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7411.0100 DEFINITIONS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 have the meanings given​
them in this part.​

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​

Subp. 2a. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​

Subp. 4. Certificate of approval. "Certificate of approval" means the written document issued​
by the commissioner to a public or private driver education program indicating the department's​
approval of the driver education program under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.05; and parts​
7411.0100 to 7411.2000.​

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 6. Class A vehicle. "Class A vehicle" means a vehicle that requires its operator to have​
a class A commercial driver's license with proper endorsement before it may be driven, under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 171.02, subdivision 2.​

Subp. 7. Class B vehicle. "Class B vehicle" means a vehicle that requires its operator to have​
only a class B commercial driver's license with proper endorsement before it may be driven, under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 171.02, subdivision 2, but may also be operated by the holder of a class​
A commercial driver's license with proper endorsement.​

Subp. 8. Class C vehicle. "Class C vehicle" means a vehicle that requires its operator to have​
a class C commercial driver's license with proper endorsement before it may be driven, under​
Minnesota Statutes, section 171.02, subdivision 2, but may also be operated by the holder of a class​
A or class B driver's license with proper endorsement.​

Subp. 8a. Class D vehicle. "Class D vehicle" means a vehicle that requires its operator to have​
a class D driver's license or permit before it may be driven, under Minnesota Statutes, section​
171.02, subdivision 2, but may also be operated by the holder of a class A, class B, or class C​
commercial driver's license with proper endorsement. A motorcycle or motorized bicycle is not a​
class D vehicle for purposes of parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000.​

Subp. 9. Commercial driver training school. "Commercial driver training school" has the​
meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.33, subdivision 1.​

Subp. 10. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of​
Public Safety or an authorized agent of the commissioner.​

Subp. 10a. Concurrent driver education program. "Concurrent driver education program"​
means a class D motor vehicle program requiring a minimum of 15 hours of classroom instruction,​
followed by the remaining minimum 15 hours of classroom instruction provided with concurrent​
behind-the-wheel instruction.​
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Subp. 10b. Consecutive driver education program. "Consecutive driver education program"​
means a class D motor vehicle program that provides a student with classroom instruction followed​
by behind the wheel instruction.​

Subp. 11. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 11a. Date first put into service. "Date first put into service" means the date a motor​
vehicle was first driven more than the limited driving necessary to move or road test the vehicle​
before delivery to a customer.​

For a motor vehicle used by a dealer as a demonstration model, "date first put into service"​
means either the date the motor vehicle was first driven by a potential customer or, if records are​
not available to show this date, then the date of the beginning of the model year of the motor vehicle.​

Subp. 11b. Dealer. "Dealer" means an entity licensed under chapter 7400 and Minnesota​
Statutes, section 168.27.​

Subp. 11c. Department. "Department" means the Department of Public Safety.​

Subp. 12. Driver education program; program. "Driver education program" or "program"​
means:​

A. a commercial driver training school licensed by the commissioner; or​

B. a private or public driver education program approved by the commissioner. A driver​
education program includes instruction to operate a:​

(1) class A, B, C, or D motor vehicle;​

(2) motorcycle; or​

(3) motorized bicycle.​

Subp. 12a. Duty status record-keeping offense. "Duty status record-keeping offense" means​
a violation of a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulation codified in Code of Federal​
Regulations, title 49, section 395.8, as amended.​

Subp. 13. Good cause to believe. "Good cause to believe" means grounds put forth in good​
faith that are not arbitrary, irrational, unreasonable, or irrelevant and are based on at least one of​
the sources specified in this subpart:​

A. written information from an identified person;​

B. facts supplied by the program, instructor, or applicant;​

C. driver's license or accident records;​

D. court or police records; or​

E. facts of which the commissioner or the commissioner's agents have personal knowledge.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

4​MINNESOTA RULES​7411.0100​



Subp. 14. Hazardous material. "Hazardous material" has the meaning given it in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 221.012, subdivision 16.​

Subp. 15. Hazardous substance. "Hazardous substance" has the meaning given it in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 221.012, subdivision 17.​

Subp. 16. Hazardous waste. Hazardous waste" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 221.012, subdivision 18.​

Subp. 17. Instruction. "Instruction" means lecture, tutoring, practice driving, lessons, or other​
teaching method approved by the commissioner to teach the proper operation of a motor vehicle.​

A. One hour of instruction time means 60 minutes of actual instruction.​

B. Breaks and time between instruction are not counted as instruction time.​

Subp. 18. Instructor. "Instructor" means any person of a public, private, or commercial​
program, who meets the qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690 and provides instruction​
to a person:​

A. learning to operate a motor vehicle;​

B. preparing to take an examination for a driver's license; or​

C. training to be an instructor.​

Subp. 19. Laboratory instruction. "Laboratory instruction" means either:​

A. behind-the-wheel instruction in a class A, B, C, or D motor vehicle;​

B. instruction astride a motorcycle or motorized bicycle;​

C. simulation instruction as described in part 7411.0525; or​

D. range instruction as described in part 7411.0555.​

Subp. 19a. License. "License" means either:​

A. the document issued by the commissioner authorizing the operation of a commercial​
driver training school under this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, sections 171.33 to 171.41; or​

B. the document issued by the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.35,​
authorizing a person to act as an instructor in a commercial driver training school.​

Subp. 20. [Repealed, 34 SR 767]​

Subp. 20a. Motor vehicle. "Motor vehicle" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 171.01, subdivision 39.​

Subp. 21. Motorcycle. "Motorcycle" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section​
171.01, subdivision 40.​
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Subp. 21a. Motorized bicycle. "Motorized bicycle" has the meaning given it in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 171.01, subdivision 41.​

Subp. 22. Parking or motor vehicle equipment offense. "Parking or motor vehicle equipment​
offense" means a violation of:​

A. Minnesota Statutes, section 169.34 (stopping and parking prohibitions), 169.346 (parking​
privileges for persons with disabilities), 169.35 (parking requirements), or 169.47 (unsafe equipment);​
or​

B. an ordinance in conformity with these sections.​

Subp. 22a. Passenger or student observation time. "Passenger or student observation time"​
means time spent by an enrollee in a program, in a motor vehicle, observing a person operate the​
motor vehicle.​

Subp. 22b. Private program. "Private program" means a program regulated by a board of​
directors and registered with the secretary of state as a nonprofit corporation that:​

A. assumes administration of the driver education program;​

B. assumes liability for the driver education program; and​

C. provides instruction with instructors who meet the driver education instructor​
qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690.​

Subp. 22c. Public program. "Public program" means a program that provides instruction to​
operate any class of motor vehicle to any individual under the age of 18 and the program is an​
elected or appointed authority of state or local government that:​

A. directly regulates and supervises the program;​

B. insures or indemnifies all program activities; and​

C. provides instruction with instructors who meet the driver education instructor​
qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690.​

Subp. 22d. Range. "Range" means a driving area not on a public street or highway, that​
simulates driving situations.​

Subp. 22e. Range driving. "Range driving" means that portion of the laboratory instruction​
where an instructor is positioned outside a motor vehicle but remains in electronic or oral​
communication with the student driver, and in visual contact with the motor vehicle.​

Subp. 23. Semitrailer. "Semitrailer" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section​
169.011, subdivision 72.​

Subp. 23a. Simulator; simulation. "Simulator" or "simulation" means instruction that uses​
computer-based equipment that reproduces driving situations likely to occur in actual driving​
performance on the street or highway.​
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Subp. 24. Traffic violation. "Traffic violation" means a violation of a traffic law or ordinance​
involving the movement or operation of a motor vehicle that is not:​

A. a parking or motor vehicle equipment offense, a duty status record-keeping offense, or​
an offense involving the nonpayment of a fine or child support;​

B. a violation under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09 (accident stop or reporting), or a​
comparable law of another state; or​

C. a violation under Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.48 (motor vehicle insurance), or a​
comparable law of another state.​

Subp. 25. Truck-tractor. "Truck-tractor" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes,​
section 169.011, subdivision 89.​

Subp. 26. Vehicle. "Vehicle" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.01,​
subdivision 50.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 14.388; 121A.36; 126.115; 169.26; 169.446;​
169.974; 171.02; 171.04; 171.05; 171.055; 171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 14 SR 2583; 17 SR 2282; 21 SR 458; 21 SR 716; 23 SR 1931; L 1998 c 398 art 5 s​
55; L 2003 c 130 s 12; 28 SR 1167; 34 SR 767; L 2014 c 255 s 21; 39 SR 356​

Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0200 PURPOSE.​

The purpose of parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 is to license or approve driver education programs​
as required under Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.446, subdivisions 2 and 3 (school bus safety​
education); 169.974, subdivision 2 (motorcycle courses); 171.02, subdivision 3 (motorized bicycle​
course); 171.05 (public and private driver education programs); and 171.33 to 171.41 (commercial​
driver training schools).​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.388; 121A.36; 126.115; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974;​
171.02; 171.04; 171.05; 171.055; 171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 14 SR 2583; 21 SR 458; 23 SR 1931; L 1998 c 398 art 5 s 55; L 2003 c 130 s 12; 28​
SR 1167​

Published Electronically: January 3, 2011​

ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL PROGRAMS​

7411.0210 APPLYING FOR DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM LICENSE OR​
APPROVAL.​

Subpart 1. Commercial school licensure. To operate a commercial driver training school, a​
person must apply for a license and comply with parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 and Minnesota​
Statutes, sections 171.33 to 171.41.​
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A. If a program meets the definition of a commercial driver training school, the applicant​
must apply for a license.​

B. A program or person that charges a fee to provide instruction is not subject to Minnesota​
Statutes, sections 171.33 to 171.41, as a licensed commercial driver training school if the program​
or instruction is exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.39.​

Subp. 2. Approval of public or private program. To operate a public driver education​
program or a private driver education program, a person must apply to the commissioner for a​
certificate of approval and comply with parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 and Minnesota Statutes,​
section 171.05.​

Subp. 3. Motorcycle course. To operate a program that provides instruction to operate a​
motorcycle, a person must comply with parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 and Minnesota Statutes,​
section 169.974. A course of instruction to operate a motorcycle may be either licensed as a​
commercial driver training school or certified as an approved public program or private program.​

Subp. 4. Motorized bicycle course. To operate a program that is a motorized bicycle course,​
a person must comply with parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000 and Minnesota Statutes, section 171.02,​
subdivision 3. A motorized bicycle course may be either licensed as a commercial driver training​
school or certified as an approved public program or private program.​

Subp. 5. Community education programs. A driver education program offered through​
community education must be either:​

A. approved as a public program by the commissioner under parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000​
if the program:​

(1) is administered through the local school board;​

(2) is insured or indemnified by the local school board; and​

(3) employs instructors who meet the instructor qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to​
7411.0690; or​

B. if the program does not meet the criteria in item A, offered through a contract with a​
commercial driver training school licensed by the commissioner under parts 7411.0100 to 7411.2000​
and Minnesota Statutes, sections 171.33 to 171.41.​

Subp. 6. Postsecondary schools. A driver education program provided by a postsecondary​
college or university is exempt from approval or licensure by the commissioner under this chapter​
if the institution:​

A. provides the instruction as a part of the normal program or curriculum for that institution;​

B. directly regulates or administers the program;​

C. insures or indemnifies all program activities; and​

D. does not provide instruction to operate a motor vehicle to persons under the age of 18.​
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Subp. 7. Application content for program license or certificate of approval. Application​
for a new or renewal license or certificate of approval for the program must be made on a format​
prescribed by the commissioner.​

A. Owners, partners, corporate directors, administrators, and officers must be named, with​
their titles, on each program application.​

B. The application must be signed by one of the program owners, partners, corporate​
directors, administrators, or officers.​

C. An initial and renewal application must be accompanied by the schedule of maximum​
course fees and charges distributed to students.​

(1) The schedule of fees and charges may be amended by the program at any time.​

(2) Changes in the fee schedule must be filed with the commissioner at least ten days​
before the changes become effective.​

D. A program application must identify the authorized official specified in part 7411.0250​
and must contain an exemplar of the authorized official's signature.​

