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5200.0010 PROOF OF MINOR'S AGE. 

Subpart 1. Requirement. Employers claiming an employee is under 18 must have 
his or her birthdate substantiated by a birth record or an age certificate issued by the 
local superintendent of schools, or a photocopy of the employee's driver's license, or a 
Minnesota identification card issued by the Department of Transportation included in 
the payroll records kept for the employee. Failure to provide proof of the ages of 
minors employed makes the employer liable for the adult minimum wage and other 
penalties imposed for failure to keep and maintain records related to the employment 
of minors. 

Subp. 2. Statutory requirement and criminal liability. The Child Labor Standards 
Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 181A.06, subdivision 1 provides as follows: 

"Every employer shall require proof of the age of any minor employee or 
prospective employee by requiring the minor to submit an age certificate, a copy of the 
minor's birth record, or a copy of the minor's driver's license. Upon the request of a 
minor, an age certificate shall be issued by or under the authority of the school 
superintendent of the district in which the applicant resides. Superintendents, princi­
pals, or headmasters of independent or parochial schools shall issue age certificates to 
minors who attend such schools." 

Minnesota Statutes, section 181A.12, subdivision 1: "Any employer who hinders or 
delays the department or its authorized representative in the performance of its duties 
under sections 181A.01 to 181 A. 12, or refuses to admit the commissioner or an 
authorized representative to any place of employment, or refuses to make certificates 
or lists available as required by sections 181A.01 to 181A.12, or otherwise violates any 
provisions of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12, or any regulations issued pursuant thereto 
shall, upon conviction therefor, be guilty of a gross misdemeanor." 

Minnesota Statutes, section 181 A. 12, subdivision 2: "Any other person violating 
any provision of sections 181A.01 to 181 A. 12 or any regulations issued pursuant thereto 
or assisting another in such violation is guilty of a misdemeanor." 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740; 17 SR 1279; L 20011SP9 art 15 s 32 

5200.0020 LEARNERS OR APPRENTICES. 

A learner is a student enrolled in a state-approved high school vocational on-the-
job training program in which supervision is provided by the school for the on-the-job 
experiences, a training plan is established for each individual student learner, and 
school credit is given for job experiences. For the first 300 hours of employment, the 
learner shall be paid at a rate of not less than the wage rate for minors. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0030 SUBMINIMUM WAGE RATES FOR HANDICAPPED WORKERS. 

Subpart 1. Permit required. Subminimum wage rates may be paid to handicapped 
workers only after receiving a permit from the Labor Standards Division. If no permit 
is issued, a worker, no matter how severely handicapped, shall be paid the minimum 
wage. The subminimum rate will be based on the extent to which the worker's 
performance is limited but in no case may it fall below 50 percent of minimum wage, 
except as provided under subpart 4. "Performance" is based on a time study of 
handicapped workers as compared to a time study of nonhandicapped workers on the 
same job. The time study must be conducted under the same working conditions for 
the handicapped and the nonhandicapped. 

Subp. 2. Limit on work force at subminimum wage. No profit-making organization 
may employ handicapped workers at a subminimum wage for more than ten percent of 
its total work force unless granted a special permit by the commissioner of labor and 
industry to exceed the ten percent limitation. 
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Subp. 3. Rehabilitation facilities. Rehabilitation facilities are excluded from the 
percentage limitations of numbers of employees and percentage of minimum wage 
contained in subparts 1 and 2, but not from the permit requirement. 

Subp. 4. United States labor permits. Permits issued by the United States 
Department of Labor under Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 524 or 525, 
authorizing subminimum wage rates shall be accepted by the division in lieu of the 
permit required in subpart 1. Where the worker would otherwise be employed in a 
rehabilitation facility, the commissioner of labor and industry may grant a special 
permit authorizing a wage rate of less than 50 percent of the minimum wage. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740; L 1988 c 689 art 2 s 268 

5200.0040 EQUAL PAY FOR HANDICAPPED WORKERS. 

Where a handicapped person is now performing or is being considered for 
employment where he or she will perform work which is equal to work performed by a 
nonhandicapped person, such handicapped person shall be paid the same wage as a 
nonhandicapped person with similar experiences. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0050 RATES FOR PART-TIME EMPLOYEES. 
Part-time employees may not be paid wages below the minimum rates established 

for adults and minors, except as provided for under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, 
subdivisions 11 and 12. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0060 MEAL ALLOWANCE. 

A meal allowance is credited toward the minimum wage only when the meal is 
furnished by the employer and accepted by the employee. The employer shall not 
require the employee to accept meals as a condition of employment. A meal is defined 
as an adequate portion of a variety of wholesome, nutritious foods and shall include at 
least one food from each of the following four groups: fruits or vegetables; cereals, 
bread, or potatoes; eggs, meat, or fish; milk, tea, or coffee; except that for breakfast, 
eggs, meat, or fish may be omitted if both cereal or bread are offered. The employer 
must keep a record of each meal accepted by the employee before any meal credit can 
be taken. 

Meals must be consistent with the employee's work shift. Meal periods of less than 
20 minutes may not be deducted from hours worked, nor may meal periods be 
deducted where the employee is not entirely free from work responsibility. 

The meal allowance is 60 percent of the adult minimum wage rate for one hour of 
work per meal. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0070 LODGING ALLOWANCE. 
Subpart 1. Conditions. If practical or economic realities of the employment 

situation require employees to accept lodging owned or controlled by the employer, or 
where the employee must accept that lodging as a condition of employment, the 
employer may credit toward the minimum wage the cost of the lodging only as 
provided in either subpart 2 or 3. 

Subp. 2. Daily allowance. A lodging allowance not to exceed 75 percent of the 
adult minimum wage for one hour of work may be taken per day if the lodging is 
adequate, decent, and sanitary according to usual and customary standards. 

Subp. 3. Fair market value. Lodging, the nature of which is ordinarily and 
commonly considered to be a tenancy in the chief place of residence of the employee, 
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shall be credited toward the minimum wage of that employee at the rate of the fair 
market value of the lodging. Where more than one employee shares the same 
residence, the lodging allowance for the total number of employees sharing the 
residence shall not exceed the fair market value of the residence. The tenancy shall be 
evidenced by a written or oral lease agreement providing for at least a month-to-month 
tenancy, and shall include exclusive, self-contained bathroom and kitchen facilities. 

Subp. 4. Seasonal employment. Where employment is available only on a seasonal 
basis, the maximum lodging credit will be as provided in subpart 2. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0080 GRATUITIES/TIPS CREDITS. 
Subpart 1. [Repealed, 11 SR 1740] 
Subp. 2. Statements required at audit time. The department in its investigations 

and audits shall require the employer to provide the signed tip statements at the time 
of its audit or no tip credit will be allowed. 

Subp. 3. Computation of tip credit. Tip credit is based on the amount of tips 
received and reported on signed statements by the employee divided by the number of 
hours worked in a given pay period and may not exceed the maximum credit set by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 177.28, subdivision 4. 

Subp. 4. Tip pooling or sharing of gratuities. Pooling or sharing of gratuities may 
not be a condition of employment. An indirect service employee who benefits because 
the recipient shares the gratuity with him or her shall not have the remuneration 
considered in the calculation of his or her wages. 

Subp. 4a. Obligatory charges. For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, 
subdivision 9, obligatory charges which might reasonably be construed by the guest, 
customer, or patron as a sum to be given to an employee as payment for personal 
services rendered, include, but are not limited to, service charges, tips, gratuities, and/or 
surcharges which are included in the statement of charges given to the customer. 

Subp. 4b. Clear and conspicuous notice. For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 177.23, subdivision 9, clear and conspicuous notice that the obligatory charge is 
not a gratuity is notice clearly printed, stamped, or written in bold type on the menu, 
placard, the front of the statement of charges, or other printed material given to the 
customer. Type which is at least 18 point (one-fourth inch) on the placard, or 9 point 
(one-eighth inch) or larger on all other notices is clear and conspicuous. 

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 11 SR 1740] 
Subp. 6. Direct service employee. A "direct service employee" is one who in a 

given situation performs direct service for a customer and is to be considered a tipped 
employee. An indirect service employee is a person who assists a direct service 
employee, these include, but are not limited to, bus people, dishwashers, cooks, or 
hosts. 

Subp. 7. Credit cards or charges. Gratuities presented to a direct service employee 
via inclusion on a charge or credit card shall be credited to that pay period in which 
they are received by the direct service employee and for which they appear on the 
direct service employee's tip statement. 

Where a tip is given by a customer through a credit or charge card, the full 
amount of tip must be allowed the direct service employee minus only the percentage 
deducted from the tip in the same ratio as the percentage deducted from the total bill 
by the service company. 

Subp. 8. Divided gratuities. When more than one direct service employee provides 
direct service to a customer or customers in a given situation such as banquets, cocktail 
and food service combinations, or other combinations, money presented by customers, 
guests, or patrons as a gratuity and divided among the direct service employees is not a 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.24, subdivision 3. 
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Subp. 9. [Repealed, 11 SR 1740] 
Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 

History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0090 DEDUCTIONS. 

Subpart 1. When prohibited. Deductions from the minimum wage, whether direct 
or indirect, may not be made for shortages in money receipts or merchandise, for the 
purchase or rental of uniforms or nonhome maintenance of uniforms, consumable 
supplies, travel expenses, for spoilage, for breakage or other damage, for cash shortages 
or losses resulting from omissions or other errors, for walkouts, bad checks, bad credit 
slips, missing guest checks, or robbery, or fines for disciplinary purposes. "Consumable 
supplies" means materials required to perform duties of employment that are used up 
in the course of employment. "Consumable supplies" may include, but are not limited 
to, materials used by cosmetologists in the care and beautification of the hair and body 
of customers, building and utility costs, office supplies, parts and materials used in 
manufacture or repair, and chemicals used in lawn care. "Travel expenses" means 
receipted out-of-pocket expenses for transportation, meals and lodging, or an agreed 
upon allowance, whichever is greater. 

Subp. 2. Indirect. An indirect deduction is any recoupment or payment received by 
an employer by methods other than payroll deductions, such as cash payments or 
endorsing over of checks, or the purchase or rental of any of the items listed in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 177.24, subdivision 4, by the employee directly from the 
supplier. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0100 EMPLOYER RECORDS. 

By definition, "hours worked each day" includes beginning and ending time of 
work each day, which shall include a.m. and p.m. designations, and such designations 
shall be included in the employer's records. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.30 

5200.0110 OTHER SPECIAL ITEMS. 

Other special items in a particular case which are not specifically outlined by law 
or rules shall be ruled on by the commissioner of labor and industry. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0120 HOURS WORKED. 

Subpart 1. General. The minimum wage must be paid for all hours worked. Hours 
worked include training time, call time, cleaning time, waiting time, or any other time 
when the employee must be either on the premises of the employer or involved in the 
performance of duties in connection with his or her employment or must remain on the 
premises until work is prepared or available. Rest periods of less than 20 minutes may 
not be deducted from total hours worked. 

Subp. 2. On-call time. An employee who is required to remain on the employer's 
premises or so close to the premises that the employee cannot use the time effectively 
for the employee's own purposes is working while on call. An employee who is not 
required to remain on or near the employer's premises, but is merely required to leave 
word at the employee's home or with company officials where the employee may be 
reached is not working while on call. 

Subp. 3. Off-duty. Periods when the employee is completely relieved of duty and 
free to leave the premises for a definite period of time, and the period is long enough 
for the employee to use for the employee's own purposes, are not hours worked. 
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Subp. 4. Meals. Bona fide meal periods are not hours worked. Bona fide meal 
periods do not include rest periods such as coffee breaks or time for snacks. The 
employee must be completely relieved from duty for the purpose of eating regular 
meals. Thirty minutes or more is ordinarily long enough for a bona fide meal period. A 
shorter period may be adequate under special conditions. The employee is not 
completely relieved from duty if required to perform any duties, whether active or 
inactive, while eating. It is not necessary that an employee be permitted to leave the 
premises, if the employee is otherwise completely freed from duties during the meal 
period. If the meal period is frequently interrupted by calls to duty, the employee is not 
relieved of all duties and the meal periods must be considered as hours worked. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0121 SLEEPING TIME AND CERTAIN OTHER ACTIVITIES. 

Subpart 1. Less than 24-hour duty. An employee who is required to be on duty for 
less than 24 hours is working even though the employee is permitted to sleep or engage 
in other personal activities when not busy except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 177.23, subdivision 11. 

