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Subp. 2. Age. “Age,” as it applies to distilled spirits, means the period during
which, after distillations and before bottling, distilled spirits have been kept in new or
used oak containers, as provided for by federal regulations.

Subp. 3. Alcoholic beverages. “Alcoholic beverages” shall mean and include ethyl
alcohol, spirits, liquor, wine, beer, and every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing
alcohol, spirits, wine, or beer in excess of 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight and potable
for consumption by human beings.

Subp. 4. Beer. “Beer” as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations and parts
7515.1000 to 7515.1120 means malt beverages or malt liquors.

Subp. 5. Brand label. “Brand label” means the label affixed to the container
displaying in distinctive design the brand name of distilled spirits, wines, or malt
beverages. See Minnesota Statutes, section 340.46, and parts 7515.0800 to 7515.0870.

Subp. 6. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of public safety
or a duly appointed delegate.

Subp. 7. Container and original container. “Container” and “original container”
have the following meanings depending upon the context in which used:

A. For distilled spirits and wine they mean bottles, or such metal containers as
may be in conformity with federal regulations and approved by the commissioner.

B. For malt beverages they mean full or fractional barrels, cases of bottles,
individual bottles as each may be designated as a unit, see, Minnesota Statutes, section
340A.101, subdivision 22, or any container which is sealed.

C. “Barrel,” as it applies to malt beverages, means any container holding 31
gallons. All other measures used are subdivisions of the barrel as so defined.

D. “Gallon” means United States gallon of 231 cubic inches of alcoholic
beverages at 68 degrees Fahrenheit (20 degrees Celsius), which is equal to 128 fluid
ounces. All other liquid measures used are subdivisions of the gallon as so defined.

Subp. 8. Department. “Department” means the Minnesota Department of Public
Safety, Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division.

Subp. 9. Distilled spirits. “Distilled spirits,” as defined in the Code of Federal
Regulations and parts 7515.1000 to 7515.1120 means distilled spirits and intoxicating
liquors in which the alcoholic contents are produced principally by distillation process.

Subp. 10. Importer. “Importer” means any distiller, rectifier, winer, wholesale
distributor, or person within or without the state licensed to ship distilled spirits, wine,
or ethyl alcohol to Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale distributors.

Subp. 11. Licensee. “Licensee,” depending on the context, may mean any person
who has been issued a license by the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, to manufacture or wholesale, or sell at
retail intoxicating liquor or to engage in the business of brewer, wholesale distributor,
or retail seller of malt beverages.

Subp. 12. Licensed premises. “Licensed premises” means only the area described
in the application for such license.

Subp. 13. Office or this office. “Office™ or “this office™ means the office of the
Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division.

Subp. 14. Place of business. “Place of business” includes any public business
establishment or private club where intoxicating liquor, 3.2 percent malt liquor, or soft
drinks are sold, or which permits the display and consumption of intoxicating liquor, as
provided for in Minnesota Statutes, section 340.119.

Subp. 15. Wine. “Wine” means wine as defined in the Code of Federal Regula-
tions and parts 7515.1000 to 7515.1120.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: L 1985 c 305 art 3s 1; 17 SR 1279; L 1991 ¢ 249 s 31; L 1997 ¢ 129 art 2 s
15
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LICENSE AND PERMIT FEES

7515.0200 PERMITS AND FEES.

Application forms for licenses or permits required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter
340A shall be furnished by the commissioner upon request. The commissioner shall not
issue any such license or permit unless the applicant therefor has paid the appropriate
license and permit fees required by Minnesota law and, if required, has filed a
corporate surety bond.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: L 1985 ¢ 305

7515.0210 REGULATORY PERMITS AND FEES.

Subpart 1. General. Any person engaged in the purchase, sale, or use for any
purpose other than personal consumption of intoxicating alcoholic beverages or ethyl
alcohol, shall obtain the appropriate regulatory permit and identification card from the
commissioner as provided in this part. The fee for each permit, other than one issued
to a state or federal agency, is 520 and shall be submitted together with the appropriate
application form provided by the commissioner. Identification cards and permits shall
be issued for a period coinciding with that of the appropriate state or municipal license
and are not transferable. In instances where there is no annual license period, cards
and permits shall expire one year after the date of issuance. The authority to engage in
the purchase, sale, or use’ granted by the card or permit may be revoked by the
commissioner upon evidence of a violation by the holder of such a card or permit of
any of the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, or any rule of the
commissioner made pursuant to law.

Subp. 1a. Expiration dates coordinated. In order to coordinate the expiration date
of permits and cards with that of the appropriate state or municipal license, permits
and cards issued in January 1985 in conjunction with state or municipal licenses
expiring prior to July 1, 1985, shall be issued for a term extending until the expiration
date of the license in 1986. Permits and cards issued in January 1985 in conjunction
with state or municipal licenses expiring after June 30, 1985, shall be issued for a term
extending until the expiration date of the license in 1985. The fee for cards and permits
issued during January 1985 for periods of more or less than one year shall be prorated
at $1 per month. Subsequent renewals shall be for a 12-month period.

Subp. 2. Representatives’ identification cards required. Any distiller, rectifier,
winer, or wholesale distributor having one or more assigned representatives in the state
of Minnesota shall for each representative so assigned apply to the commissioner on
form No. 46 for a representative’s card. A distiller or winer representative, except as
provided in subpart 3 shall not, directly or indirectly, take orders from retail licensees
or give any financial inducement to any wholesaler’s salesperson to promote the sale to
a retailer of any alcoholic beverage.

Subp. 3. Retailer’s or pharmacist’s identification card. Any on-sale or off-sale
liquor dealer or any purchasing agent of any municipal liquor store or any pharmacist
or druggist holding permits issued by the commissioner to sell medicinal liquors on
prescription shall apply to the commissioner on form No. 84 for a permit to purchase
distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages containing more than 3.2 percent of alcohol by
weight from any manufacturer or wholesale distributor or any agent or representative
thereof. Such identification cards shall be presented to the manufacturer or wholesale
distributor or the agent or representative thereof when ordering distilled spirits, wine,
or malt beverages. Manufacturers or wholesale distributors or any agent or representa-
tive thereof shall not sell distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages having alcoholic
contents as described in this subpart to any licensee, permit holder, or purchasing agent
of a municipal liquor store unless such person presents a retailer’s or pharmacist’s
identification card issued by the commissioner for the current year.

Subp. 4. Salesperson’s identification card. Minnesota manufacturers, brewers,
winers, and wholesale distributors shall for each employee acting in the capacity of a
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salesperson or agent apply to the commissioner on form No. 80 for a salesperson’s
identification card, which card shall be the authority for such employee to solicit orders
from licensed retail dealers, permit holders, or municipal liquor stores. Salesperson’s
identification cards shall not be issued to retail licensees, managers of clubs, municipal
liquor store employees, or persons engaged in the sale of alcoholic beverages at retail
in the regular course of their employment.

Subp. 5. State or federal agency permits. Permits for state or federal agencies shall
be issued without charge.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02
History: 8 SR 2478; L 1985 ¢ 305; 17 SR 400; 17 SR 1279

7515.0220 PERMIT EXPIRATION DATES.

The following permits shall expire one year from date of issuance:

A. Doctor’s alcohol permit. Any physician, dentist, or veterinarian requiring
ethyl alcohol in connection with their profession shall apply to the commissioner on
form no. 44 for a permit to purchase ethyl alcohol.

B. Food manufacturer’s permit. Any manufacturer of food products requiring
intoxicating liquors in connection with such manufacture shall apply to the commission-
er on form no. 76 for a permit to purchase, possess, and use intoxicating liquors.

C. Hospital or sanatorium permit. Any hospital or sanatorium requiring
medicinal liquors or ethyl alcohol to administer to patients on physician’s prescription
shall apply to the commissioner on form no. 47 for a permit authorizing the purchase
thereof.

D. Pharmacist or druggist purchase alcohol permit. Any pharmacist or drug-
gist requiring ethyl alcohol for the compounding of medicine shall apply to the
commissioner on form no. 60 for a permit to purchase, use, and possess ethyl alcohol.

E. Purchase alcohol permit. Any person engaged in the manufacture of
medicinal, pharmaceutical. antiseptic. flavoring extract. syrup, food. scientific. chemical,
mechanical. or industrial products. which are unfit for beverage use. or any municipal,
county, or state agency, or any university, college, or laboratory used exclusively for
scientific research, or any hospital or sanatorium using ethyl alcohol in connection with
manufacture or research shall apply to the commissioner on form no. 81 for a permit to
purchase ethy! alcohol.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

MANUFACTURERS, WHOLESALE DISTRIBUTORS, AND IMPORTERS;
DUTIES AND RESTRICTIONS

7515.0300 DUTIES AND RESTRICTIONS.

Subpart 1. In general. The duties and restrictions upon each manufacturer and
wholesale distributor are as follows.

Subp. 2. Sales to retailers. Manufacturers and wholesalers shall not sell at retail
except in accordance with the privileges granted to breweries by Minnesota Statutes,
section 340A.301, subdivision 8. Manufacturers and wholesalers and their respective
employees shall not sell or deliver alcoholic beverages to any person, club, or business
establishment unless the purchaser is licensed or authorized to sell the respective
beverages at retail. A sale to an unlicensed retailer shall be a violation subject to
penalties provided by law or rules.

Subp. 3. Written invoices. Manufacturers and wholesalers shall furnish a written
invoice to each retailer for the alcoholic beverages sold and delivered to said retailers.
The invoice shall clearly identify seller and purchaser, date, quantity, and brand names
of products sold and the prices. When there are joint purchases as provided for in
Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.312, manufacturers and wholesalers shall, in addition
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to the above, itemize on the invoice each such retailer purchasing jointly or, in lieu
thereof, shall invoice joint purchases to each retailer separately.

Subp. 4. Malt beverage invoices. All brewery and wholesalers’ invoices of sale for
malt beverages containing moré than 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight shall have affixed
thereto the signature of the retail dealer purchasing said beverages and also the
number of the retailer’s identification card issued by the commissioner for the current
year. In addition thereto, such sales invoices shall designate the date of sale, the
quantity sold, and the brand names. The failure of producers or wholesale distributors
to comply with the provisions of this subpart shall be deemed a violation.

