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9055.0150 PURPOSE.​

This chapter provides the procedures followed by the Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs,​
Programs and Services Division and sets forth the eligibility requirements and the proof and evidence​
necessary for a person to establish a right to benefits and services provided by law. The commissioner​
must interpret this chapter to give meaning to Minnesota Statutes, chapters 196 and 197.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
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History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0160 DEFINITIONS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. The definitions in this part apply to this chapter.​

Subp. 2. Acute medical condition. "Acute medical condition" means a diagnosis, illness, or​
injury of abrupt onset, or when the clinical effects of an existing medical condition are most intense.​
An acute medical condition is accompanied by distinct symptoms requiring urgent or short-term​
care but tend to get better once treated and are generally curable. An acute medical condition​
includes severe recurrences of chronic medical conditions and invasive medical procedures and​
treatments that require a period of recovery.​

Subp. 3. Addendum. "Addendum" means a modification of an item or expense that the​
commissioner has approved and is part of a veteran's relief grant.​

Subp. 4. Adult child. "Adult child" means a child of a veteran who:​

A. is a biological child of a veteran, was legally adopted before the age of 18 years, or is​
a stepchild who acquired that status before the age of 18 years;​

B. is a member of the veteran's household or was a member of the veteran's household at​
the time of the veteran's death;​

C. is over the age of 18 years;​

D. before reaching the age of 18 years, becomes permanently incapable of self support or​
who after reaching the age of 18 years and until completion of education or training, but not after​
reaching the age of 23 years, is pursuing a course of instruction at an education institution; and​

E. is unmarried.​

Subp. 5. Appeal. "Appeal" means a written statement from an applicant or a recipient who is​
expressing disagreement with a decision made by the commissioner and is requesting to have the​
decision re-evaluated by the commissioner.​

Subp. 6. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who has submitted an application for benefits​
from the state soldiers assistance program to the commissioner and whose application has not been​
approved, denied, or voluntarily withdrawn.​

Subp. 7. Armed forces. "Armed forces" means the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps,​
Air Force, Space Force, and Coast Guard, including the reserve components.​

Subp. 8. Authorized representative. "Authorized representative" means a person who is​
legally authorized to act on another person's behalf in matters involving assistance from the​
commissioner.​

Subp. 9. Basic needs. "Basic needs" means the minimum requirements of personal sustenance​
to include food, clothing, shelter, utilities, transportation costs, and other items of which the loss,​
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or lack of, is determined by the commissioner to pose a direct, immediate threat to the health or​
safety of the applicant or recipient.​

Subp. 10. Business records. "Business records" means copies of daily, weekly, or monthly​
ledgers, income and expense statements, invoices, itemized receipts, purchase orders, copies of​
customer receipts, transportation logs, canceled checks, copies of business savings and checking​
account statements, federal and state tax filings, and a completed monthly self-employment​
worksheet.​

Subp. 11. Child. "Child" means a child of a veteran who:​

A. is a biological child of a veteran, was legally adopted before the age of 18 years, or is​
a stepchild who acquired that status before the age of 18 years;​

B. is a member of the veteran's household or was a member of the veteran's household at​
the time of the veteran's death;​

C. is under the age of 18 years; and​

D. is unmarried.​

Subp. 12. Chronic medical condition. "Chronic medical condition" means a diagnosis, illness,​
or condition that develops slowly and may progress in severity over an extended period with frequent​
recurrences.​

Subp. 13. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota​
Department of Veterans Affairs or another department employee who has delegated authority from​
the commissioner.​

Subp. 14. Contingency operations. "Contingency operations" means a military operation​
designated by the United States Secretary of Defense as an operation in which members of the​
armed forces are or may become involved in military actions, operations, or hostilities against an​
enemy of the United States or against an opposing military force outside of the United States.​

Subp. 15. County veterans service officer. "County veterans service officer" means a veteran​
who meets the qualifications of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.601, and is appointed by a county​
in Minnesota to assist persons in applying for veterans benefits. County veterans service officer​
also includes assistant county veterans service officers.​

Subp. 16. Date of application. "Date of application" means either the day the application for​
a benefit is signed by the applicant or the day the application is received by the commissioner if​
the application is received more than 30 days after it is signed by the applicant.​

Subp. 17. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs.​

Subp. 18. Dependent. "Dependent" means any of the following household members of a living​
or deceased veteran:​

A. the veteran's spouse;​
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B. a child;​

C. an adult child; or​

D. a parent who is financially dependent upon the veteran or veteran's spouse and is residing​
with the household or was residing with the household at the time of the veteran's death.​

Subp. 19. Determination of eligibility. "Determination of eligibility" means the process of​
collecting and reviewing information to determine an applicant's or a recipient's eligibility for​
assistance.​

Subp. 20. Documentation. "Documentation" means a written or printed presentation of​
information provided by a third party.​

Subp. 21. Extended federal active duty. "Extended federal active duty" means active duty​
that is expected to last more than 30 days and is in support of contingency operations.​

Subp. 22. Financially dependent. "Financially dependent" means the income and assets of a​
dependent parent or dependent parents are less than the limits provided in the schedule of maximum​
monthly allowances.​

Subp. 23. Financial self-sufficiency. "Financial self-sufficiency" means an applicant's or a​
recipient's current or projected monthly household income or household assets are or will be​
sufficient to afford the applicant's or recipient's basic needs.​

Subp. 24. Health insurance. "Health insurance" means medical, dental, optical, and prescription​
drug insurance.​

Subp. 25. Household. "Household" means an applicant and the applicant's dependents or a​
recipient and the recipient's dependents who as a group are eligible to receive benefits from a state​
soldiers assistance program activity and whose collective needs and combined income and assets​
are considered when determining eligibility for benefits and calculating benefit amounts.​

Subp. 26. Joint liability. "Joint liability" means two or more persons are responsible for the​
cost of an item or expense and each person is responsible for up to the full amount of the item or​
expense.​

Subp. 27. Long-term disability benefit.​

A. "Long-term disability benefit" means any public or private benefit or entitlement that​
provides income on a regular recurring basis to a person due to a medical condition and has a benefit​
duration of more than one year or is designated by the entity administering the benefit or entitlement​
as being a long-term benefit or entitlement.​

B. Long-term disability benefits include:​

(1) pension benefits from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs;​

(2) Social Security Disability Insurance;​

(3) public or private long-term disability insurance;​
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(4) Supplemental Security Income;​

(5) workers' compensation paid to the recipient as a cash benefit;​

(6) disability compensation from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for​
a 100 percent service-connected disability rating or disability compensation paid for individual​
unemployability;​

(7) military disability benefits from the United States Department of Defense for a 100​
percent service-connected disability rating;​

(8) state, local, and federal government disability benefits; and​

(9) other long-term sources of income paid to a person due to a medical condition.​

Subp. 28. Long-term maintenance benefit.​

A. "Long-term maintenance benefit" means any public or private benefit or entitlement​
that provides income on a regular recurring basis to a person and has a benefit duration of more​
than one year or is designated by the entity administering the benefit or entitlement as being a​
long-term benefit or entitlement.​

B. Long-term maintenance benefits include:​

(1) long-term disability benefits;​

(2) disability compensation for a less than 100 percent service-connected disability​
rating, dependent indemnity compensation, and survivors pension from the United States Department​
of Veterans Affairs;​

(3) military disability benefits from the United States Department of Defense for a less​
than 100 percent service-connected disability rating;​

(4) Social Security retirement and survivor benefits;​

(5) railroad retirement and survivor benefits;​

(6) state, local, and federal government retirement and survivor benefits;​

(7) private retirement and survivor benefits; and​

(8) other long-term sources of income paid to a person as a public or private benefit or​
entitlement.​

Subp. 29. Medical condition. "Medical condition" means a diagnosis, illness, injury, medical​
procedure, or treatment that is documented by a licensed provider. Medical conditions are either​
acute or chronic.​
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Subp. 30. Military discharge papers; or equivalent.​

A. "Military discharge papers" means any form or document issued to a person by the​
United States Department of Defense at the time of the person's release from active duty, separation​
from the armed forces, or discharge from the armed forces.​

B. "Or equivalent" means documentation from the National Archives (Form 13038) that​
certifies a person's military service and discharge from the armed forces.​

Subp. 31. Nontraditional housing agreement. "Nontraditional housing agreement" means​
an arrangement for shelter between persons in which the living space provided for shelter is within​
the primary residence of one of the persons.​

Subp. 32. Once-per-lifetime basis. "Once-per-lifetime basis" means that the benefit is used​
only once in a person's lifetime regardless of the benefit amount expended when the benefit is used.​

Subp. 33. Parent. "Parent" means a person who is a biological, adoptive, or stepparent of a​
veteran or veteran's spouse.​

Subp. 34. Recipient. "Recipient" means a person who is approved for a benefit from a state​
soldiers assistance program activity.​

Subp. 35. Schedule of maximum monthly allowances. "Schedule of maximum monthly​
allowances" means:​

A. the maximum monthly household income limits and maximum household asset limits​
for a state soldiers assistance program activity; and​

B. the benefit amounts provided under a state soldiers assistance program activity.​

Subp. 36. Shared expense. "Shared expense" means an expense that is shared between a​
person who is eligible to receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance program and a person​
who is not eligible to receive benefits.​

Subp. 37. Shared household. "Shared household" means a household, plus other persons​
residing with the household, who are not eligible to receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance​
program.​

Subp. 38. Shared item. "Shared item" means an item for which the cost of the item is shared​
between a person who is eligible to receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance program and​
a person who is not eligible to receive benefits.​

Subp. 39. Short-term disability benefit.​

A. "Short-term disability benefit" means any public or private benefit or entitlement that​
provides income on a regular recurring basis to a person due to a medical condition and that has a​
benefit duration of not more than one year or is designated by the entity administering the benefit​
or entitlement as being a short-term benefit or entitlement.​

B. Short-term disability benefits include:​
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(1) short-term disability insurance of any type;​

(2) workers' compensation paid to the recipient as a cash benefit that is expected to last​
less than one year; and​

(3) other short-term sources of income paid to a person due to a medical condition.​

Subp. 40. Spouse. "Spouse" means a person legally married to a veteran, as recognized by the​
state of Minnesota.​

Subp. 41. State soldiers assistance funding. "State soldiers assistance funding" means money​
appropriated by law for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sections 197.03 to 197.07, and includes​
other money as designated pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause​
(5).​

Subp. 42. State soldiers assistance program. "State soldiers assistance program" means a​
group of individual program activities established under this part and administered by the​
commissioner to provide benefits to an eligible person and members of the eligible person's​
household.​

Subp. 43. State soldiers assistance program activity. "State soldiers assistance program​
activity" means an individual program within the state soldiers assistance program that provides a​
specific type of benefit.​

Subp. 44. Surviving dependent. "Surviving dependent" means a dependent of a deceased​
veteran.​

Subp. 45. Surviving spouse. "Surviving spouse" means a person who was legally married, as​
recognized by the state of Minnesota, to a veteran at the time of the veteran's death and who has​
not remarried.​

Subp. 46. United States Department of Defense. "United States Department of Defense"​
means the executive branch department of the federal government of the United States charged​
with coordinating and supervising all agencies and functions of the government concerned directly​
with national security and the United States armed forces.​

Subp. 47. United States Department of Veterans Affairs. "United States Department of​
Veterans Affairs" means the federal executive branch agency that administers federal benefits under​
United States Code, title 38, for veterans, veterans' dependents, and veterans' survivors.​

Subp. 48. Utilities. "Utilities" means natural gas and electric charges, landline or cellular​
telephone service, Internet service, bulk fuel charges, water and sewer charges, and sanitation​
charges for a recipient and members of the recipient's household.​

Subp. 49. Vendor and contractor. "Vendor and contractor" means a provider of goods or​
services.​

Subp. 50. Veteran. "Veteran" means a person who has met the requirements as provided in​
Minnesota Statutes, section 197.447.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0170 COMMISSIONER'S TECHNICAL STAFF.​

Subpart 1. Definition. "Commissioner's technical staff" means those persons whose primary​
job duties are those detailed in Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05.​

Subp. 2. Requirements. Individuals on the commissioner's technical staff must have the same​
qualifications as the commissioner, as outlined in Minnesota Statutes, section 196.02, subdivision​
1.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 196.04​
History: 16 SR 1709; 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: December 14, 2022​

9055.0180 VETERANS CLAIMS DIVISION.​

Subpart 1. Purpose of division. The veterans claims division is a division of the department​
and must act as the agent for a veteran or a veteran's dependents, or both, if the veteran or veteran's​
dependents are residents of Minnesota and have a claim against the United States for benefits arising​
out of or by reason of the veteran's service in the armed forces.​

Subp. 2. Representation. The veterans claims division must represent a veteran or a veteran's​
dependents, or both, upon request and without charge. The veterans claims division must provide​
claims representation on behalf of federally recognized veterans organizations who have requested​
in writing that the commissioner provided such services to a veteran or a veteran's dependents, or​
both.​

Subp. 3. Termination. The veterans claims division must terminate its representation of a​
person who:​

A. appoints another individual to represent the person's claim;​

B. threatens the personal safety of department employees;​

C. disrupts the operations of any department office; or​

D. takes any action that is deemed detrimental to the person's claim.​

Subp. 4. Federal law to govern procedure. The veterans claims division must operate in​
accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 38, chapter 1, sections 14.626 to 14.37, in the​
representation of a veteran or a veteran's dependents, or both, and the presentation of a claim.​

Subp. 5. Contested claims not accepted. The veterans claims division must not represent​
more than one party to an action or claim based on one person's eligibility.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
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History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0190 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.​

A. The commissioner must administer the state soldiers assistance program in accordance​
with this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, chapters 196 and 197.​

B. An individual eligible to receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance program​
includes:​

(1) a veteran;​

(2) a veteran's dependent;​

(3) a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active​
duty under Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9); and​

(4) a dependent of a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended​
federal active duty under Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9).​

C. A surviving spouse who has remarried is not eligible for benefits from the state soldiers​
assistance program regardless of the outcome of the subsequent marriage.​

D. An individual is not eligible for benefits from the state soldiers assistance program if​
the individual is:​

(1) incarcerated;​

(2) civilly committed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253D; or​

(3) civilly committed to an inpatient program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B,​
for longer than 30 days.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0200 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE FUNDING.​

The commissioner must use state soldiers assistance funding to provide benefits from the state​
soldiers assistance program and to fulfill the duties and responsibilities of Minnesota Statutes,​
chapters 196 and 197.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

9055.0200​MINNESOTA RULES​11​



9055.0210 VETERANS BENEFITS DIVISION.​

The veterans benefits division must assist the commissioner in administering the state soldiers​
assistance program and in carrying out the duties of Minnesota Statutes, chapters 196 and 197.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0220 RULES; PURPOSE; AND APPLICABILITY.​

Subpart 1. Purpose. Parts 9055.0190 to 9055.0455:​

A. provide the policies and procedures the commissioner must follow in administering the​
state soldiers assistance program and disbursing state soldiers assistance funding; and​

B. set forth the eligibility requirements and the proof and evidence necessary to establish​
a person's right to benefits provided by the state soldiers assistance program.​

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 9055.0190 to 9055.0455 establish the rights and responsibilities​
of the following parties in the administration of the state soldiers assistance program:​

A. the department;​

B. veterans and dependents of veterans;​

C. members of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active duty​
during a time of war or national emergency and the dependents of members of the armed forces;​

D. county veterans service officers;​

E. medical, dental, and optical providers;​

F. public and private social service agencies; and​

G. vendors and contractors providing services under state soldiers assistance program​
guidelines.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0270 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM; WHO CAN APPLY.​

Subpart 1. Application for benefits.​

A. Subject to the requirements of part 9055.0290, any of the following individuals may​
apply for benefits from the state soldiers assistance program:​

(1) a veteran;​
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(2) a surviving spouse of a veteran; and​

(3) a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active​
duty per Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9).​

B. The order in which applicants of a household must apply for benefits is as follows:​

(1) if an applicant's eligibility is based on a veteran's service:​

(a) the veteran or the veteran's authorized representative must apply first, if able;​

(b) if the veteran is deceased, then the surviving spouse of the veteran or the​
surviving spouse's authorized representative must apply; and​

(c) if none of the individuals in unit (a) or (b) are able to apply, then the veteran's​
dependents or the authorized representative of the veteran's dependents must apply;​

(2) if an applicant's eligibility is based on a member of the armed forces serving on​
extended federal active duty:​

(a) the member of the armed forces or the member's authorized representative must​
apply first, if able;​

(b) if neither individual in unit (a) is able to apply, then the spouse of the member​
of the armed forces or the spouse's authorized representative must apply; and​

(c) if none of the individuals in unit (a) or (b) are able to apply, then the dependents​
of the member of the armed forces or the dependents' authorized representative must apply.​

C. The initial applicant is responsible for applying for benefits on behalf of the remaining​
members of the household.​

D. All applicants under this part must apply for benefits using a standard application​
prescribed by the commissioner.​

E. An eligible child, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75, subdivision 1,​
paragraph (d), may apply on their own behalf for education benefits under the surviving children​
and spouses education assistance program activity.​

F. A surviving spouse of a veteran who remarries is not eligible to receive benefits from​
the state soldiers assistance program, but the surviving spouse may apply for benefits as the​
authorized representative of the deceased veteran's surviving dependents.​

G. A veteran or surviving spouse of a veteran may apply for benefits as the authorized​
representative of the veteran's dependents, but the veteran or surviving spouse is not eligible to​
receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance program if:​