Subp. 2. Duty of 24 hours or more. If an employee is required to be on duty for 24 
hours or more, the employer and the employee may agree to exclude bona fide meal 
periods and a bona fide regularly scheduled sleeping period of not more than eight 
hours from hours worked, provided adequate sleeping facilities are furnished by the 
employer and the employee can usually enjoy an uninterrupted sleeping period. If a 
sleeping period is of more than eight hours, only eight hours may be excluded. Where 
no expressed or implied agreement to the contrary is present, the lunch periods and up 
to eight hours of sleeping time constitute hours worked. 

If the sleeping period is interrupted by a call to duty, the interruption must be 
counted as hours worked. If the period is interrupted so that the employee cannot get a 
minimum of five hours of sleep, the entire period must be counted as hours worked. 

Subp. 3. Employees residing on employer's premises or working at home. An 
employee who resides on the employer's premises on a permanent basis or for 
extended periods of time is not considered as working all the time the employee is on 
the premises. Ordinarily, an employee may enjoy periods of complete freedom from all 
duties, during which the employee may engage in normal private pursuits. These free 
periods are not considered hours worked. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0130 REGULAR RATE OF PAY. 

In calculating overtime compensation due, the regular rate of pay is determined by 
dividing the employee's remuneration in any workweek by the total hours worked. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0140 EXCLUSIONS FROM WAGES. 

Payments which are not considered part of the employee's remuneration, for the 
purposes of calculating regular rate of pay, include: 

A. reimbursement for expenses incurred on the employer's behalf; 
B. premium payments for overtime work or work on Saturdays, Sundays, 

holidays, or scheduled days off, if the premium rate is at least 1-1/2 times the normal 
rate; 

C. bonuses given at the employer's discretion, as to both time and amount of 
payment; 

D. cash or other valuables in the nature of gifts on special occasions; 
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E. payments for occasional periods when no work is performed including but 
not limited to vacation, holiday, or illness; 

F. payments made pursuant to a bona fide profit-sharing plan or trust or bona 
fide thrift or savings plan, if amounts are determined without regard to production or 
efficiency; and 

G. contributions irrevocably made by an employer to a trustee or third person 
pursuant to a bona fide plan for providing old-age, retirement, life, accident, or health 
insurance or similar benefits for employees. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0150 OVERTIME PAY. 

Overtime pay shall be paid no later than the payday immediately following the 
regular payday for the pay period in which it was earned. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0160 EMPLOYER CREDITS. 

Credit granted the employer for such items as meals must be included in the 
employee's remuneration total. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0170 WORKWEEK. 
Subpart 1. Definition. The period of time used for determining compliance with 

the minimum wage rate, overtime compensation, and designation as a part-time 
employee is the workweek, which is defined as a fixed and regularly recurring period of 
168 hours, seven consecutive 24-hour periods. This is true whether the employee is paid 
on an hourly, piecework, commission, or any other basis. Once the workweek is 
established, it remains fixed, although it may be changed if the change is intended as 
permanent rather than as an evasion of the overtime provisions. If no workweek is 
designated, it shall follow the calendar week. 

The commissioner of labor and industry may upon receiving application made by 
an employer establish a different period of time to be used as workweek for purposes 
of this part. 

Subp. 2. Excessive workweeks. No employer shall be deemed to have violated 
Minnesota Statutes, section 177.25, subdivision 1 by employing any employee of a retail 
or service establishment for a workweek in excess of the applicable workweek specified 
therein, if: 

A. the regular rate of pay of such employee is in excess of 1-1/2 times the 
minimum hourly rate applicable to him or her under Minnesota Statutes, section 
177.24; and 

B. more than half the compensation for a representative period (not less than 
one month) represents commissions on goods or services. 

In determining the proportion of compensation representing commissions, all 
earnings resulting from the application of a bona fide commission rate shall be deemed 
commissions on goods or services without regard to whether the computed commis­
sions exceed the draw or guarantee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0180 EXECUTIVE, ADMINISTRATIVE, AND PROFESSIONAL PERSONNEL. 

Subpart 1. Duties determine status. The primary duties of the employee are 
determinative of his or her status under this exemption. Only where the employee's 
primary duties meet all the criteria under a particular test may the employer consider 
the employee to be exempt from the overtime wage provisions. 

Subp. 2. Definition of manage. For purposes of parts 5200.0180 to 5200.0210, the 
term "manage" means to control and direct the business operations of a given 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



5200.0180 WAGES AND LABOR 220 

enterprise, department, or branch establishment. Duties involved in managing must 
involve the making of decisions and the issuance of directions to other employees 
which involve skill and judgment. The term includes those employees that act primarily 
and principally in a directive capacity as opposed to those who primarily do the actual 
work. 

Subp. 3. Discretionary powers. The thrust of this criterion is to distinguish between 
those employees empowered to independently commit their employers on matters of 
importance and those employees who merely make day-to-day decisions which, al­
though necessary to the daily operations of the employer's business, are routine, or 
follow prescribed procedures, or involve a determination of whether specific standards 
are met, or are lacking in substantial importance to the employer's business as a whole. 
One test which should be utilized in determining whether an employee exercises 
discretionary powers is to ask whether the decisions being made involve a discretion as 
to company policy or procedure or commit the employer on matters of substantial 
importance. Mere recommendations with respect to policies and procedures are not 
sufficient unless it can be shown that the employer consistently accepted and followed 
those recommendations. 

Subp. 4. Sole charge. Only one employee per enterprise, department, or branch 
establishment may be considered to be in sole charge regardless of the number of work 
shifts per day. 

Subp. 5. Determination of exempt and nonexempt work. In determining exempt 
and nonexempt work under parts 5200.0180 to 5200.0210, work directly related to 
executive or administrative work may be included if the executive work which it relates 
to is actually performed by the employee. It is not sufficient to claim certain work is 
exempt where the executive or administrative function it might be directly related to is 
not performed by the employee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0190 EXECUTIVE TESTS. 

Subpart 1. Executive test I. Executive test I: 
A. receives at least S250 per week in salary; 
B. manages the enterprise by which the person is employed or a recognized 

department or subdivision thereof; and 
C. customarily directs the work of two or more other employees. 

Subp. 2. Executive test II. Executive test II: 
A. receives at least S155 per week in salary; 
B. manages and supervises a department of at least two other full-time people 

(a full-time employee is defined as one who works at least 35 hours in a workweek); 
C. has authority to hire or fire or suggest changes in employees' status; 
D. regularly exercises discretionary powers; and 
E. either: 

(1) devotes less than 20 percent of time worked, or 40 percent in retail or 
service establishments, to nonexempt work; 

(2) owns 20 percent or more of the business; or 
(3) has sole charge of an independent or branch establishment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.0200 ADMINISTRATIVE TESTS. 
Subpart 1. Administrative test I. Administrative test I: 

A. receives at least S250 per week in salary or fee; 
B. either performs office or nonmanual work directly related to management 

policies or general business operations, or performs functions in the administration of a 
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school system or subdivision thereof, in work directly relating to academic instruction; 
and 

C. regularly exercises discretion or independent judgment. 
Subp. 2. Administrative test II. Administrative test II: 

A. receives at least $155 per week in salary or fee; 
B. either performs office or nonmanual work directly related to business 

operations or management policies, or administers an educational system or subdivision 
thereof in work relating to academic instruction; 

C. regularly exercises discretion and independent judgment and makes impor­
tant decisions; 

D. either: 

(1) directly assists owner or bona fide executive or administrative employ­
ee; 

(2) performs supervised work only along lines requiring special training 
or experience; or 

(3) executes special assignments; and 
E. devotes less than 20 percent of time worked, or 40 percent in retail or 

service establishments, to nonexempt work. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0210 PROFESSIONAL TESTS. 

Subpart 1. Professional test I. Professional test I: 
A. receives at least S250 per week in salary or fee; 
B. either: 

(1) performs work requiring advanced knowledge in a field of science or 
learning; 

(2) performs work as a teacher in the activity of imparting knowledge; or 
(3) performs work requiring invention, imagination, or talent in a recog­

nized field of artistic endeavor; and 
C. consistently exercises discretion and judgment. 

Subp. 2. Professional test II. Professional test II: 
A. receives at least $170 per week in salary or fee; 
B. either: 

(1) performs work requiring advanced knowledge in a field of learning 
customarily acquired by prolonged specialized intellectual study, not a general aca­
demic education, an apprenticeship, or training in routine mental or physical processes; 

(2) performs original work dependent on the person's own creativeness in 
a recognized field of artistic endeavor; or 

(3) is a certified teacher working as such or recognized as such in the 
school system where the person works; 

C. consistently exercises judgment and discretion; 
D. performs predominantly intellectual work so varied that the output cannot 

be standardized by time necessary for accomplishment; and 
E. devotes less than 20 percent of the hours worked to activities not essential 

to the person's professional work. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.0211 SALARY. 

Subpart 1. Predetermined weekly wage. A salary is not an hourly rate. An 
employee is paid a salary if the employee, through agreement with an employer, is 
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guaranteed a predetermined wage for each workweek. An employee may still be 
salaried even if complete days absent are deducted from salary for reasons other than 
no work available. Should those deductions reduce the salary for the workweek below 
the minimum salary required by Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, 
clause (2), or parts 5200.0190 to 5200.0210, the employer will lose the exemption in 
that workweek. 

Subp. 2. Weeks of no work. Complete weeks in which an employee performs no 
work may be deducted from salary. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0220 OUTSIDE SALESPERSON. 

"Salesperson" is defined as one who makes sales of, or obtains orders or contracts 
for, materials, services, or the use of facilities for which payment will be made. 
Incidental deliveries, collections, and other nonsales or nonsolicitation work that is 
directly related to the primary sales duties shall be considered the work of a 
salesperson. An outside salesperson is hired for the express purpose of performing such 
duties away from the employer's place(s) of business and conducts no more than 20 
percent of sales on those premises. The hours of nonoutside sales work may not exceed 
20 percent of the hours worked by employees who are not outside salespersons. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0221 INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR. 

An independent contractor is not an employee. Parts 5224.0330 and 5224.0340 
shall be used to determine whether an employment relation exists, except that control 
of the method and manner of performance is not the most important factor. All factors 
must be weighed to determine whether the worker is economically dependent upon the 
business to which the worker provides services. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0230 GRATUITOUS SERVICE. 

Gratuitous service is voluntarily donated work performed by a person who receives 
for it no monetary compensation or other valuable consideration. The individual may 
be reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses needed to perform the services, but only if 
these expenses are itemized. The acceptance of an expense allowance (that is, a gross 
sum provided with no itemized list of expenses) makes the individual nonexempt. See 
Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (7). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.0240 NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION. 
"Nonprofit organization" is defined as a corporation, community chest, fund, or 

foundation, organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, 
literary, or educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children or 
animals, no part of the net earning of which inures to the benefit of any private 
shareholder or individual, and no substantial part of the activities of which is carrying 
on propaganda, or otherwise attempting to influence legislation. See Minnesota 
Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (7). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28 

5200.0241 STAFF MEMBER. 
For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (5), "staff 

member" means any employee who spends more than half of the employee's working 
hours in direct personal assistance and guidance to campers. "Staff member" does not 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



223 WAGES AND LABOR 5200.0262 

include a regular organizational noncamp employee who may be assigned temporarily 
to camp and does not include camp personnel hired primarily for the purpose of 
maintenance or kitchen chores. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0242 SEASONAL BASIS DEFINED. 