Subp. 5. Financial interest forbidden. No manufacturer or wholesale distributor
shall directly or indirectly or through any affiliate require by agreement or induce any
licensed retail dealer to purchase intoxicating liquor from themselves to the exclusion
in whole or in part of other manufacturers or wholesale distributors if the direct effect
from such agreement or inducement is to prevent, hinder, or restrict any other
manufacturer or wholesale distributor from selling or offering for sale intoxicating
liquor to any such licensed retail dealer. Manufacturers and wholesalers in respect to
retail dealers are forbidden:

A. to acquire or hold any direct or indirect interest in any retail license or
proprietory interest in the business of a retail dealer;

B. to acquire any interest in real or personal property owned, occupied! or
used by any retail dealer in the conduct of business;

C. to furnish, give, rent, lend, or sell to a retail dealer any equipment, fixtures,
supplies, money, service, or other thing of value, except to the extent permitted by
statute;

D. to pay or credit a retail dealer for any retailer’s advertising, display, or
distributing service, except to the extent permitted by statute;

E. to guarantee any loan or repayment of any financial obligation of the retail
dealer;

F. to extend a retail dealer credit for a period in excess of the credit period
usual and customary in the industry or in excess of the credit period permitted by law;

G. to require the retail dealer to purchase and sell a specified quantity of any
such products;

H. to offer or pay a commercial bribe;

I. 1o offer or make any gifts or to pay compensation to any proprietor, officer,
employee, or representative of a retail store;

J. to coerce a retailer through threat of criminal prosecution, license discipline
or denial; or

K. to sell, offer to sell, or contract to sell any licensed retail dealer any
intoxicating liquor on consignment or under conditional sale or with the privilege of
return on any basis otherwise than a bona fide sale. This item shall not apply to
transactions involving solely the bona fide return of the product for ordinary and usual
commercial reasons arising after the product has been sold.

Subp. 6. Gifts forbidden. No manufacturer, importer, or wholesale distributor of
distilled spirits, wines, or malt beverages containing more than 3.2 percent of alcohol by
weight, shall, directly or indirectly, or through any officer, agent, or employee, offer or
grant discounts, rebates, free goods, allowances, or other concessions in wholesale
prices unless the same terms are offered uniformly to each retailer in the wholesaler’s
or manufacturer’s trade territory at the same time and for the same period, and any
and all such discounts, rebates, free goods, allowances, or other concessions made
because of quantity purchases or for any other reason shall be specifically noted on the
invoice of each and every retailer to whom such concessions are granted.

Subp. 7. Sales discrimination forbidden. Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale
distributors shall not discriminate in the sale of their products to retail dealers except
that manufacturers or wholesale distributors may refuse to sell intoxicating liquor or 3.2
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percent malt liquor to a retail dealer who may have violated any law, rule, or municipal
ordinance relating to the sale of such liquor at retail, or who has breached a contract
for sale with the manufacturer or wholesaler. Upon notice from the commissioner,
manufacturers and wholesale distributors shall not sell intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent
malt liquor to any on-sale or off-sale licensee who refuses to sell or serve alcoholic
beverages to any person because of race, color, national origin, or who discriminates in
the selection of its membership on the basis of race, color, or national origin.

Subp. 8. Peddling forbidden. No manufacturer or wholesale distributor of distilled
spirits and wine or their employees shall transport such products in vehicles for the
purpose of soliciting orders from retail dealers and filling such orders from stocks
transported in such vehicles.

Subp. 9. Container limitation. No manufacturer or wholesale distributor shall sell
distilled spirits to retailers in containers holding more than 64 ounces nor less than
eight ounces, or their metric equivalents, except wine may be sold in containers holding
1/20 gallon (6-2/5 oz.), or its metric equivalent, to on-sale and off-sale licensees.

Miniature containers shall be sold only to licensed common carriers for dining
facilities, licensees who have approved dispensing devices, and pharmacists having a
permit to sell medicinal liquors on prescription for dispensing to patients in hospitals
and nursing homes.

No containers of distilled spirits holding less than one-fifth of a gallon, or 750
milliliters, shall be sold to retail on-sale dealers.

Still wines shall be sold by Minnesota manufacturers and wholesalers to retail
liquor dealers only in case lots. The cases shall be filled with wines of only one tax
class, that is, wines of 14 percent or less of alcohol by volume shall not be combined in
a case with wines of more than 14 percent of alcohol by volume.

Subp. 10. Sale or delivery prohibited in certain municipalities. No manufacturer
or wholesale distributor shall sell or deliver distilled spirits, wine, ethyl alcohol, or
intoxicating malt beverages in any municipality prohibiting the sale thereof. However,
intoxicating liquors and ethyl alcohol may be sold in such municipalities to persons who
are holders of permits to sell such products for industrial or medicinal purposes, or for
sacramental use.

Subp. 11. Transfer of business license. Any manufacturer, wholesale distributor, or
brewer may transfer a business and license with the approval of the commissioner.
When contemplating transfer, the licensee shall submit the license to the commissioner
and all permits issued in connection therewith, together with a complete notarized
inventory of alcoholic beverages on hand, giving the brand names, the size and number
of containers. The request for transfer shall be accompanied by the license application
and bond of the proposed purchaser.

Note: Any application for transfer of a license shall be accompanied by a transfer
fee of S10.

Subp. 12. Branch establishments. Manufacturers and wholesale distributors of
distilled spirits, wine, and malt beverages licensed by the commissioner may maintain
branch establishments provided that such establishments are directly owned and
managed by said manufacturers and wholesale distributors, and that all employees of
such establishments are paid only fixed salaries and/or commissions. No branch license
shall be granted to holders of wholesale 3.2 percent malt liquor licenses.

Subp. 13. Withdrawal of distilled spirits and wine. No persons employed by
importers, distillers, rectifiers, winers, Minnesota licensed manufacturers or wholesalers
shall withdraw distilled spirits or wine from the premises of manufacturers or wholesal-
ers unless such requisition has been approved by the commissioner on a form
prescribed by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305 art 55 1,12; 17 SR 1279; L 1991 ¢ 249 s 31
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7515.0310 DUTIES AND RESTRICTIONS ON FILING OF WHOLESALE PRICE
SCHEDULES AND AMENDMENTS.

Subpart 1. General requirement. No brand owner or wholesaler of distilled liquor
or wine shall sell, offer for sale, or solicit any order for distilled liquor or wine unless a
schedule of wholesale prices for all distilled liquor and wine offered for sale by the
brand owner or wholesaler is filed with the department, in such form as the department
shall prescribe. No sale shall be made except in accordance with such price schedules.

Subp. 2. Deadline for filing. All wholesale price schedules shall be filed with the
department not later than the first day of each month, and shall be effective from the
first day of that month until the first day of the next month, provided that any filing
may be amended within five business days after the first day of the month.

Subp. 3. Required form and contents. All price schedules must be filed on form PS
9024 or in such other format which must be approved by the commissioner in advance
of filing. All price schedules must indicate the one-case wholesale price of each brand
of distilled liquor or wine being offered to retail licensees, together with all allowances,
discounts (including varying volume discounts), or terms of any nature (including
promptness of payment terms) which affect the wholesale price of such distilled liquor
or wine to the retailer in any manner.

Subp. 4. Restrictions on amended prices. Any brand owner or wholesaler who
elects to file amended prices during the five-day period as provided for in subpart 2
may not file a new price that is lower than the lowest net price filed on the first of the
month for the same or similar product by any wholesaler. For the purposes of this part,
“net price” shall mean the wholesale price, including all allowances, discounts (includ-
ing varying volume discounts), or terms of any nature (including promptness of
payment terms) which affect the wholesale price in any manner. A credit term filed to
meet competition may not be filed on a basis more favorable than the terms or the
competitive schedule or reduce the net price of the brand, type, or size container below
the net price of the competitive schedule for the same quantity.

Subp. 5. Effective date of prices. All price schedules and amendments thereto shall
be effective upon receipt by the department.

Subp. 6. Understandable and enforceable. All wholesale price schedules and
amendments thereto must be understandable and enforceable by the department. If the
department finds any such filing or amendment to be not understandable or not
enforceable, or contrary to any statute or rule, it shall be rejected, setting forth the
reason for such rejection.

Subp. 7..Brands filed must be in stock or on order. No wholesale price schedule or
amendment thereto shall list brands of distilled liquor or wine which are not in stock or
on accepted order at the time such schedule is filed with the department.

Subp. 8. Retailers. For purposes of this part, purchasers who are licensed as
common carriers and military units qualified as government instrumentalities are not to
be deemed “retailers.”

Subp. 9. No prices below cost. No wholesaler of distilled spirits or wine shall file a
wholesale price schedule or an amendment on which is shown a selling price per case
at less than the cost thereof to such wholesaler. Cost shall include f.o.b. (freight on
board) price from importer, freight, state and federal taxes, and duty on imported
merchandise. '

Subp. 10. Amendments to meet competitor’s prices. An amended wholesale price
schedule may be filed at below the wholesaler’s cost when such prices are filed to meet,
in good faith, prices filed with the department on similar distilled spirits and wine by a
competing wholesaler.

Subp. 11. Mixed cases; quantity discounts. Wine or other commodities may not be
offered on original or assorted cases with distilled spirits or vice versa, and any quantity
discount may not exceed 300 bottles of quarts or smaller bottles, or the equivalent of
any authorized standard of fill not to exceed 25 cases.
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Subp. 12. Equal information to retailers. Any filing licensee who publishes, mails,
delivers. distributes, advertises, or in any other way directly or indirectly disseminates
written price information for distilled spirits and/or wine on its wholesale price
schedule or amendments thereto, shall, in any such material, include all such allow-
ances, discounts, or terms, and shall disseminate such information to all retailers served
by it.

Subp. 13. Distribution of complete schedule. The publication, mailing, or deliver-
ing of any written material containing less than all of the wholesale price schedule
posted for any brand by a filing licensee shall be deemed a violation of this part.

Subp. 14. Publication of schedules. The publication of all wholesale price sched-
ules filed with the department by a filing licensee, on or before the effective date
thereof, in any trade journal or industry price book of general circulation among
retailers, shall be deemed sufficient compliance with the provisions of subparts 12 and
13.

Subp. 15. Filing for new brands. Any brand owner or wholesaler may at any time
file with the department written price schedules showing the one-case price together
with all allowances, discounts (including varying volume discounts), or terms of any
nature (including promptness of payment terms) offered on any new brand being
introduced into the state, to become effective immediately.

Subp. 16. Filing deadlines and nonbusiness days. Whenever the first day of the
month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the distilled spirits and wine
schedules required to be filed with the department shall be received by the department
not later than the close of the next business day; however, the next month’s filing will
be filed on schedule as provided for by statute and rules.

Subp. 17. Changes to reflect tax change. Pursuant to an order issued by the
department any price filings may be changed at any time to reflect changes in federal
or state excise taxes on distilled spirits and wine, or to comply with the requirements of
any order issued by the federal government relating to price control.

