A registrar may accept a document not listed in subpart 2 if the registrar determines that the docu-
ment is sufficient to support the requested amendment and that the document meets the requirements of subpart 1.

4601.1200 SUMMARY OF DOCUMENTATION SUBMITTED.

A registrar must record on the electronic system of the state registrar a summary of each document submitted to support the facts
shown on the birth record being registered or amended, including:

A.  the title or description of the document;

B.  the source of the document;

C.  the name of the person who issued or signed the document;

D.  the date the document was created; and

E.  the date the document was issued or signed.

4601.1300 REPLACEMENT BIRTH RECORD.

Subpart 1. Registering replacement record. The state registrar must register a replacement record.  The state registrar may del-
egate the responsibility to register a replacement to a local registrar if the state registrar determines that a local registrar has the
training and resources to register the replacement records.  A replacement record must be registered:

A.  upon receipt of a certified copy of an order, decree, or certificate of adoption according to Minnesota Statutes, section
144.218, subdivision 1;

B.  if a birth record of a child has been registered and the birth parents of the child marry after the birth of the child according
to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.218, subdivision 3.  The state registrar must register the replacement record upon receipt of a cer-
tified copy of the marriage certificate of the birth parents and either a recognition of parentage or court adjudication of paternity;

C.  upon receipt of a court order according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.218, subdivision 4; 

D.  upon receipt of a declaration of parentage, a recognition of parentage, or a court order according to Minnesota Statutes,
section 257.73; or

E.  according to any other applicable state or federal statutes or regulations.

Subp. 2. Changing original birth record.

A.  A replacement record must contain all of the information from the original record except:

(1) a registrar must change information that a court order specifically directs the registrar to change;
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(2) a registrar must change parent and registrant information provided to a registrar on a certificate of adoption.  If the birth

mother is not named as a parent on the replacement birth record, health information and any civil registration information that
would identify the birth mother will not be included on the replacement record; and

(3) in the case of a paternity adjudication, recognition of parentage, or declaration of parentage, a registrar must add the
father’s information when creating a replacement record.  According to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.215, subdivision 3, if the
court order does not declare the name of the child, a registrar must change the surname of the child to the surname of the father if
both parents request the change in writing.

B.  Changes to the replacement record other than those permitted under item A must be requested as an amendment under part
4601.1000.

4601.1400 EXPUNGEMENT OF BIRTH RECORDS.

The state registrar must expunge a birth record if the state registrar finds that the birth documented by the record did not occur in
Minnesota.  This part does not apply to a birth record registered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.218, subdivision 2, for
a person who was born in a foreign country and adopted in Minnesota.

DEATH RECORDS

4601.1500 DOCUMENTATION OF DEATH.

Documentation of death must be filed with a registrar by the mortician, funeral director, or other person in charge of disposition
of the body.  The fact of death and demographic information must be filed before interment or other disposition of the body.  The
mortician, funeral director, or other person in charge of disposition of the body must provide the documentation of death to a regis-
trar according to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600.

4601.1600 COLLECTING AND PROVIDING DOCUMENTATION OF DEATH.

Subpart 1. Collecting death and demographic information. The mortician, funeral director, or other person in charge of dis-
position of the body must collect fact of death and demographic information.  Fact of death information may be collected from the
hospital or nursing home where the death occurred or from the coroner or medical examiner.  Demographic information may be col-
lected from relatives or friends of the deceased, hospital or institutional records, the records of a coroner or medical examiner, or
another source if the person collecting the information determines that the information provided is accurate.

Subp. 2. Providing information to registrar. The person in charge of disposition of the body must provide to the registrar the
fact of death and demographic information and the name of the physician who agrees to provide the cause of death information or
the name of the coroner or medical examiner who agrees to or is required to provide the cause of death information.  The state reg-
istrar or person in charge of disposition of the body must contact the physician to request the cause of death information.

4601.1700 PLACE AND TIME OF DEATH.

The place where death is pronounced is considered the place where death occurred.  If the place of death is unknown but the dead
body is found in Minnesota, the place where the body is found is considered the place of death.  If the date of death is unknown, the
date the body is found is considered the date of death.  When a death occurs in a moving conveyance and the body is first removed
in Minnesota, documentation of death must be filed in Minnesota and the place of death is considered the place where the body is
first removed from the conveyance.

4601.1800 PROVIDING CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION.

Cause of death information for each death that occurs in Minnesota may be provided only by a physician, coroner, or medical
examiner.  A physician who provides the cause of death must be a physician present at the time of death, a physician or associate of
a physician who provided medical treatment for the deceased before death, or a physician who has direct knowledge of the circum-
stances and cause of death and has access to the medical record of the deceased.  Cause of death information must be provided to a
registrar according to parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600.

4601.1900 MONTHLY FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT REPORT.

This part applies only to a funeral establishment that does not file documentation of death through the centralized electronic
system of the state registrar.  The person in charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee must submit to
the state registrar, on or before the tenth day of each month, a report of all deaths during the previous month for which a mortician
or funeral director affiliated with the funeral establishment was responsible for collecting and providing documentation of death
according to part 4601.1600.  The submitted report must be in a format approved by the state registrar.
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4601.2000 DOCUMENTATION OF DEATH; DELAYED REGISTRATION OF DEATH.

Documentation of death for a delayed death registration must be filed with a registrar according to parts 4601.1500 to 4601.1800
within five days of the discovery that documentation of death has not been filed.  If fact of death, demographic, and cause of death
information cannot be provided, a court order establishing the fact of death is required to register the death.

4601.2100 DEATH RECORD AMENDMENTS.

Subpart 1. Requesting amendment. Any person may request a death record amendment.  To amend fact of death or demo-
graphic information on a death record, a person requesting the amendment must choose one of the options described in subparts 2 to
6.  To amend cause of death information on a death record, a person requesting the amendment must comply with subpart 9.

Subp. 2. Amending within 45 days and before issuance.

A.  The informant who provided the original information or the person who filed documentation of death according to part
4601.1500 or 4601.2000 may request an amendment of a death record under this subpart.  An amendment requested under this
subpart must:

(1) be made to a registrar within 45 days of the date filed and before the date of issuance of the first certified death certifi-
cate; and

(2) be limited to correction of information originally recorded in error or the provision of missing information.

B.  If the registrar determines that the requested amendment meets the requirements of this subpart, the registrar must amend
the record.  Amendments to the death record made under this subpart must not be noted on a certified death certificate.

Subp. 3. Amending through funeral establishment. To amend fact of death or demographic information through a funeral
establishment:

A.  A person may contact the funeral establishment that originally filed the documentation of death to request an amendment
if the amendment is requested within one year of the death.

B.  If the person in charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee agrees to process the amendment,
the person in charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee must ask the informant who provided the
original information for approval of the requested amendment.  If the informant approves the amendment in writing, the person in
charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee must request that a registrar amend the record.  Upon
receipt of a written request on a form prescribed by the state registrar, a registrar must amend the record.

C.  If the person in charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee refuses to process the amendment,
the person in charge of the funeral establishment or that person’s authorized designee must refer the person requesting the amend-
ment to a registrar according to subparts 5 and 6.

Subp. 4. Amending through informant. If an amendment is requested within one year of a death and the requesting person
knows the informant who provided the original information, the person requesting an amendment may contact the informant
directly with a request for an amendment.  If the informant agrees with the requested amendment, the informant must present to a
registrar a notarized statement that states the informant is the informant named on the original documentation of death, that the
requested amendment is accurate, and that the informant agrees to the requested amendment.  Upon receipt of the notarized state-
ment, a registrar must amend the record.

Subp. 5. Amending through registrar.

A.  If an amendment is requested within five years of a death, the person requesting the amendment may contact a registrar to
make the amendment.  The person requesting the amendment must:

(1) request the amendment on a form prescribed by the state registrar; and

(2) when a change in the deceased name, date of death, place of death, date of birth, parentage, spouse’s name, maiden
name, marital status, social security number, or sex is requested, present legal documentation that is acceptable under item B.

B.  To be acceptable legal documentation, the document must support the requested amendment, meet the requirements of part
4601.1100, subpart 1, items A to D, and be one of the following:

(1) a birth certificate;
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(2) a marriage certificate;

(3) a divorce decree;

(4) a legal description of the place of death that has been properly recorded with the county recorder;

(5) a social security number history (Numident) printout from the Social Security Administration;

(6) for date or place of death, a notarized statement from a person who was present at the death that verifies the accuracy of
the requested change; or

(7) a court order that instructs a registrar to make the requested change.

C.  If the registrar determines that the legal documentation is sufficient to support the requested amendment, the registrar must
amend the death record.

D.  A local registrar must forward the request for amendment and any supporting documentation to the state registrar to be
evaluated according to the criteria in subpart 7 if a request includes one of the following:

(1) an amendment to fact of death or demographic information other than the information listed in item A, subitem (2);

(2) an amendment to information that has been previously amended; or

(3) an amendment requested without sufficient legal documentation.

Subp. 6. Amending through state registrar. A person requesting an amendment must contact the state registrar with a written
request for an amendment when:

A.  the person is requesting an amendment more than five years after the date of death;

B.  the person is requesting an amendment to fact of death or demographic information other than the information listed in
subpart 5, item A, subitem (2);

C.  the person is requesting an amendment to information that has been previously amended; or

D.  the person cannot provide acceptable legal documentation according to subpart 5, item B.

Subp. 7. Evaluation by state registrar.

A.  When requesting an amendment through the state registrar according to subpart 6, a person must request the amendment
on a form prescribed by the state registrar and provide documentation to support the accuracy of the requested amendment.

B.  The state registrar must consider:

(1) the extent and type of documentation presented;

(2) the ability of the state registrar to authenticate the documentation presented;

(3) whether changing the record as requested is prohibited by law;

(4) the impact that the requested amendment would have on the use of the certified death certificate as a legal document; and

(5) the impact that the requested amendment would have on the use of the death record as a statistical or historical record.

C.  If the state registrar determines that the supporting documentation is sufficient to justify the requested amendment, the
state registrar must amend the death record.  If the state registrar determines that the supporting documentation is not sufficient to
justify the requested amendment, the state registrar must notify the requester of the option to seek a court order to require the state
registrar to amend the record.

Subp. 8. Corrections and amendments by state registrar. If the state registrar finds that the fact of death or demographic
information in a death record is not accurate, the state registrar must contact the mortician, funeral director, or other person who
filed the original documentation of death to request correction of the information.  If the mortician, funeral director, or other person
who filed the documentation of death cannot be located or cannot provide the requested correction, the state registrar must consider
the record in error and must not issue a certified death certificate until corrections are made.

Subp. 9. Amending cause of death information. Requests to amend cause of death information must be made to the state reg-
istrar on a form prescribed by the state registrar and must include a notarized statement of approval from the physician who origi-
nally provided the cause of death information or a notarized statement of approval from a coroner or medical examiner of the
county where the death occurred.  Upon receipt of a request and a notarized statement, the state registrar must amend the cause of
death information.  If a request to amend cause of death information is received directly from a physician who originally provided
the cause of death information or from a coroner or medical examiner of the county where the death occurred, the state registrar
must waive the requirement for the notarized statement.
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4601.2200 FETAL DEATH REPORTING.

Subpart 1. Filing. A fetal death report must be filed for the death of a fetus for whom 20 or more weeks of gestation have
elapsed.  All induced terminations of pregnancy must be reported according to Minnesota Statutes, section 145.4131, and must not
be reported as fetal deaths.  A fetal death report must be prepared in a format prescribed by the state registrar and filed according to
parts 4601.0100 to 4601.2600 by:

A.  a person in charge of an institution or that person’s authorized designee if a fetus is delivered in the institution or en route
to the institution;

B.  a physician, certified nurse midwife, or other licensed medical personnel in attendance at or immediately after the delivery
if a fetus is delivered outside an institution; or

C.  a parent or other person in charge of the disposition of the remains if a fetal death occurred without medical attendance at
or immediately after the delivery.

Subp. 2. Fetus delivered in moving conveyance. When a fetus is delivered in a moving conveyance and the fetus is first
removed from the conveyance in Minnesota, the place of delivery is the place where the fetus is first removed.

Subp. 3. Monthly report. This subpart applies only to an institution that does not report fetal deaths though the centralized elec-
tronic system of the state registrar.  The person in charge of the institution or that person’s authorized designee must submit to the state
registrar, on or before the tenth day of each month, a report of all fetal deaths occurring in the institution and all fetal deaths occurring
en route to the institution during the previous month.  The submitted report must be in a format approved by the state registrar.

Subp. 4. Correcting reports. The mother named on the fetal death report or the person who filed the report according to subpart
1 may submit a request to the state registrar to correct information on a fetal death report.  Upon receipt of a signed statement iden-
tifying the information in error and providing the correct information, the state registrar must correct the fetal death report.  If the
fetal death report has been destroyed according to subpart 5, the state registrar must notify the person requesting the correction that
the record has been destroyed and the correction will not be made.

Subp. 5. Disposition of reports. Reports of fetal deaths are statistical reports only.  Retention of fetal death reports is governed
by the Department of Health’s record retention schedule.

4601.2300 FETAL DEATH NOTIFICATION.

A mortician or funeral director in charge of disposition of the remains must notify the state registrar of a fetal death.  The notifi-
cation must be presented in a medium and format approved by the state registrar.

4601.2400 EXPUNGEMENT OF DEATH AND FETAL DEATH RECORDS.

The  state registrar must expunge a death or fetal death record if the state registrar finds that the death or fetal death documented
by the record did not occur in Minnesota.

CERTIFICATE FORM AND ISSUANCE

4601.2500 REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED BIRTH OR DEATH CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1. Security paper. A certified birth or death certificate must be printed on security paper.  The state registrar must
approve and provide access to security paper for statewide use.  Local registrars must order security paper approved by the state reg-
istrar.  To approve and provide access to security paper for statewide use, the state registrar must consider:

A.  what security paper characteristics are needed to effectively reduce the potential for fraud;

B.  the cost of the security paper;

C.  the cost-effectiveness of options for distribution of the security paper;

D.  the availability of security paper with the required features;

E.  the type and characteristics of security paper used for certified birth and death certificates in other states;

F.  applicable state and federal regulations; and

G.  recommendations of national organizations and government entities.
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Subp. 2. Signature required. The facsimile or actual signature of the state registrar must appear on a certified birth or death cer-

tificate.

Subp. 3. Seal required. The seal of the state of Minnesota must be part of the security paper.

