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Proposed Rules 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.22, an agency may propose to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a pubic hearing, as long 
as the agency determines that the rules will be noncontroversial in nature. The agency must first publish a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. The notice must advise the public: 

1. that they have 30 days in which to submit comment on the proposed rules; 
2. that no public hearing will be held unless 25 or more persons make a written request for a hearing within the 30-day comment period; 
3. of the manner in which persons shall request a hearing on the proposed rules; and 
4. that the rule may be modified if the modifications are supported by the data and views submitted 

If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of the proposed rules, the 
agency must proceed under the provisions of §14.l4-14.20, which state that if an agency decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a 
notice of intent in the State Register. 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. §l4.29 and 14.30, agencies may propose emergency rules under certain circumstances. Proposed emergency 
rules are published in the State Register and, for at least 25 days thereafter, interested persons may submit data and views in writing to the 
proposing agency. 

Department of Agriculture 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Commodity Council Promotional Orders 
Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule Without a Public Hearing 

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture intends to adopt amendments to rules without a public hearing following the proce-
dures set forth in the Administrative Procedures Act sections 14.22-14.28. You have 30 days to submit written comment on the pro-
posed amendments and may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the amendments. 

Department Contact Person. Comments or questions on the amendments and written requests for a public hearing on the 
amendments must be submitted to: 

Carol Milligan 
Minnesota Department of Agriculture 
90 West Plato Boulevard 
St. Paul, MN 55107 
(612) 296-6906 
Fax (612) 297-7678. 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed amendments are about commissioner review of commodity council 
budgets. The statutory authority to adopt these amendments is Minnesota Statutes, section 17.58, subd. 4. A copy of the proposed 
rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. February 23, 1994, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed amendments or any subpart of the amendments. Your comments must be in writing and received by the agency contact 
person by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed amendments 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the amendments. 
Your request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 
23, 1994. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion 
of the proposed amendments which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to the proposed 
amendments. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number 
withdraw their request in writing. If a public hearing is required, the department will proceed according to Minnesota Statutes, sec-
tions 14.131-14.20. 

Modifications. The proposed amendments may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be supported 
by the data and views submitted to the department and may not result in a substantial change in the proposed amendments as 
attached and printed in the State Register. If the proposed amendments affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in 
the rulemaking process. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Sliz4ke e indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike etts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Proposed Rules 	  
Statement of Need and Reasonableness. A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available from the department 

contact person. This statement describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed amendments and iden-
tifies the data and information relied upon to support the proposed amendments. 

Small Business Considerations. The rule will have no impact on small business. 
Adoption and Review of the Rules. If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the department may adopt the 

amendments. The amendments and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality 
and form to the extent that form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the amendments are submitted to the 
Attorney General or be notified of the Attorney General's decision on the amendments. If you wish to be so notified or wish to 
receive a copy of the adopted amendments, submit your request to the department contact person listed above. 

Dated: 3 January 1994 
Elton Redalen, Commissioner 
Department of Agriculture 

Rules as Proposed 
1570.0500 POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COUNCIL. 

[For text of subps I to 3, see M.R.] 

Subp. 4. Other actions. The council shall take the actions listed in items A to D: 
A. The council shall prepare an annual estimated budget for the operation of the promotional order and submit it to the com-

missioner fec approval before the marketing year begins unless the promotional order directs otherwise. Budgets may be revised 
during the marketing year. If they are, the commissioner must be notified within 20 days of the revision. Minutes of the council 
meeting, documenting the changes and the reasons for them, shall constitute notification to the commissioner. Budgets or budget 
revisions may be prepared on forms provided by the commissioner or on similar forms. 

[For text of items B to D, see M.R.] 
[For text of subps 5 to 8, see M.R.] 

Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape 
Architecture and Interior Design 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Examination of Interior Designer Applicants 
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing 

The Minnesota Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture and Interior Design ("Board") 
intends to adopt a permanent rule without a public hearing following the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28 (1992). You have 30 days in which to submit a written request that a hearing be held on 
the rule. 

Agency Contact Person.  Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be sub-
mitted to: 

Pamela K. Smith 
Executive Secretary 
Minnesota Board of 
Architecture, Engineering 
Land Surveying, Landscape 
Architecture and Interior Design 
133 East 7th Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101 
Telephone: (612) 296-2388 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority.  The proposed rule relates to the examination of interior designer applicants. The 
statutory authority to adopt this rule is Minn. Stat. § § 214.12, subd. 2 and 326.06 (1992). A copy of the proposed rule is published 
in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed. 

Comments.  You have until 4:30 p.m. on February 24, 1994, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rule and any part or subpart of the rule. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the 
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	 Proposed Rules 
due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing.  In addition to submitted comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 24, 
1994. Your written request for public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion of 
the proposed rule which caused your request, the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed rule. If 25 
or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number withdraw their 
requests in writing. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.13 1-
14.20. 

Modifications.  The proposed rule may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be supported by data 
and view submitted to the agency and may not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as attached and printed in the 
State Register. If the proposed rule affects you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.  A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available from the agency contact 
person. This statement describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rule and identifies the data and 
information relied upon to support the proposed rule. 

Small Business Considerations:  It is the position of the Board that Minn. Stat. § 14.115 (1992) relating to small business con-
siderations in rulemaking does not apply to the rules it promulgates. Minn. Stat. § 14.115, subd. 7(2) (1992) states that section 
14.115 (1992) does not apply to "agency rules that do not affect small businesses directly." The Board's authority relates only to 
certified interior designers as individuals and not to the businesses they operate. 

However, should these proposed rules in some way be construed as being subject to Minn. Stat. § 14.115 (1992), the Board notes 
below how the five suggested methods listed in section 14.115, subdivision 2, for reducing the impact of the rules on small busi-
nesses should be applied to the proposed rules. The five suggested methods enumerated in subdivision 2 are as follows: 

(a) The establishment of less stringent compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses. 

(b) The establishment of less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses. 

(c) The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses. 

(d) The establishment of performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational standards required in the 
rule. 

(e) The exemption of small businesses from any or all requirements of the rule. 
The feasibility of implementing each of the five suggested methods and whether implementing any of the five methods would be 

consistent with the statutory objectives that are the basis for this rulemaking are considered below. 
1. It would not be feasible to incorporate any of the five suggested methods into these proposed rules.  
Methods (a) to (c) relate to lessening compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses either by establishing less strin-

gent requirements, establishing less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance with the requirements, or consolidating or sim-
plifying the requirements. Since the Board is not proposing any compliance or reporting requirements for either small or large busi-
nesses, it follows that there are no such requirements for the Board to lessen with respect to small businesses. If, however, these 
proposed rules are viewed as compliance or reporting requirements for businesses, then the Board finds that it would be unworkable 
to lessen the requirements for those certified interior designers who practice in a solo or small setting of fewer than 50 employees, 
since that would include at a minimum the vast majority of licensees and probably all of them. Method (d) suggests replacing 
design or operational standards with performance standards for small businesses. The Board's rules do not propose design or oper-
ational standards for businesses and therefore there is no reason to implement performance standards for small businesses as a 
replacement for design or operational standards that do not exist. Finally, method (e) suggests exempting small businesses for any 
or all requirements of the rules. The application of this provision would exempt virtually all licensees from the purview of the rules, 
a result which would be absurd. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. ike ett4s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. fike ettts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Proposed Rules 	  
2. Reducing the impact of the proposed amendments on small businesses would undermine the objectives of the Minnesota law  

for certified interior designers. 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326.06 	the Board was created for the purpose of establishing requirements for licensure and 

adopting standards for disciplinary action to govern the practices or behavior of all licensees. Pursuant to Minn. Star. § 326.06, the 
Board is specifically mandated to promulgate rules as may be necessary to carry out the Board's purposes. Given these statutory 
mandates, it is the Board's duty to establish licensure qualifications and disciplinary standards which apply to and govern all appli-
cants and licensees regardless of the nature of their practice. As stated above, it is the Board's position that the proposed rules will 
not affect small businesses and certainly do not have the potential for imposing a greater impact on certified interior designers in a 
solo or small practice than on those practices large enough to remove them from the definition of small business. It has also been 
explained above that the Board considers it infeasible to implement any of the five suggested methods enumerated in subdivision 2 
of the small business statute. Nonetheless, to the extent that the proposed rules may affect the business operation of a certified inte-
rior designer and to the extent it may be feasible to implement any of the suggested methods for lessening the impact on small busi-
nesses, the Board believes it would be unwise and contrary to the purposes to be served by these rulesfor the Board to exempt one 
group of certified interior designers - indeed, the vast majority of certified interior designers - from the requirements of these rules. 
Similarly, the Board believes it would be unwise and contrary to its statutory mandate for the Board to adopt one set of standards for 
those certified interior designers (which may consist of a nonexistent class) who work in a large business setting and adopt another, 
less stringent, set of standards to be applied to those certified interior designers who practice in a solo or small practice. It is the 
Board's view that these rules must apply equally to all certified interior designers if the public whom they serve is to be adequately 
protected. 

Licensees, regardless of whether they are considered as individuals or small businesses, have had and will continue to have an 
opportunity to participate in the rulemaking process for these proposed rules. The Board has used a very open process to draft these 
rules and has kept the various associations well informed of the proposed rules as they were developed. The associations have in 
turn informed their constituents. 

Expenditure of Public Money by local Public Bodies and Impact on Agricultural Land.  Promulgation of these proposed 
rules will not result in the expenditure of public monies by local public bodies nor have any impact on agricultural land; therefore, 
no further information need be provided under Minn. Stat. § 14.11(1992). 

Adoption and Review of Rule.  If no hearing is required after the end of the comment period the Board may adopt the rule. The 
rule and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality and form to the extent form 
relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rule is submitted to the Attorney General or be notified of the 
Attorney General's decision on the rule. If you wish to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, submit your 
request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Dated: 7 January 1994 
Pamela K. Smith 
Executive Secretary 

Rules as Proposed 

1800.0500 FEES. 
[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M.R.I 

Subp. 3. Initial licensure and renewal. The fee for licensure;  or renewal of licensure as an architect, professional engineer, 
land surveyor, or landscape architect is $70 per biennium. Ih f. f.cir certification as a certified interior designer  r fcit renewal Q1: 
the certificate is $70 p biennium. The fee for an architect applying for original certification as a certified interior designer is $50 

biennium. The initial license certificate fee is prorated at six-month intervals during each biennium. The fee for months 24 
to 18 is $70; for months 18 to 12, $52.50; for months 12 to 6, $35; and for months 6 to 0, $17.50. Beginning Julv J.. 1994. the initial 
license or certification fee for all professions is $70. The renewal fee shall be paid biennially on or before June 30 of each even- 
numbered year. The beacd *nay delete frem the cestef of 1iccnec the name of aay liccnsco who fails to timely pay the required 
rcncwal fee? The renewal fee, when paid by mail, is not timely paid unless it is postmarked on or before June 30 of each even-num-
bered year. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.] 

Subp. 5. Certification or licensure examination fee. The fee for examination for certification or licensure as an architect, pro-
fessional engineer, land surveyor, ei landscape architects  or certified interior designer is as follows: 

[For text of items A to D, see MR.] 
E. Certified interior designer examination s  $475.  
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	 Proposed Rules 
Subp. 6. Reexamination fees. The fee for retaking all or any part of any examination for certification or licensure is as follows 

each time the examination;  or any part of it;  is retaken: 
[For text of items A to D, see M.R.J 

E Certified interior designer reexamination:  

LU identification and application. $150;, 

12) problem solving,  $75;  
3.) building and barrier free codes, $75; and  

£4.) practicums; 

) programming. $50;  
) three-dimensional exercise,  $50;  and  

L) project scenario.  $50.  
[For text of subp 7, see M.R.] 

1800.0800 PROOF OF QUALIFICATION TO PRACTICE. 
It is required that the applicant submit evidence to the board indicating that the applicant is qualified to practice in the profession 

or field of major practice thereof, in which she or he seeks registration. The burden of proof is upon the applicant who should there-
fore make every effort to present qualifications fully and clearly. Qualifications shall be established by one or more of the follow-
ing methods: 

[For text of items A to 0, see M.R.] 
H. for registration by comity as a land surveyor or an applicant shall be subject to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 

section 326.10, subdivision I, paragraph 2. In addition thereto, the applicant shall be required to take such examinations as the 
board deems necessary to determine qualifications, but in any event the applicant shall be required to take a written orientation 
examination of not less than four hours duration s  i 

L fr certification  h comity as a certified interior designer under  Minnesota Statutes.  $ectiog 326.10, subdivision  .L para-
graph  2.. :u applicant  shall meet the certification requirements  that were in effect in Minnesota  at the time of the applicant's orig-
ini licensure or certification in the other state, territory, or the District of Columbia. Aoplicants who were certified in QthL 
prior tQ August  .1.. 1992. shall meet  th requirements  f part 1800.2100. 
1800.2100  EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE. 

Subpart  I. Written examination requirement. An  applicant  fj certification a certified interior designer halJ, pass written 
examination prepared 	th National Council  for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDO  exceOt  that a written examination  is not 
required of an anplicant certified 	1800.0800, item L or  1800.2300.  

Subp. 2. Admission to written examination. IQ qualify for admission to the written examination, an aoplicant shall present 
evidence  th thn applicant  has obtained  at least six qualifying  credits f.Qt education and experience provided  in subpart I 

Sub.  3. Qualifying credits for education. Qualifying credits  for education shall,  be granted according  j jtems  A 
E^^t purposes  f this subpart, "equivalent education" means education which  th board, after review  f ii applicant's transcript 

and other educational materials,  finds to be substantially  the same in terms of the mix 	content  f  classes  içn 	the applicant 
curriculum accredited 	Foundation  for Interior Design Education Research (FIDER.  

& An applicant  who has graduated  from a four- or five-year bachelor  of interior design curriculum accredited 	FIDER  or 
equivalent education shall receive four  credits. 

An applicant  who has graduated from  a two-year associate jg jnteriot design curricuIui ccredited  b EIDER  ha an 
equivalent education  shall receive  i 	credits.  

.. An applicant holding  a professional degree  frQin  a curriculum  in architecture accredited 	the National Arhitectural 
Accrediting  Board or has an equivalent education  shall receive  a maximur  of four credits.  

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. SFike etts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike e'ats indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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For nongraduates, each 	of equivalent design education successfully completed at the college level shall receive one 

fill credit.  A maximum Qf four credits for education shall, be granted. 

With respect to an applicant who does not hold a degree described  jg  items  A 	college university level education 
shalt bn evaluated in the same manner as if the applicant were entering the bachelor  f interior design curriculum 	defined by 
FIDER. Each y 	of credit granted pursuant to that standard entitles the applicant to one qualifying credit. Thirty-two semester 
credit hours 4. quarter çt JiQ 	is considered to be one year. Fractions of 	y 	f education shall be given credit in thn 
amount earned.  

E. An applicant thQ holds a degree or ha completed coursework from a foreign college or university shall be granted credit  
same basis as a graduate or student of a United States college or university if the degree or education obtained is equivalent 

g requirement  Iii items  A 	II board may require gg evaluation  f foreign education by an independent evaluator  j bn pro- 

vided by applicant where  fl transcript gp4 other provided by jh applicant is not clear and the evaluation would assist  in 
determining whether the applicant's foreign education is equivalent to the requirements in items A to E. Candidates whose  fini 
official transcript showing the date  ni degree awarded  j  not available by thn date Qf examination shall submit certified Jetter by 

thn registrat  th college or university stating thn atn th qualifying degree awarded. No examination scores shalt bn 
released or certification awarded until the final official transcript is submitted to the board office.  

Subp. 4. Qualifying credits for experience. Oualifying credits for experience shall be granted as follows:  

A. 	qualifying credit shall be granted for 	h yn 	f experience under the direct supervision of a certified interior 

designers  interior designer, 	licensed architect. This does j 	apply 	those individuals granted certification under part 

1800.2300; and 

.. experience shall be diversified in the practice of interior design  fir public spaces iii! comprised of no less than seven of the 

following subjects: 

fl space planning; 

12 	i!n research and analysis; 

Q cjjnrit contact; 

Ø programmingj 

schematic design and design development; 

preparation of construction documents; 

fl cost estimating; 

.) selection of materials and furnishings; 

contract documents; 

(10) bidding procedures; and 

(1 l'lconstruction observation.  

1800.2200  PROCEDURES. 

Subpart I. Written examinations. Thn  written examination shall be the examination as provided by 	National Council for 

Interior Designer Qualifications.  

Subp. 2 Admission to examination. An applicant shall bn admitted to thn examination,  if. by the date f the examination. thn 
applicant has completed the education and experience requirements in ji 1800.2 100. The applicant shall submit verification of 
completion of the experience requirements in pj 1800.2100 to the board before the applicant is permitted to sit for the examina-
tion.  

Subp. 3... Admission for certification examination. Applicants shall submit to the board a completed application, the fn in gnrt 
1800.0500. subpart a official transcript showing the date of award of thn  degree earned,  fi f experience no later than 
90 days before the fij day of the examination. The application shall be submitted on a form provided by thn board  nn jinii 
include detailed listing of all interior design related experience gained provided in part 1800.2 100. The list Qf  experience shall  
include the nrn mailing address of the applicant's supervising interior designer or Qthr  supervisors for each period of 
employment. The application shall include the applicant's acknowledgment that the applicant has read understands, and shall 

je by th rules Qf professional conduct, parts 1805.0100 1805.1600.  

1800.2300  QUALIFICATION FOR CERTIFICATION BASED ON LONG EXPERIENCE. 

Subpart  j.  Applicants who have passed national examination. The  brinri  shall, 	reference to applications fir certification 
received before September L 1993 issue certifications as interior designers without further examination to those applicants having 
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years of combined interior design education and experience and who have provided proof  f passage of the National Council of 

Interior Design Oualifications examination. Applications shall be made 	forms provided 	the board.  
Subp.  L Applicants who have not passed national examination. Persons  hQ  apply  f.r certification before September  1. 

1993. who jiave flQt passed the National Council  f Interior Design Qualifications examination, and Jiave. ten more years Qf corn- 
education and experience shall provide evidence of completion of the experience requirement. Evidence shall consist of 

examples i^f interior design projects demonstrating experience as specified in ii  1800.2100, subpart  4.. item  A 
Subp, 	Applicants licensed as architects. Persons Jicensed 	architects in Minnesota who seelç certification 	interior 

designers hall submit an application IQ the bqard together with the required fee and shall  b certified with 	further requirements  
1800.4100 CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION. 

The board shall issue to each applicant who has successfully completed the fundamentals of engineering examination, unless the 
fundamentals of engineering examination is waived as stated under part 1800.2800, applying only in the case of engineer appli-
cants, or land surveyor-in-training examination, or has been certified as a landscape architect-in-training, or has successfully com-
pleted the professional practice examination, a certificate of registration properly filled out, signed, and sealed, giving the licensee 
proper authority to practice the profession of architecture, professional engineering, land surveying, or landscape architecture under 
the Registration Act of the state of Minnesota for a period ending June 30 of the even-numbered year of the biennium in which the 
certificate is issued after which date the certificate will expire unless renewed. Applicants who are registered by comity from other 
states, having met the Minnesota registration requirements, shall be issued certificates of registration in the same manner as pro-
vided in this rule 

The board hal[ jssue t each  applicant who, 	successfully completed the requirements f pfl 1800.2100 and  l successfully  
completed the National Council of Interior Design Oualifications examination a certificate authorizing the certificate holder to use 
the 	e "Certified Interior Designer." This certificate shall be in effect for a period ending June 30 of the even-numbered  
th biennium  in  which. th certificate  j  issued,  aftr which  th certificate shall expire unless renewed.  A person whose certificate  
expires 	fl 	use  th jjie "Certified Interior Designer" until a certificate is reissued. Applicants who are certified 	comity  

1800.0800 shall be issued certificates as provided in this g& 
1800.4200 CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE ON PLANS. 

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see MR.] 

Subp. 4. Language. The following wording shall be incorporated in the certification: 
I hereby certify that this plan, specification, or report was prepared by me or under my direct supervision and that I am a duly 

Registered Architect under the laws of the state of Minnesota. 

Date 	 Reg. No. 	  
I hereby certify that this plan, specification, or report was prepared by me or under my direct supervision and that I am a duly 

Registered Professional Engineer under the laws of the state of Minnesota. 

Date 	 Reg. No. 	  
I hereby certify that this survey, plan or report was prepared by me or under my direct supervision and that I am a duly Registered 

Land Surveyor under the laws of the state of Minnesota. 

Date 	 Reg. No. 	  

	

I hereby certify that this plan, specification, or report was prepared 	me or under 	direct supervision and that I am a duly  
Certified Interior Designer under  th  laws  f th state QI Minnesota.  

Date 	Reg.  No. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike etHs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
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Department of Human Services 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Minnesota Family Investment Program 
Dual Notice: Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a 
Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received 

Introduction.  The Minnesota Department of Human Services intends to adopt a permanent rule without a public hearing follow-
ing the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or 
more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rule within 30 days or by Monday, February 28, 1994 4:30 p.m., a public 
hearing will be held on Friday, March 11, 1994 9:30 á.m. To find out whether the rule will be adopted without a hearing or if the 
hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact person after February 28, 1994 and before March 11,1994 

Agency Contact Person.  Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be sub-
mitted to: 

Robert Kiukas 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Rules Division 
444 Lafayette Road 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-3816 
(612) 296-2794 
Fax (612) 297-3 173 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority.  The proposed rule is about a five year long welfare reform demonstration project 
which consolidates the AFDC, food stamp, and family general assistance programs into a program with one set of rules. This 
program will be available in only Anoka, Hennepin, Dakota, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, and Todd counties. The statutory 
authority to adopt the rule is Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.031, subdivision 3 and 256. 01, subdivision 2 and 4. Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 256.031 to 256.0361 establish the Minnesota Family Investment Plan (MFIP). Under Laws of Minnesota 1991, 
chapter 292, article 5, section 85, subdivision 1 and Laws of Minnesota 1992, chapter 513, article 8, section 58, the Commissioner is 
directed to implement the MFIP field trials. A copy of the proposed rule is published in the State Register  and attached to this 
notice as mailed. 

Copy of the Rule.  A free copy of this rule is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. A copy of the 
proposed rule may also be viewed at any of the county welfare or human service agencies in the State of Minnesota. 

Comments.  You have until 4:30 p.m. on February 28, 1994 to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rule or any part or subpart of the rule. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the 
due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing.  In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m. on February 28, 
1994. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name, address and telephone number. You are encouraged to 
identify the portion of the proposed rule which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to 
the proposed rule. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient 
number withdraw their requests in writing. 

Modifications.  The proposed rule may be modified, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the rule hearing 
process. Modifications must not result in a substantial change in the proposed rule as attached and printed in the State Register  and 
must be supported by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. If the proposed rule affects you in any 
way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing.  The hearing scheduled for March 11, 1994 will be canceled if the agency does not receive requests 
from 25 or more persons that a hearing be held on the rule. If you requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the 
scheduled hearing whether or not the hearing will be held. You may also call Robert Klukas at (612) 296-2794 after February 28, 
1994 to find out whether the hearing will be held. 

Notice of Hearing.  If 25 or more persons submit written requests for a public hearing on the rule, a hearing will be held follow-
ing the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.14 to 14.20. The hearing will be held on March 11, 1994 in Rooms IA and 
lB of the Department of Human Services Building, 444 Lafayette Road, SaintPaul, Minnesota beginning at 9:30 a.m. and will con-
tinue until all interested persons have been heard. The hearing will continue, if necessary, at additional times and places as deter-
mined during the hearing by the administrative law judge. The administrative law judge assigned to conduct the hearing is 
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Administrative Law Judge Steve Mihalchick. Judge Mihalchick can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100 
Washington Square, 100 Washington Ave. South, #1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401-2138; telephone (612) 349-2544. 

Hearing Procedure.  If a hearing is held, you and all interested or affected persons including representatives of associations or 
other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in 
writing at any time prior to the close of the hearing record. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed rule. You may also 
mail written material to the administrative law judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public 
hearing ends. This five-day comment period may be extended for a longer period not to exceed 20 calendar days if ordered by the 
administrative law judge at the hearing. Comments received during this period will be available for review at the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. You and the agency may respond in writing within five business days after the submission period ends to 
any new information submitted. All written materials and responses submitted to the administrative law judge must be received at 
the Office of Administrative Hearing no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. No additional evidence may be submitted during the 
five-day period. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.0200 to 1400.1200 and Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.14 to 14.20. Questions about procedure may be directed to the administrative law judge. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.  A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available from the agency contact 
person. This statement describes the need for and reasonableness of each provision of the proposed rule. It also includes a 
summary of all the evidence and argument which the agency anticipates presenting at the hearing, if one is held. The statement may 
also be reviewed and copies obtained at the cost of reproduction from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

Small Business Considerations.  Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115 requires state agencies, when proposing a new rule or an 
amendment to an existing rule, to consider ways of reducing the impact of the rule on small businesses unless exempt under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115, subdivision 7. 

The proposed rule is exempt from the small business consideration requirement under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115, subdi-
vision 7, clause 2. Under clause 2 the small business consideration requirement does not apply to agency rules that do not affect 
small businesses directly, including, but not limited to, rules relating to county or municipal administration of state and federal pro-
grams. 

The MFIP rule relates to county administration of state and federal programs. MFIP is a welfare reform demonstration project 
that combines AFDC, family general assistance, and food stamps programs. MFIP is not a statewide project; the project is limited 
to the seven field trial counties identified in the rule. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Public Bodies.  Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, requires agencies, when proposing a 
new rule or an amendment to an existing rule, to note the total cost required for local bodies to implement the rule for the next two 
years following the adoption of the rule. The rule will not require the expenditure of public money by local public bodies. New 
costs to local governments associated with the implementation of this rule are reimbursed by the state and are noted in the Fiscal 
Note for this rule. A copy of the Fiscal note for this rule is available from Robert Klukas at the address and phone number listed 
above. 

Impact on Agriculture Lands.  Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision 2 requires agencies proposing rules that have a 
direct and substantial adverse impact on agricultural land to comply with additional statutory requirements. The proposed rule does 
not impact agricultural land and, therefore, the additional statutory provisions do not apply. 

Lobbyist Registration.  Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1OA requires each lobbyist to register with the Ethical Practices Board. 
Questions regarding this requirement may be directed to the Ethical Practices Board at 1st Floor, Centennial Office Building, 658 
Cedar Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155; telephone (612) 296-5148. 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearin2.  If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the agency may adopt the 
rule. The rule and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality and form to the 
extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rule is submitted to the Attorney General or be noti-
fied of the Attorney General's decision on the rule. If you want to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, 
submit your request to Robert Klukas at the address listed above. 

Adoption Procedure After the Hearing  If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the administrative law judge 
will issue a report on the proposed rule. You may request to be notified of the date on which the administrative law judge's report 
will be available, after which date the agency may not take any final action on the rule for a period of five working days. If you 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. &ti4ke etfis indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Stsile outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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want to be notified about the report, you may so indicate at the hearing. After the hearing, you may request notification by sending 
a written request to the administrative law judge. You may also request notification of the date on which the rule is adopted and 
filed with the Secretary of State. The agency's notice of adoption must be mailed on the same day that the rule is filed. If you want 
to be notified of the adoption, you may so indicate at the hearing or send a request in writing to the agency contact person at any 
time prior to the filing of the rule with the Secretary of State. 

Maria Gomez 
Commissioner 

Rules as Proposed (all new material) 

9500.4000 SCOPE AND APPLICABILITY. 
Subpart I. Scope. Parts 9500.4000 to 9500.4340 establish standards that govern the responsibilities of the Department of Human 

Services and local agencies in the administration of the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) and the rights and responsi-
bilities of participants under the Minnesota Family Investment Program. 

Subp. 2. Applicability, field trial counties. Parts 9500.4000 to 9500.4340 apply to the MFIP field trial beginning April 1, 1994, 
in Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Mule Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, and Todd counties. 

9500.4010 MFIP SELECTION. 
Assistance units in the field trial counties assigned to the MFIP participation group must be randomly selected from the pool of 

applicants and recipients of AFDC, family general assistance, and food stamps. After an assistance unit is assigned to the MFIP 
participation group, the assistance unit will remain in the MFIP participation group for the duration of the field trial. Assistance 
units in the MFIP participation group will receive MFIP assistance as long as the assistance unit remains eligible for assistance. If, 
after a period of ineligibility, an assistance unit that was previously assigned to the MFIP participation group reapplies for assis-
tance in an MFIP field trial county and is found eligible, the assistance unit must be assigned to participate in MFIP. Some assis-
tance units selected to the MFIP participation group will be randomly assigned a special status and will not receive case manage-
ment services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 6a. Assistance units who do not receive case management 
services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 6a, are eligible for services under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.736, to the same extent as families receiving AFDC. Assistance units assigned a special status are entitled to child care if child 
care is needed to enable the participants to work. 

For purposes of MFII evaluation, some assistance units in the field trial counties receiving or applying for AFDC, family general 
assistance, or food stamps will be randomly assigned to a comparison group. After an assistance unit is assigned to a comparison 
group, the assistance unit will remain in the comparison group for the duration of the field trial. Assistance units in a comparison 
group will receive assistance under AFDC, family general assistance, or food stamps, as long as the assistance unit remains eligible 
for assistance. If, after a period of ineligibility, an assistance unit that was previously assigned to a comparison group reapplies for 
assistance and is found eligible, the assistance unit shall receive assistance under the AFDC, family general assistance, or food 
stamps programs. 

Assignment to MFIP, a special status within MFJP, or a comparison group is not subject to appeal under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.045. 
9500.4020 PROGRAM DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9500.4000 to 9500.4340, the following terms have the meanings given them. 

Subp. 2. Absent parent. "Absent parent" means a minor child's parent who does not live in the child's home. 

Subp. 3. ACCESS program. "ACCESS program" means the AFDC child care program under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256H.05, subdivision 6. 

Subp. 4. Agency error. "Agency error" means an error that results in an overpayment or underpayment to an assistance unit and 
is not caused by an applicant's or participant's failure to provide adequate, correct, or timely information about income, property, 
household composition, or other circumstances. 

Subp. 5. Aid to families with dependent children or AFDC. "Aid to families with dependent children" or "AFDC" means the 
program authorized under title IV-A of the Social Security Act to provide financial assistance and social services to needy families 
with dependent children. 

Subp. 6. Appeal. "Appeal" means a written statement from an applicant or participant who requests a hearing under part 
9500.4250 and Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. 

Subp. 7. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who has submitted to a local agency an application for assistance for AFDC, 
family general assistance, or food stamps and whose application has not been acted upon, denied, or voluntarily withdrawn. 
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Subp. 8. Application. "Application" means the submission by or on behalf of a family to the local agency of a completed, 

signed, and dated form, prescribed by the commissioner, that indicates a desire to receive assistance. 
Subp. 9. Assignment of support. "Assignment of support" means the transfer of a person's right to child support, private health 

care benefits, and spousal maintenance benefits to the local agency. 
Subp. 10. Assistance unit or MFIP assistance unit. "Assistance unit" or "MFTP assistance unit" means a group of mandatory 

and optional people receiving or applying for MFTP benefits together. 
Subp. 11. Authorized representative. "Authorized representative" means a person who is authorized, in writing, by an appli-

cant or participant to act on the applicant's or participant's behalf in matters involving the application for assistance or participation 
in MFIP. 

Subp. 12. Basic needs. "Basic needs" means the minimum personal requirements of subsistence and is restricted to food, cloth-
ing, shelter, utilities, and other items of which the loss, or lack of, is determined by the local agency to pose a direct, immediate 
threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant or participant. 