Subp. 18. Shipment to retailer. All brand owners and wholesalers shall ship every
sale to a retailer, whether such sales are individual or joint sales, in the full amount at
one time during the month of that sale.

Subp. 19. Permission to close out brand. Any brand owner or wholesaler who
desires to close out a brand or type of distilled spirits or wine below the cost for such
products, shall apply to the commissioner to do so. Permission will be granted at the
discretion of the commissioner, when the merchandise has been owned and possessed
for a period of at least six months. All such authorized closeouts shall be so noted as
closeouts on the filed wholesale price schedule. Any brand owner or wholesaler who
closes out a brand or type of spirits or wine may not restock such product for a period
of 12 months.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299.4.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.0320 SALES TO WHOLESALERS AND MANUFACTURERS.

Subpart 1. Offers for sale. All importers, including manufacturers and wholesalers
licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, are required to offer for sale to
all Minnesota wholesalers and manufacturers all intoxicating liquor (except wines and
malt beverages) brought into Minnesota. If such intoxicating liquor is further distilled,
refined, rectified, blended, bottled, labeled, or prepared in any manner subsequent to
its importation into Minnesota, such importers are required to offer for sale to all
Minnesota wholesalers and manufacturers the finished product. All such offers shall be
made on an equal basis to all such wholesalers and manufacturers.

Subp. 2. Price list. No importer shall offer any intoxicating liquor for sale to any
Minnesota wholesaler or manufacturer without first filing with the department and
mailing a copy of such itemized price list to all Minnesota manufacturers and
wholesalers, on a form approved by the commissioner, an itemized list specifying the
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price, brand, type, container size, proof, and age of the liquor so offered. These prices
must be filed on the first day of the month and shall become effective on the first day
of the next calendar month and shall remain in effect until changed by a subsequent
price filing which shall take effect in like manner.

Subp. 3. Price restrictions. All prices filed shall be the lowest prices, as contem-
plated by Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.307, subdivision 3, at which such liquor is
contemporaneously being sold by such importer in any other state or in the District of
Columbia. All such liquor shall be offered for sale to all Minnesota wholesalers and
manufacturers on an equal basis, and at the applicable filed price.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: L 1985c 305art5s 7

RETAIL LICENSES, LICENSEES, BUSINESS COMBINATIONS,
DUTIES OF MUNICIPAL CLERKS

7515.0400 MUNICIPAL RETAIL LICENSES.

Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.401 to 340A.416 provide that on-sale and off- -
sale retail liquor licenses shall be granted by the local municipal governing body upon
-verified, written application of the proposed licensee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: L 1985 ¢ 305 art 6 s 1to 16

7515.0410 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

An applicant for a retail liquor license shall meet all of the following requirements
of eligibility: )

A. The applicant shall be a citizen of the United States.

B. The applicant shall be over 18 years of age.

C. The applicant shall have good moral character and reputation.

D. The applicant shall not have been convicted within five years prior to the
application of such license of any willful violating of law relating to the manufacture,
sale, or possession for sale of intoxicating liquor.

E. Neither the licensee or anyone interested in the business shall have had an
interest in a license which was revoked within the last five years for a willful violation
of any such laws or ordinances.

F. The licensee and anyone with an interest in the business shall not have any
interest, direct or indirect, in another retail liquor store in the same municipality
neither as proprietor, partner, or corporate stockholder.

G. The licensee cannot lease the business premises from anyone to whom no
license could be issued, such as someone convicted of a willful violation of the Liquor
Control Act.

H. No applicant shall refuse to serve alcoholic beverages to any person
because of race, color, or national origin, and no applicant shall discriminate in the
selection of its membership on the basis of race, color, or national origin.

The licensee may lease from a minor, a noncitizen, or one convicted for a crime
other than liquor offense, or a manufacturer or wholesaler who has been a bona fide
owner of the premises since before November 1, 1933, as provided by Minnesota
Statutes, section 340A.301, subdivision 7.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

History: L 1985 ¢ 305 art 55 1; 17 SR 1279

7515.0420 LIMITED NUMBER GRANTED.

Retail liquor licenses shall be granted only in number and combination with other
business prescribed in the statute as follows: (Clubs not limited in number)
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A. On-sale retail liquor licenses:

First Class

Cities
Minneapolis
St. Paul
Duluth

Second Class
Cities

Third Class
Cities and
Villages

Fourth Class
Cities
and Boroughs

Villages

Population Last
Federal Census

Over 100,000

Over 20,000 but
not over 100,000

Over 10,000 but
not over 20,000

Under 10,000
5,000 to 10,000
2,500 to 5,000

500 to 2,500
under 500

Maximum
Number

200
200
71

18

(Plus 1
license
for 2,500
pop. after
45,000)

12

5
4
3

LIQUOR 7515.0420

Combination
Business

Hotels,
Restaurants, or
Exclusive Liquor

Hotels, Clubs,
Restaurants, or
Exclusive Liquor

Hotels, Clubs,

Restaurants, or

Exclusive Liquors
"

"

”

The above summary of the statute is subject to several acts which have local

application, as noted in the text of the statute.

B. Off-sale retail liquor licenses:

First Class

Cities
Minneapolis
St. Paul
Duluth

Second Class
Cities

Third Class
Cities and
Villages

Population
Last Federal
Census

(1 for 5,000)

20,000 but
not over
100,000

over 10,000
but not over
20,000

Maximum
Maximum  Combination License
Number Business Fee
104 Drug Stores $250 -- not
62 General Food, including
20 Exclusive occupa-
Liquor (Off) tional tax
Discre- Drug Stores $200
tionary Exclusive
with Liquor (Off)
Council
n ” 5200
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Fourth Class Under 10,000 " Drug Stores, $150
Cities, but not less Exclusive
Villages and than 5,000 Liquors
Boroughs
g 2,500 to 5,000 ! " $100
" 500 to 2,500 " " $100
" Under 500 " " $100

C. On-sale retail liquor licenses:

Counties Regardless of Rural 3 licenses Restaurants
Population Plus 1 seating a
additional license for minimum of
each 2,000 population or 100

major fraction thereof.

D. Spiit liquor on-sale liquor licenses:

Municipalities Population Last Maximum Combination
operating retail Federal Census Number Business
liquor stores

who have

authorized by vote Hotels and
Split Liquor Over 10,000 Pop. 6 Restaurants
Cities, Villages, 5,000 to 10,000 Pop. 4 "

and Boroughs Under 5,000 Pop. 3 !

If the maximum number of on-sale licenses are issued as above stated, then
municipal off-sale must be discontinued.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0430 ON-SALE APPLICATIONS.

Subpart 1. Filing application and bond. Applicants for on-sale retail liquor licenses
shall file a written, verified application with all questions fully answered with the
municipal clerk or county auditor. They shall also file a bond as required by statutes.
Forms shall be furnished by the municipal clerk or county auditor.

Subp. 2. Description of premises. The retail licenses for sale of alcoholic beverages
which the municipality may issue shall contain a specific description of the premises to
which the license applies. The description shall be stated as numbered street address or
the description of the lot, block, addition, or township. If the description in this subpart
covers a building with more than one story or rooms which are used for business
purposes other than those permitted to be in combination with the license as outlined
in part 7515.0420, then the description shall specify the floor and the space to which
the license shall applv

Subp. 3. Location restrictions. No license shall be granted for any premises with
inside access to another business establishment unless the combination is permitted
under part 7515.0420 and the Liquor Control Act.

Subp. 4. Amount of bond. The license bond shall be a sum of $3,000 to $5,000. As
alternatives the applicant may post a deposit of cash, United States bonds, or liability
insurance policy acceptable to the commissioner in lieu of the corporate surety.
However, bond or alternatives shall apply uniformly to each retailer in each municipali-
ty or county.

Subp. 5. Application check; council action. The clerk shall read each application
and bond to ascertain that all questions have been answered and forms are completed
before the application is submitted to the council.
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Special note: No member of a municipal council, however, shall vote on any
application for license for a spouse or any other relative.

Subp. 6. License certificate. After the application for license has been approved by
the council, the clerk shall prepare the license certificate and deliver it to the licensee.

Subp. 7. Certificate to commissioner. Within ten days after issuance of the on-sale
liquor license, the clerk shall prepare and submit to the commissioner a certificate
stating that a license has been issued. The certificate shall show the full name and the
address of the person or persons to whom the license is granted, and all additional
information required to complete the form which shall be furnished by the commission-
er.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0440 OFF-SALE AND CERTAIN ON-SALE APPLICATIONS.

Subpart 1. Commissioner’s approval required. All off-sale, club on-sale, and
county on-sale retail liquor licenses issued in the state shall be submitted to the
commissioner for final approval. Without the commissioner’s approval, said licenses
shall not be effective.

Subp. 2. Application procedure. The commissioner shall furnish application blanks,
bonds, and license forms for off-sale, county on-sale, and club retail liquor licenses to
the clerk or county auditor of the respective municipalities or counties.

The applicant for license shall prepare the application form and bond in duplicate

and file them with the clerk or county auditor who shall read them to determine that
all questions are answered completely and the forms are properly executed.

The governing body shall consider the license applications and exercise its
discretion within the law in approving licenses.

Subp. 3. Materials forwarded to commissioner. After approval, the clerk shall
forward to the commissioner in Saint Paul, Minnesota, the following items:

A. one copy of the license certificate for off-sale, club, or county on-sale;

B. two application forms for off-sale, club, or county on-sale, fully executed by
the applicant;

C. two bond forms for off-sale, club, or county on-sale, approved on the
reverse side by a member of the governing body;

D. one on-sale license form no. 100, with the clerk’s signature and corporate
seal of the municipality or county affixed;

E. one on-sale license form no. 100-A for Sunday sales;

F. a notarized copy of the minutes of the meeting held by the governing body
establishing when the application was approved; and

G. a notarized statement containing information as to the result of the vote of
any election in the municipality where the question of licensing the sale of intoxicating
liquor was voted. This shall not include the repeal election of September 12, 1933, or
any county option election. If no election was held in the municipality, a statement to
that effect is required.

Subp. 4. Items forwarded at renewal. After licenses are granted, at an annual
renewal period, the items in subpart 3 shall be forwarded to the commissioner 30 days
before the end of the current license year.

Subp. 5. Disposition of documents. After consideration and approval of the
license, the commissioner will retain one copy of the application and one copy of the
bond. The new license certificate with endorsement of approval, one copy of the
application and one copy of the bond will be returned to the clerk or auditor. Such
documents shall be retained by the issuing authority for a period of six years after the
date of expiration of the license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: 17 SR 1279
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7515.0450 CHANGE OF LOCATION.