(1) incarcerated;​

(2) civilly committed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253D; or​
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(3) civilly committed to an inpatient program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 253B,​
for longer than 30 days.​

H. As part of the application process, an applicant must provide to the commissioner proof​
of identity and Minnesota residency as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph​
(b).​

I. As part of the application process, a household member must provide to the commissioner​
proof of:​

(1) identity;​

(2) Minnesota residency as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph​
(b);​

(3) age; and​

(4) a relationship to a veteran or member of the armed forces.​

J. For the purposes of proving the requirements in items A, D, F, H, and I, an applicant or​
household member must show proof with any of the following documentation:​

(1) residency verifications as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph​
(b);​

(2) a Tribal identification card showing a physical Minnesota address;​

(3) a person's military discharge papers or equivalent;​

(4) a Report of Casualty from the United States Department of Defense;​

(5) a military member's current active duty military orders;​

(6) a benefit award letter from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs;​

(7) a marriage certificate;​

(8) a death certificate;​

(9) a birth certificate;​

(10) a court order granting adoption;​

(11) documentation confirming legal guardianship issued by a state government entity;​
or​

(12) other official documentation confirming a person's identity, age, and relationship​
to the veteran or member of the armed forces issued by a state or federal government entity.​

Subp. 2. Authorized representatives.​

A. An applicant described in subpart 1, item A, who is not able to apply for benefits must​
apply through an authorized representative.​
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B. A dependent of an individual described in subpart 1, item A, must apply for benefits​
through an authorized representative if the person in subpart 1, item A, is deceased.​

C. An individual acting as an authorized representative of an applicant or a recipient of​
benefits must submit one of the following documents to the commissioner proving the legal​
authorization to represent the applicant or recipient:​

(1) a court order providing the authorization to represent the person subject to​
guardianship;​

(2) a court order providing the authorization to represent the person subject to​
conservatorship; or​

(3) a power of attorney as recognized by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 523.​

Subp. 3. Residency.​

A. All household members who receive benefits must meet the residency requirements of​
Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph (b), except under the following circumstances:​

(1) the commissioner must include a child in an applicant's or a recipient's household​
count who is a dependent but is not residing with the household on a full-time basis due to marital​
dissolution or parental separation. The child is considered a resident if the applicant or applicant's​
spouse or the recipient or recipient's spouse is financially responsible for the child or has been​
awarded visitation as verified by a judgment, decree, or other order of the court providing for the​
legal custody, physical custody, or visitation with respect to a child. A child is only authorized to​
receive benefits when the child is in Minnesota; and​

(2) the commissioner must include an adult child in an applicant's or a recipient's​
household count who is a dependent but is not residing with the household on a full-time basis due​
to school attendance or a medical condition. The adult child is considered a resident if the applicant​
or applicant's spouse or the recipient or recipient's spouse is financially responsible for the adult​
child as verified by financial aid documentation or documentation from the facility where the adult​
child is residing. An adult child is only authorized to receive benefits when the adult child is in​
Minnesota.​

B. The commissioner must exclude time spent in Minnesota for any reason when determining​
if an applicant meets the residency requirement if the applicant maintains residency in another state.​

C. The commissioner must exclude time spent in Minnesota incarcerated in a state or federal​
prison when determining if an applicant meets the residency requirement. Time counted toward​
residency begins the day after an applicant is released into the community.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​
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9055.0280 HOUSEHOLDS AND SHARED HOUSEHOLDS.​

Subpart 1. Households.​

A. The commissioner must include an applicant or a recipient and all members of the​
applicant's or recipient's household in the household count except in the following situations:​

(1) a dependent child is not residing in the household on a full-time basis and the​
applicant or applicant's spouse or the recipient or recipient's spouse is not financially responsible​
for the child or has not been awarded visitation with the child;​

(2) a dependent adult child is not residing with the household on a full-time basis and​
the applicant or applicant's spouse or the recipient or recipient's spouse is not financially responsible​
for the adult child; or​

(3) a dependent parent does not need the benefit for which the applicant is applying.​

B. An applicant or a recipient or a member of an applicant's or a recipient's household who​
is incarcerated or civilly committed under the conditions of part 9055.0190, item C, must not be​
included in the household count if:​

(1) the applicant or recipient or household member does not have any income or assets;​
or​

(2) the applicant's or recipient's or household member's income and assets are not​
available to the remaining household members.​

Subp. 2. Exclusion of household members is prohibited. The commissioner must not exclude​
a household member and the household member's income and assets from the applicant's household​
for the sole purpose of establishing eligibility for the remaining household members except as​
provided in subpart 1.​

Subp. 3. Applicants and spouses divorced or legally separated. The commissioner must​
include the spouse of an applicant or a recipient and the spouse's income and assets when determining​
the household's eligibility for benefits unless the applicant and applicant's spouse or the recipient​
and recipient's spouse are divorced or legally separated.​

Subp 4. Shared items and shared expenses.​

A. The benefit amount for a shared item or shared expense must be prorated between an​
applicant or a recipient and all members of the applicant's or recipient's household and those persons​
age 18 and older who are liable for the shared item or shared expense but are not eligible to receive​
the benefit.​

B. A benefit amount provided for a shared item or a shared expense must be prorated​
regardless of whether a person not eligible for the benefit is or is not residing with the applicant or​
recipient.​

C. A benefit amount provided for an item or expense directly related to owning or leasing​
real or personal property must be prorated if the following conditions are met:​
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(1) an applicant or a recipient or an applicant's or a recipient's spouse owns or leases​
real or personal property with a person age 18 or older who is not eligible for the benefit; and​

(2) joint liability for the property, item, or expense is shared with the person.​

D. A benefit amount is not prorated if the person not eligible for the benefit relinquishes​
ownership or ceases to lease the property or is no longer liable for the property, item, or expense.​

Subp. 5. Proration calculations. For purposes of this part, the commissioner must calculate​
the prorated benefit amount by dividing the number of members in the applicant's or recipient's​
household by the total number of persons included in the proration calculations and multiplying​
the result by the original benefit amount requested.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0290 APPLICATION PROCESS.​

Subpart 1. Information. The commissioner must make available information explaining the​
eligibility requirements and the application processes of the state soldiers assistance program.​

Subp. 2. Application for benefits from state soldiers assistance program.​

A. An applicant must apply for benefits through a county veterans service office, a​
department field operations claim representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer using​
the standard application and supplemental forms and checklists provided by the commissioner.​

B. The county veterans service officer, department field operations claim representative,​
or department Tribal veterans service officer must review each completed application for benefits,​
provide a recommendation to the commissioner, and sign and date the application. The commissioner​
must not accept a recommendation from any person other than a county veterans service officer,​
department field operations claims representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer.​

C. An applicant applying for the surviving children and surviving spouse education benefit​
is not required to apply for the benefit through or receive a recommendation from a county veterans​
service officer, department field operations claims representative, or department Tribal veterans​
service officer.​

Subp. 3. Processing applications.​

A. The commissioner must request additional information and supporting documentation​
from the applicant if necessary to establish eligibility and a need for assistance.​

B. The commissioner must send a request for additional information and documentation​
to the applicant and to the county veterans service officer, department field operations claims​
representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer assisting the applicant.​
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C. The commissioner must close an application if the requested information and​
documentation is not received within 60 days of the date of request for more information.​

Subp. 4. Reporting requirements. An applicant must report any changes in circumstances​
that affect the applicant's eligibility or need for benefits to the commissioner and the county veterans​
service officer, department field operations claims representative, or department Tribal veterans​
service officer who assisted the applicant while the application is pending.​

Subp. 5. Determining eligibility. The commissioner must administer benefits on a​
per-application basis. An applicant must complete a new application with current information and​
supporting documents to reestablish eligibility and need for assistance if the most recent application​
is closed.​

Subp. 6. Rescinding applications; terminating benefits.​

A. An applicant or a recipient may rescind the application for benefits or terminate benefits​
at any time.​

B. To rescind an application for benefits or terminate benefits, an applicant or a recipient​
must submit a written request to the commissioner through the county veterans service officer,​
department field operations claim representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer who​
assisted the applicant or recipient.​

C. The commissioner must not reopen an application that is rescinded or a benefit that is​
terminated.​

Subp. 7. Right to notice of decision. The commissioner must provide written notice of approval,​
partial approval, or denial to an applicant. A notification of approval or partial approval must explain​
the type of benefit, the amount approved or partially approved for the benefit, and the time periods​
covered by the benefit. A notification of denial must state the reasons why the benefit was denied​
and the right to appeal the denial.​

Subp. 8. Appeal rights and procedures.​

A. An applicant or a recipient has the right to appeal the denial of a benefit and submit​
additional or corrected information to the commissioner. The applicant or recipient must state in​
writing the reasons for disagreeing with the commissioner's decision and sign and date the appeal.​

B. An applicant or a recipient denied a benefit must submit an appeal within 60 days of the​
denial notice. Failure to appeal in the allotted time forfeits all rights to the appeal process. The​
commissioner must issue a decision to approve, partially approve, or deny the benefit. The​
commissioner's decision is the final agency action.​

C. A county veterans service officer, a department field operations claim representative,​
or a department Tribal veterans service officer must not appeal the denial of a benefit without the​
written consent of the applicant or recipient. A county veterans service officer, a department field​
operations claims representative, or a department Tribal veterans service officer may assist in the​
appeal process.​
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D. A vendor or contractor must not appeal a denial of benefits that would have resulted in​
payment to the contractor or vendor.​

Subp. 9. Overpayment status.​

A. A recipient of a benefit who receives an amount greater than what is authorized is in​
overpayment status.​

B. Overpayment includes a direct payment from the commissioner to the recipient of the​
benefit or payment to a vendor or contractor on behalf of the recipient in an amount greater than​
what is authorized.​

C. Overpayment status is a bar to all members of a household from receiving future benefits​
until the overpayment is corrected.​

D. A person in overpayment status must correct the overpayment by making a direct payment​
to the commissioner.​

Subp. 10. Responsibility to pay for services.​

A. The commissioner is not responsible to pay for charges incurred from a vendor or​
contractor by a recipient of benefits that are over the authorized benefit amount.​

B. A recipient of benefits incurring the charges over the authorized benefit amount is​
responsible for paying the overage to the vendor or contractor who provided the services.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0300 CALCULATING MONTHLY HOUSEHOLD INCOME.​

Subpart 1. Definitions.​

A. The definitions in this subpart apply to this part.​

B. "Earned income" means compensation from lawful employment or lawful​
self-employment, including salaries, wages, tips, gratuities, commissions, earnings from​
self-employment, incentive payments from work or training programs, payments made by an​
employer for regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, employee bonuses and profit sharing, jury​
duty pay, picket duty pay, and profit from other lawful activities that accrues as a result of the​
household member's effort or labor. Earned income does not include returns from capital investment​
or benefits that accrue as compensation for lack of employment.​

C. "Income" means earned or unearned income in the form of any lawful circulating medium​
of exchange of the United States including coins, paper money, digital currency, and electronic​
funds from any identified or unidentified source that is received by, made available to, or is projected​
for an applicant or a recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household.​
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D. "Monthly household income" means the combined measure of the average monthly​
incomes of an applicant or a recipient and all members of the applicant's or recipient's household.​

E. "Nonrecurring income" means earned or unearned income that is not of a continuous​
nature or is received only one time in the form of a nonrecurring lump-sum payment.​

F. "Seasonal income" means earned income that is received at regular intervals for only​
part of the year.​

G. "Unearned income" means income that does not meet the definition of earned income​
and is received without being required to perform any labor or service as a condition of receiving​
the income.​

Subp. 2. Monthly household income.​

A. The commissioner must calculate the monthly household income of an applicant or a​
recipient according to this part.​

B. The commissioner must use monthly household income to determine the household's​
eligibility for benefits from income-based state soldiers assistance program activities.​

Subp. 3. Income inclusion. The commissioner must include the monthly income of an applicant​
or a recipient and all members of the applicant's or recipient's household when calculating monthly​
household income unless the income of the applicant or recipient or a specific household member​
or income from a specific source is excluded by this chapter.​

Subp. 4. Income ownership. The commissioner must count as income any money deposited​
to a financial account that is jointly owned by:​

A. an applicant or a recipient or a member of the applicant's or recipient's household; and​

B. a person who is not eligible for benefits unless the money can be attributed to the person​
who is not eligible for benefits.​

Subp. 5. Income limits.​

A. When an applicant's or a recipient's monthly household income is a determinant of​
eligibility for a specific state soldiers assistance program activity, maximum monthly household​
income limits based on an applicant's or a recipient's household size are provided in the schedule​
of maximum monthly allowances for the program activity.​

B. A household is not eligible for benefits from a state soldiers assistance program activity​
that is income-based if the household's monthly household income is greater than or equal to its​
maximum monthly household income limit for the program activity.​

Subp. 6. Income documentation.​

A. An applicant or a recipient must verify monthly household income by providing the​
commissioner with any of the following documents:​

(1) payroll statements, financial account statements, and pay receipts;​
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(2) federal income tax returns and all schedules for income from self-employment;​

(3) business records;​

(4) benefit award letters, settlement statements, and retirement income distribution​
statements; or​

(5) other documentation that verifies a household member's income issued by the entity​
providing the income.​

B. An applicant or a recipient must submit the most current income documentation to the​
commissioner for the number of months over which a type of income is calculated.​

C. Documentation submitted by an applicant or a recipient to the commissioner must verify​
and confirm:​

(1) who the income belongs to or is intended for;​

(2) the source and frequency of the income;​

(3) the entity issuing the income;​

(4) the period covered by the documentation;​

(5) allowed withholdings, reductions, or expenses specific to the type of income; and​

(6) other withholdings, reductions, or expenses allowed in this chapter.​

Subp. 7. Earned income.​

A. The commissioner must include earned income that is received by, made available to,​
or is projected for an applicant or a recipient or any member of an applicant's or a recipient's​
household when calculating monthly household income.​

B. The commissioner must include any measurable reduction in expenses provided to a​
household in lieu of income paid for work, service, effort, or labor as earned income. The amount​
of earned income included is the amount of the expense reduction.​

C. When calculating earned income, the commissioner must reduce the total amount by​
the following employer withholdings or reductions:​

(1) federal income tax withholdings;​

(2) Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) withholdings for Medicare;​

(3) FICA withholdings for Old Age Survivor and Disability Insurance;​

(4) state income tax withholdings;​

(5) medical, dental, and optical insurance premiums;​

(6) short- and long-term disability insurance premiums;​
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(7) employee, spouse, and child life insurance premiums;​

(8) employee accidental death and dismemberment insurance premiums;​

(9) health savings account withholdings;​

(10) child care expense account withholdings;​

(11) transportation expense account withholdings;​

(12) mandatory retirement plan contributions;​

(13) union dues;​

(14) uniform expenses;​

(15) child support withholdings; and​

(16) other withholdings and reductions specifically allowed in this chapter.​

D. With the exception of self-employment income, the commissioner must average and​
include in the monthly household income calculation earned income that was received by or made​
available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household​
in the two months before the date of application or will be received by or made available to an​
applicant or a recipient or any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household within 30 days​
after the date of application.​

Subp. 8. Self-employment income.​

A. The commissioner must include self-employment income that is received by or made​
available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household​
when calculating monthly household income.​

B. Self-employment income includes:​

(1) income from the operation of a business;​

(2) income from farming, including income from:​

(a) the sale of crops, livestock, or products;​

(b) production from livestock;​

(c) the sale of home-produced food;​

(d) soil conservation payments and other subsidies;​

(e) land, machine rental, and farm wages paid to the applicant or recipient or an​
adult member of the household; and​

(f) other income paid to a household member for farming-related activities;​
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(3) income from rental property owned by a household member. Space for rent in the​
primary residence of the household is not rental property;​

(4) income from nontraditional housing agreements such as income received from​
leasing space in the primary residence of the household, room and board provided at the primary​
residence of the household, and other services provided at the primary residence of the household;​
and​

(5) income resulting from a household member working in a trade or profession​
independently rather than for an employer.​

C. When calculating self-employment income, the commissioner must reduce the total​
amount by the following withholdings and expenses:​

(1) salaries, wages, and bonuses paid by an applicant, a recipient, or any member of an​
applicant's or a recipient's household to a person who is not a member of the household;​

(2) FICA withholdings and federal, state, and local income tax withholdings made on​
behalf of owners and employees of the business;​

(3) workers' compensation insurance premiums and contributions to Minnesota​
unemployment insurance made on behalf of owners and employees of the business;​

(4) business insurance premiums, not to include health insurance;​

(5) interest on secured business debts including mortgages, but not including the​
mortgage on the primary residence of the household or unsecured business debt;​

(6) sales and commercial property tax payments;​

(7) rent or lease payments for special purpose business vehicles, machinery, equipment,​
and other business property;​

(8) repairs to and maintenance of special purpose business vehicles, machinery,​
equipment, and property that do not constitute capital expenditures;​

(9) utility expenses incurred at business property;​

(10) expenses for business supplies necessary for the day-to-day operation of the business​
that are not purchased for resale;​

(11) expenses for seed, fertilizer, and livestock feed and medicines and veterinary care;​
and​

(12) materials and supplies purchased for processing, manufacturing, and sale.​

D. The commissioner must not reduce income from nontraditional housing agreements by​
the withholdings and expenses allowed in this chapter.​

E. The commissioner must average over 12 months and include in the monthly household​
income calculation self-employment income that was received by or made available to an applicant​
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or a recipient or any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household. If the source of​
self-employment income has been in operation less than 12 months, self-employment income and​
expenses must be averaged over the number of months the income source has been in operation.​

