
9510.2040 SURCHARGE APPEALS.​

Subpart 1. When allowed. A nursing home, Minnesota hospital, or HMO may appeal the​
amount of each medical care surcharge payment assessed under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657.​

Subp. 2. Criteria. To be effective, an appeal must meet the criteria in items A and B.​

A. The nursing home, Minnesota hospital, or HMO must appeal to the commissioner in​
writing. The appeal must be received by the commissioner no later than 30 days after the nursing​
home, Minnesota hospital, or HMO receives notice of the medical care surcharge amount. Unless​
the nursing home, Minnesota hospital, or HMO can establish a different date of receipt, the​
commissioner shall determine the date of receipt of the notice of the medical care surcharge amount​
to be three days after the notice was mailed by the commissioner, excluding Sundays and holidays.​

B. The appeal must specify:​

(1) the basis for the dispute;​

(2) the computation and the amount the appealing party believes to be correct;​

(3) the name and address of the person or firm with whom contacts may be made​
regarding the appeal; and​

(4) a statement under oath indicating the date on which the payment notice was received​
by the appealing party.​

Subp. 3. Resolution. The commissioner and the appealing party may attempt to resolve the​
appeal informally. If the dispute is not resolved informally between the commissioner and the party​
filing the appeal under subpart 2, item A, the appeal will be heard according to the contested case​
provisions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings.​
Upon agreement of both parties, the dispute may be resolved informally through any modified​
appeal procedures established by agreement between the commissioner and the chief administrative​
law judge.​

Subp. 4. Surcharge payment during appeal. The monthly medical care surcharge amounts​
established by the commissioner before an appeal must be paid by the dates due while an appeal​
is pending.​

Subp. 5. Resolution of appeal. If an appeal results in a determination that payment is due the​
appealing party, the commissioner shall settle-up with the appellant after the exhaustion of the​
appeal process. For purposes of this subpart, "exhaustion of the appeal process" means within 45​
days of the date of the final decision of the court of appeals or the Minnesota Supreme Court if​
such a judicial review is sought. If no judicial review is sought, "exhaustion of the appeal process"​
means within 45 days of the date of the final decision of the commissioner.​

Subp. 6. Monthly appeals. An appeal must be filed for each month's disputed medical care​
surcharge amount due. The appeals may be consolidated in a contested case hearing under Minnesota​
Statutes, chapter 14. The medical care surcharge amount shall not be adjusted for any month for​
which an appeal was not filed.​
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