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, and part 
5200.0070, "seasonal" means no more than 30 weeks in any calendar year. Any part of 
a calendar week shall be counted as a week. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 77 SR 1740 

5200.0250 [Repealed, 11 SR 1740] 

5200.0251 PAYMENT OF BACK WAGES AND/OR GRATUITIES TO MISSING 
EMPLOYEES. 

Sums due to employees who cannot be located shall be reported as unclaimed 
property under Minnesota statutes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 77 SRI 740 

5200.0260 AGRICULTURE. 

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, "agriculture" 
means farming in all its branches and includes, but is not limited to. dairying, the field 
production, cultivation, growing, and harvesting of any agricultural or horticulture 
commodity, and the raising of livestock, bees, fur-bearing animals, and poultry. 
Agriculture includes repair, maintenance, and construction work incidental to such 
operation and the cleaning, processing, preservation, loading, and transporting to 
market or storage of the farmer's own agricultural products. Industrial operations and 
processes that are more akin to manufacturing than to agriculture are not included. It 
does not include greenhouse work. It does not extend to outside services hired by the 
farmer. It does not include services performed for others, including, but not limited to, 
boarding or training of animals, lawn care, or landscaping. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 77 57? 1740 

5200.0261 SPECIFIED DEFINED. 

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (1), the 
term "specified" shall be applied on a workweek-to-workweek basis and means all 
employees paid a salary where the employer has two or fewer employees paid a salary. 
Where employees paid a salary exceed two in any given workweek, the employer must 
designate in the payroll records which two are exempt and notify the employees 
concerned. The burden of proof will be on the employer should an employee claim 
nonnotification. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 77 57? 7740 

5200.0262 FARMING UNIT OR OPERATION. 

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (1), a 
"farming unit" is a legal entity engaged in agricultural activities as defined by part 
5200.0260. A farming operation is one or more commonly owned farming units in 
which employees and/or equipment is shared. No more than two workers may be 
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exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, clause (1), regardless 
of the number or location of the farming units that make up the farming operation. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0270 FAIR DEFINED. 

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 177.23, subdivision 7, a fair is an 
enterprise with or without payment of an admission fee that derives revenues principal­
ly from the sale of admission to events such as rides, sideshows, or exhibits. "Fair" 
includes amusement parks, carnivals, and circuses but does not include trade shows. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 177.28; 181A.12 
History: 11 SR 1740 

5200.0280 DISCRIMINATION AND TERMINATION. 

Subpart 1. Notice required. All employers must notify employees of their rights 
regarding termination under Minnesota Statutes, sections 181.931 to 181.935. 

Subp. 2. Form and time of notice. Notice is accomplished by posting summaries of 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 181.931 to 181.935 in a conspicuous and accessible place 
in or about the premises in which any employee works. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181.934 
History: 12 SR 2425 

APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS AND AGREEMENTS 

5200.0290 AUTHORITY, SCOPE, AND PURPOSE. 

Parts 5200.0290 to 5200.0420 are adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 
178.041, subdivisions 1 and 2. Their purpose is to provide procedures for the voluntary 
apprentice program administration. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 

History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0300 PROCEDURE FOR ESTABLISHING PROGRAMS. 

The procedure for establishing an approved apprenticeship program is as follows. 
The proposed program must be presented to the director of the Division of Voluntary 
Apprenticeship by the program sponsor in duplicate and must include a detailed job 
process for the occupation including the training standards, amount of time to be spent 
in each individual category of training, percentage of journeyman's wage rate to be paid 
the apprentice, graduated schedule of wage increases, and the journeyman's wage rate 
for the proposed occupation. If the program is approved by the director, a certificate of 
registration will be issued to the program sponsor. Within 90 days of the certificate 
being issued, the program sponsor must submit to the director of the Division of 
Voluntary Apprenticeship a copy of at least one apprenticeship agreement or the 
director may revoke the certificate of registration. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0310 MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS. 

The minimum training standards to be met in an apprenticeship agreement must 
be the standards for the apprenticeship program registered with the division but must 
be no less than the Minnesota minimum standards listed in part 5200.0320. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 
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5200.0320 MINNESOTA MINIMUM STANDARDS. 

Subpart 1. Definitions. When used in parts 5200.0290 to 5200.0420 the terms 
defined in this subpart have the meaning given them. 

A. "Employer" means the apprenticeship sponsor. (Employer, apprenticeship 
committee, association of employers, or organization of employees.) 

B. "Approval agency" or "registration agency" means the apprenticeship 
advisory council. 

C. "Apprenticeship agreement" means a written agreement on a form pre­
scribed by the commissioner between the employer and the apprentice, and, if the 
apprentice is a minor, his or her parent or guardian, and approved by the approval 
agency. The form can be obtained from the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship, 
Department of Labor and Industry, St. Paul, Minnesota. 

D. "Apprentice" means a person at least 16 years of age who has entered into 
an apprenticeship agreement with an employer, which apprenticeship agreement pro­
vides for not less than 2,000 hours of reasonably continuous employment for the 
apprentice and for his or her participation in an approved program of training through 
employment and through education in related and supplemental subjects. 

E. "Supervisor of apprentices" means the individual designated by the em­
ployer to perform the duties described in subpart 9. 

F. "Standards" means the Minnesota minimum standards of apprenticeship. 
Subp. 2. Policy. It must be the policy of the employer that all apprentices 

employed in a trade covered under parts 5200.0290 to 5200.0420 must be governed by 
the terms of these standards and by the Minnesota voluntary apprenticeship law; and 
that the recruitment, selection, employment, and training of apprentices during their 
apprenticeship, must be without discrimination because of race, color, religion, national 
origin, or sex. The employer will take affirmative action to provide equal opportunity in 
apprenticeship and will operate the apprenticeship program as required under Code of 
Federal Regulations, title 29, part 30, and under the Minnesota plan for equal 
employment opportunity in apprenticeship. 

Subp. 3. Qualifications of apprentices. Applicants for apprenticeship must be at 
least 16 years of age and must be physically qualified to perform the manual work of 
the trade. 

Subp. 4. Apprenticeship agreement. The apprentice (and if a minor, his or her 
parent or guardian) shall sign the properly filled out apprenticeship agreement, which 
agreement must also be signed by the employer and submitted for approval to the 
approval agency. The apprenticeship agreement must contain a clause making these 
standards a part of the agreement. 

The approval agency must furnish approved copies of the agreement to: 
A. the apprentice; 
B. the employer; and 
C. other interested organizations or agencies as required. 

Subp. 5. Term of apprenticeship. The term of apprenticeship must be designated 
in hours, months, or years for the individual trades included in these standards. For 
each trade to be included, a job process schedule including the total training term 
applicable must be attached to the standards registered with the division. 

Subp. 6. Credit for previous experience. Credit may be awarded for previous 
experience and/or training which is applicable to training program requirements. If 
credit is awarded, the apprentice shall be advanced in the graduated wage schedule 
accordingly. 

Subp. 7. Probationary period. An apprentice under these standards shall be subject 
to a probationary period of not more than 500 hours of employment and instruction 
extending over not more than four months. During that period the apprenticeship 
agreement will be terminated by the director of the Division of Voluntary Apprentice­
ship at the request in writing of either party. After the probationary period the 
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apprenticeship agreement may be terminated by the director, by mutual agreement of 
all parties thereto, or canceled by the director for good and sufficient reason, including 
violation of minimum standards. 

Subp. 8. Responsibilities of apprentice. Apprentices employed under these stan­
dards shall agree to be punctual and regular in attendance, and to endeavor to the best 
of their ability to perfect the required skills in the chosen craft. 

Subp. 9. Supervision of apprentices. The employer shall designate a qualified 
individual as supervisor of apprentices who shall: 

A. maintain an adequate record of progress in training each apprentice; 
B. be responsible for assuring that the requirements of the applicable training 

program are met during the prescribed training term; and 
C. perform other duties as may be assigned by the employer relative to the 

development and operation of an effective program of apprenticeship. 

Subp. 10. Schedule of work processes and wage schedule. The apprentice must be 
given work experience and instruction according to the applicable job processes 
schedule in the apprenticeship program registered with the division which must be 
attached to the apprenticeship agreement. Training experience need not be in the exact 
order as listed in the schedule. Eighty percent adherence to the schedule will be 
considered adequate provided the full training term is accounted for. The job process 
schedule must provide for a minimum of 50 hours per year of training in safe work 
practices. For each job title there must be a minimum graduated wage schedule in the 
apprenticeship agreement which must be in percentages of journeyman wage and rate 
per hour. 

Subp. 11. Related instruction. During each year of the apprenticeship term, a 
minimum of 144 hours of related instruction is required. Failure on the part of the 
apprentice to fulfill his or her related instruction requirement will be sufficient cause 
for cancellation of the apprenticeship agreement. 

Subp. 12. Hours of work. Working hours for apprentices must be the same as for 
journeymen in the trade. Time spent in related instruction cannot be considered as 
hours of work as required by the job process schedule. 

Subp. 13. Certificate of completion of apprenticeship. Upon successful completion 
of the apprenticeship term and related training requirements, and upon appropriate 
recommendation by the employer, the approval agency must issue to the apprentice a 
certificate of completion of apprenticeship. 

Subp. 14. Modification of program. Details of a program may be modified from 
time to time subject to approval by the director. Any modification cannot, at the time 
of modification, affect apprenticeship agreements then in effect without the consent of 
the parties to the agreement. The employer may withdraw from the program by 
submitting a written request to the approval agency. The approval agency may cancel 
the standards of apprenticeship for good and sufficient reason, including violation of 
the Minnesota minimum standards in part 5200.0320. 

Subp. 15. Compliance with Minnesota plan for equal employment opportunity in 
apprenticeship. The provisions of the apprenticeship program must comply with part 
5200.0370 and must include an approved equal opportunity pledge. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0330 CANCELLATION OF APPRENTICESHIP AGREEMENT. 

The apprenticeship agreement may be canceled by the director of apprenticeship 
for failure to comply with training requirements. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 
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5200.0340 APPROVAL OF APPRENTICESHIP AGREEMENTS. 

All apprenticeship agreements must be submitted to the Division of Voluntary 
Apprenticeship for approval. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0350 DUTIES OF SPONSORS. 

It shall be the sponsor's obligation to: 
A. Prepare the apprenticeship program for submission to the Division of 

Voluntary Apprenticeship. 
B. Prepare apprenticeship agreements. All sponsors shall use the state of 

approved apprenticeship agreement form. 
C. Each program operating under an apprenticeship committee pursuant to 

Minnesota Statutes, section 178.05, must in its standards provide for a tie-breaking 
procedure so it will be able to reach a majority decision. 

D. Submit two copies of a safety program providing for a minimum of 50 
hours per year for safety training of apprentices. Any request for variance from this 
part must be presented in writing and approved by the director of the Division of 
Voluntary Apprenticeship. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0360 TERMINATION, CANCELLATION, OR TRANSFER OF AGREEMENTS. 

Subpart 1. Written notice. The Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship must be 
notified in writing by the sponsor of all terminations, cancellations, or transfer of 
apprenticeship agreements. 

Subp. 2. Director's approval required. All terminations, cancellations, and trans­
fers shall be approved by the director of the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship. The 
director shall notify the sponsor and all other concerned parties in writing. 

Subp. 3. Appeals. Any decision to terminate, cancel, or transfer an agreement by 
the director may be appealed under the Voluntary Apprenticeship Law, Minnesota 
Statutes, section 178.09. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0370 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY FOR APPRENTICES. 

Requirements of program sponsors under the Minnesota plan for equal employ­
ment opportunity in apprenticeship and Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 30 
are as follows: 

A. Programs with fewer than five apprentices must submit the following: two 
copies of the proposed program, and include in its standards the approved equal 
opportunity pledge. 

B. Programs with five or more apprentices must submit the following: two 
copies of the proposed program, including in its standards the approved equal 
opportunity pledge and a written affirmative action plan adopting one of the following 
four approved selection procedures under the Minnesota plan for equal employment in 
apprenticeship: 

(1) selection on basis of rank from pool of eligible applicants; 
(2) random selection from pool of eligible applicants; 
(3) selection from pool of current employees; or 
(4) alternative selection methods. 
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C. Requirements for program reciprocity under the Minnesota plan for equal 
employment opportunity in Apprenticeship and Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, 
part 30, are as follows: 

(1) The sponsoring entity must operate a multistate program and not be 
in the building construction industry. 

(2) The applicant shall offer evidence that the program meets the 
requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 30, in some other state. A 
certificate of registration is adequate evidence. 

(3) A presentation of a request for reciprocity must be made to the 
Minnesota apprenticeship advisory council in writing for information purposes and for 
the council's advice on the request. 

(4) The requesting party must offer proof which indicates that all 
apprentices will receive not less than 50 hours per year of safety training under the 
program being registered in this state. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0380 COMPLAINTS OF DISCRIMINATION. 

Subpart 1. Right to complain. Any apprentices or applicants for apprenticeship 
who believes that they have been discriminated against on the basis of race, color, 
religion, national origin, or sex with regard to apprenticeship or that the equal 
opportunity standards in respect to their selection have not been followed in the 
operation of an apprenticeship program may file a complaint. The complaint must be 
in writing and must be signed by the complainant. It must include the name, address, 
and telephone number of the person allegedly discriminated against, the program 
sponsor involved, and a description of the circumstances of the failure to apply the 
equal opportunity standards. 