Subp. 13. Budget month. "Budget month" means the calendar month which the local agency uses to determine the income or 
circumstances of an assistance unit to calculate the amount of the assistance payment in the payment month. 

Subp. 14. Caregiver. "Caregiver" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision 2. 
Subp. 15. Case management. "Case management" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision 

3. 
Subp. 16. Child support pass-through. "Child support pass-through" means the first $50 of any support payment made by an 

absent parent in the month when due that is disregarded in determining the eligibility and amount of the assistance payment for a 
participant. 

Subp. 17. Client error. "Client error" means an error that results in an overpayment or underpayment and is due to an applican-
t's or participant's failure to provide adequate, correct, or timely information concerning income, property, household composition, 
or other circumstances. 

Subp. 18. Collateral contacts. "Collateral contacts" means confirmation of an assistance unit's circumstances by a person 
outside the assistance unit. 

Subp. 19. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Human Services or the commission-
er's designated representative. 

Subp. 20. Conciliation conference. "Conciliation conference" means a meeting conducted by a mediator that seeks to achieve 
mutual agreement between the caregiver and the case manager. 

Subp. 21. Corrective payment. "Corrective payment" means an assistance payment that is made to correct an underpayment. 
Subp. 22. Countable income. "Countable income" means earned and unearned income that is not excluded under part 

9500.4080 or disregarded under part 9500.4 150. 
Subp. 23. Counted earnings. "Counted earnings" means the earned income that remains after applicable disregards under part 

9500.4150 have been subtracted from gross earned income. 
Subp. 24. County board. "County board" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision Sb. 

Subp. 25. County of financial responsibility. "County of financial responsibility" means the county that has financial responsi-
bility for providing public assistance as specified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256G. 

Subp. 26. County of residence. "County of residence" means the county where the caregiver has established a home. 

Subp. 27. Date of application. "Date of application" means the date on which the local agency receives an applicant's signed 
application. 

Subp. 28. Deem. "Deem" means to treat all or part of the income of an individual who is not in the assistance unit, but who is 
financially responsible for members of the assistance unit, as if it were income available to the assistance unit. 

Subp. 29. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Human Services. 

PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. ike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 30. Disregard. "Disregard" means earned income that is not counted when determining initial eligibility or ongoing eligi-

bility and calculating the amount of the assistance payment for participants. 
Subp. 31. Documentation. "Documentation" means a written statement or record that substantiates or validates an assertion 

made by a person or an action taken by a person, agency, or entity. 
Subp. 32. Earned income. "Earned income" means cash or in-kind income earned through the receipt of wages, salary, com-

missions, profit from employment activities, net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for regu-
larly accrued vacation or sick leave, and any other profit from activity earned through effort or labor. 

Subp. 33. Earned income credit. "Earned income credit" means the payment which can be obtained by a qualified person from 
an employer or from the Internal Revenue Service as provided by United States Code, title 26, subtitle A, chapter 1, subchapter A, 
part 4, section 32, and Minnesota Statutes, section 290.0671. 

Subp. 34. Emergency. "Emergency" means a situation that causes or threatens to cause a lack of a basic need item when there 
are insufficient resources to provide for that need. 

Subp. 35. Employability plan. "Employability plan" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivi-
sion 6a. 

Subp. 36. Encumbrance. "Encumbrance" means a legal claim against real or personal property that is payable upon the sale of 
that property. 

Subp. 37. Equity value. "Equity value" means the amount of equity in real or personal property owned by a person and is deter-
mined by subtracting any outstanding encumbrances from the fair market value. 

Subp. 38. Excluded time. "Excluded time" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256G.02, subdivision 6. 

Subp. 39. Excluded time facility. "Excluded time facility"means any hospital, sanitarium, nursing home, shelter, halfway 
house, foster home, semi-independent living domicile or services program, residential facility offering care, board and lodging 
facility, or other institution for the hospitalization or care of human beings, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.50, 
144A.Ol, or 245A.02, subdivision 14; or a maternity home, battered women's shelter, or correctional facility. 

Subp. 40. Expedited issuance of food stamps assistance. "Expedited issuance of food stamps assistance" means the issuance 
of food stamps assistance to eligible assistance units on the day of application as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 393.07, 
subdivision lOa. 

Subp. 41. Fair hearing or hearing. "Fair hearing" or "hearing" means the evidentiary hearing conducted by the department 
appeals referee to resolve disputes as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. 

Subp. 42. Fair market value. "Fair market value" means the price that an item of a particular make, model, size, material, or 
condition would sell for on the open market in the particular geographic area. 

Subp. 43. Family. "Family" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision 7. 

Subp. 44. Family support agreement. "Family support agreement" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.032, subdivision 7a. 

Subp. 45. Family wage level. "Family wage level" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision 
8. 

Subp. 46. Federal Insurance Contribution Act or FICA. "Federal Insurance Contribution Act" or "RCA" means the federal 
law under United States Code, title 26, subtitle C, chapter 21, subchapter A, sections 3101 to 3126, that requires withholding or 
direct payment from earned income. 

Subp. 47. Financial case record. "Financial case record" means an assistance unit's financial eligibility file. 

Subp. 48. Financially responsible household members. "Financially responsible household members" means spouses, parents 
of minor children and minor caregivers, and stepparents of minor children to the extent authorized by federal and state law. 

Subp. 49. Full-time student. "Full-time student" means a person who is enrolled in a graded or ungraded primary, intermediate, 
secondary, GED preparatory, trade, technical, vocational, or postsecondary school, and who meets the school's standard for full- 
time attendance. 

Subp. 50. General educational development or GED. "General educational development" or "GED" means the general edu-
cational development certification issued by the Minnesota Board of Education as an equivalent to a secondary school diploma 
under part 3500.3 100, subpart 4. 

Subp. 51. Gross earned income. "Gross earned income" means earned income from employment before mandatory and volun-
tary payroll deductions. Gross earned income includes salaries, wages, tips, gratuities, commissions, incentive payments from work 
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or training programs, payments made by an employer for regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, and profits from other activity 
earned by an individual's effort or labor. Gross earned income includes uniform and meal allowances if federal income tax is 
deducted from the allowance. Gross earned income includes flexible work benefits received from an employer if the employee has 
the option of receiving the benefit or benefits in cash. 

Subp. 52. Gross income. "Gross income" is the sum of gross earned income and unearned income. 
Subp. 53. Gross receipts. "Gross receipts" means the money received by a business before the expenses of the business are 

deducted. 
Subp. 54. Half-time student.- "Half-time student" means a person who is enrolled in a graded or ungraded primary, intermedi-

ate, secondary, GED preparatory, trade, technical, vocational, or postsecondary school, and who meets the school's standard of 
half-time attendance. 

Subp. 55. Home. "Home" means the primary place of residence used by a person as the base for day to day living and does not 
include locations used as mail drops. 

Subp. 56. Homeless individual. "Homeless individual" means an individual who lacks a fixed and regular nighttime residence 
or an individual whose primary nighttime residence is: 

A. a supervised shelter designed to provide temporary accommodations such as a welfare hotel or congregate shelter; 
B. a halfway house or similar institution that provides temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized; 

C. a temporary accommodation in the residence of another individual; or 
D. a place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings such as a hallway, 

lobby, bus station, or under highway bridges and overpasses. 

Subp. 57. Homestead. "Homestead" means the home that is owned by, and is the usual residence of, the assistance unit together 
with the surrounding property which is not separated from the home by intervening property owned by others. Public rights-of-
way, such as roads which run through the surrounding property and separate it from the home, do not affect the exemption of the 
property. Homestead includes an asset that is not real property that the assistance unit uses as a home, such as a vehicle. 

Subp. 58. Household. "Household" means a group of persons who live together. 

Subp. 59. Income. "Income" means cash or in-kind benefit, whether earned or unearned, received by or available to an applicant 
or participant that is not an asset under part 9500.4070. 

Subp. 60. Initial eligibility. "Initial eligibility" means the determination of eligibility for an applicant who has been randomly 
selected to participate in MEIP. 

Subp. 61. Initial income test. "Initial income test" means the test used to determine initial eligibility which compares countable 
income to the transitional standard as specified in part 9500.4080, subpart 3. 

Subp. 62. In-kind income. "In-kind income" means income, benefits, or payments which are provided in a form other than 
money or liquid assets, including the forms of goods, produce, services, privileges, or payments made on behalf of an applicant or 
participant by a third party. 

Subp. 63. Inquiry. "Inquiry" means a communication to a local agency through mail, telephone, or in person, by which a person 
or authorized representative requests information about public assistance. The local agency shall also treat as an inquiry any com-
munication in which a person requesting assistance offers information about the person's family circumstances that indicates that 
eligibility for public assistance may exist. 

Subp. 64. Legally available. "Legally available" means a person's right under the law to secure, possess, dispose of, or control 
income or property. 

Subp. 65. Local agency. "Local agency" means a county or multicounty agency that is authorized under Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 393.01, subdivision 7, and 393.07, subdivision 2, to administer MFIP. 

Subp. 66. Low-income home energy assistance program or LIHEAP. "Low-income home energy assistance program" or 
"LIHEAP" means the program authorized under United States Code, title 42, chapter 94, subchapter II, sections 8621 to 8629, and 
administered by the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike euts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euts indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 67. Lump sum. "Lump sum" means nonrecurring income that is not excluded in part 9500.4080. 
Subp. 68. Maximum shelter deduction. "Maximum shelter deduction" means the amount designated by the United States 

Department of Agriculture under Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter C, part 273, section 273.9, 
paragraph (d)(8), as the maximum deduction from income allowed for shelter costs when calculating food stamp benefits. 

Subp. 69. Medical assistance. "Medical assistance" means the program established under title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

Subp. 70. MFIP household report form. "MFIP household report form" means a form prescribed by the commissioner that a 
participant uses to report information to a local agency-about income and other circumstances as specified in part 9500.4280. 

Subp. 71. Minnesota family investment plan or Minnesota family investment program or MFIP. "Minnesota family invest-
ment plan" or "Minnesota family investment program" or "MFIP" means the assistance program authorized in Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 256.031 to 256.0361. 

Subp. 72. Minnesota supplemental aid or MSA. "Minnesota supplemental aid" or "MSA" means the program established 
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.35 to 256D.54. 

Subp. 73. Minor caregiver. "Minor caregiver" means a person who: 
A. is under the age of 18; and 
B. has applied or receives assistance for himself or herself and his or her minor child. 

Subp. 74. Minor child. "Minor child" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivision 8a. 
Subp. 75. Monthly income test. "Monthly income test" means the test used to determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance 

payment amount as specified in part 9500.4080, subpart 4. 
Subp. 76. Nonrecurring income. "Nonrecurring income" means a form of income which: 

A. is received only one time or is not of a continuous nature; or 
B. is received in a prospective payment month but is no longer received in the corresponding retrospective payment month. 

Subp. 77. Overpayment. "Overpayment" means the portion of an assistance payment issued by the local agency that is greater 
than the amount for which the assistance unit is eligible. 

Subp. 78. Parent. "Parent" means a child's biological or adoptive parent who is legally obligated to support that child. 
Subp. 79. Participant. "Participant" means a person receiving benefits through MFTP, and includes the caregiver and all 

members of the assistance unit. 
Subp. 80. Payee. -'Payee" means a person to whom an assistance payment is made payable. 

Subp. 81. Payment month. "Payment month" means the calendar month for which the assistance payment is paid. 

Subp. 82. Personal property. "Personal property" means an item of value that is not real property, including the value of a con-
tract for deed held by a seller, assets held in trust on behalf of members of an assistance unit, cash surrender value of life insurance, 
value of a prepaid burial, savings account, value of stocks and bonds, and value of retirement accounts. 

Subp. 83. Probable fraud. "Probable fraud" means the level of evidence that, if proven as fact, would establish that assistance 
has been wrongfully obtained. 

Subp. 84. Project STRIDE. "Project STRIDE" means the AFDC employment and training program under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.736. 

Subp. 85. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means a method of determining the amount of the assistance 
payment in which the budget month and payment month are the same. 

Subp. 86. Protective payee. "Protective payee" means a person other than the caregiver of an assistance unit who receives the 
monthly assistance payment on behalf of an assistance unit and is responsible to provide for the basic needs of the assistance unit to 
the extent of that payment. - 

Subp. 87. Real property. "Real property" means land and all buildings, structures, and improvements, or other fixtures on the 
land, belonging or appertaining to the land, and all mines, minerals, fossils, and trees on or under the land. 

Subp. 88. Reasonable compensation. "Reasonable compensation" means the value received in exchange for property trans-
ferred to another owner that is consistent with fair market value and equals or exceeds the seller's equity in the property, reduced by 
costs incurred in the sale. - 
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Subp. 89. Recertification. "Recertification" means the periodic review of eligibility factors to determine an assistance unit's 

continued eligibility. 
Subp. 90. Recoupment. "Recoupment" means the action of the local agency to redUce a family's monthly assistance payment to 

recover overpayments caused by client error and overpayments received while an appeal is pending. 

Subp. 91. Recovery. "Recovery" means actions taken by a local agency to reclaim the value of overpayments through voluntary 
repayment, recoupment from the assistance payment, or court action. 

Subp. 92. Recurring income. "Recurring income" means a form of income which is: 
A. received periodically, and may be received irregularly when receipt ..an be anticipated even though the date of receipt 

cannot be predicted; and 
B. from the same source or of the same type that is received and budgeted in a prospective month and is received in one or 

both of the first two retrospective months. 
Subp. 93. Retrospective budgeting. "Retrospective budgeting" means a method of determining the amount of the assistance 

payment in which the payment month is the second month after the budget month. 
Subp. 94. Sanction. "Sanction" means the reduction of a family's assistance payment by ten percent of the applicable transi-

tional standard because the nonexempt parental caregiver fails to develop or comply with the terms of the family support agreement 
or to cooperate with child support enforcement, cost effective insurance, or tort liability. 

Subp. 95. Secondary school. "Secondary school" means a school that is accredited by the Minnesota Department of Education 
as a secondary school under Minnesota Statutes, section 120.05, subdivision 2, or equivalent level technical institute or an educa-
tional program that provides a GED. 

Subp. 96. Significant change. "Significant change" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivi-
sion 11 

Subp. 97. Suitable employment. "Suitable employment" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.736, sub-
division la, paragraph (h). 

Subp. 98. Supplemental Security Income or SSI. "Supplemental Security Income" or "SSI" means the program authorized 
under title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

Subp. 99. Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. "Title IV-A of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter IV, part A, sections 601 to 617. 

Subp. 100. Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. "Title IV-D of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter IV, part D, sections 651 to 669. 

Subp. 101. Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. "Title IV-E of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter IV, part E, sections 670 to 679a. 

Subp. 102. Title XVI of the Social Security Act. "Title XVI of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter XVI, sections 1381 to 1383d. 

Subp. 103. Title XIX of the Social Security Act. "Title XIX of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter XIX, sections 1396 to 1396u. 

Subp. 104. Title XX of the Social Security Act. "Title XX of the Social Security Act" means United States Code, title 42, 
chapter 7, subchapter XX, sections 1397 to 1397f. 

Subp. 105. Transitional standard. "Transitional standard" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, 
subdivision 13. 

Subp. 106. Transitional status. "Transitional status" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.032, subdivi-
sion 12. 	 - 

Subp. 107. Unearned income. "Unearned income" means income received by a person that does not meet the definition of 
earned income. Unearned income includes income from a contract for deed, interest, dividends, unemployment compensation, dis-
ability insurance payments, veterans benefits, pension payments, return on capital investment, insurance payments or settlements, 

[iEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. 'ike eefs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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severance payments, and payments for illness or disability whether the premium payments are made in whole or in part by an 
employer or participant. 

Subp. 108. Unemployment compensation. "Unemployment compensation" means the insurance benefit paid to an unemployed 
worker under Minnesota Statutes, sections 268.03 to 268.231. 

Subp. 109. Vendor. "Vendor" means a provider of goods or services. 
Subp. 110. Vendor payment. "Vendor payment" means a payment made by a local agency directly to a vendor. 
Subp. 111. Verification. "Verification" means the process a local agency uses to establish the accuracy or completeness of 

information from an applicant, participant, third party, or other source as that information relates to program eligibility or an assis-
tance payment. 

Subp. 112. Wrongfully obtaining assistance. "Wrongfully obtaining assistance" means: 
A. to obtain or attempt to obtain assistance by means of a-willfully false statement or representation; 
B. to conceal a material fact, to impersonate an applicant or participant, or to use another fraudulent device that results in 

receiving assistance to which a person is not entitled; or 
C. to knowingly aid or abet in buying or in any way disposing of the property of an applicant or participant in an attempt to 

defeat the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.031 to 256.0361. 
9500.4030 APPLICATION FOR ASSISTANCE. 

Subpart I. Where to apply. A person must apply for assistance at the local agency in the county where that person lives. 

Subp. 2. Local agency responsibility to provide information. A local agency must inform a person who inquires about assis-
tance about eligibility requirements for assistance and how to apply for assistance. A local agency must offer the person brochures 
developed or approved by the commissioner that describe how to apply for assistance. 

Subp. 3. Application form and accompanying advisory. A local agency must offer, in person or by mail, the application forms 
prescribed by the commissioner as soon as a person makes a written or oral inquiry. At that time, the local agency must inform the 
person that, if the person is found eligible, assistance begins with the date the signed application is received by the local agency and 
that any delay in submitting the application will reduce the amount of assistance paid for the month of application. A local agency 
must inform a person that the person may submit the application before an interview appointment. 

To apply for assistance, a person must submit a signed application to the local agency. Upon receipt of a signed application, the 
local agency must stamp the date of receipt on the face of the application. The local agency must process the application within the 
time period required under subpart 8. - 

An applicant may withdraw the application at any time by giving written or oral notice to the local agency. The local agency 
must issue a written notice confirming the withdrawal. The notice must inform the applicant of the local agency's understanding 
that the applicant has withdrawn the application and no longer wants to pursue it. When, within ten days of the date of the agency's 
notice, an applicant informs a local agency in writing that the applicant does not wish to withdraw the application, the local agency 
must reinstate the application and finish processing the application. - 

Subp. 4. Assessment of and issuance for initial needs. When a person inquires about assistance, a local agency must ask the 
person if immediate or emergency needs exist. When a person has emergency needs, the local agency must determine that person's 
eligibility for AFDC emergency assistance or emergency general assistance unless the person's needs can be met through other 
sources or by promptly processing an application for monthly assistance. 

The local agency must also assess eligibility for expedited issuance of food stamp assistance which requires priority processing 
of applications as specified in subpart 5 to assure that expedited benefits are made available to applicants with emergency needs. 

Subp. 5. Expedited issuance of food stamp assistance. The following households are entitled to expedited issuance of food 
stamp assistance: 

A. households with less than $150 in monthly gross income provided their cash on hand, checking or savings accounts, saving 
certificates, and lump sum payments do not exceed $100; 

B. migrant or seasonal farm worker households who are destitute as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle 
B, chapter II, subchapter C, part 273, section 273.10, paragraph (e)(3), provided their cash on hand, checking or savings accounts, 
savings certificates, and lump sum payments do not exceed $100; 

C. eligible households in which all members are homeless individuals; and 
D. eligible households whose combined monthly gross income and liquid resources are less than the household's monthly rent 

or mortgage and utilities. 
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When all verifications have been provided, the benefits issued through expedited issuance of food stamp assistance must be 
deducted from the amount of the full monthly MFIP assistance payment and a supplemental payment for the difference must be 
issued. 

Subp. 6. Verification of information on application. A local agency must verify information provided by an applicant as spec-
ified in part 9500.4090. 

Subp. 7. Participation in MFIP field trial. A person who applies for assistance in a field trial county and is randomly selected 
to participate in MFIP must meet the eligibility requirements in parts 9500.4050 to 9500.4080. A person who is not selected to par-
ticipate in MFIP will have the application for assistance processed to determine eligibility for AFDC, family general assistance, and 
food stamps and, if eligible, will receive benefits and services through those programs. 

Subp. 8. Processing application. Upon receiving an application, a local agency must determine the applicant's eligibility, 
approve or deny the application, inform the applicant of its decision according to part 9500.4290, subpart 3, and issue the assistance 
payment when the applicant is eligible. When a local agency is unable to process an application within 30 days, the local agency 
must inform the applicant of the reason in writing. When an applicant establishes the inability to provide required verification 
within the 30 day processing period, the local agency may not use the expiration of that period as the basis for denial. 

Subp. 9. Invalid reason for delay. A local agency must not delay a decision on eligibility or delay issuing the assistance 
payment by: 

A. treating the 30-day processing period as a waiting period; 

B. delaying approval or issuance of the assistance payment pending the decision of the county board; or 

C. awaiting the result of a referral to a local agency in another county when the county receiving the application does not 
believe it is the county of financial responsibility. 

Subp. 10. Changes in residence during application. The requirements in subparts 8 and 9 apply without regard to the length of 
time that an applicant remains, or intends to remain, a resident of the county in which the application is made. When an applicant 
leaves the county where application was made but remains in the state, part 9500.4330 applies and the local agency may request 
additional information from the applicant about changes in circumstances related to the move. If an applicant in an MFIP county is 
selected to participate in MFIP and moves to another MFIP county, the applicant remains an MFIP applicant. If an applicant in an 
MFIP county is selected to participate in MFIP and moves to a non-MFIP county, the applicant is no longer an MFIP applicant and 
must be considered an applicant for aid to families with dependent children, family general assistance, and food stamps. If an appli-
cant who is selected to participate in MFIP moves from a non-MFIP county to an MFIP county, the applicant must be considered for 
MFIP. 

Subp. 11. Additional applications. Until a local agency issues notice of approval or denial, additional applications submitted by 
an applicant are void. However, an application for monthly assistance and an application for AFDC emergency assistance or emer-
gency general assistance may exist concurrently. More than one application for monthly assistance, AFDC emergency assistance, 
or emergency general assistance may exist concurrently when the local agency decisions on one or more earlier applications have 
been appealed to the commissioner, and the applicant asserts that a change in circumstances has occurred that would allow eligibil-
ity. 

A local agency must require additional application forms or supplemental forms as prescribed by the commissioner when a 
payee's name changes, or when a caregiver requests the addition of another person to the assistance unit. 

Subp. 12. Addendum to an existing application. An addendum to an existing application may be used to add persons to an 
assistance unit regardless of whether the persons being added are required to be in the assistance unit. When a person is added by 
addendum to an assistance unit, eligibility for that person begins on the first of the month the addendum was filed except as pro-
vided in part 9500.4320, subpart 6, item B. 

Subp. 13. Applicants who do not meet eligibility requirements for MFIP. When an applicant randomly assigned to MFIP is 
not eligible for MFIP because the applicant does not meet eligibility requirements, the local agency must determine whether the 
applicant is eligible for food stamps. If the applicant is eligible for food stamps, food stamps must be issued to the assistance unit as 
authorized under the food stamp program. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike etts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Subp. 14. Notice to applicant when not eligible for assistance. When an applicant is not eligible for assistance, the local 

agency must deny the application and provide the applicant with notice as required in part 9500.4290, subpart 3. 
9500.4040 CONVERSION OF AFDC, FAMILY GENERAL ASSISTANCE, AND FOOD STAMP RECIPIENTS TO 
MFIP. 

Recipients of AFDC, family general assistance, and food stamps who are assigned to participate in MFIP must be randomly 
selected. The conversion to MFIP must be made at a time determined by the department. Recipients selected to participate in MFIP 
must be notified in writing of the change in programs, the advantages of MFIP over other assistance programs, the opportunity to 
attend an orientation meeting under part 9500.42 10, and the date of conversion. 
9500.4050 MFIP ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 

To be eligible for MFIP, applicants must meet the general eligibility requirements in part 9500.4060, the property limitations in 
part 9500.4070, and the income limitations in part 9500.4080. 
9500.4060 GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 

Subpart I. Citizenship. To be eligible for MFIP, a member of the assistance unit must be a citizen of the United States, a nonci-
tizen lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence, or a noncitizen otherwise permanently residing in the United 
States under color of law. 

Subp. 2. Minnesota residence. To be eligible for MFIP, members of the assistance unit must be Minnesota residents. A person 
who enters Minnesota from another state and receives assistance from that state must not be considered a Minnesota resident until 
the last month in which that state issues an assistance payment. Minnesota residence is established according to items A to E. 

A. A person who lives in Minnesota and who entered Minnesota with ajob commitment or to seek employment in Minnesota, 
whether or not that person is currently employed, is considered a resident of Minnesota. Neither a length of prior residence nor an 
intent to remain in Minnesota is required. 

B. A person who voluntarily enters Minnesota for a reason other than seeking employment, and who intends to remain in 
Minnesota, is a resident of Minnesota. No length of prior residence is required. 

C. A person who lives in vehicles or other temporary places, including transient facilities, is a resident of Minnesota when that 
person is physically present in Minnesota on an ongoing basis and meets the requirements of item A or B. 

D. A child placed in Minnesota by another state under Minnesota Statutes, section 257.40, or a juvenile who enters Minnesota 
from another state under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.51, shall not be considered a resident of Minnesota. A child placed in 
another state by Minnesota pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 257.40, or a juvenile who enters another state from Minnesota 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 260.51, shall maintain Minnesota residence. 

E. Subitems (1) to (3) constitute loss of Minnesota residence for purposes of MFIP: 
(1) an absence from Minnesota for more than one month, except as allowed under subpart 4; 
(2) an absence involving either the establishment of a residence outside Minnesota or the abandonment of the Minnesota 

home; or 
(3) an assertion of residence in another state in order to receive assistance. 

Subp. 3. Minor child in assistance unit. To be eligible for MFIP, an assistance unit must include at least one minor child or a 
pregnant woman in the third trimester of pregnancy. If a minor child is a recipient of SSI or MSA, the assistance unit is eligible for 
MFIP but the needs of the minor child receiving SSI or MSA must not be taken into account when the local agency determines the 
amount of the assistance payment to be paid to the assistance unit. 

Subp. 4. Physical presence. To be eligible for MFTP, a minor child and a caregiver must live together except as provided in 
items A to C. 

A. The physical presence requirement is met when a minor child is required to live away from the caregiver's home to meet 
the need for educational curricula that cannot be met by, but is approved by, the local public school district, the home is maintained 
for the minor child's return during periodic school vacations, and the caregiver continues to maintain responsibility for the support 
and care of the minor child. 

B. The physical presence requirement is met when an applicant caregiver or applicant minor child is away from the home due 
to illness or hospitalization when the home is maintained for the return of the absent family member, the absence is not expected to 
last more than six months beyond the month of departure, and the conditions of subitem (1), (2), or(3) apply: 

(1) when the minor child and caregiver lived together immediately prior to the absence, the caregiver continues to main-
tain responsibility for the support and care of the minor child, and the absence is reported at the time of application; 
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(2) when the pregnant mother is hospitalized or out of the home due to the pregnancy; or 
(3) when the newborn child and mother are hospitalized at the time of birth. 

C. The absence of a caregiver or minor child does not affect eligibility for the month of departure when the caregiver or minor 
child received assistance for that month and lived together immediately prior to the absence. Eligibility also exists in the following 
month when the absence ends on or before the tenth day of that month. A temporary absence of a caregiver or a minor child which 
continues beyond the month of departure must not affect eligibility when the home is maintained for the return of the absent family 
member, the caregiver continues to maintain responsibility for the support and care of the minor child, and one of subitems (I) to 
(7) applies: 

(I) a participant caregiver or participant child is absent due to illness or hospitalization, and the absence is expected to 
last no more than six months beyond the month of departure; 

(2) a participant child is out of the home due to placement in foster care as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 
260.015, subdivision 7, when the placement will not be paid under title IV-E of the Social Security Act, and when the absence is 
expected to last no more than six months beyond the month of departure; 

(3) a participant minor child is out of the home for a vacation, the vacation is not with an absent parent, andthe absence 
is expected to last no more than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(4) a participant minor child is out of the home due to a visit or vacation with an absent parent, the home of the minor 
child remains with the caregiver, the absence meets the conditions of subpart 5, item C, and the absence is expected to last no more 
than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(5) a participant caregiver is out of the home due to a death or illness of a relative, incarceration, training, or employment 
search and suitable arrangements have been made for the care of the minor child, or a participant minor child is out of the home due 
to incarceration, and the absence is expected to last no more than two months beyond the month of departure; 

(6) a participant caregiver and a participant minor child are both absent from Minnesota due to a situation described in 
subitem (5) or vacation, and the absence is expected to last no more than one month beyond the month of the departure; or 

(7) a participant minor child has run away from home, and another person has not made application for that minor child, 
assistance must continue for no more than two months following the month of departure. 

Subp. 5. Shared, court ordered, and other custody arrangements. The language of a court order that specifies joint legal or 
physical custody does not preclude a determination that a parent is absent. Absence must be determined based on the actual facts of 
the absence and according to items A to C. 

A. When a minor child spends time in each of the parents' homes within a payment month, the minor child's home shall be 
considered the home in which the majority of the minor child's time is spent. When this time is exactly equal within a payment 
month, or when the parents alternately live in the minor child's home within a payment month, the minor child's home shall be with 
that parent who is applying for MFIP, unless the minor child's needs for the full payment month have already been met through the 
provision of assistance to the other parent for that month. 

B. When the physical custody of a minor child alternates between parents for periods of at least one payment month, each 
parent shall be eligible for assistance for any full payment months the minor child's home is with that parent, except under the con-
ditions in item C. 

C. When a minor child's home is with one parent for the majority of time in each month for at least nine consecutive calendar 
months, and that minor child visits or vacations with the other parent under the provisions of subpart 4, item C, subitem (4), the 
minor child's home shall remain with the first parent even when the stay with the second parent is for all or the majority of the 
months in the period of the temporary absence. 

Subp. 6. Eligibility during labor disputes. To be eligible for MFIP, an assistance unit with a member on strike must: 

A. be a participant on the day before the strike; or 

B. have been eligible for MFIP on the day before the strike. 
The local agency must count the striker's pre-strike earnings as current earnings. When a member of an assistance unit who is not 

in the bargaining unit that voted for the strike does not cross the picket line for fear of personal injury, the assistance unit member is 
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deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike es indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 18 S.R. 1707) 
	 State Register, Monday 24 January 1994 

	
PAGE 1707 



Proposed Rules 	
not a striker. Except for a member of an assistance unit who is not in the bargaining unit that voted for the strike and who does not 
cross the picket line for fear of personal injury, a significant change cannot be invoked as a result of a labor dispute. 

Subp. 7. Assignment of support. To be eligible for MFIP, the caregiver must assign all rights to child support, private health 
care benefits, and spousal maintenance benefits to the local agency. 

Subp. 8. Requirement to provide social security numbers. To be eligible for MFIP, each member of the assistance unit must 
provide the member's social security number to the local agency. When a social security number is not provided to the local agency 
for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of the assistance unit cooperates with the procedures for verifica-
tion of numbers, issuance of duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been established jointly between the Social 
Security Administration and the commissioner. 

9500.4070 PROPERTY LIMITATIONS. 
Subpart I. Property ownership provisions. The local agency must apply items A to D to real and personal property. The local 

agency must use the equity value of legally available real and personal property, except property excluded in subparts 2 and 3, to 
determine whether an applicant or participant is eligible for assistance. 

A. When real or personal property is jointly owned by two or more persons, the local agency shall assume that each person 
owns an equal share, except that either person owns the entire sum of a joint personal checking or savings account. When an appli-
cant or participant documents greater or lesser ownership, the local agency must use that greater or lesser share to determine the 
equity value held by the applicant or participant. Other types of ownership must be evaluated according to law. 