E. A program application must identify the instructors of students and provide each​
instructor's driver's license number. If an individual holding a Professional Educator Licensing and​
Standards Board license will be providing instruction, the program must provide the teaching license​
number of that individual and identify any valid teaching and driver education instruction certificates​
the individual holds.​

F. A program application must be accompanied by the information about each instructor's​
qualifications as required to be submitted by parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690.​

G. The application must specify each class of motor vehicle for which the program wants​
to provide instruction.​

H. The application must specify whether the program will be providing classroom​
instruction, laboratory instruction, or both, for each class of motor vehicle delineated.​

I. A class D motor vehicle program must specify whether the program will be providing​
concurrent or consecutive instruction to drivers under age 18. A class D motor vehicle program​
shall not offer both concurrent and consecutive instruction to drivers under age 18.​

Subp. 8. Commissioner's approval before start of program instruction. The program must​
receive a license or a certificate of approval of the program before training, instruction, or preparation​
to operate a motor vehicle begins.​

A. If there is a material change in either the class of motor vehicle instruction offered, the​
curriculum, or the program's administration, approval must be obtained from the commissioner​
before the change is implemented.​

B. All instructors must meet the qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690 before​
providing instruction in any program.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

7411.0210​MINNESOTA RULES​9​



Subp. 9. Duplicate license or certificate. If the program changes its location or if the license​
or certificate of approval for the program is lost within the year of issuance, the commissioner shall​
issue a duplicate license or certificate of approval if the program continues to comply with this​
chapter. The fee for issuing a duplicate license or certificate of approval for the program is $25.​

Subp. 10. License or certificate at program locations. The commissioner shall issue a single​
license or certificate of approval for the program for both the program's administrative office and​
one location at which classroom or laboratory instruction is provided. An additional license or​
certificate of approval must be obtained if:​

A. the program provides either classroom or laboratory instruction, or both, at more than​
one permanent location; and​

B. the program has exclusive use of the classroom or laboratory location during the hours​
of instruction for a continuous period of 90 days or more.​

Subp. 11. Renewal of license or certificate. A program license or certificate of approval​
expires one year from the date issued and may be renewed on application to the commissioner.​
Application for renewal of the license or certificate must be submitted to the commissioner at least​
ten days before expiration, but will not be accepted more than 30 days before the expiration date.​

Subp. 12. Fees payable to commissioner. Fees for an original, renewal, duplicate, or​
replacement program license or certificate of approval must be made payable to the commissioner.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356; L 2017 1Sp5 art 12 s 22​
Published Electronically: August 21, 2017​

7411.0220 PROGRAM LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE NOT TRANSFERABLE.​

The license or certificate of approval for a program is not transferable. If the ownership of a​
program changes, the program must apply for a new license or certificate of approval in the same​
manner as required for the original.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0230 DISPLAY OF LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE.​

The license or certificate of approval to operate a program must be displayed in a conspicuous​
place at each licensed or approved location.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​
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History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0250 AUTHORIZED PROGRAM OFFICIAL.​

Subpart 1. Designation, signature. Each program must designate a person who is authorized​
on behalf of the program to execute program licensure and approval certificates and sign student​
contracts, student agreements, and student certificates of course completion.​

A. The authorized official need not be a licensed or qualified instructor.​

B. The program owner or administrator shall provide written notice to the commissioner​
of:​

(1) the name of the authorized official at the time of initial application for program​
licensure or approval; and​

(2) any change in the designation of the authorized official before the designation of​
the new official.​

C. A complete signature of the full name of the authorized official must be on file with the​
commissioner before the authorized official may sign or issue the documents specified in this part.​

Subp. 2. Duties of program's authorized official. The authorized official shall perform the​
duties specified in this subpart.​

A. The authorized official shall issue each student under age 18 a letter of completion of​
the classroom portion of a program providing instruction to operate a class D motor vehicle,​
motorcycle, or motorized bicycle in a format provided by or specified by the commissioner, within​
15 calendar days after the student completes the classroom portion of a program.​

B. If the student completes the classroom portion of a program and demonstrates current​
financial enrollment in the laboratory portion of a class D or motorcycle program, the authorized​
official shall issue a certificate of enrollment in the laboratory portion of the class D or motorcycle​
program. The certificate must be in a format provided or specified by the commissioner.​

C. If a student enrolled in a concurrent class D program (1) completes the first 15 hours of​
the classroom portion of a program, and (2) demonstrates current financial enrollment in the​
laboratory portion of a class D program and the remaining 15 hours of classroom instruction, the​
authorized official shall issue a certificate of enrollment in the laboratory portion and remaining​
15 hours of classroom instruction. The certificate must be in a format provided or specified by the​
commissioner.​

D. Within 15 days after a student under age 18 completes the laboratory portion of a class​
D or motorcycle program, the authorized official shall issue a certificate of completion of the​
laboratory portion of the program, in a format provided or specified by the commissioner.​

E. For a motorcycle endorsement training course where classroom and laboratory instruction​
may be taken concurrently, the student must be issued a certificate of enrollment by the authorized​
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official, indicating the student is enrolled in both the classroom and laboratory portions of a course​
at the same time. Upon completion of the motorcycle endorsement training course, a certificate of​
completion of both the classroom and laboratory portions of the course, in a format provided by or​
specified by the commissioner, must be issued by the authorized official within 15 calendar days​
after the student completes both portions of the course.​

F. The authorized official shall notify the commissioner within 15 days of the time a student​
fails to continue or complete the laboratory portion of a class D motor vehicle program or motorcycle​
endorsement course as specified in the program's contract or agreement with the student.​

G. The authorized official shall notify the commissioner within 15 days of the date a student​
fails to continue or complete the final 15 hours of classroom instruction of a concurrent class D​
motor vehicle program as specified in the program's contract or agreement with the student.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0260 PROHIBITED CONDUCT BY PROGRAM PERSONNEL.​

Subpart 1. Interaction with public safety personnel. An owner, operator, partner, officer,​
administrator, authorized official or representative, or employee of a program shall not influence,​
or attempt to influence, a decision of an employee of the commissioner to issue a permit, license,​
or endorsement to a student of the program, or to any other person.​

Subp. 2. Interaction with students. An owner, operator, partner, officer, administrator,​
authorized official or representative, or employee of a program shall not imply to a student or to​
any other person that the program or an instructor can influence driver's license examiners or other​
employees of the commissioner.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0270 MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE.​

Subpart 1. General requirements. If a driver education program allows a student to operate​
a motor vehicle for laboratory instruction, the program must provide the motor vehicle insurance​
specified in this part.​

A. At the time of application for program licensure or program approval, the program must​
file with the commissioner evidence of liability insurance obtained from a company authorized to​
do business in Minnesota.​
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B. The program must furnish evidence of coverage to the commissioner in the form of an​
original certificate of insurance from the insurance company demonstrating the required amount​
of insurance under this part and demonstrating that the insurance may not be canceled or terminated,​
except upon 30 days' prior written notice to the commissioner.​

C. If the insurance is canceled, then on the date the insurance cancellation becomes effective​
the program's certificate of approval is withdrawn automatically or the program license is revoked​
automatically.​

(1) All motor vehicles used for instruction in a program may not be used for program​
purposes unless the program obtains adequate insurance coverage and notifies the commissioner​
of the coverage, and the commissioner notifies the program in writing that the program's certificate​
of approval or program license has been reinstated.​

(2) When motor vehicle insurance is provided by an instructor or motor vehicle lessor​
and the vehicle insurance is canceled, the motor vehicle must immediately be removed from the​
program's approved motor vehicle list as filed with the commissioner. If the vehicle is not removed​
from service, the program's certificate of approval is withdrawn automatically or the program license​
is revoked automatically.​

(3) A program whose certificate of approval has been withdrawn or whose license has​
been revoked may reapply for a license or certificate upon meeting the insurance requirements​
under this part.​

Subp. 2. Class A, B, C, and D vehicles. A program providing instruction in a class A, B, C,​
or D motor vehicle must maintain insurance or demonstrate insurance coverage in the amounts of:​

A. at least $250,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, any one person in any one​
accident;​

B. at least $500,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any​
one accident;​

C. at least $100,000 because of damage to, or destruction of, property of others in any one​
accident;​

D. at least $40,000 for medical expenses; and​

E. at least the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage, when any portion of the​
program instruction is conducted on public streets.​

Subp. 3. Motorcycles. A program providing motorcycle instruction must maintain insurance​
or demonstrate insurance coverage in the amounts of:​

A. at least $100,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, any one person in any one​
accident;​

B. at least $300,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any​
one accident;​
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C. at least $50,000 because of damage to, or destruction of, property of others in any one​
accident;​

D. at least $20,000 for medical expenses; and​

E. at least the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage, when any portion of the​
program instruction is conducted on public streets.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0275 BOND.​

Subpart 1. General requirement. A commercial driver training school must secure and submit​
to the commissioner with the application for program licensure a continuous surety company bond.​

Subp. 2. Bond based on student enrollment. Except as otherwise provided in subpart 3, the​
surety bond for a program whose license is approved or renewed after January 1, 2004, must be​
based on the total number of students enrolled in the program the previous calendar year.​

A. Student enrollment must be reported for all permanent and temporary locations at which​
the program provided instruction the previous calendar year.​

B. Enrollment must be reported for all student contracts and agreements entered into by​
the program the previous calendar year.​

C. If the program enrolled one to 100 students, a $10,000 bond must be secured.​

D. If the program enrolled 101 to 500 students, a $20,000 bond must be secured.​

E. If the program enrolled 501 or more students, a $30,000 bond must be secured.​

Subp. 3. New ownership. A school that assumes ownership of a previously licensed school​
must obtain an initial bond at the student enrollment level reported by the acquired school the​
previous calendar year.​

Subp. 4. Adjustments. The bond must be adjusted after the first year of program operation​
after July 1, 2003, and every two years after on the date of renewal of the program license.​

At the time of adjustment, the bond must be in an amount as specified in subpart 2 that reflects​
student enrollment for the previous calendar year.​

Subp. 5. Sureties. The bond must be undertaken by a company authorized to do business in​
Minnesota.​

A. The school shall furnish satisfactory evidence of coverage to the commissioner at the​
time of application for renewal of the school's license.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

14​MINNESOTA RULES​7411.0270​



B. The bond must indicate that the concerned surety company may cancel the bond only​
after giving 30 days' written notice to the commissioner.​

C. The bond must indicate that the surety company is relieved of all liability for the breach​
of a condition of the bond occurring after the effective date of cancellation.​

Subp. 6. Revocation. If the bond is canceled, then on the date the bond cancellation becomes​
effective, the program's license is revoked automatically.​

A program whose license has been revoked for failure to maintain a bond, may apply for license​
reinstatement upon meeting the bond requirements under this part.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0280 PROGRAM RECORDS.​

Subpart 1. General requirements. The program must:​

A. maintain the records specified in this part for at least five years;​

B. keep an instruction record of every person enrolled, whether or not the person was given​
instruction or other services relating to classroom instruction, laboratory instruction, or both, in​
operating a motor vehicle, and the instruction record must contain the person's legal name, including​
first, middle, and last name; residence address; date of birth; unique identifier of the contract or​
agreement; date and number of hours of all instruction; and type of instruction;​

C. keep a file containing the original, subsequent, and renewal contracts or agreements​
specified in part 7411.0305 between the program and every person receiving instruction, and any​
other services provided by the program to the person relating to the operation of a motor vehicle;​

D. maintain program records in a businesslike manner, using only standard abbreviations;​

E. make the records available for inspection by the commissioner during reasonable business​
hours; and​

F. report immediately to the commissioner by affidavit the loss, mutilation, or destruction​
of the records required to be maintained by the program, stating the date the records were lost,​
destroyed, or mutilated; the circumstances involving the loss, destruction, or mutilation; the names​
of the law enforcement officer or fire department official to whom the loss was reported; and the​
date of the report.​

Subp. 1a. Additional records; certain students. In addition to the information required under​
subpart 1, item B, the instruction record must contain:​
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A. for a student who has completed a portion of the driver education program, the completion​
date of the portion of the program shown on the document issued to the student and the name of​
both the last instructor and the program's authorized official; or​

B. for a student who is enrolled in a concurrent driver education program, the completion​
date of the of the first 15 hours of classroom instruction shown on the document issued to the student​
and the name of both the last instructor and the program's authorized official.​