The location of business of a retail liquor licensee may be changed subject to the
approval of the municipal council and the commissioner. Application for change in
location shall be in writing, accompanied by a written statement from the bonding
company consenting to the change in location. '

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0460 LIQUIDATION OF BUSINESS; REPORT.

Any retail licensee who liquidates business upon voluntary termination, cancella-
tion, or revocation of license, shall submit a verified inventory of the stock of
intoxicating liquors on hand; shall file a written statement of the disposition of the
merchandise; and shall surrender the retail dealer’s identification card for cancellation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.0470 MUNICIPAL LIQUOR STORES.

Any municipality establishing a municipal liquor store shall submit to the commis-
sioner the following items:

A. A certified or printed copy of the ordinance or resolution authorizing the
establishment of a municipal liquor store.

B. A verified statement of the results of any election ever held by the
municipality in which the question of permitting or prohibiting the sale of intoxicating
liquor was voted. This shall not include the repeal election of September 12, 1933, or
any county election. If no election was ever held in the municipality, a certified
statement to that effect is required.

C. The clerk and/or recorder of any municipality having established a munici-
pal liquor store shall in connection therewith and in addition to requirements of this
part, submit to the commissioner on furnished and prescribed forms, a certificate of
registration stating the date established, name of the manager, and whether on-sale,
off-sale, or both.

D. Any change of location of a municipal liquor store shall be promptly
reported to the commissioner, on forms prescribed and furnished by the commissioner.
In the event of the discontinuance of such a store, a notarized inventory of the stock on
hand shall be submitted to the commissioner giving the brand names, the size and the
number of containers, and the name of the purchaser or other disposition. Said
inventory shall be signed by the transferor and transferee. The clerk of the municipality
shall submit said inventory and the retailer’s identification card to the commissioner for
cancellation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

RETAIL LICENSES AND MUNICIPAL LIQUOR STORES

7515.0500 RETAIL LICENSE REQUIRED.

All private retail dealers in intoxicating liquors (distilled spirits, wines, strong beer)
shall obtain a license from the local municipal governing body for retail sale, and shall
keep and post the license certificate in a conspicuous location in their place of business.
Municipal retail liquor stores shall be established by ordinance.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0510 IDENTIFICATION CARD REQUIRED.

Retail dealers shall obtain a retail dealer’s identification card from the commis-
sioner as provided in part 7515.0210, subpart 3. Such card shall be presented when
purchasing intoxicating liquor from authorized sales representatives.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
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7515.0520 PURCHASE FROM LICENSED MANUFACTURERS.

All retail dealers shall purchase their stock of alcoholic beverages only from duly
licensed Minnesota manufacturers, brewers, and wholesale distributors. Retail dealers
may purchase intoxicating liquors from other retail dealers only under the conditions
stated in part 7515.0650.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.0530 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITIES.

Retail dealers shall be responsible for all purchases of alcoholic beverages and for
any indebtedness incurred by the licensees or their delegated employees.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0540 CERTIFICATION LABELS.

Retail dealers shall verify that their stock of distilled spirits, sparkling wines, or still
wines shall have affixed to the cartons the designated certification labels, and that such
labels shall be affixed in accordance with the number of containers in each case.

Any cartons or cases in the possession of retail dealers with improper certification
labels affixed thereto shall be subject to confiscation.

Retail dealers shall remove certification labels affixed to cartons and cases of wine
when such cases have been emptied.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
7515.0550 RETENTION OF RECORDS.

All retail dealers shall keep in their licensed premises for a period of two years the
records and invoices of all purchases and sales of two cases or more of intoxicating
liquor, wine, and malt beverages. Such invoices shall state the date, from whom
purchased or to whom sold, the quantity, the brand name, size of containers, and price.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
7515.0560 ON-SALE DEALERS.

Subpart 1. Containers; minimum quantities; minimum proof of distilled spirits.
No on-sale dealer shall purchase or possess distilled spirits in containers of less than
one-fifth gallon or its metric equivalent. Containers of less than one-fifth of a gallon, or
its metric equivalent, shall be subject to confiscation, provided miniatures containing
not more than two ounces, or their metric equivalent, may be purchased for dispensing
devices, the use of which has been specifically approved by the commissioner. In
addition, no on-sale dealer shall purchase distilled spirits other than cordials, liqueurs,
or specialty items which are less than 80 proof.

Subp. 2. Liquer to be consumed on premises. On-sale liquor licensees shall sell
intoxicating liquor to lawful consumers by the drink for consumption on the premises
only. For purposes of this part the sale of miniatures in approved dispensing devices
shall be considered sale by the drink in guest rooms of hotels as defined in Minnesota
Statutes, section 340A.101, subdivision 13.

Subp. 3. Display forbidden. No on-sale liquor establishment shall display any
intoxicating liquor when open to the public during hours when the sale of such liquor is
prohibited by law, except as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 340.119.

Subp. 4. Dilution or changing containers. No on-sale dealers, or their employees,
shall remove intoxicating liquor from the original containers and place said liquor in
any other container, nor shall such persons dilute or in any manner tamper with the
original contents thereof as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.508, except
that wine may be withdrawn from tax paid containers and placed in decanters for
service bar purposes.
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Subp. 5. Containers subject to seizure. Intoxicating liquors in open containers
which upon inspection indicate dilution, tampering, refilling, or impurities shall be
subject to seizure by alcohol and gambling enforcement inspectors.

Subp. 6. Containers must be visible to public. All containers from which alcoholic
beverages are sold or dispensed shall be clearly visible to the consuming public, except
that malt beverages may be dispensed by tap from the keg when the keg itself is not in
sight, and miniatures may be dispensed by approved mechanical devices, provided that
the brand label appears on the tap handle or device. No container of intoxicating or
malt liquor shall be dispensed from any mechanical or coin-operated device, unless said
device can be operated in full compliance with all provisions of state law and the rules
of the commissioner and has been specifically approved for operation by the commis-
sioner. The commissioner may impose such conditions as the commissioner deems
necessary for any such approval and the failure to meet said conditions or the violation
thereof shall terminate any approval.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305art 3s 1; art 75 8; 17 SR 1279; L 1997 c 129 art 25 15

7515.0570 OFF-SALE BY PACKAGE ONLY.

Off-sale dealers shall sell intoxicating liquors by the container or package for off
premise consumption only. They shall not permit the opening of the containers and
consumption of contents on the licensed premises. No alcoholic beverages shall be sold
except within the licensed premises. No licensee shall sell any alcoholic beverages to
any person, or persons, for consumption off the licensed premises while said person, or
persons, are within a motor vehicle. No alcoholic beverages shall be sold through any
opening or window to any person outside of licensed premises.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0580 DELIVERY.

Subpart 1. Restrictions. Licensed or authorized “off-sale’retail liquor dealers and
no other class of dealers may make deliveries of intoxicating liquor from their stores to
the residence of a purchaser or other location, provided however, that such delivery
shall be made only to a person 19 or more years of age; and provided further, that such
delivery shall not be made to beer taverns or other public or private place in violation
of law or ordinance.

Subp. 2. Delivery tickets required. The person in charge of any vehicle delivering
intoxicating liquor to purchasers shall carry an invoice or delivery slip stating the date
and names and addresses of the seller and purchaser, itemizing the number, size, and
brands of intoxicating liquor to be delivered. Upon delivery, the invoice shall be signed
by the person accepting delivery and by the deliverer and the signed copy preserved on
the retailer’s premises for a period of six months.

Subp. 3. Dealer may refuse to deliver. Any retail dealer, or employee or agent of
the dealer, may refuse to sell or deliver intoxicating liquor to any person whom they
have reason to believe is ineligible to buy such liquor, as provided by Minnesota
Statutes, sections 340A.504, and 340A.701 to 340A.705, or whom they have reason to
believe intends to deliver the intoxicating liquor to ineligible consumers. They may
require a person of doubtful age to produce written evidence of being 18 or more years
of age.

Subp. 4. Forbidden deliveries. No off-sale retail dealer shall sell, ship, or deliver
intoxicating liquor to purchasers in any county, municipality, or area where the sale or
delivery thereof is prohibited by law. No retailer shall deliver or permit the delivery of
any intoxicating liquor during the hours when off-sale of liquor is prohibited by state
law or municipal ordinance.

Subp. 5. [Repealed by amendment, 8 SR 2478]
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Subp. 6. Open stock deliveries prohibited. Only alcoholic beverages ordered and
packed at the store for delivery shall be carried in the delivery vehicle.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 8 SR 2478; L. 1985 c 305 art 7s 4; art 9s 1 to 5; 17 SR 1279

7515.0590 SALES RESTRICTIONS.

Subpart 1. Retail dealer not to sell for resale. A retail dealer or municipal liquor
store shall not sell intoxicating liquor to any person for the purpose of resale, or to any
person about whom the dealer or store has information or has reason to believe
intends to resell said liquor, except as provided in part 7515.0650.

Subp. 2. Cancellation of identification card. The retailer’s identification card of
any retail dealer or municipal liquor store may be canceled by the commissioner if the
holder of said card sells for resale. A violation of part 7515.0610 shall be grounds for
cancellation.

Subp. 3. Refusal to sell. Retail dealers shall refuse to sell any alcoholic beverage to
any person or persons whose character is questionable or whose credentials in any
manner are not satisfactory.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.0600 SOLICITATION.

The solicitation of customers by retail dealers outside the licensed premises or by
the use of telephone, telegraph, or the United States mail is prohibited.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0610 FEDERAL WHOLESALE LIQUOR DEALER’S TAX STAMP.

No retail licensee or municipal liquor store shall apply for or have in their
possession a federal wholesale liquor dealer’s tax stamp.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0620 GIFTS FORBIDDEN.

Any retail dealer or employee, or any manager or employee of a municipal liquor
store, who suggests, requests, demands, or accepts any gratuity or reward or promise
thereof from any representative of a manufacturer or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages
is guilty of a violation. Any manager or employee who in this respect violates the
provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 613.19 shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0630 STORAGE.

Retail dealers may store excess stocks of intoxicating liquor in places other than
the licensed premises. The place of storage shall be located in the same municipality as
the licensed premises. The location and address of the storage place, the quantity of
liquor stored, and removal from the storage place shall be reported to the commission-
er in writing.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0640 FIRES OR OTHER DAMAGE.