Subp. 2. Filing date. The complaint must be filed no later than 90 days from the 
date of the alleged discrimination. 

Subp. 3. Referral of complaint. In the case of review boards designated by program 
sponsors to review complaints, the referral of the complaint by the complainant to the 
agency must occur within 90 days or 30 days after the final decision of the review 
board, whichever is later. 

Subp. 4. Compliance reviews. Where no review board exists, the apprenticeship 
agency may conduct compliance reviews as found necessary in order to make a 
determination of facts relating to compliance with the equal employment opportunity 
plan. 

Subp. 5. Legal action against program. The apprenticeship agency may, as a result 
of a compliance review or other reason, deregister the program or refer the matter to 
the United States attorney general with recommendations for the institution of a court 
action under Title 7 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0390 DETERMINATION OF APPRENTICE WAGES. 

Subpart 1. Procedure. Determination of the graduated schedule of wages for an 
apprenticeship agreement will be determined by the percentage rate used in the 
majority of individual apprenticeship agreements on file with the Division of Voluntary 
Apprenticeship in any particular trade. The beginning rate must be at least the federal 
or state minimum wage rate, whichever is higher. 

Subp. 2. Journeyman wage rate. The journeyman wage rate for apprenticeship 
agreements where no bargaining agreement exists shall be determined by counties, for 
all trades. If there is either a state or federal prevailing wage determination or 
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apprenticeship agreement for a trade, the most current rate of the determination or 
agreement must be used as the journeyman wage rate. 

Subp. 3. Exceptions. The only exceptions to this part are programs in penal 
institutions including stipends paid by the Department of Corrections. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 

History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0400 APPRENTICESHIP COMMITTEE RULES. 

Adoption of apprenticeship committee rules or changes must be submitted to the 
director of the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship in writing for approval. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 

History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0410 CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION. 

Subpart 1. Signature. The completion certificate is the standard approved state 
certificate. This certificate must be signed by the commissioner of labor and industry, 
director of apprenticeship, a representative of the local joint apprenticeship committee, 
the employer, and representative from the union if a bargaining agreement exists. For 
those trades for which a state license is issued by a state licensing authority, issuance of 
the certificate of completion of apprenticeship is conditioned on the apprentice having 
secured the appropriate license and is a part of the registered standards for licensed 
trades. 

Subp. 2. Written request from sponsor. Before any certificate of completion is 
issued, the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship must receive a request in writing from 
the sponsor. If the employer does not request the completion certificate or refuses to 
sign a certificate, the director of the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship, after 
investigating the circumstances, shall issue the certificate without the employer's 
request or signature, providing the apprentice has fully completed the program in 
compliance with the terms of the apprenticeship agreement. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 

History: 9 SR 2008 

5200.0420 MAINTENANCE OF RECORDS. 

Subpart 1. Advisory council's duty. Minnesota apprenticeship advisory council 
business and records are kept by the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship for the 
council. 

Subp. 2. Sponsor's duty. Sponsors shall keep and maintain records of progress as 
required by the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship on record cards furnished by the 
sponsor or standard progress record cards furnished by the state, on an ongoing basis 
from the start to the completion of an apprenticeship. These progress records must be 
kept on the sponsor's premises and must be accessible to all authorized personnel of 
the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship. The definition of sponsor is the employer, 
association of employers, organization of employees, apprenticeship coordinator, or 
individual representing the joint apprenticeship committee. The Division of Voluntary 
Apprenticeship must be notified of the current address where records are kept and the 
person responsible for the records. 

Subp. 3. Retention and availability of records. Under the state of Minnesota plan 
for equal employment opportunity in apprenticeship, it is the obligation of the sponsor 
to keep records as required by the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship pertaining to 
individual applicants for apprenticeship whether selected or rejected, for five years and 
be made available upon request to authorized personnel of the Division of Voluntary 
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Apprenticeship. These records pertaining to applicants must be maintained in a 
manner that permits identification of minority and female participants. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 178.041 
History: 9 SR 2008 

FEE EMPLOYMENT AGENCIES 

5200.0500 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For purposes of those provisions of law relating to fee 
employment agencies including Minnesota Statutes, sections 184.21 to 184.40 the 
following terms shall have the meaning given to them. 

Subp. 2. Accept. "Accept" means that the applicant has agreed with the employer 
on a specific position, wages, hours, working conditions, and a specific starting date, 
and has signed an acceptance form in which the agency has designated the terms of the 
acceptance. The applicant may withdraw the acceptance provided that the applicant did 
not actually start the job. 

Subp. 3. Fee status. "Fee status" is the designation on the job order which 
describes the fee liability. The designated fee status for job listing services shall be 
limited to concurrent fee arrangement. The designated fee status for liability for 
placement shall be limited to one of the following terms: 

A. "Fee paid" or "employer-paid fee" means that the employer has agreed to 
pay the entire fee directly to the agency. 

B. "Fee reimbursed" means that the applicant shall pay the fee to the agency 
and shall subsequently be paid back by the employer. If reimbursement is to be only 
partial, it must be so specified. 

C. "Split fee" means that the applicant and employer shall each pay a 
specified proportion of the fee to the agency. 

D. "Applicant-paid fee" means that the entire fee shall be the responsibility of 
the applicant. 

E. "Fee negotiable" means that the employer and the applicant will confer to 
settle the matter of fee responsibility prior to the acceptance of a job. 

F. "Conditional fee paid" means that the employer has agreed to pay the fee 
but will require a separate fee liability agreement with the applicant. 

Subp. 4. Method of payment. "Method of payment" means the specific procedure 
for paying the agency's placement fee after the placement is made. Method of payment 
must be stated in boldface type on the contract and be consistent with the disclosure 
requirements of the federal Truth-In-Lending Act, regulation Z. 

Subp. 5. Misconduct. "Misconduct" is defined as a willful action involving assault 
and battery, an immoral act, the malicious destruction of property, the theft of money 
or property, or other conduct which markedly interferes with and adversely affects the 
individual's employment. The following also constitutes misconduct: 

A. excessive absenteeism; 
B. excessive tardiness; 
C. refusal to comply with orders of superiors; 
D. violation of known and acknowledged company rules; 
E. falsification of records; 
F. drinking on the job; and 

G. sleeping on the job. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
. History: 13 SR 2868 
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5200.0510 LICENSE REQUIREMENT. 

An employment agency license shall be obtained by any individual or entity whose 
agents physically operate in Minnesota as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 
184.2], subdivision 2, irrespective of whether such operations are on a short-term or a 
transient basis. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0520 EXAMINATION BY DEPARTMENT. 

The department shall examine the recruitment, search, counseling, and/or place­
ment activities of a business in order to determine whether an employment agent's 
license shall be obtained. After considering its findings and any recommendations of 
the Employment Agency Advisory Council, the department shall decide whether an 
employment agency license shall be required. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0530 LICENSE APPLICATION FORMS. 

Application for an employment agency license shall be on forms approved and 
supplied by the department. Bonds shall be on forms approved and supplied by the 
department. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0540 AGENCY NAME. 

Only one name may be used per agency license. This will not prohibit an agency 
from applying for more than one license per location. Each application must be 
accompanied by the appropriate bond and fees. A corporation may operate and do 
business only under its corporate name. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0550 AGENCY LICENSE. 

An agency shall not commence operations until a license has been formally issued 
by the department. Existing agencies applying for an additional license are not exempt 
from this provision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0560 TEMPORARY HELP SERVICES. 

An organization that hires persons to work in temporary positions for employers 
who are clients of that organization is a temporary help service. If at any time a fee, 
other than liquidated damages due under an agreement between the service and the 
company, is charged by such organization for the permanent placement of individuals, 
then that organization is operating as a fee employment agency and shall be licensed as 
such. 

Statutory' Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0570 LICENSE ENDORSEMENT. 

An employment agent shall return to the department within five calendar days the 
license of any manager or counselor who leaves the employ of that agent. An 
employment agent requesting consent to change the name or address provided on the 
license shall return the license to the department for endorsement no less than ten 
calendar days prior to the requested date of change, along with a new bond or bond 
rider covering the change. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
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5200.0580 CONTRACT AND ACCEPTANCE FORMS. 

Contract and acceptance forms shall contain uniform provisions and shall follow 
standards adopted by the department. All contracts shall be printed on letter size 
paper, 8-1/2 x 11, in eight-point type size or larger. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0590 STANDARD CONTRACT LANGUAGE. 

It shall be provided in bold face type: 
A. At the top of all contracts "Legal Contract - Read and Understand." 
B. On all contracts and acceptance forms that "All agreements and contracts 

are subject to the rules of the Department of Labor and Industry and the laws of the 
State of Minnesota." 

C. Directly above the signature line on all contracts "I have read and 
understand the above contract. I have discussed this contract with a representative of 
the agency and have received a duplicate." 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0600 FEE INFORMATION ON CONTRACTS. 

Subpart 1. Job placement. Applicant contracts with employment agencies engaged 
in the placement of applicants shall contain all of the following statements unless 
language less restrictive to the applicant is approved by the department: 

A. "I understand that a fee shall be due if I accept the position I am referred 
to or any position the employer offers me within 90 calendar days of the last contact 
between the agency and the company in reference to me. The fee shall be based on the 
position accepted. The agency shall inform me of all contacts made subsequent to my 
interviews with the employer." 

B. "I understand that if an employer I am referred to sends me to another 
employer, whose job I accept, a fee is due." 

C. "I understand that only one fee is payable for a position. If I am referred 
to the same position by two agencies, the fee shall be due the agent who first described 
the specific opening and gave the name of the employer, provided the interview with 
the employer is arranged by the agent within ten calendar days and is subsequently 
consummated." 

D. "I understand that if the agency sends an employer my resume and I 
contact that employer on my own before being notified of the agency contact, I am not 
obligated to the agency for a fee unless I specifically request that the agency pursue this 
particular contact." 

Where the applicant undertakes no fee liability of any nature, the contract, as an 
alternative to items A to D, may read: "I understand that I am not liable for any fee 
and that compensation to the agency is to be settled between the employer and the 
agency." 

Subp. 2. Job listing. Applicant contracts with job listing services shall contain the 
following statement: "I understand that a fee shall be due the job listing service at the 
time of contractual arrangements. No other fee shall be collected for services rendered, 
provided that fees for job placement may be charged and the fee arrangement for 
placement shall be contained in a separate contract." 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 subd 1 
History: 13 SR 2868 

5200.0610 ACCEPTANCE FORM STANDARDS. 

The acceptance form, with employment agencies engaged in placement activities, 
to be signed by the applicant shall contain the following information: 

A. title of job accepted; 
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B. company name and address; 
C. salary; 
D. hours; 
E. job description; 
F. training to be received if a trainee position; 
G. starting date; 
H. acceptance date; 
I. name of counselor making placement; 
J. job order number referred on; and 
K. fee status, including description of: 

(1) exact fee arrangements for fee reimbursed or split fee position; 
(2) the amount of the fee; 
(3) the percentage rate according to the fee schedule; and 
(4) the carrying charges or interest, if applicable. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
History: 13 SR 2868 

5200.0620 FEE DETERMINATION. 
The following terms and methods shall be used in determining amount of fee due: 

A. "One month's wages" or "salaries" or "earnings," when used to determine 
an agency's fees, means 4-1/3 weeks gross income minus overtime income, tips or 
gratuities, traveling expense, and other expense actually incurred in producing income. 

B. A fee based on an annual salary is to be calculated upon the first month's 
(4-1/3 weeks) salary times 12. A fee based on a monthly salary is to be calculated only 
on the first month's salary. 

C. For positions where income is based totally or partially on commissions or 
bonuses, the agent may assess a fee based on a reasonable estimate of the applicant's 
expected first year's earnings. If employment is terminated for any reason prior to the 
end of the first year, the fee shall be recomputed at the rate applicable to the actual 
gross earnings as listed on the agent's fee schedule. 

D. A fee shall be based on salary received for only the first 40 hours per week 
of employment. Executive, administrative, and professional positions as defined by 
rules issued pursuant to the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act, Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 177, parts 5200.0180 to 5200.0210 are excluded from this provision. 

E. A fee based on a concurrent fee arrangement shall be uniform for all 
applicants serviced. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
History: 13 SR 2868 

5200.0630 FEE DEDUCTED FROM SALARY. 
No employment contract shall authorize the employer to deduct from the salary of 

the applicant any installments of the fee. An authorization for deductions from the 
applicant's salary shall be a separate and distinct agreement. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0640 LIABILITY FOR MISREPRESENTATION. 