Subp. 2. Location of records. The program records must be available in Minnesota at the​
program's administrative office for inspection by the commissioner. At the time of application for​
program licensure or approval, the commissioner must be informed of the location where records​
will be available. The commissioner must be notified of a change in the record location before the​
change occurs.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0295 ADVERTISING RESTRICTIONS.​

Subpart 1. General restrictions. A driver education program must not:​

A. publish, advertise, or intimate that a driver's license is guaranteed or assured;​

B. advertise free instruction;​

C. duplicate or reproduce in whole or in part, for use in advertising, forms or examination​
material used by the state;​

D. use the word "state" in a sign or other medium of advertising, except as permitted in​
this part;​

E. advertise a location for instruction other than a licensed location or approved location;​

F. advertise any temporary location without identifying it as a temporary location and​
without also indicating the address of the program's permanent location; or​

G. distribute advertising material within 150 feet of a driver's license examination station,​
except as permitted in this part.​

Subp. 2. Advertising on test vehicles. Program instructors may appear at driver test locations​
operated by the state with a student scheduled for an examination, in a program vehicle on which​
appear the markings and signs required or authorized in part 7411.0850.​

Subp. 3. Advertising in state driving manuals. Advertising for a driver education program​
contained in the department-produced Minnesota driver's manual is not subject to the distance​
restriction in subpart 1, item G.​
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Subp. 4. Permitted statement. A program may use in its advertising or on forms, contracts,​
and other materials, one of the following phrases, as applicable:​

A. "This program is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety" if the program​
is a commercial driver's training school licensed by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.​

B. "This program is approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety" if the program​
is a public program with a certificate of approval or a private program with a certificate of approval​
issued by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0300 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0305 STUDENT AGREEMENTS OR CONTRACTS.​

Initial and revised contracts and agreements between a program and student must comply with​
this part.​

A. The contract or agreement must be approved by the commissioner before it is used by​
the program.​

B. Each contract or agreement must bear an individual, unique number or identifier.​

C. A driver education program must not give a person instruction or other service relating​
to instruction in motor vehicle operation until a written contract or written agreement has been​
executed between the program and the person.​

D. The contract or agreement must be signed by the program's authorized official designated​
under part 7411.0250.​

E. A program must not represent or agree orally, in writing, or as part of an inducement to​
sign a contract or agreement for instruction:​

(1) to give instruction until a driver's license, permit, or license endorsement is obtained;​
or​

(2) to offer premiums or provide discounts if a driver's license, permit, or license​
endorsement is not obtained.​

F. A contract or agreement for a program providing laboratory instruction to operate a class​
D motor vehicle must be limited to a maximum of 30 hours of laboratory instruction.​

G. The contract or agreement must specify the dates for the start and completion of​
instruction by the student.​
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H. For a student enrolled in a concurrent class D driver instruction program, the contract​
or agreement must specify dates for the start and completion of the first 15 hours and the second​
15 hours of classroom instruction. The completion date of the second 15 hours of classroom​
instruction must be within 90 days of the completion date of the first 15 hours of classroom​
instruction.​

I. If a program wants to exceed the hours specified in item F, the contract or agreement​
may be renewed only by mutual agreement between the student and program, in writing, and only​
if approved by the commissioner.​

J. When an original contract or agreement and each subsequent contract or agreement for​
instruction expires, the instructor shall evaluate with the student the progress made and determine​
how much further instruction, if any, is necessary.​

(1) The instructor and authorized official shall then determine if the student can complete​
the instruction.​

(2) If the instructor and authorized official of the program determine that the student​
cannot complete the instruction, the authorized official shall notify the commissioner in writing.​

(3) The program may continue the instruction of that student only if authorized to do​
so in writing by the commissioner.​

K. A contract or agreement to provide instruction to operate a class A, B, or C motor vehicle​
must:​

(1) specify the hours of instruction to be provided to the student;​

(2) describe the course or individualized instruction provided;​

(3) specify the course fee or hourly rate for individualized instruction;​

(4) provide that the authorized program official notify the commissioner in writing if​
the instructor and official determine that the student cannot complete the instruction; and​

(5) specify that the program may continue the instruction of that student only if​
authorized to do so in writing by the commissioner.​

L. Contracts or agreements for which a fee is charged must address the issue of refunds in​
the event a student or the program is not able to complete instruction.​

M. The contract or agreement must specify whether and under what circumstances a person​
other than the student or instructor will be permitted or required in the motor vehicle during​
laboratory instruction.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​
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7411.0325 STUDENT AGE, QUALIFICATIONS; ENROLLMENT REQUIREMENTS.​

Subpart 1. Generally. A program shall not offer driver education:​

A. classroom or laboratory instruction to operate a class A or C motor vehicle to a student​
who is not at least 18 years old and in possession of at least a class D driver's license;​

B. classroom or laboratory instruction to operate a class B motor vehicle to a student who​
is not at least 16 years old and in possession of at least a class D driver's license;​

C. classroom or laboratory instruction for a motorcycle endorsement to a student who is​
not at least 15 years old; or​

D. classroom instruction to operate a class D motor vehicle or motorized bicycle to a student​
who is not at least 14 years old.​

Subp. 2. Motorcycle endorsement course enrollment. A program offering a course to obtain​
a motorcycle endorsement must require that a student who takes the motorcycle endorsement course​
be enrolled in both the classroom and laboratory portions of the course.​

Subp. 3. Students under age 18. A program offering a class D motor vehicle course to a​
student under the age of 18 must require the student to enroll in either the classroom phase of a​
program, the laboratory phase of a program, or both.​

A. Proper enrollment must be reflected in the student contract or agreement.​

B. For students enrolled in a consecutive driver education program, enrollment in either​
classroom instruction or laboratory instruction need not occur with the same program.​

C. Only a student who is under the age of 18 and has never previously completed a driver​
education course may enroll in a concurrent program.​

D. A program offering a concurrent class D motor vehicle course to a student under the​
age of 18 must require the student to enroll in both the classroom and laboratory phase of the​
program.​

E. A homeschooled student need only indicate enrollment in the laboratory phase of a​
program.​

F. Classroom instruction hours are not transferable from one program to another unless the​
commissioner can verify documentation of comparable instruction.​

Subp. 4. Variances. The commissioner of public safety may grant variances from subpart 3,​
item C.​

A. If a student is unable to comply with subpart 3, item C, the student shall make written​
application to the commissioner of public safety or a designee for a variance.​

B. A student applying for a variance must submit written documentation of the reason why​
a variance should be granted. The applicant must also provide the applicant's name, address, and​
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date of birth, as well as information about the applicant's current driver education program​
enrollment.​

C. The student applying for a variance must make arrangements to satisfy the requirements​
of parts 7411.0520, subpart 4, and 7411.0555, item A, subitem (2).​

D. The commissioner of public safety or a designee shall review the request for a variance.​
In making a decision to grant or deny the variance, the commissioner or a designee shall consider​
the degree of hardship placed on the applicant, whether variance from the rule is consistent with​
the public interest, and whether a variance from the rule would conflict with any other standards​
imposed by law.​

E. The commissioner of public safety or a designee shall grant or deny the request for a​
variance within 30 days of receipt of the request. The applicant shall be notified of the decision by​
mail within the 30-day period.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0335 WITHHOLDING CERTIFICATE OF COURSE COMPLETION.​

A program is not required to issue a certificate or letter of course completion to a student who​
has not paid the fees agreed on in the student contract or agreement.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0340 PROGRAM ANNUAL REPORT.​

The authorized official of a program must submit to the commissioner an annual report 30 days​
after the close of the calendar year.​

A. The annual report must indicate:​

(1) the number of students who were enrolled in the program the previous calendar​
year; and​

(2) the number of students who completed instruction from the program the previous​
calendar year.​

B. The commissioner shall make the report format available to the program at least 60 days​
before the report is due.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0345 LOCATION OF PROGRAM ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE.​

Subpart 1. Location of program administrative office. A program must have an administrative​
office that meets the location requirements specified in this part.​

A. A program must have a permanent administrative office located in Minnesota.​

B. The program must have continuous and exclusive control of the permanent administrative​
office location for at least one year beginning on the date of projected program licensure or approval​
either through ownership or a lease.​

C. The program must have a program certificate of approval or program license from the​
commissioner to operate a driver education program out of the permanent administrative office​
location.​

D. The program may operate its classroom and laboratory instruction at sites and locations​
separate from the space occupied by the program's permanent administrative office.​

Subp. 2. Location change. A program may not change the program's permanent administrative​
office location specified on its license or certificate of approval without prior notice to the​
commissioner.​

Subp. 3. Distance from state examination sites. No program's permanent office location or​
any instruction location may be within 150 feet of a site where any part of a driver's license​
examination is administered. This subpart does not apply to a program with a license or certificate​
of approval in operation at the location before a state examination site was established.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0355 INSTRUCTION LOCATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Classroom instruction locations. Each classroom instruction location operated​
by a program must be approved by the commissioner before instruction begins. Instruction must​
be in a nonresidential occupancy, or occupancy not occupied as a residence, except for instruction​
provided by a parent to a homeschooled student.​

Subp. 2. Temporary locations. A program may obtain classroom or laboratory facilities at​
temporary locations that comply with this part. The program must notify the commissioner of the​
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address, time, and date of each scheduled use of each temporary location before using it for​
instruction.​

Subp. 3. Classroom size. A program providing classroom instruction in a classroom must​
provide instruction in a room of at least 300 square feet and suitable for instruction.​

Subp. 4. Teleconferenced instruction location. Classroom instruction must be provided to​
a student, except for a homeschooled student, in a location complying with subpart 3. The instructor​
must be either physically present or immediately available to the student through teleconferencing​
during the classroom instruction period to instruct as well as address questions and comments.​

Subp. 5. Laboratory instruction route location. A program must not provide laboratory​
instruction on the actual routes used for state driver's license road tests, except when unavoidable​
due to the lack of alternative routes.​

Subp. 6. Class C or D driving range size. If a program offers class D training on a driving​
range, the program must provide at least 80,000 square feet of unobstructed driving surface space​
other than space occupied by light standards.​

Subp. 7. Class A or B vehicle driving range size. A program offering class A or B vehicle​
instruction must provide a driving range of at least 90,000 square feet. If more than two class A​
vehicles are to be used on the driving range at the same time, an additional 45,000 square feet of​
driving range must be provided for each additional class A motor vehicle.​

Subp. 8. Motorcycle endorsement course riding range. A riding range used for motorcycle​
course laboratory instruction must be at least 160 feet long and 60 feet wide.​

A. Up to 12 students may receive instruction at one time if the dimensions of the riding​
range are at least 220 feet by 120 feet.​

B. There must be at least 20 feet of level, run-out space around the outside of the range and​
between an intended path of travel and the nearest obstacle.​

C. The riding range area must be paved.​

D. The commissioner shall waive the requirements for the minimum dimensions of the​
riding range if a suitable paved area is not available and if the program demonstrates that the required​
laboratory curriculum objectives can be met on the proposed riding range without compromising​
the safety of the students. The program must obtain the waiver before instruction begins.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0365 SITUATIONS REQUIRING NOTIFICATION.​

The authorized official of a program shall notify the commissioner, in writing, if any of the​
situations specified in this part occur.​
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A. The program's authorized official shall notify the commissioner when an instructor is​
hired by the program or there is a change in a program instructor.​

(1) An individual must be approved by the commissioner before the individual provides​
either classroom or laboratory instruction.​

(2) Approval must be in accordance with parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690.​

B. The program's authorized official shall notify the commissioner if one of the program's​
instructors incurs a conviction or violation as specified in part 7411.0620. Notice of the conviction​
or violation must occur within three calendar days of the date the program's authorized official​
becomes aware of the conviction or violation.​

C. The commissioner must be notified if one of the program's instructors is involved in a​
reportable motor vehicle accident as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09. Notice of the​
accident must occur within ten calendar days of the date of the accident.​

D. The commissioner must be notified within ten calendar days from the date of the accident​
if one of the program's students, while receiving laboratory instruction, is involved in a motor​
vehicle accident requiring reporting under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09.​