In the event of a fire or other disaster in an area where intoxicating liquor,
intoxicating and 3.2 percent malt liquor, or wine is stored or kept for sale, the licensee
shall promptly inform the commissioner of such disaster. The commissioner shall
promptly inspect the premises to determine if the intoxicating liquor, intoxicating and
3.2 percent malt liquor, or wine is fit for human consumption and shall order all of
such liquor and wine that is not fit for human consumption immediately destroyed. No
sale of intoxicating liquor,. intoxicating and 3.2 percent malt liquor, or wine which has
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been exposed to a fire or other disaster shall be made until such liquor has been
inspected and declared fit for human consumption. In making the inspection, the
commissioner may cooperate with a representative of the insurer of the liquor.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279; L 1991 ¢ 249 s 31

7515.0650 TRANSFER OF LICENSE OR BUSINESS.

Any licensed retail dealer transferring or liquidating a business and selling the
liquor stock shall notify the commissioner in writing of this intention and ask for
approval of the proposed sale or transfer on such forms as are prescribed by the
commissioner. The dealer may sell business fixtures and alcoholic beverages in a
liquidating transaction to any retail dealer or wholesale licensee in Minnesota. When
the sale is completed, the seller and buyer shall file with the commissioner a copy of an
itemized inventory of liquors sold, giving the brand name, size, and number of bottles.
Both the seller and buyer shall sign the inventory and it shall be notarized. The seller
shall return the retailer’s identification card to the commissioner for cancellation. Any
change whatsoever in the ownership or location of the business for which the license
has been issued shall be deemed a transfer for purposes of this part.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

ADVERTISING

7515.0700 APPLICATION; UNIFORM CODE.

Subpart 1. In general. The advertising of intoxicating liquors is a matter of public
policy and, as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.507, subdivision 1, clearly
within the police power of the state. Advertisements of intoxicating liquors disseminat-
ed in this state, except as hereinafter provided, shall not require prior approval, but
shall be governed by the Uniform Code of the Joint Committee of States, as follows in
parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0750.

Subp. 2. Scope of code. No person engaged in business as a producer, manufactur-
er, bottler, importer, wholesaler, or retailer of intoxicating liquor, directly or indirectly,
or through an affiliate shall publish or disseminate or cause to be published or
disseminated by radio or television broadcast, or in any newspaper, magazine, or
similar publication or by any sign or outdoor advertisement, or any other printed or
graphic matter, any advertisement of intoxicating liquor unless such advertisement is in
conformity with parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0780, provided that these provisions shall not
apply to the publisher of any newspaper, magazine, or similar publication, or the owner
or operator of any radio or television station, unless such publisher, owner, or operator
is engaged in business as a producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, wholesaler, or
retailer of intoxicating liquor directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: L 1985c305art 7s 7

7515.0710 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0780, the following terms
shall have the meanings ascribed in subparts 2 to 7.

Subp. 2. Advertisement. The term “advertisement” includes any advertisement of
intoxicating liquor through the medium of radio or television; or of newspapers,
magazines, or similar publications; or of any sign or outdoor advertisement; or of any
other printed or graphic matter, including trade booklets, menus, and wine cards;
except that such term shall not include:

A. Any label affixed to any container of intoxicating liquor or any individual
covering, carton, or other wrapper of such container.
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B. Any editorial or other reading matter in any periodical or publication or
newspaper, or on any radio or television broadcast (or audio matter thereon) for the
preparation or publication of which no money or other valuable consideration is paid
or promised, directly or indirectly, by any person subject to parts 7515.0700 to
7515.0780.

Subp. 3. Intoxicating liquor. “Intoxicating liquor” means and includes ethyl alcohol
and distilled, fermented, spirituous, vinous, and malt beverages containing in excess of
3.2 percent of alcohol by weight.

Subp. 4. Distilled spirits. “Distilled spirits” means ethyl alcohol, ethanol, or spirits
of wine, including all dilutions and mixtures thereof, from whatever source or by
whatever process produced, for beverage use, and shall include but not be limited to
neutral spirits, whiskey. brandy. rum, gin. vodka, cordials, and liqueurs. Any intoxicat-
ing liquor containing more than 24 percent of alcohol by volume shall be deemed to be
distilled spirits.

Subp. 5. Wine. The term “wine” means any fermented intoxicating liquor produced
from grapes, fruit, or other agricultural products, and includes but is not limited to, still
wines, champagne and other sparkling wines, carbonated wines, imitation wines,
vermouth, cider, perry, sake, or other product offered for sale or sold as wine.

Subp. 6. Malt beverage. The term “malt beverage” means intoxicating liquors
obtained by the alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or decoction of barley malt and
hops in drinking water and containing more than 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight.

Subp. 7. Person. “Person” means any individual, partnership, joint stock company,
business trust, association, corporation, or other form of business enterprise, including
a receiver, trustee, or liquidating agent.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0720 MANDATORY STATEMENTS.

Subpart 1. Responsible advertiser. The advertisement shall state the name and
address of the producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, wholesaler, or retailer
responsible for its publication. Street name and number may be omitted in the address.

Subp. 2. Class, type, and distinctive designation. The advertisement shall contain a
conspicuous statement of the class and type. or other designation of the product,
corresponding with the complete designation which appears on the brand label of the
product.

Subp. 3. Alcoholic content. In the case of distilled spirits the alcoholic content shall
be stated in the manner and form in which it appears on the labels of distilled spirits
advertised.

Subp. 4. Percentage of neutral spirits and name of commodity. In the case of
distilled spirits, other than cordials, liqueurs, and specialties, produced by blending or
rectification, if neutral spirits have been used in the production thereof, there shall be
stated in the advertisement the percentage of neutral spirits so used and the name of
the commodity from which such neutral spirits have been distilled in substantially the
manner and form in which these statements appear on the labels of the distilled spirits
advertised. In the case of neutral spirits or of gin produced by a process of continuous
distillation, there shall be stated in the advertisement the name of the commodity from
which such neutral spirits or gin has been distilled substantially in the manner and form
in which this statement appears on the labels of the distilled spirits advertised.

Subp. 5. Line or brand advertisements. Where an advertisement does not mention
a specific product but merely refers to a class of intoxicating liquors (such as whiskey)
and the advertiser markets more than one brand of intoxicating liquors of that class, or
where the advertisement refers to several classes of intoxicating liquors (such as
whiskey. brandy, rum. gin. liqueur. etc.) marketed under a single brand, the only
mandatory information prescribed by this part, applicabie to such advertisement would
be the name and address of the responsible advertiser.
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Subp. 6. Retail establishments. Advertisements by retail establishments which
merely refer to the availability of intoxicating liquors in such establishments but which
otherwise make no reference to a specific brand shall be subject only to the prohibited
statements provisions of parts 7515.0740 and 7515.0750.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0730 LETTERING; CONSPICUOUSNESS OF MANDATORY STATEMENTS.

Statements required by parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0780 to be stated in any written,
printed, or graphic advertisement shall appear in lettering or type of a size, kind, and
color sufficient to render them both conspicuous and readily legible. In particular:

A. Required information shall be stated against a contrasting background and
in type or lettering which is at least the equivalent of eight-point type.

B. Required information shall be so stated as to appear to be a part of the
advertisement and shall not be separated in any manner from the remainder of the
advertisement.

C. Where an advertisement relates to more than one product, the required
information shall appear in such manner as to clearly indicate the particular products
to which it is applicable.

D. Required information shall not be buried or concealed in unrequired
descriptive matter or decorative designs.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0740 PROHIBITED STATEMENTS.

An advertisement shall not contain:

A. Any statement that is false or misleading in any particular material.

B. Any statement that is disparaging of a competitor’s products.

C. Any statement, design, device, or representation which is obscene or
indecent.

D. Any statement, design, device, or representation of or relating to analyses,
standards, or tests, irrespective of falsity, which is likely to mislead the consumer.

E. Any statement, design, device, or representation of or relating to any
guaranty, irrespective of falsity, which is likely to mislead the consumer.

Nothing in this part shall prohibit the use of any enforceable guaranty in
substantially the following form: “We will.refund the purchase price to the purchaser if
the purchaser is in any manner dissatisfied with the contents of this package.”

F. Any statement that the product is produced, blended, made, bottled,
packed, or sold under, or in accordance with, any authorization, law, or regulation of
any municipality, county, or state, federal, or foreign government unless such statement
is required or specifically authorized by the laws or regulations of such government;
and if a municipal, county, state, or federal permit number is stated, such permit
number shall not be accompanied by any additional statement relating thereto.

G. Any statement concerning a brand or lot of intoxicating liquor that is
inconsistent with any statement on the labeling thereof.

H. Any statement, design, or device representing that the use of any intoxicat-
ing liquor has curative or therapeutic effects, if such statement is untrue in any
particular, or tends to create a misleading impression.

I. Any representation that the product was manufactured in, or imported
from, a place or country other than that of its actual origin, or was produced or
processed by one who was not in fact the actual producer or processor.

J. Any statement, design, device, or pictorial representation of or relating to,
or capable of being construed as relating to the armed forces of the United States, or
of the American flag, any state flag, or of any emblem, seal, insignia, or decoration
associated with any such flag or the armed forces of the United States; nor shall any
advertisement contain any statement, device, design, or pictorial representation of or
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concerning any flag, seal. coat of arms. crest, or other insignia, likely to falsely lead the
consumers to believe that the product has been endorsed, made, or used by or
produced for, or under the supervision of, or in accordance with the specifications of
the government, organization, family, or individual with whom such flag, seal, coat of
arms, crest, or insignia is associated.

K. There shall be no cooperative advertising in newspapers or magazines as
between a producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler, and a retailer of
distilled spirits.

L. Any statement offering any coupon, premium, prize, or rebate as an
inducement to purchase intoxicating liquors.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.0750 OTHER PROHIBITED STATEMENTS.

An advertisement of intoxicating liquor shall not contain:
A. In the case of distilled spirits:

(1) The words bond,” *‘bonded,” bottled in bond,” “aged in bond,” or
phrases containing these or synonymous terms, unless such words or phrases appear
upon the labels of distilled spirits advertised, and are stated in the advertisement in the
manner and form in which they appear on the label.

(2) Any statement, design, or device directly or by implication concerning
age or maturity of any brand or lot of distilled spirits unless a statement of age appears
on the labels of the advertised product. When any such statement, design, or device
concerning age or maturity of distilled spirits is contained in any advertisement, it shall
include (in direct conjunction therewith and with substantially equal conspicuousness)
all parts of the statement concerning age and percentages, if any, which appear on the
label. However, an advertisement for any whiskey or brandy, which does not bear a
statement of age on the label, or an advertisement for rum which is four years or more
old, may contain general inconspicuous age, maturity or other similar representation,
e.g., "aged in wood,” "mellowed in fine oak casks.”

B. In the case of wine:

(1) Any statement of bonded winecellar and bonded winery numbers
unless stated in direct conjunction with the name and address of the person operating
such winery or storeroom. Statement of bonded winecellar and bonded winery numbers
may be made in the following form: “Bonded Winecellar No. ,” “Bonded
Winery No. ;7 “B.W.C. No. .7 “B.W. No. ?

