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5221.0700 PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES.

Subpart 1. Usual charges. No provider shall submit a charge for a service that exceeds
the amount that the provider charges for the same type of service in cases unrelated to
workers' compensation injuries.

Subp. 1a. Conflicts of interest. All health care providers subject to this chapter
are bound by the federal Medicare antikickback statute in section 1128B(b) of the Social
Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1320a-7b(b), and regulations adopted
under it, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.23. Any medical services or supplies
provided in violation of these provisions are not compensable under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 176.

Subp. 2. Submission of information. Providers except for hospitals must supply
with the bill a copy of an appropriate record that adequately documents the service and
substantiates the nature and necessity of the service or charge. Hospitals must submit an
appropriate record upon request by the payer. All charges billed after January 1, 1994, for
workers' compensation health care services, articles, and supplies, except for United States
government facilities rendering health care services for veterans, must be submitted to the
payer in the formats prescribed in subparts 2a, 2b, 2c, and 2d, and in accordance with items
A to C.

A. Charges for services, articles, and supplies must be submitted to the payer
directly by the health care provider actually furnishing the service, article, or supply. This
includes but is not limited to the following:

(1) diagnostic imaging, laboratory, or pathology testing not actually
performed by the health care provider, or employee of the health care provider, who
ordered the test;

(2) equipment, supplies, and medication not ordinarily kept in stock by
the hospital or other health care provider facility, purchased from a supplier for a specific
employee;

(3) services performed by a health care provider at a hospital, if the provider
has an independent practice, except that a hospital may charge for services furnished by a
provider who receives at least a base payment from the hospital, which is paid regardless
of the number of patients seen; and

(4) outpatient medications dispensed by a licensed pharmacy pursuant to
an order written by a health care provider, as described in this subpart, including both
prescription and nonprescription medications.

B. Charges must be submitted to the payer in the manner required by subparts
2a, 2b, 2c, and 2d, within 60 days from the date the health care provider knew the condition
being treated was claimed by the employee as compensable under workers' compensation.
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Failure to submit charges within the 60 days is not a basis to deny payment, but is a basis for
disciplinary action against the provider under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.103. Failure
to submit claims within the time frames specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 62Q.75,
subdivision 3, may result in denial of payment.

C. This part does not limit the collection of other information the provider may
be required to report under any other state or federal jurisdiction.

Subp. 2a. ASC X12 Health Care Claim: Professional (837) format. Except as
provided in subparts 2b, 2c, and 2d, charges for all services, articles, and supplies that
are provided for a claimed workers' compensation injury must be submitted to the payer
electronically in the ASC X12 Health Care Claim: Professional (837) format required by
Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.50 to 62J.61, and the corresponding uniform companion
guide adopted by the Department of Health under Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.536 and
62J.61.

Subp. 2b. ASC X12 Health Care Claim: Institutional (837) format.

A. Hospitals licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.50, must submit
charges electronically in the ASC X12 Health Care Claim: Institutional (837) format
required by Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.50 to 62J.61, and the corresponding uniform
companion guide adopted by the Minnesota Department of Health under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 62J.536 and 62J.61.

B. When the billing format in item A provides only summary information, an
itemized listing of all services and supplies provided during the inpatient hospitalization
must be attached, except as otherwise provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.1362.
The itemized list must include:

(1) where a code is assigned to a service, the approved procedure codes and
modifiers appropriate for the service, in accordance with subpart 3. Charges for supplies
need not be coded, but a description and charge for specific articles and supplies must be
itemized;

(2) the charge for each service;

(3) the number of units of each service provided; and

(4) the date each service was provided.

Subp. 2c. Submission of drug charges.

A. Itemized charges for drugs dispensed for a claimed workers' compensation
injury by a licensed community/outpatient pharmacy must be submitted to the payer
electronically in the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) Version
D, Release 0 format required by Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.50 to 62J.61, and the
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corresponding uniform companion guide adopted by the Minnesota Department of Health
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.536 and 62J.61.

B. Charges for drugs dispensed by a practitioner as defined in Minnesota
Statutes, section 151.01, subdivision 23, who is permitted to dispense drugs under
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 151, may be submitted to the payer according to the applicable
requirements of this subpart or subpart 2a.

C. Charges for drugs dispensed by a hospital may be submitted according to the
applicable requirements of this subpart or subpart 2b.

