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4880.1500 SCOPE.
Parts 4880.1500 to 4880.2800 govern licensing of private career schools.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; L 1999c 214 art3 s 1; 24 SR 1289
Published Electronically: June 11, 2008

4880.1600 CONTRACTS BY UNLICENSED SCHOOLS.

When a contract with a student is deemed unenforceable pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.822, subdivision 2, a school must refund all tuition, fees, and other charges received from
the student or prospective student within 30 days of written notification from the Minnesota Office
of Higher Education.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; L 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60; L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.1700 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. Name of school. The title or name of the school as it appears on the application
for licensure must be used in all advertising, catalogs, brochures, contracts, letterheads, electronic
display, and any other written materials or oral presentations made in Minnesota by school
representatives.

Subp. 2. Schools at more than one location. Schools offering programs at more than one
location must provide all information required under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.822,
subdivision 4, for each school location, on forms provided by the office. If this information is the
same for each location, the school must clearly indicate that on the forms.

Subp. 3. Instructor and program administrator qualifications. The school must provide
the office with each instructor's name and academic degrees earned, applicable education and
experience as specified in part 4880.1900, and courses each instructor teaches.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
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3 MINNESOTA RULES 4880.1700

Subp. 4. Program. A program is a course or a grouping of courses that is advertised or listed
in the school's catalog, brochures, electronic display, or other publications, or for which the school
grants a diploma, certificate, or other formal recognition that does not confer a degree. A program
is the same as a "course of instruction." For each program, the school must provide the following

information:
A. title of program and formal recognition awarded;
geographic location;
. proposed implementation date;
. length of program in quarter or semester credits, lessons, or clock hours;

. number of graduates expected annually;

o m Y 0w

curriculum required to complete the program, including:

(1) outline of each course and its objectives, subjects, and units;

(2) type of work or skill to be learned; and

(3) approximate time, hours, or credits to be spent on each subject or unit;
G. employment opportunities for graduates;
H. physical resources that will be provided by the school;
I. physical resources that students need to provide for themselves;

J. information services that will be provided by the school;

K. academic and administrative mechanisms for monitoring the quality of the program,;
and

L. documentation of availability, location, and supervision of clinical, internship, practicum,
or externship sites, if applicable.

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 24 SR 1289]

Subp. 6. Changes after issuance of license. If a change occurs in any of the information
required by Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.822, subdivision 4, during the licensure year, the
school must inform the office within 30 days of the change.

Subp. 7. Change of ownership. Within 30 days of a change in ownership or control, a school
must submit a licensure renewal application with the appropriate fee to the office.

Subp. 8. New program. Prior to implementation of a new program, a school must submit the
information required under subpart 4 to the office. The office must notify the school no later than
60 days after receipt of the required information whether the proposed new program meets the
standards specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.822, subdivision 8, clause (3), and whether
the proposed new program can be added to the list of programs offered by the school.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
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Statutory Authority: MSs 14.388; 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289, 34 SR 1137, L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.1800 STANDARDS FOR SCHOOL FACILITIES AND STUDENT HOUSING.

Subpart 1. Sanitation and safety. The premises and conditions under which students work
and study and the living quarters that are owned or approved for student housing by a school must
meet the sanitation and safety requirements of all local and state regulating agencies.

Subp. 2. Inspection reports. Copies of inspection reports by the local fire department or the
state fire marshal must be filed with the office.

Subp. 3. Clinical, internship, practicum, or externship sites. The school must obtain sites
for students to complete clinical, internship, practicum, or externship activities if required by the
program.

Subp. 4. Library and information services. The school must furnish library resources and
information services to support the educational programs it offers.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289
Published Electronically: June 11, 2008

4880.1900 STANDARDS FOR INSTRUCTORS.
All instructors must have:

A. recognized standing as a tradesperson or specialist supported by evidence from previous
employers, or the possession of a baccalaureate degree;

B. a high school diploma or its equivalent; and

C. three years of full-time, trade, or professional experience in the trade or specialty taught,
or successful completion of a college curriculum leading to a baccalaureate degree in that trade or
specialty, or a combination of experience and education in the trade or specialty equivalent to three
years of full-time experience.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289
Published Electronically: June 11, 2008

4880.2000 STANDARDS FOR OUT-OF-STATE SCHOOLS.

All requirements, regulations, or standards approved and adopted by the office, including
qualifications of instructors, are applicable to out-of-state schools required to be licensed pursuant
to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 141.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
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5 MINNESOTA RULES 4880.2200

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214
Published Electronically: June 11, 2008

4880.2100 CONTENTS OF CATALOG, BROCHURE, OR ELECTRONIC DISPLAY.

Subpart 1. Refund policy. The catalog, brochures, or electronic display of a school must state
the refund policy that includes the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.827.

Subp. 2. Clinical, internship, practicum, or externship sites. The school must have available
for review, by students and prospective students, a list of its current clinical, internship, practicum,
or externship sites for programs that require this experience for completion of a program.