No additional reference thereto shall be made, nor shall any use be made of such
statement that may convey the impression that the wine has been made or matured
under United States government or any state government supervision or in accordance
with the United States government or any state government specifications or standards.

(2) Any statement, design, device, or representation which relates to
alcoholic content or which tends to create the impression that a wine is unfortified or
has been fortified, or has intoxicating qualities, or contains distilled spirits (except for a
reference to distilled spirits in a statement of composition where such statement is
required by parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0780 to appear as part of the designation of the
product).

(3) Any statement of age or representation relative to age (including
words or devices in any brand name or mark) except that:

In the case of vintage wine, the year of vintage may be stated if it appears on the
label.

Truthful references of a general and informative nature relating to methods of
production involving storage or aging, such as “this wine has been mellowed in oak
casks,” “stored in small barrels,” or “matured at regulated temperatures in oak cellars”
may be made.
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The statement of any bottling date shall not be deemed to be a representation
relative to age, if such statement appears without undue emphasis in the following
form: “bottled in ___" (inserting the year in which the wine was bottled).

No date, except as provided in this item with respect to statement of vintage year
and bottling date, shall be stated unless, in addition thereto, and in direct conjunction
therewith, in the same size and kind of printing there shall be stated an explanation of
the significance of such date; provided, that if any date refers to the date of
establishment of any business, such date shall be stated without undue emphasis and in
direct conjunction with the name of the person to whom it refers.

C. In the case of malt beverages, any statement of alcoholic content, or any
statement of the percentage and quantity of the original extract, or any numerals,
letters, characters, or figures, likely to be considered as designations of alcoholic
content.

D. Any reference to novelties, mailing, outdoor advertising, and inside
premise advertising shall be governed by other provisions of parts 7515.0700 to
7515.0780.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0760 STATEMENTS OF ACTS PROHIBITED.

Subpart 1. In general. All local advertising shall also be subject to the provisions of
parts 7515.0700 to 7515.0780 as stated in this part.

Subp. 2. Prohibitions on advertisements’ contents. No advertisement of alcoholic
beverages shall contain:

A. Any illustration of a person which is not dignified, modest, or in good
taste, or depicts a person in provocative dress or consuming a drink. Any family scene
in which is portrayed a child or objects (such as toys) suggestive of the presence of a
child, or in any manner portrays the likeness of a child, or contains any matter to
appeal to immature persons.

B. Any statement that is false or misleading in any manner.

C. Any statement, design, device, or representation which is obscene or
indecent.

D. Any statement concerning a brand of intoxicating liquor that is inconsistent
with any statement on the labeling thereof.

E. Any statement, design, device, or representation relating to any guaranty
unless such guaranty is enforceable.
F. Any statement describing such liquor to be beneficial and healthful.

G. Any statement or display relating to the price of such liquor except in
windows and premises of licensed establishments.

H. Any statement, design, or device relating to biblical characters or to any
public official, agency, or branch of the federal, state, or local governments, including
former presidents of the United States.

I. Any statement, design, device, or pictorial representation capable of being
construed as relating to the armed forces of the United States, or the American flag, or
any emblem, seal, insignia, or decoration associated with such flag or armed force.

J. Any statement relating to the giving away of alcoholic beverages, premiums,
or novelties in connection with the sale of any alcoholic beverages.

Subp. 3. Restrictions on items given away. No alcoholic beverages, prizes, or
premiums shall be given away in connection with the sale of alcoholic beverages, except
that consumer’s advertising specialties, such as ash trays, bottle or can openers,
corkscrews, paper shopping bags, matches, printed recipes, wine lists, leaflets, blotters,
post cards, pencils, stirrers, glassware, calendars, notebooks, playing cards, greeting
cards, folding knives, or any similar articles which bear advertising matter may be
furnished or given to consumers. The distribution of, such advertising specialties shall
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be limited to the licensed premises only. Such advertising specialties shall be submitted
to and approved by the commissioner before distribution.

Subp. 4. Restrictions on references and statements. No advertisement or display of
intoxicating or malt liquor shall contain any statement or illustration of or reference to
a bank, bank deposit book, money, gambling, or quotations such as “*Moving,” “Going
Out of Business,” "Reduction of Stock,” **Sale of Damaged Stock,” “School or College
Athletics,” or “Pay Checks,” in any form of advertising. However, such references may
be included in or on show windows in or on licensed premises.

Subp. 5. Restrictions on display. No display of any intoxicating liquor shall be
made in any place except the licensed premises.

Subp. 6. Restrictions on references to price. No advertisement or display of malt
beverages containing more than one-half of one percent of alcohol by weight shall
contain any reference to price of malt beverages, except within windows and premises
of licensed establishments.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0770 ADVERTISEMENT APPROVAL.

Subpart 1. Submitting materials to commissioner. Except as provided in parts
7515.0700 to 7515.0750, all out-of-state distillers, rectifiers, winers, brewers, and
wholesale distributors and Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale distributors on-sale,
off-sale, or municipally owned liquor stores or any agents thereof shall submit in
duplicate all advertisements of alcoholic beverages to the commissioner for approval
before publication.

Subp. 2. No publication without approval. Except as provided in parts 7515.0700 to
7515.0750, no licensee shall publish, cause to be published, or offer for publication in
any newspaper, periodical, or other advertising media, including radio and television
broadcasting, or through any outdoor or other advertising agency any advertisement for
intoxicating liquor unless the copy or transcript of the proposed advertisement shall
have been first approved by the commissioner and shall have affixed thereto the
commissioner’s stamp of approval.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.0780 MAILING FORBIDDEN.

No advertisements shall be distributed to consumers through the medium of the
United States mail except with the written approval of the commissioner, and provided
that this restriction shall not apply to newspapers and magazines. The distribution of
hand circulars or price lists will be allowed from within the licensed premises.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

BRAND LABELS AND ANALYSIS OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

7515.0800 BRAND LABEL APPROVAL.

Subpart 1. Commissioner’s approval required. No brand of distilled spirits, wines,
or fermented malt beverages containing more than one-half of one percent of alcohol
by volume shall be imported into or sold within the state of Minnesota unless the brand
label is approved by the commissioner and registered in the manner provided.

Subp. 2. Imports for sample purposes only. A licensed importer or wholesaler
may, with the prior approval of the commissioner, import without registration reason-
able amounts of alcoholic beverages to be used for sample purposes only. However, all
such sample shipments must be manifested, as provided in part 7515.0930.

Subp. 3. Confiscation. Any alcoholic beverages whose brand label is not approved
and registered shall be confiscated.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
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7515.0810 BRAND LABEL OWNERSHIP.

The brand label will not be registered unless it is ascertained that the proposed
registrant is the owner of the label, or has been assigned the brand label registration
permission in writing by the brand owner pursuant to federal and state laws.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0820 REGISTRATION.

A written request for registration of a brand label shall be filed with the
commissioner, accompanied by the following items:

A. a check payable to “Director of Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement” in
the amount of $10, for payment of the registration fee for each brand and for each type
of product;

B. a set of photostatic copies of beer cans and lids;

C. if requested by the commissioner, two labeled and sealed containers of
malt beverages for analysis;

D. if requested by the commissioner, a complete, signed chemical analysis of
the product and a verified statement that the product to be sold under the label will
correspond in all respects to the sample and analysis;

E. a verified statement by the brand owner or an authorized representative
declaring ownership of the label and identifying the United States distributor, if other
than the brand owner; and

F. a set of front and back labels, and any other labels to be affixed to the
containers. In the case of imported alcoholic beverages, the name and address of the
importer must be shown on the label.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

History: 17 SR 1279; L 1997 ¢ 129 art 25 15
7515.0830 COMMISSIONER TO APPROVE CHANGE.

Any change of ownership or of contents of alcoholic beverages and the labeling in
connection therewith from the original registration of such contents and labels shall be
promptly submitted to the commissioner for approval before the importation or sale of
such beverages in the state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.0840 ABANDONMENT.

Any brand of alcoholic beverage for which Minnesota importation has been
discontinued for two years or which has been abandoned shall not be imported in this
state unless the brand label is reregistered in the manner provided in part 7515.0810.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.0850 IMPORTERS TO ASCERTAIN REGISTRATION.

Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale distributors shall ascertain before the
importation of any alcoholic product into the state that said product has been
registered and the analysis of the brand submitted to and approved by the commission-
er.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0860 STOCK TRANSFER ARRANGED BEFORE CHANGE IN DISTRIBU-
TORS.

When there is a change in distributorship of the brand, the brand owner shall
arrange for the transfer of the stock on hand to the new distributor or for shipment to
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the producer of the brand five days before the change is made. This shall not apply if
the brand is distributed by more than one wholesaler in this state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0870 BULK CONTAINERS.

Distilled spirits and wine may be imported and sold to manufacturers in bulk
containers without brand label registration.

Statutory Authority: MS 5 2994.02 subd 3

IMPORTATION AND RELEASE OF DISTILLED SPIRITS, WINE,
MALT BEVERAGES, AND SACRAMENTAL WINE

7515.0900 IMPORTATION.

Subpart 1. License required. Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.302 pertaining to
distilled spirits, wines, and ethyl alcohol and Minnesota Statutes, section 340.493 for
malt beverages provide that only duly licensed importers shall ship such products into
Minnesota and that products so shipped shall be consigned to and received only by duly
licensed Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale distributors. No package sales to
consumers for export of non-tax-paid liquors shall be permitted in this state without
having obtained the proper license.

Subp. 2. Sacramental wine. Wines, as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section
340A.316, to be used exclusively for sacramental purposes imported into Minnesota
shall be consigned to and received only by the holders of Minnesota sacramental wine
licenses or by regularly appointed or ordained rabbi, priest, minister, or pastor of any
church or established religious organization.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305 art 55 2,16

7515.0910 DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITY.

In recognition of the federal laws governing immunity and courtesy, shipments of
intoxicating liquor from foreign countries to diplomatic personnel of foreign countries
assigned to service in this state may be received by such representatives without
payment of the Minnesota excise tax, and without being subject to the rules relating to
importation and labeling of alcoholic beverages. Such importation to diplomatic
personnel will be permitted only upon written request to the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.0920 IMPORT LICENSE REQUIRED.

Subpart 1. In general. Distilled spirits, wine, and ethyl alcohol shall be imported
into Minnesota only by persons holding Minnesota import licenses.

Subp. 2. Exceptions. No Minnesota import license will be required of persons who
ship distilled spirits in bulk from a United States Internal Revenue bonded warehouse
located in another state to a similar warehouse located in Minnesota.