Subp. 9. Unearned income.​

A. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner must include unearned​
income that is received by, made available to, or projected for an applicant or a recipient or any​
member of an applicant's or a recipient's household.​

B. Unearned income includes:​

(1) long-term disability benefits in part 9055.0160, subpart 27;​

(2) long-term maintenance benefits in part 9055.0160, subpart 28;​

(3) short-term disability benefits in part 9055.0160, subpart 39;​

(4) interest and dividends from investments and savings and any return on investment​
taken in cash or cash equivalents;​

(5) capital gains from the sale of any investment or real property;​

(6) proceeds from the sale of personal property;​

(7) proceeds from a contract for deed that are in excess of the principle, interest, taxes,​
and insurance owed on the property that a household member is responsible for;​

(8) income from trusts and annuities;​

(9) cash prizes and winnings;​

(10) unemployment insurance benefits;​

(11) United States Department of Veterans Affairs vocational rehabilitation benefits​
and GI bill housing allowances;​

(12) reimbursements for medical or travel expenses issued by the United States​
Department of Veterans Affairs or other medical assistance program;​

(13) insurance settlements and severance payments;​

(14) cash payments from income maintenance programs;​

(15) Tribal per capita payments;​

(16) child and spousal support payments received by a household member;​

(17) federal and state student financial aid work study income;​

(18) relative custody assistance grants; and​
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(19) funds received from any source or person not previously referenced and there is​
no expectation that the funds be repaid, or repayment of the funds has been deferred.​

C. When calculating unearned income, the commissioner must reduce the total amount by​
the following withholdings and reductions:​

(1) federal income tax withholdings or payments;​

(2) state income tax withholdings or payments;​

(3) United States Department of Veterans Affairs life insurance premiums;​

(4) Tricare premiums;​

(5) medical, dental, and optical insurance premiums;​

(6) Medicare premiums; and​

(7) child support withholdings.​

D. The commissioner must average and include in the monthly household income calculation​
any unearned income that was received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or any​
member of the applicant's or recipient's household in the two months before the date of application​
or will be received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of the​
applicant's or recipient's household within 30 days after the date of application.​

Subp. 10. Seasonal income.​

A. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner must include seasonal​
income that is received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of the​
applicant's or recipient's household.​

B. The commissioner must calculate seasonal income using only the months in which the​
income is received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of the​
applicant's or recipient's household.​

C. The commissioner must average and include in the monthly household income calculation​
seasonal income that was received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or any member​
of the applicant's or recipient's household in the two months before the income ended.​

Subp. 11. Nonrecurring income.​

A. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner must include​
nonrecurring income that is received by, made available to, or is projected for an applicant or a​
recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household.​

B. Nonrecurring income includes:​

(1) insurance settlements;​

(2) state, federal, and local tax refunds;​
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(3) retroactive income maintenance payments;​

(4) retroactive benefit payments;​

(5) accrued earned and unearned income and income from self-employment paid on a​
onetime or a nonrecurring basis;​

(6) winnings; and​

(7) inheritances.​

C. When calculating nonrecurring income, the commissioner must reduce the total amount​
by the withholdings, reductions, or expenses allowed for the type of income received plus any legal​
or medical fees or other costs incurred to secure receipt of the income.​

D. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner must include​
nonrecurring income that will be received by or made available to an applicant or a recipient or​
any member of the applicant's or recipient's household in a lump sum if the income amount is known​
and the date of receipt is within 30 days after the date of application.​

E. The commissioner must average over 12 months and include in the monthly household​
income calculation nonrecurring income that is received by or made available to an applicant or a​
recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household onetime as a lump sum in the​
two months before the date of application or will be received by or made available to an applicant​
or a recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household within 30 days after the​
date of application.​

Subp. 12. Suspended, terminated, or transferred income. When calculating monthly​
household income, the commissioner must include the income of an applicant or a recipient or any​
member of the applicant's or recipient's household that is suspended, terminated, or transferred to​
a person who is not eligible for benefits unless the income was suspended, terminated, or transferred​
due to circumstances beyond the applicant's or recipient's or a household member's control.​

Subp. 13. Projected income.​

A. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner must include the earned​
or unearned income of an applicant or a recipient and any member of an applicant's household that​
began on a recurring basis in the 30 days before the date of application or will be received on a​
recurring basis within the 30 days after the date of application.​

B. The commissioner must calculate income projected on a weekly basis by multiplying​
the weekly amount by 52 pay periods and averaging the result over 12 months.​

C. The commissioner must calculate income projected on a biweekly basis by multiplying​
the biweekly amount by 26 pay periods and averaging the result over 12 months.​

D. The commissioner must calculate income projected on a bimonthly basis by multiplying​
the bimonthly amount by 24 pay periods and averaging the result over 12 months.​
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Subp. 14. Excluded income. When calculating monthly household income, the commissioner​
must exclude income received by an applicant or a recipient and any member of an applicant's or​
a recipient's household from the following sources:​

A. supplemental nutrition aid payments (SNAP);​

B. rental security deposit refunds to the household, regardless of whether the deposit was​
paid by a third party;​

C. proceeds from education grants, scholarships, and student loans;​

D. proceeds from secured or unsecured loans or lines of credit made by a public or private​
institution, governmental agency, or private person;​

E. funds received for reimbursement, replacement, or rebate of damaged personal or real​
property when the payments are made from private insurance companies, public agencies, awarded​
by a court, solicited through public appeal, or made as a grant by a federal agency subsequent to a​
presidential declaration of disaster;​

F. benefit payments from the commissioner to correct underpayments in a previous benefit​
period;​

G. the earned income of a child who is a member of the household and who is a full-time​
student; and​

H. foster care payments received by the household for persons residing with the household​
but are who are not eligible to receive benefits from the state soldiers assistance program.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0310 CALCULATING HOUSEHOLD ASSETS.​

Subpart 1. Definitions.​

A. The definitions in this subpart apply to this part.​

B. "Assets" means cash and cash equivalents and financial instruments and investment​
vehicles that are convertible to cash and are owned by or available to an applicant or a recipient or​
any member of the applicant's or recipient's household.​

C. "Cash and cash equivalents" means coins, currency, checking accounts, savings accounts,​
and money market accounts, and short-term investments that mature in 30 to 90 days.​

D. "Financial instrument" means any real or virtual document that represents a legal​
agreement involving any kind of monetary value. Financial instruments are cash or derivative in​
type and are either equity, debt, or foreign exchange based.​
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E. "Household assets" means the combined value of the included assets of an applicant or​
a recipient and any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household.​

F. "Investment vehicle" means any financial product used by investors for the purpose of​
achieving positive returns.​

Subp. 2. Household assets.​

A. The commissioner must calculate the household assets of an applicant or a recipient​
according to this part.​

B. Income received by an applicant or a recipient or a member of an applicant's or a​
recipient's household is not considered an asset in the month it is received. Income carried over​
into the next month becomes an asset.​

C. The commissioner must use household assets to determine the household's eligibility​
for benefits from asset-based state soldiers assistance program activities.​

Subp. 3. Asset inclusion and availability.​

A. When calculating household assets, the commissioner must include the assets of an​
applicant or a recipient and any member of an applicant's or a recipient's household, unless an asset​
is not available or a specific type of asset is excluded by this chapter.​

B. An asset is available if the applicant or recipient or the household member can convert​
the asset to cash.​

C. The commissioner must exclude an asset if there is a legally enforceable provision in​
the agreement between the asset owner and the entity administering the asset that currently prevents​
the asset owner from converting any portion of the asset to cash.​

D. The applicant or recipient must submit documentation to the commissioner from the​
entity administering the asset that confirms the asset cannot be converted to cash.​

E. Taxes, penalties, and fees assessed when converting an asset to cash are not barriers to​
converting an asset to cash but must be excluded when calculating the value of the asset.​

F. Credit available to an applicant or a recipient or any member of the applicant's or​
recipient's household through a secured or unsecured line of credit or a reverse mortgage is not an​
asset until funds are distributed and placed in a financial account, financial instrument, or investment​
vehicle that is convertible to cash.​

Subp. 4. Asset ownership.​

A. When calculating household assets, the commissioner must equally divide the value of​
an asset that is jointly owned by:​

(1) an applicant or a recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household;​
and​
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(2) a person not eligible for benefits unless the asset is a personal checking or savings​
account or a different division of asset ownership is confirmed by documentation submitted from​
the entity administering the asset.​

B. When calculating household assets, the commissioner must include the full value of a​
personal checking or savings account that is jointly owned by:​

(1) an applicant or a recipient or any member of the applicant's or recipient's household;​
and​

(2) a person not eligible for benefits, unless documentation submitted from the entity​
administering the asset confirms:​

(a) the applicant or recipient or the household member has limited access to the​
funds in the account; or​

(b) specific shares of the funds are attributed to the applicant or recipient or the​
household member and the person not eligible for benefits.​

Subp. 5. Asset limits.​

A. When an applicant's or a recipient's household assets are a determinant of eligibility for​
a specific state soldiers assistance program activity, maximum household asset limits based on an​
applicant's or a recipient's household size are provided in the schedule of maximum monthly​
allowances for the program activity.​

B. A household is not eligible for benefits from a state soldiers assistance program that is​
asset based if the household's assets are greater than or equal to its maximum household asset limit​
for the program activity.​

C. Transferring household assets for the purpose of attaining program eligibility is prohibited.​
The commissioner must include the value of improperly transferred assets when calculating​
household assets.​

D. A household may reduce its household assets to attain program eligibility by paying for​
basic needs if the household's assets are greater than or equal to its maximum household asset limit​
for an asset-based program on the date of application.​

Subp. 6. Asset documentation.​

A. An applicant or a recipient must verify household assets with any of the following​
documents:​

(1) statements from the entity administering an asset that verify the funds available in​
all financial accounts;​

(2) statements from the entity administering an asset that verify the cash value of all​
financial instruments or investment vehicles; or​
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(3) other documentation from entity administering an asset that accurately verifies the​
value of an asset.​

B. An applicant or a recipient must submit the most current asset documentation to the​
commissioner for the type of asset that is being calculated.​

C. Documentation submitted by an applicant or a recipient must verify and confirm:​

(1) the owner of the asset;​

(2) the financial institution, employer, agency, or organization administering the asset;​

(3) the period covered by the documentation;​

(4) the gross value of the asset; and​

(5) the taxes, penalties, and fees and other withholdings or reductions incurred if the​
asset were converted to cash.​

Subp. 7. Allowed withholdings and reductions. The commissioner must reduce the gross​
value of an asset by the following withholdings and reductions to calculate the value of the asset​
that is used to determine the household's eligibility for benefits:​

A. projected federal income tax withholdings;​

B. projected state income tax withholdings;​

C. surrender charges, penalties for early withdrawal, revocation of bonuses or onetime​
payments, higher fees, or reduced interest guarantees calculated and verified by documentation​
from the entity administering the asset; and​

D. other projected penalties and fees associated with a loan, early distribution, or conversion​
of an asset to cash calculated and verified by documentation from the entity administering the asset.​

Subp. 8. Excluded assets. The commissioner must exclude the following types of assets when​
calculating household assets:​

A. irrevocable burial policies or irrevocable trusts;​

B. the cash value and other proceeds available from life insurance policies if converting​
these assets to cash results in termination of coverage; and​

C. all financial accounts of minor children if the financial accounts are custodial accounts.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​
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9055.0315 SCHEDULE OF MAXIMUM MONTHLY ALLOWANCES.​

A. The schedule of maximum monthly allowances is incorporated by reference. The schedule​
of maximum monthly allowances is updated and published annually by the commissioner in January​
of each year and is available in the State Law Library, at the Minnesota Department of Veterans​
Affairs, Veterans Service Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, or on the Minnesota Department​
of Veterans Affairs website at https://mn.gov/mdva/.​

B. The schedule of maximum monthly allowances is updated annually:​

(1) to incorporate changes in maximum monthly household income limits and maximum​
household asset limits; and​

(2) to incorporate changes in benefit amounts provided under a state soldiers assistance​
program activity.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0320 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM DENTAL AND OPTICAL​
PROGRAM ACTIVITIES.​

Subpart 1. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide needed dental and optical​
care to a veteran and the veteran's dependents.​

B. An applicant for dental and optical benefits must meet the requirements of this part and​
must be a veteran, the surviving spouse of a veteran, or the authorized representative of a surviving​
dependent of a veteran.​

C. This part applies only to the dental and optical program activities.​

Subp. 2. Income and asset limits for dental and optical.​

A. An applicant's monthly household income and household assets are determinants of​
eligibility for the dental and optical program activities.​

B. Maximum monthly household income limits and maximum household asset limits for​
the dental and optical program activities are provided in the schedule of maximum monthly​
allowances for the dental and optical program activity.​

C. The commissioner must calculate the monthly household income and household assets​
of an applicant according to parts 9055.0300 and 9055.0310.​

D. To be eligible for benefits under this part, an applicant's monthly household income and​
household assets must be under the maximum limits.​
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Subp. 3. Dental and optical benefit periods.​

A. The commissioner must establish dental and optical benefit periods not to exceed 150​
calendar days during which a recipient of dental or optical benefits is authorized to receive treatment.​

B. A recipient may request an extension of a dental or optical benefit period to complete​
treatment that began before the final day of the benefit period.​

C. A recipient must request to extend a dental or optical benefit period through a county​
veterans service officer, a department field operations claim representative, or a department Tribal​
veterans service officer.​

D. A recipient making a request under this subpart to extend a dental or optical benefit​
period must submit a written statement to the commissioner not more than 30 days after the current​
benefit period has ended that explains the need for extending the benefit period.​

E. The commissioner must extend the length of a dental or optical benefit period for any​
of the following reasons that are preventing a recipient from completing dental or optical treatment:​

(1) medical conditions that prohibit the recipient from receiving dental or optical​
treatment;​

(2) required wait times between specific dental or optical procedures;​

(3) lack of appointment availability with the authorized dental or optical provider; or​

(4) unforeseen circumstances that prevent the recipient from completing dental or optical​
treatment.​

F. A recipient must reapply for dental or optical benefits if the current benefit period ended​
before the recipient began receiving dental or optical treatment.​

Subp. 4. Dental and optical authorization letters.​

A. The commissioner must issue a dental or optical authorization letter to each recipient​
of dental or optical benefits.​

B. The dental and optical authorization letters must explain:​

(1) the first and final days of the benefit period;​

(2) the maximum dental or optical benefit amounts; and​

(3) the authorized dental or optical provider.​

C. A recipient of benefits under this part is authorized to receive treatment only from the​
provider stated on the current dental or optical authorization letter.​

D. The commissioner must issue authorization letters for the dental and optical program​
activities only for dental and optical providers in Minnesota.​
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Subp. 5. Dental and optical denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a dental or optical denial letter to an applicant who is​
denied dental or optical benefits.​

B. The dental or optical denial letter must explain the reasons for denial and the applicant's​
right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​

C. The commissioner must provide an applicant who is over the maximum monthly​
household income limit or maximum household asset limit for dental and optical benefits a written​
explanation of how the applicant's monthly household income and household assets were calculated.​

Subp. 6. Provider participation.​

A. For a dental or optical provider participating in the dental or optical program activities,​
the dental or optical provider must:​

(1) comply with this part;​

(2) coordinate treatment and follow-up care with the commissioner for each recipient​
of dental or optical benefits;​

(3) bill only for the treatment provided; and​

(4) report any conflicts of interest that arise out of providing dental or optical treatment​
to a person.​

B. The commissioner must temporarily suspend a provider's participation in the dental or​
optical program activities upon initiation of an investigation into provider misconduct.​

Subp. 7. Changing providers.​

A. A recipient of dental and optical benefits under this part may request to change providers​
if there is a conflict with the original provider or other circumstances prevent the recipient from​
completing treatment with the original provider.​

B. A recipient requesting to change dental or optical providers must submit the request​
with a written statement explaining the reasons for changing providers to the commissioner through​
a county veterans service officer, a department field operations claims representative, or a department​
Tribal veterans service officer.​

C. A recipient may request to change dental or optical providers once during the first benefit​
period approved under the current application and before treatment has begun. The following​
conditions apply when changing providers under this item:​

(1) the commissioner must void the current dental or optical authorization letter and​
terminate the current benefit period of the recipient;​

(2) the commissioner must issue a new dental or optical authorization letter to the​
recipient, which begins a new benefit period; and​
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(3) any additional requests to change providers during a new benefit period require​
approval by the commissioner under items A and B.​

D. A recipient may request to change dental or optical providers once during the first benefit​
period approved under the current application after treatment has begun. The following conditions​
apply when changing dental or optical providers under this item:​

(1) the commissioner must provide written notice to the original provider and the new​
provider that the request to change providers is approved;​

(2) the commissioner must inform the new provider of the benefit amount remaining​
on the dental or optical authorization letter;​

(3) payment for treatment from a new provider is prohibited before commissioner​
approval under subitems (1) and (2);​

(4) retroactive payment for treatment from a new provider before commissioner approval​
under subitems (1) and (2) is prohibited;​

(5) charges incurred at the original provider before the request to change providers is​
approved have payment priority over charges incurred at a new provider;​

(6) once all charges from the original provider are paid, only the remaining balance of​
the initial benefit amount is available for use with a new provider;​

(7) the length of a benefit period remains the same when changing dental or optical​
providers but can be extended according to subpart 3, items B to E, if necessary;​

(8) additional treatment from the original provider is prohibited once a new provider​
is approved by the commissioner under subitems (1) and (2); and​

(9) any additional requests to change providers require approval by the commissioner​
under items A and B.​