B. Real or personal property owned by the applicant or participant must be presumed legally available to the applicant or par-
ticipant unless the applicant or participant documents that the property is not legally available to the applicant or participant. When 
real or personal property is not legally available, its equity value must not be applied against the limits of subparts 2 and 3. 

C. An applicant must disclose whether the applicant has transferred real or personal property valued in excess of the property 
limits in subparts 2 and 3 for which reasonable compensation was not received within one year prior to application. A participant 
must disclose all transfers of property valued in excess of these limits, according to the reporting requirements in part 9500.4280, 
subpart 9. When a transfer of real or personal property without reasonable compensation has occurred, subitems (1) and (2) apply. 

(1) The person who transferred the property must provide the property's description, information needed to determine the 
property's equity value, the names of persons who received the property, and the circumstances of and reasons for the transfer. 

(2) When the transferred property can be reasonably reacquired, or when reasonable compensation can be secured, the 
property is presumed legally available to the applicant or participant. 

D. A participant may build the equity value of real and personal property to the limits in subparts 2 and 3. 

Subp. 2. Real property limitations. Ownership of real property by an applicant or participant is subject to the limitations in 
items A and B. 

A. A local agency shall exclude the homestead of an applicant or participant according to subitems (1) to (3). 
(I) An applicant or participant who is purchasing real property through a contract for deed and using that property as a 

home is considered the owner of real property. 
(2) The total amount of land that can be excluded under this subpart is limited to surrounding property which is not sepa-

rated from the home by intervening property owned by others. Additional property must be assessed as to its legal and actual avail-
ability according to subpart 1. 

(3) When real property that has been used as a home by a participant is sold, the local agency must treat the cash proceeds 
from the sale as excluded property for six months when the participant intends to reinvest the proceeds in another home and main-
tains those proceeds, unused for other purposes, in a separate account. 

B. The equity value of real property that is not excluded under item A and which is legally available must be applied against 
the limits in subpart 3. When the equity value of the real property exceeds the limits under subpart 3, the applicant or participant 
may qualify to receive assistance for a consecutive nine-month period when the applicant or participant makes a good faith effort to 
sell the property and signs a legally binding agreement to repay the amount of assistance issued during that nine months less child 
support collected by the agency. When the property is sold during the nine-month period, repayment must be made within five 
working days after the property is sold. Repayment to the local agency must be in the amount of assistance received or the proceeds 
of the sale, whichever is less. If the property is not sold during the nine-month period, the local agency must terminate MFIP assis-
tance. When the property is sold, the former participant must repay the local agency within five working days after the property is 
sold. Repayment to the local agency must be in the amount of the assistance received or the proceeds of the sale, whichever is less. 

Subp. 3. Other property limitations. To be eligible for MFIP, the equity value of all nonexcluded real and personal property of 
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the assistance unit must not exceed $2,000. The value of items A to R must be excluded when determining the equity value of real 
and personal property. 

A. The value of licensed automobiles, trucks, or vans up to a total equity value of $4,500, exclusive of the value of special 
equipment for a handicapped member of the assistance unit. To establish the equity value of vehicles, a local agency must subtract 
any outstanding encumbrances from the loan value listed in the N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, for newer 
model cars. The N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, is incorporated by reference. It is published monthly by the 
National Automobile Dealers Used Car Guide Company and is available through the Minitex interlibrary loan system. It is subject 
to frequent change. When a vehicle is not listed in the guidebook, or when the applicant or participant disputes the value listed in 
the guidebook as unreasonable given the condition of the particular vehicle, thc local agency may require the applicant or partici-
pant to document the value by securing a written statement from a motor vehicle dealer licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 
168.27, stating the amount that the dealer would pay to purchase the vehicle. The local agency shall reimburse the applicant or par-
ticipant for the cost of a written statement that documents a lower value. 

B. The value of a prepaid burial account, burial plan, or burial trust up to $1,500 for each member of the assistance unit. 
C. One burial plot per member of an assistance unit. 
D. The value of personal property needed to produce earned income, including tools, implements, farm animals, inventory, 

business loans, business checking and savings accounts used exclusively for the operation of a self-employment business, and any 
motor vehicles if the vehicles are essential for the self-employment business. 

E. The value of real and personal property owned by a parent of a minor caregiver or a stepparent when those persons are not 
applying for MFIP and are not required to be included in the MFIP assistance unit under part 9500.4100, subpart 2. 

F. The value of personal property not otherwise specified which is commonly used by household members in day-to-day 
living such as clothing, necessary household furniture, equipment, and other basic maintenance items essential for daily living. 

G. The value of real and personal property owned by a recipient of SSI or MSA. 

H. The value of corrective payments and the AFDC housing allowance, but only for the month in which the payment is 
received and for the following month. 

I. A mobile home used by an applicant or participant as the applicant's or participant's home. 
J. Money escrowed in a separate account that is needed to pay real estate taxes or insurance and that is used for this purpose at 

least semiannually. 
K. Money held in escrow to cover employee PICA, employee tax withholding, sales tax withholding, employee worker com-

pensation, business insurance, property rental, property taxes, and other costs that are paid at least annually, but less often than 
monthly. 

L. Monthly assistance and emergency assistance payments for the current month's needs. 
M. The value of school loans, grants, or scholarships for the period they are intended to cover. 

N. Payments listed in part 9500.4080, subpart 2, item I, which are held in escrow for a period not to exceed three months to 
replace or repair personal or real property. 

0. Income received in a budget month through the end of the budget month. 
P. The earned income credit and Minnesota working family credit in the month received and the following month. 

Q. Payments excluded under federal law as long as those payments are held in a separate account from any nonexcluded 
funds. 
9500.4080 INCOME LIMITATIONS. 

Subpart 1. Evaluation of income. To determine MFIP eligibility, the local agency must evaluate income received by members 
of an assistance unit, or by other persons whose income is considered available to the assistance unit. All payments, unless specifi-
cally excluded in subpart 2, must be counted as income. 

Subp. 2. Excluded income. The following items must be excluded from countable income: 
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A. payments for basic care, difficulty of care, and clothing allowances received for providing family foster care to children or 

adults under parts 9545.0010 to 9545.0260 and 9555.5050 to 9555.6265 and payments received and used for care and maintenance 
of a third party beneficiary:  who is not a household member; 

B. reimbursements for employment training received through the Job Training Partnership Act, United States Code, title 29, 
chapter 19, sections 1501 to 1792b; 

C. reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses incurred while performing volunteer services, jury duty, or employment; 
D. all educational grants and loans, including income from work-study programs; 
E. loans, regardless of purpose, from public or private lending institutions, governmental lending institutions, or governmen-

tal agencies; 
F. loans from private individuals, regardless of purpose, provided an applicant or participant documents that the lender 

expects repayment; 

G. state and federal income tax refunds; 

H. state and federal earned income credits; 
I. funds received for reimbursement, replacement, or rebate of personal or real property when these payments are made by 

public agencies, awarded by a court, solicited through public appeal, or made as a grant by a federal agency, state or local govern-
ment, or disaster assistance organizations, subsequent to a presidential declaration of disaster; 

J. the portion of an insurance settlement that is used to pay medical, funeral, and burial expenses, or to repair or replace 
insured property; 

K. reimbursements for medical expenses which cannot be paid by medical assistance; 

L. payments by a vocational rehabilitation program administered by the state under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268A, except 
those payments that are for current living expenses; 

M. in-kind income, including any payments directly made by a third party to a provider of goods and services; 

N. assistance payments to correct underpayments, but only for the month in which the payment is received; 
0. AFDC emergency assistance payments issued under part 9500.2800, subpart 2, emergency general assistance issued under 

part 9500.1261, or AFDC special needs payments issued under part 9500.2800, subparts 6 to 8; 
P. supplemental housing allowance payments as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 256.879; 

Q. funeral and cemetery payments as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 256.935; 

R. nonrecurring cash gifts of $30 or less, not exceeding $30 per participant in a calendar month; 

S. any form of energy assistance payment made by LIHEAP, payments made directly to energy providers by other public and 
private agencies, benefits issued by energy providers when the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training determines that those 
payments qualify under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, subtitle B, chapter II, part 233, section 233.53, and any form of credit 
or rebate payment issued by energy providers; 

T. the first $50 of child support paid under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, subtitle B, chapter III, part 302, section 
302.51, paragraph (b)(l); 

U. SSI, including retroactive payments; 

V. MSA, including retroactive payments; 
W. proceeds from the sale of real or personal property; 
X. payments for subsidized adoptions as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 259.40; 

Y. state-funded family subsidy program payments made under Minnesota Statutes, section 252.32, to help families care for 
children with mental retardation or related conditions; 

Z. interest payments and dividends from property that is not excluded from and that does not exceed the $2,000 asset limit; 
AA. income that is otherwise specifically excluded from AFDC program consideration in federal law, state law, or federal 

regulation; 
BB. rent rebates; 
CC. income earned by a minor child who is at least a half-time student; 
DD. MFIP child care payments; 
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EE. all other payments made through MFIP to support a caregiver's pursuit of greater self support; 
FF. income a participant receives related to shared living expenses; 
GG. reverse mortgages; 
HH. benefits provided by the Child Nutrition Act of 1966, United States Code, title 42, chapter l3A, sections 1771 to 1790; 
II. benefits provided by the women, infants, and children (WIC) nutrition program, United States Code, title 42, chapter 13A, 

section 1786; 
JJ. benefits from the National School Lunch Act, United States Code, title 42, chapter 13, sections 1751 to l769e; 
KK. relocation assistance for displaced persons under the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition 

Policies Act of 1970, United States Code, title 42, chapter 61, subchapter II, section 4636, or the National Housing Act, United 
States Code, title 12, chapter 13, sections 1701 to 1750jj; 

LL. benefits from the Trade Act of 1974, United States Code, title 19, chapter 12, part 2, sections 2271 to 2322; 
MM. war reparations payments to Japanese Americans and Aleuts under United States Code, title 50, sections 1989 to 1989d; 
NN. payments to veterans or their dependents as a result of legal settlements regarding Agent Orange or other chemical expo-

sure under Public Law Number 10 1-239, section 10405, paragraph (a)(2)(E); 
00. security and utility deposit refunds; and 
PP. American Indian tribal land settlements excluded under Public Law Numbers 98-123, 98-124, and 99-377 to the 

Mississippi Band Chippewa Indians of White Earth, Leech Lake, and Mille Lacs reservations and payments to members of the 
White Earth Band, under United States Code, title 25, chapters 9, section 331; and 16, section 1407. 

Subp. 3. Initial income test. The local agency shall determine initial eligibility by considering all earned and unearned income 
that is not excluded under subpart 2. To be eligible for MFIP, the assistance unit's countable income minus the disregards in items 
A to C must be below the transitional standard of assistance specified in part 9500.4 100, subpart 7, for that size assistance unit. 

A. When determining initial eligibility and when determining income deemed from members who do not elect to be included 
in the assistance unit, the employment disregard is 18 percent of the gross earned income whether or not the member is working full 
time or part time. 

B. When determining initial eligibility, dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual 
amount paid for dependent care up to the maximum disregard allowed under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, section 602, 
subsection (a), paragraph (8), subparagraph (A)(iii). 

C. Notwithstanding item A, when determining initial eligibility for participants who have received AFDC, family general 
assistance, or MFIP in Minnesota within four months of the most recent application for MFIP, the employment disregard is 38 
percent of the gross earned income. 

After initial eligibility is established, the assistance payment calculation is based on the monthly income test. 

Subp. 4. Monthly income test and determination of assistance payment. The local agency shall determine ongoing eligibility 
and the assistance payment amount according to the monthly income test. To be eligible for MFIP, the result of the computations in 
items A to D must be at least one dollar. 

A. For earned income, a 38 percent income disregard is applied and counted earnings are subtracted from the family wage 
level. If the difference is equal to or greater than the transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the transitional stan-
dard. If the difference is less than the transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the difference. The employment dis-
regard in this item must be deducted every month there is earned income. 

B. For unearned income, there is no income disregard. Unearned income is subtracted dollar for dollar from the transitional 
standard to determine assistance payment amount. 

C. If income is both earned and unearned, the amount of the assistance payment must be determined by first treating gross 
earned income as specified in item A. After determining the amount of the assistance payment under item A, unearned income 
must be subtracted from that amount dollar for dollar to determine the assistance payment amount. 
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D. When the monthly income is greater than the transitional or family wage level standard after applicable deductions and the 

income will only exceed the standard for one month, the local agency must suspend the assistance payment for the payment month. 
Subp. 5. Distribution of income. The income of all members of the assistance unit must be counted. Income must be attributed 

to the person who earns it or to the assistance unit according to items A to G. 
A. Income may be allocated from spouse to spouse and from parents to children under age 21 according to part 9500.4140 

when the person to whom the income is allocated is in financial need according to the MFIP standard and when that person lives 
with the minor child who is applying for or receiving assistance. 

B. For stepparents who do not elect to be part of the assistance unit, the local agency must not count the stepparent's income 
if it is less than or equal to 275 percent of federal poverty guidelines for a family of one. For stepparents whose income is more than 
275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for a family of one and parents of minor caregivers who do not elect to be part of the 
assistance unit, the local agency must count the income that remains aftedisregarding: 

(1) the.first 18 percent of the excluded family member's gross earned income; 

(2) amounts the stepparent or parent of the minor caregiver actually paid to individuals not livingin the same household 
but whom the stepparent or parent claims as dependents for determining federal personal income tax liability; 

(3) child or spousal support paid to a person who lives outside of the household; 

(4) an amount for the needs of one parent of a minor caretaker or a stepparent at the first adult standard; and 

(5) an amount for the needs of other persons who live in the household but are not included in the assistance unit and are 
or could be claimed by a parent of a minor caretaker or stepparent as dependents for determining federal personal income tax liabil-
ity. This amount must equal the MFIP family allowance for a family group of the same composition as the dependent persons 
described in this subitem. 

C. Funds distributed from a trust, whether from the principal holdings or sale of trust property or from the interest and other 
earnings of the trust holdings, must be considered income when the income is legally available to an applicant or participant. Trusts 
are presumed legally available unless an applicant or participant can document that the trust is not legally available. 

D. Income from jointly owned property must be divided equally among property owners unless the terms of ownership 
provide for a different distribution. 

E. Income of the sponsors of noncitizens must be deemed to the noncitizens as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title 
45, subtitle B, chapter II, part 233, section 233.51. 

F. Except as provided under items B and E, deductions are not allowed from the gross income of a financially responsible 
household member or by the members of an assistance unit to meet a current or prior debt. 

G. For persons who have been disqualified from receiving MFIP, the local agency must count the disqualified member's 
income according to subitems (1) and (2). 

(I) For stepparents and parents of minor caregivers, the local agency must count the income remaining after disregarding 
income according to item B, except income must not be allocated to meet the needs of the disqualified person. 

(2) For mandatory unit members, the local agency must count the income as though the member was included in the unit, 
but income must not be allocated to meet the needs of the disqualified person. 

Subp. 6. Earned income of wage and salary employees. The local agency must include gross earned income less any disre-
gards in the initial and monthly income test. Gross earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis must be 
prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments are received over a lesser period of time. 

Subp. 7. Self-employment, general. The local agency must include the income from self-employed individuals in the initial and 
monthly income test. Self-employed individuals are individuals who: 

A. work for themselves rather than an employer; 

B. do not have federal or state income taxes or FICA withheld from payments made to them; 

C. are responsible for their own work schedule; and 
D. do not have coverage under employers' liability insurance or workers' compensation. 

Self-employed individuals may own a business singularly or in partnership. Individuals operating more than one self-employ-
ment business may use the loss from one business to offset self-employment income from another business. A loss from a self- 
employment business may not offset income earned under subpart 6. 

Subp. 8. Self-employment earnings. The local agency must determine self-employment income according to items A and B. 
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A. The local agency must subtract allowable business expenses from total gross receipts. Allowable business expenses 

include: 
(1) interest on mortgages and loans; 
(2) employee wages, except for persons who are part of the assistance unit or whose income is deemed to the participant; 
(3) RCA funds paid on employees' wages, payment of employee workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance; 
(4) livestock and veterinary or breeding fees; 
(5) raw material; 
(6) seed and fertilizer; 
(7) maintenance and repairs which are not capital expenditures; 
(8) tax return preparation fees; 
(9) license fees, professional fees, franchise fees, and professional dues; 
(10) tools and supplies that are not capital expenditures; 
(11) fuel and transportation expenses other than fuel costs covered by the flat rate transportation rate deduction; 
(12) advertising costs; 
(13) meals eaten when required to be away from the local work site; 
(14) property, expenses such as rent, insurance, taxes, and utilities; 
(15) postage; 
(16) purchase cost of inventory at time of sale; 
(17) loss from another self-employment business; 
(18) attorney fees allowed by the Internal Revenue Service; and 
(19) tuition for classes necessary to maintain or improve job skills or required by law to maintain job status or salary as 

allowed by the Internal Revenue Service. 
B. The local agency may not allow a deduction for the following expenses: 

(1) purchases of capital assets; 
(2) payments on the principals of loans for capital assets; 
(3) depreciation; 
(4) amortization; 
(5) the wholesale costs of items purchased, processed, or manufactured which are unsold inventory; 
(6) transportation costs that exceed the maximum standard mileage rate allowed for use of a personal car in the Internal 

Revenue Code; 
(7) costs, in any amount, for mileage between an applicant's or participant's home and place of employment; 
(8) salaries and other employment deductions made for members of an assistance unit or persons who live in the house-

hold for whom an employer is legally responsible; 
(9) monthly expenses in excess of $71 for each roomer; 
(10) monthly expenses in excess of the Thrifty Food Plan amount for one person for each boarder. For purposes of this 

subitem and subitem (11), "Thrifty Food Plan" has the meaning given it in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter 
II, subchapter C, part 271, section 271.2; 

(11) monthly expenses in excess of the roomer rate plus the Thrifty Food Plan amount for one person for each roomer- 
boarder. If there is more than one boarder or roomer-boarder use the total number of boarders as the unit size to determine the 
Thrifty Food Plan amount; 
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(12) an amount greater than actual expenses or two percent of the estimated market value on a county tax assessment 

form, whichever is greater, as a deduction for upkeep and repair against rental income; 
(13) expenses not allowed by the Internal Revenue Code; and 
(14) expenses in excess of 60 percent of gross receipts for in-home child care unless a higher amount can be documented. 

Funds that are received from the Minnesota child care food program as authorized under the National School Lunch Act, United 
States Code, title 42, chapter 13, sections 1751 to 1769e, are excluded from gross receipts and the expenses covered by the funds 
must not be claimed as a deduction. 

Subp. 9. Self-employment budget period. The self-employment budget period begins in the month of application or in the first 
month of self-employment. Gross receipts must be budgeted in the month received. Expenses must be budgeted against gross 
receipts in the month the expenses are paid, except for items A to C. 

A. The purchase cost of inventory items, including materials which are processed or manufactured, must be deducted as an 
expense at the time payment is received for the sale of the inventory items. 

B. A 12-month rolling average based on subitems (1) to (3) must be used to budget monthly income. 

(I) If a business has been in operation for at least 12 months, the local agency must use the average monthly self-employ-
ment income from the most current income tax report for the 12 months before the month of application. Each month, the local 
agency must determine a new monthly average by adding in the actual self-employment income and expenses from the previous 
month and dropping the first month from the averaging period. 

(2) If a business has been in operation for less than 12 months, the local agency must compute the average for the number 
of months the business has been in operation to determine a monthly average. When data are available for 12 or more months, 
average monthly self-employment income is determined under subitem (1). 

(3) If the business undergoes a major change, the local agency must compute a new rolling average beginning with the 
first month of the major change. For the purpose of this subitem, "major change" means a change that affects the nature and scale 
of the business and is not merely the result of normal business fluctuations. 

C. For seasonal self-employment, the caregiver may choose whether to use actual income in the month of receipt and 
expenses in the month incurred or the rolling average method of computation. The choice must be made once per year at the time of 
application or recertification. For the purpose of this item, "seasonal" means working six or less months per year. 

Subp. 10. Farm income. Farm income is the difference between gross receipts and operating expenses, subject to subpart 8, 
item B. Gross receipts include sales, rents, subsidies, soil conservation payments, production derived from livestock, and income 
from home produced food. 

Subp. 11. Rental income. The local agency must treat income from rental property as earned or unearned income. Income from 
rental property is unearned income unless the assistance unit spends an average of ten hours per week on maintenance or manage-
ment of the property. When the owner spends more than ten hours per week on maintenance or repairs, the earnings are considered 
self-employment earnings. An amount must be deducted for upkeep and repairs as specified in subpart 8, item B, subitem (12), for 
real estate taxes, insurance, utilities, and interest on principal payments. When the applicant or participant lives on the rental prop-
erty, expenses for upkeep, taxes, insurance, utilities, and interest must be divided by the number of rooms to determine expense per 
room and expenses deducted must be deducted only for the number of rooms rented. 

Subp. 12. Unearned income. The local agency must apply unearned income to the transitional standard. When determining the 
amount of unearned income, the local agency must deduct the costs necessary to secure payments of unearned income. These costs 
include legal fees, medical fees, and mandatory deductions such as federal and state income taxes. 

Subp. 13. Treatment of lump sums. The local agency must treat lump sum payments as earned or unearned income. If the 
lump sum payment is included in the category of income identified in subpart 12, it must be treated as unearned income. A lump 
sum is counted as income in the month received and budgeted either prospectively or retrospectively depending on the budget cycle 
at the time of receipt. When an individual receives a lump sum payment, that lump sum must be combined with all other earned and 
unearned income received in the same budget month, and it must be applied according to items A to C. There is no carryover into 
subsequent months. Any funds that remain in the third month after the month of receipt are counted in the asset limit. 

A. For a lump sum received by an applicant during the first two months, prospective budgeting is used to determine the 
payment and the lump sum must be combined with other earned or unearned income received and budgeted in that prospective 
month. 

B. For a lump sum received by a participant after the first two months of MFIP eligibility, the lump sum must be combined 
with other income received in that budget month, and the combined amount must be applied retrospectively against the applicable 
payment month. 
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C. When a lump sum, combined with other income according to items A and B, is less than the transitional standard for the 

applicable payment month, the assistance payment is reduced according to the amount of the countable income. When the count-
able income is greater than the transitional standard or the family wage standard, the assistance payment is suspended for the 
payment month. 
9500.4090 DOCUMENTING, VERIFYING, AND RECERTIFYING ELIGIBILITY. 

Subpart 1. Verification of information. A local agency must only require verification of information necessary to determine 
MFIP eligibility and the amount of the assistance payment. 

Subp. 2. Sufficiency of documentation. The applicant or participant muse document the information in subparts 4 and 5 or 
authorize the local agency to verify it. The applicant or participant has the burden of providing documentary evidence to verify eli-
gibility. The local agency shall assist the applicant or participant in obtaining required documents when the applicant or participant 
is unable to do so. When an applicant or participant and the local agency are unable to obtain documents needed to verify informa-
tion, the local agency may accept an affidavit from an applicant or participant as sufficient documentation. 

Subp. 3. Contacting third parties. A local agency must not request information about an applicant or participant which is not of 
public record from a source other than local agencies, the department, or the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services without the person's prior written consent. An applicant's signature on an application form shall constitute this consent for 
contact with the sources specified on that form. A local agency may use a single consent form to contact a group of similar sources, 
such as banks or insurance agencies, but the sources to be contacted must be identified by the local agency prior to requesting an 
applicant's consent. 

Subp. 4. Factors to be verified. The local agency must verify the following at application: 

A. identity of adults; 
B. presence of the minor child in the home, if questionable; 

C. relationship of a minor child to caregivers in the assistance unit; 
D. age, if necessary to determine MFIP eligibility; 

E. immigration status; 
F. social security number; 
G. income; 
H. self-employment expenses used as a deduction; 

I. source and purpose of deposits and withdrawals from business accounts; 

J. spousal support and child support payments to persons outside the household; 
K. real property; 
L. vehicles; 
M. checking and savings accounts; 
N. savings certificates, savings bonds, stocks, and individual retirement accounts; 
0. cash surrender value of life insurance; 
P. inconsistent information; 

Q. medical insurance; 
R. the first day of the third trimester for a pregnant woman; 
S. the anticipated graduation date of an 18-year-old; 

T. burial accounts; and 
U. school attendance, if related to eligibility. 

An applicant's written authorization is required before the local agency contacts the Immigration and Naturalization Service to 
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verify immigration status under item E. However, refusal to provide such authorization is grounds for a finding of ineligibility if 
the applicant fails to produce proof of eligible immigration status. 

When the local agency verifies inconsistent information under item P, the reason for verifying the information must be docu-
mented in the financial case record. 

Subp. 5. Items that must be verified at recertification. The local agency must verify the following at recertification: 

A. presence of the minor child in the home, if questionable; 
B. income; 

C. self-employment expenses used as a deduction; 

D. checking and savings accounts; 

E. source and purpose of deposits and withdrawals from business accounts; 
F. burial accounts, individual retirement accounts, cash surrender value of life insurance, savings certificates, stocks, bonds, 

real property, and vehicles when their value is within $200 of the asset limit; and 
0. inconsistent information. 

Subp. 6. Recertification of eligibility. The local agency must recertify eligibility at least annually in a face-to-face interview 
with the participant. 
9500.4100 FAMILY COMPOSITION AND ASSISTANCE STANDARDS. 

Subpart 1. MFIP assistance unit. An MFIP assistance unit is either a group of individuals with at least one minor child who live 
together whose needs, assets, and income are considered together and who receive assistance from MFIP, or a pregnant woman in 
the third trimester of pregnancy with no other children who receives assistance from MFIP. Individuals identified in subpart 2 must 
be included in the MFIP assistance unit. Individuals identified in subpart 3 must be excluded from the assistance unit. Individuals 
identified in subpart 4 may be included in the assistance unit at their option. Individuals not included in the assistance unit who are 
identified in part 9500.4080, subpart 5, item B, must have their income considered when determining eligibility and benefits for an 
MFIP assistance unit. All assistance unit members, whether mandatory or elective, who live together and for whom one caregiver 
or two married caregivers apply must be included in a single assistance unit. 

Subp. 2. Mandatory assistance unit composition. When the following individuals live together, they must be included in the 
assistance unit: 

A. a minor child; 
B. the minor child's siblings and half-siblings; and 

C. the minor child's natural or adoptive parents. 
Subp. 3. Individuals who must be excluded from an assistance unit. The following individuals must be excluded from an 

assistance unit: 
A. individuals receiving SSI or MSA; 

B. individuals living at home while performing court-imposed, unpaid community service work due to a criminal conviction; 

C. individuals disqualified from the food stamp program or AFDC due to noncompliance with quality control requirements or 
who are under a fraud disqualification until the period of disqualification ends; and 

D. individuals disqualified from MFIP, until the disqualification ends. 
Subp. 4. Individuals who may elect to be included in the assistance unit. When the following individuals live with mandatory 

members of the assistance unit identified in subpart 2, the individuals may elect to be included in the assistance unit: 
A. the minor child's eligible relative caregiver, but only one eligible relative caregiver may elect to be included in the assis-

tance unit; 
B. the minor child's stepparent; 
C. the minor child's stepsiblings; and 
D. the parents of a minor parent caregiver. 
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Subp. 5. MFIP family allowance table. The following table represents the MFIP family allowance table. 

	

Children Standard 	 Adult Standard 
Number of 	 Monthly 	 Eligible 	 Monthly 

Eligible 	 Standard 	 Adults 	 Standard 
Children 	 of Need 	 of Need 

$250 	 first adult standard 	$187 
2 	 $345 	 second adult standard 	$ 73 
3 	 $434 
4 	 $510 
5 	 $586 
6 	 $663 
7 	 $729 
8 	 $793 
9 	 $848 
10 	 $902 

over 10 	add $53 per additional child 
Special Standard 	 Special Standard 

for one child 	$337 	 for one adult 	$250 
Subp. 6. Application of assistance standards. The standards that apply to an assistance unit are set forth in items A to F. 

A. The children standard must be used for the minor child or a minor caregiver who lives with either or both parents. 
B. The first adult standard must be used for the first eligible adult caregiver in the unit and the first eligible minor caregiver 

who is emancipated or who lives apart from both parents. 
C. The second adult standard must be used for an additional parent caregiver when one parent caregiver is eligible for the first 

adult standard. 
D. The special child standard must be used whenever the only adult or adults in the household receive SSI or MSA or both. 

When an assistance unit includes more than one minor child, the special child standard must be determined by substituting the first 
adult standard for the needs of the last minor child in the assistance unit and combining that amount with the children standard for 
the remaining minor children. 

E. The assistance standard for a family consisting of a pregnant woman in the third trimester of pregnancy must be equal to 
the assistance standard paid to one adult and one child. 

F. The special adult standard must be used whenever the only child or children in the household receive SSI. 
Subp. 7. Transitional standard. The transitional standard for the assistance units identified in subpart 6 is the MFIP allowance 

under subpart 5 plus the full cash value of food stamps for an assistance unit of the same size and composition. For the purpose of 
this subpart, "full cash value of food stamps" means the amount of the cash value of food stamps to which an assistance unit of a 
given size would be entitled for a month, determined by assuming unearned income equal to the AFDC standard for a family of that 
size and composition and subtracting the standard deduction and maximum shelter deduction from gross family income, as allowed 
under the Food Stamp Act of 1977, United States Code, title 7, section 2031, and the Hunger Prevention Act of 1988, Public Law 
Number 100-435. 

Subp. 8. Family wage level standard. The family wage level standard is 120 percent of the transitional standard under subpart 
7 and is the standard used when there is earned income in the assistance unit. Earned income is subtracted from the family wage 
level as specified in part 9500.4080, subpart 4, item A, to determine the amount of the assistance payment. Assistance payments 
may not exceed the transitional standard for the assistance unit. 

Subp. 9. Publication of transitional standard. The Department of Human Services shall annually publish in the State Register 
the transitional standard for an assistance unit size I to 10. 
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9500.4110 DETERMINATION OF MFIP ELIGIBILITY AND ASSISTANCE PAYMENT. 

A local agency must determine MFIP eligibility prospectively for a payment month based on retrospectively assessing income 
and the local agency's best estimate of the circumstances that will exist in the payment month. 

Except as described in part 9500.4 130, subpart 1, when prospective eligibility exists, a local agency must calculate the amount of 
the assistance payment using retrospective budgeting. To determine MFIP eligibility and the assistance payment amount, a local 
agency must apply countable income, described in part 9500.4080, subparts 6 to 13, received by members of an assistance unit or 
by other persons whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under part 9500.4080, subpart 5. 

This income must be applied to the transitional standard or fa?nily wage standard described in part 9500.4 100, subparts 7 and 8, 
subject to parts 9500.4 120 to 9500.4 160. Income received in a calendar month and not otherwise excluded under part 9500.4080, 
subpart 2, must be applied to the needs of an assistance unit. 
9500.4120 MFIP ELIGIBILITY TESTS. 

Subpart 1. Prospective eligibility. A local agency must determine whether the eligibility requirements that pertain to an assis-
tance unit, including those in parts 9500.4060 and 9500.4070, will be met prospectively for the payment month. Except for the pro-
visions in part 9500.4 130, subpart 1, the income test will be applied retrospectively. 

Subp. 2. Retrospective eligibility. After the first two months of MFIP eligibility, a local agency must continue to determine 
whether an assistance unit is prospectively eligible for the payment month by looking at all factors other than income and then 
determine whether the assistance unit is retrospectively income eligible by applying the monthly income test to the income from the 
budget month. When the monthly income test is not satisfied, the assistance payment must be suspended when ineligibility exists 
for one month or ended when ineligibility exists for more than one month. 

