
7865.0220 SUSPENSIONS OR REVOCATIONS OF LICENSES OR PERMITS.​

Subpart 1. Factors considered for suspension or revocation of license or premises permit. In​
negotiating the terms and length of any suspension or revocation of a license or premises permit​
issued under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 349, the compliance review group must consider the​
factors in part 7865.0210, subpart 2, item I, and Minnesota Statutes, section 349.155, subdivision​
4.​

Any grounds for denial of a license or premises permit are also grounds for suspension or​
revocation of a license or premises permit.​

Subp. 2. Suspension or revocation of organization license for illegal gambling. Under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 349.155, subdivision 4a, paragraph (b), the board must suspend or​
revoke an organization's license if the organization's chief executive officer, gambling manager,​
or one or more of its assistant gambling managers participated in or authorized the illegal gambling​
prohibited by part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J.​

Subp. 3. Suspension or revocation of premises permit for illegal gambling. When the board​
has determined that a violation of part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, has occurred based on Minnesota​
Statutes, section 349.155, subdivision 4a, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), the board must suspend​
or revoke an organization's premises permit as follows.​

A. For the first violation of part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, at a site, the board must​
suspend each premises permit for the site for up to 90 days from the date of the board's final​
resolution or determination on the violation. An organization may not pay rent for the site during​
the term of the suspension. When suspending an organization's premises permit, the board must​
consider the following factors:​

(1) whether the organization notified the lessor, in writing, that illegal gambling was​
being conducted on the premises, giving specific information regarding the conduct of the illegal​
gambling, and requesting that the lessor take appropriate action;​

(2) whether the organization, or any of its agents, knew that the game or device that​
violated part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, was used, or was designed to be capable of being used,​
in a manner that causes illegal gambling or violates part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, or Minnesota​
Statutes, section 609.75;​

(3) the degree to which the organization cooperated with law enforcement authorities,​
the Department of Public Safety Gambling Enforcement Division, or the board;​

(4) whether the organization or any of its agents participated in the illegal gambling;​
and​

(5) the nature or severity of the violation.​

B. For the second violation of part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, at a site, the board must​
suspend each premises permit for the site for two years from the date of the board's final resolution​
or determination on the violation. An organization may not pay rent for the site during the term of​
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the suspension. If a complete change of ownership occurred between the first and second violations,​
the second violation is considered a first violation and the board must suspend each premises permit​
for the site for up to 90 days according to item A and must prohibit any organization from paying​
rent during the term of the suspension.​

C. For the third violation of part 7861.0260, subpart 1, item J, at a site, the board must​
revoke each premises permit for the site for a minimum period of five years from the date of the​
board's final resolution or determination on the violation. Revocation must continue until a complete​
change of ownership occurs after the third violation. No organization may obtain a premises permit​
for the site during the term of the revocation. If a complete change of ownership occurred between​
the second and third violations, the third violation is considered a first violation and the board must​
suspend each premises permit for the site for up to 90 days according to item A and must prohibit​
any organization from paying rent for the site during the term of the suspension.​

If the licensee does not enter into a consent order with the board according to the provisions of​
this subpart, and part 7865.0210, subpart 2, item I, the suspension or revocation of a premises permit​
is a contested case under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.055; 349.12; 349.151; 349.154; 349.155; 349.16; 349.162;​
349.163; 349.1635; 349.165; 349.166; 349.167; 349.169; 349.17; 349.1711; 349.1721; 349.173;​
349.19; 349.191; 349.211​

History: 31 SR 1239; 35 SR 1276​
Published Electronically: July 22, 2019​
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