4601.2525 REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1. Data items required. A certified birth certificate must be in a format prescribed by the state registrar and include the
date issued, the county or office of issuance, and the following items, if the items are present on the birth record:

A.  registrant’s first name, middle name, last name, and suffix;

B.  date and time of birth;

C.  first name, middle name, last name, and suffix of an alias;

D.  sex;

E.  county and either city or township of birth;

F.  mother’s first name, middle name, and maiden surname;

G.  state or foreign country of the mother’s birthplace

H.  father’s first name, middle name, and last name;

I.  state or foreign country of the father’s birthplace; and

J.  date the record was filed.

Subp. 2. Amendments to birth records; notation. Except as provided in part 4601.1000, subpart 2, an amendment must be
noted on a certified birth certificate as follows:

A.  if the name or date of birth of the registrant has been amended, the amendment must be noted on the certified birth certifi-
cate with the label of the item amended, date of amendment, and the basis for the amendment; and

B.  if the information under subpart 1, items C to J, has been amended, the amendment must be noted on the certified birth cer-
tificate with the following statement:  “A data item other than the registrant’s name or date of birth was amended on this birth record
on,” followed by the date of the amendment.  The specific data item amended must not be identified.

Subp. 3. Deceased person.  If a registrant is deceased and documentation of death has been filed or the state registrar has
received notification of the death from another state, the word “deceased” must appear as a watermark across the center of the cer-
tificate, in a border, note field, or other highlighted area on the certified birth certificate.

Subp. 4. Foreign adoption birth record. For a birth record that is registered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.218,
subdivision 2, for a person who was born in a foreign country and adopted in Minnesota, the certified birth certificate must include
the following statement:  “This birth record is not evidence of United States citizenship.”

Subp. 5. Infant of unknown parentage. For a birth record that is registered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.216,
for an infant of unknown parentage, the certified birth certificate must include the following statement:  “This birth record was reg-
istered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.216, for an infant of unknown parentage.”  This subpart does not apply to a
replacement record registered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.216, subdivision 2, if the child is subsequently identi-
fied or the birth record is found.

Subp. 6. Delayed registration of birth. For a birth record that is registered according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.217, as
a delayed registration of birth, a certified birth certificate must include the following statement:  “This birth record was registered
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.217, as a delayed registration of birth.”

4601.2550 REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED DEATH CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1. Data items required; fact of death. A fact of death certified death certificate must be in the format prescribed by the
state registrar and include the date issued, the county or office of issuance, and the following items, if the items are present on a
death record:

A.  first name, middle name, last name, and suffix of the deceased;

B.  maiden surname of the deceased;

C.  first name, middle name, last name, and suffix of an alias of the deceased;

D.  sex;

E.  social security number;
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F.  date of death;

G.  county and either city or township of death;

H.  date of birth;

I.  city and state or foreign country of birth;

J.  father’s first name, middle name, and last name;

K.  mother’s first name, middle name, and maiden surname;

L.  marital status;

M.  first name, middle name, and last name or maiden surname of a spouse, if married;

N.  county, state, and either city or township of residence;

O.  name of the funeral establishment; and

P.  date the documentation of death was filed.

Subp. 2. Data items required; fact and cause of death. A fact and cause of death certified death certificate must be in the
format prescribed by the state registrar and include the following items, if the items are present on the death record:

A.  all of the items required under subpart 1;

B.  immediate cause of death;

C.  underlying cause of death;

D.  conditions contributing to the death;

E.  manner of death; and

F.  name and address of the physician who provided the cause of death information.

Subp. 3. Amendments to death records; notation. Except as provided in part 4601.2100, subpart 2, an amendment to any item
listed in subpart 1 must be noted on a certified death certificate.

4601.2600 TANGIBLE INTEREST.

Subpart 1. Application; birth or death certificate. An application for a certified birth or death certificate must be made on a
form prescribed by a registrar or contain the information required in this part.  An application must be made to a registrar and
accompanied by the required fee and documentation.  If the applicant is alleging to have tangible interest because a certified birth or
death certificate is necessary for the protection or determination of a personal or property right, the applicant must apply for
issuance of a certified birth or death certificate to the state registrar and provide supporting documentation.  The state registrar must
evaluate the application according to the criteria described in subpart 12.

Subp. 2. Registrant information.

A.  To request a certified birth certificate, the applicant must provide the following information about the registrant:

(1) first name, middle name, and last name;

(2) sex;

(3) date of birth;

(4) county of birth;

(5) mother’s first name, middle name, and maiden surname; and

(6) father’s first name, middle name, and last name.

B.  To request a certified death certificate, the applicant must provide the following information about the registrant:

(1) first name, middle name, and last name;

(2) county of death; and
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(3) date of death.

C.  A registrar may accept estimates of or waive a requirement listed in items A and B if:

(1) the applicant does not have exact knowledge of the information; and

(2) the applicant has provided sufficient information for the registrar to locate the record.

Subp. 3. Applicant information.

A.  To request a certified birth or death certificate, the applicant must provide the following information about the applicant:

(1) first name, middle name, and last name;

(2) home or business address;

(3) telephone number;

(4) date of birth;

(5) signature of the applicant;

(6) date the application is signed; and

(7) a statement of the relationship of the applicant to the registrant demonstrating tangible interest according to Minnesota
Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7.

B.  A registrar may waive the requirement for a telephone number under item A, subitem (3), if the applicant states that the
applicant does not have a business or home telephone.  The registrar may waive the requirement for the middle name under item A,
subitem (1), if the applicant states that the applicant does not have a middle name.

Subp. 4. Application form; statutory authority. A registrar must provide an application form or instructions accompanying an
application form that includes the statutory authority for collecting the application information, the consequences for not providing
the information, and the penalty for providing false information.

Subp. 5. Identification required. An applicant must provide a completed application as described in subparts 1 to 3 and, except
as noted in subpart 6, provide documentation of identity as follows:

A.  For an application made in person, the applicant must provide a document of identity that readily identifies the applicant.
To be accepted by a registrar, the document of identity must include the applicant’s signature and photograph or physical descrip-
tion and the registrar must be able to authenticate the document with the issuing entity.  If a normally acceptable document of iden-
tity was issued so long ago that the registrar determines that it no longer readily identifies the applicant, an applicant must provide a
document of identity that was issued more recently.  A document of identity that has been altered or changed in any way is not
acceptable.

B.  For an application not made in person, the application must be notarized according to Minnesota Statutes, sections 358.41
to 358.50.

Subp. 6. Acceptable identification not available. If an applicant does not have an acceptable document of identity or if an
applicant provides a signed statement that no document of identity is available, to obtain the certified birth or death certificate, the
applicant must have a witness attest to the applicant’s identity.  The witness must:

A.  have known the applicant for at least two years;

B.  complete a statement to identify as described in subpart 7; and

C.  accompany the applicant, sign the statement to identify in the presence of a registrar, and present an acceptable document
of identity according to subpart 5, item A, and either subpart 8 or 9.  If a witness cannot accompany an applicant to a registrar’s
office, the witness’ signature must be notarized on a statement to identify according to subpart 7.

Subp. 7. Statement to identify.

A.  A completed statement to identify must include the following information about the witness:

(1) first name, middle name, and last name;

(2) home or business address;

(3) telephone number;

(4) date of birth;

(5) number of years the witness has known the applicant;

(6) relationship of the witness to the applicant or the basis for the witness’ knowledge of the applicant;
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(7) signature of the witness;

(8) date the statement to identify is signed by the witness; and

(9) a sentence relating the statement to identify to a specific application for a certified birth or death certificate.  If the com-
pleted statement to identify is included as part of a completed application form provided by a registrar, no sentence is required.

B.  A registrar may waive the requirement for a telephone number under item A, subitem (3), if the witness states that the
witness does not have a business or home telephone.  The registrar may waive the requirement for the middle name under item A,
subitem (1), if the witness states that the witness does not have a middle name.

Subp. 8. Acceptable document of identity. A registrar must accept a document listed in items A to I as meeting the require-
ments of subpart 5, unless the registrar determines that the document was issued too long ago to readily identify the applicant or
witness, the document has been altered or changed, or there is evidence of fraud on the face of the document.  Acceptable docu-
ments include:

A.  an unexpired picture driver’s license issued according to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.07, or according to the laws of
another state or territory of the United States.  A temporary driver’s license or learner’s permit is not acceptable;

B.  an unexpired state picture identification card issued according to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.07, or according to the
laws of another state or territory of the United States;

C.  an unexpired federal, state, or local government employee picture identification card issued by a government entity located
in the United States;

D.  an unexpired aircraft pilot’s license issued by the United States Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation
Administration;

E.  an unexpired United States military picture identification card;

F.  an unexpired United States passport;

G.  for an applicant who is not a registrant, an unexpired Canadian passport;

H.  for an applicant who is not a registrant, an unexpired passport from another jurisdiction with:

(1) a United States Department of Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service, arrival and departure form I-94
attached, bearing the same name as that on the passport and containing an unexpired endorsement of the alien’s nonimmigrant
status; or

(2) an unexpired I-551 stamp; or

I.  for an applicant who is not a registrant, one of the following documents issued by the United States Department of Justice,
Immigration and Naturalization Service, or a subsequent form or version of a document specified in this item:

(1) a naturalization certificate form (form N-550 or N-570);

(2) a certificate of citizenship (form N-560 or N-561);

(3) a United States citizen identification card (form I-179 or I-197);

(4) a valid permanent resident or resident alien card (form I-551 or I-151);

(5) a Northern Mariana card (form I-873 with “Northern Mariana” imprinted instead of resident alien);

(6) an American Indian card (form I-872 with “American Indian” imprinted instead of resident alien);

(7) an unexpired employment authorization document with a photograph (form I-688, I-688A, I-688B, or I-766); or

(8) an unexpired reentry permit/refugee travel document (form I-571).

Subp. 9. Documents acceptable with discretion.

A.  A registrar may accept a document not listed in subpart 8 if the registrar determines that the document meets the require-
ments of subpart 5.
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B.  A registrar may accept one of the following documents as a document of identity if the document is known to be reliable

and valid in the county where the application for a certified birth or death certificate is made and if the document meets the require-
ments for an acceptable document of identity described in subpart 5:

(1) a business or industrial identification card or pass; or

(2) a school or college identification card.

Subp. 10. Delay to authenticate. A registrar may delay issuance of a certified birth or death certificate if the registrar needs
more time to authenticate a document of identity with the entity who issued the document of identity.

Subp. 11. Refusal to issue. A registrar must refuse to issue a certified birth or death certificate if the applicant fails to meet the
requirements of this part.

Subp. 12. Personal or property right criteria.

A.  To determine whether a certified birth or death certificate is necessary for the protection or determination of a personal or
property right, the state registrar must consider:

(1) the extent and type of documentation presented;

(2) the ability of the state registrar to authenticate the documentation presented;

(3) if issuing a certified birth or death certificate is prohibited by law;

(4) evidence of fraud or the intent to commit fraud;

(5) the impact of the issuance on the use of a certified birth or death certificate as a legal document; and 

(6) the ability of the applicant to protect or determine a personal or property right without a certified birth or death certificate.

B.  If the state registrar determines that the supporting documentation is sufficient to demonstrate tangible interest, the state
registrar must issue the certified birth or death record.  If the state registrar determines that the supporting documentation is not suf-
ficient to demonstrate tangible interest, the state registrar must notify the applicant of the option to seek a court order to direct the
state registrar to issue a certified birth or death certificate.

REPEALER.

A.  Minnesota Rules, parts 4600.0100; 4600.0200; 4600.0300; 4600.0400; 4600.0500; 4600.0600; 4600.0700; 4600.0800;
4600.0900; 4600.1000; 4600.1100; 4600.1200; 4600.1300; 4600.1400; 4600.1500; 4600.1600; 4600.1700; 4600.1900; 4600.2000;
4600.2100; 4600.2200; 4600.2300; 4600.2400; 4600.2500; 4600.2600; 4600.2700; 4600.2800; 4600.2900; 4600.3000; 4600.3100;
4600.3200; 4600.3300; 4600.3400; 4600.3500; 4600.3600; 4600.3700; 4600.3800; 4600.4000; 4600.4100; 4600.4200; 4600.4300;
4600.4400; 4600.4500; 4600.4600; 4600.4700; 4600.4800; 4600.4900; 4600.5000; 4600.5100; 4600.5200; 4600.5300; 4600.5400;
4600.5500; 4600.5600; 4600.5700; 4600.5800; 4600.5900; 4600.6000; 4600.6100; 4600.6200; 4600.6300; 4600.6400; 4600.6500;
4600.6600; and 4600.6700, are repealed.

B.  Minnesota Rules, part 4600.1800, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATES.  Minnesota Rules, parts 4601.2200 and 4601.2300, and the repealer, item B, are effective January 1, 2001.

Minnesota Rules, parts 4601.2500, 4601.2525, and 4601.2550, are effective July 1, 2001.

Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600, is effective August 1, 2000.
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Board of Nursing
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Licensure and Repeal of Obsolete Rules
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing
Proposed amendment to Rules Governing Requirements for Licensure by Examination, Minnesota Rules

6305.0400; Requirements for Licensure without Examination, Minnesota Rules 6305.0500; Definitions,
Minnesota Rules 6310.2600; Registration Renewal Requirements, Minnesota Rules 6310.2800; Fetal Alcohol
Education, Minnesota Rules 6310.2810; Registration Renewal Procedures, Minnesota Rules 6310.2900;
Substantiation of Participation in Continuing Education, Minnesota Rules 6310.3000; Reregistration
Requirements, Minnesota Rules 6310.3100; Reregistration Procedures, Minnesota Rules 6310.3200; Change
of Name and Address on Records, Minnesota Rules 6310.3300; Registration Fees, Minnesota Rules
6310.3600; Dishonored Checks, Minnesota Rules 6310.3700;  and Repeal of Rules Governing Professional
Nursing Organizations with Authority to Certify,  Minnesota Rules 6330.0100 - 6330.0500

Introduction. The Minnesota Board of Nursing (hereinafter “Board”) intends to adopt, amend, and repeal permanent rules
without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22
to 14.28.  You have 30 days to submit written comments on the proposed rules and may also submit a written request that a hearing
be held on any of the proposed rules.