Alcoholic beverages in the custody of the United States collector of customs
destined for ultimate delivery in another state may be received in Minnesota and stored
temporarily pending arrangements for redistribution and release by federal authorities.
Shipments and storage under this subpart shall be reported promptly to the commis-
sioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0930 MANIFEST OR INVOICE.

Minnesota Statutes, section 340.485, subdivision 3 provides that importers of
distilled spirits, wines, ethyl alcohol, or sacramental wine shall prepare a manifest in
duplicate on forms prescribed by the commissioner for each shipment into Minnesota,
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and shall forward the manifest to the commissioner prior to the time of shipment. The
manifest shall represent only the shipment of each single conveyance. The manifest
shall designate the consignee and consignor, the date of shipment, name of common
carrier, brand name, brand label registration number, the number of packages and the
nuniber of containers in each package, the size of each container, the proof of the
product, and the total gallonage.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0940 TRANSPORTATION.

Only common carriers or duly licensed Minnesota manufacturers or wholesale
distributors shall transport distilled spirits, wine, ethyl alcohol, or malt beverages into
this state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 8 SR 2478

7515.0950 CONFISCATION.

Minnesota Statutes, section 340.54, subdivision 1 provides that any alcoholic
beverages imported into Minnesota contrary to statute or parts 7515.0900 to 7515.0960
or for the purpose of tax evasion shall be subject to confiscation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.0960 SAMPLES FOR ANALYSIS.

For the purpose of comparative analysis, the commissioner may direct that samples
of distilled liquors, wines, and malt beverages be taken from shipments arriving in the
state or from warehouse stocks within the state, and the analysis of such samples shall
be made by a chemist designated by the commissioner.

In the event that the commissioner shall find the analysis of samples taken from
shipments or warehouse stocks are not identically comparable to the labeling thereof
and for malt beverages samples of any brand originally submitted by the brand owner
to the commissioner, said discrepancy shall be valid grounds for the seizure and
confiscation of such shipments or warehouse stock and any further importation or sale
of such brand or brands shall be prohibited within the state.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

STANDARDS OF IDENTITY, LABELING, AND FILL

7515.1000 DISTILLED SPIRITS GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.

Code of Federal Regulations for ethyl alcohol, distilled spirits, brandy, and
rectifications of distilled spirits are hereby adopted as the rules for standards of identity
and labeling requirements for containers of distilled spirits sold within the state, insofar
as such federal regulations or amendments thereto are not contrary to or inconsistent
with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A or parts 7515.1000 to
7515.1120, including standards of fill.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 c 305

7515.1010 PACKAGING TO CONFORM TO FEDERAL REGULATIONS.

No person shall import, manufacture, transport, or sell within the state of
Minnesota any distilled spirits in containers, unless such distilled spirits are packaged,
and such packages are marked, branded, or labeled in conformity with federal
regulations as herein indicated and approved by the commissioner. Such packages of
containers shall consist of the same brand, size, type, and proof.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
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7515.1020 AGING OF WHISKEY.

No whiskey in glass containers shall be imported into the state, bottled by any
importer or rectifier for sale within the state, unless such whiskey has been stored in
new charred oak containers for a period of two years or more under United States
government supervision and distilled in accordance with the standards of identity.
However, such whiskey may be imported into the state in bulk, but when so imported it
may not be bottled and sold until it is aged for a period of two years. This part shall not
apply to whiskey or intoxicating liquor produced in a foreign country.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.1030 CORDIALS AND LIQUEURS,

Cordials and liqueurs are products obtained by mixing or redistilling neutral
spirits. brandy, gin. or other distilled spirits with or over fruits, flowers, plants, or pure
juices therefrom, or other natural flavoring materials, or with extracts derived from
infusions, percolations, or maceration of such materials, and to which sugar or dextrose
or both have been added in an amount not less than ten percent by weight of the
finished product. Synthetic or imitation flavoring materials shall not be included.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.1040 STANDARDS OF FILL FOR DISTILLED SPIRITS.

1/2 gallon 4/5 pint 1
1 quart 1/2 pint

4/5 quart Miniatures containing no

1 pint more than 2 ounces

or the metric equivalent of any of the above.

Tolerance in the herein-described standards of fill may be allowed by the
commissioner for distilled spirits upon prior application.

The regulations adopted by the secretary of the treasury pursuant to the Federal
Alcohol Administration Act governing standards of fill shall be followed in .all bottling
or selling of distilled spirits in the state of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1050 WINE GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.

Code of Federal Regulations for wine is hereby adopted as the rule for the
standards of identity and labeling requirements for containers of wine sold within the
state, insofar as federal regulations or amendments thereto are not contrary to or
inconsistent with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A or parts 7515.1000
to 7515.1120, including standards of fill.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305

7515.1060 PACKAGING TO CONFORM TO FEDERAL REGULATIONS.

No person shall import, manufacture, transport, or sell within the state of
Minnesota any wine in containers unless such wine is packaged, and such packages are
marked, branded, and labeled in conformity with federal regulations as herein indicated
and approved by the commissioner. Such packages of containers shall consist of the
same brand. size. type, and proof.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
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7515.1070 STANDARDS OF FILL FOR WINE.

Gallon 128 ounces
1/2 Gallon 64 ounces
Quart 32 ounces
Fifth 25-3/5 ounces
Pint . 16 ounces
Tenth 12-4/5 ounces
1/2 Pint 8 ounces
Twentieth 6- 2/5 ounces

or the metric equivalent of any of the above.

Tolerance in the herein-described standards of fill may be allowed by the
commissioner upon prior application.

The regulations adopted by the secretary of the treasury pursuant to the Federal
Alcohol Administration Act governing standards of fill shall be followed in all bottling
or selling of wine in the state of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.1080 MALT BEVERAGES GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.

Code of Federal Regulations for beer is hereby adopted as the rule for the
standards of identity and labeling requirements for containers of malt beverages sold
within the state, insofar as federal regulations or amendments thereto are not contrary
to or inconsistent with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A or parts
7515.1000 to 7515.1120, including standards of fill.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305

7515.1090 PACKAGING TO CONFORM TO FEDERAL REGULATIONS.

No person shall import, manufacture, transport, or sell within the state of
Minnesota any malt beverages in containers, unless such malt beverages are packaged,
and such packages are marked, branded, or labeled in conformity with federal
regulations as therein indicated and approved by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1100 LABELING REQUIREMENTS AND ALCOHOLIC CONTENT.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 12 SR 1456]

Subp. 2. 0.5 to 3.2 percent alcohol. For a product that contains more than one-half
of one percent of alcohol by volume and not more than 3.2 percent by weight, the
alcoholic content must be stated and the product labeled as follows: “contains not more
than 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight” or similar expression of like meaning.

If the product is sold in cans, the words “contains not more than 3.2 percent of
alcohol by weight,” or similar expression of like meaning, must appear on one end of
each can in a permanent medium. For cone-type cans, however, the indication must be
placed on the side. '

Subp. 3. Copies instead of cans. In place of submitting can containers for malt
beverages, duplicate photostatic copies of each can and its lid must be submitted for
both 3.2 percent and strong and the copies must clearly show the label and the
alcoholic content statement for the 3.2 product only.

Subp. 4. Under 0.5 percent alcohol. The alcoholic content must be stated if the
product contains less than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume and must be
labeled “contains less than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume.”

Subp. 5. Confiscation. A product not labeled in accordance with this part is subject
to confiscation by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: 12 SR 1456
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7515.1110 ALCOHOLIC CONTENTS TO BE INDICATED ON CONTAINERS.

Subpart 1. Kegs or barrels. Kegs or barrels sold in Minnesota must have the
contents identified by paper stickers or stencils affixed on the same surface as the
brewer’s identification stating “3.2 beer” or similar words that are appropriate to the
content, or as an alternative the alcoholic contents of kegs or barrels may be identified
with distinctive symbols that have been submitted to and approved by the commission-
er.

Subp. 2. Sealed, nonreturnable cases. Nonreturnable and sealed cases of bottles or
cans must have imprinted in ink on the top or one side of the case “3.2 beer” or similar
words that are appropriate to the content, or identified by the use of distinctive symbols
that have been submitted to and approved by the commissioner. This subpart applies to
the shipping case but does not apply to smaller cartons that may be contained in the
case. Each brewer and importer shall notify the commissioner whether identification
will appear on the top or side of the case.

Subp. 3. Unsealed, returnable cases. An unsealed returnable case of bottles needs
no external marking to identify alcoholic content, if opening the case without breaking
furnishes a direct view of bottles that identify the alcoholic content pursuant to this
part.

Subp. 4. Confiscation. A product not labeled in accordance with this part is subject
to confiscation by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: 12 SR 1456

7515.1120 STANDARDS OF FILL FOR MALT BEVERAGES.

The standards of fill for malt beverages in containers, whether domestically
manufactured or imported for sale within the state of Minnesota, shall be as hereinaf-
ter provided:

one barrel
1/2 barrel
1/4 barrel
1/8 barrel
288 ounce container
144 ounce container
128 ounce container
64 ounce container
32 ounce container
25-3/5 ounce container
24 ounce container
16 ounce container
12 ounce container
10 ounce container
8 ounce container
7 ounce container
6 ounce container

or the metric equivalent of any of the above.

Tolerance in the herein-described standards of fill may be allowed by the
commissioner upon prior application. The regulations adopted by the secretary of the
treasury pursuant to the Federal Alcohol Administration Act governing standards of fill
shall be followed in all bottling or selling of malt beverages in the state of Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
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PERMITS FOR CONSUMPTION AND DISPLAY OF INTOXICATING LIQUOR

7515.1200 PERMIT APPLICATIONS.

Applicants for permits under Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.414 shall submit
their applications on forms to be supplied by the commissioner. Applications shall be
submitted to the commissioner, together with tender of the $100 fee in the form of a
money order, bank draft, or certified check payable to the “Director of Alcohol and
Gambling Enforcement, State of Minnesota.”

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
History: L 1985 ¢ 305 art 6s 14; L 1997 c 129 art 25 15

7515.1210 DISQUALIFICATIONS.

Subpart 1. Federal tax stamps. No permit will be issued to holders of federal retail
liquor dealer’s special tax stamps as provided for in Minnesota Statutes, section
340.119, subdivision 6, other than a duly licensed liquor retailer which is a business
establishment as provided for in Minnesota Statutes, section 340.119, subdivision 7.
Answers to questions on the commissioner’s application form relating to such stamps
will be compared with records in the commissioner’s office supplied by the federal
Internal Revenue Department.

Subp. 2. Display after hours. It shall be unlawful to consume or display or allow
consumption or display of intoxicating liquor on any premises of a bottle club or
business establishment between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m.