Subp. 3. Supplementary information. If supplementary information is added to printed
medium, additional pages must be included as part of the catalog or brochures. The supplementary
page or pages must be clearly identified as affecting Minnesota students. If information on
supplementary pages contradicts the catalog or brochures, it must clearly indicate on these pages
that the supplementary information supersedes information contained elsewhere in the catalog or
brochures. Schools using electronic display must clearly indicate the changes that have occurred
since the most recent update of the display and indicate the date the changes occurred.

Subp. 4. Submitting changes. Ifa school proposes to change information required by Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.822, subdivision 10, that is contained in the school catalog, brochures, or
electronic display during the license year, the school must submit the revised catalog, brochures,
or electronic display to the office for review and approval prior to distribution to students or
prospective students. The office must notify the school, to let the school know whether the changes
have been approved, no later than 30 days after receipt of the submitted materials.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289, L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.2200 PLACEMENT.

Subpart 1. Standards. For each program, the majority of graduates seeking employment must
be able to secure at least entry level positions in the occupation for which they have been prepared,
or a related occupation.

Subp. 2. Report. A certified copy of the school's placement record of students who graduated
in the year prior to the year for which the license is to be issued must be filed with the office with
the licensure renewal application. In addition to the information specified in Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.822, subdivision 11, the report must include the complete mailing address of each
graduate's place of employment.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01
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4880.2200 MINNESOTA RULES 6

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289, L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.2300 SOLICITORS.

A school must not authorize a solicitor to engage in sales activities until the solicitor provides
evidence of a solicitor's permit. A person obtaining a solicitor's permit must be referred to orally
and in writing as a "solicitor" or "representative." A school must not refer to a solicitor as a
"counselor" or "registrar." A school may file a blanket surety bond to cover all of its solicitors
instead of the solicitor's bond specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.825, subdivision 3,
provided the amount of the blanket bond is not less than the amount specified in Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.825, multiplied by the number of solicitors employed by the school.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289; L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.2400 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR AVOCATIONAL SCHOOLS.

A school that promises, makes reference to, or advertises preparation for gainful employment
upon completion of one of its programs shall not be considered as engaged exclusively in the
teaching of purely avocational or recreational subjects under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.833,
clause (9), and shall be subject to licensure under parts 4880.1500 to 4880.2800.

Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01

History: 20 SR 2214; 24 SR 1289, L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.2500 [Repealed, L 2023 c 44 s 12]
Published Electronically: November 30, 2023

4880.2600 [Repealed, 34 SR 1137]
Published Electronically: February 25, 2010

4880.2700 SCHEDULE OF FINES.
Subpart 1. Penalties.

A. The office may assess any entity, which violates any provision of Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 141, an administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 for each day for each
violation. For purposes of this part, an "entity" is any natural person, board, partnership, association,
corporation, or other entity, however organized.

B. The office must inform the entity of the alleged violation by certified mail, return receipt
requested, prior to assessing an administrative penalty. This letter must specify the alleged violation,
the steps that must be taken to correct the violation, the penalty that will be assessed if the violation
1s not corrected, and the time frame in which the corrections must occur.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
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7 MINNESOTA RULES 4880.2700

C. If the entity does not respond to the office and make the required corrections in the
specified time frame, the office will send a second certified letter, return receipt requested, and
assess the penalty.

Subp. 2. Procedure. The total amount of an administrative penalty that is assessed must be
specified in the second letter and calculated according to this subpart.

A. The number of days that an entity is in violation is the difference between the day on
which the entity is notified, by receipt of certified letter, of its failure to correct the violation and
the day on which the office notifies the entity that the violation has been corrected.

B. The total amount of an administrative penalty is the product of the number of days that
an entity is in violation multiplied by the dollar amount per day penalty.

C. The office may assess an administrative penalty for each violation according to these
procedures whenever one or more violations exists. Payment of the administrative penalty shall be
due no later than seven business days after the receipt of the certified letter containing notice of
assessment. The total amount of an administrative penalty shall be calculated on the number of
days that the entity is in violation notwithstanding any appeals initiated by the entity. Failure to
pay an administrative penalty within 30 days of its due date shall result in revocation of the license
of the entity or denial of a license to an applicant.

Subp. 3. Penalty amounts. The office shall, for the purposes of determining and assessing an
administrative penalty, use the following classifications:

A. Class 1 violation, $500 per day:
(1) entity operating without a license;
(2) previously licensed school operating after expiration date of license;
(3) previously licensed school operating multiple locations without authorization; or
(4) previously licensed school operating without an adequate surety bond.
B. Class 2 violation by an existing school, $250 per day:

(1) failure to adhere to the refund policy stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.827,
as noted in an annual office audit report;

(2) failure to maintain student academic and financial aid record requirements as noted
in an annual office audit report;

(3) false statement about a material fact in application for initial or renewal license;

(4) failure to file annual financial report within 120 days of the end of the institution's
fiscal year unless such filing is not within the control of the institution; or

(5) failure to file new or renewal solicitor's permit application and to pay applicable
fee.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



4880.2700 MINNESOTA RULES 8

C. The assessment of an administrative penalty does not preclude the office from also
revoking a school's license or denying a license to an applicant.
Statutory Authority: MSs 1364.01
History: 24 SR 1289; L 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46
Published Electronically: August 17, 2015

4880.2800 [Repealed, 34 SR 1137]
Published Electronically: February 25, 2010
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