Board Contact Person. Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to:

Sandra J. MacKenzie
Assistant Director
Minnesota Board of Nursing
2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 500
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414
Telephone:  (612) 617-2180   Facsimile:  (612) 617-2190
E-mail:  sandra.mackenzie@state.mn.us

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules relate to requirements for licensure by examination, require-
ments for licensure without examination, registration renewal requirements, fetal alcohol education, registration renewal proce-
dures, substantiation of participation in continuing education, reregistration requirements, reregistration procedures, change of
name and address on records, registration fees, dishonored checks and professional nursing organizations with authority to certify.
Minnesota Statutes, section 148.191, subdivision 2 authorizes the Board to adopt and revise rules as necessary to carry into effect
the provisions of sections 148.171 to 148.285. Minnesota Statutes 148.211, subdivision 1 authorizes the Board to establish by rule
the fees for licensure and for reexamination.  Minnesota Statutes, section 148.231, subdivision 1 authorizes the Board to establish
by rule the fee for periodic registration and the penalty fee for late submission of an application.  The advanced nursing practice
rules were authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 62A.15, subdivision 3a., which has been repealed.  Minnesota Statutes, section
214.12, subdivision 2 authorizing the Board to require continuing education on infection control was repealed.  Minnesota Statutes,
section 214.12, subdivision 3 authorizes the Board to require by rule that certain licensees receive education on fetal alcohol syn-
drome and related topics.  A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m., May 3, 2000, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed
rules and any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comments must be in writing and received by the board contact person by the due
date.  Comments are encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed and the reasons for
your comments.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to make on the legality of
the proposed rule must also be made during this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules. Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the board contact person  by 4:30 p.m., May 3, 2000.  Your
written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed rules to
which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not
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valid and cannot be counted by the board for determining whether a public hearing must be held. You are also encouraged to state
the reason for the request and any changes that you recommend to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for a hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25,
the board must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the board took to effect the
withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the board will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Modifications. The proposed rule may be modified as a result of public comment.  The modifications must be supported by
comments and information submitted to the agency, and the adopted rule may not be substantially different than this proposed rule.
If the proposed rule affects you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the board contact
person. This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. A copy may be obtained from the board at
the cost of reproduction.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large print, Braille, or
cassette tape.  To make such a request, please contact the board contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Adoption and Review of Rules. If no hearing is required the board may adopt the rules after the end of the comment period.
The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality.  You
may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to receive a copy of the
adopted rules, or want to register with the board to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the board
contact person listed above.

Dated: 20 March 2000

Shirley A. Brekken
Executive Director

6305.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION.

[For text of subps 1 to 8, see M.R.]

Subp. 10.  Fees. The board shall charge the following fees.

A.  The licensure fee is $80 $100.  This fee must be paid to the board and must be received before evaluation of an applicant’s
qualifications for examination and licensure.

B.  The fee required with the request to retake the examination is $40 $50.  The fee must be paid to the board and must be
received before evaluation of an applicant’s qualifications to retake the examination. 

[For text of items C to E, see M.R.]

Subp. 12.  Licensure examination. The licensure examinations are the examinations of the National Council of State Boards of
Nursing, Inc.  An applicant must receive a pass on the National Council Licensure Examination.

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

E.  An applicant who fails an examination and wants to retake the examination must notify the board on a form provided by
the board.  On the request to retake the examination, an applicant shall respond to questions that relate to the grounds for discipli-
nary action listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.261.  The board may require further information of the applicant in order to
determine whether the applicant has engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action.  An applicant must submit true information.
Falsification or omission of information provides grounds for denial of a license.  The request to retake the examination must be
notarized.  If the request is received without a fee, it shall be returned to the applicant.  An applicant may only retake the examina-
tion four times per year and not more often than once in every three months. The board will notify the applicant by mail when the
applicant is eligible to retake the examination.  Placing the notice in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and addressed to
the applicant’s last known address, constitutes official notification.

6305.0500 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE WITHOUT EXAMINATION.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Fee. The fee for licensure is $80 $100.  This fee must be paid to the board and must be received before evaluation of an
applicant’s qualifications for licensure.  Personal checks are not accepted.  Remittance must be in the form of United States cur-
rency, cashier’s check, or money order.  If for any reason a license is not issued, the fee is not refundable.
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[For text of subps 4 to 11, see M.R.]

Subp. 12.  Acceptable examinations for practical nurses. The requirement of having passed a written examination acceptable
to the board for licensed practical nurse licensure is fulfilled if an applicant has:

A.  passed a state-constructed examination or the State Board Test Pool Examination for Practical Nurses (SBTPE-PN) before 1960;

B.  passed the SBTPE-PN after December 31, 1959, and before January 1, 1970, with a scaled score of at least 370 October 1, 1982;

C.  passed the SBTPE-PN after December 31, 1969, and before October 1, 1982, with a scaled score of at least 400;

D.  passed NCLEX-PN after September 30, 1982, and before October 1, 1988, with a scaled score of at least 350; or

E. D. passed NCLEX-PN after September 30, 1988, with a designation of pass.

[For text of subps 13 and 14, see M.R].

6310.2800 REGISTRATION RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Continuing education.  Continuing education requirements for the licensed practical nurse begin for registration
periods that begin on or after November 1, 1993.  The report of continuing education is due by the application deadline for subse-
quent renewals of registration.  A registered nurse shall participate in the ratio of at least one contact hour of acceptable continuing
education for each month of registration.  A licensed practical nurse shall participate in the ratio of at least one contact hour of
acceptable continuing education for each two months of registration.

Continuing education in infection control is required for registration periods that begin on or after November 1, 1993.  During
each registration period, two of the contact hours must be on the subject of infection control, including blood borne diseases.  For
registration periods of less than 24 months, one contact hour in infection control is required.

For a continuing education activity to be acceptable for renewal of registration, the criteria in items A to G must be met.

[For text of items A to G, see M.R.]

Subp. 4.  Exceptions. If the continuing education activity has been approved by another health licensing board or association or
if the licensee is currently certified by a national professional nursing organization, only the criteria for acceptability in item A or B
must be met.

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  If the licensee has a current certificate from a national professional nursing organization, the criteria in subitems (1) to (6)
(5) must be met.

[For text of subitems (1) to (4), see M.R.]

(5) The infection control contact hours must be met and reported.

(6) The licensee shall not use the practice specialty certificate as a substitute for any previously deferred contact hours.

[For text of subps 5 to 10, see M.R.]

6310.2810 FETAL ALCOHOL EDUCATION. 

Subpart 1. Announcement and request form. On February 1, 2000, and thereafter, the board shall include an announcement
regarding Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 3, with every registered nurse application for renewal of registration.
The announcement shall indicate that the board will provide educational materials at no cost to licensees who have primary respon-
sibility for diagnosing and treating pregnant women who may be abusing alcohol and/or diagnosing and treating individuals with
fetal alcohol syndrome.  A request form for the material shall be included with the announcement.  Each licensee who has primary
responsibility for diagnosing and treating these individuals shall complete and return the request form with the renewal of registra-
tion application.
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Subp. 2. Educational materials. The board shall send educational materials to those licensees who return the completed request

form.  The educational material shall address fetal alcohol syndrome and fetal alcohol effects, including how to screen pregnant
women for alcohol abuse, how to identify affected children, and where to refer individuals for needed services.

Subp. 3. Expiration. This part expires February 1, 2003.

6310.2900 REGISTRATION RENEWAL PROCEDURES.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Report of continuing education. The report of continuing education shall be a part of the renewal of registration appli-
cation.  The board shall require the name of the activity, the date of the activity, and the number of contact hours for each of the
activities.  The board shall provide a section on the continuing education report form for the licensee to report participation in infec-
tion control continuing education.

Licensees shall report the required information on the continuing education report form.  Every licensee shall report participation
in the required amount of infection control continuing education. A professional nurse who has been certified in a nursing specialty
may submit a copy of the practice specialty certificate in lieu of reporting participation in the remaining required number of contact
hours.

Each licensee shall verify that the continuing education activities met all the criteria in part 6310.2800 and that the information
contained on the continuing education report form is true in every respect.  The licensee shall sign and date the application and con-
tinuing education report form.

[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6.  Insufficient hours. If a licensee does not have enough contact hours of acceptable continuing education to report, the
licensee has the following options listed in items A to C.

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  Defer the number of contact hours that the licensee is lacking.  The deferred hours shall be added to the contact hours
required in the immediately succeeding continuing education participation period.  Contact hours may be deferred if there are no
current deferred contact hours required of the licensee.  If the licensee is deferring a fraction of a contact hour, a whole contact hour
must be deferred.  If the licensee does not have the required infection control contact hours, then the required contact hours of infec-
tion control shall be deferred.  The deferred infection control contact hours will be added to the total number of contact hours
required as well as to the total number of infection control contact hours required. If the licensee does not renew for the continuing
education participation period that included the deferred hours, the deferred hours shall be required for reregistration.

C.  Allow registration to expire and reregister.

[For text of subps 7 to 10, see M.R.]

6310.3000 SUBSTANTIATION OF PARTICIPATION IN CONTINUING EDUCATION.

Subpart 1.  Substantiation of continuing education activity. At the time of renewal, the board shall randomly select a sample
of licensees and require substantiation of participation in the activities that the licensees reported on their continuing education
report form.  The licensee shall submit documents or written statements that verify the following:

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.]

F.  presence at or participation in the activity.

Licensees who used their advanced nursing practice certificates shall submit the documents or written statements referenced in
this subpart for the infection control contact hours.

Licensees who participated in other acceptable continuing education listed in part 6310.2800, subpart 5, shall submit all or a
portion of the article, book, paper, study, research, or brochure that verifies participation as a panel member.

Failure to substantiate the hours with the required information shall result in the hours being automatically deferred to the next
participation period unless the licensee is not eligible to do so.  At the next renewal or reregistration, the licensee shall substantiate
participation in all the hours of continuing education required for that reporting period including the automatically deferred hours.
Failure to substantiate the hours at this time shall provide grounds for disciplinary action.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R] 

6310.3100 REREGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]
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Subp. 2a.  Continuing education. Licensees whose registrations expired within the two years preceding application for reregis-
tration shall report participation in the required number of acceptable continuing education hours.  To fulfill this requirement, the
criteria in items A to D C must be met. 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R].

C.  Every licensee shall report participation in the required amount of infection control continuing education.

D. Participation must have occurred during the 24 months immediately preceding board action on the application for reregis-
tration.

[For text of subps 2b to 13, see M.R.]

6310.3200 REREGISTRATION PROCEDURES.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Report of continuing education. The board shall provide a form for reporting continuing education.  In the report of
continuing education, the board shall require the name of the activity, the date of the activity, and the number of contact hours for
each of the activities.  The board shall provide a section on the continuing education report form for the licensee to report participa-
tion in infection control continuing education, if taken. The licensee shall report participation in the required acceptable continuing
education including the refresher course.  A professional nurse who has been certified in a nursing specialty may submit a copy of
the practice specialty certificate in lieu of reporting participation in the continuing education contact hours.  The copy of the current
certificate must be attached to the report of continuing education.  Each licensee shall verify that the continuing education activities
met all the criteria specified in part 6310.2800, subpart 3, with the exception of item D, or part 6310.2800, subpart 4 or 5, and that
the information contained on the continuing education report form is true in every respect.  The licensee shall sign and date the con-
tinuing education report form.

[For text of subps 4 to 9, see M.R.]

6310.3300 CHANGE OF NAME AND ADDRESS ON RECORDS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Address change. The licensee who has changed addresses shall notify the board in writing as soon as possible.  The
board shall notify the licensee of address changes made in the licensee’s records.  However, a revised registration certificate will not
be issued.

6310.3600 REGISTRATION FEES.

Subpart 1.  Amount. The amount of fees shall be as follows:

A.  registration renewal, $55 $70 per registration period;

B.  late application, $30 $50;

[For text of items C to I, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Nonrefundable. All fees are nonrefundable.

6310.3700 DISHONORED CHECKS.

Subpart 1.  Service charge. If a licensee submits a dishonored check for any of the fees required in part 6310.3600, subpart 1,
items A to G; or 6316.0200, subpart 3; 6340.0300, subpart 3; 6340.0400, subpart 4; or 6340.0500, subpart 3, a service charge shall
be assessed in keeping with Minnesota Statutes, section 332.50, subdivision 2.

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Additional fee. Nonreplacement of a dishonored check for the fees required in part 6310.3600, subpart 1, items C to G;
or 6316.0200, subpart 3; or 6340.0400, subpart 4, and nonpayment of the service charge will result in the amounts being added to
the next fee the licensee must pay.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6310.2600, subparts 1b and 5b; 6330.0100; 6330.0200; 6330.0300; 6330.0350; and
6330.0500, are repealed.
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Department of Transportation
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to English Measurement for State-Aid Roads
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons

Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing If 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received
Proposed Amendments of Rules Governing State Aid Operations concerning conversion of measurements to

English units, definition of bridge rehabilitation, reconstruction, and reconditioning, Town Bridge Account
apportionment, guardrail installation, minimum structural design strength in suburban areas, minimum stan-
dards for urban bridges to remain, removal of minimum design speed for urban reconditioning projects, and
minimum recommended pedestrian bridge clearance, Minnesota Rules, chapter 8820

Introduction. The Department of Transportation intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the procedures set
forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28, and rules of the Office of Administrative
Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing
on the rules within 30 days or by 4:30 p.m., on Friday, May 5, 2000, a public hearing will be held in the Transportation Building,
Room 461, at 9:00 a.m., on Tuesday, May 16th, 2000.  To find out whether the rules will be adopted without a hearing or if the
hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact person after 8:30 a.m., on Monday, May 8, 2000, and before 4:30 p.m.,
Monday, May 15, 2000.

Agency Contact Person.  Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is: Paul Stine, Division of State Aid for Local Transportation, Mail
Stop 500, 395 John Ireland Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (612) 296-9973, FAX (612) 282-2727.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 162.02, subdivision 2, and section 162.09, subdivision
2 grant the Commissioner of Transportation the authority to promulgate rules to govern state-aid programs. 

The proposed rules concern conversion of measurements to English units, definition of bridge rehabilitation, reconstruction, and
reconditioning, Town Bridge Account apportionment, guardrail installation, minimum structural design strength in suburban areas,
minimum standards for urban bridges to remain, removal of minimum design speed for urban reconditioning projects, and
minimum recommended pedestrian bridge clearance.  

A free copy of the proposed rule is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above.

Nature and Effect of Proposed Rule Amendment. The principal reason rules changes are being proposed at this time is to
convert all measurements in the rules from metric to English Units.

In 1991, Presidential Executive Order 12770 mandated that all federal agencies implement metrics as part of their daily responsi-
bilities.  The FHWA established a conversion deadline of 1996.   So that one type of unit is used throughout the industry, State Aid
Operations Rules, chapter 8820, adopted on November 6, 1995 converted English units to metric units.  In 1998, Congress with-
drew the metric conversion requirement.  In January 1999, Darryl E. Durgin, Deputy Commissioner/ Chief Engineer for the
Department signed a letter proclaiming that the future work of the department, including the State Aid Division, shall be performed
in English units.

Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes § 14.386 and 14.388).  They are most often of

two kinds.  One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of
Statutes, reviewed for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings, and then published in the State Register. These exempt rules are
effective for two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest.  This exemption can be used only where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or

(2) comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance with Minnesota Statutes
14.14-14.28, or

(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or

(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning, or effect of the rules.

These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor of Statutes, for legality by the Office of Administrative Hearings and then
published in the State Register. In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate
justification for the use of this exemption.  Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years only.

The Legislature may also exempt an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive
requirements unique to that exemption.
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Because the rules amendment process was opened due to the reason stated above, a variety of other rules changes are proposed,
either to address specific minor issues, make technical changes, or to clarify existing rules.

All proposed changes were developed for adoption as one rules “package.”  Combining all rulemaking directives into one rule-
making was considered to be more a effective and efficient use of resources.