Subp. 3. Conviction of liquor vielation. No application from any person who has
been convicted of a willful violation of law concerning the sale of intoxicating liquor or
nonintoxicating malt beverages within the past five years will be considered.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1220 REGULATION OF ESTABLISHMENTS GRANTED PERMITS.

Subpart 1. Bottle club. In clubs that qualify for a permit, bottles of intoxicating
liquor may be left at the club-bar by members for serving only to the owner-member
and bona fide guests, but said bottle or bottles shall not be stored at the bar in the
owner’s absence. Before the owner leaves the premises the owner shall remove the
bottle or bottles from the bar and place them in an individual locker, or take them
from the premises.

Subp. 2. Business establishments. In any public place granted a permit, no bottle
of intoxicating liquor shall be given to the bar attendant or any employee for serving to
the owner of the bottle. All bottles in such business establishment shall be kept in plain
sight by the owner and shall be in the owner’s possession and under the owner’s control
at all times.

Subp. 3. No storage of liquor. No intoxicating liquor may be stored on the
premises of any business establishment holding a permit under this section. The
purchase of intoxicating liquor by a licensee, manager, or employee of a bottle club or
business establishment acting as agent for the member or patron is prohibited.

Subp 4. No minors. No minors shall be permitted to loiter or remain on any
premises licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 340.14, subdivision 3, unless
accompanied by parent or guardian.

Subp. 5. No transfer of permits. The transfer of permits issued in accordance with
Minnesota Statutes, section 340.119 is prohibited unless such transfer is approved by
the commissioner. Any change in the location, ownership, or corporation will constitute
a transfer for purposes of parts 7515.1200 to 7515.1230.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279
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7515.1230 CANCELLATION.
Any violations of these rules will constitute grounds for cancellation of the permit.
Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

PHARMACISTS
7515.1300 PERMIT REQUIRED FOR PHARMACISTS.

Subpart 1. General. Minnesota Statutes, section 340.18 provides that pharmacists
may apply to the commissioner for a permit to sell medicinal liquors and ethyl alcohol
on bona fide prescriptions by a physician, dentist, or veterinarian. Such permits shall be
obtained from the commissioner for a fee of $5 and shall expire one year from the date
of issuance.

Subp. 2. Federal tax stamp. No application for permit shall be given consideration
unless the applicant has applied for and obtained the federal medicinal spirits tax
stamp.

Subp. 3. Confiscation. Alcoholic liquors containing more than 3.2 percent of
alcohol by weight in the possession of any pharmacists who do not have the required
permits issued by the commissioner, shall be subject to confiscation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.1310 PURCHASE REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACISTS.

Subpart 1. Permit. Pharmacists may obtain a permit from the commissioner as
provided in part 7515.0220, for the purchase of ethyl alcohol for the compounding of
medicines.

Subp. 2. Identification card. Pharmacists having a permit to sell medicinal liquors

" on prescription shall obtain from the commissioner a pharmacist’s identification card as

provided in part 7515.0210, subpart 3. Such cards shall be presented when purchasing
medicinal liquors from authorized sales representatives.

Subp. 3. Purchase from licensed dealers. Pharmacists shall purchase medicinal
liquor and ethyl alcohol only from duly licensed Minnesota manufacturers and whole-
sale distributors, and all such products shall remain in the original containers.

Subp. 4. Affidavit. In the purchase of ethyl alcohol for compounding of medicine
the permittee shall submit an affidavit in duplicate to the manufacturer or wholesale
distributor. Said affidavit shall state the permit number and that the alcohol shall be
used exclusively for the compounding of medicines.

Subp. 5. Invoices mailed to commissioner. Manufacturers and wholesale distribu-
tors selling medicinal liquors to pharmacists who hold a permit to sell such liquor on
prescription shall mail a copy of the invoice of each sale to the commissioner by the
tenth of the following month.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
7515.1320 PRESCRIPTIONS.

Subpart 1. One container only. No licensed pharmacist shall fill any prescription
for more than one container of medicinal liquor or ethyl alcohol, and such medicinal
liquors shall conform as nearly as possible with the standards and requirements of the
United States Pharmacopeia.

Subp. 2. Prescription label. Pharmacists filling prescriptions for medicinal liquor or
ethyl alcohol shall affix the prescription label on each container stating the prescription
number, the date, the patient’s and the doctor’s name, and the direction for use. The
corresponding prescription number shall be placed on the original prescription.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
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7515.1330 RECORDS.

Pharmacists licensed to sell medicinal liquor or alcohol, and alcohol for com-
pounding of medicines, shall maintain a complete record of all purchases made and
prescriptions filled, for inspection by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3
7515.1340 IRREGULARITIES IN STOCKS.

Subpart 1. Grounds for confiscation. Irregularities in stocks of medicinal liquor
and ethyl alcohol of pharmacists shall subject the permit to revocation and any
undeclared stocks of liquor shall be confiscated by the commissioner or authorized
agents.

Subp. 2. Grounds for revocation of permit. The concealment by any pharmacists or
employee of any medicinal liquor, ethyl alcohol, or records thereof, or the refusal to
assist authorized agents of the commissioner in the course of inspection of the
permittee’s premises shall be valid grounds for the revocation of the permit.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

History: 17 SR 1279
7515.1350 STORAGE AND DISPLAY.

Pharmacists shall keep stocks of medicinal liquors in the prescription room or
other places of storage in connection with the designated premises. Such liquors shall
not be displayed in any showcase of the store proper or its windows.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1360 SELLING OR LIQUIDATING BUSINESS.

Any pharmacist who shall sell or liquidate the business, or discontinue the permit,
shall submit to the commissioner a notarized inventory of the stock of medicinal liquors
and alcohol on hand, giving the brand names, the size and number of containers, the
name of the purchaser or other disposition, together with the permit and the
pharmacist’s identification card. In the event of sale or transfer, the transferor and the
transferee shall sign said inventory.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

ETHYL ALCOHOL

7515.1400 IMPORTATION FOR RESALE.

Minnesota Statutes, section 340.113 provides that ethyl alcohol for industrial and
nonindustrial purposes, as hereinafter defined, may be imported into the state by duly
licensed Minnesota manufacturers or wholesale distributors for resale to persons
holding permits issued by the commissioner to purchase such ethyl alcohol, or by
persons holding permits issued by the commissioner authorizing the importation of
ethyl alcohol as provided in parts 7515.0200 to 7515.0220. Such ethyl alcohol shall not
be subject to the Minnesota excise tax.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1410 IMPORTATION LIMITED.

The shipping of ethyl alcohol into the state shall be limited to distillers and
wholesale distributors holding import licenses issued by the commissioner, and such
persons in accepting orders for such products shall conform with part 7515.1470.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
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7515.1420 IMPORTER’S REPORT.

Distillers and wholesale distributors in other states and Minnesota manufacturers,
wholesale distributors, and common carriers shall report each shipment of ethyl alcohol
to the commissioner as provided by parts 7515.1460 and 7515.1470.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A4.02 subd 3

7515.1430 INDUSTRIAL PURCHASERS.
The following persons may purchase ethyl alcohol for industrial purposes in

containers of one gallon or more:

A. any state agency;

B. any scientific university or college of learning;

C. any laboratory, to be used exclusively for scientific research;

D. physicians, dentists, or veterinarians;

E. any duly licensed pharmacist or druggist, for the compounding of prescrip-
tions;

F. any hospital or sanatorium; and

G. any manufacturer, for the manufacture of medicinal, pharmaceutical. or
antiseptic products; flavoring extracts; syrups; food products; scientific. chemical,
mechanical, industrial, or toilet products; provided that such products are unfit for
beverage use.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1440 NONINDUSTRIAL PURCHASERS.

The following persons may purchase ethyl alcohol for nonindustrial purposes in
containers of not less than eight ounces:

A. any duly licensed pharmacist, or druggist, to be sold for medicinal purposes
on bona fide prescriptions by a physician, dentist, or veterinarian; and

B. any duly licensed manufacturer, for use in the rectifying or blending of
intoxicating liquor and wine.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1450 PURCHASERS; PHYSICIANS, DENTISTS, VETERINARIANS.

Physicians, dentists, and veterinarians holding permits issued by the commissioner
may purchase ethyl alcohol in quantities not to exceed two gallons per year from
licensed Minnesota manufacturers and wholesale distributors.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1460 AFFIDAVIT REQUIRED FOR SALE.

Manufacturers and wholesale distributors selling ethyl alcoho! to pharmacists or
druggists for the purpose of compounding medicines shall ascertain that each order is
accompanied by an affidavit in duplicate stating the intended use. One copy of the
affidavit shall be forwarded to the commissioner by the tenth of the following month.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3

7515.1470 PURCHASER’S AFFIDAVIT.

Subpart 1. Purchase from out-of-state dealers. Any person authorized to purchase
ethyl alcohol from out-of-state manufacturers or wholesale distributors shall submit to
the vendor an affidavit in duplicate stating the person’s name, the type of permit issued
by the commissioner, the permit number, and the permit’s date of expiration. One copy
of the affidavit shall be retained by the vendor, and one copy, together with manifests
in quadruplicate, shall be submitted to the commissioner at the time the shipment is
made.

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



MINNESOTA RULES 2001
75151470 LIQUOR 460

Subp. 2. Purchase from Minnesota dealers. Persons holding permits issued by the
commissioner for the purpose of ethyl alcohol for industrial and nonindustrial use from
Minnesota manufacturers or wholesale distributors shall execute an affidavit in dupli-
cate to that effect on a form prescribed by the commissioner and shall submit said
affidavit to the vendor at the time of purchase. A copy of said affidavit shall be
submitted to the commissioner by the vendor on or before the tenth day of the
following month, and one copy shall be retained by the vendor.

Subp. 3. Consignment and storage of ethyl alcohol. Permit holders shall direct
consignors to consign shipments of ethyl alcohol only to the designated address of the
permittees. The storage of such ethyl alcohol shall be confined within the premises in a
room or place inaccessible to unauthorized persons.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: 17 SR 1279

7515.1480 PERMIT HOLDER’S REPORT.

Permit holders shall report on form no. 27 all purchases of ethyl alcohol, the
amount used and the balance at the end of the year. Manufacturers and wholesale
distributors shall report the purchase and sales of ethyl alcohol on form no. 29.

Following is the form PS 9024, governing the format for brand owner or wholesale
price schedules.

PS 9024
MINNESOTA WHOLESALE PRICE FILING
Page No.
WHOLESALER
FOR MONTH OF.
CASE CASE CREDIT CASE
BRAND AND PROOF SIZE LIST DISC. TERMS NET

Statutory Authority: MS s 2994.02 subd 3
History: L 1998 ¢ 254 art 15 107
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