Subp. 3. Monthly income test. A local agency must apply the monthly income test retrospectively for eaëh month of MFIP eli-
gibility. An assistance unit is not eligible when the countable income equals or exceeds the transitional standard or the family wage 
level for the assistance unit. The income applied against the monthly income test must include: 

A. gross earned income from employment, prior to mandatory payroll deductions, voluntary payroll deductions, wage autho-
rizations, and after the disregards in part 9500.4 150, and the allocations in part 9500.4 140, unless the employment income is specif-
ically excluded under part 9500.4080, subpart 2; 

B. gross earned income from self-employment less deductions for self-employment expenses in part 9500.4080, subpart 8, but 
prior to any reductions for personal or business state and federal income taxes, personal FICA, personal health and life insurance, 
and after the disregards in part 9500.4 150, and the allocations in part 9500.4 140; 

C. unearned income after deductions for allowable expenses in part 9500.4080, subpart 12, and allocations in part 9500.4 140, 
unless the income has been specifically excluded in part 9500.4080, subpart 2; 

D. gross earned income from employment as determined under item A which is received by a member of an assistance unit 
who is a minor child and less than a half-time student; 

E. child support and spousal support received or anticipated to be received by an assistance unit less the first $50 of current 
child support; 

F. the income of a parent even when that parent has opted not to be included in the assistance unit; 
G. the income of a stepparent whose income must be counted according to part 9500.4080, subpart 5, item B; 
H. the income of an eligible relative who seeks to be included in the assistance unit; and 
I. the unearned income of a minor child included in the assistance unit. 

Subp. 4. When to terminate. When an assistance unit is ineligible for MFIP assistance for two consecutive months, the local 
agency must terminate MHP assistance. 
9500.4130 CALCULATING PAYMENTS. 

Subpart I. Prospective budgeting. A local agency must use prospective budgeting to calculate the assistance payment amount 
for the first two months for an applicant who has not received assistance in Minnesota for at least one payment month preceding the 
first month of payment under a current application. Prospective budgeting is not subject to overpayments or underpayments. 

A. The local agency must apply the income received or anticipated in the first month of MFIP eligibility against the need of 
the first month. The local agency must apply the income received or anticipated in the second month against the need of the second 
month. 

B. When the assistance payment for any part of the first two months is based on anticipated income, the local agency must 
base the initial assistance payment amount on the information available at the time the initial assistance payment is made. 
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C. The local agency must determine the assistance payment amount for the first two months of MFIP eligibility by budgeting 

both recurring and nonrecurring income for those two months. 
D. The local agency must budget child support income received or anticipated to be received by an assistance unit to deter-

mine the assistance payment amount from the month of application through the month in which MFIP eligibility is determined and 
assistance is authorized. Child support income which has been budgeted to determine the assistance payment in the initial two 
months is considered nonrecurring income. An assistance unit must forward the payment of child support to the child support 
enforcement unit of the local agency for the months which follow the month in which assistance is authorized. 

Subp. 2. Retrospective budgeting. The local agency must use retrospective budgeting to calculate the monthly assistance 
payment amount after the payment for the first two months has been made under subpart 1. 

Subp. 3. Additional uses of retrospective budgeting. Notwithstanding subpart 1, the local agency must use retrospective bud-
geting to calculate the monthly assistance payment amount for the first two months under items A and B. 

A. The local agency must use retrospective budgeting to determine the amount of the assistance payment in the first two 
months of MFIP eligibility: 

(1) when an assistance unit applies for assistance for the same month for which assistance has been interrupted, the inter-
ruption in eligibility is less than one payment month, the assistance payment for the preceding month was issued in Minnesota, and 
the assistance payment for the immediately preceding month was determined retrospectively; or 

(2) when a person applies to be added to an assistance unit, that assistance unit has received assistance in Minnesota for 
at least the two preceding months, and that person has been living with and has been financially responsible for one or more 
members of that assistance unit for at least the two preceding months. 

B. Except as provided in subitems (1) to (4), the local agency must use retrospective budgeting and apply income received in 
the budget month by an assistance unit and by a financially responsible household member who is not included in the assistance unit 
against the appropriate transitional or family wage level standard to determine the assistance payment to be issued for the payment 
month. 

(I) When a source of income ends prior to the third payment month, that income is not considered in calculating the 
assistance payment for that month. When a source of income ends prior to the fourth payment month, that income is not considered 
when determining the assistance payment for that month. 

(2) When a member of an assistance unit or a financially responsible household member leaves the household of the 
assistance unit, the income of that departed household member is not budgeted retrospectively for any full payment month in which 
that household member does not live with that household and is not included in the assistance unit. 

(3) When an individual is removed from an assistance unit because the individual is no longer a minor child, the income 
of that individual is not budgeted retrospectively for payment months in which that individual is not a member of the assistance unit, 
except that income of an ineligible child in the household must continue to be budgeted retrospectively against his or her own needs 
when the parent or parents of that child request allocation of their income against any unmet needs of that ineligible child. 

(4) When a person ceases to have financial responsibility for one or more members of an assistance unit, the income of 
that person is not budgeted retrospectively for the payment months which follow the month in which financial responsibility ends. 

Subp. 4. Significant change in gross income. The local agency must recalculate the assistance payment when an assistance unit 
experiences a significant change resulting in a reduction in the gross income received in the payment month from the gross income 
received in the budget month. The local agency must issue a supplemental assistance payment based on the local agency's best esti-
mate of the assistance unit's income and circumstances for the payment month. 

Subp. 5. Income averaging for participants paid weekly or biweekly. For the purposes of stabilizing assistance payments, the 
local agency may average income for participants paid weekly or biweekly. Monthly income may be computed by adding income 
from all paychecks, dividing the sum by the number of paychecks, and multiplying the result by 4.3 if paychecks are weekly or 2.16 
if paychecks are biweekly. The local agency may not use income averaging unless discussed with the participant and requested by 
the participant. 
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9500.4140 ALLOCATION FOR UNMET NEED OF OTHER HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS. 

Except as prohibited in items A and B, an allocation of income is allowed to meet the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an 
ineligible child under the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible who also lives with the caregiver. An alloca-
tion from the caregiver's income to meet the need of an ineligible or excluded spouse is allowed up to the amount of the second 
adult standard. An allocation is allowed from the caregiver's income to meet the need of an ineligible or excluded child. That allo-
cation is allowed in an amount up to the difference between the MFIP family allowance for the assistance unit when that excluded 
or ineligible child is included in the assistance unit and the MFIP family allowance for the assistance unit when the excluded or inel-
igible child is not included in the assistance unit. These allocations must be deducted from the caregiver's counted earnings and 
from unearned income subject to items A and B. 

A. Income of a minor child in the assistance unit must not be allocated to meet the need of a person who is not a member of 
the assistance unit, including the child's parent, even when that parent is the payee of the child's income. 

B. Income of an assistance unit must not be allocated to meet the needs of a person ineligible for failure to cooperate with 
program requirements including child support requirements under part 9500.4280, subpart 10, a person ineligible due to fraud, or a 
person who opts out of the assistance unit. 
9500.4150 EMPLOYMENT DISREGARDS. 

The employment disregards in items A to D apply to MFIP. 
A. When determining initial eligibility and when determining income deemed from members who do not elect to be included 

in the assistance unit, the employment disregard is 18 percent of the gross earned income whether or not the member is working full 
time or part time. 

B. When determining initial eligibility, dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual 
amount paid for dependent care up to the maximum disregard allowed under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, section 602, 
subsection (a), paragraph (8), subparagraph (A)(iii). 

C. When determining initial eligibility for participants who have received AFDC, family general assistance, or MFIP in 
Minnesota within four months of the most recent application for MFIP, the employment disregard is 38 percent of the gross earned 
income. 

D. When determining ongoing eligibility and payment amount, the employment disregard is 38 percent of the gross earned 
income. The employment disregard in this item is applied every month there is earned income. 
9500.4160 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PAYMENT. 

Except as provided in items A to C, the amount of an assistance payment is equal to the difference between the transitional stan-
dard in part 9500.4 100, subpart 7, or the family wage level in part 9500.4100, subpart 8, and countable income. 

A. When MFIP eligibility exists for the month of application, the amount of the assistance payment for the month of applica-
tion must be prorated from the date of application or the date all other eligibility factors are met for that applicant, whichever is 
later. This provision applies when an applicant loses at least one day of MFIP eligibility. 

B. AFDC or MFIP overpayments to an assistance unit must be recouped according to part 9500.4 170, subpart 4. 
C. An initial assistance payment must not be made to an applicant who is not eligible on the date payment is made. 

9500.4170 CORRECTION OF OVERPAYMENTS AND UNDERPAYMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Scope of overpayment. When a participant or former participant receives an overpayment due to client error or due 

to assistance received while an appeal is pending and the participant or former participant is determined ineligible for assistance, the 
local agency must recoup or recover the overpayment under the conditions of this part. 

Subp. 2. Notice of overpayment. When a local agency discovers that a participant or former participant has received an over-
payment for one or more months, the local agency must notify the participant or former participant of the overpayment in writing. 
A notice of overpayment must specify the reason for the overpayment, the authority for citing the overpayment, the time period in 
which the overpayment occurred, the amount of the overpayment, and the participant's or former participant's right to appeal. No 
limit applies to the period in which the local agency is required to recoup or recover the overpayment. A local agency must recoup 
or recover an overpayment according to subparts 3 and 4. 

Subp. 3. Recovering overpayments from former participants. A local agency must initiate efforts to recover overpayments 
paid to a former participant. Adults and minor caregivers of an assistance unit at the time an overpayment occurs are jointly and 
individually liable for repayment of the overpayment. The local agency must request repayment from the former participants. 
When an agreement for repayment is not completed within six months of the date of discovery or when there is a default on an 
agreement for repayment after six months, the local agency must initiate recovery consistent with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 270A 
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or section 541.05. When a person has been convicted of fraud under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.98, recovery must be sought 
regardless of the amount of overpayment. When an overpayment is less than $35, and is not the result of a fraud conviction under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.98, the local agency must not seek recovery under this subpart. The local agency must retain infor-
mation about all overpayments regardless of the amount. When an adult or minor caregiver reapplies for assistance, the overpay-
ment must be recouped under subpart 4. 

Subp. 4. Recouping overpayments from participants. A participant may voluntarily repay, in part or in full, an overpayment 
even if assistance is reduced under this subpart, until the total amount of the overpayment is repaid. The local agency must recoup 
an overpayment to a participant by reducing one or more monthly assistance payments until the overpayment is repaid. When an 
overpayment occurs due to client error, the local agency must recover three percent of the transitional standard or the amount of the 
monthly assistance payment, whichever is less. When an overpayment occurs due to fraud, the local agency must recover ten 
percent of the transitional standard or the amount of the monthly assistance payment, whichever is less. When an overpayment 
occurs due to agency error, the local agency must not recoup the overpayment. 

Subp. 5. Scope of underpayments. A local agency must issue a corrective payment for underpayments made to a participant or 
to a person who would be a participant if an agency or client error causing the underpayment had not occurred. The local agency 
must issue the corrective payment according to subpart 7. 

Subp. 6. Identifying the underpayment. An underpayment may be identified by a local agency, by a participant, by a former 
participant, or by a person who would be a participant except for agency or client error. 

Subp. 7. Issuing corrective payments. A local agency must correct an underpayment within seven calendar days after the 
underpayment has been identified, by adding the corrective payment amount to the monthly assistance payment of the participant or 
by issuing a separate payment to a participant or formeçparticipant, or by reducing an existing overpayment balance. When an 
underpayment occurs in a payment month and is not identified until the next payment month or later, the local agency must first 
subtract the underpayment from any overpayment balance before issuing the corrective payment. The local agency must not apply 
an underpayment in a current payment month against an overpayment balance. When an underpayment in the current payment 
month is identified, the corrective payment must be issued within seven calendar days after the underpayment is identified. 

Subp. 8. Appeals. A participant may appeal an underpayment, an overpayment, and a reduction in an assistance payment made 
to recoup the overpayment under subpart 4. The participant's appeal of each issue must be timely under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.045. When an appeal based on the notice issued under subpart 2 is not timely, the fact or the amount of that overpayment must 
not be considered as a part of a later appeal, including an appeal of a reduction in an assistance payment to recoup that overpayment. 
9500.4180 PAYMENT PROVISIONS. 

Subpart 1. Payments. This subpart applies to monthly assistance payments and corrective payments. 
A. The department must mail assistance payment checks to the address where a caretaker lives unless the local agency 

approves an alternate arrangement. 
B. The department must mail monthly assistance payment checks within time to allow postal service delivery to occur no later 

than the first day of each month. Monthly assistance payment checks must be dated the first day of the month. 
C. The department must issue replacement checks promptly, but no later than seven calendar days after the provisions of 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 16A.46; 256.01, subdivision 11; and 471.415, have been met. 
D. When a payment is made by means other than by check, the time limits in items B and C apply. 
E. When the department issues payments in the form of food coupons, the payments will be issued on a staggered basis 

through the first ten mailing days of the month. Sundays and federal holidays are not mailing days. 
Subp. 2. Protective and vendor payments; when allowed. Alternatives to paying assistance directly to a participant may be 

used only: 
A. when a local agency determines that a vendor payment is the most effective way to resolve an emergency situation pertain-

ing to basic needs; 
B. when a caregiver makes a written request to the local agency asking that part or all of the assistance payment be issued by 

protective or vendor payments. The caregiver may withdraw this request in writing at any time; or 
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C. when a caregiver has exhibited a continuing pattern of mismanaging funds under the conditions specified in Code of 

Federal Regulations, title 45, subtitle B, chapter II, part 234, section 234.60, paragraph (a)(2). 
(1) The director of a local agency must approve a proposal for protective or vendor payment for money mismanagement. 

During the time a protective or vendor payment is being made, the local agency must provide services designed to alleviate the 
causes of the mismanagement according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, subtitle B, chapter H, part 234, section 234.60, 
paragraph (a)(8). 

(2) The continuing need for and method of payment must be documented and reviewed every 12 months. The director of 
a local agency must approve the continuation of protective or vendor payments. 

(3) When it appears that the need for protective or vendor payments will continue or is likely to continue beyond two 
years because the local agency's efforts have not resulted in sufficiently improved use of assistance on behalf of the minor child, 
judicial appointment of a legal guardian or other legal representative must be sought by the local agency. 

Subp. 3. Choosing payees for protective or vendor payments. A local agency must consult with a caregiver regarding the 
selection of the form of payment, the selection of a protective payee, and the distribution of the assistance payment to meet the 
various costs incurred by the assistance unit. When choosing a protective payee, the local agency must notify the caregiver of a 
consultation date. If the caregiver fails to respond to the local agency's request for consultation by the effective date on the notice, 
the local agency must choose a protective payee for that payment month and subsequent payment months until the caregiver 
responds to the agency's request for consultation. The local agency must notify the caregiver of the right to appeal the determina-
tion that a protective or vendor payment should be made or continued and to appeal the selection of the payee. 

When a local agency is not able to find another protective payee, a local agency staff member may serve as a protective payee. 
The following persons may not serve as protective payees: a member ofthe county board of commissioners; the local agency staff 
member determining financial eligibility for the family; special investigative or resource staff; the staff member handling account-
ing or fiscal processes related to the participant; or a landlord, grocer, or other vendor dealing directly with the participant. 

Subp. 4. Discontinuing protective or vendor payments. A local agency must discontinue protective or vendor payments in 
two years or in the month following the local agency's failure to grant six-month approval to a money management plan, whichever 
occurs first. At least once every 12 months, a local agency must review the performance of a protective payee acting under subpart 
2, item C, to determine whether a new payee should be selected. When a participant complains about the performance of a protec-
tive payee, a review must occur within 30 calendar days. 
9500.4190 SPECIAL POLICIES. 

Subpart 1. General. The special policies in subparts 2 to 6 apply to MFIP counties. 

Subp. 2. Medical assistance. As authorized by Congress under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, subchapter IV, part A, 
section 602, note on Demonstration of Effectiveness of Minnesota Family Investment Plan, paragraph (b), subparagraph (7), fami-
lies receiving assistance through MFIP are automatically eligible for and entitled to medical assistance under Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 256B. A family that leaves MFIP due to increased earnings from employment is eligible for extended medical assistance as 
provided under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, subchapter XIX, section 1396 and subchapter IV, part A, section 602, note 
on Demonstration of Effectiveness of Minnesota Family Investment Plan, paragraph (b), subparagraph (7). 

Subp. 3. Hold harmless. No family may receive less assistance in aggregate under MFIP than they would have received in the 
absence of MFIP, unless the family's assistance has been reduced because of sanction or fraud disqualification. The procedures in 
items A to C must be followed to protect families at risk of receiving less assistance under MFIP. 

A. The department must identify characteristics of families who may be at risk of receiving less assistance on an ongoing 
basis. 

B. When a family that fits the profile identified by the department in item A files an application for assistance, the local 
agency must calculate the level of assistance the family would have received under current programs and compare it with the level 
of assistance provided under MFIP. 

C. The local agency must provide assistance to the family at the higher of the two levels calculated under item B. MFIP rules 
apply to the assistance issued and the applicants are treated as participants if found eligible. 

Subp. 4. Food stamps for household members not in the assistance unit. For household members who purchase and prepare 
food with the MFIP assistance unit but are not part of the assistance unit, the local agency must calculate food stamp benefits 
according to items A and B. 

A. The local agency must determine food stamp benefits for the household without regard to MFIP assistance unit members, 
using maximum shelter deductions. 
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B. The local agency must provide food stamp benefits equal to 75 percent of the amount calculated in item A or $10, 

whichever is greater, rounded to the nearest lower whole dollar. 

This subpart does not apply to optional members who have chosen not to be in the assistance unit. 
Fair hearing requirements for persons who receive food stamps under this subpart are governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 

256.045, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, part 273, section 273.15. 
Subp. 5. Income disregard for certain programs, food assistance portion of assistance payment. The portion of the MFIP 

assistance payment that is designated by the commissioner as the food assistance portion of the assistance payment must be disre-
garded as income in the following programs: 

A. housing subsidy programs; 
B. low-income home energy assistance program; 
C. SSI, when determining interim assistance amount; and 
D. other programs that do not count food stamps as income. 

For the purpose of this subpart, the "food assistance portion of the assistance payment" means a predetermined portion of the 
MFJP assistance payment that may be received in cash or food stamps. The predetermined portion of the assistance payment will 
valy by family profile, which is based on family size. 

Subp. 6. Retention of case records. The local agency must retain financial case records and case management records for MFIP 
and comparison group members for six years. Information in the case records must be maintained according to Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 13. 

Subp. 7. Surveys. Participants and comparison group assistance units may be requested to complete surveys for data collection 
purposes. Participant and comparison group participation in the survey process is voluntary. 
9500.4200 OPTION TO RECEIVE FOOD ASSISTANCE IN THE FORM OF FOOD COUPONS. 

The local agency must offer participants the option to receive food coupons in place of the food portion of assistance identified in 
part 9500.4190, subpartS, at application and at every recertification. Participants may change methods of receiving food assistance 

. 	at any time upon request. 
9500.4210 MFIP ORIENTATION TO FINANCIAL SERVICES. 

Subpart 1. Local agency to provide orientation. Local agencies in MFIP counties must provide MFIP orientation to financial 
assistance and the caregiver must be given an opportunity for face-to-face interaction with staff of the local agency or the entity pro-
viding the orientation. The local agency may not require caregivers to attend an MFIP orientation. If a caregiver does not attend an 
orientation, the local agency must provide written information to the caregiver about MFIP. 

Subp. 2. General information. The MFIP orientation must consist of a presentation that informs caregivers of: 
A. work incentives under MFIP; 
B. the types and locations of child care services available through the local agency that are accessible to enable a caregiver to 

participate in employment, preemployment, and training or educational programs; 
C. the child care resource and referral program designated by the commissioner to provide education and assistance to select 

child care services and a referral to the child care resource and referral when assistance is requested; 
D. the rights, responsibilities, and obligations of participants; 

E. the consequences for failure to meet requirements; 
F. the expectation that the caregiver will independently seek self-support and explain the obligation, based on time on assis-

tance, to develop a family support agreement under part 9500.4220, subpart 6; 

G. the method of entering educational programs or employment and training services available through the county; 
H. the availability and the benefits of the early childhood health and developmental screening under Minnesota Statutes, sec-

tions 123.701 to 123.744. 
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I. the caregiver's eligibility for transition year child care assistance when the caregiver loses eligibility for MFIP due to 

increased earnings; and 
J. the caregiver's eligibility for extended medical assistance when the caregiver loses eligibility for MFIP due to increased 

earnings or increased child or spousal support. 
Subp. 3. Support services to attend orientation. Upon a caregiver's request, the local agency must arrange for transportation 

and child care or reimburse caregivers for transportation and child care expenses necessary to enable caregivers to attend orientation 
scheduled on a day other than when the caregiver makes application for assistance. 
9500.4220 CASE MANAGEMENT. 

Subpart I. Mission statement. The goal of MFIP case management is to help caregivers increase their family income in a timely 
manner through paid employment. While the ultimate objective is employment leading to maximum family support, case manage-
ment services vary depending upon the family's circumstances. 

Subp. 2. Service providing agencies. Case management services must be offered by providers certified by the commissioner of 
jobs and training who meet the standards in Minnesota Statutes, section 268.87 1, subdivision 1. Local agencies must assure that all 
services, including contracted services, meet the requirements of case management in this part and Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.035. 

Subp. 3. Staffing. Local agencies may hire case managers or a combination of staff to provide case management and employ-
ment and preemployment services described in subpart 4, and coordinate social and support services. Local agencies are expected 
to ensure that staff providing case management services have the necessary training and experience to perform the specific aspects 
of case management which they are assigned to do. 

Subp. 4. Case management. The local agency must provide case management services identified in items A to I. Specific case 
management services provided to a caregiver depend on the family's needs and circumstances. Case management services include: 

A. a review of the informationpresented at an arlier MFIP orientation pursuant to part 9500.4210, subpart 2, and an 
overview of services available under case management; 

B. an MFIP assessment that meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 256.736, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), 
clause (14), and addresses caregivers' skills, abilities, interests, and needs; 

C. development of, together with the caregiver, an employability plan and family support agreement according to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256.035, subdivisions 6b and 6c; 

D. assistance in accessing and coordination of social services including chemical dependency treatment, mental health ser-
vices, self-esteem enhancement, motivation training, and parenting education and specific support services such as child care and 
transportation needed by the caregiver to fulfill the terms of the employability plan and family support agreement; 

E. provision of services in support of employment which includes basic skills testing, interest and aptitude testing, career 
exploration, life skills training, and budgeting; 

F. provision of a broad range of employment and training services including job seeking and keeping skills, job development, 
job club, job search, and either community work experience program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.737, or on-the-job 
training under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.738; 

G. evaluation and support of the caregiver's progress and compliance with the employability plan and family support agree-
ment; 

H. provision of postemployment case management services for up to six months after caregivers become exempt or exit MFIP 
due to employment if requested by the caregiver; and 

I. coordination of education and training program activities. 
Subp. 5. Timing of case management. The requirement for a caregiver to meet with a case manager and begin development of 

a family support agreement is tied to the structure of the family and the length of time on assistance according to item A, B, or C. 
A. In a family headed by a single adult parental caregiver who has received AFDC, family general assistance, MFIP, or a 

combination of AFDC, family general assistance, and MFIP assistance for 24 or more months within the preceding 36 months, the 
parental caregiver must be developing and complying with the terms of the family support agreement commencing with the 25th 
month of assistance. 

B. For a family with a minor parental caregiver or a family whose parental caregiver is 18 or 19 years of age and does not 
have a high school diploma or its equivalent, the parental caregiver must be developing and complying with a family support agree-
ment concurrent with the receipt of assistance. The terms of the family support agreement must include compliance with Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256.736, subdivision 3b. If the parental caregiver fails to comply with the terms of the family support agreement, 
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the sanctions in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 3, apply. When the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.736, subdivision 3b, have been met, a caregiver has fulfilled the caregiver's obligation. Local agencies must continue to offer 
case management services if the caregiver wants to continue with an employability plan. The timing of the requirement to develop 
a family support agreement under items A and C still apply. 

C. In a family with two adult parental caregivers at least one of whom has received AFDC, family general assistance, MFIP, 
or a combination of AFDC, family general assistance, and MFIP assistance for six or more months within the preceding 12 months, 
one parental caregiver must be developing and complying with the terms of the family support agreement commencing with the 
seventh month of assistance. The family and the case manager will designate the parental caregiver who will develop the family 
support agreement based on which parent has the greater potential to increase family income or to support the family's transition to 
financial independence. 

Subp. 6. Employability plan and family support agreement. The case manager shall develop, together with the caregiver, an 
employability plan and family support agreement. The employability plan includes the caregiver's overall employment goal, activ-
ities necessary to reach that goal, a timeline for each activity, and the social and support services provided by the agency. All activ-
ities in the employability plan must contribute to the caregiver's overall employment goal. 

The family support agreement is the enforceable subsection of an employability plan for mandatory caregivers. The family 
support agreement must be limited to those steps outlined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 6c, that involve 
employment, education, or employment and training services, and scheduled meetings with the case manager. The family support 
agreement must be signed by both the case manager and parental caregiver. 

A. In developing an employability plan and family support agreement, the case manager must discuss with the caregiver the 
economic benefit under MFIP of taking available employment on family income. The case manager must provide examples of how 
different levels of earnings increase available income. 

B. Activities in the family support agreement must enhance the family's opportunities to increase its income in a timely 
manner through paid employment or to support the family's transition to financial independence. 

C. Each step of the family support agreement shall build upon prior steps and facilitate progress toward the caregiver's overall 
employment goal. 

D. The employability plan and family support agreement must be individualized and designed to meet the specific needs of 
the caregiver and the caregiver's family. 

If the employability plan consists solely of social and health services, the family support agreement must specify required meet-
ings with the case manager at least semiannually. Caregivers with an employability plan from Project STRIDE or other programs 
must develop a mutually acceptable MFTP employability plan and, if applicable, a family support agreement. 

Subp. 7. Education and training activities. The case manager and the caregiver must consider the criteria in items A to E 
before including education and training activities in the employability plan. 

A. The caregiver and case manager must agree: 
(1) there is a market for full-time employees with this education or training where the caregiver will or is willing to reside 

upon completion of the program; 
(2) the average wage level for employees with this education or training is greater than the caregiver can earn without this 

education or training; 
(3) the caregiver has the academic ability to successfully complete the program; and 

(4) there is a reasonable expectation that the caregiver will complete the training program based on such factors as the 
caregiver's previous education, training, work history, current motivation, and changes in previous circumstances. 

B. The caregiver and case manager must consider family income that could be earned by immediate entry into paid employ-
ment which will be foregone during pursuit of education or training. A comparison must be made between income foregone during 
pursuit of education or training and the probable income which will be earned following the education or training. 

C. When considering part-time education and training under item A, the case manager and caregiver must assess the advan-
tages of combining part-time education or training with part-time employment. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eti+s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike es indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 18S.R. 1725) 
	

State Register, Monday 24 January 1994 
	

PAGE 1725 



Proposed Rules, 	
D. Activities under this subpart are limited to education up to a baccalaureate degree, with the exception of limited course- 

work necessary for licensure or certification. 
E. Caregivers in education or training programs must maintain satisfactory progress. "Satisfactory progress" in an education 

or training program means the caregiver remains in good standing as defined by the education or training institution and meets the 
requirements of the caregiver's MFIP employability plan. The case manager may withdraw approval of the caregiver's employa-
bility plan when the caregiver does not maintain satisfactory progress in the education or training program. 

Subp. 8. Good cause for failure to comply. Caregivers may claim the following reasons as good cause for failure to comply 
with the expectations of MFIP case management: 

A. needed child care is not available; 

B. the job does not meet the definition of suitable employment; 
C. the parental caregiver is ill, incapacitated, or injured; 

D. a family member is ill and needs care by the parental caregiver; 

E. the parental caregiver is unable to secure the necessary transportation; 
F. the parental caregiver is in an emergency situation; 

G. the schedule of compliance with the family support agreement conflicts with judicial proceedings; 

H. the parental caregiver is already participating in acceptable activities; 
I. the family support agreement requires an educational program for a parent under the age of 20, but the educational program 

is not offered in the school district; 

J. activities identified in the family support agreement are not available; 
K. the parental caregiver is willing to accept suitable employment but employment is not available; 

L. the parental caregiver documents other verifiable impediments to compliance with the family support agreement beyond 
the parental caregiver's control; or 

M. the family support agreement requires an educational program for a parent under the age of 20, but the only available 
school program requires round trip commuting time from the custodial parent's residence of more than two hours by available 
means of transportation, excluding the time necessary to transport children to and from child care. 

Subp. 9. Revisions to the family support agreement. The caregiver may revise the family support agreement with the case 
manager when good cause, as provided in subpart 8, indicates revision is warranted. Revisions for reasons other than good cause to 
employment goals or steps toward self-support may be made in the first six months after the initial signing of the family support 
agreement with the agreement of the case manager. After that, the revision must be approved by the case management supervisor or 
other persons responsible for review of case management decisions. 

Subp. 10. Exemptions from expectations. A caregiver is exempt from expectations as provided in items A and B. 

A. Except for subitem (4), which applies only for a single-parent family, a caregiver in a single parent or two-parent family is 
exempt from the expectations of MFIP case management if the caregiver is: 

(I) ill, incapacitated, or 60 years of age or older; 
(2) needed in the home because of the illness or incapacity of another family member; 

(3) the parent of a child under one year of age and is personally providing care for the child. This exemption does not 
apply to the school attendance requirement for minor parents or 18- and 19-year-old parents as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256.736, subdivision 3b, paragraphs (f) and (g); 

(4) the parent of a child under six years of age and is employed or participating in education or employment and training 
services for 20 or more hours per week. This exemption does not apply to the school attendance requirement for minor parents or 
18- and 19-year-old parents as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.736, subdivision 3b, paragraph (f), clause (5); 

(5) working 30 hours or more per week, or if the number of hours worked cannot be verified, earns at least the federal 
minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by 30 hours per week; 

(6) in the second or third trimester of pregnancy; or 
(7) not the natural, adoptive, or stepparent of a minor child in the assistance unit. 

B. In a two-parent household, only one parent may be exempt under item A, subitem (2) or (3). If item A, subitem (5), applies 
to either parent in a two-parent family, the other parent is exempt. In a two-parent household, if the parent designated to develop a 
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family support agreement becomes exempt and the exemption is expected to last longer than six months, then the second parent is 
required to develop a family support agreement unless otherwise exempt under item A. 

Subp. 11. Volunteers for case management. Upon request, local agencies must continue to offer case management services to 
caregivers with a signed family support agreement who become exempt under subpart 10 and caregivers randomly assigned to 
MFIP during the conversion period who have a Project STRIDE or ACCESS employability plan and who have not reached the 
timing requirement for case management under subpart 5. Local agencies may also serve other volunteers for case management 
according to the following priority: 

A. caregivers who have reached the time for case management under subpart 5 but are exempt under subpart 10; and 
B. caregivers who have not reached the time for case management under subpart 5. 

Caregivers identified in this subpart are voluntary participants for case management and may not be sanctioned for failure to 
cooperate with case management until they reach the timing of case management services under subpart 5 or are no longer exempt 
under subpart 10. 

Subp. 12. Length of job search. When the family support agreement specifies that a caregiver should seek employment, the 
caregiver will have three months to find a job which is consistent with the employment goal in the family support agreement. 
Caregivers may request a three-month extension. If an extension is requested, the case manager must meet with the caregiver to 
reassess job search methods and make adjustments as necessary. If the caregiver does not request an extension or has not found a 
job after the full six months, the family support agreement shall be reevaluated. If no revisions are made to the agreement, the care-
giver must accept any suitable employment. 