Comments.  Written comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules are due
before 4:30 p.m., on Friday, May 5, 2000.  Your comments must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due
date.  Comments are encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the
comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any change desired.  Any comments that you would like to
make on the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during this comment period.  

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rules.  Your
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m., on Friday, May 5,
2000.  Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address.  You must identify the portion of the proposed
rules to which you object or state that you oppose the entire set of rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements
is not valid and cannot be counted by the agency for determining whether a public hearing must be held.  You are also encouraged
to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a suf-
ficient number withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the
agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, explaining the actions the agency took to effect the
withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in
Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131 to 14.20. 

Alternative Format/ Accommodation. Upon request, this Notice can be made available in an alternative format, such as large
print, Braille, or cassette tape.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please
contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The proposed rules may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing
process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing and the adopted
rules may not be substantially different than the proposed rules.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to
participate in the rulemaking process.  

Cancellation of Hearing. The hearing scheduled for 9:00 a.m., on Tuesday, May 16th, 2000, will be canceled if the agency does
not receive requests from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rules.  If you requested a public hearing, the agency will
notify you before the scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at
651-296-9973 after 8:30 a.m., on Monday, May 8, 2000 to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rules, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The hearing will be held on the date and at the time and place
listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard.  Administrative Law Judge Klein is assigned to
conduct the hearing.  Judge Klein can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 Washington Square, Suite 1700, 100
Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138, phone (612) 341-7609,  and fax (612) 349-2665.

Hearing Procedure. If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of associations or
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in
writing at any time before the close of the hearing record.  All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rules.  You may also
submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public
hearing ends.  This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the
Administrative Law Judge at the hearing.  Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day response period during which
the agency and any interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted.  No additional evidence may be
submitted during the five-day response period.  All comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge must be
received at the Office of Administrative Hearings no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or responses received will
be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts
1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131 to 14.20.  Questions about procedure may be directed to the
Administrative Law Judge.
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The agency requests that any person submitting a written view or data to the Administrative Law Judge prior to the hearing or

during the comment or response period also submit a copy of the written view or data to the agency contact person at the address
stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A statement of need and reasonableness is now available from the agency contact
person.  This statement contains a summary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules.  The statement may also be reviewed and
copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from either the agency or the Office of Administrative Hearings.  

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board.  Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure
Board at: First Floor South, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 651/296-5148 or 1-800-
657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the comment
period.  The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted  to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legal-
ity.  You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want to be so notified, or want to received a
copy of the adopted rules, or want to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the
agency contact person listed above. 

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge
will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date when the Administrative Law Judge’s report will
become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge.  You may also ask to be
notified of the date on which the agency adopts the rules and files them with the Secretary of State, and can make this request at the
hearing or in writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Dated: 15 March 2000

Elwyn Tinkelenberg, Commissioner
Department of Transportation

8820.0100 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subps 1 to 2c, see M.R.]

Subp. 2e.  Bridge rehabilitation. “Bridge rehabilitation” means (1) the partial reconstruction of an existing bridge to meet
current design criteria and construction standards or (2) a project that fixes the deterioration in the structure and also or improves the
geometrics or load-carrying capacity to the minimum criteria set forth in this chapter, but may not necessarily provide improvement
to meet new design standards.

[For text of subps 2f to 13a, see M.R.]

Subp. 13b.  Reconditioning. “Reconditioning” includes resurfacing, replacement, or rehabilitation of the pavement structure to
extend the life of the roadway and effectively address critical safety and operations needs through minor improvements to the exist-
ing facility.  Reconditioning projects generally utilize the existing horizontal and vertical alignment, may entail minor widening or
geometric improvement, and normally require little or no additional right-of-way.  Replacement or rehabilitation of the pavement
structure does not include significant subgrade correction.  Reconditioning may include changes in vertical or horizontal alignment
involving no more than 20 percent of the length of the project.  Work does not normally extend beyond the existing ditch bottom.

Subp. 13c. Reconstruction. “Reconstruction” means (1) the replacement of an existing roadway on a similar alignment or (2)
the replacement of an existing bridge with a completely new bridge.

[For text of subps 14 to 22, see M.R.]

8820.0600 SELECTION OF ROUTES.

Final selection of routes to be included in the respective county state-aid and municipal state-aid systems are subject to the
approval of the commissioner.  These routes may be established on new locations where no existing roadway exists or may be
located upon or over an established roadway or specified portion of a roadway.

The highway and street systems to be selected and designated in accordance with law are:

[For text of item A, see M.R.]

B.  a municipal state-aid street system not exceeding 20 percent of the total length of city streets and county roads within the
jurisdiction of an urban municipality plus the length of all trunk highways reverted or turned back to the jurisdiction of the urban
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municipality pursuant to law on and after July 1, 1965, plus the length of county highways reverted or turned back to the jurisdiction
of the urban municipality pursuant to law on or after May 11, 1994.

For an undivided, one-way street with a minimum width of 7.8 meters 26 feet and with no parking lane or with a maximum width
of 14.7 meters 46 feet with parking available on one side of the street, the chargeable length allowed for municipal state-aid street
length purposes is one-half of the length of the one-way street.

8820.1400 MAINTENANCE, CONSTRUCTION, AND TURNBACK ACCOUNTS; STATE-AID PAYMENTS.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3.  Urban maintenance apportionment account. Twenty-five percent of the total allocation, if requested by the urban
municipality before December 16 preceding the annual allocation, or $1,000 per kilometer $1,500 per mile of improved municipal
state-aid streets, is the minimum allotment for the general maintenance of the approved state-aid system.  The commissioner may
modify any allotments to the urban maintenance account to finance the amount needed to pay the interest due on municipal state-aid
bonds and to accommodate the screening board resolutions pertaining to trunk highway turnback maintenance allowances.

Those municipalities desiring to receive an amount greater than the established minimum, not to exceed 35 percent of the total
allocation, shall file a request with the commissioner before December 16 preceding the annual allocation and shall agree to file a
detailed annual maintenance expenditure report at the end of the year.

[For text of subp 4a, see M.R.]

Subp. 4b.  Town bridge account. The commissioner shall retain for payment on approved projects the town bridge account
portion of the annual allocation must be credited to each respective county and retained by the commissioner for payment on
approved projects.

[For text of subps 4c to 8, see M.R].

8820.1500 CONSTRUCTION FUNDS.

[For text of subps 2 to 9, see M.R.]

Subp. 9a.  Advance from town bridge account. When the commissioner approves a request from the governing body of a
county for the replacement or, reconstruction, or rehabilitation of a town bridge requiring funds in excess of the county’s available
town bridge account, and these excess costs are initially paid for from other sources, then the commissioner shall reimburse those
locally financed expenditures out of subsequent apportionments to the town bridge account in accordance with the terms and condi-
tions specified in the approved request.  The total of these advances to be reimbursed from the town bridge account must not exceed
the county’s last town bridge apportionment.  Advances must be repaid in accordance with the terms of the approved request from
money accruing to the respective town bridge accounts. The request for advance encumbrance must be submitted with the Report
of State Aid Contract.

[For text of subps 10 to 11a, see M.R].

Subp. 12.  Municipal state-aid funds; county or trunk highway projects. The governing body of an urban municipality desir-
ing to use a portion of its state-aid funds for improvements within its boundaries on a state trunk highway or county state-aid
highway, must have the plans approved by the state-aid engineer before the contract is awarded bids are opened for these purposes.
The extent of state-aid participation must be determined on the same basis as a regular municipal state-aid highway project, includ-
ing engineering and right-of-way costs.  

8820.2300 TURNBACK, TOWN BRIDGE, AND TOWN ROAD ACCOUNTS.

[For text of subps 1 to 1b, see M.R.]

Subp. 2.  Town bridge fund allocation. The funds set aside for town bridges must be allocated to the eligible counties on the
basis of town bridge needs.

[For text of subps 2a to 7, see M.R].

8820.2500 MINIMUM STATE-AID STANDARDS.

[For text of subps 1 to 2, see M.R.]
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Subp. 3.  Right-of-way. The minimum widths of right-of-way for state-aid routes must be at least 18 meters 60 feet within cities

and 20 meters 66 feet in rural areas, except that the right-of-way may be less for routes that are within a city, that were constructed
before November 13, 1995, and that can be reconstructed to new construction standards within the previously existing right-of-way.
Before construction, the governing body shall acquire control of the additional widths of right-of-way as may be necessary to prop-
erly maintain the ditch section, drainage structures, and the recovery area.  Permanent easements for highway purposes are consid-
ered to be right-of-way for the purposes of this subpart.

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

8820.2700 MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1.  Standards. The commissioner shall require a reasonable standard of maintenance on state-aid routes within the
county or urban municipality, consistent with available funds, the existing street or road condition, and the traffic being served.
This maintenance must be considered to include:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R].

D.  the striping of pavements of 6.6 meters 22 feet or more in width, consistent with the current manual on uniform traffic
control devices, and for which there are no pending improvements;

[For text of item E, see M.R.]

F.  the installation of route markers on county state-aid highways as follows:

(1) route markers must be a minimum of 405 millimeters 16 inches by 405 millimeters 16 inches square with black letters
or numerals on a white background; or

[For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.]

8820.3100 GENERAL STATE-AID LIMITATIONS.

[For text of subps 1 to 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 7a.  Bicycle paths and sidewalks. Payment for a bicycle paths path or sidewalk must be made when requested by urban
municipalities, but only if the bicycle path or sidewalk is located within the permanent right-of-way of a state-aid eligible route or
within an easement generally parallel with a state-aid route.  County state-aid funds may be spent on bicycle paths or sidewalks as a
match to federal-aid funds or on paths that are both a part of an adopted bicycle path plan and are located within the permanent
right-of-way of a state-aid route or within an easement generally parallel with a state-aid route.

[For text of subps 8 to 10, see M.R.]

8820.9920 GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS; RURAL AND SUBURBAN UNDIVIDED; NEW OR
RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.

New or reconstruction projects for rural and suburban undivided roadways must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions
indicated in the following design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Pro- Lane Shoulder In- Recovery Design Sur- Struc- Bridges
jected Width Width slope Area Speed facing tural to Remain
ADT Design (f)

Strength Width
(b) (h) (c) (d) (e) (g) (i) Curb-Curb

meters meters rise: meters km/h metric meters
feet feet run feet mph tons feet

0-49 3.3 0.3 1:3 2 50- Agg. 6.6
(11 (1 (6.5 100 (22
ft) ft) ft) 7 (30- ft)

60
mph)



50- 3.3 0.9 1:4 3 60- Agg. 6.6
149 (11 (3 (10 100 (22

ft) ft) ft) 9 (40- ft)
60
mph)
(g)

150- 3.6 1.2 1:4 5 60- Paved 8.2 8.4
749 (12 (4 (16 100 (9 (27.5

ft) ft) ft) 15 (40- tons) ft) 28
60
mph)

750- 3.6 1.2 1:4 8 60- Paved 8.2 8.4
1499 (12 (4 (26 100 (9 (27.5

ft) ft) ft) 25 (40- tons) ft) 28
60
mph)

1500 3.6 1.8 1:4 9 60- Paved 9.1 9.0
and (12 (6) (29.5 100 (10 (29.5
over ft) ft) ft) 30 (40- tons) ft) 30

(h) 60
mph)

Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicated in the
chart for roadways.  Factors to consider may be safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost analysis, traffic mix, farm equip-
ment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized uses, functional classifica-
tion, or other factors.  Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and
8820.3400.

(a) For rural divided roadways, use the geometric design standards of the Mn/DOT Road Design Manual, with a minimum
9.1 metric tons (ten tons) structural design and minimum 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph) design speed.

(b) Use the existing traffic for highways not on the state-aid or federal-aid systems system.

(c) Applies to slope within recovery area only.

(d) Obstacle-free area (measured from edge of traffic lane).  Culverts with less than 675-millimeter (30-inch) vertical
height allowed without protection in the recovery area.

Exempt Rules
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Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph), and either the
ADT exceeds 400 749 or the bridge clear width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths.

Mailbox supports must be in accordance with the provisions of chapter 8818.

For roadways in suburban areas as defined in part 8820.0100, the recovery area may be reduced to a width of three meters (ten
feet) for projected ADT under 1,000 and to six meters (20 feet) for projected ADT of 1,000 or over.  Wherever the legal posted
speed limit is 60 k/hr (40 mph) or less, the recovery area may be reduced to a width of three meters (ten feet).

(e) Subject to terrain.  In suburban areas, the minimum design speed may be equal to the current legal posted speed where
the legal posted speed is 30 mph or greater.

(f) Inventory design rating M 13.5 of H 15 is required.  Bridges A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in place
provided that if the bridge is not deficient structurally or hydraulically.

(g) Design speed of 50 kilometers per hour (30 mph) allowed off of for highways not on the state-aid and federal-aid
systems system.

(h) Shoulders are required to be a minimum width of 2.4 meters (eight feet) for highways classified as minor arterials and
principal arterials with greater than 1,500 ADT projected.

(i) Roadways not on the state-aid system are not subject to the minimum structural design strength requirements.  In subur-
ban areas, the minimum structural design strength is nine tons or ten tons as needed for system continuity.

Approach sideslopes must be 1:4 or flatter when the ADT exceeds 400.

MS 22.5 HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design (LRFD)
is required for new or reconstructed bridges.  MS 16 HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges.  The curb-to-curb
minimum width for new or rehabilitated reconstructed bridges is the sum of the lane and shoulder widths plus 1.2 meters (four feet).

8820.9926 GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS:  RURAL AND SUBURBAN UNDIVIDED; RECONDITIONING PROJECTS.

Reconditioning projects for rural or suburban undivided roadways must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indi-
cated in the following design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only. See part
8820.0100, subpart 13b, for the description of activities allowed.

Existing Statutory or Lane Width Combined Lane
ADT Regulatory (Paved) (Paved) and

Posted Speed Shoulder Width
km/h meters meters

Below 750 Under 80 km/h 3.0 3.3
(50 mph) (10 ft) (11 ft)

feet feet

Below 750 80 km/h 3.0 3.6
(50 mph) or over (10 ft) (12 ft)

feet feet

Over 750 749 Under 80 km/h 3.0 3.6
(50 mph) (10 ft) (12 ft)

feet feet

Over 750 749 80 km/h 3.3 4.3
(50 mph & over) (11 ft) (14 ft)

feet feet
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Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane or shoulder width dimension other than the widths indicated in the chart for
roadways.  Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost analysis, traffic mix, environmental impacts,
terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors.  Widths less
than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400.

Widths of bridges to remain in place must equal roadway pavement width.  Bridges narrower than these widths may remain in
place provided that the bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds.  M 13.5 loading H 15 inventory rating is required.