An applicant shall not be liable for the agency fee if there is a misrepresentation of 
any material factor by the employer or by the agency. An applicant is not released from 
the liability for the fee if the job is retained. A material factor is one which constitutes 
substantially and mainly whether a job would have been accepted if that factor was 
lacking or was different than stated. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
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5200.0650 REFUNDS. 

When a job which is presumed permanent becomes temporary, any refund due the 
applicant shall be remitted within five calendar days. The moneys shall not be retained 
by the agency in the anticipation of finding another job for the applicant. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0660 FEE PAID LIABILITY. 

No contract shall provide that an applicant who has accepted a fee paid job is 
obligated to terminate that position or accept the fee liability if the agency is unable to 
collect the fee from the employer. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0670 TWO REFERRALS TO SAME EMPLOYER. 

When an applicant is referred to an employer for a position to which he or she is 
not employed, and another agent refers the same applicant to the same employer for 
another position to which he or she is employed, the fee is payable to the second agent. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0680 COLLECTION OF FEE FROM APPLICANT. 

No fee or portion of a fee except a concurrent fee arrangement shall be collected 
from an applicant before the actual start date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 subd 1 
History: 13 SR 2868 

5200.0690 FEE LIABILITY ON EMPLOYER REFUNDS. 

An agency may not demand any money from an applicant on a fee paid or split fee 
position after 90 calendar days of employment because of refunds to the employer. 
Fees may be charged (because of refunds to the employer) to applicants who 
voluntarily leave or are terminated due to misconduct within 90 calendar days of 
employment on a fee paid or split fee position, provided the applicant contract fully 
explains the nature of the potential liability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0700 JOB ORDER FORM. 
The following information must be contained on the job order form for each bona 

fide job order: 
A. A sequential job order number. Each job order shall have its own number, 

which is to be included in any advertisement for that job. The word "job" and symbol 
" # " must precede the job order number in a written advertisement. Advertising via 
other media, including telephone answering devices shall indicate appropriate job order 
numbers. Any simple system involving letters and numbers may be used, providing it 
allows rapid retrieval of the job order in question. 

B. Date order received. A "standing job order" shall be reaffirmed with the 
employer on a monthly basis. 

C. Person who received order. 
D. Method by which order received. This includes phone, mail, face-to-face, 

or other method. 
E. Job title. The title used by the employer is considered the job title. 
F. Job description, containing primary duties. 
G. Company name. 
H. Company address. 
I. Company phone number. 
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J. Contact person(s), including name of person who gave the order and person 
to contact for interview. 

K. Minimum starting salary. 
L. Maximum starting salary. 
M. Benefits offered. 
N. Skills required. 
O. Educational requirements. 
P. Type and amount of experience required. 
Q. Days and hours of work, including shifts. 
R. Special posthire training, if any. This relates to any promises concerning 

training to be received by the applicant as a new employee. The nature of the various 
training areas must be specified. 

S. Job availability date. 
T. Fee status. One of the following terms shall be used to indicate the fee 

status for placement: 

(1) fee paid or employer-paid fee; 
(2) fee reimbursed; 
(3) split fee; 
(4) applicant-paid fee; 
(5) fee negotiable; or 
(6) conditional fee paid. 

U. The term "concurrent fee" shall be used to indicate the fee status for job 
listing services only. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
History: 13 SR 2868 

5200.0710 EXPERTS AS REPRESENTATIVES OF EMPLOYERS. 

When an employer requests an expert in an occupation to suggest suitable persons 
for employment and the expert requests an employment agent to refer applicants for 
such a position, the expert shall be deemed the representative of the employer and the 
request to the employment agent is considered a bona fide job order from the 
employer. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0720 COPY OF RULES AND LAW FOR MANAGER AND COUNSELORS. 

No employment agency owner shall fail to provide the manager and counselors 
with a copy of the employment agency law and the published rules currently in force. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0730 CONTRACT REQUIREMENT. 

A contract is required between the applicant and the agency whether the fee is 
paid by the employer or by the applicant. The applicant shall be given a duplicate of all 
agreements between the applicant and the agency, including the contract and accep­
tance form. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0740 SEPARATE AGREEMENT WITH EMPLOYER. 

An agent may negotiate a separate agreement with an employer for special 
services regarding recruitment, search, screening, referral, and placement, provided that 
the separate agreement does not violate the law or these rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
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5200.0750 DISPLAY OF LICENSES. 

Each manager or counselor license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place on or 
near the individual's desk. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0760 USE OF NAME OTHER THAN THAT ON LICENSE. 

No employment agency, manager, or counselor shall use any name in the conduct 
of business or advertising other than that name which appears on the license. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0770 ADVERTISING. 

Every ad for a job opening which is placed with a newspaper or other advertising 
medium shall be checked by the employment agency with the employer when placed to 
ascertain that the job order is current and unchanged. Any knowledge received before 
the last cancellation time that the job is no longer available or is changed in nature 
shall be reflected in the ad. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0780 PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES IN CONNECTION WITH AN AGENCY. 

An employment agency shall not be conducted in connection with any other 
activity in which a charge is made to the applicant for personal service, except 
vocational training schools licensed or accredited by the Department of Children, 
Families, and Learning. This part does not prevent the separate operation of a 
temporary help service at the same office or an office adjacent to a licensed employ­
ment agency, provided that any permanent placement activities are conducted by an 
employment agent licensed in accordance with the law and these rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 
History: L 1995 lSp3 art 16 s 13 

5200.0790 REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR THE DEPARTMENT. 
Information which is needed to administer the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 

chapters 175 and 184 shall be furnished the department upon its request. A request for 
information shall state the need for such information. Each agency shall, within ten 
calendar days, supply the requested information or file a written statement explaining 
why it is not submitting the information. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0800 ANNUAL RECORD OF SERVICE REPORT. 

Subpart 1. Job placement. A record of service shall be maintained in a separate 
ledger in the office of each employment agency for a period of three years and shall 
contain the information required by Minnesota Statutes, section 184.38, subdivision 5. 
Each agency shall submit annually to the department with its agency license renewal 
application, a summary of the above record which contains the following information 
for the preceding year: 

A. total applicants placed; 
B. total annual salaries of placements; and 
C. total amount of fees collected. 

The individual summary shall be used solely for compilation of statistical data for 
the employment industry as a whole. 

The summary shall be submitted on a form provided by the department which 
shall make provision for its protection from usage inconsistent with its purpose. 

Subp. 2. Job listing. Job listing service record of service report shall include: 
A. total applicants serviced; and 
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B. total amount of fees collected. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 subd 1 
History: 13 SR 2868 

CONTESTED CASES 

5200.0810 INITIATION OF CONTESTED CASE. 

Subpart 1. Right to complaint. Any person authorized by law to submit to the 
department a complaint that his or her individual rights or privileges are being denied 
or that duties owed are being defaulted upon may initiate a contested case by filing a 
complaint. 

Subp. 2. Contents of complaint. A complaint shall contain: 
A. name and address of the complainant; 
B. name and address of those against whom the complaint is made; 
C. relief sought and grounds therefor; and 
D. signature of the complainant or the complainant's attorney. 

Subp. 3. Order to commence contested case. The department may order a 
contested case commenced to determine the rights, duties, and privileges of specific 
parties. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0820 SERVICE OF DOCUMENT OF INITIATION AND NOTICE. 
Within ten days following receipt of the complaint or adoption of the order 

initiating the contested case, the department shall serve all known parties a copy of the 
document of initiation and a notice stating: 

A. commencement of the contested case; 
B. time and place of the prehearing conference, if any; 
C. the purpose of the prehearing conference; 
D. name of the hearing officer; 
E. rights of the parties to counsel and to a formal hearing; and 
F. that failure to attend may prejudice the party's right in this and subsequent 

proceedings. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0830 ANSWER TO INITIATING COMPLAINT. 
Within 20 days after service of the complaint, excluding the day of service, an 

adverse party may interpose an answer to the initiating complaint or order. A copy of 
such answer shall be served on all parties to the contested case. The original together 
with an attached affidavit of service shall be filed with the department within five days 
after service is completed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0840 NOTICE OF HEARING. 
Not less than 30 days prior to the hearing date, the department shall serve a notice 

of hearing on all parties to the case. Such notice shall contain: time and place of the 
hearing, the purpose and procedure for the hearing, the issues to be determined, and 
the name of the hearing officer who will preside. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

5200.0850 STATUTORY PARTY RIGHTS. 
Parties to a contested case shall have all rights under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 

14 and 184. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 184.24 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



5200.0900 WAGES AND LABOR 238 

CHILD LABOR STANDARDS 

5200.0900 DEFINITION OF HOME CHORE. 

"Home chore" is work usual to the home of the employer. Work performed in 
connection with or as part of the business, trade, or profession of the employer is not a 
home chore. Home chores are all those variable tasks normal to the running of a 
household and include but are not limited to mowing lawns, raking leaves, removing 
snow, light housekeeping, washing clothes or dishes, vacuuming, cleaning yards, and 
preparing food. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 

5200.0910 PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENTS OF MINORS UNDER 18 YEARS OLD. 

No minor under the age of 18 shall be employed: 
A. In or about a place of employment where chemicals, compounds, dusts, 

fumes, vapors, gases, or radioactive materials, or other substances are present at 
excessive temperatures or in injurious, explosive, toxic, or flammable quantities. Minors 
employed in retail stores, service stations, and automobile service garages are not 
covered by this prohibition. 

B. In or about any place where explosives or pyrotechnics are manufactured, 
stored, handled, or fired. 

C. In or about logging or lumbering operations and paper mills. 
D. In or about sawmills, lath mills, shingle mills, or cooperage stock manufac­

turing plants. 
E. In or about mines, quarries, and sand or gravel pits. 
F. In or about construction or building projects. 
G. In or about ice harvesting operations. 
H. On boats or vessels used for commercial purposes. Minors performing 

guide or other nonoperational services are not covered by this prohibition. 
I. To operate or to assist in the operation of power-driven machinery, 

including but not limited to: industrial trucks (forklifts); meat saws and meat grinders; 
milling machines; punch presses, press brakes, and shears; and woodworking machinery 
such as circular saws, radial saws, jointers, and shaping machines. 

J. To operate any nonautomatic elevator, lift, or hoisting machine. 
K. To drive motor vehicles, except as follows: 

(1) Sixteen- and 17-year-old minors may drive up to 24,000 pound, single-
unit vehicles (excluding buses) and may carry passengers at any time with a class D 
license. 

(2) Sixteen- and 17-year-old minors may drive over 24,000 pound, single-
unit vehicles (excluding buses) with a class B license but may not carry passengers. 

(3) Fifteen-year-old minors who have completed an approved driver 
education course may, with a restricted farm work license, drive a motor vehicle in 
accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 171.041. 

However, as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.322, no one under 18 
years of age shall operate a motor vehicle while in use as a carrier of persons for hire, 
nor shall any person under 18 years of age drive a passenger-carrying vehicle as a hired 
driver. 

L. As a brake tender, firefighter, engineer, driver, or conductor for a railroad, 
street railway, or interurban railroad or in switching or gate-tending. 

M. As a lifeguard. Minors who have received a Red Cross lifesaving certificate 
or its equivalent and who work under uninterrupted adult supervision are not covered 
by this prohibition. 

N. In aerial acts using such equipment as flying rings, horizontal bars, or 
trapezes. Nor shall a minor be employed in weight-lifting, balancing, casting, or human 
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pyramiding acts, or as a rope walker, contortionist, or in other exhibitions dangerous or 
injurious to the life, limb, or health of the minor. 

O. In the operation, erection, or dismantling of rides or machinery in an 
amusement park, street carnival, or traveling show, or in the loading or unloading of 
passengers on rides. 

P. In any rooms constituting the place in which intoxicating liquors or 3.2 
percent malt liquors are served or consumed or in any tasks involving the serving, 
dispensing, or handling of such liquors that are consumed on the premises except that: 

(1) minors who have reached the age of 17 may be employed to perform 
busing or dishwashing services in those rooms or areas of a restaurant, hotel, motel, or 
resort where the presence of intoxicating liquor is incidental to food service or 
preparation; 

(2) minors who have reached the age of 17 may be employed to perform 
busing or dishwashing services or to provide waiter or waitress service in rooms or 
areas where the presence of 3.2 percent malt liquor is incidental to food service or 
preparation; 

(3) minors who have reached the age of 16 may be employed to provide 
musical entertainment in those rooms or areas where the presence of intoxicating 
liquor and 3.2 percent malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; and 

(4) minors are not prevented from working at tasks which are not 
prohibited by other parts of these rules or the law in establishments where liquor is 
sold, served, dispensed, or handled in those rooms or areas where no liquor is 
consumed or served. 