(1) The student must be informed by the program of the student's obligation to submit​
an accident report to the commissioner when required by Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09.​

(2) The program must provide the student with information about the motor vehicle​
and insurance that is required to be on the accident report.​

E. A program must notify the commissioner within five calendar days if one of its instructors​
has violated a statute or rule or committed an act that would cause the instructor to be unfit to​
continue working as an instructor.​

F. The authorized official of the program shall notify the commissioner within five calendar​
days of the death, retirement, resignation, or discontinuance of employment or service of an​
instructor.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0400 Subpart 1. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 1a. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 21 SR 458]​

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
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Subp. 5. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

PROGRAM CURRICULUM​

7411.0410 SUBMISSION OF PROGRAM CURRICULUM.​

The program must submit all curriculum that will be provided to students to the commissioner​
for approval at the time of application for program licensure or approval.​

A. The commissioner shall approve the curriculum if it meets the curriculum requirements​
in this chapter.​

B. If a program wants to change its curriculum during the period of program licensure or​
program approval, the program must submit the new curriculum to the commissioner for review​
and approval.​

C. A program may not use the proposed curriculum until the curriculum has been approved​
by the commissioner.​

D. Curriculum must be submitted for approval for each motor vehicle classification for​
which instruction will be provided.​

E. If a program seeks to provide motorcycle instruction, separate curricula must be submitted​
for approval if either consecutive or concurrent classroom and laboratory instruction is to be​
provided.​

F. If a program seeks to provide instruction to operate a class A, B, or C motor vehicle, the​
curriculum must be submitted for approval if either classroom, laboratory, or individualized​
instruction is to be provided.​

G. If a program seeks to provide instruction on how to operate a class D motor vehicle, the​
classroom and behind-the-wheel curriculum must be either consecutive or concurrent.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0435 INSTRUCTION MAY NOT DUPLICATE STATE TESTS.​

Knowledge tests, curriculum used by a program, and instruction must not substantially duplicate​
any part of a Minnesota driver's knowledge examination and must not duplicate the road or skills​
test administered to students or instructor applicants, including state test ranges and routes.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0500 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0510 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0515 CURRICULUM FOR DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAMS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. This part applies to all driver education programs.​

Subp. 2. Classroom curriculum for class D motor vehicles. The classroom curriculum​
presented and delivered to each student enrolled in a program for class D motor vehicle operation​
must include:​

A. opportunity for the student to analyze and assess several decision-making models and​
factors influencing highway-user decisions;​

B. information on how alcohol and other drugs affect a driver's ability to safely operate a​
motor vehicle, including:​

(1) information on the effects of consumption of alcohol and the use of other drugs on​
the ability of a person to operate a motor vehicle;​

(2) the hazards of driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs; and​

(3) the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws​
prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs;​

C. opportunity for the student to analyze and practice making decisions about using occupant​
restraints;​

D. opportunity for the student to identify and analyze a variety of driving decisions about​
roadway characteristics and highway users including, but not limited to, safe interaction with:​

(1) bicycles, other nonmotorized vehicles, and pedestrians; and​

(2) commercial motor vehicles, with instruction to include information about truck​
stopping distances; proper following distances; and identification of, and avoidance of driving in,​
truck blind spots;​

E. opportunity for the student to analyze and practice making decisions about a vehicle's​
speed under different driving conditions;​

F. content and purpose of motor vehicle and traffic laws and rules for safe driving​
performance;​
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G. opportunity for the student to identify, analyze, and describe proper procedures for a​
variety of driving situations;​

H. opportunity for the student to gather information and practice making decisions about​
vehicle ownership, leasing, insurance, and maintenance;​

I. opportunity for the student to identify, analyze, and practice making decisions related to​
drivers' attitudes and emotions;​

J. opportunity for the student to explore alternative ways to become a better driver;​

K. at least 30 minutes of instruction on the duties of the driver when encountering a school​
bus; the content and requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.444; and the penalties for​
violating that section;​

L. principles of safe operation of a motor vehicle at railroad-highway grade crossings;​

M. principles and relationships of tires and surfaces when turning, braking, and accelerating;​

N. characteristics of both conventional and antilock brake systems;​

O. opportunity for the student to become informed about becoming an organ donor; and​

P. information on carbon monoxide poisoning, including but not limited to:​

(1) a description of the characteristics of carbon monoxide;​

(2) a review of the risks and potential speed of death from carbon monoxide poisoning;​
and​

(3) specific suggestions regarding vehicle idling practices.​

Subp. 2a. Concurrent classroom curriculum for class D motor vehicles. The classroom​
curriculum presented and delivered to each student enrolled in the first 15 hours of a concurrent​
program for class D motor vehicle operation must include:​

A. information on how alcohol and other drugs affect a driver's ability to safely operate a​
motor vehicle, including:​

(1) information on how the consumption of alcohol and the use of other drugs physically​
impacts a person's ability to operate a motor vehicle;​

(2) the hazards of driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs; and​

(3) the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws​
prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs;​

B. an opportunity for the student to identify and analyze a variety of driving decisions​
involving roadway characteristics and highway users including, but not limited to, safe interaction​
with:​

(1) bicycles, other nonmotorized vehicles, and pedestrians; and​
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(2) commercial motor vehicles, with instruction to include information about truck​
stopping distances, proper following distances, and identifying and avoiding driving in truck blind​
spots;​

C. an explanation of the content and purpose of motor vehicle and traffic laws and rules​
for safe driving performance;​

D. at least 30 minutes of instruction covering the duties of the driver when encountering a​
school bus, the content and requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.444, and the penalties​
for violating that section;​

E. information pertaining to principles of safe operation of a motor vehicle at​
railroad-highway grade crossings; and​

F. information on carbon monoxide poisoning, including but not limited to:​

(1) a description of the characteristics of carbon monoxide;​

(2) a review of the risks and potential speed of death from carbon monoxide poisoning;​
and​

(3) specific suggestions regarding vehicle idling practices.​

Subp. 2b. Concurrent classroom curriculum for class D motor vehicles. The classroom​
curriculum presented and delivered to each student enrolled in a concurrent program for class D​
motor vehicle operation must include:​

A. an opportunity for the student to analyze and assess several decision-making models​
and factors influencing highway-user decisions;​

B. an opportunity for the student to analyze and practice making decisions about use of​
occupant restraints;​

C. an opportunity for the student to analyze and practice making decisions about vehicle​
speed under different driving conditions;​

D. an opportunity for the student to identify, analyze, and describe the proper procedures​
for a variety of driving situations;​

E. an opportunity for the student to gather information and practice making decisions about​
vehicle ownership, leasing, insurance, and maintenance;​

F. an opportunity for the student to identify, analyze, and practice making decisions related​
to drivers' attitudes and emotions;​

G. an opportunity for the student to explore alternative ways to become a better driver;​

H. information pertaining to the principles and relationships of tires and surfaces when​
turning, braking, and accelerating;​
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I. information pertaining to the characteristics of both conventional and antilock brake​
systems; and​

J. an opportunity for the student to become informed about becoming an organ donor.​

Subp. 3. Laboratory curriculum for class D motor vehicles. The laboratory curriculum​
presented and delivered to each student enrolled in a program for class D motor vehicles must​
include:​

A. orientation to the purpose, content, and procedures for laboratory instruction;​

B. orientation to gauges, instruments, and preparing to move the vehicle;​

C. basic skills in speed control and tracking on forward and backward paths;​

D. orientation to driving and initial techniques in scanning for, recognizing, and responding​
to obstacles;​

E. changing lanes, crossing intersections, merging, and passing;​

F. reduced-risk city driving, highway driving, freeway driving, and interacting with highway​
users;​

G. practical application of the classroom instruction on safe interaction with commercial​
motor vehicles described in subpart 2, item D;​

H. strategies for perceiving and responding to adverse and special conditions and​
emergencies; and​

I. a written evaluation, self-evaluation, and plan for future improvement.​

Subp. 4. Class A, B, or C motor vehicle curriculum. The curriculum presented to each​
student provided instruction to operate a class A, B, or C motor vehicle must:​

A. specify the hours of instruction to be provided to the student;​

B. describe the content of all classroom and laboratory instruction for all courses and​
individualized instruction; and​

C. specify the course fee or hourly rate for instruction.​

Subp. 5. Motorcycle classroom curriculum. The classroom curriculum presented for a driver​
education program for a motorcycle endorsement must meet the requirements in either item A or​
B.​

A. The classroom curriculum must be the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course​
and also address the provisions in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.974. The MSF Basic RiderCourse​
RiderCoach Guide, published by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (2008), is incorporated by​
reference and is not subject to frequent change. The manual is available through the interlibrary​
loan system or a copy may be obtained from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, 2 Jenner Street,​
Suite 150, Irvine, California, 92618-3806.​
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B. The curriculum must address:​

(1) the purpose, content, and procedures for classroom instruction;​

(2) the location and operation of motorcycle controls and indicators;​

(3) the opportunity for students to identify, analyze, and practice making decisions​
about proper protective gear;​

(4) the procedures for starting, riding, and stopping a motorcycle;​

(5) the procedures for turning, changing gears, and using both brakes to stop a​
motorcycle;​

(6) the identification of basic riding strategies and preparation to ride safely in traffic;​

(7) the various methods used to reduce the risks of riding hazards;​

(8) the procedures for passing, controlling rear wheel skids, and nighttime riding;​

(9) preparation for handling unusual or emergency situations;​

(10) the opportunity for the student to gather information and practice making decisions​
about selecting and maintaining a motorcycle;​

(11) how alcohol and other drugs affect a driver's ability to safely operate a motor​
vehicle, including:​

(a) information on the effects of the consumption of alcohol and the use of other​
drugs on the ability of a person to operate a motor vehicle;​

(b) information on the hazards of driving while under the influence of alcohol or​
other drugs; and​

(c) information on the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from​
violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol​
or drugs;​

(12) having the student's knowledge evaluated;​

(13) the duties of a driver when encountering a school bus, the content and requirements​
of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.444, and the penalties for violating that statute; and​

(14) the principles of safe operation of vehicles at railroad-highway grade crossings.​

Subp. 6. Motorcycle laboratory curriculum. The laboratory curriculum presented for a driver​
education program for a motorcycle endorsement must meet the requirements in either item A or​
B.​

A. The laboratory curriculum must be based on the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic​
Rider Course, incorporated by reference in subpart 5, and also address the provisions in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 169.974.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

7411.0515​MINNESOTA RULES​29​



B. The curriculum must include:​

(1) orientation to the purpose, content, and procedures for laboratory instruction;​

(2) instruction in mounting, dismounting, starting, and stopping the engine;​

(3) instruction in moving the motorcycle;​

(4) instruction in understanding the friction zone;​

(5) instruction in riding in a straight line;​

(6) instruction in turning, which must include slow, tight turns and higher speed turns;​

(7) instruction in shifting;​

(8) instruction in braking, which must include braking technique for stopping in a​
straight line and in a curve, emergency straight-line braking, and emergency braking in a curve;​

(9) instruction in scanning techniques for recognizing and responding to hazards;​

(10) instruction in changing lanes;​

(11) instruction in counter-steering and changing lanes quickly; and​

(12) formal written skills evaluation, self-evaluation, and planning for future​
improvement.​

Subp. 7. Curriculum hours for motorized bicycles.​

A. The curriculum presented to each student enrolled in a motorized bicycle driver education​
program must include at least three hours of classroom instruction.​

B. The commissioner shall approve a course if the course content includes the subject items​
listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.02, subdivision 3.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 14.388; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05;​
171.055; 171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 34 SR 767; 36 SR 436; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

CLASSROOM AND LABORATORY INSTRUCTION​

7411.0520 CLASSROOM AND LABORATORY INSTRUCTION.​

Subpart 1. Curriculum guide. An approved written classroom curriculum guide must be​
available to and used by an instructor providing classroom instruction for class A, class B, class C,​
class D, motorcycle, and motorized bicycle courses.​

Subp. 2. Instruction location. Classroom instruction must be conducted in a location complying​
with part 7411.0355.​
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Subp. 3. Classroom hours limitation. A program may offer no more than three hours of​
classroom instruction per day to a student under 18 years of age who has not yet obtained a driver's​
license.​