Any highway that was previously built to state-aid or state standards, that was granted a variance to standards in effect at the time
of construction or reconstruction, or that is a trunk highway turnback, but does not meet current standards for vertical or horizontal
alignment, may be reconditioned and may retain the existing vertical and horizontal alignment where safety considerations based on
engineering judgment do not warrant improvements.

The proposed structural design strength must be 6.4 metric tons (a minimum of seven tons).

8820.9936 GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS, URBAN; NEW OR RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.

New or reconstruction projects for urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the follow-
ing design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Functional Design Lane Curb Parking
Classification Speed Width Reaction Lane
and Projected (a) Distance Width
Traffic Volume (e)

km/h meters meters meters
mph feet feet feet

Collectors 50-60 km/h 3.3 (b) 0.6 2.4
or Locals (30-40 (11 (2 (8
with ADT mph) ft) ft) ft)
< 10000*

over 60 3.6 0.6 3.0
km/h (40 (12 (2 (10
mph) ft) ft) ft)

Collectors 50-60 km/h 3.3 (b) 1.2 (c) 3.0
or Locals (30-40 (11 (4 (10
with ADT mph) ft) ft) ft)
≥ 10000
and over 60 3.6 1.2 (c) 3.0 (d)
Arterials km/h (40 (12 (4 (10

mph) ft) ft) ft)

(a) One-way turn lanes must be at least three meters (ten feet) wide, except 3.3 meters (11 feet) is required if the design speed
is over 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph).

(b) Wherever possible, lane widths of 3.6 meters (12 feet), rather than 3.3 meters (11 feet), should be used.

(c) May be reduced to 0.6 meters (two feet) if there are four or more traffic lanes and on one-way streets.

(d) No parking is allowed for six or more traffic lanes or when the posted speed limit exceeds 70 kilometers per hour (45 mph).



(e) Curb reaction must be provided only where parking is not provided.

One-way streets must have at least two through-traffic lanes.

When a median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a 0.3 meter (one-foot) reaction distance to the median is
required on either side of the median.  Minimum median width is 1.2 meters (four feet).

Urban design roadways must be a minimum 8.2 metric tons (nine tons) structural design, or ten tons if needed for system continuity.

Roadways not on the state-aid system are not subject to the minimum structural design strength requirements.

A new or rehabilitated bridge must have a curb-to-curb width equal to the required street width.  MS 22.5 HS 25 loading or LRFD
with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design (LRFD) is required for new or
reconstructed bridges and a minimum of MS 16 HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges.

For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes.  For ADT greater than or equal to
150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, parking lane, and curb
reaction distance.

Clearance of 0.5 meter (1.5 feet) from the face of the curb to fixed objects must be provided when the posted speed is 60 to 70
kilometers per hour (40 to 45 mph).  A three-meter (ten-foot) clearance from the driving lane must be provided when the posted
speed exceeds 70 kilometers per hour (45 mph).

For volumes greater than 15,000 projected ADT*, at least four through-traffic lanes are required.

*Additional average daily traffic may be allowed if a capacity analysis demonstrates that level of service D or better is achieved
at the higher traffic volume.  If the capacity analysis demonstrates that additional lanes are required only during peak traffic hours,
then each additional driving lane may be used as a parking lane during nonpeak hours.

“Level of service” has the meaning given it in the Highway Capacity Manual, Special Report 209, as revised and published by the
Transportation Research Board of the National Research Council, Washington, D.C.  The definition is incorporated by reference, is
not subject to frequent change, and is located at the Minnesota State Law Library, 25 Constitution Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota
55155.

8820.9946 GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS, URBAN; RECONDITIONING PROJECTS.

Subpart 1.  Two-way streets. In the following design chart, total width is in meters, from face-to-face of curbs.

Reconditioning projects for two-way urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the chart.
The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Number of Through Total Total Width Total Width Proposed
Lanes, Functional Width with Parking with Parking Structural
Class, and Present with No on One Side on Both Design
Traffic Volume Parking Sides Strength

meters meters meters metric
feet feet feet tons

2-Lane Collector 7.8 9.6 11.4 8.2 (b)
or Local with (26 ft) (32 ft) (37 38 (9 tons)
ADT < 10000 ft)

4-Lane Collector 13.2 15.6 18.0 8.2 (b)
or Local with (43 (51 (59 (9 tons)
ADT < 10000 ft) 44 ft) 52 ft) 60

2-Lane Collector 7.8 9.6 12.6 8.2
or Local with (26 (32 (41 (9 tons)
ADT ≥ 10000 ft) ft) ft) 42
or 2-Lane
Arterial (a)
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4-Lane Collector 13.2 16.2 19.2 8.2
or Local with (43 (53 (63 (9 tons)
ADT≥ 10000 or ft) 44 ft) 54 ft) 64
4-Lane Arterial

6-Lane Collectors 19.8 (c) (c) 8.2
or Arterials (65 (9 tons)

ft) 66

(a) Permissible for present traffic volumes less than 15,000 ADT.

(b) When ADT is less than 5,000, 6.4 metric tons (seven tons) is allowable.

(c) No parking is allowed. 

Minimum design speed is 50 kilometers per hour (30 mph). When a median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a
0.3 meter (one-foot) reaction distance to the median is required on either side of the median.  Minimum median width is 1.2 meters
(four feet).

For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes.  For ADT greater than or equal to
150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, parking lane, and curb
reaction distance.

Subp. 2.  One-way streets. In the following design chart, total width is in meters, from face-to-face of curbs. 

Reconditioning projects for one-way urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the chart.
The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Number of Present Total Total Width Total Width Proposed
Through ADT Width with with Structural
Lanes and with No Parking on Parking on Design
Functional Parking One Side Both Sides Strength
Class

meters meters meters metric
feet feet feet tons

2-Lane < 5000 6.3 8.7 11.1 6.4
Collector (20 (29 ft) (36 (7 tons)
or Local ft) 21 ft) 37
with ADT
< 10000 5000- 6.9 9.3 11.7 8.2

10000 (23 ft) (31 ft) (38 (9 tons)
ft) 39
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2-Lane < 15000 6.9 9.3 11.7 8.2
Collector (23 ft) (31 ft) (38 (9 tons)
or Local ft) 39
with ADT
≥ 10000 ≥ 15000 7.2 9.6 12.0 8.2
or 2-lane (24 ft) (32 ft) (39 (9 tons)
Arterial ft) 40

3-Lane All 10.2 12.6 15.0 8.2
Arterial or (33 (41 (49 (9 tons)
Collector ft) 34 ft) 42 ft) 50

Minimum design speed is 50 kilometers per hour (30 mph).

For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes.  For ADT greater than or equal to
150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, parking lane, and curb
reaction distance.

Subp. 3.  Exception. Any street that was previously built to state-aid or state standards, that was granted a variance to standards
in effect at the time of construction or reconstruction, or that is a trunk highway turnback, but does not meet current standards, may
be reconditioned regardless of subparts 1 and 2.

8820.9956 VERTICAL CLEARANCES FOR UNDERPASSES.

Underpass projects must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the following design chart.  The rounded
English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Rural-Suburban Urban Design,
Design, Vertical Vertical
Clearance Clearance

meters feet- meters feet-
inches inches

Highway under roadway 5 4.4
bridge (16 ft) (14 ft)

16-4 14-6

Highway under railroad 5 4.4
bridge (16 ft) (14 ft)

16-4 14-6

Highway under pedestrian 5.3 4.4
bridge (17 ft) (14 ft)

17-4 14-6

Highway under sign 5.3 4.4
structure (17 ft) (14 ft)

17-4 14-6

Railroad under roadway 6.7 6.7
bridge* (22 ft) (22 ft)

22-0 22-0
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*Variances to the required minimum may be granted by the commissioner of transportation.  That approval eliminates the need
for a state-aid variance.

8820.9961 MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS FOR 45-DEGREE AND 60-DEGREE DIAGONAL PARKING.

Diagonal parking projects must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the following design chart.  The
rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Parking Stall Stall Traffic Length 1/2 Present Legal
Angle Width Depth Aisle Along Roadway ADT Speed

Width Curb Width Limit
Minimum

meters meters meters meters meters km/h

45 2.7 6.0 7.7 3.9 10.0 Less 50 km/h
Degrees (10 (20 (25 (13 (33 than (30 mph)

ft) ft) ft) ft) ft) 3000 or less

60 2.7 6.4 9.1 3.2 11.9 Less 50 km/h
Degrees (9 (21 (30 (10 (39 than (30 mph)

ft) ft) ft) ft) ft) 3000 or less

45 2.7 6.0 7.7 3.9 13.7 3000 50 km/h
Degrees (9 (20 (25 (13 (45 and (30 mph)

ft) ft) ft) ft) ft) over or less

60 2.7 6.4 9.1 3.2 15.5 3000 50 km/h
Degrees (9 (21 (30 (10 (51 and (30 mph)

ft) ft) ft) ft) ft) over or less

Parking Present Parking Parking Distance Length
Angle ADT Stall Stall Between Along

Width Depth Traffic Curb
Lane and
Parking
Stall

(feet) (feet) (feet) (feet)

45 ≤  3000 9 20 2 12.7
degrees

60 ≤  3000 9 21 7 10.4
degrees

45 ≤  3000 9 20 14 12.7
degrees

60 ≤  3000 9 21 19 10.4
degrees

Exempt Rules
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Maximum legal speed limit must be 30 mph.

At least two through through-traffic lanes must be provided.

Diagonal parking provisions must be established by cooperative agreement between the local road authority and the commissioner.

The cooperative agreement must show the angle of parking, and provide for pavement marking of the parking lanes, and provide
that the road authority may alter parking provisions if traffic volumes exceed the design criteria.

Minnesota Statutes, section 169.34, must be adhered to in determining diagonal parking spacing.

Provide a 0.6-meter (two-foot) clearance from the face of the curb to fixed objects.  Parking meters, when spaced so as to not
interfere with vehicle operation, are exempt.

8820.9981 MINIMUM GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS:  NATURAL PRESERVATION ROUTES, DESIGNATED
NATIONAL FOREST HIGHWAYS WITHIN NATIONAL FORESTS, AND STATE PARK ACCESS ROADS WITHIN
STATE PARKS; NEW OR RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.

Subpart 1.  Type I route. New or reconstruction projects for type I natural preservation routes, designated natural forest high-
ways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions
indicated in the following design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Sur- Design Lane Shoul- In- Recov- Design Bridge
face Speed Width der slope ery Strength to
Type Width Area Remain

km/h meters meters rise: meters metric meters
mph feet feet run feet tons feet

(a) (b) (c) (d)

Aggre- 50 3.3 0.3 1:3 1 6.6
gate (30 (11 ft) (1 ft) (3 ft) (22 ft)

mph)

Paved 50 3.3 0.5 1:3 3 8.2 6.6
(30 (11 ft) (1.5 (10 ft) (9 (22 ft)
mph) ft) 2 tons)

(a) If the route has scenic vistas that will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these locations
is acceptable.  The designer will provide a 1.2- meter (four-foot) paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route.

(b) Applies to slope within recovery area only.  Other design features, such as guardrails or retaining walls, should be consid-
ered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060.

(c) Obstacle-free area (measured from edge of traffic lane).

Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph), and either the
ADT exceeds 400 749 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths. 

Mailbox supports must be in accordance with the provisions of chapter 8818.

(d) Inventory design rating M 13.5 of HS 15 is required. A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in place if the
bridge is not deficient structurally or hydraulically.

MS 18 HS 20 loading or LRFD with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design
(LRFD) is required for new bridges.  MS 16 HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges.  The curb-to-curb minimum
width for new or rehabilitated reconstructed bridges is the sum of the lane and shoulder widths plus 1.2 meters (four feet).

Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically and to provide for adequate snow
storage when a standard ditch would negatively impact the surroundings.
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The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute minimum.  In
sensitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless otherwise required for special condi-
tions.

Curb and gutter may be used in lieu of a ditch section under the paved option.  The lane width, shoulder width, and recovery area
must be maintained.

For designated national forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks, this subpart applies
only where the projected ADT is less than 100, unless the route has been designated as a natural preservation route.

Subp. 2.  Type II route. New or reconstruction projects for type II natural preservation routes, designated national forest high-
ways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions
indicated in the following design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Sur- Design Lane Shoul- In- Recov- Design Bridge
face Speed Width der slope ery Strength to
Type Width Area Remain

km/h meters meters rise: meters metric meters
mph feet feet run feet tons feet

(a) (b) (c) (d)

Aggre- 50 3.3 0.6 1:3 3 7.2
gate (30 (11 ft) (2 ft) (10 (24 ft)

mph) ft) 9

Paved 60 3.6 1.2 1:4 3 8.2 7.2
(40 (12 ft) (4 ft) (10 ft) (9 (24 ft)
mph) tons)

(a) The designer will provide a 1.8-meter (six-foot) paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route.  If the route has
scenic vistas that will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these locations is acceptable.

(b) Applies to slope within recovery area only.  Other design features, such as guardrail or retaining walls, should be consid-
ered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060.  Approach sideslopes
must be 1:4 or flatter within the recovery area when the ADT exceeds 400.

(c) Obstacle-free area (measured from edge of traffic lane).Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design
speed exceeds 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph), and either the ADT exceeds 400 749 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the
lane and shoulder widths.

Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 60 kilometers per hour -(40 mph), and either the
ADT exceeds 400 749 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths.

Mailbox supports must be in accordance with the provisions of chapter 8818.

(d) Inventory design rating M 13.5 of HS 15 is required.  A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in place if the
bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds.

MS 18 HS 20 loading or LRFD with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design
(LRFD) is required for new bridges.  MS 16 HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges.  The curb-to-curb minimum
width for new or rehabilitated reconstructed bridges is the sum of the lane and shoulder widths, but may not be less than nine meters
(30 feet).
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Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically, to be traversable if within the recovery

area, and to provide for adequate snow storage when a standard ditch would negatively impact the surroundings.

The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute minimum.  In sen-
sitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless required for special conditions.

For designated national forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks, this subpart may
be applied only where the projected ADT is less than 300, unless the route has been designated as a natural preservation route.

Subp. 3.  Type III route. New or reconstruction projects for type III natural preservation routes, designated national forest high-
ways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions
indicated in the following design chart.  The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

Sur- Design Lane Shoul- In- Recov- Design Bridge
face Speed Width der slope ery Strength to
Type Width Area Remain

km/h meters meters rise: meters metric meters
mph feet feet run feet tons feet

(a) (b) (c) (d)

Aggre- 50 3.6 0.9 1:4 3 7.2
gate (30 (12 ft) (3 ft) (10 ft) (24 ft)

mph)

Paved 50 3.6 1.2 1:4 3 8.2 7.2
(e) (30 (12 ft) (4 ft) (10 ft) (9 (24 ft)

mph) tons)

Paved 60 3.6 1.2 1:4 5 8.2 7.2
(40 (12 ft) (4 ft) (16 (9 (24 ft)
mph) ft) 15 tons)

(a) The designer will provide a 1.8-meter (six-foot) paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route.  If the route has
scenic vistas which will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these locations is acceptable.