Subp. 13. Cessation of employment. Nonexempt caregivers who quit a job, are laid off, or are terminated must contact the case 
manager within ten calendar days and must schedule a meeting to revise the family support agreement to incorporate activities to 
replace the job. A caregiver who fails to contact the case manager within ten calendar days or fails to attend a scheduled meeting to 
revise the family support agreement is subject to sanction under part 9500.4250. If the substitute activity is to seek employment, the 
search is limited to three months to find ajob related to the caregiver's employment goal. After three months, the caregiver must 
take any suitable employment. Caregivers who fail to comply with this subpart are subject to sanction under part 9500.4250. 

. 	9500.4230 REDUCTION OR DISCONTINUATION OF SUPPORT SERVICES. 
Support services such as transportation and child care assistance will be reduced or discontinued for the time allotted for activities 

in which the caregiver is not participating or making satisfactory progress consistent with the terms of the family support agreement 
or employability plan. 
9500.4240 CONCILIATION CONFERENCE. 

Subpart 1. Conciliation conference option. The local agency must inform mandatory parental caregivers of the option of a con-
ciliation conference when the mandatory parental caregivers cannot reach agreement with the case manager about the contents or 
interpretation of the family support agreement. Parental caregivers who have received a notice of intent to sanction, as required 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 3, shall also be informed of the conciliation conference option. A caregiver 
may make a request for a conciliation conference by telephone, mail, or in person. Verbal requests must be followed by a request in 
writing to the local agency. A caregiver's request for a conciliation conference following a notice of intent to sanction must be post-
marked or hand delivered within ten calendar days of the mailing of the notice of intent to sanction. Upon receiving a notice of 
intent to sanction, a caregiver may request a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045, without exercising the option of a 
conciliation conference. 

Subp. 2. Goal of conciliation conference. The goal of the conciliation conference is to achieve mutual agreement between the 
parental caregiver and the case manager. 

Subp. 3. Conference facilitated by a mediator, mediator's duties. The conciliation conference must be facilitated by a medi-
ator. The mediator must help the parental caregiver and the case manager reach a compromise agreement and resolve the dispute, if 
possible. The mediator shall provide a written statement summarizing the outcome of the conference to be signed by the caregiver 
and case manager. 

The mediator may hold a conciliation conference by telephone when the distance or time required to travel to a local agency will 
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cause a delay in resolving the conflict, or to promote efficiency, or at the mutual request of the caregiver and case manager. A con-
ciliation conference may not be conducted by telephone if the caregiver objects. 

Subp. 4. Conciliation conference record, use not permitted in fair hearing. No record of the conciliation conference may be 
used in the fair hearing. 
9500.4250 SANCTION. 

The local agency must reduce an assistance unit's assistance payment by ten percent of the transitional standard for the applica-
ble family size when a caregiver who is not exempt from the expectations in part 9500.4220, subpart 5, fails to develop or comply 
with the terms of the caregiver's family support agreement. A caregiver's failure to attend scheduled meetings with the case 
manager means that the family support agreement cannot be developed and will also result in a ten percent sanction. 

Case managers must send caregivers a notice of intent to sanction and inform the caregiver of an opportunity to request a concil-
iation conference at least ten days before the date the case manager notifies the local agency. If the caregiver does not request a 
conciliation conference within ten calendar days of the mailing of the notice of intent to sanction, the case manager must notify the 
local agency that the assistance payment should be reduced. 

Upon notification from the case manager that an assistance payment should be reduced, the local agency must send a notice of 
adverse action to the caregiver stating that the assistance payment will be reduced in the next month following the ten-day notice 
requirement and state the reason for the action. The caregiver may request a fair hearing under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045, 
upon notice of intent to sanction or notice of adverse action, but the conciliation conference is available only upon notice of intent to 
sanction. If a caregiver requests a conciliation conference, the local agency must postpone implementation of the sanction pending 
completion of the conciliation conference. For the purpose of this part, "notice of intent to sanction" means a case manager must 
provide written notification to the caregiver that the caregiver is not fulfilling the requirement to develop or comply with the family 
support agreement. This notification must inform the caregiver of the right to request a conciliation conference within ten days of 
the mailing of the notice of intent to sanction or the right to request a fair hearing under part 9500.4260. 

For the purpose of this part, "notice of adverse action" means the local agency must send a notice of sanction, reduction, suspen-
sion, denial, or termination of benefits before taking any of those actions. 

9500.4260 FAIR HEARINGS. 
Caregivers receiving a notice of intent to sanction or a notice of adverse action that includes a sanction, reduction in benefits, 

suspension of benefits, denial of benefits, or termination of benefits may request a fair hearing. A request for a fair hearing must be 
submitted in writing to the local agency or to the department and must be mailed within 30 days after a participant or former partic-
ipant receives written notice of the agency's action or within 90 days when a participant or former participant shows good cause for 
not submitting the request within 30 days. A former participant who receives a notice of adverse action due to an overpayment may 
appeal the adverse action according to the requirements in this part. Issues that may be appealed are: 

A. the amount of the assistance payment; 
B. a suspension, reduction, denial, or termination of assistance; 

C. the basis for an overpayment, the calculated amount of an overpayment, and the level of recoupment; 

D. the eligibility for an assistance payment; and 
E. the use of protective or vendor payments. 

A local agency must not reduce, suspend, or terminate payment when an aggrieved participant requests a fair hearing prior to the 
effective date of the adverse action or within ten days of the mailing of the notice of adverse action, whichever is later, unless the 
participant requests in writing not to receive continued assistance pending a hearing decision. Assistance issued pending a fair 
hearing is subject to recovery under part 9500.4 170 when as a result of the fair hearing decision the participant is determined ineli-
gible for assistance or the amount of the assistance received. A local agency may increase or reduce an assistance payment while an 
appeal is pending when the circumstances of the participant change and are not related to the issue on appeal. The commissioner's 
order is binding on a local agency. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order. 

A local agency shall reimburse appellants for reasonable and necessary expenses of attendance at the hearing, such as child care 
and transportation costs and for the transportation expenses of the appellant's witnesses and representatives to and from the hearing. 
Reasonable and necessary expenses do not include legal fees. Fair hearings must be conducted at a reasonable time and date by an 
impartial referee employed by the department. The hearing may be conducted by telephone or at a site that is readily accessible to 
persons with disabilities. The appellant may introduce new or additional evidence relevant to the issues on appeal. 
Recommendations of the appeals referee and decisions of the commissioner must be based on evidence in the hearing record and 
are not limited to a review of the local agency action. 

PAGE 1728 
	

State Register, Monday 24 January 1994 	 (CITE 18 S.R. 1728) 



	 Proposed Rules 
9500.4270 MFIP CHILD CARE. 

Subpart 1. Definitions. As used in this part, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
A. "Child care" means the care of a dependent child in or out of the child's own home for gain or otherwise, on a regular 

basis, for any part of a 24-hour day, by someone other than a parent, stepparent, legal guardian, eligible caregiver, or spouse of a 
parent, stepparent, legal guardian, or eligible caregiver. 

B. "Child care assistance" means financial assistance for child care expenses which are paid or reimbursed under MFIP. 
C. "Dependent child" means a child in the assistance unit who is 12 years of age or younger, or a person 13 or 14 years of age 

who is handicapped as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 120.03, or a child under the age of 15 who is on SSI who would have 
been a member of the assistance unit except for receipt of SSI. 

D. "Education program" means remedial or basic education or English as a second language instruction, a program leading to 
a GED or high school diploma, postsecondary programs excluding postbaccalaureate programs, and other education and training 
needs as documented in an employability plan. 

E. "Full-day basis" means child care provided by a provider for more than five hours per day. 
F. "Half-day basis" means child care provided by a provider for between one and five hours per day. 
G. "Legal nonlicensed provider" means a provider exempt from licensing under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03. 
H. "Provider" means a child care license holder who operates a family day care home, a group family day care home, a day 

care center, a nursery school, a day nursery, an extended day school age child care program; a person exempt from licensure who 
meets child care standards established by the state board of education; or a legal nonlicensed provider who is at least 18 years of age 
and who is not a member of the assistance unit. 

I. "Provider rate" means the amount the provider charges for child care. 

J. "Transition year child care" means the child care assistance guaranteed under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, sub-
chapter IV, part A, section 602, paragraph (g). 

K. "Vendor payment" means a payment made by a local agency directly to a provider on behalf of a caregiver. 
L. "Weekly basis" means child care provided by a provider for more than 35 hours per week. 

Subp. 2. Application for child care assistance. Caregivers must apply for child care assistance with the local agency. 

Subp. 3. Caregivers entitled to child care assistance. A caregiver with dependent children is entitled to child care assistance if 
the caregiver is working and child care is needed to permit the caregiver to work or the caregiver is required to develop an employ-
ability plan under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.035, subdivision 1, child care is needed to permit the caregiver to comply with 
the requirements in the employability plan, and the caregiver is complying with the requirements of the employability plan. 
Payment of child care assistance for activities in the employability plan is effective the date of application for child care. Payment 
of child care assistance for employed caregivers is effective the date of employment or the date of MFIP eligibility, whichever is 
later. 

Subp. 4. Child care for caregivers who volunteer for MFIP services. A caregiver who volunteers for MFIP case management 
under part 9500.4220, subpart 11, may receive child care assistance for nonemployment activities to the extent of available 
resources for volunteers for case management and child care. Child care assistance must be authorized in the caregiver's employa-
bility plan and shall continue as long as the caregiver complies with the requirements of the employability plan. Payment for child 
care assistance for activities in the employability plan is effective the date of application for child care assistance or the date the 
caregiver begins the activities in the employability plan, whichever is later. 

Subp. 5. Child care assistance in a two-parent assistance unit. A local agency may authorize child care assistance in a two- 
parent assistance unit when the assistance unit is eligible for child care under subpart 3 or 4, and: 

A. both caregivers have an employability plan, child care is needed to comply with the employability plans, and the caregivers 
are in compliance with the requirements in their employability plans; 

B. one caregiver is working or has an employability plan and is in compliance with the requirements in the employability plan 
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and the other caregiver is unable to care for a dependent child as determined by a medical doctor or by an assessment by the local 
social services agency; or 

C. both caregivers are working and the terms of employment make both caregivers unavailable to care for the dependent child 
during the hours child care is requested. 

Subp. 6. Maximum child care assistance in a two-week period. The maximum amount of child care assistance a local agency 
may authorize in a two-week period is 120 hours per child. 

Subp. 7. Child care assistance for nonpostsecondary programs. The local agency must authorize child care assistance neces-
sary to permit a caregiver with an approved employability plan to complete remedial or basic education or English as a second lan-
guage instruction, or a program leading to a GED or high school diploma. Child care assistance authorized under this subpart shall 
be excluded from the time limit under subpart 8 unless the basic or remedial program or English as a second language instruction is 
taken concurrently with a postsecondary program. 

Subp. 8. Maximum child care assistance for a postsecondary education program. A caregiver with an approved employa-
bility plan is eligible for a maximum of 48 months of child care assistance for education or training. A caregiver with a baccalaure-
ate degree may obtain child care assistance for continuing education units or certification or coursework necessary to update cre-
dentials to obtain or retain employment. 

Subp. 9. Child care during employment. Subject to the child care limitation in subpart 6, the local agency shall authorize child 
care assistance during employment as provided in items A and B. 

A. When the caregiver works for an hourly wage and the hourly wage is equal to or greater than the applicable minimum 
wage, child care assistance shall be provided for the actual hours of employment, break and meal time during employment, and 
travel time up to two hours per day. 

B. When the caregiver does not work for an hourly wage, child care assistance shall be provided for the lesser of: 
(I) an amount of child care determined by dividing gross earned income by the applicable minimum wage, plus one hour 

every eight hours for meal and break time, plus up to two hours per day for travel time; or 
(2) an amount of child care equal to the actual amount of child care used during employment, including break and meal 

time during employment, and travel time up to two hours per day. 

Subp. 10. Child care in support of employment. The local agency may authorize child care assistance in support of employ-
ment for nonwork hours when all of the following conditions exist: 

A. child care assistance is not provided during employment under subpart 9; 

B. the caregiver is complying with the caregiver's employability plan, if applicable; 

C. the caregiver cannot reasonably modify the caregiver's nonwork schedule to provide child care; and 

D. the child care assistance does not exceed the amount of assistance that would be granted under subpart 9 during employ-
ment. 

Subp. II. Sick child care, child absence, or medical leave. The local agency may authorize child care assistance for sick child 
care, child absence, or medical leaves of absence based on policies the local agency has established under part 9565.5080, subparts 
4 to 6. 

Subp. 12. Local agency approval of child care. Child care assistance must be approved by the local agency before payments 
are made under MFIP. The local agency may authorize child care under subparts 7 to 11 on an hourly, half-day, full-day, or weekly 
basis, Combinations of hourly, half-day, or full-day child care may be paid when II or more hours of child care are authorized in a 
24-hour period or when multiple providers are used. 

Subp. 13. Standard for converting authorized care into hours used. For purposes of converting child care assistance autho-
rized on a half-day, full-day, or weekly basis, the local agency shall use the standards in items A to C. 

A. When a local agency authorizes child care assistance on a half-day basis, one half day is equal to five hours of child care. 
B. When a local agency authorizes child care assistance on a full-day basis, one full day is equal to ten hours of child care. 
C. When a local agency authorizes child care assistance on a weekly basis, one week is equal to 50 hours of child care. 

Subp. 14. Selection of provider. Caregivers may choose providers who best meet the needs of the caregiver's family subject to 
the limitation in Minnesota Statutes, section 256H. 10, subdivision 5, governing unsafe providers. 

Subp. 15. Registration of legal nonlicensed provider. Before a local agency makes a child care payment to a legal nonlicensed 
provider, the legal nonlicensed provider must be registered with the local agency under part 9565.5 110, subpart 2c. After the regis-
tration requirement for a legal nonlicensed provider is satisfied, payment shall be made retroactive to the beginning date of autho- 
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rized child care for employment, education, or training; the date the child care application was signed; or the date the family began 
using the legal nonlicensed provider, whichever is later. 

Subp. 16. Payment option. The local agency may make child care payments for allowable child care expenditures to a provider 
or caregiver. The local agency must establish appropriate documentation procedures to ensure that child care expenses were 
incurred. 

Subp. 17. Vendor payment. If the method of child care payment is vendor payment, the local agency must inform both the care-
giver and the provider of the payment amount and how and when payment will be made. When a local agency sends a caregiver a 
notice that child care assistance will be terminated, the local agency must inform the vendor that unless the caregiver requests to 
continue to receive child care assistance pending an appeal, child care payments will no longer be made. The notice to a vendor 
must not contain any private data on the caregiver or information on why payments will no longer be made, except that the notice 
must identify the caregiver and the date that MFIP payment will terminate. 

Subp. 18. Maximum child care payments. Child care assistance payments may not exceed the 75th percentile rate for like care 
arrangements in the county as determined under part 9565.5 100. Payment of provider rates that exceed the 75th percentile is the 
responsibility of the caregiver. If the caregiver selects a provider who charges for child care on a basis greater than the amount of 
child care authorized by the local agency, the caregiver is responsible for the cost of the child care that exceeds the amount autho-
rized by the local agency. When a provider's rate is less than the 75th percentile, the local agency must pay the provider's rate. 
Payment of registration and activities fees are governed by the standards in part 9565.5100. 

Subp. 19. Caregiver reporting requirements. A caregiver must notify the local agency responsible for the payment of child 
care assistance of a change in: 

A. marital or household status; 
B. address; 
C. employment, education, or training status; or 
D. provider. 

A change in provider is subject to local agency approval before payment of child care assistance. A change must be reported 
. within ten calendar days after the change. A caregiver's failure to report a change under items A to D is just cause for the local 

agency to terminate child care assistance. 
Subp. 20. Overpayment of child care assistance due to caregiver error or failure to report. When an overpayment of child 

care assistance occurs due to caregiver error or failure to report a change, the child care assistance is subject to recovery. The local 
agency must recover overpayments that occurred up to 12 months before the month the overpayment is discovered according to part 
9565.5110, subpart 11, items A to C. A local agency may pursue recovery of an overpayment that extends beyond the 12-month 
period through means of collection other than recoupment. 

Subp. 21. Transition year child care. A family that leaves MFIP due to increased earnings is eligible for transition year child 
care under part 9565.5065. For purposes of transition year child care, the terms AFDC and MFIP have the same meaning. For pur-
poses of determining transition year child care eligibility, part 9565.5065, subpart 2, item D, does not apply to former MFIP partic-
ipants. 

Subp. 22. Basic sliding fee program. When a family loses MFIP eligibility or leaves an MFIP county and the family is not eli-
gible for AFDC child care or transition year child care, the local agency must inform the family of the basic sliding fee program 
under parts 9565.5000 to 9565.5200. A former MFIP family that applies for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee 
program must meet basic sliding fee program requirements under parts 9565.5000 to 9565.5200. 

Subp. 23. Waiting list, transfer of transition year families to the basic sliding fee program. The local agency shall place 
MFIP transition year families on the county's basic sliding fee program waiting list according to the priority in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 256H.03, subdivision 2b, effective the earliest of the following dates: 

A. the date the family became eligible for transition year child care assistance; 
B. the date the family began using MFIP child care for the purpose of employment; 
C. the date the family began using MFIP child care to comply with activities in an employability plan; 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike eti4s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Stt4ke eus indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 18 S.R. 1731) 
	

State Register, Monday 24 January 1994 
	

PAGE 1731 



Proposed Rules 	
D. the date the family began participating in the ACCESS program; or 

E. the date the family enrolled in Project STRIDE. 
If an MFIP transition year family moves to a new county, the waiting list date established under items A to E transfers with the 

family. If an MFIP transition year family comes to the top of a county's basic sliding fee program waiting list before the MFIP tran-
sition year ends, the county must encumber basic sliding fee program funds for those months remaining in the state fiscal year after 
the MFIP transition year ends. When the MFIP transition year ends, the county must move the transition year family into the basic 
sliding fee program. An MFIP transition year family that does not come to the top of a county's basic sliding fee program waiting 
list before completion of the MFIP transition year shall be moved into the basic sliding fee program as funding becomes available 
according to the priority under Minnesota Statutes, section 256H.03, subdivision 2b. 

Subp. 24. Federal funding. Local agencies shall claim, in the manner prescribed by the commissioner, federal funding for child 
care expenditures for all eligible MFIP caregivers who are in employment, education, training, or other preemployment activities 
allowed under federal grant and reimbursement programs. 

Subp. 25. Termination of child care assistance if MFIP is terminated. Notwithstanding subparts 3 and 4, if MFIP is termi-
nated by the state or federal government during the field trial, child care assistance authorized under this part is also terminated 
effective the date of MFIP termination. If the MFIP caregiver is eligible for child care assistance under another child care program 
and funding is available, the local agency must transfer the caregiver to another child care assistance program. 
9500.4280 APPLICANT AND PARTICIPANT RESPONSIBILITIES. 

Subpart I. Applicant reporting requirements. An applicant must provide information on an application form and supplemen-
tal forms about the applicant's circumstances which affect MFIP eligibility or the assistance payment. An applicant must report 
changes identified in subpart 9 while the application is pending. When an applicant does not accurately report information on an 
application, both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investigation may result. When an applicant does not provide informa-
tion or documentation, the receipt of the assistance payment may be delayed or the application may be denied depending on the type 
of information required and its effect on eligibility. 

Subp. 2. Requirement to apply for other benefits. An applicant or participant must apply for benefits from other programs for 
which the applicant or participant is potentially eligible and which would, if received, offset assistance payments. An applicant's or 
participant's failure to complete application for these benefits without good cause results in denial or termination of assistance. 
Good cause for failure to apply for these benefits is allowed when circumstances beyond the control of the applicant or participant 
prevent the applicant or participant from making an application. 

Subp. 3. Responsibility to inquire. An applicant or participant who does not know or is unsure whether a given change in cir -
cumstances will affect the applicant's or participant's MHP eligibility or assistance payment must contact the local agency for 
information. 

Subp. 4. Participant's completion of recertification of eligibility form. A participant must complete forms prescribed by the 
commissioner which are required for recertification of eligibility according to part 9500.4090, subpart 6. 

Subp. 5. Monthly MFIP household reports. Each assistance unit with a member who has earned income or a recent work 
history, and each assistance unit that has income allocated to it from a financially responsible person living with that unit who has 
earned income or a recent work history, must complete a monthly MFIP household report form. "Recent work history" means the 
individual received earned income in the report month or any of the previous three calendar months even if the earnings are 
excluded. To be complete, the MFIP household report form must be signed and dated by the caregiver no earlier than the last day of 
the reporting period. All questions required to determine assistance payment eligibility must be answered, and documentation of 
earned income must be included. 

Subp. 6. Six-month MFIP household report. Assistance units that are not required to report monthly under subpart 5 must 
complete an MFIP household report form every six months. To be complete, the MFIP household report form must be signed and 
dated by the caregiver no earlier than the last day of the reporting period. All questions required to determine assistance payment 
eligibility must be answered and documentation of earned income must be included. 

Subp. 7. Due date of MFIP household report. The caregiver must submit the MFIP household report form in time for the local 
agency to receive it by the eighth calendar day of the month following the reporting period covered by the form. When the eighth 
calendar day of the month falls on a weekend or holiday, the caregiver must submit the MFIP household report form in time for the 
local agency to receive it by the first working day that follows the eighth calendar day. When the MFJP household report form is 
late without good cause, the local agency must send a notice of termination because of a late or incomplete MFIP household report 
form. 

Subp. 8. Late MFJP household report forms. Items A to C apply to the reporting requirements in subpart 7. 
A. When a caregiver submits an incomplete MFIP household report form before the last working day of the month on which 
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a ten-day notice of termination of assistance can be issued for failure to provide a complete MFIP household report form, the local 
agency must return the incomplete form on or before the ten-day notice deadline, or any ten-day notice of termination which is 
issued due to the incomplete MFIP household report form is invalid. 

B. When a complete MFIP household report form is not received by a local agency before the last ten days of the month in 
which the form is due, the local agency must send a notice of proposed termination of assistance. When a caregiver submits an 
incomplete form on or after the date a notice of proposed termination has been sent, the termination is valid unless the caregiver 
submits a complete form before the end of the month. However, an assistance unit required to submit an MFIP household report 
form is considered to have continued its application for assistance if a complete MFIP household report form is received within a 
calendar month after the month in which assistance was received and assistance shall be paid for the period beginning with the first 
day of the month in which the report was due. 

C. A local agency must allow good cause exemptions from the reporting requirements under subparts 5 and 6 when any of the 
following factors cause a caregiver to fail to provide the local agency with a completed MFIP household report form before the end 
of the month in which the form is due: 

(I) an employer delays completion of employment verification; 
(2) a local agency does not help a caregiver complete the MFIP household report form when the caregiver asks for help; 
(3) a caregiver does not receive an MFIP household report form due to mistake on the part of the department or the local 

agency or due to a reported change in address; 
(4) a caregiver is ill, or physically or mentally incapacitated; or 
(5) some other circumstance occurs that a caregiver could not avoid with reasonable care which prevents the caregiver 

from providing a completed MFIP household report form before the end of the month in which the form is due. 
Subp. 9. Changes that must be reported. A caregiver must report the changes or anticipated changes specified in items A to P 

within ten days of the date they occur, within ten days of the date the caregiver learns that the change will occur, at the time of the 
periodic recertification of eligibility under part 9500.4090, subpart 6, or within eight calendar days of a reporting period as in 
subpart 5 or 6, whichever occurs first. A caregiver must report other changes at the time of the periodic recertification of eligibility 
under part 9500.4090, subpart 6, or at the end of a reporting period under subpart 5 or 6, as applicable. A caregiver must make these 
reports in writing or in person to the local agency. When a local agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or 
more payment months if a delay in reporting a change specified under items A to P had not occurred, the local agency must deter-
mine whether a timely notice under part 9500.4290, subpart 4, could have been issued on the day that the change occurred. When a 
timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment subsequent to that notice must be considered a client error over-
payment under part 9500.4 170. Changes in circumstances which must be reported within ten days must also be reported on the 
MFIP household report form for the reporting period in which those changes occurred. Within ten days, a caregiver must report: 

A. a change in initial employment; 
B. a change in initial receipt of unearned income; 
C. a recurring change in unearned income; 
D. a nonrecurring change of unearned income that exceeds $30; 
E. the receipt of a lump sum; 
F. an increase in resources which may cause the assistance unit to exceed resource limits; 
G. a change in the physical or mental status of an incapacitated adult if the physical or mental status is the basis of exemption 

from a MFIP work and training program; 
H. a change in employment status; 
I. a change in household composition, including births, returns to and departures from the home of assistance unit members 

and financially responsible persons, or a change in the custody of a minor child; 
J. a change in health insurance coverage; 
K. the marriage or divorce of an assistance unit member; 
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L. the death of a parent, minor child, or financially responsible person; 

M. a change in address or living quarters of the assistance unit; 
N. the sale, purchase, or other transfer of property; 
0. a change in school attendance of a custodial parent or an employed child; and 
P. filing a lawsuit, a workers' compensation claim, or a monetary claim against a third party. 

Subp. 10. Cooperation with child support enforcement. The caregiver of a minor child must cooperate with the efforts of the 
local agency to collect child and spousal support. 

A. A caregiver must assign the right to collect past due, current, and future support to the local agency. Signing an application 
form satisfies this requirement under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.74, subdivision 5. The assignment of support ends with the 
last day of the last month in which a minor child receives assistance. When assistance ends, a local agency has the right to any 
unpaid support for the period in which assistance was received. 

B. A caregiver must provide information known to the caregiver about an absent parent and requested by either the local 
agency or the child support enforcement unit, that is required to establish paternity or secure support and available health care ben-
efits for the minor child, unless the caregiver has good cause for refusing to cooperate under subpart 12. 

C. When the paternity of a minor child is not established under law, a caregiver must cooperate with the child support 
enforcement unit to determine and establish the child's paternity unless the caregiver has good cause for refusing to cooperate under 
subpart 12. 

D. A caregiver must forward to the local agency all support the caregiver receives during the period the assignment of support 
is in effect according to item A. Support received by a caregiver, and not forwarded to the local agency, must be repaid to the child 
support enforcement unit for any month following the month in which initial eligibility is determined, except as provided under 
subpart I 1, item B, subitem (4). 

Subp. I 1. Refusal to cooperate with support requirements. Failure by a caregiver to satisfy any of the requirements of subpart 
10 constitutes refusal to cooperate, and the sanctions under item B apply. 

A. The local agency must determine whether a caregiver has refused to cooperate within the meaning of subpart 12. Before 
making this determination, the local agency must: 

(I) allow the child support enforcement unit to review and comment on the findings and basis for the proposed determi-
nation of noncooperation; 

(2) consider any recommendations from the child support enforcement unit; and 

(3) allow the child support enforcement unit to appear at a hearing under part 9500.4260 that results from an appeal of a 
local agency action involving cooperation with child support enforcement under subpart 12. 

B. Determinations of refusal to cooperate shall have the effects listed in subitems (l)to (4). 
(I) A parent caregiver who refuses to cooperate must be sanctioned as provided in part 9500.4250. 

(2) A caregiver who is not a parent of a minor child in an assistance unit may choose to remove that child from the assis-
tance unit unless otherwise required by federal or state law. 

(3) A parental caregiver who refuses to cooperate is ineligible for medical assistance. 
(4) Direct support retained by a caregiver must be counted as unearned income when determining the amount of the 

assistance payment. 
Subp. 12. Good cause exemption from cooperating with support requirements. Before requiring a caregiver to cooperate, a 

local agency must notify the caregiver that the caregiver may claim a good cause exemption from cooperating with the requirements 
in items B to D, under the conditions specified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, subtitle B, chapter II, part 232, sections 
232.12 and 232.40 to 232.49, at the time of application or at any subsequent time. When a caregiver submits a good cause claim in 
writing, action related to child support enforcement must stop. The caregiver must submit evidence of a good cause claim to the 
local agency within 20 days of submitting the claim. 

A. Good cause exists when a caregiver documents that: 
(I) a minor child for whom child support enforcement is sought was conceived as the result of incest or rape; 
(2) legal proceedings for the adoption of a minor child are pending before a court of competent jurisdiction; or 
(3) a parent caregiver is receiving services from a licensed adoption agency to determine whether to keep the child or 

relinquish the child for adoption, and the services have not been provided for longer than three months. 
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B. Good cause exists when a caregiver documents that the caregiver's cooperation would not be in the best interest of the 

minor child because the cooperation could result in: 
(1) physical harm to the child; 
(2) emotional impairment of the child which would substantially affect the child's functioning; or 
(3) physical harm to or emotional impairment of the caregiver which would substantially affect the caregiver's function-

ing and reduce the caregiver's ability to adequately care for the child. 

C. When a caregiver has difficulty obtaining evidence of a good cause claim, the local agency must help the caregiver obtain 
it. When a local agency requires additional evidence to make a determination on the claim for good cause, the local agency must 
notify the caregiver that additional evidence is required, explain why the additional evidence is required, identify what form this 
evidence might take, and specify an additional period that will be allowed to obtain it. 

D. A local agency must determine whether good cause exists based on the weight of the evidence. 
E. Once a local agency determines that good cause exists for a caregiver, the exemption from cooperating under subpart 10, 

items B and C, must remain in effect for the period the minor child remains eligible under that application, except for subitems (1) 
to (4). 

(1) A good cause exemption allowed because a child was conceived as the result of incest or rape must continue until a 
subsequent acknowledgment of paternity or an application for adoption by a second parent is submitted for that child. 

(2) A good cause exemption allowed because of adoption proceedings must be issued for a fixed period of time based on 
the expected time required to complete adoption proceedings. The exemption must be extended when the required time is longer 
than was anticipated and must stop when adoption proceedings are discontinued or completed. 

(3) A good cause exemption allowed because of adoption counseling must last no more than three months from the time 
the counseling began. 

(4) A good cause exemption must be allowed under subsequent applications and recertifications of eligibility without 
additional evidence when the factors that led to the exemption continue to exist. A good cause exemption allowed under item B 
must end when the factors that led to allowing the exemption have changed. 

F. A good cause exemption which has been allowed by a local agency for a caregiver must be honored by the local agency in 
the new county of residence when the caregiver moves into that county until the factors that led to allowing the exemption change. 

G. When a local agency denies a claim for a good cause exemption, the local agency shall require the caregiver to submit 
additional evidence in support of a later claim for a good cause exemption before the local agency terminates actions to enforce 
child support under this subpart. 

H. Following a determination that a caregiver has good cause for refusing to cooperate, a local agency shall take no further 
action to enforce child support until the good cause exemption ends according to item E. 

Subp. 13. Cooperation with health care benefits. The caregiver of a minor child must cooperate with the local agency to iden-
tify and provide information to assist the local agency in pursuing third-party liability for medical services. 

A. A caregiver must assign to the department any rights to health insurance policy benefits the caregiver has during the period 
of MFIP eligibility. 

B. A caregiver must identify any third party who may be liable for care and services available under the medical assistance 
program on behalf of the applicant or participant and all other assistance unit members. 

C. When a participant refuses to assign the rights to the department, or when a participant refuses to identify any third party 
who may be liable for care and services, the caregiver's MFIP assistance payment is subject to a ten percent sanction and the care-
giver is ineligible for medical assistance. 
9500.4290 APPLICANT AND PARTICIPANT RIGHTS AND LOCAL AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES. 

Subpart I. Right to information. An applicant or participant has the right to obtain from the local agency information about the 
benefits, requirements, restrictions, and appeal provisions of public assistance programs. 

