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CHAPTER 8031 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

INCOME AND FRANCHISE TAXES 
PARTNERSHIPS 

8031.0100 INCOME AND CREDITS OF PARTNER. 

8031.0100 INCOME AND CREDITS OF PARTNER. 

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 26 SR 435] 

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 26 SR 435] 

Subp. 3. Gross income of a partner. Where it is necessary to determine the amount or 
character of the gross income of a partner, gross income shall include the partner's distribu­
tive share of the partnership, that is, the amount of gross income of the partnership from 
which was derived the partner's distributive share of partnership taxable income or loss (in­
cluding items described in Minnesota Statutes, section 290.31, subdivision 2, clause (1), (a) 
to (f)). For example, a partner is required to include the partner's distributive share of partner­
ship gross income: 

A. in computing gross income for the purpose of determining the necessity of fil­
ing a return (Minnesota Statutes, section 290.37); 

B. in determining the application of the provision permitting the spreading of in­
come for services rendered over a 36-month period (Minnesota Statutes, section 290.071, 
subdivision 2); and 

C. in determining a partner's "gross income from farming" (Minnesota Statutes, 
section 290.09, subdivision 21). 

In determining the applicability of the 6-1/2 year period of limitation on assessment and 
collection provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 290.49, subdivision 3 (relating to omis­
sion of more than 25 percent of gross income), a partner's gross income includes the partner's 
distributive share of partnership gross income. In this respect, the amount of partnership 
gross income from which was derived the partner's distributive share of any item of partner­
ship income, gain, loss, deduction, or credit (as included or disclosed in the partner's return) 
is considered as an amount of gross income stated in the partner's return for the purposes of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 290.49, subdivision 3. For example, A, who is entitled to one-
fourth of the profits of the ABCD partnership, which has $10,000 gross income and $2,000 
taxable income, reports only $300 as A's distributive share of partnership profits. A should 
have shown $500 as A's distributive share of profits, which amount was derived from $2,500 
of partnership gross income. However, since A included only $300 on the return without ex­
plaining in the return the difference of $200, A is regarded as having stated in the return only 
$1,500 ($300/$500 of $2,500) as gross income from the partnership. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 270.06; 270C.06; 290.52 

History: 17 SR 1279; 26 SR 435; L 2005 c 151 art 1 s 114 

8031.0200 [Repealed, L 1987 c 268 art 1 s 128] 

8031.0300 [Repealed, 26 SR 435] 

8031.0400 [Repealed, L 1987 c 268 art 1 s 128] 
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