(b) Applies to slope within recovery area only.  Other design features, such as guardrail or retaining walls, should be consid-
ered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060.  Approach sideslopes
must be 1:4 or flatter within the recovery area when the ADT exceeds 400.

(c) Obstacle-free area (measured from edge of traffic lane).

Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 60 kilometers per hour (40 mph), and either the
ADT exceeds 400 749 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths.

Mailbox supports must be in accordance with the provisions of chapter 8818.

(d) Inventory design rating M 13.5 of HS 15 is required.  A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in place if the
bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds.

(e) This standard may be applied only when the project is located in a subdivided area or an area in a detailed development
process, and physical restraints are present that prevent reasonable application of another level of these standards.

MS 22.5 HS 25 loading or LRFD with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design
(LRFD) is required for new bridges.  MS 16 HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges.  The curb-to-curb minimum
width for new or rehabilitated reconstructed bridges is the sum of the lane and shoulder widths, but may not be less than 9.6 meters
(31.5 32 feet).



Exempt Rules

PAGE 1419(CITE 24 S.R. 1419) State Register, Monday 3 April 2000

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” ADOPTED
RULES SECTION — Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from
proposed rule language.

Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically, to be traversable if within the recovery
area, and to provide for adequate snow storage when a standard ditch would negatively affect the surroundings.

The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute minimum.  In sen-
sitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless required for special conditions.

8820.9986 MINIMUM GEOMETRIC DESIGN STANDARDS:  NATURAL PRESERVATION ROUTES, DESIGNATED
NATIONAL FOREST HIGHWAYS WITHIN NATIONAL FORESTS, AND STATE PARK ACCESS ROADS WITHIN
STATE PARKS; RECONDITIONING PROJECTS.

Reconditioning projects for natural preservation routes, designated national forest highways within national forests, and state
park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum metric dimensions indicated in the following design chart.
The rounded English equivalent is provided for informational purposes only.

TYPE I, II, OR III ROUTE 

Proposed Design Pavement Width Shoulder-to-Shoulder
Strength Width

metric tons meters meters
feet feet

6.4 (7 tons) 6.6 (22 ft) 7.8 (26 ft)

Widths of bridges to remain in place must equal pavement width.  A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in place if the
bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds.  M 13.5 H 15 loading is required. 

8820.9990 ROUTE MARKER. 



610 mm x 610 mm (2 ft by 2 ft)

Green legend; white reflectorized background

8820.9995 MINIMUM BICYCLE PATH STANDARDS.

Minimum Bicycle Path Standards

For Off-Road Design, the following shall apply: 

Minimum Surfacing Width 2.4 meters (8 ft) (b)
(two-way)

Shoulder/Clear Zone 0.5 meters (2 ft) (c)

Inslope 1:2 (rise:run)

Design Speed 30 km/h (20 mph) (d)

Vertical Clearance 3 meters (10 ft)

(a) For on-road bicycle facilities, the appropriate tables in the Minnesota Bicycle Transportation Planning and Design
Guidelines are recommended for design purposes.

(b) Three meters (Ten feet) is desired for a combined bicycle/pedestrian path.  1.5 meters (Five feet) is required for a one-way
bicycle path.

(c) The shoulder/clear zone should be carried across bridges and through underpasses 3.6 meters (12 feet) or less in clear
width.  Lead-in guardrail should be provided when shoulders are not carried over bridges.

(d) Use a 50 kilometers per hour (30 mph) design speed for grades longer than 150 meters (500 feet) and greater than four
percent, from the uphill point where the grade equals four percent to 150 meters (500 feet) beyond the downhill point where the
grade becomes less than four percent.  The maximum allowable grade is 8.3 percent.
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Department of Natural Resources 
Adopted Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rules; Relating to Designated Infested Waters

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above entitled rule has been adopted through the process prescribed by Minnesota
Statutes, section 84.027, subdivision 13(b). The statutory authority for the contents of this rule is Minnesota Statutes, section
84D.12, subdivision 3.

Dated: 27 March 2000
Allen Garber
Commissioner of Natural Resources

6216.0350 DESIGNATED INFESTED WATERS.

Subpart 1.  Listing of waters infested with Eurasian water milfoil. The following water bodies are designated by the commis-
sioner as infested with Eurasian water milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum).  Activities at these waters are subject to parts 6216.0100 to
6216.0600, Minnesota Statutes, section 84D.13, and other applicable laws. 

DNR Protected Waters
Name Inventory Number

[For text of item A, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

[For text of item B, see M.R.]

[For text of item C, see 23 SR 2078, 4/26/99]

[For text of item D, see M.R.]

[For text of item E, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

[For text of item F, see M.R.]

[For text of items G to L, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

M. Pope County

(1) Gilchrist Lake 61-0072
(2) Lake Minnewaska 61-0130

[For text of item N, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

O. St. Louis County

(1) Gilbert Pit Lake 69-1306
(2) Horseshoe Lake 69-503

[For text of items P to R, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

S. Washington County

(1) Powers Lake 82-0092
(2) White Bear Lake 82-0167
(2) (3) St. Croix River 82-0001

[For text of items T and U, see 24 SR 740, 11/22/99]

[For text of subps 2 to 6, see M.R.]

EFFECT OF EMERGENCY AMENDMENT.  After the emergency amendments to Minnesota Rules, part 6216.0350,
subpart 1, expire, the permanent rule as it read prior to the amendments again takes effect, except as it may be amended by perma-
nent rule.

Expedited Emergency Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt emergency expedited rules when conditions exist that do not allow the

Commissioner to comply with the requirements for emergency rules.  The Commissioner must submit the rule to the attorney general for review
and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the rule and the emergency conditions.  Emergency expedited rules are effective upon
publication in the State Register, and may be effective up to seven days before publication under certain emergency conditions.  Emergency
expedited rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.  Specific Minnesota Statutes citations accompanying these emergency
expedited rules detail the agency’s rulemaking authority.
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Department of Agriculture
Agronomy and Plant Protection Division

Notice of Special Local Need Registration for Dual Magnum Herbicide
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 18B.27 and Parts 1505.0880-1505.0930, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture issued  on

March 23, 2000, a Special Local Need (SLN) registration for Dual Magnum herbicide, manufactured by Novartis Crop Protection,
Inc., Greensboro NC  27419-8300.  This registration allows the use of Dual Magnum for weed control in dry bulb onions.  A federal
or state agency, a local unit of government, or any person or groups of persons filing with the commissioner a petition that contains
the signatures and addresses of 500 or more individuals of legal voting age, shall have 30 days from publication of notice in the
State Register to file written objections with the commissioner regarding the issuance of the special local need registration.
Objections may be submitted to:  John C. Sierk, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Agronomy and Plant Protection Division, 90
West Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, MN  55107. Comment deadline is May 3, 2000.

Department of Children, Families and Learning
Division of Special Education

Special Education Advisory Council Vacancies
The Minnesota Department of Children, Families & Learning has opened the application process for the Special Education

Advisory Council (SEAC). The purpose of SEAC is to assist the state in developing policies, plans and practices that will assure
effective and efficient special education programs for students with disabilities. Advisory council members are expected to partici-
pate in approximately 7 sets of two-day meetings held in the metro area during each fiscal year.  Your assistance is requested in
recruiting prospective members of Minnesota’s federally mandated special education advisory council.  Interested applicants apply
through the office of the Secretary of State and are appointed by the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Children,
Families & Learning.

Currently, we have opened five (5) positions for a commitment of a four-year term from July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2004.
Applicants should be knowledgeable of issues, laws and policies pertaining to the education of students with disabilities and their
families.  Members must represent one or more of the following areas: parents of children with disabilities; consumers; advocacy
organizations; school boards; special education teachers and administrators; regular education teachers and administrators; higher
education teacher training programs; private and charter schools; vocational, community or business organizations concerned with
transition; state juvenile and adult correction facilities; and other state agencies.  Membership will be racially diverse and to main-
tain geographic balance, individuals from all congressional districts are encouraged to apply.

An Open Appointment Application form is available from the Open Appointment Division of the Secretary of State, and must be
received by May 1, 2000. The official Notice of Vacancy is published in the State Register. For more information or an applica-
tion form, please contact one of following:

Open Appointment Office at (651) 297-5845, website: www.sos.state.mn.us

Mary McDevitt Kraljic at (651) 582-8589, Email: mary.mcdevitt-kraljic@state.mn.us

Stefanie Moss at (651) 582-8696, Email: stefanie.moss@state.mn.us

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking

proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to
adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  The State Register also
publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notices of meetings and matters of public interest. 
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Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
Notice of Proposed Premium Rate Meetings

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a representative of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association’s (MCHA) executive
staff and a representative of the Minnesota Department of Commerce will hold premium rate meetings in Minnesota as indicated
below. The purpose of the meetings is to allow MCHA enrollees an opportunity to comment on the proposed premium rates. Any rate
change must be approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. New premium rates would go into effect on July 1, 2000.

For additional information, please call Lynn Gruber at (612) 593-9609.

LOCATION DATE TIME

ROCHESTER Tuesday, April 4, 2000 6:30 p.m.
Best Western Apache
1517 16th Street S.W.
Rochester, MN
Tel: 507-289-8866

BRAINERD Wednesday, April 5, 2000 6:30 p.m
Holiday Inn Brainerd
2115 S. 6th Street
Brainerd, MN
Tel: 218-829-1441

TWIN CITIES Thursday, April 6, 2000 6:30 p.m.
Holiday Inn Metrodome
1500 Washington Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN
Tel: 612-333-4646

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Notice of Intent to Approve the Creation of the Delft Sanitary Sewer District in

Accordance with Minnesota Statutes §§ 115.18 to 115.20
The Township of Carson has petitioned the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) to approve the creation of a sanitary

district to be known as Delft Sanitary Sewer District.  The purpose of the sanitary district is to promote the public health and welfare
by providing the residents within its boundaries an adequate and efficient system and means of collecting, conveying, pumping,
treating and disposing of domestic sewage. 

The territory of the proposed district encompasses an area known as the unincorporated area of Delft in Carson Township,
Cottonwood County, Minnesota.  The territory of the proposed sanitary district is legally described as:

The Southeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter, the Southwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter, the Northeast Quarter of the
Southwest Quarter, and the Northwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter of Section 18, of Township 106 North, of Range 35 West of
the Fifth Principal Meridian in Cottonwood County, Minnesota.

A map displaying the boundaries of the proposed district is available at the MPCA.

The public has 30 days to submit written comments on the petition.  If a person objects to the petition, that person may submit a
written request for a hearing that meets the requirements of Minnesota Rules 7000.1800 and 7000.1900.  The written comments or a
written request for a hearing must be submitted to the MPCA by 4:30 p.m. on May 2, 2000.  If twenty five (25) or more timely
requests for hearing are received, the MPCA will schedule a hearing prior to making a determination on the petition.

Following the end of the comment period and, if held, the public hearing, the MPCA Commissioner will decide whether to
approve the petition for creation of the district unless, as provided by Minnesota Statutes § 116.02, the MPCA Citizens’ Board
makes this decision.  You have the right to submit a petition to the MPCA Commissioner requesting that the MPCA Citizens’ Board
make the decision on approval of the petition for creation of the Delft Sanitary Sewer District.  Your petition must be in writing and
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must be received by MPCA staff during the public comment period.  The MPCA Citizens’ Board will only make the decision on
approval of the petition for creation of the sanitary district if the MPCA Commissioner grants your petition or if an MPCA Citizens’
Board member makes a timely request to have the decision made by the MPCA Citizens’ Board.

A copy of the petition, resolutions, map of the area within the proposed sanitary district with the legal description, and other doc-
uments relevant to the petition can be requested from the MPCA. Comments, questions, and requests for a hearing regarding the
creation of the sanitary district and requests for information must be submitted in writing to:

Amy Lockheart Telephone: (651) 296-5426
Regular Facilities and Site Remediation Section Toll-free: 1-800-657-3864
Policy and Planning Division TTY: (651) 282-5332
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Fax: (651) 297-8676
520 Lafayette Road North
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4194

This notice, the petition, and other documents relevant to the petition can be made available in other formats, including Braille,
large print, audio tape, and other languages upon request.

Dated: 20 March 2000

Lisa J. Thorvig
Deputy Commissioner

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Notice of Intent to Approve the Creation of the Tofte-Schroeder Sanitary Sewer District in

Accordance with Minnesota Statutes §§ 115.18 to 115.20
The Townships of Tofte and Schroeder have petitioned the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) to approve the creation

of a sanitary district to be known as Tofte-Schroeder Sanitary Sewer District.  The purpose of the sanitary district is to promote the
public health and welfare by providing the residents within its boundaries an adequate and efficient system and means of collecting,
conveying, pumping, treating and disposing of domestic sewage. 

The territory of the proposed district is within portions of Tofte Township and Schroeder Township, Cook County, Minnesota.
The territory of the proposed sanitary district is legally described as:

Sections 12, 13, 14, 21, 22, 28, 29, 31, and 32, the South Half of Section 15, and the East Half of the Southeast
Quarter of Section 16, Township 59 North, Range 4 West; and

The South Half of the South Half of Section 36, Township 59 North, Range 5 West; and Sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 10,
11, and 12, Township 58 North, Range 5 West, Fourth Principal Meridian, Cook County, Minnesota.

A map displaying the boundaries of the proposed district is available at the MPCA.

The public has 30 days to submit written comments on the petition.  If a person objects to the petition, that person may submit a
written request for a hearing that meets the requirements of Minnesota Rules 7000.1800 and 7000.1900.  The written comments or a
written request for a hearing must be submitted to the MPCA by 4:30 p.m. on May 2, 2000.  If twenty five (25) or more timely
requests for hearing are received, the MPCA will schedule a hearing prior to making a determination on the petition.

Following the end of the comment period and, if held, the contested case hearing, the MPCA Commissioner will decide whether
to approve the petition for creation of the district unless, as provided by Minnesota Statutes § 116.02, the MPCA Citizens’ Board
makes this decision.  You have the right to submit a petition to the MPCA Commissioner requesting that the MPCA Citizens’ Board
make the decision on approval of the petition for creation of the Tofte-Schroeder Sanitary Sewer District.  Your petition must be in
writing and must be received by MPCA staff during the public comment period.  The MPCA Citizens’ Board will only make the
decision on approval of the petition for creation of the sanitary district if the MPCA Commissioner grants your petition or if an
MPCA Citizens’ Board member makes a timely request to have the decision made by the MPCA Citizens’ Board.