Q. In window-washing, wall-cleaning, painting, or other building maintenance 
or repair higher than 12 feet above the ground or floor level, using ladders, scaffolding, 
safety belts, outside vertical conveyors, or like equipment. 

R. In oxyacetylene or oxyhydrogen welding. 
S. In any occupation or activity, or on any site, which is hazardous or 

dangerous to life, limb, or health. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 
History: 17 SR 1279; L 1991 c 249 s 31; 21 SR 458 

5200.0920 PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENTS OF MINORS UNDER 16 YEARS OLD. 

In addition to the restrictions in part 5200.0910, no minor under the age of 16 may 
be employed: 

A. in or about airport landing strips and taxi or maintenance aprons; 
B. except as stated in part 5200.0910, item K, subitem (3), as a driver of a 

motor vehicle or an outside helper thereon; 
C. as loaders or launchers for skeet or trap shooting; 
D. to lift or carry, or otherwise personally care for, patients in hospitals or 

nursing homes; 
E. to do welding of any kind; 
F. to operate or assist in the operation of machinery, including but not limited 

to: 

(1) farm type tractors and other self-propelled-vehicles, except that those 
minors trained under either the 4-H Federal Extension Service or the U.S. Office of 
Education Vocational Agriculture Training programs may work on equipment permit­
ted by their certificate of training; 

(2) laundry, rug cleaning, or dry cleaning equipment; 
(3) sidewalk type snow blowers and other power-driven lawn and garden 

equipment; 
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(4) drill presses, milling machines, grinders, lathes, and such portable 
power-driven machinery as drills, sanders, and polishing and scrubbing equipment for 
floor maintenance; 

(5) meat slicers; 
(6) textile-making machinery; and 
(7) bakery machinery; 

G. in oiling, cleaning, or maintaining any power-driven machinery, either 
portable or stationary, while in motion or at rest; 

H. in work involving the use of pits, racks, or lifting apparatus at service 
stations or in mounting tires on rims; 

I. in processing plants to do work which includes killing, plucking, singeing, 
drawing, brining, smoking, slicing, grinding, chopping, or cutting operations; 

J. in walk-in meat freezers or meat coolers, except that occasional entrance to 
such areas which is incidental to the occupation is not prohibited; 

K. in any occupation in agriculture that the U.S. secretary of labor finds and 
declares to be particularly hazardous for the employment of children below the age of 
16; 

L. in any manufacturing or commercial warehouse, to do work which includes 
packaging, shelving, stock-clerking, or cleaning; or 

M. in a car wash to attach cars to or detach them from mechanized conveyor 
lines or to operate or contact the car while it is connected to the conveyor apparatus. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 

5200.0930 EXCEPTIONS TO PROHIBITIONS RELATED TO EMPLOYMENT OF 
MINORS. 

Subpart 1. Approved training programs. Prohibitions related to employment do 
not apply to a minor being trained in a state-approved apprenticeship training program 
or to a minor enrolled in a training program approved by the Division of Vocational-
Technical Education, Minnesota Department of Children, Families, and Learning. 

Subp. 2. Tasks outside of area of hazard. A minor who performs employment tasks 
which do not require being in or entering the immediate area of the hazardous 
operation, equipment, or materials is excluded from the prohibitions of parts 5200.0910 
and 5200.0920. 

Subp. 3. High school graduates. A minor who has reached the age of 17 and has 
graduated from high school shall be excluded from the prohibitions of part 5200.0910. 

Subp. 4. Parental corporations. The prohibitions under parts 5200.0910 and 
5200.0920 do not apply to a minor working for a corporation totally owned by one or 
both parents in which the daily corporate business is supervised by the parent or 
parents. In addition, with respect to agricultural employment, parts 5200.0910 and 
5200.0920 do not apply to a minor employed by a family farm corporation as defined 
under Minnesota Statutes 1973, section 500.24 where the minor's parent is a member 
of the said family farm corporation. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 
History: L 1995 lSp3 art 16 s 13 

5200.0940 SPECIAL EXEMPTION PERMIT. 

The commissioner may grant exemptions from any provisions of the act, pursuant 
to Laws of Minnesota 1974, chapter 432, section 7, subdivision 5, for an individual 
minor when it is determined that said exemption is in the best interests of a minor in 
accordance with both of the following: 

A. the minor has a special talent, unique qualifications, or special need for the 
particular employment for which the exemption is sought; and 
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B. the health, education, or welfare of the minor will not be detrimentally 
affected by the employment or by the environment in which the employment is to be 
conducted. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 

5200.0950 EXEMPTION PERMIT APPLICATION. 

Each permit application shall specify: 
A. name of minor; 
B. address of minor; 
C. address of parent(s) or guardian(s) if different than item B; 
D. a description of the proposed employment; 
E. proposed dates of employment from beginning to end; and 
F. particular section(s) of the act for which an exemption is sought. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 

5200.0960 REVOCATION OF PERMIT. 

The commissioner may revoke any permit when in the commissioner's opinion the 
employment of the child in such employment is detrimental to said minor's health, 
education, or welfare. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 181A.09 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.0970 [Repealed, 11 SR 1740] 

PREVAILING WAGE DETERMINATIONS 

5200.1000 STATUTORY AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE. 

Parts 5200.1000 to 5200.1120 are promulgated pursuant to the authority provided 
to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry by the provisions of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 175.171, subdivision 2 and the requisites of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.06. Their purpose is to provide procedures for prevailing wage determina­
tions. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171 

5200.1010 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. For purposes of all wage rate determinations, the following 
definitions shall apply. 

Subp. la. Adjacent county. "Adjacent county" means a county that shares a 
common border with another county. 

Subp. 2. Commercial construction. "Commercial construction" means all building 
construction projects exclusive of residential construction. 

Subp. 3. Highway and heavy construction. "Highway and heavy construction" 
means all construction projects which are similar in nature to those projects based upon 
bids as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 161.32 for the construction or 
maintenance of highways or other public works and includes roads, highways, streets, 
airport runways, bridges, power plants, dams, and utilities. 

Subp. 4. Project. As utilized in parts 5200.1000 to 5200.1120 the term "project" 
means the erection, construction, remodeling, or repairing of commercial, residential, 
or public buildings or any highway and heavy construction. 

Subp. 5. Residential construction or agricultural construction. "Residential con­
struction or agricultural construction" means all construction, remodeling, or repairing 
of single or two family homes and structures appurtenant thereto including agricultural 
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or farming buildings appurtenant to private farm residences when utilized to carry on 
primary farming operations. 

Subp. 6. State project. "State project" means those projects which are subject to 
the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 21 SR 1107 

5200.1020 PREVAILING WAGE DETERMINATIONS. 

Subpart 1. Highway and heavy construction. The department shall, at least once 
each calendar year, determine and certify prevailing wage rates applicable to state 
projects which are similar in nature to public and private highway and heavy construc­
tion projects where the estimated total cost of completing the project is $25,000 or 
more. 

Subp. 2. Commercial type construction. The department shall, at least once each 
calendar year, determine and certify prevailing wage rates applicable to state projects 
which are similar in nature to public and private commercial projects where the 
estimated total cost of completing the project is S2,500 or more. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 21 SR 1107] 
Subp. 4. Residential type construction. Prevailing wage rates applicable to state 

projects which are similar in nature to residential construction projects will be made 
upon request of a governmental official involved in the bidding process for a state 
project who desires such rates for insertion in a specific contract proposal. 

Subp. 5. Survey data; recent. Each wage survey shall be based upon work 
performed in the 12 months preceding the date the survey is commenced and the 
resulting wage determinations will be certified following the close of the survey. 

Subp. 6. Survey procedure. Except as provided in subpart 7, all prevailing wage 
determinations shall be based upon the survey procedures contained in these parts. 

Subp. 7. Public hearing. The department shall, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 177.43, subdivision 4, and 177.44, subdivision 3, conduct public hearings when 
necessary to determine county wage rate determinations. Such hearings shall be 
conducted within the county for which wage rates are being determined and shall be 
conducted as contested cases by an administrative law judge from the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 8 SR 2274; L 1984 c 640 s 32; 21 SR 1107 

5200.1030 BASIS FOR HIGHWAY AND HEAVY CONSTRUCTION DETERMINA­
TIONS. 

Subpart 1. Areas. Prevailing wage rates for highway and heavy construction 
projects must be based on work performed within distinct areas. The counties included 
in each area are listed in items A to J. 

A. Area 1: Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, and Saint Louis. 
B. Area 2: Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, 

Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau. 
C. Area 3: Aitkin, Cass, Crow Wing, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Todd, 

and Wadena. 
D. Area 4: Becker, Big Stone, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, 

Pope, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, and Wilkin. 
E. Area 5: Benton, Isanti, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright. 
F. Area 6: Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, 

Steele, Rice, Wabasha, and Winona. 
G. Area 7: Blue Earth, Faribault, Le Sueur, Nicollet, Sibley, and Waseca. 
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H. Area 8: Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle. Lincoln. Lyon. Meeker. 
McLeod, Murray, Pipestone. Redwood, Renville, and Yellow Medicine. 

I. Area 9: Anoka, Carver, Chisago. Dakota. Hennepin. Ramsey. Scott, and 
Washington. 

J. Area 10: Brown. Cottonwood. Jackson, Martin, Nobles, Rock, and Waton­
wan. 

Subp. 2. Labor classes. Prevailing wage rates must be determined on an area basis 
and each prevailing wage rate must be based upon work performed solely within the 
applicable class of labor. For each area surveyed, the department shall issue wage 
determinations for all classes of labor commonly or customarily used in highway and 
heavy construction projects. 

Subp. 2a. Projects to be surveyed, criteria. The determinations shall be made from 
projects on which construction work was done in the 12 months preceding the survey 
which are located in the area and where the estimated total cost of completing the 
project is $25,000 or more. 

A. A minimum of two projects in an area must be reported in order to issue a 
wage determination for the area. 

B. A wage determination must be made for all classifications of labor utilized 
on a project. Where classes of labor expected to be utilized on a project for which the 
area prevailing wage determination is being made are not all represented in the 
projects in item A, the most recent rate determined for the class of labor is applicable. 

C. If work is performed by a class of labor not defined by part 5200.1100, 
Master Job Classifications, the contracting agency shall assign a wage rate and the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall review and certify the assigned wage rate 
based on the most similar trade or occupation from the area wage determination. 
Within 90 days, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry must initiate the rulemaking 
procedure so that the classification will be defined in the Master Job Classifications in 
part 5200.1100. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 21 SR 1107] 
Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: S SR 2274; 21 SR 1107 

5200.1035 BASIS FOR COMMERCIAL CONSTRUCTION DETERMINATIONS. 

Subpart 1. County and labor classes. Prevailing wage rates must be made on a 
county-by-county basis and each prevailing wage rate must be based on work per­
formed solely within the applicable class of labor. For each county surveyed, the 
department shall issue wage determinations for all classes of labor commonly or 
customarily used in commercial construction projects. 

Subp. 2. Projects to be surveyed, criteria. From information on file and submitted 
by interested persons, the determinations shall be made from projects on which 
construction work was done in the 12 months preceding the survey, which are located 
in the county or, if necessary, from adjacent counties, and where the estimated total 
cost of completing the project is $2,500 or more. 

A. A minimum of two projects in a county must be reported in order to issue 
a wage determination for the county. 

B. If classes of labor expected to be used in a county for which the prevailing 
wage determination is being made are not all represented in the projects in item A, but 
work was performed in those classes of labor in two or more projects in any county 
adjacent to the county being surveyed, the department shall establish the wage 
determination for those classes of labor based solely upon those adjacent county 
projects. 

C. In determining a wage rate for a class of labor based upon work performed 
in adjacent counties, all workers in a class of labor in all adjacent counties must be 
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totaled and the wage rates must be based upon the wage rate paid to the largest 
number as determined in accordance with parts 5200.1020 to 5200.1060. 

D. A wage determination must be made for all classifications of labor used on 
a project. Where classes of labor expected to be utilized in a county for which the 
prevailing wage determination is being made are not all represented in the projects in 
item A, and not further determined in item B, the wage rate must remain the same as 
previously certified. 

