## 5220.2740 FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY MEDICAL CHARGES; PENALTY.

- Subpart 1. **Basis.** Under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 6a, a penalty may be assessed where payment or denial of medical charges is not made in a timely manner as provided in part 5221.0600 and Minnesota Statutes, section 176.135.
- Subp. 2. **Amount.** Under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3a, a penalty of up to \$2,000 shall be assessed as follows:
  - A. one to 15 days late, \$500;
  - B. 16 to 30 days late, \$1,000;
  - C. 31 to 60 days late, \$1,500; and
  - D. over 60 days late, \$2,000.
  - Subp. 3. [Repealed, 18 SR 2546]
- Subp. 4. **Payable to.** Penalties assessed under this part are payable to the commissioner for deposit in the assigned risk safety account.
- Subp. 5. **Interest.** Interest on the sums owed under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 8, is payable to the health care provider.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 14.388; 175.17; 175.171; 176.129; 176.138; 176.221; 176.225; 176.231; 176.238; 176.83; 176.84

**History:** 11 SR 1530; 18 SR 2546; 23 SR 1484; 35 SR 2015

Published Electronically: July 6, 2011