A copy of the petition, resolutions, map of the area within the proposed sanitary district with the legal description, and other doc-
uments relevant to the petition can be requested from the MPCA.  Comments, questions, and requests for a hearing regarding the
creation of the sanitary district and requests for information must be submitted in writing to:
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Amy Lockheart Telephone: (651) 296-5426
Regular Facilities and Site Remediation Section Toll-free: 1-800-657-3864
Policy and Planning Division TTY: (651) 282-5332
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Fax: (651) 297-8676
520 Lafayette Road North
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4194

This notice, the petition, and other documents relevant to the petition can be made available in other formats, including Braille,
large print, audio tape, and other languages upon request.

Dated: 20 March 2000

Lisa J. Thorvig
Deputy Commissioner

Teachers Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on Thursday, April 13, 2000 at 9:30 a.m.
in Suite 500, Gallery Building, 17 W. Exchange Street, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the
Board.

Department of Administration
STAR Program (A System of Technology to Achieve Results)

Notice of Availability - Community Action Network (CAN) Grant for Rural Delivery of
Assistive Technology (AT) Services and Devices.  (For Region 2 only, Aitkin, Carlton,
Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake and Saint Louis Counties)-$30,000.00

STAR is offering a competitive grant to groups of volunteers based in Minnesota region 2 who wish to establish or expand pro-
jects that guarantee rural delivery of AT services and devices to unserved, underserved, or under-represented people with disabili-
ties throughout the region.  This includes minorities, persons with low incomes, and persons with limited English proficiency.  Each
CAN should be comprised of a majority of individuals with disabilities and their family members from region 2.  A CAN should
utilize the services of a fiscal host.  Projects CANs should engage in include, but are not limited to, assessment, evaluation and con-
sultation for mobility, seating, positioning, augmentative and alternative communication, aids for daily living and environmental
controls.  Services should be available to people of all ages and all disabilities.

Additionally, funds should be utilized for increasing regional capacity for providing AT services and devices through training for
individuals with disabilities, their family members and the professionals who serve them.  Preference will go to proposals reflecting
cross agency and public private partnerships, greater use of resources from within region 2 and groups spending less on personnel

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register also

publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant and loan programs
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register
itself.  Agencies are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested
parties to respond.
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and more on service delivery.  A pool of $30,00.00 is available.  Proposals must be received by Thursday, May 25, 2000, 4:30 PM
in the format specified in the application package.  The grant period runs through June 30, 2001.  Previous winners of RATR, CAN
or other STAR grants are eligible.  These funds may not be used to supplant activities or services mandated by other federal or state
legislation.  Materials detailing the process can be obtained by contacting STAR at 651-296-2771, 651-296-9478 (TTY),
800-657-3862, 800-657-3895 (TTY).  Questions should be directed to the Program and Development Specialist at 651-296-9718
(email: tom.shaffer@state.mn.us).

To answer your questions and give you the opportunity to write your best proposal,  STAR is holding open meetings:  Friday,
May 5, 2000, 2:00 PM, Ely, Ely Bloomenson Community Hospital and Nursing Home, 328 West Conan Street, multi purpose
room, Monday, May 8, 2000, 1:00 PM, Grand Rapids, Blandin Foundation, 100 Pokegama Avenue North, Board Room. 

Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services
Notice of Availability of Funds for General Crime Victim Services 

The Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services, General Crime Victims Program, announces the availability of grant funds for
new general crime victim services for FY01.  The grants are for the twelve month period July 1, 2000 through June 30, 2001, and
are available through a competitive funding process.

Eight grants of $41,000 each are available to provide start-up funds for direct services for general crime victims in the following
unserved/underserved counties (defined as counties who do not receive funding from MCCVS for county-wide general crime
victim services):  Beltrami, Big Stone, Blue Earth, Clearwater, Cook, Cottonwood, Faribault, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson,
Kanabec, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lincoln, McLeod, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Nicollet, Nobles,
Norman, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Pope, Red Lake, Renville, Rock, Roseau, St. Louis, Sibley, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse,
Wabasha, Waseca, Wilkin, and Wright.  Applicants proposing services in counties with low crime rates and/or small populations
may apply to serve more than one county in this application.  Preference will be given to applications that address county-wide
needs.

Private non-profit organizations, Indian tribal governments, and local units of government are eligible to apply.  Applicants are
responsible for planning and implementing services according to minimum programmatic standards.  The successful applicant may
be eligible to apply for continued funding in FY02.

Applications are due Friday, May 26, 2000. To receive a request for proposals (application packet) which provides complete
information and describes how to apply, contact:

Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services
245 East Sixth Street, Suite 705
St. Paul, MN  55101
(651) 282-6256 
Toll-free (888) 622-8799
TTY (hearing impaired):  (651) 205-4827
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Department of Health
Grant Proposals Sought for HIV Services

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) is issuing a Request for Proposals (RFP) to distribute Title I and Title II Ryan
White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act funds. The amount of the award will be up to $200,000. The grant
period will be June 1, 2000 through March 31, 2001. Continuation or expansion funding will be dependent upon availability of
funds to the MDH.

Any public or private non-profit agency that is the sole provider of a statewide system of services and can demonstrate experience
working with people living with HIV/AIDS and in administering emergency financial assistance is eligible to apply.

The purpose of this funding is to provide emergency financial assistance to low-income people living with HIV/AIDS throughout
the state of Minnesota and in some instances, St. Croix and Pierce counties in Wisconsin.

A Letter of Intent will not be required in order to apply for HIV services funding; however, agencies intending to submit a pro-
posal must advise Julie Hanson by calling (612) 676-5083 by April 10, 2000. Proposals are due April 24, 2000. For a full copy of
the HIV Services Request For Proposal Application Guide, call Julie Hanson at (612) 676-5083 or leave a message on voice mail
which includes your name, address and phone number, and a request for the RFP. In addition, all prospective applicants who have
questions regarding this HIV Services Request For Proposals please call Julie Hanson.

Department of Administration
Risk Management Division

Notice of Availability of a Request for Proposals for Administrative and Brokerage Services
for an Owner-Controlled Insurance Program

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department of Administration announces the availability of a Request for Proposals for
an Owner-Controlled Insurance Program (OCIP) with respect to the Hiawatha Light Rail Transit (LRT) Project along Hiawatha
Avenue in Minneapolis to the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America in Bloomington.

A pre-proposal conference for all potential proposers will be held on Monday, April 10, 2000, 9:00 -11:00 a.m. (central daylight
time) in Room G-10 in the State Administration Building (Conference Room A), 50 Sherburne Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota. This
will be an opportunity for proposers to ask questions regarding the Request for Proposals. Attending the pre-proposal conference is
not mandatory for participation in the Request for Proposals process.

A free of charge copy of the Request for Proposals can be requested through the mail by calling the Department at (651) 297-
2998, by e-mail to Caroline Wisniewski (caroline.wisniewski@state.mn.us), or picked up at the Department of Administration, Risk
Management Division, 309 Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155.

The deadline for delivery of proposals is 2:00 p.m. (central daylight time), Monday, May 1, 2000.

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services contract

which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 to printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information be
included in the notice:  name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission
date of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute.  In accordance with
Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals are prime contractors shall receive
the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the Materials Management
Helpline (651) 296-2600 or [TTY (651) 297-5353 and ask for 296-2600].
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Department of Health
Division of Environmental Health

Request for Proposals for Laboratory Services to Analyze Drinking Water Samples
The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) requests proposals from certified environmental laboratories located in Minnesota

for analytical services.  These services will consist of the laboratory analysis of drinking water samples for lead and copper for com-
pliance with the federal Safe Drinking Water Act.  Proposals will be accepted for all or part of the expected 14,000 samples over a
two-year period.  Although sampling will be done throughout the year, approximately 75% - 80% of the sampling will occur
between June and October. It is expected that the first group of bottles will be sent to water systems in May 2000, with sampling
beginning in June. The second year will follow a similar timetable; bottles will be sent out in May 2001 and sampling will begin in
June.  Laboratories, among other things, will be required to provide sample bottles to water systems, meet quality assurance objec-
tives, use analytical methods approved under federal regulations and report results electronically.

For a copy of the complete request for proposal or if you have questions regarding the request for proposal, contact:

Dennis E. Maki
Drinking Water Protection Section
Minnesota Department of Health
121 East 7th Place, Suite 230
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0975
Telephone: 651-215-0756
E-Mail: dennis.maki@health.state.mn.us

Proposals are due in our office by 4 p.m., May 3, 2000.  Late proposals will not be considered.

Department of Health
Division of Family Health

Notice of Request for Proposals for Fiscal Intermediary Services for the Special
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC Program)

The Minnesota Department of Health’s WIC Program is soliciting proposals for fiscal intermediary services with respect to WIC
food instruments (FIs) to be issued by the WIC Program from December 1, 2000 to November 30, 2004, inclusive.  These services
must include:

1.  providing and shipping FI stock;

2.  processing FIs for payment;

3.  providing edits and review procedures to prevent improper payment of FIs;

4.  accepting and transmitting daily electronic data on issued FIs, paid FIs, and returned FIs; and

5.  providing a complete audit trail of all transactions processed.

Because of preparatory work needed, it is expected that the contract will begin on July 15, 2000, or as soon as all signatures can
be obtained on the contract.  In order to allow time for processing of FIs issued as late as November 30, 2004, the contract will end
on June 30, 2005.  The Department estimates that the total cost of the fiscal intermediary services will not exceed $1,000,000.

Copies of the complete Request for Proposals can be obtained by contacting:

Cindy Malm
WIC Program
Minnesota Department of Health
P.O. Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882
(651) 281-9919
Fax: (651) 215-8951
cindy.malm@health.state.mn.us

Proposals are due by 4:00 p.m. on May 15, 2000.
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Minnesota Historical Society
Request for Bids for Ecological Restoration at the Jeffers Petroglyphs Historic Site,

Cottonwood County, Minnesota
The Minnesota Historical Society is seeking bids to restore an old field area to native prairie at the Jeffers Petroglyphs historic

site. This historic site is an 80 acre site located approximately 15 miles north of Windom, Minnesota in Cottonwood County. The
project goal is to augment and manage prairie communities that have established themselves or been restored in areas formerly con-
verted to agricultural fields. Eventually, the entire suite of conditions and species familiar to those found in undisturbed native
prairie may once again occupy these sites.

The project involves burning approximately 60 acres and interseeding about 30 of these acres at the site in southwestern Minnesota.
This work must be completed by June 30, 2000. One additional acre that was disturbed by construction requires complete restoration.

The site contains dry hill prairie with mesic prairie in swales and wet prairie and sedge meadow in low wet areas at the base of the
slopes. Because of the significance of the native prairie and associated rare and endangered species, this site has been enrolled in the
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Natural Heritage Registry Program, which is part of the Scientific and Natural Areas
Program. The site also contains outcrops of quartzite that contain a large number of very important prehistoric rock carvings. As a
result there are limitations with respect to vehicular access to all parts of the site.

Seed to be used in this restoration must originate from similar prairie types within 30 miles of the site.

The Request for Bid is available by calling or writing Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society, 345
Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul, MN 55102. Telephone is (612) 297-5863, e-mail: chris.bonnell@mnhs.org.

All bids must be received by Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer for the Minnesota Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard
West, St. Paul, MN 55102 or an authorized agent no later than 10:00 a.m. Local Time, Wednesday, April 19, 2000. A bid opening will
be conducted at that time. Bids must be submitted in a sealed envelope with the project name clearly written on the envelope. A Bid
Bond must be included in the amount of 5% of the total base bid if the total base bid is over $50,000. Late bids will not be considered.

Authorized agents for receipt of bids are the following: Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Mary Green-Toussaint,
Contracting & Procurement Technician, or any Work Service Center staff member in the Finance and Administration Division on
the 4th floor of the History Center. Bids may not be delivered to the information desk, to the guard or to any location or individual
other than as specified above.

Prospective responders who have questions regarding this Request for Bids, may contact Robert Clouse, Head, Archaeology
Department, Fort Snelling History Center, St. Paul, MN 55111. Phone (612) 970-2843, Fax (612) 726-2429.

Complete specifications and details concerning submission requirements are included in the Request for Bids.

Dated: 27 March 2000

Minnesota Historical Society
Request for Bids for Visitor and Staff Services Building, Historic Forestville, Forestville State

Park, Preston, Minnesota
The Minnesota Historical Society is seeking bids from qualified firms to provide all labor, materials, equipment, and supplies to

complete the Visitor and Staff Services Building at Historic Forestville, in Forestville State Park, near Preston, Minnesota. The
Work consists of the construction of a new two story wood-framed structure on a restored existing stone foundation. All work will
be in accordance with the Drawings, Technical Specifications, Instructions to Bidders, Supplementary Conditions, General
Conditions, the Contract, and the Request for Bids.

The Request for Bids is available by calling or writing Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society, 345
Kellogg Boulevard West, St. Paul, Minnesota 55102. Telephone (651) 297-5863 (chris.bonnell@mnhs.org)

There will be a MANDATORY pre-bid meeting for all interested parties on Thursday, April 13, 2000 at 11:00 a.m. at the site.
The site is located in Forestville State Park, between Preston and Spring Valley, about 30 miles south of Rochester.

All bids must be received by Chris M. Bonnell, Contracting Officer for the Minnesota Historical Society, 345 Kellogg Boulevard
West, St. Paul, MN 55102 or an authorized agent no later than 2:00 p.m. Central Time, Thursday, April 27, 2000. A bid opening
will be conducted at that time. Late bids will not be considered.

Dated: 3 April 2000
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Minnesota Historical Society
Notice of Request for Bids for Printing Services — Keeping Christmas

The Minnesota Historical Society (Society) is seeking bids from qualified firms and individuals for printing of 6,000 books, titled
Keeping Christmas (3,000 casebound books and 3,000 stored as flat sheets for a later, paperback edition).  Shipping date to the
MHS Warehouse of September 1, 2000 must be maintained

The Request for Bids is available by calling or writing Chris Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society, 345
Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul, MN  55102.  Telephone (651) 297-5863 or e-mail: chris.bonnell@mnhs.org.

Bids must be received no later than 10:00 A. M., Local Time, Monday, May 1, 2000.  No late bids will be accepted.

Dated: 3 April 2000

Minnesota Historical Society
Notice of Request for Proposals for Landscape Architecture and Engineering Services

Related to the Development of the Traverse Des Sioux State Historic Site Nicollet
County, Minnesota

The Minnesota Historical Society (Society) is seeking proposals from qualified firms and individuals for landscape architecture and
engineering services related to the development of the Traverse des Sioux State Historic Site, Nicollet County, Minnesota.  The purpose
of the development work will be to provide both additional and improved access to the site.  The improved access will allow additional
program development at the site, which in turn will provide improved and expanded interpretation of the multiple educational themes
that the site encompasses.  Work will be done to improve public use of site facilities that lie on both sides of Highway 169.

A pre-proposal meeting will be held at the Traverse des Sioux State Historic Site, at 10:30 A. M., on Friday, April 7, 2000.

The Request for Proposals is available by calling or writing Chris Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society,
345 Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul, MN  55102.  Telephone (651) 297-5863 or e-mail: chris.bonnell@mnhs.org.