Subp. 2. Right to authorized representative. An applicant or participant has the right to designate an authorized representative 
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to act on the applicant's or participant's behalf. An applicant or participant has the right to be assisted or represented by an autho-
rized representative in eligibility determinations, recertification, conciliation conferences, the fair hearing process, and any other 
contacts with the local agency or the department. 

When a local agency determines that it is necessary for a person to assist an applicant or participant, the local agency must des-
ignate a staff member to assist the applicant or participant. 

Upon a request from an applicant or participant, a local agency must provide addresses and telephone numbers of organizations 
that provide legal services at low cost or no cost to low-income persons. 

Subp. 3. Right of applicant to notice. A local agency must notify an applicant of the disposition of the applicant's application. 
The notice must be in writing and on forms prescribed by the commissioner. The local agency must mail the notice to the last 
known mailing address provided by the applicant. When an application is denied, the local agency must notify the applicant in 
writing of the reasons for the denial, of the right to appeal, and of the right to reapply for assistance. 

Subp. 4. Participant's right to notice. A local agency must give a participant written notice of all adverse actions affecting the 
participant including payment reductions, suspensions, terminations, and use of protective, vendor, or two-party payments. The 
notice of adverse action must be on a form prescribed or approved by the commissioner and must be mailed to the last known 
mailing address provided by the participant. The local agency must state on the notice of adverse action the action it intends to take, 
the reasons for the action, the participant's right to appeal the action, the conditions under which assistance can be continued 
pending an appeal decision, and the related consequences of the action. 

Subp. 5. Mailing of notice. The notice of adverse action must be issued according to items A to C. 
A. A local agency must mail a notice of adverse action at least ten days before the effective date of the adverse action, except 

as provided in items B and C. 
B. A local agency must mail a notice of adverse action at least five days before the effective date of the adverse action when 

the local agency has factual information that requires an action to reduce, suspend, or terminate assistance based on probable fraud. 

C. A local agency must mail a notice of adverse action before or on the effective date of the adverse action when: 
(I) the local agency receives the caregiver's monthly MFIP household report form that includes information that requires 

payment reduction, suspension, or termination and that contains the caregiver's signed acknowledgment that the caregiver under-
stands that this information will be used to determine MFIP eligibility or the assistance payment amount; 

(2) the local agency is informed of the death of a participant or the payee. The local agency must verify the death if it is 
reported by someone other than the payee; 

(3) the local agency receives a signed statement from the caregiver that assistance is no longer wanted; 
(4) the local agency receives a signed statement from the caregiver that provides information that requires the termination 

or reduction of assistance, and the caregiver shows in that statement that the caregiver understands the consequences of providing 
that information; 

(5) the local agency verifies that a member of the assistance unit is hospitalized and does not qualify under part 
9500.4060, subpart 4, item C, subitem (I); 

(6) the local agency verifies that a member of the assistance unit has entered a state hospital or a licensed residential facil-
ity for medical or psychological treatment or rehabilitation; 

(7) the local agency verifies that a member of an assistance unit has been approved to receive assistance by another 
county or state; 

(8) the local agency verifies that a member of an assistance unit has been placed in foster care; or 
(9) the local agency cannot locate a caregiver's whereabouts and mail from the local agency has been returned by the post 

office showing that the post office has no forwarding address. 
Subp. 6. Conciliation conferences. A participant has a right to a conciliation conference as set forth in part 9500.4240. 
Subp. 7. Appeal rights. An applicant, participant, or former participant has the right to request a fair hearing when aggrieved by 

an action or inaction of a local agency. A request for a fair hearing and rights pending a fair hearing are set forth in part 9500.4260. 
Subp. 8. Case records available. A local agency must make financial case records available to the participant or former partic-

ipant as soon as possible, but no later than the fifth business day following the date of the request. When the participant or former 
participant asks for photocopies of material from the financial case record, the local agency must provide one copy of each page at 
no cost. 
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Subp. 9. Right to manage affairs. Except for protective payment provisions authorized under part 9500.4 180, subpart 2, partic-

ipants have the right to manage their own affairs. 
Subp. 10. Right to protection. Minor caregivers have the right to protection. The local agency must refer a minor caregiver to 

the social service unit within 30 days of the date the application is approved. The social service unit must assist the minor caregiver 
to develop a social service plan as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 257.33, subdivision 2. The social service plan must take 
into consideration: 

A. the age of the minor caregiver; 
B. the involvement of the minor caregiver's parents or other adults who pnvide active, ongoing guidance, support, and super-

vision; 

C. the involvement of the noncustodial parent, including steps being taken to establish paternity, if appropriate; 
D. completion of high school or a GED; 
E. parenting skills of the minor caregiver; 
F. the living arrangement of the minor caregiver and child; 
G. child care and transportation needed for education, training, or employment; 
H. ongoing health care; and 
I. other services needed to address personal and family problems and to facilitate the personal growth and development and 

economic self-sufficiency of the minor caregiver and the child. 
9500.4300 SUPPORT FROM PARENTS OF MINOR CAREGIVERS LiVING APART. 

Subpart 1. General provisions. A parent who lives outside the home of a minor child who is an unemancipated minor caregiver 
of an assistance unit is financially responsible for that minor caregiver unless the parent is a recipient of public assistance, SSI, 
MSA, medical assistance, general assistance, or general assistance medical care, and a court order does not otherwise provide a 
support obligation. 

• 	Subp. 2. Amount of support payment. The amount of support to be paid by a parent, except a parent specified in subpart 4, 
must be determined according to items A to F. 

A. A minor caregiver must provide information required by the local agency to identify the whereabouts of the minor care-
giver's absent parent or parents. 

B. A local agency must notify an absent parent of the parent's legal responsibility to support a minor caregiver and shall 
request that the absent parent provide the following: 

(1) the amount of the parent's earned and unearned income for the previous tax year; 
(2) the amount of the parent's earned and unearned income for the current month; 
(3) the number and names of dependents who are claimed or could be claimed by the parent on federal income tax forms; 
(4) the amount of annual medical bills paid by the parent; 
(5) the amount of annual housing costs paid by the parent; 
(6) the costs for utilities and repairs to the home which are paid by the parent; and 
(7) the amount of annual educational costs for family members paid by the parent. 

C. When a parent of a minor caregiver does not provide the information requested under item B, the local agency must refer 
the matter to the county attorney. Assistance to the minor caregiver must not be denied, delayed, reduced, or ended because of the 
lack of cooperation of the minor caregiver's parent. 

D. When the information requested under item B is received by a local agency, the local agency must compare the parent's 
income against the scale set forth in part 9500.2760, subpart 2, item D, using the conditions and procedures specified in item E. 

E. The parent's income is the parent's gross earned income plus unearned income, determined by the methods in part 
9500.4080. To determine family size, each person claimed or who could be claimed by a parent as a dependent on federal income 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. &ike etas indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Sti4ke etas indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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tax forms, exclusive of the minor caregiver, must be included. A deduction from income must be allowed for the amount that 
medical, educational, and housing costs together exceed 30 percent of the parent's income. When the amount of income, after the 
allowable deduction, exceeds the annual income level in item D, a parent is liable to pay one-third of the excess for the annual 
support of the minor caregiver. These payments must be paid monthly to the minor caregiver or to the local agency on behalf of the 
minor caregiver. 

F. A local agency must notify the parents of the minor caregiver that they are liable for the amount of support determined by 
the local agency as specified in item E. When the support payment is received by the minor caregiver, it must be treated as 
unearned income of the assistance unit. When the support payment is not received, or a lesser amount is received in any payment 
month, the local agency must refer the matter to the county attorney. 

Subp. 3. Reviews. A local agency must review financial responsibility every 12 months until minor caregivers reach the a.ge of 
18 or are otherwise emancipated. When a parent reports a change in circumstances, the local agency must review the required 
amount of payment within ten calendar days. 

Subp. 4. Parents under court order for support. A parent who is required under an existing court order issued under some 
other authority in state or federal law to pay child support for a minor caregiver is subject to the conditions of that order in lieu of 
the requirements and contribution levels in subpart 2. 
9500.4310 WRONGFULLY OBTAINED ASSISTANCE. 

Subpart I. Applicability to other laws. This part outlines procedures that apply to assistance that is wrongfully obtained under 
MFIP. The procedures in this part may be used in combination with other established civil and criminal procedures and law. 

Subp. 2. Responsibility of local agency to act. In response to welfare fraud allegations received by a local agency, the local 
agency shall take any or all of the actions in items A to C. 

A. A local agency must refer cases of suspected welfare fraud to the person or unit designated by the county board for inves-
tigation of welfare fraud. 

B. A local agency must issue notice under part 9500.4290, subpart 4, to reduce or end assistance when the local agency 
receives facts which show that an assistance unit is not eligible for assistance or for the amount of assistance currently being 
received. 

C. A local agency must refer cases of probable welfare fraud to the county attorney. 

Subp. 3. Continued MFIP eligibility during fraud investigation. A local agency must issue assistance for the remaining 
members of the assistance unit with the exception of the person who was found guilty through court action or through an adininis-
trative disqualification hearing to have committed welfare fraud in an earlier period. If MFIP eligible, the local agency must issue 
assistance to the assistance unit currently under fraud investigation, subject to subpart 2. 

Subp. 4. Recoupment and recovery of wrongfully obtained assistance. A local agency must recoup or attempt recovery of 
wrongfully obtained assistance. The amount recouped or recovered must not be more than the amount wrongfully obtained unless 
it is based on a court judgment. A local agency may seek voluntary repayment or recoup wrongfully obtained assistance according 
to the procedures in part 9500.4 170, subpart 3 or 4, until the full amount of wrongfully obtained assistance is repaid. If the local 
agency is unable to obtain voluntary repayment or recoup the assistance according to part 9500.4 170, the local agency must initiate 
civil court proceedings to recover any unpaid balance of the wrongfully obtained assistance. 

Subp. 5. Reporting requirement. A local agency shall gather and report statistical data required by the commissioner on local 
agency activities to prevent welfare fraud. 
9500.4320 RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER PROGRAMS. 

Subpart I. Medical assistance; applicants. An applicant may qualify to receive retroactive medical assistance benefits for up to 
three months before the month of application. An applicant must provide information about health insurance and other medical 
coverage held by or available to the applicant, including pending lawsuits or claims for medical costs. An applicant who is a poli-
cyholder of health insurance must assign to the department any rights to policy benefits the applicant has during the period of 
medical assistance eligibility. When an applicant refuses to assign the rights to the department, the caregiver's MFIP assistance 
payment must be reduced resulting in a ten percent sanction and the caregiver is ineligible for medical assistance. An application is 
used to determine retroactive medical assistance eligibility and to establish current eligibility for medical assistance according to 
items A and B. 

A. When a person applies for MFIP, the local agency must inform the applicant of the existence of retroactive medical assis-
tance and must determine eligibility for retroactive medical assistance when the applicant requests it. 

B. When a local agency approves an application for assistance, the effective date of medical assistance eligibility must be the 
first day of the month in which MEIP eligibility begins, unless eligibility exists for medical assistance under item A. When a local 
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agency denies cash assistance and medical assistance is requested, the local agency must accept a medical assistance application. 
The local agency must use the date of application for cash assistance as the date of application for medical assistance or general 
assistance medical care. 

Subp. 2. Medical assistance; participants. A participant shall receive medical assistance according to items A to F. 
A. A local agency must reimburse or issue direct payment to a participant for transportation costs for medical care from 

medical assistance administrative funds. 
B. A local agency must not recover amounts for ineligible medical assistance claims or payments from the monthly assistance 

payment. 
C. A participant must inform the state and local agency pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.015, 256B.042, and 

256B.37, of injuries for which a third-party payor may be liable for payment of medical costs. 
D. A participant who is a policyholder of health insurance must assign to the department any rights to policy benefits the par-

ticipant has during the period of medical assistance eligibility. 

E. A local agency shall allow a participant eligibility for medical assistance for months during which monthly assistance pay-
ments are suspended due to increased earned income. 

F. A local agency shall offer services through the early childhood health and developmental screening program on behalf of 
each applicant or participant who is less than 21 years of age, according to parts 9505.1693 to 9505.1748. 

Subp. 3. Medical assistance; terminations of assistance. A local agency must continue medical assistance when the assistance 
unit continues to include at least one minor child and MFIP cash assistance ends according to items A to C. 

A. When MFIP cash assistance ends solely due to increased child or spousal support and MFIP or AFDC was received in at 
least three of the six months immediately preceding the month in which ineligibility begins, medical assistance eligibility must be 
continued for four months beginning the first month the assistance unit is ineligible for MFIP. 

B. When MFIP cash assistance ends due to increased earned income and MFIP or AFDC was received in at least three of the 
six months immediately preceding the month in which ineligibility begins, medical assistance must continue for the assistance unit 
for six months beginning the first month the assistance unit is ineligible for MFIP. Assistance units who have six months of 
extended medical assistance may receive an additional six months if: 

(I) the assistance unit returns a quarterly report verifying gross earned income and child care costs by the 21St day of the 
fourth, seventh, and tenth month; 

(2) an eligible caregiver has earned income or good cause for unemployment in each month; and 
(3) the average monthly gross earned income less actual child care costs necessary for employment is at or below 185 

percent of the federal poverty guideline for that size assistance unit. 
C. When assistance is ended due to applying the income from stepparents or parents of minor caregivers to the need of an 

assistance unit, the local agency must provide the participant with an MFIP termination notice that allows one month of medical 
assistance after assistance ends. To continue eligibility for medical assistance beyond the one month, eligibility must be established 
under parts 9505.0010 to 9505.0150. 

Subp. 4. Medical assistance; sanctions. Caregivers are not eligible for medical assistance for any period in which the caregiver 
fails to cooperate with the third-party payor requirements in subpart 2, item C, or the child support provisions in part 9500.4280, 
subpart 10. 

Subp. 5. Social services. The local agency shall refer a participant for social services that are offered in the county of financial 
responsibility according to the criteria established by that local agency under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092. A payment issued 
from title XX, child welfare funds, or county funds in a payment month must not restrict MFIP eligibility or reduce the monthly 
assistance payment for that participant. 

Subp. 6. Concurrent eligibility, limitations. A local agency must not count an applicant or participant as a member of more 
than one assistance unit in a given payment month, except as provided in items A to C. 

A. An applicant who receives assistance in a state other than Minnesota may be eligible in the first month of application at 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike etHs indicate 
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MFIP payment standards. An assistance payment from another state must be the last payment received from that state and is con-
sidered unearned income when determining the assistance payment issued under MFIP. 

B. A participant who is a member of an assistance unit in Minnesota is eligible to be included in a second assistance unit in the 
first full month that the participant lives with a second assistance unit. 

C. An applicant whose needs are met through foster care under title IV-E for the first part of an application month is eligible 
to receive assistance for the remaining part of the month in which the applicant returns home. Title IV-E payments and assistance 
payments must be considered prorated payments rather than a duplication of MEIP need. 

Subp. 7. Emergency assistance, assistance unit with a minor child. An MFIP assistance unit with a minor child is eligible for 
emergency assistance when the assistance unit meets the requirements in part 9500.2820. 

Subp. 8. Emergency general assistance, pregnant woman without a minor child. A pregnant woman without a minor child is 
eligible for emergency general assistance when the pregnant woman meets the requirements in part 9500.1261. 
9500.4330 COUNTY OF RESPONSIBILITY POLICIES. 

Subpart I. Determining the county of financial responsibility. The county of financial responsibility is the county in which a 
minor child lives on the date the application is signed, unless subpart 4 applies. The county in which a pregnant woman in the third 
trimester of pregnancy lives on the date the application is signed is the county of financial responsibility unless subpart 4 applies. 
When more than one county is financially responsible for the members of an assistance unit, financial responsibility must be 
assigned to a single county beginning the first day of the calendar month after the assistance unit members are required to be in a 
single assistance unit. Financial responsibility must be assigned to the county that was initially responsible for the assistance unit 
member with the earliest date of application. The county in which the assistance unit is currently residing becomes financially 
responsible for the entire assistance unit beginning two full calendar months after the month in which financial responsibility was 
consolidated in one county. 

Subp. 2. Change in residence. This subpart applies when a participant has a change of residence. 
A. When an assistance unit moves from one county to another and continues to receive assistance, the new county of resi-

dence becomes the county of financial responsibility when that assistance unit has lived in that county in nonexciuded status for two 
full calendar months. "Nonexcluded status" means the period of residence that is not considered excluded time under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256G.02, subdivision 6. When a minor child moves from one county to another to reside with a different care-
giver, the caregiver in the former county is eligible to receive assistance for that child only through the last day of the month of the 
move. The caregiver in the new county becomes eligible to receive assistance for the child the first day of the month following the 
move or the date of application, whichever is later. 

B. When a participant moves from one MFIP county to another MFIP county, eligibility for assistance is not affected unless 
eligibility factors are affected in the move. A local agency must not require a participant to reestablish MFIP eligibility as a new 
applicant for assistance solely because a participant moves. 

C. When a participant moves from an MFIP county to a non-MFIP county, eligibility for assistance is affected. MFIP will 
remain open for two months and will be provided by the original county. Before the two-month transition period ends, the former 
participant must submit an application for assistance and establish eligibility for AFDC, family general assistance, or food stamps in 
the new county. 

D. The requirements in subitems (I) to (3) apply when a participant moves from one county to another. 
(I) When a participant informs the local agency in the current county of residence of a planned move, the local agency in 

that county must forward to the local agency in the county of planned residence the information from the financial case record 
which the county of planned residence needs to redetermine public assistance eligibility and to determine the amount of the assis-
tance payment. 

(2) When a participant informs the new county of residence that the participant has entered the county as a current partic-
ipant, the new county must obtain from the county from which the participant moved the information from the financial case record 
that it needs to redetermine public assistance eligibility and determine the amount of the assistance payment. 

(3) When a participant does not inform either county that the move has occurred before the mailing of the next assistance 
payment and when the whereabouts of a participant are unknown, the county of financial responsibility must end assistance. If a 
participant reapplies in another MFIP county within 30 calendar days of termination and is eligible, assistance is considered to be 
uninterrupted for the determination of the county of financial responsibility for members of the assistance unit. This payment must 
be issued by the county of financial responsibility until the participant has lived in the new county for two full calendar months. 

E. When an applicant moves from one county to another while the application is pending, the county where application first 
occurred is the county of financial responsibility until the applicant has lived in the new county for two full calendar months, unless 
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the applicant's move is covered under subpart 4. The county of residence must be an MFIP county for eligibility to be established 
for MFIP regardless of the county of responsibility. 

Subp. 3. Responsibility for incorrect assistance payments. A county of residence, when different from the county of financial 
responsibility, will be charged by the commissioner for the value of incorrect assistance payments and medical assistance paid to or 
on behalf of a person who was not eligible to receive that amount. Incorrect payments include payments to an ineligible person or 
family resulting from decisions, failures to act, miscalculations, or overdue recertifications. However, financial responsibility does 
not accrue for a county when the recertification is overdue at the time the referral is received by the county of residence or when the 
county of financial responsibility does not act on the recommendation of the county of residence. 

When federal or state law requires that medical assistance continue after assistance ends, this subpart also governs financial 
responsibility for the extended medical assistance. 

Subp. 4. Excluded time. When an applicant or participant resides in an excluded time facility as described in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 256G.02, subdivision 6, the county that is financially responsible for the applicant or participant is the county in 
which the applicant or participant last resided outside such a facility immediately before entering the facility. When an applicant or 
participant has not resided in Minnesota for any time other than excluded time as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256G.02, 
subdivision 6, the county that is financially responsible for the applicant or participant is the county in which the applicant or par -
ticipant resides on the date the application is signed. 
9500.4340 TERMINATION OF MFLP. 

Subpart I. Termination of MFIP. If major and unpredicted costs occur in MFIP, the commissioner may take corrective action 
consistent with United States Code, title 7, chapter 51, section 2031 and title 42, chapter 7, subchapter 1V, part A, section 602, note 
on Demonstration of Effectiveness of Minnesota Family Investment Plan, which may include termination of MFIP. Before taking 
corrective action, the commissioner must comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 256.03 1, subdivision 3, paragraph (a). If the 
agreements between the state and federal government under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.031, subdivision 5, are canceled, assis-
tance units receiving MFIP must be converted to other assistance programs, if eligible, as provided in subpart 3. 

Subp. 2. Notice to participants. If MFIP is terminated by the state or federal government, the commissioner must provide 
written notice to participants and inform the participants that, if eligible, they will be converted to other assistance programs. 

Subp. 3. Conversion to eligible assistance programs. If MFIP is terminated, assistance units receiving assistance under MFIP 
who are eligible for assistance under the AFDC, general assistance, medical assistance, general assistance medical care, or food 
stamp programs must be placed, with their consent, on the programs for which they are eligible. 

EFFECTIVE DATE. Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.4000 to 9500.4340, are effective April 1, 1994. 

Department of Labor and Industry 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Prevailing Wage; Job Classifications 
Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule Without a Public Hearing 

The Department of Labor and Industry intends to adopt a permanent rule without a public hearing following the procedures set 
forth in the Administrative Procedures Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22-14.28. You have 30 days to submit written com-
ments on the proposed rule and may also submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rule. 

Agency Contact Person.  Comments or questions on the rule and written requests for a public hearing on the rule must be sub-
mitted to: 

Mr. Donald Jackman, Director 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Labor Standards Division 
443 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
(612) 297-3349 

Subject of Rule and Statutory Authority.  The proposed rule is about master job classifications for the prevailing wage law, 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. Stt'ike ettt indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike eets indicate deletions from 
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Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41-177.44. The statutory authority to adopt this rule is found in Minnesota Statutes, sections 
14.06, 175.171, and 177.44. A copy of the proposed rule is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed. 

Comments.  You have until 4:30 p.m. February 25, 1994, to submit written comment in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rule and part or subpart of the rule. Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due 
date. Comment is encouraged. Your comment should identify the portion of the proposed rule addressed, the reason for the 
comment, and any change proposed. 

Request for a Hearing.  In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that a hearing be held on the rule. Your 
request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m., February 25, 1994. 
Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion of the 
proposed rule which caused your request, the reason for the request, and any changes you want made to the proposed rule. If 25 or 
more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held unless a sufficient number withdraws their request 
in writing. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.13 to 14.20. 

Small Business Considerations.  In preparing these rules the Department of Labor and Industry has considered the requirements 
of Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115 in regard to the impact of the proposed rules on small businesses. The adoption of the rules 
will not directly affect small businesses. In so far as there is an indirect effect upon small businesses, the effect is out-weighed by 
the Department's need to define classes of labor and determine prevailing wage rates. The Department's need to define classes of 
labor and determine prevailing wage rates. The Department's evaluation of small business considerations is further addressed in the 
Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Public Bodies.  The total cost to all local public bodies in the state to implement the 
rules will likely exceed $100,000 in each of the two years immediately following adoption of the rules. Accordingly, pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 14.11, subdivision I, the Department of Labor and Industry estimates that the statewide total for all 
public bodies to implement the rules will be greater than $100,000 in each of the two years following adoption of the rules. The 
basis of this estimate is explained in the Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

Impact on Agriculture Lands.  Minnesota Statutes section 14.11, subdivision 2, does not apply because adoption of these rules 
will not have an impact on agricultural land. 

Departmental Charges.  Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.l285, subdivisions 4 and 5 do not apply because the rules do not 
establish or adjust departmental charges. 

Adoption and Review of Rule.  If no hearing is required, after the end of the comment period the agency may adopt the rule. 
The rule and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality and form to the extent 
form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rule is submitted to the Attorney General or be notified of the 
Attorney General's decision on the rule. If you wish to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rule, submit your 
request to the agency contact person listed above. 

John B. Lennes, Jr. 
Commissioner, MnDOLI 

Rules as Proposed 
5200.1100 MASTER JOB CLASSIFICATIONS. 

Subpart I. Requirement. For purposes of parts 5200.1000 to 5200.1120, contractors must use the following codes and classifi-
cations in documenting classes of labor. 

Subp. 2. Laborers. 
Code No. 	Position Title 
101 	Laborer, common (general labor work) 
102 	Laborer, skilled (assisting skilled craft journeyman) 
103 	Laborer, Landscaping (gardener, sod layer and 

nursery operator) 
104 	Flagperson 
105 	Watchperson 
106 	Blaster 
107 	Pipelayer (water, sewer and gas) 
108 	Tunnel miner 
109 	Underground and open ditch laborer (eight feet below 

starting grade level) 
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Subp. 3. Power equipment operators. 

Code No. 	Position Title 
201 	Air compressor operator 
202 	Asphalt, bituminous stabilizer plant operator 
203 	Dragline and/or other similar equipment with shovel 

type controls 
204 	Bituminous spreader and finishing operator 
205 	Bituminous spreader and bituminous finishing machine 

operator (helper) 
206 	Conveyor operator 
207 	Concrete distributor and spreader operator, 

finishing machine, longitudinal float operator, 
joint machine or spray operator 

208 	Concrete saw operator (multiple blade) (power operated) 
209 	Crushing plant operator (gravel and stone) or gravel 

washing, 
Crushing and screening plant operators 

210 	Curb machine 
211 	Front end loader operator up to and including 

one cubic yard and/or attachments  
212 	Fine grade operator 
213 	Fork lift operator 
214 	Front end loader operator. Qy Qi iiic 

yri but  k thiin th çjthjc yards. 
and/or attachments  

215 	Helicopter pilot 
216 	Fire tender or tank car heater operator 
217 	Grader or motor patrol, finishing, earthwork and 

bituminous 
218 	Grader operator (motor patrol) on designated  

haul roads only  
219 	Greaser (truck and tractor) 
220 	Hoist engineer 
221 	Self propelled chip spreader 
222 	Mechanic or welder 
223 	Oilers (power shovel, crane, dragline) 
224 	Pick up sweeper 
225 	Pugmill operator 
226 	Roller operator, self propelled roller for compaction 
227 	Roller operator, up to and including si* eight 

tons for bituminous finishing and/or wearing courses 
228 	Roller operator, over si* eight tons for 

bituminous finishing and/or wearing courses 
229 	Scraper, 32 cubic yards and over 
230 	Self propelled vibrating packing operator 

pft4type 
231 	Rubber tired tractor, back hoe attachment 
232 	Shouldering machine operator (power) (apsco or 

similar type) 
233 	Slip form (power-driven) (paving) 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. 4ke eti+s indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. .tfike es indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Code No. 	Position Title 

234 	Turnapull Scraper operator er similar typ$, 
up tc^ 32 cubic yards  

235 	Tractor operator, 2 TD6 or similar 
wheel-type, 50 h.p. w4th power takeoff 

236 	Tractor operator, ever 	1D6 or similar I'7 witl 
power takeoff bulldozer 

237 	Power actuated augers and boring machine 
238 	Truck crane oiler 

iQ driving machines and p jQj augers  
240 	Tower crane 

41 	Articulated hauler 
242 	Boom truck 
243 	t 4 loader operator, five cujc  yards 	QYL 
24.4 

	

	Hydraulic backhoe, crawler  type. up t three cubic  
yards, or other attachments  

245 	Hydraulic backhoe, crawler uvpe,  thr cubic yards  
and over, other attachments  

24 	Milling, grinding, and planing machine operator 
247 	Paving breaker 
24 	Tractor operator, wheel vpe. over  h.p. 
249 	Trenching machine  
250 	Truck or crawler crane operator 
2L 	k 	rQck ddll 
252 	Batch  p1j operator (concrete)  

Concrete mobile plant operator 
2.54. 	rower operated sweeper broom 
25.5 	Straight framed off-road trucks 
256 	Stump and tree chioper operator 
2.51 	Tree farmer (forest product jnachines)  
258 	Concrete pumper operator, or similar 
259 	Sheepfoot compactor with 	200 ho.  un over 

Subp. 4. Truck drivers. 
Code No. 	Position Title 
300 	EiiQt car driver 
301 	Bituminous distributor driver 
302 	Dumper 
303 	Greaser and truck maintenance worker 
304 	Self propelled packer operator 
305 	Truck driver (hauling machinery for contractors own 

use including operation of hand or power 
operator winches 

306 	Single axle or two axle unit 
307 	Tandem axle or three axle unit 
308 	Four axle unit 
309 	Five axle unit 
310 	Six or more axle unit 

Subp. 5. Special crafts. 
Code No. 	Position Title 
401 	Asbestos workers 
402 	Boilermakers 
403 	Bricklayers 
404 	Carpenters 
405 	Carpet layers (linoleum) 
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406 	Cement masons 
407 	Electricians 
408 	Elevator constructors 
409 	Glaziers 
410 	Lathers 
411 	Signaler 
412 	Ironworkers 
413 	Lineman 
414 	Millwright 
415 	Painters 
416 	Piledriver 
417 	Pipefitters - steamfitters 
418 	Plasterers 
419 	Plumbers 
420 	Roofer 
421 	Sheet metal workers 
422 	Sprinkler fitters 
423 	Terrazzo workers 
424 	Tile setters 
425 	Drywall tapet 

Communications systems technician  
4.3.1 	Communications systems installer  
435 	Asbestos abatement worker 
43. 	Sign erector  

Wage determinations shall be made for other classifications not listed if such other classifications are in general use in the area 
being surveyed. 

Board of Nursing 
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Licensure and Registration of Professional and Pradical 

Nurses 
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing 

The Minnesota Board of Nursing (hereinafter "Board") intends to adopt and amend permanent rules without a public hearing fol-
lowing the procedures set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22-14.28. You have 30 days 
to submit a written request that a hearing be held on the rules. 

gency Contact Person:  Comments or questions on the rules and written requests for a public hearing on the rules must be sub-
mitted to: 

Sandra J. MacKenzie 
Assistant Director 
Minnesota Board of Nursing 
Suite 108 
2700 University Avenue West 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55113 
Telephone: (612) 642-0572 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority:  The proposed rules relate to licensure by examination of professional and practical 
nurses, temporary permits, and registration fees. The licensure by examination requirements are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, 
section 148.211, subdivision 1. The temporary permit provisions are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.212. The reg- 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. 'ike outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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istration fee provisions are authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.231, subdivision 1. A copy of the proposed rules is pub-
lished in the State Register and is attached to this notice as mailed. 

Comments: You have until 4:30 p.m. February 23, 1994, to submit written comments in support of or in opposition to the pro-
posed rules and any part or subpart of the rules. Your comments must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by 
the due date. Comments are encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules addressed, the reason 
for your comments, and any change that you propose. 

Request for a Hearing: In addition to submitted comments, you may also request that a public hearing be held on the rules. 
Your request for a public hearing must be in writing and must be received by the agency contact person by 4:30 p.m., February 23, 
1994. Your written request for a public hearing must include your name and address. You are encouraged to identify the portion of 
the proposed rules on which you request a hearing, the reason for the request, and any changes that you recommend to the proposed 
rules. If 25 or more persons submit a written request for a hearing, a public hearing will be held, unless a sufficient number with-
draw their requests in writing. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 
14.131 to 14.20. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 214.06 Subdivision 3 (1993), no public hearing will be held on the pro-
posed fee charges. 

Modifications: The proposed rules may be modified as a result of public comment. The modifications must be supported by the 
data and views submitted to the agency. The modifications may not result in a substantial change in the proposed rules as attached 
and printed in the State Register. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, you are encouraged to participate in the rulemaking 
process. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness: A Statement of Need and Reasonableness is now available from the agency contact 
person. This statement describes the need for, and reasonableness of, each provision of the proposed rules, and identifies the data 
and information upon which the Board relied to support the proposed rules. 

Small Business Considerations: It is the position of the Board that Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.115 (1992), relating to small 
business considerations in rulemaking, does not apply to these proposed rules changes. The basis for this position and the Board's 
evaluation of the applicability of the methods contained in Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.115, Subdivision 2 (1992) for reducing 
the impact of the proposed rules, should it be determined that the Board is governed by section 14.115, are addressed in the 
Statement of Need and Reasonableness. 