E. If work is performed by a class of labor not defined by part 5200.1100, 
Master Job Classifications, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall certify a 
wage rate which reflects the most similar trade or occupation from the project wage 
determination. Within 90 days, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry must initiate 
the rulemaking procedure so that the classification will be defined in the Master Job 
Classifications in part 5200.1100. 

Statutory Authority: Ms 5 777.47 to 177.44 
History: 21 SR 1107 

5200.1040 CLASSES OF LABOR. 

Each class of labor shall be based upon the particular nature of the work 
performed with consideration given to those trades, occupations, skills, or work 
generally considered within the construction industry as constituting distinct classes of 
labor. Wage determinations will be issued for those separate classes of labor which fall 
under the following general classes: 

A. Laborers. 
B. Power equipment operators. 
C. Truck drivers. 
D. Special crafts. The following crafts shall constitute separate classes of 

labor: bricklayers, carpenters, cement masons, line persons, electricians, iron workers, 
painters, pipefitters, plumbers, plasterers, roofers, and sheet metal workers, and other 
labor or work which is customarily considered as an individual trade or craft based 
upon its character and skills required. 

E. In determining particular classes of labor, the department shall consider 
work classifications contained in collective bargaining agreements, apprenticeship 
agreements on file with the department, the "United States Department of Labor 
Dictionary of Occupational Titles," and customs and usage applicable to the construc­
tion industry. 

F. Primary responsibility for classifying individual workers shall be upon the 
contractor. 

G. Where a worker performs work in more than one class of labor on a 
project, the worker shall be placed in the class in which the person worked the greatest 
number of hours. 

H. The contractor reporting shall have the responsibility to determine the 
class in which the worker has worked the greatest number of hours on each project 
reported. 

I. Workers employed within a class of labor as apprentices, helpers, supervi­
sors, or trainees will not be included or counted within the wage survey. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 17 SR 1279; 21 SR 1107 

5200.1050 SURVEY PROCEDURES. 

Subpart 1. Scope. The purpose of each survey is to develop a database upon which 
to determine prevailing wage rates for those classes of labor expected to be used on 
state projects based upon wage rates paid to the same classes of labor on similar 
projects in the area. In establishing the data, the procedural steps in subparts 2 to 4 
shall be taken. 
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Subp. 2. Wage reports. The department shall regularly request from contractors, 
contractor organizations, labor organizations, and any other interested person, on 
forms available from or approved by the department, reports of construction wage rates 
paid by contractors on various types of highway and heavy projects where the estimated 
total cost of completing the project is $25,000 or more and on commercial projects 
where the estimated total cost of completing the project is 52,500 or more. The reports 
must be kept on file by the department according to the county or area in which the 
project for which the report is received was performed. The reports must list the name 
and address of the contractor, the name of the project, the location of the project, a 
description of the project, any identifying project numbers, a description of the work 
performed on the project, the approximate dollar cost of the project, the names of 
employees who worked 24 hours or more on a highway and heavy project and eight 
hours or more on a commercial project, together with the class of labor for each 
employee, the wage rate paid each employee on the project, and the hourly cost of 
fringe benefits for health and welfare, pension, vacation, apprenticeship or training, and 
any other economic benefits paid for each employee. The forms shall be signed and 
dated by the organization or individual providing the information attesting that the 
information provided is true and correct. 

Subp. 2a. Union wage reports. The department shall also keep local union wage 
and employment reports, on forms provided or approved by the department. The 
reports must set forth the classes of labor, trade, or occupation covered, the effective 
date of the contract, wage and fringe benefits paid under the contract, the duration of 
the contract, the dates of all adjustments to wages and fringe benefits together with the 
amount of the adjustments on each date, the geographic area where the contract is 
effective, the number of members employed within the geographic area covered by the 
contract, the type of projects covered by the contract, and a list of all contractors or 
employer associations signatory to the contract. The local union wage reports are to be 
signed and dated by a representative from the local union attesting that the information 
provided is true and correct. 

Subp. 2b. Mailing lists. The department shall also keep and maintain a mailing list 
of governmental officials, district, county, and city engineers, city clerks, administrators, 
and zoning officials for each county. The department shall also keep and maintain a 
mailing list of contractors, contractor associations, labor organizations, and other 
individuals who have requested to be on a mailing list to be notified when any survey is 
about to be taken. 

Subp. 2c. Notification of survey. Upon initiation of a survey, the department must 
notify the county engineer and all city engineers, city clerks, administrators, and zoning 
officials in the county to be surveyed. The notice will request local officials to submit 
reports of construction in the county in the preceding 12 months. The report shall 
include the names of the contractors and their addresses. The department must also 
notify all contractors, contractor associations, labor organizations, and other individuals 
who have requested to be notified when a survey for any county is about to be taken. 
That notice will request that interested individuals submit reports on forms available 
from or approved by the department concerning construction performed in the county 
during the preceding 12 months. The notice shall state that all reports of construction 
in the county must be returned to the department no later than 60 days following the 
date upon which the notice of the survey is mailed by the department. Information not 
timely received by the department shall not be used in establishing the prevailing wage 
rate for any class of labor. Any unsigned or incomplete forms received prior to the final 
date for receipt of the forms shall be returned to the individual, contractor, or labor 
organization, to the extent the individual, contractor, or labor organization can be 
identified, with a request that the form be properly completed. The department may 
use incomplete reports where the entity completing the form has provided all the 
information it has. If that form is not received by the department within 15 days from 
the date it is returned by mail to the individual, contractor, or labor organization, it 
shall be excluded from the survey. In no event shall information on unsigned reports of 
construction in the county be utilized in making wage determinations. All reports must 
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be signed and dated by the organization or individual making the report attesting that 
the information provided is true and correct. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed by amendment, 8 SR 2274] 
Subp. 3a. Reports, attestations. Reports of construction wage rates and local union 

wage and employment reports shall specify that the individual signing the report attests 
that the information on the report is true and correct. The form shall specify that 
willful falsification of any information on the report may result in civil or criminal 
prosecution. In addition, a person, organization, or company who willfully submits false 
information will not be allowed to submit information from one to three years and all 
information submitted by that entity must be excluded from the wage determination. 

Subp. 3b. [Repealed, 21 SR 1107] 
Subp. 4. Area calculation record. The number of workers in each class of labor 

and their respective wage rates shall be determined and reflected on an area calcula­
tion record. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 8 SR 2274; 21 SR 1107 

5200.1060 DETERMINING LARGEST NUMBER OF WORKERS AND PREVAILING 
WAGE RATE. 

Subpart 1. Policy. Each wage rate determination shall be based upon the actual 
wage rates paid to the largest number of workers within each labor classification 
reported in the survey. 

Subp. 2. Procedure. For purposes of determining the largest number of workers, 
each worker within a class of labor and the worker's total hourly rate paid shall be 
tabulated. 

A. Total hourly rate includes the hourly rate plus the hourly contribution for 
all wage and fringe benefits. 

B. The largest number of workers with identical rates of pay within each 
classification shall determine the specific prevailing wage rate. 

C. When determining the prevailing wage rate and there is an equal number 
of workers (which represent the greatest number of workers) with differing hourly wage 
rates, the prevailing wage rate shall be the highest wage rate paid to those workers. 

Example: four workers at S7 per hour; four workers at S8 per hour; two workers at 
S8.50 per hour. The prevailing wage rate will be determined as S8 per hour. 

D. Where a worker performs work in more than one class of labor, the worker 
shall be counted only once per project and placed in the class which the person worked 
the greatest number of hours. 

Subp. 3. Collectively bargained rate. If the prevailing wage rate determined for any 
given class of labor represents a collectively bargained rate, then the comparable 
current collectively bargained rate for the class of labor in the area shall be the 
prevailing wage rate. 

Subp. 4. Noncollectively bargained rate. If the prevailing wage rate determined 
represents a rate other than a collectively bargained rate for any given class of labor, 
the rate so determined shall be the prevailing wage rate. 

Subp. 5. Change in rate due to contractual changes. If the prevailing wage rate for 
any given class of labor represents a collectively bargained rate, and the collectively 
bargained rate for that class of labor will change during the 12 months immediately 
following the date upon which the wage rate is determined according to the terms of 
the collective bargaining contract by which the rate is established, the department shall 
certify that the rate for that class of labor shall also change accordingly on the effective 
date of the change pursuant to the collective bargaining contract. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 8 SR 2274; 17 SR 1279; 21 SR 1107 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



247 WAGES AND LABOR 5200.1090 

5200.1070 APPRENTICES. 

Subpart 1. Establishment of wage rates. Apprentices working on state projects are 
not subject to the prevailing wage rate determinations, except as they may be affected 
by registered apprenticeship agreements. The hourly rates of pay for such workers are 
established by the particular program to which the apprentice or trainee is subject. 

Subp. 2. Definition. The term "apprentice" means: 
A. a person employed and registered in a bona fide apprenticeship program 

registered with the U.S. Department of Labor or with a state apprenticeship agency; 
and 

B. a person in the first 90 days of probationary employment as an apprentice 
who is not registered in the program but who has been certified by the U.S. Bureau of 
Apprenticeship and Training or a state apprenticeship agency or council to be eligible 
for probationary employment as an apprentice. 

Subp. 3. Exceptions to definition. Any employee listed on a payroll for a state 
project who does not fall within the term "apprentice" contained in subpart 2 shall be 
paid the prevailing wage rate for the classification of work performed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.1080 NOTICE OF WAGE DETERMINATIONS. 

Upon certification of wage rates for a given county or area, the department shall 
publish notice of such certification in the State Register but need not publish the 
individual rates so certified. The certification date shall coincide with the date 
published in the State Register. 

The notice published in the State Register shall indicate where copies of the 
determined rates may be obtained upon request. 

The department shall maintain a list of all persons who request that copies of wage 
rate determinations be sent to them. 

Copies of wage rate determinations shall be mailed within five days of their 
certification to those persons who have requested such notice and whose names appear 
on the list maintained by the department. The department may charge a reasonable fee 
for the copying and mailing of these notices as allowed under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 15.17, subdivision 4. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 21 SR 1107 

5200.1090 PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION OF PREVAILING WAGE RATES. 

Subpart 1. Right to reconsideration. Any person including contractor associations 
or labor organizations aggrieved by a final determination of a prevailing wage rate may 
petition the commissioner for reconsideration of that wage rate within 30 days 
following its certification. The petitioner shall indicate the county and class(es) of labor 
contested, the reason the petitioner believes the rate to be inaccurate, and the rates the 
petitioner believes to be correct. 

Subp. 2. Informal conference. Within ten days following receipt of a petition for 
reconsideration, the department shall informally meet with the petitioner and any other 
interested person, associations, or labor organizations, to review the contested wage 
determination(s). 

The petitioner shall be prepared to support his or her contentions with any 
documents or data the petitioner deems necessary. 

The department shall be prepared to produce and review the data, summary 
sheets, and other documents upon which its determinations were based, and shall 
produce for the petitioner's inspection all such documents. 
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Subp. 3. Final decision. Following the informal conference, the department shall, 
within ten days, notify the petitioner of any decision modifying, changing, or reaffirm­
ing the contested wage rate or indicate to the petitioner that a survey will be necessary 
to resolve the contested wage rate(s). 

Where the department determines that a new survey is necessary, such survey shall 
be conducted within 30 days. Thereafter, the department shall inform the petitioner by 
certified mail of its final decision based on that survey. 

Subp. 4. Pending the procedures. No prevailing wage rate will be deemed to be 
vacated or suspended pending the resolution of a petition for reconsideration nor will 
the department request any state agency contemplating a state project to suspend, 
delay, or otherwise change its contract and bidding schedules due to any pending 
procedures resulting from a petition for reconsideration. 

Subp. 5. Public hearing. Any person aggrieved by a final decision following 
reconsideration of a prevailing wage rate may, within 20 days after the decision, 
petition the commissioner for a public hearing in the manner of a contested case under 
the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.57 to 14.61. Upon 
receipt of a petition for a public hearing the commissioner shall order the initiation of 
a contested case in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.48 to 14.56. All 
contested case hearings initiated herein shall be conducted in accordance with the rules 
of operation of the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171 
History: 17 SR 1279 

5200.1100 MASTER JOB CLASSIFICATIONS. 

Subpart 1. Requirement. For purposes of parts 5200.1000 to 5200.1120, contractors 
must use the following codes and classifications in documenting classes of labor. 