Subp. 4. Required number of class D motor vehicle classroom hours. A class D motor​
vehicle program must provide a student who is less than 18 years old with a minimum of 30 hours​
of approved classroom instruction.​

Subp. 4a. Required number of class D motor vehicle classroom hours for a concurrent​
program. A class D motor vehicle concurrent program must provide a student who is less than​
18 years old with a minimum of 15 hours of classroom instruction, followed by a minimum of 15​
hours of classroom instruction and six hours of laboratory instruction. The final 15 hours of​
concurrent classroom instruction must be completed before the student completes the fifth and sixth​
hour of laboratory instruction.​

Subp. 5. Motorcycle classroom hours. A program shall provide a student enrolled in a​
motorcycle endorsement driver education program who is less than 18 years old with a minimum​
of four hours of approved classroom instruction.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.386; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 39 SR 356​
Published Electronically: October 2, 2014​

7411.0525 SIMULATION INSTRUCTION.​

Subpart 1. Authority generally. Computer-simulated instruction may be used to reproduce​
driving situations likely to be encountered during actual driving performance.​

Subp. 2. Class D programs. In a class D program:​

A. Simulation instruction must be counted as laboratory instruction in a ratio of four hours​
of simulator time equaling one hour of on-street time.​

B. Simulator instruction must not be substituted for more than two hours of on-street​
laboratory instruction and in no case may a student receive less than four hours of on-street laboratory​
instruction if range instruction as specified in part 7411.0570 is not also provided.​

C. The simulator for a class D vehicle must be equipped with a brake pedal, accelerator,​
steering wheel, gear shift, operator seat, speedometer, and turn signals.​

D. The simulator curriculum must allow the student to evaluate risk and make proper driving​
decisions and responses.​

E. The simulation must be designed to replicate actual in-the-vehicle or on-the-motorcycle​
driving situations.​

F. A simulator must provide a means to measure each student's decisions and responses.​
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Subp. 3. Motorcycle program. A motorcycle endorsement program may use machines that​
simulate motorcycle riding but may not substitute simulator instruction for the required ten hours​
of laboratory instruction.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0530 [Repealed, L 2023 c 68 art 4 s 129]​
Published Electronically: December 21, 2023​

7411.0535 [Repealed, L 2023 c 68 art 4 s 129]​
Published Electronically: December 21, 2023​

7411.0540 HOMESCHOOL CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION.​

A. Classroom instruction for a class D motor vehicle program must be accessible to full-time​
homeschool students under the age of 18.​

B. A student shall submit a letter to the commissioner from the school superintendent or​
authorized school authority in the district in which the student resides, verifying the student's​
full-time homeschool status.​

C. The commissioner must be informed in writing by the homeschool parent or guardian​
of the student's completion of 30 hours of classroom instruction for a class D motor vehicle, including​
the student's full legal name and date of birth.​

D. Course materials must be approved by the commissioner and identified in writing when​
informing the commissioner that classroom instruction has been completed.​

E. When the classroom course requirements are met, the commissioner shall furnish the​
student with a letter of classroom completion for the class D motor vehicle course.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0545 LABORATORY INSTRUCTION.​

The requirements in this part apply to laboratory instruction for all programs.​

A. Whenever laboratory instruction is provided to a student on a public roadway, an​
instructor must be in the seat beside the student.​
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B. An instructor shall ensure that any student operating a motor vehicle has passed the​
Minnesota knowledge test representative of the class of vehicle for which instruction is to be given​
and is in possession of either:​

(1) a valid Minnesota instruction permit;​

(2) a valid Minnesota driver's license; or​

(3) a valid driver's license or permit from another state or country.​

C. An instructor shall ensure that seat belts are used at all times by persons in the motor​
vehicle.​

D. The class A vehicle provided by a program for driver education must be one that requires​
a class A license for its operation.​

E. The class B vehicle provided by a program for driver education must be one that requires​
a class B license for its operation.​

F. A firearm may not be transported in any vehicle used for driver education. For the purpose​
of this item, "firearm" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.015, subdivision​
19.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0550 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0555 CLASS D PROGRAM LABORATORY SCHEDULE; HOURS.​

A. A class D motor vehicle program:​

(1) must not provide more than two hours of laboratory instruction per day to a student​
under 18 years old in a class D motor vehicle;​

(2) must provide a class D driver education student who is less than 18 years old with​
a minimum of six hours of laboratory instruction;​

(3) except for the instruction offered in class A, B, or C vehicles, must not give a student​
more than 30 hours of laboratory instruction without the written authorization of the commissioner;​
and​

(4) may substitute range driving hours for laboratory instruction hours if:​

(a) the student has in possession a valid Minnesota instruction permit;​

(b) the student is operating the class D motor vehicle; and​
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(c) no more than two hours of range instruction are substituted for one hour of the​
daily laboratory instruction permitted in subitem (1).​

B. Total on-street time for class D motor vehicle laboratory instruction must not be less​
than four hours of the required six hours of laboratory instruction. However, if a program providing​
class D motor vehicle instruction provides both range and simulator instruction, no less than three​
hours of on-the-road laboratory instruction may be provided if the program also provides:​

(1) at least eight hours of simulator instruction; and​

(2) at least two hours of range instruction.​

C. Observation time in a class D motor vehicle does not count as laboratory instruction​
time.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0565 MOTORCYCLE LABORATORY SCHEDULE; HOURS; PROTECTIVE GEAR.​

Subpart 1. Hours. A motorcycle endorsement program must provide a student who is less​
than 18 years old with at least ten hours of approved laboratory instruction.​

Subp. 2. Hour limits. A program may offer a student no more than a total of eight hours of​
motorcycle instruction per day.​

Subp. 3. Enrollment. A student under age 18 wishing to take the motorcycle endorsement​
course must be enrolled in both the classroom and laboratory portions of the course.​

Subp. 4. Protective clothing. The instructor in a motorcycle endorsement program shall ensure​
that during laboratory instruction all students wear a helmet, an eye protective device, and protective​
clothing, including gloves, a jacket or long-sleeved shirt, long pants, and shoes or boots that cover​
the feet and ankles.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0570 LABORATORY RANGE INSTRUCTION.​

Subpart 1. General requirements.​

A. Range driving instruction must take place on a range that:​

(1) is designated for range driving during the period of instruction;​
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(2) is visually separated from on-street driving areas; and​

(3) meets the location and size requirements for a driving range specified in part​
7411.0355.​

B. The instructor must be able to communicate with each separate motor vehicle on the​
driving range.​

C. For range driving time to count as laboratory instruction, the student must operate a​
motor vehicle representative of the class of vehicle for which the student being trained is to be​
licensed.​

Subp. 2. Class C or D range.​

A. The student-to-instructor ratio on a range used for class C or D motor vehicle instruction​
must not exceed 12 students operating a class C or D motor vehicle for each instructor who meets​
the qualifications in parts 7411.0620 to 7411.0690.​

B. For instruction provided to a student under the age of 18, only one student may be present​
in the motor vehicle.​

Subp. 3. Motorcycle range. During motorcycle laboratory instruction:​

A. No more than eight students may receive instruction at one time on a range 160 feet​
long and 60 feet wide.​

B. Up to 12 students may receive instruction at one time if the dimensions of the riding​
range are at least 220 feet by 120 feet.​

C. The instructor-to-student ratio of one qualified instructor to up to eight students must​
be maintained at all times.​

Subp. 4. Class A or B range. The student-to-instructor ratio on a range used for class A or B​
motor vehicle instruction must not exceed ten students operating class A or B vehicles for each​
qualified instructor present on the range. If a class A combination vehicle is in use, the​
student-to-instructor ratio must be five to one.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0600 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0610 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS​

7411.0620 INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS FOR ALL PROGRAMS.​

Subpart 1. Generally. An instructor must:​

A. be at least 21 years old;​

B. have been a valid licensed driver for three years in Minnesota or another United States​
state;​

C. have a valid driver's license for the class of motor vehicle for which the applicant wants​
to provide instruction; and​

D. have a high school diploma or the equivalent.​

Subp. 2. Certified copy of driving record.​

A. An instructor applicant shall submit a certified copy of the applicant's driving record to​
the program's authorized official.​

B. An instructor who does not have a Minnesota driver's license shall submit a certified​
copy of the instructor's driving record from the United States state where the instructor is licensed​
to the commissioner when initially applying to become an instructor and annually afterward.​

(1) For a licensed instructor, the annual certified copy of the instructor's driving record​
must be submitted with the instructor's license renewal application.​

(2) For an instructor at an approved public or private program, the annual certified copy​
of the instructor's driving record must be submitted with the program's annual application for​
renewal of its certificate of approval.​

C. A certified copy of a driving record submitted under this subpart must be dated no earlier​
than 30 days before the date the commissioner receives it.​

Subp. 3. Report of driving violations and incidents. An instructor shall notify the​
commissioner and authorized program official, in writing, if the instructor is convicted of a traffic​
violation or is involved in a motor vehicle accident requiring reporting under Minnesota Statutes,​
section 169.09, subdivision 7. The written notification must be submitted to the commissioner and​
authorized program official within ten days from the date of the conviction or the accident.​

Subp. 4. Initial and annual review of driving record.​

A. The commissioner shall review the driving record of each initial instructor applicant.​

B. The commissioner shall also annually review the driving record of each instructor at the​
time of renewal of the instructor license or at the time of program approval.​
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Subp. 5. General health.​

A. When the commissioner has good cause to believe that an instructor has a physical or​
mental disability that will interfere with the safe operation of a motor vehicle, the commissioner​
shall require a physician's statement as often as necessary for the commissioner to monitor the​
instructor's condition.​

B. The physician's statement must be submitted no later than 30 days after the examination​
on which the statement is based.​

Subp. 6. Hearing.​

A. An applicant or instructor must be able to speak and hear well enough to conduct a​
normal verbal conversation with another at a distance of five feet, with or without a hearing aid.​

B. An exception to item A is allowed for an instructor specializing in the instruction of​
students who are deaf, deafblind, or hard-of-hearing in class D, motorcycle, or motorized bicycle​
programs.​

Subp. 7. Vision. An applicant or instructor must be able to meet the vision requirements to​
obtain an unrestricted class D license, except that the restriction of corrective lenses enabling the​
applicant or instructor to meet the vision requirement is an acceptable restriction.​

Subp. 8. Criminal history. Each person applying to become a qualified instructor shall​
authorize an investigation with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) and the Federal Bureau​
of Investigation (FBI) to determine if the applicant or instructor has a criminal record.​

A. The authorization fingerprints and the fee for the FBI background check must be​
submitted with the application for an instructor's license.​

B. If the investigation by the BCA indicates no criminal record, the person must be issued​
a temporary license pending the outcome of the check of the national criminal data repository.​

C. If a person has been convicted of a gross misdemeanor or felony, then the person is​
ineligible to be an instructor unless:​

(1) the commissioner determines that the crime does not directly relate to the position​
of instructor; or​

(2) the person has shown competent evidence of sufficient rehabilitation and present​
fitness to perform the duties of an instructor.​

D. An instructor is disqualified from providing instruction to any student under age 18 for​
any violations specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.3215.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; L 2013 c 62 s 32​
Published Electronically: August 1, 2013​
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7411.0630 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING QUALIFICATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Generally. The training requirements for an instructor who provides instruction in​
a driver education program are specified in this part.​

Subp. 2. Initial training. An individual must satisfactorily complete training approved by the​
commissioner to be an instructor in a program that provides instruction to operate a motor vehicle.​

A. An individual may not provide instruction until:​

(1) the commissioner approves the public or private program; or​

(2) the individual is licensed as an instructor for a commercial driver training program.​

B. Satisfactory completion of instructor training must be provided by the instructor applicant​
to the commissioner.​

Subp. 3. Classroom instructor in class D program. To provide classroom instruction in a​
program providing instruction to operate a class D motor vehicle, the individual must document​
and demonstrate competency of the individual's:​

A. knowledge of the classroom curriculum for class D motor vehicles specified in part​
7411.0515, subpart 2;​

B. ability to identify and apply current state law and regulations applicable to the ownership​
and operation of a class D vehicle;​