Expenditure of Public Money by Local Public Bodies and Impact on Agricultural Land:  Promulgation of these proposed 
rules will not result in the expenditure of public monies by local public bodies nor have any impact on agricultural land; therefore, 
no further information need be provided under Minnesota Statutes, Section 14.11 (1992). 

Adoption and Review of Rules  If no hearing is required after the end of the comment period, then the Board may adopt the 
rules. The rules and supporting documents will then be submitted to the Attorney General for review as to legality and form to the 
extent form relates to legality. You may request to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the Attorney General or be noti-
fied of the Attorney General's decision on the rules. If you wish to be so notified, or wish to receive a copy of the adopted rules, 
submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Dated: 10 January 1994 

Joyce M. Schowalter 
Executive Director 

Rules as Proposed 
6305.0100 DEFINITIONS. 

[For text of subpart I, see M.R.] 
Subp. Ia. Acceptable nursing practice. "Acceptable nursing practice" means employment or volunteer nursing in any setting, 

participation ill clinical pursing courses, 	combination çf these activities. Employment includes those positions for which  th 
individual  j  required to be a nurse. 	professional nursing practice, the practice 	included one or more of the functions 
defined in Minnesota Statutes,  section 148.171, paragraph 	I^j practical nursing practice, the practice  jj 	included one 
r more QI th functions define4  in Minnesota Statutes..  section 	148.171, paragraph L 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 
Subp. 3. [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 4 to 7a, see M.R.] 
Subp. 8. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 9. [See repealer.] 
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Subp. 10. [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 11 to 21, see M.R.] 
Sub. 22.. Refresher course equivalent or equivalent. "Refresher course equivalent" or "equivalent." when used to refer to a 

refresher course, jneans an educational activity that includes clinical component  anti used  in lina nf refresher course. xamples 
f equivalent activities are preceptorship. orientation program, a program Qf study Jeading to a degree ig tiursing. clinical 

course to enhance nursing  kjjls in a clinical  a: 
6305.0300 AUTHORIZATION TO PRACTICE NURSING. 

[For text of subpart 1, see M.K.] 
Subp. la. Authorized abbreviations. The categories of nursing personnel listed below may use abbreviations as follows: 

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 
E. Nursing assistants who are on the long-term care registry of the beard are nursing assistants/registered, abbreviated 

"NA/R." 

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M.R.] 
Subp. 4. Eligibility for permit to practice nursing with direct supervision. The board shall grant an applicant who is not the 

subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary action a permit to practice nursing under the direct supervision of a registered 
nurse if the applicant: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.] 
C. has submitted the licensure application, licensure fee, cxamination application, examination permit fee, and affidavit of 

graduation transcript.  Ih affidavit  sf graduation transcript jnust  k received  in th board office within. Q days following 
graduation; 

[For text of items D to 0, see M.R.} 
H. has written or is eligible to write iaicn the first examination administcrcd after graduation. An applicant who has written 

the examination before graduating becomes eligible for a permit after graduation. An applicant who has written the examination in 
another jurisdiction iftust submit, en a fene supplied by the board, proof frefft the other jurisdiction that the applicant wrote the first 
examination administered after graduation anti 

I. is taking the examination for the first thn in a United States jurisdiction. 
[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.} 

Subp. 7. Length of permits. The permit authorizing practice under the direct supervision of a registered nurse expires eight 
wccks after the administration of the examination fi days  frçrn f jge or upon the applicant's notification by the board of 
failure on the examination, whichever occurs first. The board may extend this permit an additional eight wcck if the applicant's 
results are delayed due to a processing delay by another nurse licensing agency or if the applicant has come under investigation by 
the board after the issuance of the initial permit until the matter is resolved for the applicant who is under investigation by the board. 

The permit authorizing practice without direct supervision expires six months after the date of issue, but the board shall extend 
this permit if licensure cannot occur because of a processing delay by another nurse licensing agency. The board  my  extend  tha 
permit if applicant has come under investigation the board after the issuance of the initial permit until the matter is resolved  
for the applicant.  

Subp. 8. Revocation of permit. The board shall revoke a permit in the following situations. 
A. The board shall revoke a permit if the permit holder: 

(1)dees not write the scheduled examination; 
has been notified of the results of the examination; 

83 2) is licensed by the board; 

443 Q.) did not write in another jurisdiction an examination acceptable to the board; 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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Ø. did not pass an examination in another jurisdiction with a score acceptable to the board; 

63 (5)  is not eligible for licensure; or 
did not graduate. 

[For text of item B, see M.R.] 
[For text of subp 9, see MR.] 

6305.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION. 
[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.] 

Subp. 2. [See repealer.] 
[For text of subps 3 to 5, see M.R.] 

Subp. 6. Transcripts ncccssary fei' applicants cducatcd in forcign countrics Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing 
Schools Qualifying Examination.  An applicant who has grnduatcd from a program in anothcr country shall submit a transcript in 
addition to the affidavit of graduation rcquircd in subpart & The applicant shall also submit a course dcscription if the entries en the 
transcript are net self cxplanatory as to course content. In bee of the course dcscription, an official of the program may complete a 
form provided by the board. On a notarizcd form the official must attest to the applicant's participation in classroom and clinical 
instruction consistent with the required learning activities in pa4 6315.0400, subpart 4 fec registered wdrse applicants or subpart 
for licensed practical nurse applicants. If the transcript and course dcscription ace not in English, a translation most be done by an 
agency or individual spccificd by the board. The east of this translation most be paid by the applicant. 

If an official transcript cannot be submitted because of political unrest or alleged governmental reprisal if the school releases the 
documents or if the original school records were de3troyed because of a disaster or record destruction decision, or the school is 
closed, the beard will accept one of the following: 

A verification of the applicant's nursing education from the Commission on Craduates of Foreign Nursing Schools; 
B. verification of the applicant's nursing education from a licensing authority; 
G verification of the applicant's nursing education from a credentialing body for refugees which was established by a 

national or international nursing or governmental organization; 
a eepy of a transcript of the applicant's nursing education from a college or university that accepted the applicant for 

further stody the espy certified as a true and correct espy of the transcript in the files and records of the college or university; or 
& a eopy of the transcript of the applicant's nursing education from another licensing authority, the espy certified as a true 

end correct espy of the transcript in the files and records of the licensing authority. 
If the entries en an official transcript are not self explanatory as to course content and further educational information cannot be 

obtained because of political unrest, alleged governmental reprisal if the school releases the information, or if the records ha'e been 
destroyed, the board shal accept the verifications of item A or j] applicant who completed a nursing program in another 
country except Canada shall successfully complete the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools ualifving 
Examination. The board joust receive evidence of successful completion from ti Commission on Graduates  of Foreign Nursing 
Schools (CGFNS. 

Until 	Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools Oualifving Examination is administered to practical nurse appli- 
cants. the applicant  Jiifl  submit an evaluation of nursing education  bx th Credentials Evaluation Service of the Commission on 
Graduates  f  oreigr Nursing Schools. The board must receive verification from CGFNS that the applicant's education i compa-
rilb& j education required  of individuals educated in the United States.  

[For text of subp 7, see M.R.] 
Subp. 8. Affidavit of graduation 	transcript.  An affidavit of graduation or a transcript is required if an applicant graduated 

from g approved nursing program in a United jats  jurisdiction or Canadian province. If an applicant shall have an submits an 
affidavit  f graduation.  th affidavit of graduation must b completed and signed by an official of the nursing program The eom-
p4eted affidavit or controlling institution and must bear the seal or stamp of the program or controlling institution. For an applicant 
who has graduated from a prOgram in another country, if the school does net notarize or does not complete the affidavit, the tran-
seript may be accepted in bee of the notarization. An applicant mast submit the affidavit before the examination unless the appb-
eant will be writing the examination before graduation. An applicant who graduates after writing an examination shall submit the 
affidavit after graduation bet before licensure. An applicant who fails an examination shall submit the affidavit before reexamine 
tien f th applicant ubmits transcript. j must be official transcript from  th  educational institution or nursing program that 
verifies that the applicant has graduated from the nursing program.  

If the board finds after the examination has been written jg that the affidavit of graduation was completed in error, the appli- 
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eants permit shall be considered 'e4d the examination results shall not be released nor action taken on the application until the 
applicant has graduated. If graduation requirements must be met no latec than the neat available school tecm following notification 
ef nongraduation are j met within 12 months after th application was submitted. Ib anplication will be nullified  in accordance 
ith ii 6305.0600. If there is evidence that the applicant was aware of nongraduation status before the examination and did not 

inform the board, the matter may be handled through a disciplinary proceeding. 
Subp. 9. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 10. Fees. The board shall charge the following fees. 

A. The licensure fee is 	fec an applicant fec cegistcrcd name liccnsurc 'n4 $Ø fec an applicant fec licensed practical nucse 
liccnsure $80. This fee must be paid to the board and must be received before evaluation of an applicant's qualifications for exam-
ination and licensure. 

B. The examination fee is set by the examination vendor and must be submitted te the agency specified by the beacd eaeh tune 
an applicant wants to be scheduled to wci4e an examination. 

G The reexamination fee required with  th request retake the examination is O fec an applicant fec registered nucee liccn 
suce and $40 fec an applicant fec licensed practical nume licensure. The fee must be paid to the board nn^ must received before  
evaluation of an applicant's qualifications to retake the examination. 

D A late filing fee of $SO must be remitted to the beacd if one ec mece ef the following materials irS net properly postmarked 
ec delivered by the deadline: 

(4.) liccnsure application and feet 
(3)examination application and feet 

(3) reexamination application and fee7 
& 	Personal checks are not accepted. Each remittance must be in the form of United States currency, cashier's check, or 

money order. 
R .. If for any reason a license is not issued, fees are not refundable. 

F fl permit  f j $50  n4 	th board.  
Subp. 11. [See repealer.] 
Subp. 12. W'rittcn Licensure examination. The licensure examinations are the examinations of the National Council of State 

Boards of Nursing, Inc. An applicant must receive a pass on the National Council Licensure Examination. 
A. An applicant shall be scheduled in  eligible for an examination when the following have been received by the required date 

ectune: 

LU applications application for licensure and examination; fees 

L2) f. for licensure and examination; 
affidavit of graduation or enrollment transcript; asd 

14. when applicable, reexamination application request 	retake Ih examination and fee; late filing fee transcript, 
course description, translation of transcript and course description, and affidavit that any educational deficit was made up An 
applicant may write an examination before graduation if he ec she meets all of the following requirements: 

(-1.) The applicant must be enrolled lathe final tecm of study ira an approved Minnesota program. 

(33 The remaining course wefk must net include any elective or required nursing courses. 
(3.) The applicant must net haie been en academic probation ira the term prier to the final tecm 
(43 The applicant must net be repeating a course to improve the grade in the course ira order to meet graduation require 

ments. 
(5) The applicant must net ha''e written a previous NCLEX thn 	 pplieable. verification  f passing score  ^^n th CGFNS 

qualifying examination ira Minnesota nnsl 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strike outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 
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L 	applicable, verification  of comparable education.  

B. The board will notify the applicant by mail of the examination 	the applicant is scheduled to write? At least ten days 
prier to an examination the be 4 shall mail an admission doeumcnt to eaeh applicant acccptcd eligible  to write aJ the examina-
tion. Placing the notice and admission document in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and addressed to the applicant's 
last known address constitutes mailing official notification.  

C. Per admission To take the examination, the applicant must present the admission document, a head and shoulders photo 
graph, and a documcnt bearing the applicant's signature. The photograph must be part of a driver's license, nondriver's state iden-
tification eerd passport, alien registration eard student identification eard or a photograph affixed with the school seal and signed 
by the director of the nursing program meet all requirements  of the test service of the National Council  of State Boards of Nursing, 

 Inc., including 	payment  f fees, and, after receipt  sf an authorization  to test, schedule  the examination  at one çf the testing 
centers.  

D. An applicant admitted late to any portion of the examination shall net be allowed e*tra time? An applicant will net be 
admitted to any portion of the examination eftef any applicant has finished that portion and left the examination reoni An applicant 
who dees net write the first portion of the examination shall net he allowed to write ether portions. 

& Official notification of the seem received results  f the examination  shall be by first class United States mail, postage 
prepaid 	addressed  to the applicant's  last known address.  

F An applicant who has failed an examination may haie the examination rcscored by submitting a written request to the 
beard within one month following the release of the results of the examination; and meeting any procedural requirements including 
fees of the examination vendor. 

. An applicant who fails an examination may apply for reexamination en a reexamination application supplied by the 
beard and most obey all other applicable rules? to th examination  must notify  th a ftrn  provided  ki th 
board. On the reauest  to retake  the examination,  an applicant shall respond to questions on the application that relate to the grounds 
for disciplinary action listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.261. The board may require further information of the applicant in 
order to determine whether the applicant has engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action. An applicant must submit true 
information. Falsification or omission of information provides grounds for denial of a license. The application request  to retake ih 
examination  must be notarized. If an application the request  is received without a fee, it shall be returned to the applicant. n 
applicant may only retake  th examination  four times j 	and 	iftn than 	n ever,'  thrn months.  The board will 
notify  j applicant 	jj 	th applicant  is eligible  to retake the examination. Placing  the notice  in fijit  class  United States  
mail, postage prepaid 	addressed  th applicant's  iai known address, constitutes official notification.  

W An applicant may write the examination for Minnesota licensurc specified in this subpart in another jurisdiction if the 
board authorizes the applicant to do so and the jurisdiction is willing to administer the examination. The applicant must meet any 
procedural requirements and pay any fees set by the other jurisdiction. 
6305.0600 APPLICATION NULLIFICATION. 

Subpart I. Licensure by examination. The board will nullify an application for licensure by examination if the applicant: 

A. did not write kn the first or second examination available within 	following submission of a lieensure application 
and fee; 

B. did not rewrite retake  the examination within 2412  months after the last examination failed 
wrote the examination while enrolled in the final terni of study bet 414 not complete the course work during the final terrut 

or 
D 414 not submit the affidavit of graduation within -l- months after the examination. 

The board will not nullify an application if it agrees on a different action during a disciplinary proceeding. 
[For text of subps 2 to 4, see MR.] 

6310.3600 REGISTRATION FEES. 
Subpart 1. Amount. The amount of fees shall be as follows: 

A. registration renewal, 	$40  per registration period; 
B. late application, $20; 
C. replacement license, $20; 
D. replacement registration certificate, $5; 
E. verification of lieensure status, $20; 
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F. verification of examination scores, $20; 
G. a copy of licensure application materials, $20; and 
H. service charge for a dishonored check, $15. 

Subp. 2. Nonrefundable. All fees are nonrefundable. 
REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, pfl  6305.0100. subparts 	iQj 6305.0400. subparts 	and 	and 6305.0700, are 
repealed,  

Adopted Rules 
The adoption of a rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minn. Stat. §14.14-l4.28 have been met and five working days after 

the rule is published in State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified in the rule. 

If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and citation to its previous State Register 
publication will be printed. 

If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will 
be underlined. The rule's previous State Register publication will be cited. 

An emergency rule becomes effective five working days after the approval of the Attorney General as specified in Minn. Stat. § 14.33 and 
upon the approval of the Revisor of Statutes as specified in § 14.36. Notice of approval by the Attorney General will be published as soon as 
practicable, and the adopted emergency rule will be published in the manner provided for adopted rules under § 14.18. 

Department of Natural Resources 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Administration of Mississippi River Management Plan 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 18, Number 14, pages 941-944, October 4, 1993 (18 SR 941), are 
adopted with the following modifications: 
Rules as Adopted 
6105.0870 ADMINISTRATION OF MANAGEMENT PLAN. 

Subp. 11. Otsego. The municipality of Otsego shall enact or amend such ordinances and maps as necessary to: 
C. for the recreational river land use district west of State Highway 101 within Sections 14, 23, 26 and Government Lot I and 

the East 1/2 of the East 1/2 of the Southeast 1/4 of Section 15, Township 121 North, Range 23 West and for the recreational river 
land use district west of CSAH 3.6 42 in Section 26, Township 121 North, Range 23 West, conform to the provisions and adminis-
trative procedures of parts 6105.0010 to 6105.0090; 6105.0100, subparts I and 2; Urban river class standards in parts 6120.3 100, 
6120.3200, and 6120.3300, subpart 2b; 6120.3300, subparts 7 to 12; 6120.3800; and 6105.0110 to 6105.0250 with the following 
exceptions to the provisions of these parts: 

Pollution Control Agency 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Drip Pads for Wood Treatment 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 18, Number 8, pages 610-614, August 23, 1993 (18 SR 610), are 
adopted with the following modifications: 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to existing rule language. &tfike ettts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining  indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike euls indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

(CITE 18 S.R. 1751) 
	

State Register, Monday 24 january 1994 
	

PAGE 1751 



	

Adopted Rules 	
Rules as Adopted 
7001.0623 PART B INFORMATION REQUIREMENTS FOR DRIP PADS. 

Subp. 3. Effective date. This part is effective s4* months after the publication ef the netiee of adoption July 	1224. 
7045.0020 DEFINITIONS. 

Subp. 9c. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency or the com-
missioner's designee. In federal regulations adopted  y reference, the terms "regional administrator"  and "director" mean "com-
missioner."  
7045.0292 ACCUMULATION OF HAZARDOUS WASTE. 

Subpart 1. Large quantity generator. A large quantity generator may accumulate hazardous waste on site without a permit or 
without having interim status if: 

B. the waste is placed in containers which meet the standards of part 7045.0270, subpart 4, and are managed in accordance 
with part 7045.0626; in tanks provided the generator complies with the requirements of part 7045.0628 except part 7045.0628, 
subpart 9, item C, and subpart 12; or [ wood preserving operations  on drip pads, provided the generator complies with part 
7045.0644 and maintains records containing a description of procedures that will be followed to ensure that all wastes are removed 
from drip pads and associated collection systems at least once every 90 days, and maintains documentation of the quantities, dates, 
and times of each waste removal. These records relating to drip pads must be maintained at the licensed site and must be easily 
available for agency inspection; 

Subp. 5. Small quantity generator. A small quantity generator may accumulate up to 3,000 kilograms of hazardous waste that 
is not acute hazardous waste on site without a permit or without having interim status if: 

B. the waste is placed in containers which meet the standards of part 7045.0270, subpart 4, and are managed in accordance 
with part 7045.0626; in tanks provided the generator complies with the requirements of part 7045.0629; or for wood preserving 
operations  on drip pads, provided the generator complies with part 7045.0644 and maintains records containing a description of 
procedures that will be followed to ensure that all wastes are removed from drip pads and associated collection systems at least once 
every 180 days, and maintains documentation of the quantities, dates, and times of each waste removal. These records relating to 
drip pads must be maintained at the licensed site and must be easily available for agency inspection; 

Subp. 6. Very small quantity generator. A very small quantity generator may accumulate waste on site without a permit or 
without having interim status until 1,000 kilograms of hazardous waste that is not acute hazardous waste is accumulated if: 

B. the waste is placed in containers which meet the standards of part 7045.0270, subpart 4, and are managed in accordance 
with part 7045.0626; in tanks provided the generator complies with the requirements of part 7045.0629; or LQL  wood preserving 
operations  on drip pads, provided the generator complies with part 7045.0644 and maintains records containing a description of 
procedures that will be followed to ensure that all wastes are removed from drip pads and associated collection systems at least once 
every 180 days, and maintains documentation of the quantities, dates, and times of each waste removal. These records relating to 
drip pads must be maintained at the licensed site and must be easily available for agency inspection; 
7045.0541 DRIP PADS. 

Subp. 4. Incidental drippage in storage yards. The requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 264, subpart W, 
as amended, are not applicable to the management of infrequent and incidental drippage in storage yards provided that the owner or 
operator maintains and complies with a written contingency plan approved hy the agency, that describes how the owner or operator 
will respond immediately to the discharge of such infrequent and incidental drippage. At a minimum, the contingency plan must 
describe how the owner or operator will do the following: 

Subp. 5. Exceptions to adopted federal regulations. Exceptions to the federal regulations adopted in subpart + are as follows: 
A Where the federal regulations adopted in subpart I refer to other federal regulations, the other federal regulations referred 

to are superseded by their corresponding state rules; where no corresponding state rule exists, the federal regulations referred to do 
not app lyt aed 

& references in the adopted regulations to "regional administrator" mean "commissioner." 
Subp. 6. Effective date. This part is effective si* months after the publication of the notice of adoption July  2 1224. 

7045.0644 DRIP PADS. 
Subpart I. Federal regulations adopted by reference. Owners and operators of facilities that use new or existing drip pads to 

convey treated wood dnppage, precipitation, and/or surface water runoff to an associated collection system are subject to the 
requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part Q64 265,  subpart W, as amended. Existing drip pads and new drip pads 
are defined in part 7045.0020. 
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Subp. 4. Incidental drippage in storage yards. The requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 264, subpart W, 

as amended, are not applicable to the management of infrequent and incidental drippage in storage yards provided that the owner or 
operator maintains and complies with a written contingency plan approvcd y the agcncy, that describes how the owner or operator 
will respond immediately to the discharge of such infrequent and incidental drippage. At a minimum, the contingency plan must 
describe how the owner or operator will do the following: 

Subp. 5. Exceptions to adopted federal regulations. Exccption3 to the fcdcral regulation3 adoptcd i subpart 4. are aa follows: 
A Where the federal regulations adopted in subpart 1 refer to other federal regulations, the other federal regulations referred 

to are superseded by their corresponding state rules; where no corresponding state rule exists, the federal regulations referred to do 
not applyt and 

B rcfcrcncc so the adopted regulations to "rcgional adminirtrator" nseao "commisioncr." 
Subp. 6. Effective date. This part is effective si* months after the publication of the netiee of adoption July 	1994. 

Department of Public Service 
Weights and Measures Division 

Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Regulating Weights and Measures Inspection Fees 
The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 18, Number 1, pages 29-3 1, July 6, 1993 (18 SR 29), and Volume 18, 

Number 12, page 893, September20, 1993 (18 SR 893), and Volume 18, Number 16, page 1129, October 18, 1993 (18 SR 1129), 
are adopted as proposed. 

Secretary of State 
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Uniform Commercial Code Filings 

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 18, Number 9, pages 714-720, August 30, 1993 (18 SR 714), are 
adopted with the following modifications: 
Rules as Adopted 

8270.0050 DEFINITIONS. 
Subp. 12. Information request. "Information request" means a written request made to a filing officer for information about a 

named debtor. An information request may seek either UCC document or tax lien information and will result in a printout of infor-
mation and/or copies of UCC documents i Jjns which have been filed. 

Subp. 21. Statutory lien. "Statutory lien" means a filing  rnii 	perfect an interest created  by  operation of law such 
jjs fg in Minnesota Statutes  chapter 

Subp. 	Tax lien. "Tax lien" means a document evidencing an obligation owed by a taxpayer to a taxing authority. 
Subp. 22 2. Taxing authority. "Taxing authority" means either the Internal Revenue Service or the Minnesota Department of 

Revenue. 
Subp. 22 24.  Taxpayer identification number. "Taxpayer identification number" means the number assigned to a business 

entity by the Internal Revenue Service. 

KEY: PROPOSED RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. H'ike outs indicate 
deletions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated "all new material." ADOPTED 
RULES SECTION - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strike outs indicate deletions from 
proposed rule language. 

S 
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Subp. 24 	Termination. "Termination" means the document used to end the record created by the financing statement and all 

subsequent filings. 
Subp. 2 2.  UCC. "UCC" means the Uniform Commercial Code as adopted in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 336. 

Subp. 24 . UCC-1. "UCC- 1" is a designation used by the Secretary of State to identify the form approved pursuant to chapter 
8260 for use as a financing statement. 

Subp. 2 	. UCC-3. "UCC-3" is a designation used by the Secretary of State to identify the form approved pursuant to chapter 
8260 for use as an amendment or assignment, partially partial  release collateral, or continue or terminate an original financing 
statement. 

Subp. 2g . UCC-11. "UCC-ll" is a designation used by the Secretary of State to identify the form approved pursuant to 
chapter 8260 for use as an information request concerning a particular debtor. 

Subp. 2 Q.  UCC-12. "UCC-12" is a designation used by the Secretary of State to identify the form approved pursuant to 
chapter 8260 for use as an information request concerning a particular taxpayer. 

Subp. 	. UCC document. "UCC document" means a financing statement, statutory lien, or any subsequent filing such as an 
amendment, assignment, partk4 assignment,  continuation, partial release, or termination. 

Subp. 4. 3... Work day. "Work day" means a weekday that is not a federal holiday, a state holiday as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 645.44, subdivision 5, or a county holiday declared by a county's board of commissioners. Work day does not 
include a weekday when government offices have been closed due to a weather or other emergency. 
8270.0200 DATABASE. 

Subp. 3. Maintenance of database. The Secretary of State shall maintain the central database and communications network 
between the filing offices. The Secretary of State is responsible for the cost of maintaining the computer and the equipment used in 
its filing office. Each county, through its recorder, is responsible for the cost of maintaining the equipment in the county recorder's 
filing office providing  the suoplies required  to operate  the equipment  in the filing  Qffle. 
8270.0205 UNAUTHORIZED ENTRY. 

Subpart I. Generally. The Secretary of State shall develop a security system with varying levels of access to the central data-
base which protects the system against unauthorized entry. This will be accomplished by the development of a computer indurtry 
tnndard security system th industry standards  and implemented in cooperation with all filing officers. 

Subp. 4. Periodic review. The staff of the Secretary of State shall regularly review and analyze access levels 	system  & 
trols  of the users of the central database and take every prudent precaution to ensure that unauthorized entry or use does not occur. 

8270.0215 ENTRY DEADLINE. 
For the purpose of uniformity and the ability to accurately state that th availability of filed information, it is the goal of all filing 

officers to have data entered into the central database by noon on the first work day following the filing date. The computer goner-
ated search certificate must identify filing offices that have not met this goal. The Secretary ef &ate will determine when 4t ia net 
technically po33ible te ffieet this data entry gea1 and will take appropriate action. 
8270.0240 INFORMATION RETRIEVAL. 

Subp. 2. Retrieval of information. All filing officers must retrieve information on a requested debtor from the central database 
upon receipt of an information request. All filing officers  nust issue  a certificate  frn^m the central database  in response  j eacl  
information request.  When a filing officer's tax liens are entered in the central database, it must be used to prepare a search respond  
ia lien information requests.  All filing  officers  whose 	liens 	entered  jjfl 	central database 	e a certificate frQrn 

central, database  in response to a each  tax lien information request. 
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	 Revenue Notices 
The Department of Revenue began Issuing revenue notices in July of 1991. Revenue notices are statements of policy made by the department that pro. 
vide interpretation, detail, or supplementary information concerning a particular statute, rule, or departmental practice. The authority to Issue revenue 
notices is found in Minnesota Statutes §270.0604. S 

Department of Revenue 
Revenue Notice #94-2 Corporate Income Tax-Apportionment of Income-Two Factor Weighted 

Formula 
Apportionment of net income from a trade or business carried on partly within and partly without this state is governed by 

Minnesota Statute Section 290.191. When a taxpayer only has two of the three factors for apportionment they may elect to use the 
Two Factor Weighted Formula as computed below. When a taxpayer elects to calculate their apportionment factor using this 
formula the Department will accept the calculation without the taxpayer petitioning the Department for its use under Minnesota 
Statute Section 290.20. 

For those taxpayers that only have two of the three apportionment factors the following two factor weighted formula should be 
applied: 

(Example: Taxpayer has property and sales but no payroll.) 
Property* Factor 
Sales Factor 

15% 
70% 
85% 

Property Weight j.fj 	= 17.6% 
Divided by Total 85% 
Sales Weight = 82.4% 
Divided by Total 85% 
New Weighted Property Factor 17.6% 
New Weighted Sales Factor 82.4% 
Total of Weights 100% 

* The calculation would be the same if a taxpayer had payroll but no property to apportion to the State of Minnesota. 
(Example: Taxpayer has property and payroll but no sales.) 

Property Factor 15% 
Payroll Factor 15% 

30% 
Property Weight 15% = 50% 
Divided by Total 30% 
Payroll Weight 15% = 50% 
Divided by Total 30% 
New Weighted Property Factor 50% 
New Weighted Payroll Factor 50% 
Total of Weights 100% 

Dated: 24 January 1994 
Debra L. McMartin 
Assistant Commissioner for Tax Policy 
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Official Notices 	
Pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes §14.10, an agency, in preparing proposed rules, may seek information or opinion from 

sources outside the agency. Notices of intent to solicit outside opinion must be published in the Skite Register and all interested persons 
afforded the opportunity to submit data or views on the subject, either orally or in writing. 

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies, notices of meetings, and matters of public interest. 

Department of Agriculture 
Minnesota Rural Finance Authority 

Notice of Public Hearing on the Issuance of an Agricultural Development Revenue Bond 
Under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing will be held on February 9 1994, at 9 AM. in Room 145 Department of 
Agriculture Building, 90 West Plato Boulevard, Saint Paul Minnesota, on a proposal that the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority 
(the Authority) issue its revenue bond under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C, in order to finance the purchase of barn improve-
ments and equipment located in Section 29, Bergen Township, McLeod County, Minnesota on behalf of Timothy & Debra 
Mathews, a married couple (the Borrowers). The maximum aggregate face amount of the proposed bond issue is $25,000. The 
revenue bond will be a limited obligation of the Authority, payable solely from the revenue pledged to the payment thereof. No 
holder of such revenue bond will ever have the right to compel any exercise of the taxing power of the State of Minnesota to pay the 
bond or the interest thereon, nor to enforce payment against any property of the Authority or the State of Minnesota, except the rev-
enues specifically pledged to the payment thereof. Before issuing the revenue bond, the Authority will enter into an agreement with 
the Borrower whereby the Borrower will be obligated to make payments at least sufficient at all times to pay the principal of and 
interest on such revenue bond when due. All persons interested may appear and be heard at the time and place set forth above, or 
may file written comments with the Executive Director of the Authority prior to the date of the hearing set forth above. 

Dated: 5 January 1994 
LaVonne Nicolai 
RFA Executive Director 

Notice of Public Hearing on the Issuance of an Agricultural Development Revenue Bond 
Under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing will be held on February 9 1994, at 9 A.M. in Room 145 Department of 
Agriculture Building, 90 West Plato Boulevard, Saint Paul Minnesota, on a proposal that the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority 
(the Authority) issue its revenue bond under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C, in order to finance the purchase of approximately 
185 acres of farmland located in Section 36, Aastad Township, Ottertail County, Minnesota on behalf of Terry Evavold, a single 
person (the Borrower). The maximum aggregate face amount of the proposed bond issue is $140,000. The revenue bond will be a 
limited obligation of the Authority, payable solely from the revenue pledged to the payment thereof. No holder of such revenue 
bond will ever have the right to compel any exercise of the taxing power of the State of Minnesota to pay the bond or the interest 
thereon, nor to enforce payment against any property of the Authority or the State of Minnesota, except the revenues specifically 
pledged to the payment thereof. Before issuing the revenue bond, the Authority will enter into an agreement with the Borrower 
whereby the Borrower will be obligated to make payments at least sufficient at all times to pay the principal of and interest on such 
revenue bond when due. All persons interested may appear and be heard at the time and place set forth above, or may file written 
comments with the Executive Director of the Authority prior to the date of the hearing set forth above. 