Subp. 8. Adding providers. A recipient of dental or optical benefits or the dental or optical​
provider may request to add an additional provider to a current authorization letter. The following​
conditions apply when adding a dental or optical provider under this subpart:​

A. the current provider must submit a written referral for treatment from the added provider​
to the commissioner before the end of the current benefit period;​

B. the commissioner must provide written notice to the current provider and the added​
provider that the request is approved;​

C. the commissioner must inform the current provider and the added provider of the benefit​
amount remaining on the dental or optical authorization letter and that the remaining benefit amount​
must be shared between the current provider and the added provider;​

D. the commissioner must approve an added provider under items A to C before treatment​
from the added provider is authorized;​
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E. retroactive payment for treatment from an added provider before commissioner approval​
under items A to C is prohibited;​

F. the length of the benefit period remains the same when adding a dental or optical provider​
but can be extended according to subpart 3, items B to E, if necessary; and​

G. treatment from the current provider is still authorized if a provider is added to an​
authorization letter.​

Subp. 9. Dental and optical program activities are not insurance.​

A. The commissioner must be the last to pay for dental and optical treatment when a recipient​
of dental and optical benefits is covered by insurance. An applicant for dental or optical benefits​
must disclose to the commissioner dental or optical insurance coverage.​

B. A dental or optical provider must submit an explanation of benefits from the insurance​
carrier with the corresponding dental or optical claims to the commissioner if a recipient has dental​
or optical insurance.​

C. The commissioner must only pay the amount the covered person is responsible for paying​
under the terms and conditions of the insurance contract and the laws of Minnesota.​

D. The commissioner must pay up to the maximum amount allowed under the dental or​
optical program activities for treatment not covered by insurance or denied in full by the insurance​
carrier.​

Subp. 10. Benefits provided. The commissioner must administer the dental benefit in two​
tiers:​

A. the first tier of the dental benefit pays up to a maximum benefit amount on an annual​
basis for specific dental treatment; and​

B. the second tier of the dental benefit pays up to a maximum per-lifetime benefit amount​
for specific types of dental treatment.​

Subp. 11. First-tier dental benefit.​

A. The commissioner must issue a dental authorization letter to each recipient of the first-tier​
dental benefit.​

B. The maximum annual benefit amount for the first tier of the dental benefit is provided​
in the schedule of maximum monthly allowances for the dental program activity.​

C. The maximum benefit amount is authorized at the start of each first-tier dental benefit​
period for which a recipient is approved.​

D. First-tier dental benefit amounts remaining at the end of a benefit period do not carry​
over for future use. First-tier dental benefit amounts must not be combined or transferred among​
household members.​

E. The first-tier dental benefit allows for payment of the following treatments:​
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(1) examinations, cleanings, and screenings;​

(2) diagnostic procedures;​

(3) fillings and tooth repairs;​

(4) restorative procedures to include bonding, sealants, and veneers;​

(5) crowns, caps, and bridges;​

(6) root canals and other endodontic treatment;​

(7) periodontal treatment;​

(8) prescription medications prescribed by a dental provider; and​

(9) tooth extractions including tissue and bone removal and restoration that are not in​
preparation for dentures, partial dentures, or a flipper.​

F. Dental treatment not covered under the first-tier dental benefit includes:​

(1) orthodontia and orthodontic procedures;​

(2) tooth whitening and cosmetic procedures;​

(3) occlusal guards;​

(4) specialized toothbrushes and other hardware; and​

(5) dental implants.​

Subp. 12. Frequency of the first-tier dental benefit.​

A. A recipient is limited to one first-tier dental benefit every 12 months.​

B. A previous recipient is eligible for the first-tier dental benefit 12 months after the first​
date of service paid for by the commissioner in the recipient's previous benefit period.​

C. A previous recipient must complete a new application for each benefit period and must​
meet all eligibility requirements for each benefit period.​

Subp. 13. Second-tier dental benefit.​

A. The commissioner must issue the second-tier dental benefit to a recipient as a maximum​
per-lifetime benefit amount for specific types of treatment. The second-tier dental benefit allows​
for payment of:​

(1) tooth extractions including tissue and bone removal and restoration in preparation​
for dentures, partial dentures, or a flipper; and​

(2) full dentures, partial dentures, or a flipper.​

B. The maximum lifetime benefit amount for the second-tier dental benefit is provided in​
the schedule of maximum monthly allowances for the dental program activity.​
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C. The maximum benefit amount is authorized at the start of the first second-tier benefit​
period a recipient is approved for. Second-tier benefit amounts remaining at the end of the first​
benefit period carry over for future use in subsequent benefit periods until the lifetime benefit​
amount is exhausted.​

D. A previous recipient of a second-tier dental benefit must complete and submit to the​
commissioner a new application for each second-tier benefit period and meet all eligibility​
requirements for each benefit period.​

E. The commissioner must issue a separate authorization letter each time a recipient is​
approved for a second-tier dental benefit. Each authorization letter must show the amount that is​
remaining for the benefit.​

F. Second-tier benefit amounts must not be combined or transferred among household​
members.​

G. The maximum benefit amounts for each second-tier dental benefit are exclusive and​
must not be combined with each other or with the first-tier dental benefit amount.​

H. A second-tier dental benefit must be preauthorized by the commissioner before treatment​
is provided. The original or current dental provider must submit a written request for preauthorization​
of a second-tier benefit to the commissioner before the end of a current first-tier dental benefit​
period and before second-tier treatment is provided.​

I. A recipient may use the first-tier dental benefit on an annual basis to receive second-tier​
dental treatment if the maximum lifetime benefit amount for the second-tier dental benefit is​
exhausted.​

Subp. 14. Optical benefits.​

A. The optical benefit allows for payment of specific optical treatment under a single tier​
on an annual basis. The commissioner must issue an optical authorization letter to each recipient​
of the optical benefit.​

B. The maximum annual benefit amount for the optical benefit is provided in the schedule​
of maximum monthly allowances for the optical program activity.​

C. The maximum benefit amount is authorized at the start of each optical benefit period​
for which a recipient is approved.​

D. Optical benefit amounts remaining at the end of a benefit period do not carry over for​
future use. Optical benefit amounts must not be combined or transferred among household members.​

E. Optical treatment covered annually under this subpart is limited to:​

(1) examinations and screenings;​

(2) diagnostic procedures;​

(3) prescription medications prescribed by an ophthalmologist or optometrist; and​
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(4) eyewear to include prescription glasses, prescription sunglasses, and contact lenses.​

F. Optical treatment not covered under this subpart includes:​

(1) eye surgery;​

(2) eyewear accessories to include carrying cases, cleaning kits, and cleaning solutions;​
and​

(3) eyewear warranty or membership programs.​

Subp. 15. Frequency of optical benefits.​

A. A recipient is limited to one optical benefit every 12 months.​

B. A previous recipient is eligible for the optical benefit 12 months after the first date of​
service paid for by the commissioner in the recipient's previous benefit period.​

C. A previous recipient must complete a new application for each benefit period. The person​
must meet all eligibility requirements for each benefit period.​

Subp. 16. Dental and optical payments.​

A. Dental and optical providers must submit dental and optical claims with the information​
required in item C to the commissioner for payment.​

B. The commissioner must make payments for dental and optical treatment directly to the​
dental or optical provider.​

C. Dental and optical claims submitted to the commissioner for payment of dental or optical​
benefits must include and confirm:​

(1) the name of the recipient receiving treatment;​

(2) the name of the recipient who applied for benefits;​

(3) a copy of the dental or optical authorization letter;​

(4) the dates of service and the treatment provided;​

(5) the amount charged for each treatment;​

(6) the provider's name, location, and payment address; and​

(7) an explanation of benefits from the insurance carrier if the recipient has insurance.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​
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9055.0330 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE VOUCHER DEPOSIT ASSISTANCE​
PROGRAM (VDAP) ACTIVITY.​

Subpart 1. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide financial assistance as​
provided under this part to a veteran and the veteran's dependents who are participants in a publicly​
funded subsidized housing program.​

B. An applicant for the voucher deposit assistance program (VDAP) benefit must meet the​
requirements of this part and must be a veteran or a surviving spouse of a veteran who has been​
approved for subsidized housing and is in need of a security or damage deposit to take possession​
of the approved residence.​

C. The entity approving a veteran or a surviving spouse for subsidized housing may verify​
the residency of the veteran or the surviving spouse if the veteran or surviving spouse does not have​
the residency verifications required in Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph (b).​

D. This part applies only to the VDAP activity.​

Subp. 2. Benefits provided.​

A. The VDAP benefit allows for payment of a security or damage deposit for a veteran or​
the surviving spouse of a veteran to obtain permanent housing.​

B. The VDAP benefit is a once-per-lifetime benefit that is not subject to maximum monthly​
household income limits or maximum household asset limits.​

C. A veteran is authorized to receive the VDAP benefit once in the veteran's lifetime. A​
surviving spouse of a veteran is authorized one VDAP benefit if the veteran did not receive the​
benefit while living.​

D. The maximum VDAP benefit amount authorized under this part is limited to the amount​
stated on the veteran's or the surviving spouse's proposed lease agreement for the security or damage​
deposit and any additional charges and fees required by the property owner or manager for the​
veteran or surviving spouse to move into the housing.​

E. A property owner or manager must reimburse the remaining balance of a security or​
damage deposit to the veteran or the surviving spouse if the veteran or surviving spouse vacates​
the residence after having lived at the residence for at least 180 days. The property owner or manager​
must reimburse the remaining balance of a security or damage deposit to the department if the​
veteran or surviving spouse vacates the residence before 180 days.​

Subp. 3. VDAP approval letter and shelter authorization forms.​

A. The commissioner must issue a VDAP approval letter and VDAP shelter authorization​
form to a veteran or surviving spouse approved for the VDAP benefit.​

B. The completed VDAP shelter authorization form is the only billing document accepted​
by the commissioner for payment of the veteran's or surviving spouse's security or damage deposit.​
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C. The VDAP approval letter and shelter authorization form must explain and confirm:​

(1) the amount approved for the veteran's or surviving spouse's security or damage​
deposit;​

(2) the name and address of the owner or manager of the property to be rented; and​

(3) instructions for completing the shelter authorization form.​

Subp. 4. VDAP denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a VDAP denial letter to a veteran or surviving spouse​
who is denied the VDAP benefit.​

B. The VDAP denial letter must explain the reasons for denial and the veteran's or surviving​
spouse's right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​

Subp. 5. Property owner or manager participation. A property owner or manager​
participating in the VDAP program must:​

A. comply with this part; and​

B. execute a standard lease agreement with the veteran or surviving spouse and complete​
the owner or manager portion of the shelter authorization form.​

Subp. 6. Changing residences.​

A. A veteran or surviving spouse may request to change residences before move in if there​
is a conflict with the original property owner or manager or the original residence is no longer​
suitable.​

B. A request to change residences must be submitted to the commissioner through a county​
veterans service officer, a department field operations claims representative, or a department Tribal​
veterans service officer.​

C. A veteran or surviving spouse requesting to change residences must return the original​
VDAP approval letter and shelter authorization form and submit a written statement to the​
commissioner explaining the reasons for changing residences.​

D. The veteran or surviving spouse must provide updated documentation from the agency​
approving the veteran or surviving spouse for subsidized housing and a proposed lease agreement​
with the new property owner or manager.​

E. The commissioner must approve the new residence before move in and payment of the​
security or damage deposit is authorized. Retroactive payment to a different property owner or​
manager after move in before commissioner approval of the new residence is prohibited.​
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Subp. 7. VDAP payments.​

A. To be eligible for VDAP payments, the veteran or surviving spouse must submit to the​
commissioner the completed documents required in item C for payment of a VDAP security or​
damage deposit to the property owner or manager.​

B. The commissioner must only make a payment for a VDAP security or damage deposit​
to the property owner or manager stated on the VDAP shelter authorization form and on the executed​
lease agreement. The commissioner must make the payment directly to the property owner or​
manager.​

C. Documents that must be submitted to the commissioner for payment of a VDAP security​
or damage deposit include:​

(1) a copy of the VDAP approval letter;​

(2) the shelter authorization form completed by the veteran or surviving spouse and the​
property owner or manager; and​

(3) a copy of the executed lease agreement signed by both the veteran or surviving​
spouse and the property owner or manager.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0340 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM DISASTER RELIEF PROGRAM​
ACTIVITY.​

Subpart 1. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide financial assistance as​
provided under this part to the following eligible persons who have been adversely affected by a​
declared emergency as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 12.03, subdivision 1e:​

(1) a veteran and the veteran's dependents; and​

(2) a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active​
duty per Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9), and the member's dependents.​

B. To be eligible for the disaster relief benefit, an applicant must meet the requirements of​
this part and be:​

(1) a veteran;​

(2) a surviving spouse of a veteran; or​

(3) a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active​
duty per Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9).​
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C. Two veterans married to each other are each authorized to receive the disaster relief​
benefit for a declared emergency.​

D. This part applies only to the disaster relief program activity.​

Subp. 2. Activation of disaster relief program activity. The commissioner must make​
available the disaster relief program activity benefits in the event of a declared emergency as defined​
in Minnesota Statutes, section 12.03, subdivision 1e, and the governor issues an emergency executive​
order authorizing the commissioner to provide benefits under this part.​

Subp. 3. Residency requirement. To be eligible for financial assistance under this part, an​
applicant must meet the residency requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph​
(b), and live in a county included in the governor's emergency executive order.​

Subp. 4. Frequency of disaster relief benefits.​

A. The number of times an individual is eligible for the disaster relief benefit for a declared​
emergency is determined by the impact and duration of a declared emergency.​

B. If a declared emergency is a single incident, only one disaster benefit is authorized.​

C. If a declared emergency is extended under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, more than​
one disaster relief benefit is authorized.​

Subp. 5. Benefits provided.​

A. The disaster relief benefit is limited to:​

(1) financial assistance to offset a reduction in monthly household income or household​
assets due to a declared emergency;​

(2) financial assistance to pay for an increase in costs or expenses due to a declared​
emergency; or​

(3) financial assistance with costs and expenses incurred to repair or restore a primary​
residence or property the primary residence is built on that is vital to the structural integrity of the​
primary residence and is damaged in a declared emergency.​

B. Eligibility for the disaster relief benefit is not subject to maximum monthly household​
income limits or maximum household asset limits.​

C. The maximum benefit amount for each declared emergency and the costs and expenses​
covered under the disaster relief benefit are based on the impact and duration of a declared​
emergency.​

D. The maximum benefit amount for a declared emergency applies only to that emergency​
and expires at the end of the benefit period for the emergency. Amounts remaining at the end of​
the benefit period do not carry over for future use.​

E. The commissioner must pay the disaster relief benefit as either a payment or​
reimbursement to the recipient, a payment to an entity to which payment is due for costs and​
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expenses covered under the disaster relief benefit, or a payment to a vendor or contractor for work​
performed or services provided to repair or restore the recipient's primary residence or property the​
primary residence is built on that is vital to the structural integrity of the primary residence.​

F. The disaster relief benefit must not be used to reimburse or pay for repairs and restorations​
covered in full by private insurance or covered by other state and federal agencies or programs.​

Subp. 6. Responsibility for repair and restoration.​

A. Property authorized for repair and restoration under the disaster relief benefit is limited​
to:​

(1) a dwelling that is owned or leased by a recipient or recipient's spouse and is the​
household's primary residence; and​

(2) property the primary residence is built on that is owned by the recipient or recipient's​
spouse and is vital to the structural integrity of the primary residence.​

B. Property affected by a declared emergency that is owned by the recipient or recipient's​
spouse must be the household's primary residence and must be homesteaded.​

C. Repair and restoration of business and agricultural buildings or property not vital to the​
structural integrity of the primary residence is not eligible for the disaster relief program benefit​
under this part.​

D. A recipient or recipient's spouse who is leasing the affected property must demonstrate​
to the commissioner a responsibility to repair and restore the property in the terms of the lease​
agreement.​

E. A recipient must submit any of the following documents to the commissioner for the​
purposes of proving the recipient or recipient's spouse is an owner or lessee of the property and​
confirming the property is homesteaded:​

(1) a certificate of title;​

(2) a deed;​

(3) a current mortgage statement;​

(4) the current year's property tax statement;​

(5) a contract for deed; or​

(6) a standard lease agreement.​

F. The commissioner must prorate repair and restoration costs and expenses according to​
part 9055.0280, subparts 4 and 5, if:​

(1) the recipient or recipient's spouse owns or leases the property with a person age 18​
or older who is not eligible for the disaster relief benefit; and​
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(2) joint liability for the property and its repair and restoration is shared with the person.​

G. The commissioner must not prorate repair and restoration costs and expenses if the​
person not eligible for the disaster relief benefit relinquishes ownership or ceases to lease the​
property or is no longer liable for the property and its repair and restoration.​

Subp. 7. Disaster relief benefit period.​

A. The disaster relief benefit period:​

(1) is based on the impact and duration of a declared emergency; and​

(2) is the period during which the commissioner must issue disaster relief benefits.​

B. Reimbursement or payment for costs and expenses incurred on the first and final days​
of the benefit period is authorized.​

C. A recipient of the disaster relief benefit may request an extension of the benefit period​
to complete repairs or restorations to the primary residence or property the primary residence is​
built on that is vital to the structural integrity of the primary residence.​

D. A recipient must request to extend a disaster relief benefit period through a county​
veterans service officer, a department field operations claim representative, or a department Tribal​
veterans service officer.​

E. A recipient making a request under this subpart to extend a disaster relief benefit period​
must submit a written statement to the commissioner explaining the need for extending the benefit​
period before the current benefit period has ended.​