C. organization of lessons and preparation to conduct classroom instruction;​

D. ability to maintain a learning environment and management of a class;​

E. ability to assess, monitor, and adjust performance as necessary;​

F. time management;​

G. record keeping in compliance with this chapter;​

H. written communication skills;​

I. ability to contact first aid resources in the event of an emergency;​

J. oral instruction presentation and delivery techniques;​

K. ability to use visual aids and technical apparatus pertinent to the program's curriculum;​
and​

L. completion of team teaching with a qualified instructor.​

Subp. 4. Laboratory instructor in class D program. To provide instruction in a program​
providing instruction to operate a class D motor vehicle, the individual must document and​
demonstrate competency of the individual's:​
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A. knowledge of the class D vehicle laboratory curriculum specified in part 7411.0515,​
subpart 3;​

B. ability to provide instruction and demonstrate vehicle operation and control from the​
right passenger position;​

C. use of vehicle tools for vehicle control;​

D. oral instruction presentation and delivery techniques;​

E. ability to plan and maintain the scheduling of lessons, in the case of an instructor who​
must plan lessons and schedule lessons;​

F. ability to develop training routes;​

G. ability to respond calmly and decisively to instruction situations;​

H. ability to develop task breakdown explanations;​

I. ability to role play while behind-the-wheel with another qualified instructor;​

J. ability to organize lessons;​

K. ability to conduct performance assessments;​

L. ability to demonstrate safe personal driving skills;​

M. ability to identify and apply current state law and regulations applicable to the ownership​
and operation of a class D vehicle;​

N. ability to contact first aid resources in the event of an emergency; and​

O. ability to comment on the driving environment while safely operating the motor vehicle.​

Subp. 5. Instructor with board credential. An individual with a Professional Educator​
Licensing and Standards Board license and certification under part 8710.4350 (2003) meets the​
requirements in subparts 3 and 4.​

Subp. 6. Class A, B, or C motor vehicle training instructor. An instructor providing​
instruction to operate a class A, B, or C motor vehicle must have a commercial driver's license​
representative of the vehicle class used for instruction.​

A. To provide instruction in a program for the operation of a class A, B, or C motor vehicle,​
the instructor must successfully complete training to operate the class of motor vehicle for which​
instruction will be provided.​

B. To qualify as an instructor, the individual must document and demonstrate competency​
of the individual's:​

(1) knowledge of the motor vehicle class;​
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(2) knowledge of federal and state laws and regulations related to the class of motor​
vehicle for which instruction will be provided;​

(3) written communication skills;​

(4) oral instruction presentation and delivery techniques;​

(5) ability to conduct performance assessments;​

(6) ability to control driving activities on the range;​

(7) experience, by a showing of 3,000 hours within the last five years of experience​
operating the class of vehicle for which instruction will be provided;​

(8) ability to develop training routes and ranges;​

(9) record keeping in compliance with state rules and federal regulations;​

(10) ability to develop and maintain a learning environment;​

(11) ability to give clear and concise directions;​

(12) ability to develop task breakdown explanations;​

(13) ability to organize and deliver lessons;​

(14) ability to respond calmly and decisively to instruction situations;​

(15) time management;​

(16) ability to comment on the driving environment while safely operating the motor​
vehicle;​

(17) ability to take control of the vehicle from the right passenger seat of the vehicle;​
and​

(18) ability to contact first aid resources in the event of an emergency.​

Subp. 7. Training for motorcycle instructor. To be an instructor in a program providing​
instruction on the operation of a motorcycle, a person must satisfactorily complete motorcycle​
instructor training provided by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or another training course that​
provides the training described in this subpart.​

A. The training must consist of at least 45 hours of instruction.​

B. Instructor training must include:​

(1) 8-1/2 hours of instruction on classroom instruction techniques and classroom course​
content;​

(2) 11-1/2 hours of instruction on laboratory instruction techniques and laboratory​
course content;​
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(3) 11 hours of peer instruction, with each instructor-student acting as both an instructor​
and a student to other instructor-students in the class; and​

(4) 14 hours of participation as a student instructor in a program providing instruction​
to operate a motorcycle, with the student-instructor providing instruction for a portion of both the​
classroom and laboratory phases of the program.​

Subp. 8. Requirement to renew motorcycle instructor license. To qualify for renewal of a​
license to provide instruction to operate a motorcycle, an instructor must provide instruction for at​
least two courses on the operation of a motorcycle during the two-year period preceding renewal.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; L 2017 1Sp5 art 12 s 22​
Published Electronically: August 21, 2017​

7411.0640 QUALIFICATIONS FOR TELECONFERENCED CLASSROOM​
INSTRUCTION.​

To use teleconferencing as a method of instruction, an instructor must complete​
commissioner-approved training in this instructional method.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0645 LABORATORY INSTRUCTOR DISQUALIFICATION.​

Subpart 1. Class D and motorcycle programs. A person is ineligible to provide on-street or​
range laboratory instruction with a licensed or approved program for class D motor vehicle operation​
or a motorcycle endorsement if:​

A. the person's driver's license has been revoked or suspended for a traffic violation other​
than an insurance-related traffic violation and not less than one year has elapsed since the person's​
driver's license has been reinstated;​

B. the person has been convicted of three or more traffic violations within a one-year period​
and one year has not elapsed since the date of the last conviction; or​

C. the person has been convicted of four or more traffic violations within a three-year period​
and one year has not elapsed since the date of the last conviction.​

Subp. 2. Class A, B, or C program. The commissioner shall disqualify an instructor from​
providing laboratory instruction in a program for class A, B, or C motor vehicle operation for​
violations and incidents that would preclude the individual from obtaining a commercial driver's​
license.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0650 INSTRUCTOR TESTS.​

Subpart 1. For all qualified instructors. The test requirements to qualify as an instructor are​
specified in this part. To be a qualified instructor, an applicant must pass a written test and a road​
test administered by the commissioner.​

Subp. 2. Test content. The tests must address motor vehicle operation, traffic laws, road signs,​
requirements of this chapter, and other material pertaining to and affecting the driver, traffic, the​
motor vehicle, and instruction methods.​

A. The tests must be developed or approved by the commissioner.​

B. When an applicant fails the road test portion after two attempts, the commissioner shall​
require the applicant to undergo a driver evaluation interview given by the department.​

C. A test addressing methods of instruction must be administered and consist of an evaluation​
of the instructor's instruction methods and ability. The applicant must be evaluated for the type of​
instruction for the class of motor vehicle for which the applicant seeks to provide instruction.​

(1) Classroom evaluation must be witnessed live, via teleconferencing or videotape.​

(2) Laboratory evaluation for an initial instructor must be simulated.​

D. An applicant who fails to pass any part of a test fails the entire test.​

E. An applicant who fails a test twice within six months may not retest for six months after​
the date of the second test.​

F. When the commissioner has good cause to believe that an instructor is not able to properly​
instruct in a driver education program or safely operate a motor vehicle, the commissioner shall​
require the instructor to submit to reexamination, consisting of all or part of the tests specified in​
this part or to a review of the instructor's instruction methods and ability while actually instructing​
students.​

Subp. 3. Motorcycle instructor tests. To instruct in a program providing instruction to operate​
a motorcycle, a person must first pass a written motorcycle instructor test. The written test must be​
developed or approved by the commissioner. The written test must be administered by the​
commissioner.​

A. An applicant who fails the written test twice within six months may not retest for six​
months after the second test.​

B. The written test must cover:​
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(1) knowledge of motorcycle operation;​

(2) state traffic laws;​

(3) road signs;​

(4) provisions in this chapter relevant to a program providing instruction in the operation​
of a motorcycle;​

(5) other material pertaining to and affecting the motorcycle operator, traffic, and other​
motor vehicles; and​

(6) instructional methods.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0655 COMMERCIAL PROGRAM INSTRUCTOR LICENSE.​

Subpart 1. Instructor license application; duplicate license. Application for a new license​
or for renewal of a license to be an instructor in a commercial driver training school must be made​
on a format prescribed by the commissioner.​

A. The application for an instructor's license must be signed by the applicant and the​
authorized official of the commercial driver training school where the instructor is employed or is​
to be employed.​

B. The license is valid only while the instructor is in the employment of the commercial​
driver training school.​

C. When the employment of an instructor with the commercial driver training school is​
terminated, the license of the instructor becomes invalid and must be surrendered to the commissioner​
within ten days.​

D. The authorized official of the commercial driver training school shall notify the​
commissioner in writing within five days of termination of a licensed instructor.​

E. The commissioner shall issue a duplicate license for employment at another licensed​
commercial driver training school if the applicant continues to be qualified as an instructor.​

F. If the instructor attests that the license is lost, mutilated, or destroyed, the commissioner​
shall issue a duplicate.​

(1) The instructor shall attest to the date the license was lost, mutilated, or destroyed​
and the circumstances involving the loss, mutilation, or destruction of the license.​

(2) The fee for issuing a duplicate instructor's license is $5.​
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G. An instructor may be licensed at the same time by separate commercial driver training​
schools if the applicant continues to be qualified as an instructor and holds separate licenses for​
each program.​

H. When an instructor's license has been expired over one year but less than three years,​
the testing requirements shall consist of an evaluation by the commissioner of the teaching​
methodologies for classroom, laboratory, or both, depending on the scope of instruction, before​
relicensure.​

Subp. 2. Instructor license in possession. An instructor must be able to produce the​
department-issued instructor license at the request of a peace officer, the commissioner, or an officer​
authorized to enforce the laws relating to the operation of a motor vehicle on public streets and​
highways.​

Subp. 3. Renewal of instructor license. An instructor license expires one year from the date​
issued and may be renewed on application to the commissioner. Application for renewal of the​
license must be submitted to the commissioner at least ten days before expiration, but will not be​
accepted more than 30 days before the expiration date.​

Subp. 4. Fees payable to commissioner. Fees for an original, renewal, duplicate, and​
replacement instructor license must be made payable to the commissioner.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 14.388; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; 34 SR 767​
Published Electronically: December 1, 2009​

7411.0670 QUALIFICATIONS FOR MOTORIZED BICYCLE INSTRUCTOR.​

An instructor for a motorized bicycle course must be:​

A. a current licensed or approved instructor for a class A, B, C, or D vehicle or a motorcycle;​

B. a current representative of a dealership that sells motorized bicycles and holds a valid​
class D driver's license; or​

C. a certified law enforcement officer.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0690 INSTRUCTOR CONTINUING EDUCATION.​

The department shall require instructors to complete driver and traffic safety education​
periodically when the education is approved, provided, or supervised by the commissioner.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0700 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0800 Subpart 1. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 2a. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 8. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 8a. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 8b. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 8c. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 9. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​

Subp. 10. [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS​

7411.0850 VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS.​

Subpart 1. Safety standards. A vehicle used for driver education instruction must comply​
with federal and state motor vehicle safety standards for the model year of the vehicle.​

A. A vehicle must be maintained in a safe operating condition.​

B. The vehicle age limits specified in this part do not relieve a program of its responsibility​
to ensure that a vehicle used by the program is maintained in a safe operating condition.​

C. An instructor shall report in writing to the program and the commissioner a mechanical​
problem affecting the safe operation of a vehicle.​
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D. The program must correct the problem before again using the vehicle for driver education​
instruction.​

E. If a vehicle used for driver education instruction is not maintained in a safe operating​
condition, the commissioner shall prohibit the program from using the vehicle for instruction until​
the unsafe condition has been corrected.​

F. The commissioner shall suspend or revoke the license or certificate of approval of a​
program or an instructor license, or both, if the commissioner determines that the unsafe condition​
could foreseeably be the cause of serious personal injury or property damage and that the program​
or instructor had notice, or should have had notice through the ordinary discharge of duties, of the​
unsafe condition of the vehicle.​

Subp. 2. Vehicle inspection. A vehicle inspection form must be completed:​

A. for all training vehicles after a reportable accident;​

B. annually for any motorcycle or class D motor vehicle over six years of age; and​

C. annually for any class A, B, or C vehicle over ten years of age. For class A, B, and C​
motor vehicles, the commissioner shall accept a state patrol motor vehicle inspection report.​