Dated: 5 January 1994 
LaVonne Nicolai 
RFA Executive Director 

Notice of Public Hearing on the Issuance of an Agricultural Development Revenue Bond 
Under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a public hearing will be held on February 9 1994, at 9 A.M. in Room 145 Department of 
Agriculture Building, 90 West Plato Boulevard, Saint Paul Minnesota, on a proposal that the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority 
(the Authority) issue its revenue bond under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 41C, in order to finance the purchase of approximately 
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476 acres of farmland located in Sec 16, Township 121, and Sec 5, Township 120, Stearns County, Minnesota on behalf of Peter M. 
Heid and Paul T. Heid, two single persons (the Borrowers). The maximum aggregate face amount of the proposed bond issue is 
$160,000. The revenue bond will be a limited obligation of the Authority, payable solely from the revenue pledged to the payment 
thereof. No holder of such revenue bond will ever have the right to compel any exercise of the taxing power of the State of 
Minnesota to pay the bond or the interest thereon, nor to enforce payment against any property of the Authority or the State of 
Minnesota, except the revenues specifically pledged to the payment thereof. Before issuing the revenue bond, the Authority will 
enter into an agreement with the Borrower whereby the Borrower will be obligated to make payments at least sufficient at all times 
to pay the principal of and interest on such revenue bond when due. All persons interested may appear and be heard at the time and 
place set forth above, or may file written comments with the Executive Director of the Authority prior to the date of the hearing set 
forth above. 

Dated: 5 January 1994 

LaVonne Nicolai 
RFA Executive Director 

Minnesota Lawful Gambling Control Board 
Notice of Intent to Solicit Outside Information Regarding Proposed Rules Governing Bingo 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Lawful Gambling Control Board (Board) is seeking information or opinions 
from outside the agency sources in preparing to propose the adoption of rules governing bingo. The adoption of the rules is autho-
rized by Minnesota Statutes, section 349.15 1, subdivision 4, clause (5), which allows the Board to make rules authorized by Chapter 
349. 

The Board requests information and opinions concerning the subject matter of the nile. Interested persons or groups may submit 
data or views in writing or orally. Written or oral statements or comments should be directed to: 

Sharon Beighley, Rules Coordinator 
Minnesota Lawful Gambling Control Board 
1711 West County Road B, Suite 300 South 
Roseville, MN 55113 
Telephone: (612) 639-4000 

Oral statements will be received during regular business hours, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday. 
All statements of information and opinion will be accepted until further notice. Any written materials received by the Board shall 

become part of the rulemaking record to be submitted to the Attorney General or Administrative Law Judge in the event that the 
rules are adopted. 

Dated: 13 January 1994 
Harry W. Baltzer 
Executive Director 
Gambling Control Board 

Department of Health 
Notice of Completed Application and Notice of and Order for Hearing: In the Matter of the 

License Application of First Care Medical Services, Fosston, Minnesota 
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the Commissioner of Health (here-inafter "Commissioner") has received a completed applica-

tion from First Care Medical Services, Fosston, Minnesota to change the type of service from Basic Ambulance to Advanced 
Ambulance Service. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that, pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.57 - 14.69 and Minn. 
Stat. § 144.802 a public hearing will be held on February 28, 1994 at First Care Medical Services, Nursing Home Cafeteria, 900 
Hilligoss Blvd. E., Fosston, Minnesota, commencing at 7:00 p.m. If you have an interest in this matter you are hereby urged to 
attend the public hearing. Failure to do so may prejudice your rights in this and any subsequent proceedings in this matter. 

(CITE 18 S.R. 1757) 
	

State Register, Monday 24 January 1994 	 PAGE 1757 



Official Notices 	  
1. The purpose of the hearing is to determine whether the application from this ambulance service should be granted based upon 

the criteria set forth in Minn. Stat. § 144.802, subd. 3 (g). 
2. This proceeding has been initiated pursuant to and will be controlled in all aspects by Minn. Stat. § 144.801 - 144.8093, 

Minn. Stat. § 14.57 - 14.69, and Rules for Contested Cases of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minn. R. 1400.5 100-
1400.8402. Copies of the rules and statutes may be obtained for a fee from the Department of Administration, Public Documents 
Division, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone: (612) 297-3000. 

3. James P. Fossum, Office of Administrative Hearings, (Business Address: 611 Oak Street, Brainerd, Minnesota 56401), tele-
phone: (218) 828-3398, will preside as administrative law judge at the hearing, and will make a written recommendation on this 
application. After the hearing, the record and the administrative law judge's recommendation will be forwarded to the 
Commissioner to make the final determination in the matter. 

4. Any person wishing to intervene as a party must submit a petition to do so under Minn. R. 1400.6200 on or before February 
14, 1994. This petition must be submitted to the administrative law judge and shall be served upon all existing parties and the 
Commissioner. Thepetition must show how the contested case affects the petitioner's legal rights, duties or privileges and shall 
state the grounds and purposes for which intervention is sought and indicate petitioner's statutory right to intervene if one exists. 

5. In addition to or in place of participating at the hearing, any person may also submit written recommendations for the disposi-
tion of the application. These recommendations must be mailed to the administrative law judge on or before February 23, 1994. 

6. Any subpoena needed to compel the attendance of witnesses or the production of documents may be obtained pursuant to 
Minn. R. 1400.7000. 

7. At the hearing the applicant will present its evidence showing that a license should be granted and that all persons will be 
given an opportunity to cross-examine witnesses, to be heard orally, to present witnesses, and to submit written data or statements. 
All persons are encouraged to participate in the hearing and are requested to bring to the hearing all documents, records, and wit-
nesses needed to support their position. It is not necessary to intervene as a party in order to participate in the hearing. 

8. Please be advised that if nonpublic data is admitted into evidence, it may become public data unless an objection is made and 
relief is requested under Minn. Stat. § 14.60, subd. 2. 

9. You are hereby informed that you may choose to be represented by an attorney in these proceedings, may represent yourself, 
or be represented by a person of your choice if not otherwise prohibited as the unauthorized practice of law. 

10. A Notice of Appearance must be filed with the administrative law judge identified above within 20 days following receipt of 
the Notice by any person intending to appear at the hearing as a party. 

11. In accordance with the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 14.61, the final decision of the Commissioner in this proceeding will not 
be made until the Report of the Administrative Law Judge has been made available to the parties in this proceeding for at least 10 
days. Any party adversely affected by the Report of the Administrative Law Judge has the right to file exceptions and present argu-
ments to the Commissioner. Any exceptions or arguments must be submitted in writing and filed with the Commissioner of Health, 
717 Delaware Street Southeast, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440, within 10 days of the receipt of the Administrative Law Judge's 
Report. 

Mary Jo O'Brien 
Commissioner of Health 

Department of Human Services 
Health Care Policy Division 

Notice of Solicitation of Outside Information or Opinions Regarding Proposed Rules 
Governing Medical Assistance Payment for Therapeutic Support of Foster Care and Family 
Community Support Services; and Medical Assistance Payment for Wraparound Services. 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State Department of Human Services is seeking information or opinions from sources 
outside the agency in preparing to propose the adoption of rules governing Medical Assistance Payment for Therapeutic Support of 
Foster Care and Family Community Support Services; and Medical Assistance Payment for Wraparound Services. The adoption of 
the rules is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivisions 35, 36, and 37, which authorize medical assistance 
payment for therapeutic support of foster care, family community support services, and wraparound services, and Minnesota 
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Statutes, section 256B.04, subdivision 2, which authorizes the Commissioner to make uniform rules for administering medical 
assistance. 

During the course of the rule development process the following issues may be considered: what kinds of services are covered; 
who is an eligible provider of services; who is eligible to receive services; frequency of services; length of services; nature of ser-
vices; exceptions and limitations to services; conditions under which prior authorization for services will be required; method of 
delivery of services; whether services are dependent upon being integrated in a plan of care; and use of outcomes criteria. 

The State Department of Human Services will form an advisory committee to aid in the development of the rule. The Department 
of Human Services will invite the following persons or associations to join the advisory committee: Minnesota League of Women 
Voters; State Advisory Council on Mental Health; Minnesota Foster Parents Association; Minnesota Licensed Family Child Care 
Association; Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services; Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis; Minnesota Mental Health Law 
Project; Council on Black Minnesotans; Spanish Speaking Affairs Council; Indian Affairs Council; Minnesota Nurses Association; 
Family and Children's Services; Minnesota Psychiatric Society; Minnesota Psychological Association; Board of Marriage & 
Family Therapists; Minnesota Business Partnership; Department of Health; Children's Defense Fund; PACER Center, Inc.; 
Minnesota Association of Community Mental Health Programs; Minnesota Council of Child Caring Agencies; Minnesota Chapter 
of National Association of Social Workers; Wilder Child Guidance; Human Services, Inc.; and Minnesota Association of County 
Social Service Administrators. The State Department of Human Services will appoint the advisory task force by February 1, 1994. 
The advisory task force will complete consideration of the rule by April 15, 1994. The rule adoption process will take approxi-
mately 15 months. 

The State Department of Human Services requests information and opinions concerning the subject matter of the rules. 
Interested persons or groups may submit data or views on the subject matter of concern in writing or orally. Written statements 
should be addressed to: Carol Grant, Rules and Bulletins, Human Services Building, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-3816. 
Oral statements will be received during regular business hours over the telephone by Carol Grant at (612) 297-1217 and in person at 
the above address. 

All statements of information and opinions shall be accepted until further notice is published in the State Register  or the Notice of 
Hearing or Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Hearing is published in the State Register.  Any written material received by 
the State Department of Human Services shall become part of the rulemaking record to be submitted to the attorney general or 
administrative law judge in the event that the rule is adopted. 

Date: 18 January 1994 
Carol Grant 
Rules and Bulletins 

Department of Labor and Industry 
Labor Standards Division 

Notice of Prevailing Wage Certifications for Commercial Construction Projects 
Effective January 24, 1994 prevailing wage rates were determined and certified for commercial construction projects in: 

Hennepin county: 1994 MAC Phase I Parking Structure Rehabilitation, U of M Health Sciences Unit "F' 2nd Floor Laboratories & 
Pharmacy-Minneapolis. Meeker county: 1993 Middle & High School Additions and Remodeling-Litchfield. Ramsey county: St. 
Paul IDS #625 Como Maintenance Facility Vent & A/C Upgrade-St. Paul. St. Louis county: Balkan Community Building 
Improvements-Town of Balkan, BuhI Public Library Doors Replacement-BuhI. 

Copies of the certified wage rates for these projects may be obtained by writing the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 
Prevailing Wage Section, 443 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4306. The charge for the cost of copying and mailing are 
$1.36 per project. Make check or money order payable to the State of Minnesota. 

John B. Lennes, Jr. 
Commissioner 
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State Grants  	
Legislative Coordinating Commission 
Applications are being accepted for 8 positions on the Regent Candidate Advisory Council 

(RCAC). 
The 24-member RCAC recruits, screens and recommends candidates to the Legislature for the University of Minnesota Board of 

Regents. Twelve members of the RCAC are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and twelve are appointed by 
the subcommittee on committees in the Senate. Members receive per diem and expenses; terms are six years. The application 
deadline is Friday, February 11, 1994. For further information and/or application forms, please contact Mary E. Ryan, (612) 296-
1121, 85 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155. 

	

State Grants 	
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts section), the State Register 

also publishes notices about grant funds available through any agency or branch of state government. Although some grant programs 
specifically require printing in a statewide publication such as the Sfaie Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State 
Register itself. 

Agencies are encouraged to publish grant notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for interested parties to 
respond. 

Education Department 
Education and Employment Transitions Council 

Notice of Availability of Request for Proposals for Regional Granting Authorities for 
Entrepreneurship Education 

The Education and Employment Transitions Council is requesting proposals from organizations to act as regional granting 
authorities for entrepreneurship education for high school aged students. Each regional granting authority will distribute grants to 
finance entrepreneurship education programs in high schools including providing teacher training on a regional or local basis. 
Regional granting authorities are also required to use 20 percent of funds received to establish a revolving loan fund to finance busi-
nesses developed and operated by high school aged youth in the region. A regional granting authority will be chosen for each of the 
six Minnesota Foundation Initiative Districts as well as the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area. Regional granting authorities are 
required to provide a dollar-for-dollar cash match to the funds they receive. 

$95,000 is available for these grants. 
Proposals must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on February 23, 1994 
Those interested in receiving request-for-proposals should contact: 

Leo 0. Christenson, Director 
Office of Lifework Development 

and Technology Competence 
Minnesota Department of Education 
740 Capitol Square Building 
550 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, MN 55 101 
(612)282-6274 
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Department of Human Services 

Chemical Dependency Division 

Request for Proposals for Prevention Projeds 
The Chemical Dependency Program Division (CDPD) is requesting proposals to create projects in two areas. They are: (1) 

Resource Centers; (2) Community Prevention Programs. For the community program area, community is defined as state, region 
[multi-county], county, city or town, or neighborhood. 

A total of $1,040,707 is available to be distributed in the following manner: (1) Statewide prevention resource center - approxi-
mately $472,000; (2) African-American resource center - approximately $100,000; (3) ChicanofLatino (Hispanic) resource center; 
(4) Asian-American resource center - approximately $60,000; (5) community prevention programs - approximately $314,707. The 
funded projects will begin on or about July 1, 1994. 

The goals for the resource centers are to provide alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention information and materials for all 
Minnesota residents and for specific cultures. The second goal is to provide technical assistance to communities or organizations 
which would increase capacity for providing prevention services. 

The goal of the community prevention projects is to increase awareness of alcohol, tobacco and other drug abuse problems as 
they affect community attitudes and behaviors regarding what is acceptable alcohol, tobacco and other drug use. 

Both the resource centers and community preventions applications must create programs that address two or more of seven pre-
vention strategies listed in the request for proposal. 

Telephone requests for programmatic information concerning this RFP should be directed to Sharon L. Johnson at (612) 296-
4711. Budget/fund usequestions should be directed to Mike Zeman at (612) 297-1863. 

Department of Jobs and Training 
The Community Based Services (CBS) of the Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training 

hereby solicits applications for providing employment and training services pursuant to 
Title IV, Part C, of the Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA). 

In Minnesota, approximately $123,000 is available to fund two projects, one rural and one metro (seven county metro area). If 
approved, services will be effective April 1, 1994 through March 31, 1995. 

Title IV-C of JTPA provides for programs to meet the employment and training needs of service-connected disabled veterans, 
veterans of the Vietnam-era, and veterans who are recently separated from military service. Activities and all other services pro-
vided by JTPA Title IV-C funds must provide training and employment services which are unique, complementary to and not 
duplicative of those available through Disabled Veterans' Outreach Program (DVOP) specialists and Local Veterans' Employment 
Representatives (LVEPs) or other Veteran-related employment and training programs. In addition, all participants who are pro-
vided services through Title IV-C funds must be provided a training activity. 

If your organization wishes to apply for this RFP to provide services through the JTPA Title IV-C program, please contact John 
Harvanko for a RFP package. Completed RFPs are due no later than 4:30 p.m. February 25, 1994 (ATTN: John Harvanko). 
Any applications received after that date and time or applications that are incomplete will not be considered for funding. All 
funding available through the JTPA Title IV-C is contingent on funding from the U.S. Department of Labor. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to call John Harvanko at (612) 297-3416. 
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Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 	
Department of Administration procedures require that notice of any consultant services contract or professional and technical services con-

tract which has an estimated cost of over $10,000 be printed in the State Register. These procedures also require that the following information 
he included in the notice: name of contact person, agency name and address, description of project and tasks, cost estimate, and final submission 
date of completed contract proposal. Certain quasi-state agencies are exempted from some of the provisions of this statute. 

In accordance with Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1910, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime con-
tractors shall receive the equivalent of a 6% preference in the evaluation of their proposal. For information regarding certification, call the 
Materials Management Helpline (612)296-2600 or [TDD (612)297-5353 and ask for 296-2600]. 

Department of Administration 
The Department of Human Services Request for Interviews 

The State of Minnesota proposes to implement a statewide Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) system to disburse food stamps 
and cash benefits to recipients of public assistance. 

A newly created state EBT Task Force has been charged with the responsibility of preparing a Request for Proposal. As one part 
of the feasibility study phase of the project plan the Task Force would like to have vendors participate by providing information 
about the products/services they offer, including the system potential for delivery of other government services and benefits. 
Several days at the end of February, 1994 are being designated for "vendor interviews." 

Any vendor who is interested in presenting information at an interview must contact the following person to establish a time on 
the agenda and receive further information detailing questions that the state would like addressed: 

Jan Devens 
EBT Section 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
444 Lafayette Rd. 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55 155-3845 
(612) 282-5554 
or 
(612) 297-5840 FAX 

Reserved time must be scheduled NO LATER THAN FEBRUARY 7. 1994. 

Department of Human Services 
The Children's Trust Fund (CTF) 

Request for Proposals to Write Copy for a Quarterly Publication and Other Related Material 
The Children's Trust Fund is seeking proposals from experienced individuals or agencies to write copy and assist in production 

of the CTF's quarterly publication, The Children's Fire. The recipient of the grant award will be expected to: 
research the literature, write original copy, interview subjects, write and edit articles in accord with the thematic direction set 

forth by the CTF; 
provide draft copy in rough layout format and final copy on diskette to the executive director of the CTF; be responsible for the 

final mailsort of each issue, delivery to the designated post office and the cost of bulk mailing up to 5,000 copies. (Final desktop 
creation and printing of the newsletter is not included in this proposal.) Each publication usually consists of 8 pages, 8 1/2" x 11". 
The recipient will be required to write additional copy for CTF reports and brochures as directed and as the budget allows. Priority 
consideration will be given to applicants who provide a demonstrated sensitivity and experience/expertise in writing material 
directly related to the primary and secondary prevention of child maltreatment. - 
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   Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 
Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 
Submission of Proposals 
Proposals must be submitted no later than 4:00 p.m., February 15, 1994, to Maureen Cannon, Executive Director, The Children's 

Trust Fund, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55 155-3839. Telephone: 612/296-KIDS. 
Proposals are to include the résume of the person(s) who will be responsible for writing copy, samples of their published material 

and a per issue line item budget. Please provide an original and five (5) photocopies of the proposal. Samples of materials submit-
ted will be returned to the applicant upon request. Proposals must be signed, in ink, by an authorized member of the firm submitting 
proposal. 

Review of Proposals 
All proposals received by the above deadline will be reviewed and evaluated by a committee selected for this purpose by the 

CTF. An interview/presentation with the committee may be part of the process. 
This Request for Proposals does not obligate the State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services nor the Children's Trust 

Fund to accept any of the proposals submitted. 
Tentative Proposal/Grant Contract Timelines 

Publication in the State Register: Monday, January 24, 1994. 
Response Period: January 25, 1994 to 4:00 PM, February 15, 1994. 
Respondent Interviews (Tentative Date): February 24 and 25, 1994. 
Anticipated Beginning Date of Grant Contract: April 1, 1994. 
Term of Grant Contract: Twenty-four (24) months. 
Amount of Grant Award: Not to exceed $50,000.00. 

Department of Transportation 
Proposals Sought for Market Research AME Business Plan 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation requests proposals to conduct focus groups to better understand needs of drivers 
and customers in the Worthington-Windom area. 

This request for proposal does not obligate the state to complete the project, and the state reserves the right to cancel the solicita-
tion if it is considered to be in its best interest. 

A. SCOPE OF THE PROJECT 
The contracted agency will conduct ten focus groups involving ten designated segments of users in order to explore customer 
perceptions of Mn/DOT Maintenance roadway safety, roadway structural integrity (smooth pavements, spring postings, etc.), 
bridges, roadway free of obstructions (snow and ice, debris, delay, etc.), roadside attractiveness (vegetation height control, 
noxious weeds, and litter), and motorist services. 

B. GOALS AND OBJECTIVES 
To determine what factors the public uses as measurements; when is a highway well maintained, what makes a customer feel 
satisfied/dissatisfied, what is the relative importance of the various products/ services, what does the customer expect, and 
what concerns the customer the most. 
To understand customer/road user/driver satisfaction and needs related to Mn/DOT's responsibility in the area of mainte-
nance activities on the Minnesota Trunk Highway systems. 
To provide Mn/DOT with information that can be used to make decisions regarding what maintenance products and services 
are viewed as important to the customer. 
To set a framework for additional market research conducted by Mn/DOT. 
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Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts  	
C. PROJECT TASKS 

Conduct ten focus groups in the area of Worthington-Windom involving matched sample of six to eight participants from 
each of following customer/user segments (independent truck owner operator, managers of trucking companies, school dis-
trict transportation coordinators, managers of food processing plants, farmers, agri-business people, commuters to work by 
age groups of 18 to 34, 34 to 55, and 55+), and representatives of wildlife and naturalist groups. 

Employ a sequence of questions designed to reveal criteria used by the roadway user to evaluate maintenance products/ser-
vices, user-perceived needs and expectation, usefulness of increased weather and road condition information, and acceptance 
of problem prevention strategies in Mn/Dot road maintenance/preservation activities (for example, applying salt before the 
storm). 

Tasks: 

• Recruit participants 
• Collaborate with the project team to design the focus group script. 
• Design and provide incentive for participants. 
• Conduct a pretest of focus group selection process, format, and script and modify process as needed. 
• Provide the focus group settings, complete with viewing area. 
• Moderate the focus groups, using the same moderator for all groups. 
• Create, administer, and summarize participant evaluation. 
• Review the focus group process with six to ten Mn/DOT employees so they can facilitate a similar process with 

Mn/DOT work teams. 

Deliverables: 

Report, including 
• executive summary, 
• implications, 
• facilitator impressions of customers' messages to Mn/DOT, 
• suggestions (concerning both process and content) for future research which would help Mn/DOT achieve both 

its information and learning objectives. 
• Videotapes of each focus group. 
• Typed verbatim transcription of focus group proceedings. 
• Facilitator compilation of key words and phrases used by participants to describe services and satisfaction/unmet needs 

in order to establish how road users talk about what Mn/DOT provides for them. 
• Two half-day meetings in which to present findings and discuss implications. 

Responder may propose additional tasks or activities if they will substantially improve the results of the project. 

D. DEPARTMENT CONTACTS 
Prospective responders who have any questions regarding this request for proposal may call or write: 

Name: Jerry Miller 
Title: 	Assistant District Engineer 
Address: RR 3, Box 333 

Morris, MN 56267 
Phone: 612-589-7001 

Please note that other department personnel are not allowed to discuss the project with responders before the submittal of pro-
posed deadline. 

E. SUBMISSION OF PROPOSALS 
All proposals must be sent to and received by: 

Name: Jerry Miller 
Title: 	Assistant District Engineer 
Address: RR 3, Box 333 

Morris, MN 56267 

Not later than 12:01 PM, February 15, 1994. 
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   Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 
Late proposals will not be accepted. Submit nine copies of the proposal. Proposals are to be sealed in mailing envelopes or 
packages with the responder's name and address clearly written on the outside. Each copy of the proposal must be signed, in 
ink, by an authorized member of the firm. Prices and terms of the proposal as stated must be valid for the length of the 
project. 

F. PROJECT COSTS 
The department has estimated that the cost of this project should not exceed $30,000. 

G. PROJECT COMPLETION DATE: 
The project will be completed by May 1, 1994; or within two months from the date of project authorization. 

H. PROPOSAL CONTENTS 
Nine copies of the proposal must be submitted. 
The following will be considered minimum contents of the proposal: 
I. A restatement of the objectives, goals, and tasks to show the responder's view of the nature of the project. 
2. A description of the deliverables to be provided by the responder. 
3. A brief description of the responder's background and experience specifically relevant to the project and including expe-

rience with public sector organizations. 
4. Identification of personnel to conduct the project and their qualifications. No change in personnel assigned to this 

project will be permitted without the approval of the Project Coordinator. 

5. Any expectations of participation of the department, including any services to be provided. 

EVALUATION CRITERIA 
All proposals received by the deadline will be evaluated by representatives of the Department of Transportation. In some 
instances, an interview will be part of the evaluation process. 
In accordance with Minnesota Rules Part 1230.1919, certified Targeted Group Businesses and individuals submitting propos-
als as prime contractors shall receive the equivalent of a 6 percent preference in the evaluation of their proposal, and certified 
Economically Disadvantaged Businesses and individuals submitting proposals as prime contractors shall receive the equiva-
lent of 4 percent preference in the evaluation of their proposal. 
Factors upon which proposals will be judged are, but are not limited to, the following: 
1. Expressed understanding of the project objectives. 
2. Project work plan. 
3. Project cost detail, by activity. 
4. Qualifications of both company and personnel. Experience of project personnel will be given greater weight than that of 

the firm. 
Evaluation and selection will be completed by March 1, 1994. 

J. WORKER'S COMPENSATION 
The successful responder will be required to submit acceptable evidence of compliance with worker's compensation insur-
ance coverage requirements prior to execution of the contract. 
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Attvctct w u2cWfe tcryowr prop erty... 
Ld4c4.p'for Wi242fr 

Best-selling guide to attracting wildlife with your landscaping plans 
that are easy and inexpensive. Packed with diagrams and 70 color 
photos. 144 pp.  Paperback. 	9-15 SR 	$9.95. 

W&od,workvt' for Wi241fe' 
Sports 185 color photos and 28 building diagrams for nest boxes and 
platforms to attract more than 50 species of birds and mannals. 
112 pp.  Paperback. 	 9-14 SR 	$9.95 

Save $2.00 by purchasing both publications together. 9-2OSR $17.95 

Available through Minnesota's Bookstore.Use the handy order form on the back of the State Register to order. 
Visit Minnesota's Bookstore to view a variety of wildlife publications. 

Professional, Technical & Consulting Contracts 	  

Department of Transportation 
Operations Division 

'Notice of Availability of Contract for Interactive Travel Information System. 
The Minnesota Department of Transportation is requesting proposals for the design and prototype of an interactive travel infor-

mation system at three sites on the interstate highway system at travel information centers. The department has estimated that the 
cost of this project need not approach but shall not exceed $100,000. It is anticipated that the contract period will begin on March 
15, 1994 and continue through June 30, 1994. 

For further information, or to obtain a copy of the completed Request for Proposal, contact: 

Marj Ebensteiner 
Office of Financial Administration 
Mn/DOT 
417 Transportation Building 
395 John Ireland Boulevard 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155 
Phone: (612) 296-5472 

Proposals must be received at the above address no later than February 25, 1994. 
This request does not obligate the State of Minnesota Department of Transportation to complete the work contemplated in this 

notice, and the department reserves the right to cancel this solicitation. All expenses incurred in responding to this notice shall be 
borne by the responder. 

Publication editors: As a public service, please repdnl this ad in your publication as is. reduced, enlarged, or redesigned to suit your format. Thank you. 
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STATE OF MINNESOTA 

Department of 
Administration 

/i%.  ATTENTION: Minnnesota Business Leaders 
Avoid getting lost in your serarch for government services and marketing information. 
Reach your market and keep you on top of state government policies and programs. 

      

Business & Professional Directories 
Minnesota Guidebook to State Agency Services 1992-95 
An obvious "headliner" on any list for the business reference desk. 
The perfect "owner's manual" to Minnesota state government is a 
great reference tool for: 

* 	applying for grants, bidding on contracts 
* 	addresses, phone numbers and key contact people for each agency 
* 	license requirements and fees 
* 	gaining access to government services 
* 	participang in state policy making and service delivery 
* 	understanding the structure of Minnesota government with 

detailed descripons of state agencies, their funcons and services. 
AMUSTforthe Minnesota business person. 710 pp.  Stock No. 1-11 SR REDUCED PRICE--$1 0 NOW $9.95 

Minnesota Manufacturer's Directory 1993 
Lists companies alphabetically, by community, and by type 
of product manufactured. Includes name, address, phone 
number, sales volume, market products, area sales, 
marketing and purchasing. Also FAX numbers, data 
processing managers and chief engineers, when available. 
742 pp. 	Stock No. 40-2 SR $95.00 

Healing Arts (Physician's) Directory 1991 
Names and addresses in alphabetical order for licensed 
physicians, chiropractors, osteopaths, optometrists, podiatrists and 
registered physical therapists. 426 pp. 
Stock No. 1-1 SR $19.95 

State Agency Telephone Directory 
Orders are now being taken for the 1994 Dire ctoiy. 
This directory lists all State of Minnesota government agencies. 
Features a greatly expanded FAX section with over 250 numbers, 
alphabetical employee listings, a classified section, organized by 
department, and "yellow pages" listing state offices in Greater 
Minnesota. 264pp. Stock No. 1-87 SR $12.95 

Airport Directory 1993 
List of airports throughout the state. Approaches, rivers, all 
detailed markings, and much more. 178 pp. (pocket-size) 
Stock No. 1-8 SR $5.95 

Law Enforcement Directory 1993 
Directory of state law enforcement agencies, sheriffs and police 
departments 5lpp. Stock No. 1-6 SR $ 7.00 

Directory of Chemical Dependency Programs '92-93 
Comprehensive listing of chemical dependency treatment 
programs in Minnesota. Information on services provided, funding 
and staff, and a map are also included. 282 pp. 
StockNo. 1-12 SR $17.00 

Mailing Lists 
Let our Mailing List Service guide you through their broad 
selection of State of Minnesota licensed professionals and 
permit holders. Lists are available in a variety of formats 
including computer printouts, directories, cheshire or pressure-
sensirive labels, or diskette. For a free catalog or further 
information, call - 612/ 296-0930. 

Minnesota's Bookstore 
117 University, St Paul, Minnesota 55155 (located 1/2 block west of the State Capitol) 

612/297-3000 (Metro area) 1-800-657-3757 (Toll Free) 

TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf): 612/282-5077 1-800-657-3706 (Toll Free) 
FAX 612/296-2265 	Online computer access: 612/821-4096 (8-N-i, 1200/2400 bps) 



NOTE: 

STATE REGISTER and other 
subscriptions do not require sales tax 
or postage and handling fees. 

AMERICAN 
EXPRESS 
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Second Class 
U.S. Postage 

Paid 
Permit No. 

326630 
St. Paul, MN 

Deparnient ot 
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Print Communications Division 
117 University Avenue • St. Paul. Minnesota 55155 
Metro Area 612-297-3000 (FAX: 612-296-2265) 
Toll free -800-657-3757 
TDD (612) 282-5077 
Metro Area (612) 297-5353 Greater MN 1-800-627-3529 

  

Please notify us of any address changes so 
that we can continue to give you our best 
service. Include your old mailing label to 
speed your service. 

Printed on recycled paper 
15% post-consumer waste Legislative Reference Library 

Kim Hanson 
645 State Office Bldg 
INTEROFFICE 

7B50 
00/00 

TO ORDER: 
Complete attached order blank. Include either 

your VISA/MasterCard, American Express or 
Discover credit card number with the expiration 
date, or a check/money order made out to the 
State of Minnesota. Orders by phone are 
accepted when purchasing with your credit card. 
Please include a phone number where you can 
be reached during the day in case we have ques-
tions about your order. 

Please include sales tax and $3.00 postage 
and handling. 

PREPAYMENT REQUIRED. 
Merchandise may be returned if it is in resalable 

condition. 

Metro area 612) 297-3000 
Toll-Free 1-800-657-3757 
Facsimile (FAX) (612) 296-2265 

Telecommunications Device for the Deaf access 
to all PrintComm services: 
Metro: 282-5077 Nationwide: 1-800-657-3706 

Prices subject to change without notice. 
Please allow about 6 weeks for delivery. 
In a hurry? Stop by our Bookstore. 
Bookstore hours: 7-5:30 Monday-Thursday 

7-4:30 Friday  

For Your Convenience, photocopy this order blank 

Code 
No. Quantity Description 

Item 
Price Total 

Name or Company Subtotal 

Attention 6'/2% tax 
MN residents 

7% St. Paul residents Address 

City State Zip Shipping 
(per order) $3.00 

American Express/VISA/MasterCard/Discover No. TOTAL 
Signature Expiration Date. Telephone (During Day) 

If tax exempt, please provide ES number or send completed exemption form. 	SR-18 
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