Proposals must be submitted in the format provided for in the Request for Proposals.  Proposals must be received no later than
2:00 P. M., Monday, April 24, 2000.

Dated: 3 April 2000

Minnesota Historical Society
Notice of Request for Bids for Topographic and Boundary Survey Related to the

Development of the Traverse Des Sioux State Historic Site Nicollet County, Minnesota
The Minnesota Historical Society (Society) is seeking proposals from qualified firms and individuals for topographic and bound-

ary survey services related to the development of the Traverse des Sioux State Historic Site, Nicollet County, Minnesota.  The scope
of the project will include, but may not be limited to, obtaining the current topographic land layout to be used as a reference point
for the construction elements of site development; to obtain and identify the boundaries of land (based on current legal description
as found in the offices of the Nicollet County Auditor or Nicollet County Registrar) administered by the Minnesota Historical
Society.

The Request for Proposals is available by calling or writing Chris Bonnell, Contracting Officer, Minnesota Historical Society,
345 Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul, MN  55102.  Telephone (651) 297-5863 or e-mail: chris.bonnell@mnhs.org.

Proposals must be submitted in the format provided for in the Request for Proposals.  Proposals must be received no later than
2:00 P. M., Monday, April 24, 2000.

Dated: 3 April 2000
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State Board of Investment
Notice of Request for Private Money Management Firms

The Minnesota State Board of Investment (MSBI) retains private money management firms to manage a portion of the pension
assets and other accounts under its control.  Firms interested in managing domestic stock, international stock, domestic bond or
global bond portfolios for the MSBI are asked to write to the following address for additional information:

External Manager Program
Minnesota State Board of Investment
Capitol Professional Office Building
Suite 200    590 Park Street
St. Paul, MN  55103

Tel.: (651) 296-3328
Fax: (651) 296-9572
e mail: minn.sbi@state.mn.us

Please refer to this notice in your written request.

Department of Transportation 
Office of Technical Support

Notice of Request for Proposal (RFP) to Translate Existing ARC/INFO AMLs and SPlus
Scripts (macros) Written for the UNIX Operating System to Macros that Will Run on
the NT Version of ARC/INFO

Notice of availability of Contract for Highway Related Technical Activity.  Responses to this advertisement become public infor-
mation under the Freedom of Information Act.  This request does not obligate the State of Minnesota Department of Transportation
to complete the work contemplated in this notice, and the department reserves the right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses
incurred in responding to this notice shall be borne by the responder.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is soliciting Requests for Proposals to Translate Existing ARC/INFO
AMLs and SPlus Scripts (macros) Written for the UNIX Operating System to Macros that will Run on the NT version of
ARC/INFO.  Mn/Model is a statewide GIS-based archaeological predictive model.  It was developed in ARC/INFO GRID and
MathSoft’s SPlus statistical software on the UNIX platform. Because the UNIX platform is no longer supported at Mn/DOT, the
UNIX AMLs (Arc Macro Language) and SPlus scripts can no longer be used to maintain and update the data and models.  All
AMLs and SPlus scripts used for this project must be revised so that they run in the Microsoft Windows NT versions of the respec-
tive software packages.  Contractor must have on staff an experienced AML programmer.  This programmer must be an expert user
of ARC/INFO GRID and have some experience with SPlus statistical software as well.  It is preferred that this programmer be
familiar with Mn/Model Phase 3 data conversion and modeling procedures.  The Contractor must own ARC/INFO v. 8.0 for NT.

Requests for Proposals (RFP) are available by mail or in person.  Please submit in writing, a request for the RFP to
“Translate Existing ARC/INFO AMLs and SPlus Scripts (macros) Written for the UNIX Operating System to Macros that
will Run on the NT version of ARC/INFO”.

Requests for the RFP may be mailed or faxed to:

Dawn D. Thompson, Agreement Administrator
Minnesota Department of Transportation Consultant Services Unit
395 John Ireland Boulevard, Seventh Floor North, Mail Stop 680
St. Paul, MN 55155
Fax: (651) 282-5127

Requests must be received before April 18, 2000.  Requests made after that date must be in person. 

NOTE: PROPOSALS WILL BE DUE ON OR BEFORE TUESDAY APRIL 25, 2000 AT 2:00 P.M. CENTRAL DAY-
LIGHT TIME.
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Metropolitan Council
Request for Bids for HVAC Equipment for Chaska Lift Station

Sealed bids will be received in the office of the Metropolitan Council, Environmental Services Division, (MCES), 230 East 5th
Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101, for the fabrication and installation of HVAC Equipment for the Chaska Lift Station. Bids will be
received until TUESDAY, APRIL 18, 2000 at 2:00 P.M., at which time and place the bids will be publicly opened and read aloud.

Copies of the specifications and bid instructions may be obtained from the offices of the Metropolitan Council or by calling
651-602-1499 or via Fax request at 651-602-1083.

All bids to be considered must be submitted on Council approved bid forms.

The award will be based upon, but not necessarily limited to, factors of price, lead time, agreement to the terms and conditions
and past experience with the Metropolitan Council.

The Metropolitan Council shall consider all bids received and intends to award a contract to the responsive and responsible
bidder submitting the lowest total cost to the Council, by the due date and time, provided, however, that the Metropolitan Council
reserves the right to reject all bids, to investigate the qualifications and experience of any bidder, to reject any provisions of any bid,
to obtain new bids, or to proceed to do the work otherwise.

BY ORDER OF THE METROPOLITAN COUNCIL,
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES DIVISION,
Helen Boyer
Division Director

Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals (RFP) Hosting/Consulting Services for the Council Internet

Web Site Metropolitan Council Contract Number 00P0034
The Metropolitan Council is requesting proposals for Hosting/Consulting Services for the Council Internet Web Site.

Receive letters of interest April 2000
Issue Request for Proposals April 2000
Receive Proposals April 2000
Evaluate and Rank Proposals May 2000
Contract negotiated, executed, NTP June 2000

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive an RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to:

Jan Bevins, Purchasing Agent Trainee, Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
Mears Park Centre
230 East Fifth Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

Inquiries regarding technical aspects of the project should be directed to Jan Price at 651-602-1310.

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules, Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000, the
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The State Register meets state and

federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts
and requests for proposals from the private sector.  It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following: 1)  name of contact person;
2)  institution name, address, and telephone number; 3)  brief description of project and tasks; 4)  cost estimate; and 5)  final submission date of
completed contract proposal. Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks from date article is submitted for publication).
Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact the editor for further details.
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Metropolitan Council
Notice of Request for Proposals for Minneapolis Meter Improvements, MCES Project

Number 920700, and West Meter Odor Control Phase 1, MCES Project No. 920710
The Metropolitan Council intends to procure meter and odor control improvements for the Minneapolis East and West Meter

sites through a design-build delivery process, as authorized by Chapter 471A of the Minnesota Statutes. The Council intends to
award a single, negotiated lump sum Design-Build contract. The successful Proposer will perform and provide, as the single source
of responsibility, all disciplines, management services, and administration for the design and construction of Minneapolis Meter
Improvements and the construction of the West Meter Odor Control Improvements. Improvements include access shafts, control
chambers, piping improvements, tunnels gate replacements, meter replacements, site work, biofilter, etc. Council staff will operate
the new facilities after successful performance testing by the Proposer, as defined in the general conditions and the performance
specifications.

The Engineer’s estimate is $4,400,000.

The East and West Meter Site is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The East Meter facility is located at East River Terrace and
Emerald Street, and has a current annual average flow of about 5 MGD. The West Meter facility, located just north of Lake Street
on the west side of the Mississippi River; has two sets of meters serving the Southwest Interceptor with a current annual average
flow of 30 MGD, and the Norwest Interceptor with a current annual average flow of 60 MGD.

The West Meter Odor Control Phase 1, Project No. 920710, (WMOC) documents are currently at 50 percent completion. The 100
percent complete plans and specifications will be completed by about April 28, 2000 and distributed by addendum to Plan Holders
of Recorder shortly thereafter.

A Preliminary Design Report for the Minneapolis Meter Improvements, Project No. 920700, has been completed and submitted
to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) for review and approval. Further, the project has been approved for funding
through the Public Facilities Authority (PFA). The successful Proposer will be required to meet all applicable PFA loan require-
ments.

Issue Request for Proposals March 2, 2000

Pre-proposal Conference #1 *
8:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. March 7, 2000

Issue Amendment No. 1 about March 17, 2000

Pre-proposal Conference #2 *
8:00 a.m. - 9:30 noon April 7, 2000

Receive Proposals May 16, 2000

Shortlist May 23, 2000

Interviews May 30-21, 2000

Final Evaluation & Ranking June 1, 2000

To Environment Committee June 13, 2000

Metropolitan Council Authorization June 28, 2000

Contract negotiated, executed, NTP July 6, 2000

• Conferences to be held at the Council’s Regional Maintenance Facility located at 3565 Kennebec Drive in
Eagan, MN. A site visit will follow the conference.

All firms interested in being considered for this project and desiring to receive a RFP package are invited to submit a Letter of
Interest to:

Jan Bevins, Senior Administrative Assistant,
Contracts and Procurement Unit
Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
230 East Fifth Street
Mears Park Centre
St. Paul, MN 55101
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The cost of the RFP Package is $200.00. Checks are to be made payable to the Metropolitan Council.

Inquiries should be directed to Rex Huttes at 651-602-4522.

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 473.144 and 363.073, and Minnesota Rules Parts 5000.3400 to 5000.3600 will be incorporated into
any contract based upon the Proposal or any modifications to it. If a contract for the project is awarded in excess of $100,000. The
requirements of Minnesota Rules 5000.3530 will be applicable.

University of Minnesota
Notice of Bid Information Service (BIS) Available for All Potential Vendors

The University of Minnesota offers 24 hour/day, 7 day/week access to all Request for Bids/Proposals through its web based Bid
Information Services (BIS).  Subscriptions to BIS are $75/year.  Visit our web site at bidinfo.umn.edu or call the BIS Coordinator at
612-625-5534.

Requests for Bids/Proposals are available to the public at no charge each business day from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Purchasing
Services lobby, Suite 560, 1300 S. 2nd Street, Mpls., MN 55454.
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     Subtotal
      Applicable sales tax
(6-1/2% MN residents
7% St. Paul residents)

      Shipping
     (based on Subtotal)

   TOTAL

○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○

○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○ ○

If tax exempt, please provide  ES #

             Stock No.     Title                                                                  Unit Cost    Quantity       TOTAL

State agencies please submit purchase order.

1-1      Handbook to MN State Government $  7.95
1-5      Handbook AND Guidebook to State      $20.95
             Agency Services '96-'99

Personalize your government, get involved . . .
meet the "Ventura Administration", through the NEW

Handbook to Minnesota State Government

Gov. Jesse Ventura says:
“Celebrate citizen involvement in public life.

Encourage public service.
Invite real people...to participate

in government.”

These are YOUR state agencies.  Now you can contact them all, and make full
use of the services paid for by your tax dollars.  Work smarter.  Save time and
cut through red tape.

This easy-to-use Handbook has 60-pages packed with information you can
put to use immediately: key points of contact in each state agency, and 34
photos of the top people in charge.

You also get hundreds of addresses, phone numbers, web sites, e-mail ad-
dresses, FAX numbers plus brief outlines of what each agency does for you.

Why wait to work smarter?  Let your state government, and your taxes, go to
work FOR YOU today.  “It's the people's money," says Gov. Ventura, and he
tells his state agencies "Do the right things and do them well."

Get your money's worth.  Now you can reach them all, and make full use of
your tax dollars.  Don't wait.  Put state government to work for you today.

Copies cost $ 7.95 each + tax.  Or,  get the BEST DEAL:  Order the NEW Handbook with the Minnesota Guidebook to State
Agency Services 1996-1999 in a special package for only $ 20.95.  Together, they are a combination that will go to work for
you immediately, and serve you well.

proudly presents ––

Credit card number:

Expiration date:      Signature:

������ Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges Shipping Charges
If Subtotal Please
     is ---- Add:
Up to $25.00 $3.00
$25.01-$50.00 $5.00
$50.01-$100.00 $7.00
$100.01-$1,000.00      $10.00  (          )

Send my order to:

Company

Name

Street Address (Not deliverable to P.O. boxes)

City                                 State   Zip

Daytime phone (In case we have  a question about your order)

Handbook to
Minnesota

State
Government

PREPPREPPREPPREPPREPAAAAAYMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED. YMENT REQUIRED.   Ordering is easy, delivery is fast when you
place your order via phone or fax!  (Credit card orders only, please).    Receive
delivery in 1-2 weeks!  Mail orders accepted with payment by check or credit
card. (Allow 4-6 weeks for delivery).  American Express, Discover, MasterCard,
and VISA accepted.  Make checks* payable to "Minnesota's Bookstore".
*A $20 fee will be charged for any returned check.

117 University Ave., Room 110A
St. Paul, MN  55155

Phone: 651/297-3000 metro area 1-800/657-3757 nationwide
TTY: 651/282-5077 metro area 1-800/657-3706 nationwide
FAX: 651/215-5733      www.comm.media.state.mn.us Price and availability subject to change.



Code
No. Quantity Description

Item
Price Total

Name or Company
Subtotal

TOTAL

Attention
61/2 % tax

MN residents
7% St. Paul residents

Address

City State Zip Add Shipping Charges
from chart at left.

American Express/VISA/MasterCard/Discover No.

Signature Expiration Date Telephone (During Day)

Please notify us of any address changes
so that we can continue to give you our
best service. Include your old mailing
label to speed your service.

If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24

For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank

Periodicals
U.S. Postage

Paid
Permit No.

326630
St. Paul, MN

Printed on recycled paper
20% post-consumer waste

Prices subject to change without notice.
Please allow about 6 weeks for delivery.
In a hurry? Stop by our Bookstore.
Bookstore hours:   8:00-5:00 Monday-Friday

117 University Avenue  •  St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
Metro Area  651-297-3000
Toll Free  1-800-657-3757
FAX  651-297-8260
TTY: Metro Area 651-282-5077    TTY: Greater MN 1-800-657-3706

TO ORDER:

Complete attached order blank.  Please
include sales tax.  Include either your
VISA/MasterCard, American Express or
Discover credit card number with the expira-
tion date, or a check/money order made out
to the State of Minnesota. Orders by phone
are accepted when purchasing with your
credit card. Please include a phone number
where you can be reached during the day in
case we have questions about your order.

PREPAYMENT REQUIRED.

Merchandise may be returned if it is in
resalable condition.

NOTE:

State Register and other
subscriptions do not require
sales tax or postage and han-
dling fees.

Shipping Charges
Subtotal Add:

Up to $25.00 $3.00
$25.01 - $50.00 $5.00
$50.01 - $100.00 $7.00
$100.01 - $1,000.00 $10.00

Communications.Media Division

If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. SR-24