F. The commissioner must extend the length of a disaster relief benefit period for any of​
the following reasons preventing a recipient from completing the needed repairs or restorations to​
the primary residence or property the primary residence is built on that is vital to the structural​
integrity of the primary residence:​

(1) a lack of or unavailability of vendors or contractors to provide needed services;​

(2) a delay in receiving insurance settlement funds; or​

(3) unforeseen circumstances preventing the recipient from completing repairs or​
restorations.​

Subp. 8. Disaster relief approval letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a disaster relief approval letter to a recipient of the disaster​
relief benefit.​

B. The disaster relief authorization letter must explain:​

(1) the start and end dates of the benefit period;​

(2) the maximum benefit amount authorized;​
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(3) the types of costs and expenses covered under the disaster relief benefit;​

(4) the final day upon which proof of a reduction in monthly household income or​
household assets or an increase in covered costs and expenses due to a declared emergency must​
be submitted to the commissioner; and​

(5) the final day upon which proof of costs and expenses incurred to repair or restore​
the primary residence or property the primary residence is built on that is vital to the structural​
integrity of the primary residence that is damaged in a declared emergency must be submitted to​
the commissioner.​

Subp. 9. Disaster relief denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a disaster relief denial letter to an applicant who is denied​
the disaster relief benefit.​

B. The disaster relief denial letter must explain the reasons for denial and the applicant's​
right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​

Subp. 10. Vendor and contractor participation. A vendor or contractor participating in the​
disaster relief program must:​

A. comply with this part;​

B. have the appropriate licensure to perform the work or provide the services contracted​
for; and​

C. bill only for the work completed or services provided.​

Subp. 11. Disputes between vendor or contractor and household.​

A. The commissioner is not a party to disputes between a vendor or contractor and a recipient​
of the disaster relief benefit over the quality of work performed or services provided.​

B. The commissioner must withhold payment to a vendor or contractor until the work is​
completed or services are provided if a recipient informs the commissioner that a vendor or contractor​
is seeking payment but has failed to perform or provide any of the work or services.​

Subp. 12. Disaster relief payments.​

A. For reimbursement or payment under this part, a recipient must submit to the​
commissioner proof of:​

(1) a reduction in monthly household income;​

(2) a reduction in household assets; or​

(3) an increase in costs or expenses covered under the disaster relief benefit due to the​
declared emergency.​
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B. The commissioner must make a reimbursement or payment directly to a recipient to​
offset the reduction in monthly household income or household assets or directly to entities to which​
payment is due for costs and expenses covered under the disaster relief benefit.​

C. Proof, as required by item A, and any receipts, invoices, or billing statements or other​
documentation submitted to the commissioner for reimbursement or payment of disaster relief​
benefits under item B must include and confirm:​

(1) the recipient's household experienced as a result of the declared emergency a​
reduction in monthly household income, a reduction in household assets, or an increase in costs or​
expenses covered under the disaster relief benefit;​

(2) the name, location, and payment address of the entity to which payment is due for​
covered costs and expenses; and​

(3) proof that the recipient or recipient's spouse is responsible for paying for the covered​
costs and expenses.​

Subp. 13. Disaster relief payments for property damage.​

A. A recipient, vendor, or contractor must submit to the commissioner proof of the costs​
and expenses incurred for the repair or restoration of a primary residence or property the primary​
residence is built on that is vital to the structural integrity of a primary residence for reimbursement​
or payment under this part.​

B. The commissioner must make reimbursements or payments directly to the recipient or​
to a vendor or contractor for work performed or services provided.​

C. Proof, as required by item A, and any receipts, invoices, or billing statements or other​
documentation submitted to the commissioner for reimbursement or payment of disaster relief​
benefits under item B must include and confirm:​

(1) the recipient incurred and paid the costs and expenses to repair and restore a primary​
residence or property the primary residence is built on that is vital to the structural integrity of a​
primary residence;​

(2) the dates the repair and restoration costs were incurred;​

(3) an itemized breakdown of the costs and expenses of work performed, or services​
provided if a vendor or contractor is requesting direct payment;​

(4) the name, location, and payment address of a vendor or contractor providing services;​

(5) proof of vendor or contractor licensure to provide services; and​

(6) proof of homeowner's or renter's insurance, payments received from the insurance​
carrier, and any deductible applied to the amount paid by the insurance carrier.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
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History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0350 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM SUBSISTENCE PROGRAM​
ACTIVITY - GENERAL.​

Subpart 1. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide short-term financial​
subsistence assistance as provided in this part to part 9055.0440 to a veteran and the veteran's​
dependents under the following circumstances:​

(1) a veteran is experiencing a medical condition that prevents the veteran from working​
at the veteran's current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days;​

(2) a surviving spouse is experiencing a medical condition that prevents the surviving​
spouse from working at the surviving spouse's current or most recent occupation for at least 30​
days; or​

(3) a surviving spouse applies for subsistence within the 12-month period following a​
veteran's death.​

B. An applicant for subsistence must meet the requirements of this part to part 9055.0430,​
meet the requirements of part 9055.0435 or 9055.0440, and be a veteran or the surviving spouse​
of a veteran.​

C. Parts 9055.0350 to 9055.0440 apply only to the subsistence program activity.​

Subp. 2. Other assistance programs. An applicant or a recipient who at the time of application​
is receiving or begins to receive cash benefits from the general assistance (GA) program, emergency​
general assistance (EGA) program, diversionary work program (DWP), or Minnesota family​
investment program (MFIP) is not eligible for subsistence.​

Subp. 3. Benefits provided.​

A. The commissioner must administer subsistence in three tiers:​

(1) the first tier of subsistence provides a monthly cash benefit paid directly to a recipient​
for the purpose of meeting the recipient's basic and personal needs;​

(2) the second tier of subsistence provides a monthly shelter benefit for the purposes​
of paying a recipient's shelter costs; and​

(3) the third tier of subsistence provides assistance for a recipient's monthly utilities​
and health insurance premiums.​

B. "Benefit amount," for the purposes of the subsistence program activity benefit, means​
the total amount provided by the first- and second-tier benefits.​
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Subp. 4. Benefit periods. The commissioner must administer subsistence in 30-day benefit​
periods. The commissioner must make a determination of eligibility before each benefit period. A​
maximum of six 30-day benefit periods are authorized unless additional periods are approved by​
the commissioner under part 9055.0435, subpart 4, or 9055.0440, subpart 3.​

Subp. 5. Subsistence approval letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a subsistence approval letter to a recipient for each benefit​
period that is approved.​

B. The subsistence approval letter must explain and confirm:​

(1) the first and final days of the benefit period;​

(2) the cash and shelter benefit amounts authorized for the benefit period; and​

(3) the utility charges and health insurance premiums or COBRA benefits authorized​
for the benefit period.​

Subp. 6. Subsistence shelter authorization form.​

A. The commissioner must issue a subsistence shelter authorization form to a recipient of​
the shelter benefit and who is leasing the primary residence.​

B. The completed shelter authorization form is the only billing document that is accepted​
for payment of the recipient's shelter benefit if the recipient is leasing the primary residence.​

C. The shelter authorization form must explain and confirm:​

(1) the instructions for completing the form;​

(2) the shelter benefit amount;​

(3) the first and final days of the benefit period; and​

(4) the name and address of the property owner or manager.​

Subp. 7. Subsistence denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a subsistence denial letter to an applicant or a recipient​
who is denied subsistence.​

B. The subsistence denial letter must explain the reasons for denial and the applicant's or​
recipient's right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​
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9055.0360 SUBSISTENCE INCOME AND ASSET LIMITS.​

Subpart 1. Maximum household asset limits.​

A. An applicant's or a recipient's household assets are a determinant of eligibility for the​
subsistence program activity.​

B. Maximum household asset limits for the subsistence program activity are provided in​
the schedule of maximum monthly allowances for the subsistence program activity.​

C. The commissioner must calculate an applicant's or a recipient's household assets before​
the first benefit period and before each subsequent benefit period according to part 9055.0310.​

D. An applicant's or a recipient's household assets must be under the maximum household​
asset limit to be eligible for the first benefit period and each subsequent benefit period.​

Subp. 2. Maximum monthly cash benefit amounts. Maximum monthly cash benefit amounts​
are based on an applicant's or a recipient's household size and are provided in the schedule of​
maximum monthly allowances for the subsistence program activity.​

Subp. 3. Payment history and legal obligation to pay shelter costs.​

A. An applicant or a recipient must have a current legal obligation to pay shelter costs and​
provide documentation verifying the applicant or recipient paid shelter costs in the 12 months before​
the date of application for subsistence to be eligible for the monthly shelter benefit.​

B. An applicant or a recipient who does not meet the requirements of item A may incur​
shelter costs and remain eligible for the monthly shelter benefit, if necessary, to attain permanent​
housing and the commissioner confirms the applicant or recipient is homeless or on the homeless​
veteran registry.​

Subp. 4. Maximum monthly shelter benefit amounts.​

A. An applicant's or a recipient's maximum monthly shelter benefit amount is equal to the​
actual monthly shelter costs of the applicant's or recipient's primary residence if the following​
conditions are met:​

(1) documentation submitted to the commissioner confirms the applicant or recipient​
or the applicant's or recipient's spouse is a lessee of the primary residence and the monthly shelter​
costs are for leasing the primary residence; or​

(2) documentation submitted to the commissioner confirms the applicant or recipient​
or the applicant's or recipient's spouse is an owner of the primary residence, the primary residence​
is homesteaded, and the monthly shelter costs are the result of purchasing, owning, or maintaining​
the primary residence.​

B. The commissioner must limit the maximum monthly shelter benefit amount for an​
applicant or a recipient residing under the terms of a nontraditional housing agreement to the shelter​
benefit amounts provided in the schedule of maximum monthly allowances for the subsistence​
program activity.​
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C. The commissioner must prorate the maximum monthly shelter benefit amount according​
to part 9055.0280, subparts 4 and 5, if:​

(1) the applicant or recipient or the applicant's or recipient's spouse owns or leases the​
primary residence with a person age 18 or older who is not eligible for subsistence; and​

(2) joint liability for the primary residence and associated shelter costs is shared with​
the person.​

D. The commissioner must not prorate the maximum monthly shelter benefit amount if the​
person not eligible for subsistence relinquishes ownership or ceases to lease the primary residence​
or is no longer liable for the primary residence and the associated shelter costs.​

Subp. 5. Allowed shelter costs.​

A. When calculating an applicant's or a recipient's maximum monthly shelter benefit amount​
using the actual monthly shelter costs of the applicant's or recipient's primary residence, the​
commissioner must include the following costs:​

(1) base rent payments for the primary residence to include garage rental;​

(2) monthly rent for pets and onsite storage units at the primary residence if incurred​
before the date of application for subsistence;​

(3) the portion of an applicant's or recipient's base rate at an assisted living facility, as​
defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.08, subdivision 7, that constitutes rent;​

(4) lot rent payments for a mobile or manufactured home;​

(5) primary mortgage payments limited to principle, interest, and escrow payments;​

(6) home equity loan payments if the loan was taken before the date of application for​
subsistence to buy, build, restore, or maintain the habitability or accessibility of the primary​
residence;​

(7) contract for deed payments;​

(8) monthly housing association dues;​

(9) property taxes for the current year reduced to an average monthly amount;​

(10) monthly homeowners' insurance premiums;​

(11) monthly renters' insurance premiums; and​

(12) amounts allocated for utilities if a fixed amount is stated as part of the base rent​
in the lease agreement.​

B. The commissioner must not include the following costs when calculating an applicant's​
or a recipient's shelter benefit:​

(1) past due shelter costs and associated late charges and fees;​
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(2) assisted living services, as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.08,​
subdivision 9, provided in an assisted living contract that are over and above the base rent for the​
primary residence;​

(3) unsecured loans or home equity loans that were taken after the date of application​
for subsistence;​

(4) home equity lines of credit, regardless of the reason for taking the line of credit;​
and​

(5) monthly fees for optional on-site services and privileges over and above the base​
rent for the primary residence that are not specifically included in this item.​

C. An applicant or a recipient must submit any of the following documents to the​
commissioner to prove the applicant or recipient or the applicant's or recipient's spouse is a lessee​
of the primary residence or an owner of the primary residence and the property is homesteaded:​

(1) a certificate of title;​

(2) a deed;​

(3) a current mortgage statement;​

(4) the current year's property tax statement;​

(5) a contract for deed; or​

(6) a written standard residential lease agreement.​

D. An applicant or a recipient who is currently leasing the primary residence but does not​
have a current lease agreement must execute a written standard residential lease agreement that​
states the applicant's or recipient's actual shelter costs used to establish the applicant's or recipient's​
maximum monthly shelter benefit amount. The commissioner must accept the executed lease​
agreement signed by the applicant or recipient and the property owner or manager if the applicant​
or recipient provides proof to the commissioner of paying the actual shelter costs stated on the​
executed lease agreement in the 12 months before the date of application for subsistence.​

E. An applicant or a recipient must provide proof to the commissioner of paying the actual​
shelter costs stated on the executed lease agreement with any of the following documents:​

(1) a statement from the property owner or manager;​

(2) past rent receipts;​

(3) cleared checks; or​

(4) other documentation that provides proof that an applicant or a recipient is paying​
the actual shelter costs.​
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Subp. 6. Shelter subsidies.​

A. The commissioner must reduce an applicant's or a recipient's maximum monthly shelter​
benefit by the amount of any recurring shelter subsidy the applicant or recipient is receiving.​

B. The commissioner must not reduce an applicant's or a recipient's maximum monthly​
shelter benefit by the amount of a nonrecurring shelter subsidy.​

Subp. 7. Changing residences. A recipient may request to change primary residences while​
receiving subsistence. Actual shelter costs at the new residence must be used to calculate the​
maximum monthly shelter benefit if the provisions of subpart 4, item A, are met and the monthly​
shelter costs at the new residence do not exceed the costs at the previous residence.​

Subp. 8. Maximum monthly household income limits.​

A. An applicant's or a recipient's monthly household income is a determinant of eligibility​
for the subsistence program activity.​

B. The commissioner must calculate the maximum monthly household income limit of an​
applicant or a recipient by adding the applicant's or recipient's maximum monthly cash benefit​
amount to the maximum monthly shelter benefit amount calculated according to subparts 4 and 5.​

C. The commissioner must calculate an applicant's or a recipient's monthly household​
income before the first benefit period and before each subsequent benefit period according to part​
9055.0300.​

D. To be eligible for the first benefit period and each subsequent benefit period, the​
commissioner must certify that an applicant's or a recipient's monthly household income is under​
the maximum monthly household income limit.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0370 SUBSISTENCE ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Eligibility for first benefit period.​

A. The commissioner must take the following actions to determine an applicant's eligibility​
for subsistence benefits for the first benefit period.​

(1) The commissioner must confirm:​

(a) the applicant is experiencing a documented medical condition that prevents the​
applicant from working at the applicant's current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days; or​

(b) the date of application is within the 12 months after the veteran has passed away.​

(2) The commissioner must calculate the applicant's household assets and monthly​
household income to determine eligibility for the first benefit period.​
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(3) The commissioner must exclude income received before the first benefit period​
through the end of the first benefit period from the monthly household income calculation if the​
income has ended due to the applicant's medical condition or a veteran's death.​

B. An applicant's household assets and monthly household income must be less than the​
maximum household asset limit and maximum monthly household income limit to be eligible for​
the first benefit period.​

Subp. 2. Eligibility for subsequent benefit periods.​

A. A recipient of subsistence must make a request for subsistence benefits for the next​
benefit period to the commissioner through a county veterans service officer, department field​
operations claims representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer.​

B. A recipient must notify the commissioner in writing of:​

(1) any changes affecting the need for assistance;​

(2) any changes in the recipient's medical condition or employment status;​

(3) any changes in the household size or composition;​

(4) any changes in the recipient's shelter costs;​

(5) household assets at the end of the current benefit period;​

(6) household income received during the current benefit period; and​

(7) the status of pending applications for short- or long-term benefits the recipient has​
applied for and assistance from other entities for which the recipient has applied.​

C. A county veterans service officer, a department field operations claims representative,​
or a department Tribal veterans service officer must submit a written recommendation to the​
commissioner for a recipient's next benefit period.​

D. The commissioner must take the following actions to determine a recipient's eligibility​
for the next benefit period:​

(1) the commissioner must confirm reported changes in the recipient's medical condition​
or employment status;​

(2) the commissioner must ensure the recipient has applied for all long-term maintenance​
benefits and all short-term disability benefits under parts 9055.0435, subparts 10, items A and B,​
and 11, items A and B; and 9055.0440, subpart 5, items A and B, and that an initial determination​
has not been rendered or benefits have not been paid by the entity responsible for administering​
the benefit; and​

(3) the commissioner must recalculate the recipient's household assets at the end of the​
current benefit period and calculate the recipient's monthly household income received during the​
current benefit period to determine eligibility for the next benefit period.​
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E. The recipient's household assets at the end of the current benefit period and the recipient's​
monthly household income received during the current benefit period must be less than the recipient's​
maximum household asset limit and maximum monthly household income limit to be eligible for​
the next benefit period.​

Subp. 3. Applicants or recipients over income or asset limits.​

A. An applicant or a recipient is not eligible for subsistence if the applicant's or recipient's​
monthly household income or household assets are greater than or equal to the applicant's or​
recipient's maximum monthly household income limit or maximum household asset limit.​

B. The commissioner must provide an applicant or a recipient over the maximum monthly​
household income limit or maximum household asset limit with an explanation of the following:​

