
2960.0460 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Staff qualifications. The qualifications in this part are in addition to the​
qualifications required under part 2960.0100, subpart 6.​

Subp. 2. [Repealed, L 2022 c 98 art 12 s 21]​

Subp. 3. Program director qualifications. The program director must know and understand​
the implications of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E and section​
626.557.​

Subp. 4. Alcohol and drug counselor supervisor qualifications. The personnel file of an​
alcohol and drug counselor supervisor must include documentation that the individual meets the​
criteria in items A to C.​

A. The individual is competent in the areas in subpart 6, and the competency is documented​
according to subpart 7.​

B. The individual has three or more years of experience providing individual and group​
counseling to chemically dependent residents.​

C. The individual knows and understands the implications of parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710​
and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E and section 626.557.​

Subp. 5. Alcohol and drug counselor qualifications. The personnel file of an alcohol and​
drug counselor must include:​

A. documentation that the individual is either licensed or exempt from licensure under​
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148F;​

B. documentation that the individual has had an additional 30 hours of classroom instruction​
in adolescent development; and​

C. documentation that the individual has had at least 150 hours of supervised experience​
as an adolescent alcohol and drug counselor, either as a student or as an employee.​

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 32 SR 2268]​

Subp. 6a. Individuals with temporary permit. An individual with a temporary permit from​
the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy may provide chemical dependency treatment services​
according to the conditions in either item A or B.​

A. The individual is supervised by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor assigned by the​
license holder. The licensed alcohol and drug counselor must document the amount and type of​
supervision at least weekly. The supervision must relate to clinical practices. One licensed alcohol​
and drug counselor may not supervise more than three individuals.​

B. The individual is supervised by a clinical supervisor approved by the Board of Behavioral​
Health and Therapy. The supervision must be documented and meet the requirements of Minnesota​
Statutes, section 148F.04, subdivision 4.​
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Subp. 7. Individuals exempt from licensure. For an alcohol and drug counselor exempt from​
licensure under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148F, the department must consider a counselor qualified​
according to subpart 5, item A, if:​

A. the individual has at least a baccalaureate degree including 480 hours of alcohol and​
drug education in which each of the core functions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 148F, is covered;​
and has successfully completed 880 hours of supervised experience as an alcohol and drug counselor,​
either as a student or as an employee;​

B. the individual has documented the successful completion of 270 clock hours of alcohol​
and drug counselor training, 60 hours of which have occurred within the last five years, including​
completion of 880 hours of supervised experience as an alcohol and drug counselor, either as a​
student or as an employee. The training must cover the core functions in Minnesota Statutes, chapter​
148F; or​

C. the individual is certified as a chemical dependency counselor or as a chemical​
dependency counselor reciprocal, through the evaluation process established by the Certification​
Reciprocity Consortium Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc., and published in the Case Presentation​
Method Trainers Manual, copyright 1993. This manual is incorporated by reference. It is available​
at the State Law Library, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, MN 55155. It is​
not subject to frequent change.​

Subp. 8. Overnight staff. The personnel file of overnight staff employed by a residential​
program must include documentation of the individual's competency in the areas in items A to D:​

A. knowledge of resident rights and staff responsibilities as outlined in parts 2960.0050​
and 2960.0150;​

B. knowledge of and ability to perform basic first aid procedures, including cardiopulmonary​
resuscitation and first aid for seizures, trauma, and fainting;​

C. crisis intervention techniques consistent with the program's protective procedures plan;​
and​

D. ability to notify the off-site, on-call supervisor regarding any unusual resident occurrences.​

Overnight staff may not admit, transfer, or discharge residents, but may serve as the person in​
charge of the facility required in part 2960.0150, subpart 3, item B.​

Subp. 9. Student interns. A qualified staff person must supervise and be responsible for all​
treatment services performed by student interns and must review and sign all assessments, progress​
notes, and treatment plans prepared by an intern. Student interns must receive the orientation and​
training required for permanent staff members.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 241.021; 245A.03; 245A.09; 254A.03; 254B.03; 254B.04; L 1995​
c 226 art 3 s 60; L 2022 c 98 art 12 s 20​

History: 28 SR 211; 32 SR 2268; 47 SR 741​
Published Electronically: May 16, 2023​
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