CHAPTER 7405

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

COMMERCIAL FLEET VEHICLE REGISTRATION

- 7405.0100 DEFINITIONS.
- 7405.0200 PURPOSE.
- 7405.0300 OWNER OR OPERATOR TO REGISTER.
- 7405.0400 REQUIRED REGISTRATION INFORMATION FORM.
- 7405.0500 REQUIRED REGISTRATION INFORMATION.
- 7405.0600 DETERMINING NUMBER OF TRUCKS TO BE REGISTERED.
- 7405.0700 DETERMINING NUMBER OF RENTAL TRAILERS TO BE REGISTERED.
- 7405.0800 INSUFFICIENT REGISTRATION.
- 7405.0900 ESTIMATED REGISTRATION INFORMATION.
- 7405.1000 FILING REGISTRATION DATA AND BILLING; DUE DATES.

7405.0100 DEFINITIONS.

- Subpart 1. **Scope.** All terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings provided in Minnesota Statutes 1969, section 168.011, except the following terms.
- Subp. 2. **Rental truck.** "Rental truck" means a truck or truck tractor which is one of a fleet of two or more such vehicles owned and operated for hire for periods of 30 days or less within and without the state of Minnesota.
- Subp. 3. **Rental trailer.** "Rental trailer" means a trailer or semitrailer which is one of a fleet of two or more such vehicles owned and operated for hire for periods of 30 days or less within and without the state of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: October 14, 2013

7405.0200 PURPOSE.

The purpose of this chapter is to establish the dates, reports to be filed, and the information required for the proportionate registration and taxation of certain rental trucks and rental trailers, in order to implement the provisions of Laws of Minnesota 1971, chapter 49.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0300 OWNER OR OPERATOR TO REGISTER.

The owner of rental trucks and the owner or operator of rental trailers as defined in part 7405.0100, shall annually register a percentage of the owner's rental trucks and/or trailers in this state. Such registration and taxation imposed is pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1969, chapter 168.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

History: 17 SR 1279

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0400 REQUIRED REGISTRATION INFORMATION FORM.

The owner of rental trucks and the owner or operator of rental trailers shall report required registration information on a form designed and approved by the registrar of motor vehicles. Such form shall be completed by the owner or operator or an authorized agent and the information contained therein must be given under oath.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

History: 17 SR 1279

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0500 REQUIRED REGISTRATION INFORMATION.

Subpart 1. **Rental truck reports.** The owner of rental trucks shall report the following information:

- A. the total number of miles traveled within the state of Minnesota during the next preceding calendar year by all rental trucks owned by an owner;
- B. the total number of miles traveled both within and without of the state of Minnesota during the next preceding calendar year by all rental trucks owned by that owner; and
 - C. the total number of rental trucks owned by that owner as of date of report.
- Subp. 2. **Rental trailer information.** The owner or operator of rental trailers shall report the following information:
- A. the month and date of monthly inventory for the calendar year preceding the year in which filed;
 - B. the number of trailers in this state not on one-way runs;
 - C. the number of trailers in all states not on one-way runs;
 - D. the percentage of trailers in this state;
 - E. the total number of trailers available for rent in all states;
 - F. the average number of trailers operating in and through the state;
- G. a statement giving the average number of trailers available for operation in and traveling into and through this state during the entire year; and
 - H. the total number of full year registrations made in this state for the year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0600 DETERMINING NUMBER OF TRUCKS TO BE REGISTERED.

The number of rental trucks required to be registered in any one year in the state of Minnesota shall be determined as follows: The total number of miles traveled both within and without of the state of Minnesota by all rental trucks owned by an owner divided into the total number of miles traveled by all rental trucks within the state of Minnesota during the same calendar year times the total number of rental trucks owned by such owner is the number of rental trucks that should be registered in the state of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405,0700 DETERMINING NUMBER OF RENTAL TRAILERS TO BE REGISTERED.

- A. An inventory or count of the number of rental trailers not on one-way runs actually in this state shall be taken and recorded on a selected, uniform day the same week of each month throughout the year.
- B. An inventory or count of the total number of rental trailers not on one-way runs in all states shall be taken and recorded on the same uniform date provided in item A.
- C. The percentage of trailers in this state each month shall be determined by dividing the monthly total of trailers in this state (item A) by the total of trailers in all states (item B).
- D. The owner or operator shall determine and declare for each month the total number of rental trailers in all states including those on one-way runs into and through all states which were available for rental that month.
- E. The monthly total determined by item D shall be multiplied by the monthly percentage determined by item C to ascertain the average number of trailers reported in or operating into or through this state that month.
- F. The trailer counts and percentages provided in items B to E shall be computed and compiled by the owner or operator each month. At the end of the year, the total of the 12 monthly totals of the average number of trailers in or operating into or through the state shall be divided by 12 to determine the annual average of trailers available for rental that year. At least that number of trailers shall be registered for the new year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0800 INSUFFICIENT REGISTRATION.

If the registrar of motor vehicles determines an insufficient number of rental trailers or rental trucks were registered for any year, the registrar shall require the owner or operator to register an additional number for the full year sufficient to bring the fleet into compliance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 168.843.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

History: 17 SR 1279

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.0900 ESTIMATED REGISTRATION INFORMATION.

An owner or operator who did not previously operate in or through this state shall register the number of trailers and trucks based on the owner's or operator's certified estimate for the registration year subject to adjustment upwards at the end of the year when a report shall be filed showing the actual experience. No refund or credit shall be made if more than the average number of trailers were registered based on the estimate. An adjusted report shall be filed by December 1 of the registration year. If no adjustment is necessary a statement to that effect shall then be filed.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

History: 17 SR 1279

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999

7405.1000 FILING REGISTRATION DATA AND BILLING; DUE DATES.

The first report of the required registration information shall be filed no later than November 15, 1971 with the Registrar of Motor Vehicles, 211 Transportation Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101. Such report shall contain estimates of the required information based on the calendar year 1970. These estimates shall be used to determine the number of units to be registered in Minnesota for the calendar year 1972. Thereafter the annual report containing the required registration information shall be filed on or before April 15 of the year preceding the registration year. All reports will be audited by the registrar and applicants will be billed accordingly by November 1, except that the first billing under this act shall be by December 1, 1971.

For the registration year 1972 and thereafter full payment for the number of units required to be registered to avoid penalty for late registration shall be on or before January 10 of the registration year.

Statutory Authority: MS s 168.845

Published Electronically: August 24, 1999