(1) how the applicant's or recipient's maximum monthly household income limit and​
maximum household asset limit are established; and​

(2) how the applicant's or recipient's monthly household income and household assets​
were calculated.​

C. An applicant or a recipient who is not eligible for assistance in the current benefit period​
is authorized to receive assistance in the next benefit period if the applicant's or recipient's monthly​
household income and household assets are less than the maximum limits.​

D. The commissioner must close an applicant's or a recipient's subsistence if the applicant​
or recipient is not eligible for two consecutive benefit periods.​

E. An applicant or a recipient who is over the maximum household asset limit may reduce​
household assets to become eligible for subsistence if the reduction is to meet the household's basic​
needs.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0380 MAXIMUM SUBSISTENCE BENEFIT AMOUNTS AND REDUCTIONS.​

Subpart 1. Maximum subsistence authorized benefit amount. The maximum subsistence​
benefit amount for a benefit period must be equal to an applicant's or a recipient's maximum monthly​
household income limit if the applicant's or recipient's monthly household income at the beginning​
of the benefit period is $0.​

Subp. 2. Determining benefit amounts for individual benefit periods. The commissioner​
must calculate the benefit amount an applicant or a recipient is authorized to receive in a benefit​
period by reducing the maximum authorized benefit amount by the applicant's monthly household​
income calculated on the date of application for the first benefit period or by the recipient's monthly​
household income received in the previous benefit period for subsequent benefit periods.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
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History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0390 SUBSISTENCE UTILITY AND HEALTH INSURANCE AND COBRA​
BENEFITS.​

A. For a recipient and members of the recipient's household if the recipient's benefit amount​
is greater than $0, the commissioner must provide subsistence assistance for:​

(1) utility costs incurred at a recipient's primary residence; and​

(2) health insurance premiums or COBRA payments.​

B. The commissioner must prorate benefit amounts for utility charges, health insurance​
premiums, and COBRA payments according to part 9055.0280, subpart 5, if the legal obligation​
to pay for these items is shared with a person who is not eligible to receive subsistence.​

C. The commissioner must assign subsistence assistance for utility charges, health insurance​
premiums, and COBRA payments to a specific benefit period. Subsistence assistance is limited to​
the current charges, applicable taxes, and other fees and charges in the billing cycle.​

D. Subsistence assistance with past due amounts, late charges, or fees incurred before the​
start of the first benefit period is prohibited.​

E. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance only for the amount due stated​
on a billing document if the amount due is less than the current charges, applicable taxes, and other​
authorized fees and charges for the billing cycle.​

F. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance for the monthly amount budgeted​
for utility charges, applicable taxes, and other authorized fees and charges due for a billing cycle​
that is assigned to a specific benefit period if a recipient is on a budget payment plan.​

G. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance for payments required to balance​
an account for utility charges that are due during a billing cycle that is assigned to a specific benefit​
period if a recipient is on a budget payment plan.​

H. The commissioner must evenly distribute amounts due for utility charges, health insurance​
premiums, and COBRA payments with billing cycles longer than 30 days over the number of benefit​
periods covered by the billing cycle.​

I. The commissioner must assign utility charges, health insurance premiums, and COBRA​
payments to a benefit period if:​

(1) the date of the billing documents falls within the benefit period;​

(2) the payment due date falls within the benefit period; or​

(3) any portion of the billing cycle, dates of service, or coverage period falls within the​
benefit period.​
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J. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance for multiple utility charges, health​
insurance premiums, and COBRA payments at once if each payment meets the requirements of​
this subpart and is assigned to a specific benefit period.​

K. Billing documents that have been altered or tampered with must not be accepted for​
payment of utility charges, health insurance premiums, or COBRA payments.​

L. The commissioner must not duplicate payments for utility charges, health insurance​
premiums, or COBRA payments if a recipient receives assistance from another entity for the​
payments.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0395 SUBSISTENCE - NATURAL GAS, ELECTRICITY, TELEPHONE, AND​
INTERNET SERVICE.​

Subpart 1. Natural gas and electricity service.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for natural​
gas and electricity service.​

B. Subsistence benefits under this subpart are limited to:​

(1) monthly recurring usage charges and fees for natural gas and electricity service​
established before the date of application for subsistence;​

(2) charges for appliance maintenance or replacement plans that are part of a recipient's​
monthly natural gas or electric bill if the plan was in place before the date of application for​
subsistence; and​

(3) monthly charges for voluntary programs funding clean energy initiatives, energy​
conservation programs, and programs for low-income energy assistance.​

Subp. 2. Telephone service.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for either​
landline or cellular telephone service but not both.​

B. Subsistence assistance under this subpart is limited to:​

(1) monthly recurring service and usage charges and fees for telephone service that was​
established before the date of application for subsistence; and​

(2) local, state, and federal taxes and surcharges for telephone service.​
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Subp. 3. Internet service.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for Internet​
service.​

B. Subsistence under this subpart is limited to:​

(1) monthly recurring service charges and fees for Internet service that are established​
before the date of application for subsistence;​

(2) Internet and voice equipment rental charges; and​

(3) local, state, and federal taxes and fees for Internet service.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0400 SUBSISTENCE - BULK FUEL SERVICE.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for bulk​
fuel service.​

B. Bulk fuel deliveries must be authorized by the commissioner before delivery to the​
recipient's primary residence. The commissioner must determine the quantities approved based on​
the recipient's usage rates in the same months of the previous year.​

C. The commissioner must authorize the minimum delivery quantity and equally distribute​
the amount over the number of past, current, or future benefit periods a recipient is eligible for if​
the quantity of bulk fuel calculated for a benefit period does not meet a vendor's minimum delivery​
requirements.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0405 SUBSISTENCE - WATER AND SEWER SERVICE.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for municipal​
water and sewer services.​

B. Benefits under this part are limited to:​

(1) monthly recurring usage charges and fees for municipal water and sewer service​
established before the date of application for subsistence;​

(2) fixed operational costs;​

(3) infrastructure maintenance and system improvements;​
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(4) charges and fees associated with water softener systems that were installed before​
the date of application for subsistence;​

(5) monthly charges for voluntary programs funding clean water initiatives and water​
conservation programs; and​

(6) programs for low-income assistance.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0410 SUBSISTENCE - SANITATION SERVICE.​

A. The commissioner must provide subsistence assistance to eligible recipients for sanitation​
services.​

B. Benefits under this part are limited to:​

(1) monthly recurring charges for trash and recycling; and​

(2) nonrecurring charges for the removal of additional trash or large unwanted items.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0415 SUBSISTENCE - HEALTH INSURANCE AND COBRA BENEFITS.​

A. The commissioner must provide assistance with health insurance or COBRA benefits​
that have lapsed if the insurance carrier accepts payment to restore coverage.​

B. Health insurance premiums automatically deducted from the earned or unearned income​
of an applicant or a recipient or an applicant's or a recipient's spouse must not be duplicated by the​
commissioner.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0420 SUBSISTENCE - SHELTER, UTILITIES, HEALTH INSURANCE, AND COBRA​
PAYMENTS.​

A. A recipient must submit to the commissioner receipts, invoices, billing statements, and​
shelter authorization forms for the purposes of paying the recipient's shelter costs, utility charges,​
health insurance premiums, or COBRA payments.​
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B. The commissioner must make payments for shelter costs, utility charges, health insurance​
premiums, and COBRA benefits directly to the entities to which payment is due.​

C. Documents submitted to the commissioner for payment of shelter costs, utility charges,​
health insurance premiums, or COBRA payments must confirm:​

(1) the address of the property where the shelter costs and the utility charges are incurred,​
and the property is the recipient's primary residence;​

(2) the recipient or recipient's spouse is an owner or lessee of the primary residence​
and is legally responsible for payment of the shelter costs and the utility charges at the residence;​

(3) all shelter costs, utility charges and fees, taxes and surcharges, the date of the billing​
document, the payment due date, the dates of service, and the dates of the billing period;​

(4) the shelter and utility vendors' names, addresses, payment addresses if different,​
and phone numbers;​

(5) the health insurance premium or COBRA payment amount, the date of the billing​
document, the payment due date, and the dates of the coverage period; and​

(6) the health insurance carrier's or the COBRA administrator's name, address, payment​
address if different, and phone number.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0430 SUBSISTENCE - OVERPAYMENT STATUS.​

A. An individual receiving subsistence assistance benefits in an amount greater than what​
is authorized for a benefit period is in overpayment status.​

B. If the overpayment is a result of a preceding benefit period, the commissioner must​
correct the overpayment by withholding or reducing the benefits of future benefit periods under​
the current application.​

C. A recipient in overpayment status is barred from receiving future benefits from any state​
soldiers assistance program activity until the overpayment is corrected.​

D. Denying or reducing benefits that a person would be eligible for under future applications​
does not correct an overpayment.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​
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9055.0435 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM SUBSISTENCE - BASED ON​
MEDICAL CONDITION.​

Subpart 1. Applicant requirements.​

A. An applicant for subsistence under this part must be:​

(1) a veteran experiencing a medical condition that prevents the veteran from working​
at the veteran's current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days; or​

(2) a surviving spouse of a veteran experiencing a medical condition that prevents the​
surviving spouse from working at the surviving spouse's current or most recent occupation for at​
least 30 days.​

B. An applicant for subsistence under this part must meet the requirements of this part and​
parts 9055.0350 to 9055.0430.​

C. Parts 9055.0350 to 9055.0435 apply only to subsistence based on an applicant's medical​
condition.​

Subp. 2. Medical conditions.​

A. An applicant must provide to the commissioner documentation of a medical condition​
from one of the following licensed medical providers to be eligible for subsistence under this part:​

(1) doctors of medicine (MDs);​

(2) physicians assistants;​

(3) nurse practitioners;​

(4) psychiatrists;​

(5) psychologists;​

(6) doctors of osteopathic medicine (DOs);​

(7) doctors of chiropractic; or​

(8) any other medical provider designated by the commissioner and licensed by the​
state.​

B. A licensed medical provider must determine if an applicant's medical condition in its​
current state is acute or chronic and that the effects of the medical condition prevent the applicant​
from working in the applicant's current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days.​

C. The commissioner must consider multiple documented medical conditions to be equal​
in duration and independently preventing an applicant from working in the applicant's current or​
most recent occupation unless stated otherwise by the medical provider.​
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Subp. 3. Medical documentation.​

A. An applicant for benefits under this part must submit to the commissioner the required​
medical documentation as described under either item B or C. The medical documentation must​
be completed by a licensed medical provider.​

B. Medical documentation must confirm the following for each medical condition the​
applicant is experiencing:​

(1) the underlying diagnoses, illnesses, injuries, and physical findings;​

(2) whether the medical condition is chronic or acute;​

(3) the date of onset of the medical condition;​

(4) whether the medical condition prevents the applicant from working in the applicant's​
current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days;​

(5) how long the medical condition is expected to last and when the applicant is expected​
be fit for work in the applicant's current or most recent occupation;​

(6) whether the applicant is following a prescribed treatment plan;​

(7) whether the applicant was or is hospitalized or is in an in-patient treatment program​
and any future appointment dates;​

(8) whether the applicant's medical condition is the result of an accident or injury​
covered by insurance or workers' compensation; and​

(9) the medical provider's name, credentials, and signature; and the clinic name, address,​
telephone number; and the date the documentation was completed.​

C. An applicant may submit medical documentation that does not meet all requirements​
of item B and a determination of eligibility must be made for the first benefit period if the applicant​
is in need of immediate financial assistance to meet the applicant's basic needs. At a minimum, the​
medical documentation must confirm:​

(1) the underlying diagnosis, illness, injury, and physical findings; and​

(2) if the medical condition prevents the applicant from working at the applicant's​
current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days.​

Medical documentation meeting the requirements of item B must be submitted to the​
commissioner before the second benefit period is issued.​

Subp. 4. Benefit periods.​

A. An applicant must be experiencing a medical condition that prevents the applicant from​
working at the applicant's current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days to be eligible for​
the first benefit period.​
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B. The commissioner must calculate the number of additional benefit periods by dividing​
the number of days until the recipient is fit to work in the recipient's current or most recent occupation​
by 30 and rounding the result up to the next whole number.​

C. Subsistence under this part is limited to six benefit periods under a single application​
for subsistence unless additional benefit periods are approved by the commissioner under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph (a), and either of the following conditions are met:​

(1) a recipient has applied for all long-term maintenance benefits and short-term​
disability benefits under subparts 10, items A and B, and 11, items A and B, and an initial​
determination has not been rendered or benefits have not been paid by the entity responsible for​
administering the benefit; or​

(2) a recipient is expected to be fit to work in the recipient's current or most recent​
occupation, but the recipient requires additional benefit periods before being cleared by a medical​
provider to return to work.​

Subp. 5. Start of subsistence. The commissioner must begin a recipient's benefit periods on​
one of the following dates if all other eligibility requirements have been met:​

A. the date the recipient stopped working due to a documented medical condition if it is​
30 days or less before the completion of the medical documentation and the medical documentation​
is completed 30 days or less before the date of application;​

B. the date of the medical documentation if it is completed 30 days or less before the date​
of application;​

C. the date of application; or​

D. the earliest date after the date of application when all eligibility requirements have been​
met.​

Subp. 6. Program limits.​

A. Subsistence under this part is prohibited for a chronic medical condition that existed​
before or at the same time as a medical condition an applicant previously received subsistence for​
unless the applicant experienced a documented injury in the 30 days before the date of application​
causing an acute episode of the condition.​

B. Subsistence under this part is limited to not more than a cumulative total of six benefit​
periods for the same medical condition in a person's lifetime unless additional benefit periods are​
approved by the commissioner under subpart 4, item C.​

Subp. 7. Long-term disability benefits. An applicant who is receiving a long-term disability​
benefit is not eligible for subsistence under this part.​

Subp. 8. Minnesota unemployment insurance. An applicant who is receiving benefits from​
the Minnesota unemployment insurance program administered by the Department of Employment​
and Economic Development (DEED) is not eligible for subsistence under this part.​
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Subp. 9. Work and earnings requirements.​

A. An applicant must meet the following work and earnings requirements to be eligible for​
subsistence under this part:​

(1) the applicant last worked in the 12 months before the date of application for​
subsistence; and​

(2) the applicant's earnings in the 12 months before having last worked were enough​
to earn four Social Security credits.​

B. An applicant who has worked in the 12 months before the date of application for​
subsistence under this part, but did not earn enough in the 12 months before having last worked,​
must meet the following conditions to be eligible for subsistence under this part:​

(1) the applicant last worked in the 30 days before the date of application; and​

(2) the applicant stopped working due to the applicant's medical condition.​

C. An applicant who has not worked in the 12 months before the date of application must​
have to previously received workers' compensation and the workers' compensation ended in the 12​
months before the date of application.​

D. An applicant experiencing concurrent acute medical conditions is not required to meet​
the work and earnings requirements of this part under the following conditions:​

(1) simultaneous treatment of each medical condition is not feasible; and​

(2) the time between treating each condition is less than 30 days between recovery​
periods.​

E. For the purposes of this part, an applicant who is a veteran and who is a member of the​
National Guard or another reserve component of the United States armed forces does not meet the​
minimum work requirement if the only work performed in the 12 months before the date of​
application is attendance at monthly unit training assemblies and the 15 days of required annual​
training. This provision applies regardless of the applicant's earnings.​

F. For the purposes of this part, an applicant who is a veteran and who is a member of the​
National Guard or another reserve component of the United States armed forces and who was​
ordered to active duty or active duty for training in addition to the 15 days of required annual​
training in the 12 months before the date of application meets the minimum work requirement if​
the applicant's earnings were enough to earn four Social Security credits.​

Subp. 10. Long-term maintenance benefits.​

A. A recipient of subsistence under this part must apply for all long-term maintenance​
benefits the recipient is eligible to apply for if the recipient's medical condition is expected to​
prevent the recipient from working in the recipient's current or most recent occupation for 180 days​
or longer.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

9055.0435​MINNESOTA RULES​63​



B. A recipient of subsistence under this part must submit proof to the commissioner of​
application for a long-term maintenance benefit required under item A before receiving the second​
benefit period.​

C. The commissioner must suspend subsistence under this part after the first benefit period​
if a recipient has not applied for a long-term maintenance benefit required under items A and B.​
The commissioner must close subsistence under this part 30 days after the end of the first benefit​
period if the recipient has not applied for a long-term maintenance benefit.​

D. An applicant or a recipient is eligible for subsistence under this part while waiting on​
an initial determination of eligibility or receipt of payment of a long-term maintenance benefit from​
the entity administering the benefit.​

E. An applicant already receiving a long-term maintenance benefit, with the exception of​
a long-term disability benefit, is eligible for subsistence under this part.​

F. A recipient approved for a long-term maintenance benefit, with the exception of a​
long-term disability benefit, remains eligible for subsistence under this part if the recipient continues​
to meet the requirements of this part.​

G. A recipient of subsistence under this part whose medical condition is service connected​
through the United States Department of Veterans Affairs must apply for:​

(1) an increase in the current disability rating of the condition; or​

(2) a temporary 100 percent disability rating if the medical condition is expected to​
prevent the recipient from working in the recipient's current or most recent occupation for 180 days​
or longer.​

Subp. 11. Short-term disability benefits.​

A. A recipient of subsistence under this part must apply for all short-term disability benefits​
the recipient is eligible to apply for, regardless of the expected duration of the recipient's medical​
condition.​

B. A recipient of subsistence under this part must submit proof to the commissioner of​
application for short-term disability benefits required under item A before receiving the second​
benefit period.​