D. The terms "community/outpatient pharmacy," "dispense," "drug,"
"practitioner," and "usual and customary charge" in this subpart have the meanings given
to them in part 5221.4070, subpart 1a.

Subp. 2d. ASC X12 Health Care Claim: Dental (837) format. Charges for dental
services must be submitted to the payer electronically in the ASC X12 Health Care Claim:
Dental (837) format required by Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.50 to 62J.61, and the
corresponding uniform companion guide adopted by the Minnesota Department of Health
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.536 and 62J.61.

Subp. 3. Billing code.

A. The provider shall undertake professional judgment to assign the correct
approved billing code, and any applicable modifiers, in the CPT, HCPCS, NDC, or
UB-04 Data Specifications manual in effect on the date the service, article, or supply
was rendered, using the appropriate provider group designation, and according to the
instructions and guidelines in this chapter. No provider may use a billing code that is
assigned a "D," "F," "G," or "H" status as described in part 5221.4020, subpart 2a, item D.
Where several component services which have different CPT codes may be described in
one more comprehensive CPT code, only the single CPT code most accurately describing
the procedure performed or service rendered may be reported.

Dental procedures not included in CPT or HCPCS shall be coded using the Code on
Dental Procedures and Nomenclature (CDT code) as published by the American Dental
Association.

Inpatient services shall be coded using the same codes, formats, and details that are
required for billing for hospital inpatient services by the Medicare program as required by
Minnesota Statutes, section 176.1362, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

B. The codes for services in parts 5221.4030 to 5221.4070 may be submitted
with two-digit or two-letter suffixes called "modifiers" as defined in part 5221.0100, subpart
10a. Except as otherwise specifically provided in parts 5221.4005 to 5221.4070, the use of
a modifier does not change the maximum fee to be calculated according to part 5221.4020.
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C. Provider group designation.

(1) General. The provision of services by all health care providers is limited
and governed by each provider's scope of practice as stated in the applicable statute. A
provider shall not perform a service that is outside the provider's scope of practice, nor
shall a provider use a procedure code for a service that is outside the provider's scope
of practice. Services delivered at the direction and under the supervision of a licensed
health care provider listed in this item are considered incident to the services of the licensed
provider and are coded as though provided directly by the licensed provider. Services
delivered by support staff such as aides, assistants, or other unlicensed providers are incident
to the services of a licensed provider only if the licensed provider directly responsible for
the unlicensed provider is on the premises at the time the service is rendered. Hospital
charges are governed by part 5221.0500, subpart 2, items C and D.

(2) Medical and surgical services. Procedure codes for medical and surgical
services and supplies are listed in part 5221.4030. These include services delivered by the
following types of providers or services provided incident to the services of the following
types of providers: medical physicians, surgeons, osteopathic physicians, podiatrists,
dentists, oral and maxillofacial surgeons, optometrists, opticians, speech pathologists,
licensed psychologists, social workers, nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, and
physician assistants.

(3) Pathology and laboratory services. Procedure codes for services and
supplies provided by a pathologist or by a technician under the supervision of a physician
are listed in part 5221.4040.

(4) Physical medicine and rehabilitation services. Procedure codes for
services and supplies provided by a physician, an osteopathic physician, a physical
therapist, an occupational therapist, a physical therapist assistant under the direction and
supervision of a physical therapist, or a certified occupational therapy assistant under the
direction and supervision of an occupational therapist, or provided incident to the services
of a physician, an osteopathic physician, a physical therapist, or an occupational therapist
are listed in part 5221.4050.

(5) Chiropractic services. Procedure codes for services and supplies
provided by a chiropractor or provided incident to a chiropractor's services are listed in
part 5221.4060.

(6) Pharmacy services. Procedure codes for drugs dispensed pursuant to the
order of a health care provider, are described in part 5221.4070.

Subp. 4. Cooperation with payer. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.138,
providers shall comply within seven working days with payers' proper written requests for
copies of existing medical data concerning the services provided, the patient's condition, the
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plan of treatment, and other issues pertaining to the payer's determination of compensability
or excessiveness.

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 18 SR 1472]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.38; 14.386; 14.388; 175.171; 176.101; 176.135;
176.1351; 176.136; 176.231; 176.83

History: 9 SR 601; 13 SR 2609; 18 SR 1472; 25 SR 1142; 30 SR 1053; 38 SR 306; L
2014 c 291 art 4 s 58; 41 SR 1127
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