Subp. 3. Equipment required on vehicles. A class A, B, C, or D vehicle used for driver​
education instruction must have an outside rearview mirror on each side of the vehicle, a separate​
inside rearview mirror for the instructor's use, and seat belts for each occupant of the vehicle as​
required by state law. In addition:​

A. a class D vehicle, other than one used on a driving range, must have dual control brakes​
and, when applicable, a dual control clutch pedal; and​

B. a class A vehicle must have a parabolic mirror not less than five inches in diameter on​
each side of the motor vehicle.​

Subp. 4. Class A, B, or C motor vehicle age limit. A class A, B, or C motor vehicle may be​
used for more than ten years from the date it was first put into service, only if:​

A. the motor vehicle has been inspected during the previous six months by a mechanic for​
a licensed truck dealer, or by a person certified to inspect commercial motor vehicles under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 169.781;​

B. all repairs and replacements of parts indicated by the inspection have been made; and​

C. records are available to show the inspection, repair, and replacement of parts.​

Subp. 5. Age limit for semitrailers. Semitrailers are exempt from age limitation provided​
there is a record of current inspection and repair.​

Subp. 6. Age limit for motorcycles. A motorcycle may be used for more than six years from​
the date first put into service, only if:​
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A. the tires, tubes, control cables, fuel line, spark plugs, front and rear brake pads and shoes,​
hydraulic brake hoses, wheel bearings, drive chain, battery, fork oil, brake and clutch cables, and​
steering and suspension have been inspected during the previous 12 months and each part not​
meeting operating specifications contained in the manufacturer's factory repair manual has been​
replaced;​

B. a record is available to show the inspection and replacement of parts; and​

C. the motorcycle has been inspected during the previous 12 months by a manufacturer's​
service representative or certified mechanic, by a motorcycle mechanic for a licensed motorcycle​
dealer, or by a certified technical college mechanic instructor.​

Subp. 7. Age limit for class D motor vehicles. A class D motor vehicle may be used for more​
than six years from the date first put into service, only if:​

A. the following parts have been inspected during the previous 12 months and each part​
not meeting operating specifications contained in the manufacturer's factory repair manual has been​
replaced:​

(1) accelerator, to ensure it is not damaged or loose;​

(2) belts to fan and power assist units;​

(3) dual and parking brakes, to ensure they are not damaged and the lines or linings are​
not worn;​

(4) clutch;​

(5) door latches, locks, hinges, and handles;​

(6) drive train, to ensure it is not damaged or loose;​

(7) hood latches, locks, hinges, and handle;​

(8) horn;​

(9) head, tail, parking, and brake lights;​

(10) rearview, inside, outside, right, and left mirrors;​

(11) motor, transmission, and body mountings;​

(12) exhaust system and muffler;​

(13) license plates, to ensure they are attached and unobstructed;​

(14) signs required by this subpart, to ensure they are visible and attached;​

(15) assembly sheeting, to ensure it is not damaged, worn, or loose;​

(16) seat belts, to ensure they are not damaged or loose;​

(17) steering assembly, to ensure it is not damaged or loose;​
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(18) tires, to ensure they are not cut or damaged and have a minimum tread depth of​
1/16 inch;​

(19) turn signals; and​

(20) unobstructed windshield with wipers and washers;​

B. a record is available to show the inspection and replacement of parts; and​

C. the motor vehicle was inspected during the previous 12 months by a manufacturer's​
service representative, a mechanic for a licensed dealer for the vehicle, a certified technical or​
vocational college mechanics instructor, or an automotive service excellence mechanic fully certified​
by a vocational or technical school or college in all areas of vehicle inspection.​

Subp. 8. Vehicle markings. While being used for on-street laboratory instruction, class A, B,​
C, and D program vehicles must have signs conspicuously and legally displayed on the rear of the​
vehicle, with background and letters of contrasting colors stating "Student Driver."​

A. On vehicles used for class D driver education, the "Student Driver" lettering must be at​
least two but not more than five inches in height.​

B. On vehicles used for class A, B, and C driver education, the "Student Driver" lettering​
must be at least ten inches in height.​

C. No other signs or advertising may be displayed on the vehicle without the approval of​
the commissioner.​

D. When on a vehicle owned or used by a public program, the sign must be removed when​
the vehicle is used for purposes other than driver education instruction.​

Subp. 9. Tax-exempt plates. Any vehicle owned or used by a driver education program and​
used exclusively for instruction may display tax-exempt license plates.​

A. A letter stating that the vehicle is used for instruction in the driver education program​
and a copy of the program license or certificate of approval must be submitted to the commissioner​
when applying for tax-exempt license plates.​

B. Any class D vehicle licensed under this subpart must have the name of the driver​
education program displayed on both sides of the vehicle in letters not less than 2-1/2 inches high​
and one-half inch wide.​

C. Any class A, B, or C vehicle licensed under this subpart must have the name of the driver​
education program displayed on both sides of the vehicle in letters comparable to the marking​
requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 390.21. The color of the letters must​
contrast with the area on which they are placed.​

Subp. 10. Good cause vehicle inspections. When the commissioner has good cause to believe​
a vehicle used for driver education purposes does not meet the requirements of this chapter, the​
commissioner shall inspect or require the inspection of the vehicle.​
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Subp. 11. Commercial use of driver education program vehicle. A class A, B, or C vehicle​
used in a driver education program may not be used for commercial purposes during driver education​
unless each condition in this subpart is met:​

A. hazardous materials, hazardous substances, and hazardous waste are not transported;​

B. an instructor accompanies the student in the motor vehicle while it is being used for​
commercial purposes; and​

C. the student is covered by the program's insurance as required in part 7411.0270.​

Subp. 12. Vehicle supplied by instructor or student. If the instructor or the student supplies​
the vehicle to be used for driver education, the program must verify that the vehicle meets the​
requirements in this part and the program insurance requirements under part 7411.0270 before the​
vehicle may be used for driver education. If the student is already in possession of a license to​
operate the vehicle, the vehicle is exempt from the:​

A. age requirements under subparts 4 to 7;​

B. requirements of dual control brakes and dual control clutch pedal under subpart 3; and​

C. program insurance requirements under part 7411.0270 for that vehicle, provided the​
program verifies that the vehicle used by the student during the instruction has at least the minimum​
amount of insurance required under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 65B.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.0900 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

ADMINISTRATIVE ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS​

7411.1800 PROGRAM ADMINISTRATIVE ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS.​

Subpart 1. Suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew program license. The license of a​
program may be revoked, suspended, or not renewed for any of the conditions specified in this​
subpart.​

A. The license holder of the program has permitted fraud or engaged in fraudulent practices​
with respect to the license application, in the operation of the program, or the conduct of employment.​

B. The program or an instructor has induced or countenanced fraud or fraudulent practices​
on the part of an applicant for a driver's license, endorsement, or instruction permit.​
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C. A certificate of enrollment or completion has been signed by the authorized official of​
the program and the official knew, or should have known after reasonable investigation, that​
information on the certificate was false.​

D. There is evidence that intoxicating beverages have been present or consumed on the​
program premises or in its vehicles during a period of instruction.​

E. The program or an instructor has delayed the start or completion of instruction without​
good reason.​

F. The program or an instructor has conducted business in a way that adversely affects the​
student's education or public safety and that substantially departs from commonly accepted practices​
as used by other driver education programs and instructors.​

G. The program or an instructor encouraged a student to continue indefinite instruction​
beyond the point the student is capable of passing a driver's license, permit, or endorsement​
examination or it is easily determined that the student, for one reason or another, could never pass​
an examination. A question about the competency of the student or the number of hours of instruction​
must be referred in writing to the commissioner.​

H. The program failed to comply with the requirements for programs in this chapter and​
Minnesota Statutes, chapters 169 and 171.​

I. The program or an instructor permitted, aided, or abetted the commission of an illegal​
act in the operation of the program or in the conduct of employment.​

J. The program or an instructor has:​

(1) engaged in conduct, in the operation of the program or in the conduct of employment,​
that is likely to harm the public or a student; or​

(2) demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health or safety of another person​
or student.​

K. The program or an instructor committed serious or repeated violations of the requirements​
of a statute, rule, or correction order.​

L. The program or an instructor has allowed the alteration or illegal use of a license or​
certificate of approval.​

Subp. 2. Withdrawal of program approval. The commissioner's approval of a program may​
be withdrawn for any of the conditions specified in subpart 1.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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7411.1850 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, OR REFUSAL TO RENEW INSTRUCTOR'S​
LICENSE.​

The license of an instructor may be revoked, suspended, or not renewed for any of the conditions​
specified in this part.​

A. The license holder has permitted fraud or engaged in fraudulent practices with reference​
to the license application, in the operation of the program, provision of instruction, or employment​
conduct.​

B. The instructor has induced or countenanced fraud or fraudulent practices on the part of​
an applicant for a driver's license, instruction permit, or endorsement.​

C. There is evidence that the instructor consumed or permitted the consumption of​
intoxicating beverages on the program premises or in an education vehicle.​

D. The instructor failed to keep or has been repeatedly late for appointments with students​
without good reason.​

E. The instructor has delayed the start or completion of instruction without good reason.​

F. The instructor has provided instruction in a way that adversely affects the student's​
education or public safety and that substantially departs from commonly accepted practices used​
by other driver education instructors.​

G. The instructor has encouraged a student to continue indefinite instruction beyond the​
point the student is capable of passing a driver's license, permit, or endorsement examination or it​
can easily be determined that the student, for one reason or another, could never pass an examination.​
A question about the competency of the student or the number of hours of instruction must be​
referred in writing to the commissioner.​

H. The instructor failed to comply with the requirements for instructors in this chapter and​
Minnesota Statutes, chapters 169 and 171.​

I. The instructor permitted, aided, or abetted the commission of an illegal act in the operation​
of the program or in employment conduct.​

J. The instructor engaged in conduct within the operation of the program or in the​
employment within the program, that is likely to harm the public or a student or that demonstrated​
a willful or careless disregard for the health or safety of other persons or students.​

K. The program or an instructor has committed serious or repeated violations of the​
requirements of a statute, rule, or correction order.​

L. The program or an instructor has allowed the alteration or illegal use of a license or​
certificate of approval.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​
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History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.1875 CORRECTION ORDER.​

The commissioner may issue to a licensed program or instructor or approved program a correction​
order requiring violations cited in the order to be corrected within 30 calendar days from the date​
the order is received.​

A. The person to whom the order is issued shall provide information to the commissioner​
before the 31st day after the order is received demonstrating that the violation has been corrected​
or that the person has developed a corrective plan acceptable to the commissioner.​

B. The commissioner shall determine whether the violation has been corrected and notify​
the person subject to the order of the commissioner's determination.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.1900 CEASE AND DESIST ORDER.​

The commissioner, or a department employee designated by the commissioner, may issue an​
order to cease a program or instructor's activity if continuation of the activity would result in an​
immediate risk to public safety.​

A. An order issued under this part is effective for a maximum of 72 hours.​

B. In conjunction with the issuance of the cease and desist order, the commissioner may​
post a sign to cease an activity until the cease and desist order is lifted and the sign is removed by​
the commissioner.​

C. To enjoin the violation after the 72 hours has expired, the commissioner must either:​

(1) seek injunctive relief in a district court in Ramsey County or, at the commissioner's​
discretion, in a district court in the county in which the violation occurred; or​

(2) pursue other administrative action as provided in this part.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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7411.1925 ADMINISTRATIVE REVIEW OR HEARING.​

When the commissioner notifies a program or an instructor of a license revocation, suspension,​
or refusal to renew, or when the commissioner notifies a program of withdrawal of the program's​
approval, the affected program or instructor may request a review or hearing on the action in​
accordance with this part.​

A. A license revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew or the withdrawal of approval is​
not effective until the time for requesting a review or hearing has lapsed or, if a review or hearing​
is requested, until completion of these proceedings.​

B. The notice of revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew or the approval withdrawal is​
adjudged received three days after mailing to the last known address of the program or instructor​
as listed in the records of the commissioner.​

C. The program or instructor may ask the commissioner to review the revocation, suspension,​
refusal, or withdrawal.​

(1) The program or instructor may request a review by submitting a statement, together​
with written materials supporting the position of the program or instructor.​