C. The commissioner must suspend subsistence under this part after the first benefit period​
if a recipient has not applied for short-term disability benefits required under items A and B. The​
commissioner must close subsistence under this part 30 days after the end of the first benefit period​
if the recipient has not applied for short-term disability benefits.​

D. An applicant or a recipient is eligible for subsistence under this part while waiting on​
an initial determination of eligibility or receipt of payment of a short-term disability benefit from​
the entity administering the benefit.​
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E. An applicant already receiving a short-term disability benefit is eligible for subsistence​
under this part.​

F. A recipient approved for a short-term disability benefit remains eligible for subsistence​
under this part if the recipient continues to meet the requirements of this part.​

Subp. 12. Use of available income and other payroll.​

A. A recipient of subsistence under this part must use accrued paid time off, vacation time,​
and sick time available from the recipient's current or most recent employer regardless of the​
expected duration of the recipient's medical condition.​

B. A recipient must submit to the commissioner documentation from the recipient's current​
or most recent employer that confirms the recipient is using the available paid time off, vacation​
time, or sick time required under item A before receiving the second benefit period.​

C. The commissioner must suspend subsistence under this part after the first benefit period​
if a recipient has not applied for use of accrued paid time off, vacation time, and sick time as required​
under items A and B. The commissioner must close subsistence under this part 30 days after the​
end of the first benefit period if the recipient has not applied for use of accrued paid time off,​
vacation time, and sick time.​

D. A recipient who receives income from accrued paid time off, vacation time, or sick time​
is eligible for subsistence under this part if the recipient continues to meet the requirements of this​
part.​

Subp. 13. Compensated work therapy. For purposes of this part, an applicant completing​
inpatient treatment and beginning compensated work therapy through the United States Department​
of Veterans Affairs is not considered to have returned to work or resumed employment. Earnings​
from compensated work therapy in excess of $50 per benefit period are considered income and​
must be reported to the commissioner.​

Subp. 14. Light duty, limited hours, or work with restrictions. An applicant or a recipient​
who is able to work at the applicant's or recipient's current or most recent occupation in a light-duty​
capacity, or with reduced hours or with restrictions, is not eligible for subsistence under this part​
unless the applicant or recipient submits documentation from the employer confirming the employer​
will not accommodate the light-duty requirements, reduced hours, or restrictions.​

Subp. 15. Return to work, resumption of employment or self-employment.​

A. For purposes of this part, a recipient who returns to work in any occupation and capacity​
whether employed, self-employed, part time, or full time is not eligible for subsistence under this​
part beyond the current benefit period.​

B. For purposes of this part, a recipient who is a veteran and who is a member of the National​
Guard or another reserve component of the United States armed forces may attend all required unit​
training assemblies and up to 15 days of required annual training and not be considered to have​
returned to work or resumed employment. A recipient who is a veteran and who is ordered to active​
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duty or active duty for training that exceeds the 15 days of required annual training is considered​
to have returned to work.​

Subp. 16. Termination of benefits. The commissioner must close subsistence under this part​
under any of the following conditions:​

A. the recipient's medical provider has prescribed a treatment plan, and the provider confirms​
the recipient is not following the treatment plan;​

B. the recipient has received the number of benefit periods authorized by the medical​
documentation, plus any additional periods approved by the commissioner under subpart 4, item​
C;​

C. the recipient returns to the workforce in any occupation or capacity;​

D. the recipient begins receiving a long-term disability benefit; or​

E. the recipient no longer meets the requirements of this part.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0440 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM - DUE TO DEATH OF A​
VETERAN.​

Subpart 1. Applicant requirements.​

A. An applicant for subsistence under this part must be a surviving spouse of a veteran.​

B. To receive subsistence benefits under this part, a surviving spouse must apply for​
subsistence within 12 months after the veteran's death.​

C. To receive subsistence benefits under this part, a surviving spouse must meet the​
requirements of this part and parts 9055.0350 to 9055.0430.​

D. This part and parts 9055.0350 to 9055.0430 apply only to subsistence benefits based on​
a veteran's death.​

Subp. 2. Residency requirement. A deceased veteran must have met the residency requirements​
of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.05, paragraph (b), for the veteran's dependents to be eligible for​
subsistence benefits under this part.​

Subp. 3. Benefit periods. Subsistence benefits under this part are limited to six benefit periods​
unless:​

A. additional benefit periods are approved by the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 197.05, paragraph (a);​
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B. the surviving spouse has applied for all long-term maintenance benefits the surviving​
spouse is eligible to apply for as required in subpart 5, items A and B; and​

C. an initial determination has not been rendered or benefits have not been paid by the​
entity administering the benefit.​

Subp. 4. Start of subsistence. The commissioner must begin a surviving spouse's benefit​
periods under this part on one of the following dates if all other eligibility requirements have been​
met:​

A. the date the veteran passed away if it is 30 days or less before the date of application;​

B. the date of application; or​

C. the earliest date after the date of application when all eligibility requirements have been​
met.​

Subp. 5. Long-term maintenance benefits.​

A. A surviving spouse must apply for:​

(1) an increase in any long-term maintenance benefit the surviving spouse is currently​
receiving; and​

(2) all long-term maintenance benefits for which the surviving spouse is eligible to​
apply.​

B. A surviving spouse must submit to the commissioner proof of application for long-term​
maintenance benefits as required in item A before receiving the second benefit period.​

C. The commissioner must suspend subsistence benefits under this part after the first benefit​
period if the surviving spouse has not applied for long-term maintenance benefits as required in​
items A and B. The commissioner must close subsistence benefits under this part 30 days after the​
end of the first benefit period if the surviving spouse has not applied for long-term maintenance​
benefits as required.​

D. A surviving spouse is eligible for subsistence benefits under this part while waiting on​
an increase in a long-term maintenance benefit the surviving spouse currently receives or an initial​
determination of eligibility and receipt of payment of a long-term maintenance benefit the surviving​
spouse has applied for from the entity administering the benefit.​

E. A surviving spouse already receiving a long-term maintenance benefit that is not affiliated​
with the veteran is eligible for subsistence benefits under this part.​

F. If a surviving spouse is approved for an increase in a long-term maintenance benefit the​
surviving spouse is already receiving and the increase is not due to the veteran's death, the surviving​
spouse remains eligible for subsistence under this part if the surviving spouse continues to meet​
the requirements of this part.​
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Subp. 6. Termination of benefits. The commissioner must close subsistence under this part​
under any the following conditions:​

A. the surviving spouse has received six benefit periods plus any additional periods approved​
by the commissioner under subpart 3;​

B. the surviving spouse begins receiving a long-term maintenance benefit the surviving​
spouse was not receiving at the time of veteran's death;​

C. the surviving spouse receives an increase in a long-term maintenance benefit the surviving​
spouse is already receiving and the increase is due to the veteran's death; or​

D. the surviving spouse no longer meets the requirements of this part.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0445 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM VETERANS' EDUCATION​
BENEFITS.​

Subpart 1. Definitions.​

A. For the purpose of this part, "eligible veteran" means a veteran as defined by Minnesota​
Statutes, section 197.447, who meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (g), clauses (1) to (4), and who has not earned a bachelor's degree or​
equivalent.​

B. For the purpose of this part, "eligible institution" means a postsecondary educational​
institution meeting the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75, subdivision 1, paragraph​
(e).​

Subp. 2. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide educational assistance to​
an eligible veteran who is attending an eligible institution.​

B. To qualify for education benefits under this part, an applicant for education benefits​
must meet the requirements of this part and be an eligible veteran as defined in subpart 1.​

C. An eligible veteran who has already attained a bachelor's or equivalent degree is not​
eligible for education benefits under this part.​

D. This part applies only to the veterans' education program activity.​

Subp. 3. Benefits provided. The benefit provided under this part is limited to a single payment​
for tuition in an amount up to $750 paid by the commissioner to an eligible institution or reimbursed​
to an eligible veteran.​
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Subp. 4. Application for veteran education benefits.​

A. The commissioner must issue the education benefit to an eligible veteran as a onetime​
benefit.​

B. To be eligible for benefits under this part, an eligible veteran must submit a completed​
application and the required supporting documentation to the commissioner before the final day of​
the term or semester for which the eligible veteran is requesting benefits.​

C. Payment is prohibited for a term or semester ending before the commissioner receives​
a completed application and supporting documentation.​

Subp. 5. Veteran education authorization letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue an education authorization letter to an eligible veteran​
approved for education benefits under this part. The commissioner must issue only one education​
authorization letter to an eligible veteran.​

B. The education authorization letter must confirm the eligible veteran is approved for​
education benefits in the form of a onetime payment for tuition to the eligible institution stated on​
the authorization letter or reimbursement for tuition the eligible veteran paid to the eligible institution​
stated on the authorization letter.​

C. An education authorization letter is valid only for the eligible institution stated on the​
authorization letter.​

Subp. 6. Veteran education denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a veteran education denial letter to a veteran who is denied​
education benefits under this part.​

B. A veteran education denial letter must explain the reasons for denial and the veteran's​
right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​

Subp. 7. Veteran education payments.​

A. To receive education payments under this part, an eligible institution must submit​
documentation to the commissioner with its request for payment of the eligible veteran's tuition.​

B. The eligible veteran must submit documentation to the commissioner with the request​
for reimbursement for tuition paid to the eligible institution.​

C. The commissioner must make reimbursements or payments for tuition directly to a​
veteran or eligible institution.​

D. Documentation submitted for payment or reimbursement of tuition must confirm the​
following:​

(1) the eligible veteran's name;​

(2) the amount requested for payment or reimbursement of tuition;​
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(3) the name and payment address of the eligible institution the eligible veteran is​
attending;​

(4) the start and end date of the term or semester for which benefits are being requested;​

(5) the eligible veteran attended the institution stated on the education authorization​
letter during the term or semester for which tuition is being requested; and​

(6) the eligible veteran attended and paid tuition to the eligible institution stated on the​
education authorization letter for the term or semester if reimbursement for tuition paid is requested.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​

History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0450 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM SURVIVING CHILDREN'S​
AND SPOUSE'S EDUCATION BENEFITS.​

Subpart 1. Definitions.​

A. For the purposes of this part, "deceased veteran" means a veteran as defined by Minnesota​
Statutes, section 197.447, who meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

B. For the purposes of this part, "eligible child" means a person defined by Minnesota​
Statutes, section 197.75, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clauses (1) and (2), and who otherwise meets​
the requirements of this part.​

C. For the purposes of this part, "eligible institution" means an educational institution​
meeting the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 197.75, subdivision 1, paragraph (e).​

D. For the purposes of this part, "eligible spouse" means a person defined by Minnesota​
Statutes, section 197.75, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), who was legally married, as recognized by​
the state of Minnesota, to a deceased veteran at the time of the deceased veteran's death and who​
has not remarried and who otherwise meets the requirements of this part.​

Subp. 2. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide educational assistance to​
an eligible child or an eligible spouse of a deceased veteran. An eligible child or eligible spouse​
must be attending an eligible institution.​

B. An applicant for education benefits must meet the requirements of this part and be an​
eligible child or eligible spouse as defined in subpart 1.​

C. This part applies only to the surviving children's and spouse's education program activity.​
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Subp. 3. Eligible children and spouses.​

A. A spouse of a deceased veteran who has remarried is not eligible for education benefits​
under this part.​

B. An eligible child of a deceased veteran who is a stepchild must have acquired the status​
of a stepchild before the age of 18 years and been a member of the veteran's household at the time​
of the veteran's death to be eligible for education benefits under this part.​

C. An eligible child of a deceased veteran who is adopted must have been legally adopted​
before the age of 18 years to be eligible for education benefits under this part.​

D. An eligible child of a deceased veteran who is married is eligible for education benefits​
under this part.​

E. An eligible child or eligible spouse who has already attained a bachelor's or equivalent​
degree is not eligible for education benefits under this part.​

Subp. 4. Frequency and application for surviving children's and spouse's education​
benefits.​

A. The commissioner must issue education benefits to an eligible child or eligible spouse​
as a once-per-fiscal-year benefit.​

B. To be eligible for benefits under this part, an eligible child or eligible spouse must submit​
a completed application and the required supporting documentation to the commissioner between​
July 1 up to and including June 30 of the fiscal year the eligible child or eligible spouse is requesting​
benefits for.​

C. Payment is prohibited for a term or semester that began and ended in a fiscal year for​
which there was not an application and supporting documentation submitted to the commissioner.​

Subp. 5. Benefits provided.​

A. Benefits provided under this part are limited to:​

(1) up to a $750 stipend per fiscal year paid to an eligible institution or reimbursed to​
an eligible child or eligible spouse for tuition, fees, room and board, books, and supplies; and​

(2) a waiver of tuition at all Minnesota public eligible institutions for an eligible child​
or eligible spouse until the eligible child or eligible spouse attains a bachelor's or equivalent degree.​

B. An eligible child or eligible spouse who is not attending a Minnesota public eligible​
institution is not eligible for a waiver of tuition but is eligible for the $750 stipend per fiscal year​
for tuition, fees, room and board, books, and supplies.​

Subp. 6. Surviving children's and spouse's education authorization letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue an education authorization letter to each eligible child​
and eligible spouse receiving education benefits.​
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B. The education authorization letter must confirm the eligible child or eligible spouse is​
approved for benefits and is eligible for waiver of tuition if attending a Minnesota public eligible​
institution, and the final day of the fiscal year covered by the authorization letter.​

C. The education authorization letter is valid only at the education institution indicated on​
the authorization letter.​

D. The commissioner must issue only one education authorization letter per fiscal year to​
an eligible child or eligible spouse, unless the eligible child or eligible spouse submits documentation​
to the commissioner that confirms attendance at multiple eligible institutions is required to continue​
in a chosen degree program.​

E. An eligible child or eligible spouse who is attending more than one eligible institution​
is eligible for only one $750 stipend per fiscal year.​

Subp. 7. Surviving children's and spouse's education denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a surviving children's and spouse's education denial letter​
to a surviving child or surviving spouse who is denied education benefits.​

B. A surviving children's and spouse's education denial letter must explain the reasons for​
denial and the surviving child's or surviving spouse's right to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart​
8.​

Subp. 8. Surviving children's and spouse's education payments.​

A. The eligible institution must submit documentation to the commissioner with its request​
for payment of the eligible child's or eligible spouse's tuition, fees, and charges for room and board,​
books, and supplies.​

B. The eligible child or eligible spouse must submit documentation to the commissioner​
with the request for reimbursement of tuition, fees, and charges for room and board, books, and​
supplies.​

C. The commissioner must make reimbursements or payments for tuition, fees, and charges​
for room and board, books, and supplies directly to an eligible child, eligible spouse, or eligible​
institution.​

D. Documentation submitted for payment or reimbursement must include a copy of the​
education authorization letter and an itemized breakdown of fees and charges for tuition, room and​
board, books, and supplies and confirm the following:​

(1) the eligible child's or eligible spouse's name;​

(2) the amount requested for payment or reimbursement of fees and charges for tuition,​
room and board, books, and supplies;​

(3) the name and payment address of the eligible institution the eligible child or eligible​
spouse is attending;​
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(4) the start and end dates of the terms or semesters that benefits are requested for;​

(5) the terms and semesters that benefits are requested for begin or end within the fiscal​
year;​

(6) the eligible child's or eligible spouse's attendance at the eligible institution during​
the fiscal year; and​

(7) the eligible child or eligible spouse paid the tuition, fees, room and board, books,​
and supplies at the eligible institution if the eligible child or eligible spouse is requesting​
reimbursement.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 196.04; 196.05; 197.03; 197.05; 197.06; 197.75​
History: 46 SR 928​
Published Electronically: October 27, 2022​

9055.0455 STATE SOLDIERS ASSISTANCE PROGRAM VETERAN'S RELIEF GRANT​
PROGRAM ACTIVITY.​

Subpart 1. Program purpose.​

A. Upon application approval, the commissioner must provide financial assistance as​
provided under this part to a veteran, a veteran's dependents, and a member of the armed forces​
called from reserve status to extended federal active duty per Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05,​
subdivision 1, clause (9), and the member's dependents who are experiencing financial difficulty.​

B. An applicant for a veteran's relief grant must meet the requirements of this part and be:​

(1) a veteran;​

(2) a surviving spouse of a veteran; or​

(3) a member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active​
duty per Minnesota Statutes, section 196.05, subdivision 1, clause (9).​

C. This part applies only to the veteran's relief grant program activity.​

Subp. 2. Frequency of veteran's relief grant.​

A. The veteran's relief grant is administered as a once-per-lifetime benefit.​

B. An applicant whose veteran's relief grant is approved or partially approved and payment​
has been made for any item or expense is no longer eligible for a veteran's relief grant.​

C. A veteran is authorized one veteran's relief grant.​

D. A surviving spouse of a veteran is authorized one veteran's relief grant if the veteran​
did not receive a veteran's relief grant while living.​
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E. A member of the armed forces called from reserve status to extended federal active duty​
is authorized one veteran's relief grant while on active duty but is not eligible for a second veteran's​
relief grant once:​

(1) released from active duty;​

(2) separated from the armed forces; or​

(3) discharged from the armed forces.​

F. A veteran married to another veteran is eligible for one veteran's relief grant. A veteran​
married to another veteran is not eligible for a second veteran's relief grant as the surviving spouse​
of a veteran.​

Subp. 3. Benefits provided. Benefits provided through a veteran's relief grant are limited to​
financial assistance for:​

A. items and expenses to include work and services provided by vendors and contractors​
that are directly related to meeting an applicant's basic needs or preventing the loss of a basic need;​
and​