(2) In addition to submitting written materials, the program or instructor may request​
to appear before the commissioner to show cause why the revocation, suspension, refusal, or​
withdrawal should be rescinded.​

(3) The request for review must be submitted within ten days after the program or​
instructor receives notice of the revocation, suspension, refusal, or withdrawal.​

(4) The commissioner shall perform the review and notify the program or instructor​
within ten days after the review whether the revocation, suspension, refusal, or withdrawal will be​
affirmed or rescinded.​

D. The program or instructor may request a contested case hearing under Minnesota Statutes,​
chapter 14, only after undergoing the review process in item C.​

(1) The request must be in writing and must be received within 30 days after the program​
or instructor receives notice of the revocation, suspension, refusal, or withdrawal or within ten days​
after the party receives notice of an adverse determination under item C, whichever period is longer.​

(2) When a contested case hearing is requested, the commissioner shall arrange a​
contested case hearing before an administrative law judge under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.​
After the hearing, the administrative law judge may recommend that the commissioner affirm,​
modify, or reverse the revocation, suspension, refusal, or withdrawal.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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7411.1975 PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR LICENSING AND STANDARDS BOARD​
REFERRAL.​

If the commissioner takes administrative action against a program due to action of an instructor​
with a license or certificate issued by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board,​
the commissioner shall notify the board so appropriate action may be taken by the board.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167; L 2017 1Sp5 art 12 s 22​
Published Electronically: August 21, 2017​

7411.1985 PROGRAM SUSPENSION OR TERMINATION OF UNQUALIFIED​
INSTRUCTOR.​

If a program has notice or should have notice that an instructor for that program does not meet​
the requirements to be an instructor, the program shall immediately suspend the instructor from​
providing instruction and report the suspension to the commissioner. If the instructor does not or​
cannot promptly meet the requirements to be an instructor, the program shall terminate the instructor's​
employment with the program as an instructor.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2000 COMMISSIONER NOTICE TO PROGRAM OF INSTRUCTOR​
DISQUALIFICATION.​

The commissioner shall notify a program if an instructor does not meet the requirements to be​
an instructor, as long as the information concerning the instructor is public data under Minnesota​
Statutes, section 13.03.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.26; 169.446; 169.974; 171.02; 171.05; 171.055;​
171.0701; 171.33 to 171.41; 299A.01​

History: 28 SR 1167​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2100 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2200 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2300 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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7411.2400 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2500 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2600 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.2700 [Repealed, 14 SR 2583]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.3100 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.3200 [Repealed, 28 SR 1167]​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.3300 [Repealed, 34 SR 767]​
Published Electronically: December 1, 2009​

DRIVER IMPROVEMENT CLINICS​

7411.5100 DEFINITIONS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 7411.5100 to 7411.5700 have the meanings given​
them in this part.​

Subp. 2. Director. "Director" means the person designated by the commissioner of public​
safety who shall have the immediate responsibility of the administration of this program.​

Subp. 3. Administrator. "Administrator" means the person designated by the sponsor to​
administer the local program, to include registration, record keeping, and reporting.​

Subp. 4. Senior instructor. "Senior instructor" means the person designated by the sponsor​
to conduct or be responsible for the course of instruction.​

Subp. 5. Instructor. "Instructor" means that person selected by the senior instructor to assist​
in instruction.​

Subp. 6. Association of municipalities. "Association of municipalities" means any association​
or organization of governmental units in Minnesota or any group of governmental units associated​
together for the purposes of the driver improvement clinic program.​

Subp. 7. Regularly established safety organization. "Regularly established safety​
organization" means an organization, committee of a chamber of commerce or other civic​
organization, or a safety committee of a community, recognized by the Minnesota Safety Council;​
also the Department of Public Safety.​
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Subp. 8. Satisfactorily complete. "Satisfactorily complete" means attendance at all periods​
of the particular course offered, in addition to an evaluation acceptable to the referring agency of​
the attitude and knowledge of the individual as determined by the senior instructor.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5200 PURPOSE.​

The purpose of parts 7411.5100 to 7411.5700 is to carry out the mandate of the legislature and​
to effectuate that mandate as set forth in Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.89, subdivision 5, 169.971​
to 169.973, and 171.20, with reference to the establishment and conduct of driver improvement​
clinics for traffic violators as directed by a trial court or the commissioner of public safety, and​
others who may volunteer to attend.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5300 SCOPE.​

The scope of parts 7411.5100 to 7411.5700 is intended to be confined within the framework​
of and consistent with the Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.89, subdivision 5, 169.971 to 169.973,​
and 171.20.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5400 METHOD OF APPLICATION.​

Subpart 1. Applicants. Any court, municipality, association of municipalities, or regularly​
established safety organization may make application for approval to operate a driver improvement​
clinic on such form or forms as determined by the commissioner of public safety.​

Subp. 2. Application information. The application shall include the following information​
plus any other as may be determined by the commissioner:​

A. designation of the local clinic administrator;​

B. designation of the local clinic senior instructor;​

C. outline of course curriculum;​

D. description of facilities provided for the conduct of the course;​

E. fees to be charged, and method of financial record keeping; and​

F. the application shall indicate that the immediate traffic trial court of the community has​
agreed to participate in the driver improvement clinic.​
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Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5500 METHOD OF APPROVAL.​

Upon receipt of an application from an authorized court, municipality, association of​
municipalities, or safety organization under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.972, for the approval​
of a driver improvement clinic, the director of the program shall review the information submitted​
and upon approval, the commissioner of public safety shall issue a certificate of approval.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5600 WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL.​

When the commissioner of public safety has evidence that an approved driver improvement​
clinic is operated contrary to the rules promulgated by the commissioner under authority of Minnesota​
Statutes, section 169.89, subdivision 5, 169.971 to 169.973, and 171.20, the commissioner may​
notify the sponsoring organization of intent to withdraw that approval or may withdraw that approval​
in writing to the sponsoring organization whereupon the certificate of approval shall be returned.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
History: 17 SR 1279​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.5700 METHOD OF OPERATION.​

Subpart 1. Certification of approval. No driver improvement clinic shall be operated or​
considered as such for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.89, subdivision 5, 169.971​
to 169.973, and 171.20, without a certificate of approval issued by the commissioner of public​
safety.​

Subp. 2. Senior instructor. The operation of each clinic, including course content, methods​
of instruction, and general conduct of the course, shall be the responsibility of the senior instructor​
as designated by the sponsor and approved by the commissioner. The senior instructor shall be a​
driver-education instructor so certified by the Minnesota Department of Education, or in the​
alternative a person who, on the effective date of parts 7411.5100 to 7411.5700, is satisfactorily​
acting as a senior instructor in driver improvement clinic schools and has been so acting for a period​
of over two years.​

Subp. 3. Course hours. The course of study shall be not less than eight hours and may not​
exceed a total of nine hours with no single class lasting more than three hours. The course may​
consist of three sessions of three hours each, or four sessions of two hours each.​

Subp. 4. Course facility. The facility for operation, including meeting room, visual aids,​
location, lighting, and similar teaching conditions shall be approved by the director.​
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Subp. 5. Course content. The curriculum of the course shall include periods of instruction on​
the following subjects:​

A. orientation and administration;​

B. the accident problem;​

C. Highway Traffic Regulation Act;​

D. Driver License Act;​

E. Safety Responsibility Act;​

F. physics of driving;​

G. driver attitudes and responsibilities;​

H. safe driving practices; and​

I. defensive driving.​

Subp. 6. Workshop requirement. Each senior instructor or an instructor designated by the​
senior instructor shall attend any workshop set up by the commissioner of public safety to develop​
curricula, share ideas, and discuss methods of improvements of the course of instruction. Attendance​
at one such workshop within a 12-month period shall be deemed compliance with this requirement.​

Subp. 7. Statutory requirements. All phases of operation, including administration, shall​
conform to Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.89, subdivision 5, 169.971 to 169.973, and 171.20,​
and parts 7411.5100 to 7411.5700.​

Subp. 8. Methods of reporting. The administrator of each driver improvement clinic shall​
keep such records of attendance as will enable the administrator to report to each referring agency​
the completion or failure to complete the course by each individual enrolled. The administrator of​
each driver improvement clinic shall keep such financial records and make such reports of the​
financial condition of each operation for the determination by the commissioner of public safety​
as to the reasonableness of tuition fees which may not exceed an average cost of the course. The​
commissioner of public safety shall keep such records as the commissioner may determine as​
necessary for statistical, evaluation, and accident prevention purposes.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 169.973​
History: 17 SR 1279; L 1995 1Sp3 art 16 s 13; L 2003 c 130 s 12​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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ACCIDENT PREVENTION COURSES​

7411.7100 PURPOSE.​

The purpose of parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700 is to effectuate the mandate of the legislature as​
set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.28, to establish and regulate accident prevention courses​
for persons 55 years of age and older.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383; 23 SR 1933​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7200 SCOPE.​

The scope of parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700 is confined to and consistent with Minnesota Statutes,​
section 65B.28.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7300 DEFINITIONS.​

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700 have the meanings given​
them in this part.​

Subp. 2. Certificate. "Certificate" means a course completion certification.​

Subp. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of​
Public Safety.​

Subp. 4. Satisfactorily complete. "Satisfactorily complete" means attendance at all periods​
of the course offered.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7400 APPLICATION TO PROVIDE COURSE.​

A person or organization may apply for approval to offer an accident prevention course to​
insureds 55 years of age and older. The application must include the name of the person or​
organization offering the course, the name of the course administrator, an outline of the course​
curriculum, and the amount of the fees to be charged.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 65B.28​
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History: 9 SR 2383; 23 SR 1933​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7500 APPLICATION APPROVAL.​

Subpart 1. When application received. Upon receiving an application from a person or an​
organization for the approval of an accident prevention course, the commissioner shall review the​
information submitted, determine approval, and if approved, issue a certificate of approval.​

Subp. 2. Approval withdrawal. With evidence that an approved accident prevention course​
is operated contrary to Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.28 or parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700, the​
commissioner shall notify the sponsoring person or organization in writing that approval is​
withdrawn, whereupon the certificate of approval must be returned.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7600 REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVAL AND OPERATION.​

Subpart 1. Certificate of approval. No accident prevention course is approved for purposes​
of an automobile insurance premium reduction if the course provider does not have a certificate of​
approval issued by the commissioner under part 7411.7500, subpart 1.​

Subp. 2. Operation responsibility. The operation of each accident prevention program,​
including course content, methods of instruction, and general conduct of the course, is the​
responsibility of the designated course administrator.​

Subp. 3. Course length restrictions. The course of study may not be less than a total of eight​
hours, with no more than four hours of instruction required in a 24-hour period.​

Subp. 4. Subjects. The curriculum of the course must include periods of instruction in the​
following subject areas:​

A. orientation and administration;​

B. driver fitness, including emotions, frustrations, attitudes, temporary disabilities, vision,​
hearing, chronic illness, drugs, and alcohol; and​

C. driving strategies, including factors affecting perception, identification, and prediction​
of traffic situations; evaluation of traffic hazards; decision making; and defensive driving.​

Subp. 5. Workshops. Each administrator or an instructor designated by the administrator shall​
attend any workshop set up by the sponsor to develop curricula, to share ideas, or to discuss methods​
of improvement of the course of instruction.​

Subp. 6. Record keeping. The administrator of each accident prevention course shall keep​
attendance records and shall report to the sponsor whether each individual enrolled has satisfactorily​
completed or failed to complete the course.​
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Subp. 7. Certificate of completion. The administrator shall issue a certificate of completion​
to each person who satisfactorily completes the accident prevention course.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​

7411.7700 QUALIFICATION FOR INSURANCE PREMIUM REDUCTION.​

Satisfactory completion of an approved accident prevention course evidenced by possession of​
a certificate of completion indicates that the insured has met the requirements of Minnesota Statutes,​
section 65B.28 for an appropriate automobile insurance premium reduction. Persons 55 years of​
age or older who complete an accident prevention course every three years remain eligible for an​
appropriate automobile insurance premium reduction.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 65B.28​
History: 9 SR 2383; 23 SR 1933​
Published Electronically: April 14, 2004​
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