B. items and expenses that further an applicant's financial self-sufficiency and ability to​
meet the applicant's basic needs.​

Subp. 4. Verification of need for assistance.​

A. An applicant must submit a written statement and supporting documentation to the​
commissioner that explains the circumstances of the applicant's situation and need for assistance​
and includes a plan for attaining financial self-sufficiency.​

B. The commissioner must calculate an applicant's monthly household income and household​
assets to determine the applicant's need for assistance.​

C. The commissioner must confirm the requested assistance is to:​

(1) pay for items or expenses authorized in this part and are essential to meeting the applicant's​
basic needs;​

(2) prevent the loss of a basic need; or​

(3) further the applicant's self-sufficiency and ability to meet the applicant's basic needs.​

D. The commissioner must confirm the applicant has a legal obligation to pay for the items​
and expenses for which assistance is requested.​

Subp. 5. Financial self-sufficiency.​

A. An applicant must be financially self-sufficient or on a path to financial self-sufficiency​
if the needed assistance is provided to be approved for a veteran's relief grant.​
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B. An applicant who does not meet the requirements of item A is eligible for a veteran's​
relief grant if one of the following conditions is met:​

(1) the need for assistance is immediate and the requested assistance is necessary to​
house the applicant or to prevent the applicant from becoming homeless; or​

(2) the circumstances create an emergency as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section​
16C.02, subdivision 6b, that poses a direct threat to the health or safety of the applicant.​

C. The commissioner must calculate an applicant's current monthly household income and​
current household assets to determine if the applicant will be financially self-sufficient or on a path​
to financial self-sufficiency beyond the needed assistance.​

D. The commissioner must consider only the monthly household income and household​
assets of an applicant and members of the applicant's household when determining financial​
self-sufficiency.​

E. The commissioner must only consider the portion of an item or expense that an applicant​
or the applicant's spouse is responsible for paying if the applicant or the applicant's spouse shares​
responsibility for the item or expense with a person who is not authorized to receive a veteran's​
relief grant.​

F. An applicant who is not financially self-sufficient must attend financial counseling for​
the purpose of attaining financial self-sufficiency and eligibility for a veteran's relief grant.​

G. An applicant must apply for any long-term maintenance benefit the applicant or a member​
of the applicant's household meets the requirements for and apply for assistance from other entities​
and submit proof of application to the commissioner.​

H. The commissioner must consider the following factors when determining if an applicant​
is financially self-sufficient or on a path to financial self-sufficiency beyond the needed assistance:​

(1) the applicant's monthly household income compared to the cost of the household's​
basic needs;​

(2) the current employment status of the applicant and members of the applicant's​
household; and​

(3) the current status of long-term maintenance benefits and assistance from other​
entities the applicant and members of the applicant's household have applied for.​

Subp. 6. Maximum grant amounts. The commissioner must determine an applicant's maximum​
grant amount based on the following:​

A. the circumstances of the applicant's situation and need for financial assistance and the​
amount of assistance required to meet the applicant's basic needs;​

B. if the applicant is financially self-sufficient or will be on a path to financial​
self-sufficiency if the needed assistance is provided; and​
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C. if the needed amount of assistance is within the budgetary constraints of state soldiers​
assistance funding.​

Subp. 7. Full approval, partial approval, and denial of a veteran's relief grant.​

A. For purposes of this part:​

(1) "full approval" of an applicant's veteran's relief grant means that the benefit amount​
approved by the commissioner for each item and expense in the grant request is the full amount​
that was requested by the applicant for each item and expense;​

(2) "partial approval" of an applicant's veteran's relief grant means:​

(a) not all items and expenses in the grant request were approved; or​

(b) the full benefit amount that was requested for an item or expense was not​
approved; and​

(3) "denial" of an applicant's veteran's relief grant request means that no item or expense​
in the grant request was approved for any amount.​

B. An applicant may decline a veteran's relief grant that is fully approved or partially​
approved and retain the right to apply for a veteran's relief grant in the future if the commissioner​
does not make a payment for any item or expense in the current veteran's relief grant request.​

Subp. 8. Veteran's relief grant approval letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a veteran's relief grant approval letter to an applicant​
whose veteran's relief grant request is approved or partially approved.​

B. The veteran's relief grant approval letter must explain:​

(1) the total amount of assistance requested;​

(2) the amount requested for each item or expense;​

(3) the total amount of assistance approved by the commissioner;​

(4) the amount approved by the commissioner for each item or expense; and​

(5) an explanation of the commissioner's decision.​

Subp. 9. Veteran's relief grant denial letter.​

A. The commissioner must issue a veteran's relief grant denial letter to an applicant whose​
veteran's relief grant request is denied or partially approved.​

B. The veteran's relief grant denial letter must state each item or expense that is denied or​
partially approved and explain the reasons for denial or partial approval and the applicant's right​
to appeal under part 9055.0290, subpart 8.​
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Subp. 10. Addenda.​

A. A recipient may submit an addendum for additional assistance only for an item or expense​
that was approved or partially approved in the recipient's original veteran's relief grant request.​

B. A recipient must submit an addendum through a county veterans service officer,​
department field operations claims representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer.​

C. A recipient must submit an addendum for an item or expense to the commissioner as​
soon as the need for additional assistance is evident.​

D. A recipient must submit a written statement to the commissioner explaining the need​
for additional assistance and include an updated estimate or bill from the vendor or contractor​
performing work or providing a service and an explanation of the circumstances preventing the​
recipient from paying the additional amount.​

E. A recipient must submit the addendum to the commissioner before receiving additional​
services or the completion of any additional work that incurs charges above the initial amount​
approved.​

Subp. 11. Items and expenses covered under a veteran's relief grant.​

A. The following items and expenses are eligible for financial assistance under this part:​

(1) appliance purchase, repair, or replacement at the recipient's primary residence;​

(2) vehicle repairs, payments, and insurance premiums for the recipient's primary​
vehicle;​

(3) books required for college courses for the recipient or another household member;​

(4) tools required to perform the recipient's employment or employment training;​

(5) hearing aids for the recipient or another household member;​

(6) medical claims, health insurance premiums, and COBRA payments for the recipient​
or another household member;​

(7) daycare expenses;​

(8) dental claims for, or treatment of, life-threatening dental conditions for the recipient​
or another household member;​

(9) home repairs, modifications, and wheelchair ramps required to restore or maintain​
habitability or accessibility at the recipient's primary residence;​

(10) a security or damage deposit for a recipient to attain permanent housing;​

(11) base rent payments for a recipient's primary residence to include garage rental;​

(12) the portion of a recipient's base rate at an assisted living facility, as defined by​
Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.08, subdivision 7, that constitutes rent;​
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(13) lot rent payments for a mobile or manufactured home that is the recipient's primary​
residence;​

(14) primary mortgage payments, limited to principle, interest, and escrow payments​
for the recipient's primary residence;​

(15) home equity loan payments if the loan was taken to buy, build, restore, or maintain​
the habitability or accessibility of the recipient's primary residence;​

(16) contract for deed payments for the recipient's primary residence;​

(17) monthly townhome and condominium association dues for the recipient's primary​
residence;​

(18) homeowner's insurance premiums for the recipient's primary residence;​

(19) renter's insurance premiums for the recipient's primary residence;​

(20) property taxes and assessments for the recipient's primary residence;​

(21) expenses associated with the recipient moving to or within the state for health or​
financial reasons;​

(22) a recipient's storage unit rental in the state that is necessary to facilitate the person's​
move to or within the state;​

(23) utilities at the recipient's primary residence, including gas and electric charges,​
bulk fuel charges, water and sewer charges, sanitation charges, and telephone and Internet charges;​

(24) HVAC repairs and replacement required to maintain habitability of the recipient's​
primary residence; and​

(25) water heaters, wells, and septic systems required to maintain habitability of the​
recipient's primary residence.​

B. An applicant may request assistance for an item or expense not covered in this subpart​
and the commissioner must approve, partially approve, or deny the request. The commissioner must​
not provide an exception for prohibited items or expenses in subpart 12.​

C. Assistance is prohibited for work or services that have already been completed or provided​
by a vendor or contractor or for items the applicant has already purchased and paid for or incurred​
an obligation to pay for unless the circumstances of the situation posed a direct threat to the​
applicant's health, safety, and financial stability.​

D. Work or services to be provided under a veteran's relief grant must be completed within​
90 days of the date the grant is approved. The recipient and the vendor or contractor must submit​
a written statement to the commissioner explaining the reasons for any delay in completing the​
work or providing the services and the newly projected completion date.​

Subp. 12. Items and expenses not covered under a veteran's relief grant. Financial assistance​
is prohibited under this part for the following items or expenses:​
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A. airfare;​

B. dental claims for treatment not related to a life-threatening condition;​

C. funerals;​

D. nursing home costs;​

E. assisted living services, as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 144G.08, subdivision​
9, provided in an assisted living contract that are over and above the base rent for the primary​
residence;​

F. personal loans, credit cards, and all lines of credit;​

G. unsecured loans and home equity loans that were not taken to buy, build, restore, or​
maintain the habitability or accessibility of the recipient's primary residence;​

H. home equity lines of credit, regardless of the reason for the line of credit;​

I. student loans;​

J. state and federal income taxes;​

K. child support payments;​

L. entertainment subscriptions that are part of a recipient's cable or satellite services; and​

M. any fine, legal fee, or reinstatement fee.​

Subp. 13. Items and expenses related to real or personal property.​

A. Assistance with an item or expense stemming from owning or leasing personal property​
is authorized under this part under the following conditions:​

(1) the recipient or recipient's spouse is an owner or lessee of the property; and​

(2) the recipient or recipient's spouse has a legal obligation to pay for the property or​
pay for the item or the expense resulting from owning or leasing the property.​

B. Assistance with an item or expense stemming from owning or leasing real property is​
authorized under the following conditions:​

(1) the recipient or recipient's spouse is an owner or lessee of the property;​

(2) the property is the primary residence of the recipient;​

(3) the property is homesteaded if owned by the recipient or recipient's spouse; and​

(4) the recipient or recipient's spouse has a legal obligation to pay for owning or leasing​
the property or pay for the item or the expense stemming from owning or leasing the property.​

C. The commissioner must accept any of the following documents to confirm a recipient​
or recipient's spouse is an owner or a lessee of real or personal property:​
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(1) a certificate of title;​

(2) a deed;​

(3) a current mortgage statement or billing statement;​

(4) the current year's property tax statement;​

(5) a contract for deed; or​

(6) a standard lease agreement.​

Subp. 14. Prorating veteran's relief grant benefits.​

A. The commissioner must prorate a grant amount for a shared item or shared expense in​
accordance with part 9055.0280, subparts 4 and 5, if a recipient or recipient's spouse shares joint​
liability for the item or expense with a person who is not eligible to receive a veteran's relief grant.​

B. A grant amount for a shared item or shared expense that is the direct result of owning​
or leasing real or personal property must be prorated if:​

(1) the recipient or recipient's spouse owns or leases the property with a person age 18​
or older who is not eligible for a veteran's relief grant; and​

(2) joint liability for the property, item, or expense is shared with the person.​

C. The commissioner must not prorate grant amounts if the person not eligible for a veteran's​
relief grant relinquishes ownership or ceases to lease the property or is no longer liable for the​
property or the shared item or shared expense.​

Subp. 15. Assistance with shelter costs.​

A. An applicant must have a current legal obligation to pay shelter costs and provide​
documentation verifying that the applicant paid shelter costs in the 12 months before the date of​
application for the veteran's relief grant to be eligible for assistance with shelter costs under the​
veteran's relief grant program activity.​

B. An applicant who does not meet the requirements of item A may incur shelter costs and​
is eligible to receive assistance if necessary to attain permanent housing and the commissioner​
confirms the applicant is homeless or on the homeless veteran registry.​

C. An applicant who is currently leasing the primary residence but does not have a current​
lease agreement must execute a written standard residential lease agreement that states the applicant's​
actual shelter costs used to establish the applicant's amount of shelter assistance. The commissioner​
must accept the executed lease agreement signed by the applicant and property owner or manager​
if the applicant provides proof to the commissioner of paying the actual shelter costs stated on the​
executed lease agreement in the 12 months before the date of application for the veteran's relief​
grant.​

D. An applicant must provide proof to the commissioner of paying the actual shelter costs​
stated on the executed lease agreement with any of the following documents:​
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(1) a statement from the property owner or manager;​

(2) past rent receipts;​

(3) cleared checks; or​

(4) other documentation that provides proof that the applicant is paying the actual shelter​
costs.​

E. Assistance with past due shelter costs incurred at a previous residence is authorized if​
paying the past due costs is a prerequisite for the applicant attaining permanent housing.​

F. The commissioner must limit assistance with the shelter costs of an applicant residing​
under the terms of a nontraditional housing agreement to the shelter benefit amounts provided in​
the schedule of maximum monthly allowances for the subsistence program activity.​

Subp. 16. Veteran's relief grant shelter authorization form.​

A. The commissioner must issue a veteran's relief grant shelter authorization form to a​
recipient who is approved for shelter assistance and who pays rent for a primary residence.​

B. The shelter authorization form is the only billing document accepted for payment of the​
recipient's shelter cost.​

C. The shelter authorization form must explain:​

(1) the instructions for completing the form;​

(2) the amount of shelter assistance approved;​

(3) the period covered by the assistance; and​

(4) the name and address of the property owner or manager.​

Subp. 17. Vendor and contractor participation. A vendor or contractor participating in the​
veteran's relief grant program must:​

A. comply with this part;​

B. have the appropriate licensure to perform the work or provide the services contracted​
for;​

C. bill only for the work completed or services provided; and​

D. report any conflicts of interest that arise out of performing work for or providing services​
to the recipient of a veteran's relief grant.​

Subp. 18. Estimates and proposals for covered items or expenses.​

A. An applicant applying for assistance with an item or expense that requires work or​
services provided by a vendor or a contractor must submit to the commissioner a minimum of two​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

9055.0455​MINNESOTA RULES​81​



estimates or proposals from vendors or contractors who are willing to perform the work or provide​
the services.​

B. An estimate or proposal must be submitted to the commissioner in writing and confirm:​

(1) the bidding contractor's or vendor's name, address, payment address if different,​
and phone number;​

(2) the vendor or contractor is authorized to do business in Minnesota;​

(3) the vendor or contractor has liability insurance if bidding to perform work on the​
applicant's primary residence or property vital to the structural integrity of the primary residence;​

(4) the applicant is the intended recipient of the work performed or services provided​
and will be the party responsible for payment;​

(5) the terms and conditions of payment;​

(6) the address where work or services will be performed; and​

(7) include an itemized breakdown of all work performed and services provided, material​
and labor costs, additional charges, and taxes.​

C. An applicant must obtain a minimum of two estimates or proposals for needed work or​
services unless there are no other contractors or vendors in the applicant's location to perform the​
work or provide the services, or the circumstances of the applicant's situation warrant expedited​
completion of the work or provision of services.​

D. The commissioner must not approve an estimate or proposal requiring a down payment​
to a vendor or contractor before work starts or services are provided. Direct payment from the​
commissioner to a wholesaler or retailer for materials and supplies is authorized if payment is​
required to start work.​

Subp. 19. Changing vendors or contractors.​

A. A recipient may request to change a vendor or contractor if there is a conflict with the​
original vendor or contractor or other circumstances prevent the original vendor or contractor from​
completing or providing the proposed work or services.​

B. The recipient must submit the request to change a vendor or contractor to the​
commissioner through a county veterans service officer, department field operations claims​
representative, or department Tribal veterans service officer.​

C. The recipient must submit a written statement to the commissioner explaining the reasons​
for changing a vendor or contractor and include a new estimate or proposal from a new vendor or​
contractor for the work to be completed or the services to be provided.​

D. Payment under this part for work or services performed by the new contractor or vendor​
before commissioner approval is prohibited.​
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Subp. 20. Dispute between vendor or contractor and recipient.​

A. The commissioner is not a party to a dispute between a vendor or contractor and a​
recipient of a veteran's relief grant over the quality of work performed or services provided.​

B. The commissioner must withhold payment to a vendor or contractor until the work is​
completed or services are provided if a recipient informs the commissioner that a vendor or contractor​
is seeking payment but has failed to perform or provide any of the approved work or services.​

Subp. 21. Veteran's relief grant payments.​

A. The commissioner must not provide payments for items or expenses another entity has​
provided assistance for.​

B. A recipient must submit proof to the commissioner of the cost of items and expenses​
for approval and payment by the commissioner.​

C. The commissioner must make payments for items and expenses directly to the entity to​
which payment is due.​

D. Receipts, invoices, and billing statements submitted to the commissioner by a recipient​
must confirm:​

(1) the name, location, and payment address of the entity to which payment is due; and​

(2) proof the recipient or recipient's spouse is responsible for paying for the items or​
expenses.​

Subp. 22. Veteran's relief grant payments to vendors and contractors.​

A. A vendor or contractor who has performed work or provided services to a recipient must​
submit documentation to the commissioner for payment.​

B. The commissioner must make payments for work performed or services provided directly​
to a vendor or contractor.​

C. Documents submitted to the commissioner by a vendor or contractor requesting payment​
for work performed or services provided to a recipient must include and confirm:​

(1) a copy of the veteran's relief grant authorization letter;​

(2) the contractor's or vendor's name, address, payment address if different, and phone​
number;​

(3) the recipient is the party responsible for payment for the work, services, or items​
provided;​

(4) an itemized breakdown of the costs and expenses of the work performed or services​
provided; and​

(5) the address where the work was performed or the services were provided.​
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