Subp. 2. Laborers. 

Code No. Position Title 
101 Laborer, common (general labor work) 
102 Laborer, skilled (assisting skilled craft journeyman) 
103 Laborer, Landscaping (gardener, sod layer and 

nursery operator) 
104 Flag person 
105 Watch person 
106 Blaster 
107 Pipelayer (water, sewer and gas) 
108 Tunnel miner 
109 Underground and open ditch laborer (eight feet below 

starting grade level) 

Subp. 3. Power equipment operators. 

Code No. Position Title 
Group 1 
201 Helicopter pilot 
202 Crane with over 135-foot boom, excluding jib 
203 Dragline, crawler, hydraulic backhoe and/or other 

similar equipment with shovel-type controls three 
cubic yards and over manufacturer's rated capacity 

204 Pile driving when three drums are in use 
205 Tower crane 
Group 2 
206 Cableway 
207 Concrete mixer, stationary plant 
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208 Derrick (guy or stiffleg) (power) (skids or stationary) 
209 Dragline, crawler, hydraulic backhoe and/or similar 

equipment with shovel-type controls, up to three 
cubic yards manufacturer's rated capacity 

210 Dredge or engineers, dredge (power) and engineer 
211 Front end loader, five cubic yards and over 
212 Grader or motor patrol 
213 Locomotive crane operator 
214 Mixer (paving) concrete paving, road mole, including 

mucking operations, conway or similar pile driving 
216 Tractor - boom type 
217 Truck crane - crawler crane 
218 Tugboat 100 h.p. and over 
Group 3 
219 Dual tractor 
220 Elevating grader 
221 Pumpcrete 
222 Scraper - struck capacity 32 cubic yards and over 
223 Self-propelled traveling soil stabilizer 
Group 4 
224 Air track rock drill 
225 Asphalt bituminous stabilizer plant 
226 Automatic road machine (CMI or similar) 
227 Backfiller operator 
228 Concrete batch plant 
229 Bituminous roller (eight tons and over) 
230 Bituminous spreader and finishing (power) 
231 Cat tractors with rock wagons or similar types 
232 Chip harvester and tree cutter 
233 Concrete mixer on jobsite 
234 Concrete mobil 
235 Crushing plant (gravel and stone) or gravel 

washing, crushing and screening plant 
236 Curb machine 
237 Dope machine (pipeline) 
238 Drill rigs, heavy rotary or churn or cable drill 
239 Fork lift or straddle carrier 
240 Fork lift or lumber stacker 
241 Front end loader, over one cubic yard 
242 Hoist engineer (power) 
243 Hydraulic tree planter 
244 Launcher person (tanker person or pilot license) 
245 Locomotive 
246 Mechanic - welder 
247 Milling, grinding, and planing machine 
248 Multiple machines, such as air compressors, 

welding machines, generators, pumps 
249 Pavement breaker or tamping machine (power 

driven) mighty mite similar type 
250 Pickup sweeper, one cubic yard and over hopper capacity 
251 Pipeline wrapping, cleaning or bending machine 
252 Power plant engineer, 100 KWH and over 
253 Power actuated horizontal boring machine, over 

six inches 
254 Pugmill 
255 Rubber-tired farm tractor, backhoe attachment 
256 Scraper, up to 32 cubic yards 
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257 Skid steer loader, over one cubic yard with 
backhoe attachment 

258 Slip form (power driven) (paving) 
259 Tie tamper and ballast machine 
260 Tractor, bulldozer 
261 Trenching machine (sewer, water, gas) 
262 Well point installation 
Group 5 
263 Air compressor, 600 CFM or over 
264 Bituminous roller (under eight tons) 
265 Concrete distributor and spreader finishing machine, 

longitudinal float, joint machine, and spray 
266 Concrete saw (multiple blade) (power operated) 
267 Form trench digger (power) 
268 Front end loader, up to and including one cubic yard 
269 Gunite gunall 
270 Hydraulic log splitter 
271 Loader (barber greene or similar type) 
272 Post hole driving machine/post hole auger 
273 Power actuated auger and boring machine 
274 Power actuated jack 
275 Pump 
276 Self-propelled chip spreader (flaherty or similar) 
277 Sheep foot compactor with blade - 200 h.p. and over 
278 Shouldering machine (power) apsco or similar type 

including self-propelled sand and chip spreader 
279 Stump chipper and tree chipper 
280 Tree farmer (machine) 
281 Bituminous spreader and bituminous finishing machine 

operator (helper) 
Group 6 
282 Conveyor 
283 Dredge deck hand 
284 Fire person or tank car heater 
285 Gravel screening plant (portable not crushing 

or washing) 
286 Greaser (truck or tractor) 
287 Lever person 
288 Oiler (power shovel, crane, dragline, crushers, 

and milling machines) 
289 Power sweeper 
290 Roller on gravel compaction 
291 Self-propelled vibrating packer 
292 Sheep foot roller 
293 Tractor, wheel type, over 50 h.p. 
294 Truck crane oiler 

Subp. 4. Truck drivers. 

Code No. Position Title 
Group 1 
301 Mechanic - welder 
302 Tractor trailer driver 
303 Truck driver (hauling machinery including operation 

of hand and power operated winches) 
Group 2 
304 Four or more axle unit, straight body truck 
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Group 3 
305 Bituminous distributor driver 
306 Bituminous distributor (one person operation) 
307 Three axle units 
Group 4 
308 Bituminous distributor spray operator (rear and oiler) 
309 Dump person 
310 Greaser 
311 Pilot car driver 
312 Rubber-tired, self-propelled packer 
313 Two axle unit 
314 Slurry operator 
315 Tank truck helper (gas, oil, road oil, and water) 
316 Tractor operator, under 50 h.p. 

Subp. 4a. Unit. For the purposes of subpart 4, "unit" refers to all axles including 
the steering axle. 

Subp. 5. Special crafts. 

Code No. 
401 
402 
403 
404 
405 
406 
407 
408 
409 
410 
411 
412 
413 
414 
415 
416 
417 
418 
419 
420 
421 
422 
423 
424 
425 
430 
431 
435 
436 

Position Title 
Heating and frost insulators 
Boilermakers 
Bricklayers 
Carpenters 
Carpet layers (linoleum) 
Cement masons 
Electricians 
Elevator constructors 
Glaziers 
Lathers 
Ground person 
Ironworkers 
Lineman 
Millwright 
Painters 
Piledriver 
Pipefitters - steamfitters 
Plasterers 
Plumbers 
Roofer 
Sheet metal workers 
Sprinkler fitters 
Terrazzo workers 
Tile setters 
Drywall taper 
Wiring system technician 
Wiring system installer 
Asbestos abatement worker 
Sign erector 

Subp. 6. Wage determinations. Wage determinations shall be made for other 
classifications not listed if such other classifications are in general use in the area being 
surveyed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 15 SR 965; 17 SR 1279; 19 SR 482; 21 SR 1107 
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5200.1105 RENTAL RATES FOR TRUCKS ON PUBLIC WORKS HIGHWAY PRO­
JECTS. 

Drivers who own and operate trucks on contract work shall be compensated for 
their equipment according to the following formula: Truck Rental Rates Equals Labor 
Cost Plus Operating Cost. 

Labor cost shall be the appropriate rate determined to be prevailing by the 
Department of Labor and Industry using existing survey methods under parts 5200.1000 
to 5200.1120 and certified under part 5200.1100, subpart 4, truck drivers. 

Operating cost shall be determined by averaging the itemized costs of operating a 
vehicle as submitted by at least five trucking firms of various size and five independent 
truck owner operators, all selected by the commissioner as representative of the 
industry. 

The following items shall be considered as operating costs of a vehicle: the average 
cost of the vehicle depreciated over seven years, insurance, fuel, oil, tires, taxes, 
licenses, maintenance, repair, and any administrative expense associated with the 
vehicle's operation including truck brokers' fees. The truck broker fee is a portion of 
the minimum truck rental rate and shall be determined by annual survey. 

Within 30 days of determination of rates, an informal conference will be held by 
the commissioner or the commissioner's representative, for the purpose of further 
input prior to certification. Interested parties shall be given at least ten days' prior 
notice of the conference date, time, and location, through publication in the State 
Register. 

At the conference, the department shall produce and review the data, summary 
sheets, and other documents upon which its determination was based. 

Notice of the certification and its effective date shall be published in the State 
Register in accordance with part 5200.1080. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 13 SR 660; 25 SR 1942 

5200.1106 COVERAGE OF PREVAILING WAGE LAW UNDER MINNESOTA STAT­
UTES, SECTIONS 177.41 TO 177.44. 

Subpart 1. In general. For purposes of parts 5200.1105 and 5200.1106 and 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44, the prevailing wage rate which, for the 
purpose of all public works highway projects funded in whole or in part by state funds 
only, includes truck rental rates, must be paid for work under the contract. 

Subp. 2. Work under the contract. 
A. Except as provided in subpart 4, work under the contract means all 

construction activities associated with the public works project, including any required 
hauling activities on the site of or to or from a public works project and work 
conducted pursuant to a contract as defined by item B, regardless of whether the 
construction activity or work is performed by the prime contractor, subcontractor, 
trucking broker, trucking firms, independent contractor, or employee or agent of any of 
the foregoing entities, and regardless of which entity or person hires or contracts with 
another. The term "work under a contract" has the same meaning. 

B. "Contract" means the written instrument containing the consideration and 
the terms of agreement between the prime contractor and the contracting agency for 
the construction of all or a part of: 

(1) a highway pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 161.32 and 177.44; 
(2) a public works project pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 177.43 

and chapter 16B; or 
(3) any public building or public works financed in whole or in part with 

state funds pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44. 
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Contract includes project proposals, plans, and specifications, and all requirements 
for labor, equipment, and materials found in such proposals, plans, and specifications. 

C. "Prime contractor" means an individual or business entity that enters into 
a contract as defined in item B with the contracting agency. 

D. "Contractor" means an individual or business entity that is engaged in 
construction or construction service-related activities including trucking activities either 
directly or indirectly through a contract as defined by item B, or by subcontract with 
the prime contractor, or by a further subcontract with any other person or business 
entity performing work under the contract. 

Subp. 3. Work considered to be under a contract. Without limiting the application 
of parts 5200.1105 and 5200.1106 to other situations, the following are considered to be 
work under the contract. 

A. Work performed by employees of a contractor or subcontractor that 
operates an asphalt or concrete plant, that was moved into a gravel pit, borrow pit, or 
other location not on the project, primarily to serve public works projects is considered 
work under the contract including the contractor's employees loading the equipment 
hoppers with materials obtained from the pit regardless of whether the pit meets the 
definition of commercial establishment. 

B. The following hauling activities are included in hours worked and consid­
ered work under the contract for purposes of payment of prevailing wages and payment 
of the truck rental rate: 

(1) the hauling of any or all stockpiled or excavated materials on the 
project work site to other locations on the same project even if the trucks leave the 
work site at some point; 

(2) the delivery of materials from any facility that does not meet the 
requirements of a commercial establishment to the project and the return haul to the 
starting location either empty or loaded; 

(3) the delivery of materials from another construction project site to the 
public works project and the return haul empty or loaded is considered work under the 
contract. Construction projects are not considered a commercial establishment; 

(4) the hauling required to remove any materials from the public works 
project to a location off the project site and the return haul if empty or if loaded from 
other than a commercial establishment; 

(5) the delivery of materials or products by trucks hired by a contractor, 
subcontractor, or agent thereof, from a commercial establishment; and 

(6) delivery of sand, gravel, or rock, by or for a commercial establish­
ment, which is deposited "substantially in place," either directly or through spreaders 
from the transporting vehicles is work under the contract. In addition, the return haul 
to the off-site facility empty or loaded is also considered work under the contract. 

Subp. 4. Work not considered to be under a contract. Without limiting the 
application of parts 5200.1105 and 5200.1106 to other situations, the following work is 
not considered to be work under a contract: 

A. the processing or manufacturing of materials or products by or for a 
commercial establishment; 

B. the work performed by employees of the owner or lessee of a gravel pit or 
borrow pit that is a commercial establishment and that performs work in conjunction 
with a public works project by adding value to the sand, gravel, or rock contained in or 
delivered to the pit through the use of screening, washing, or crushing machines. This 
applies even if the machines are portable. This does not include the employees 
described in subpart 3, item A; 

C. the delivery of processed or manufactured goods to a public works project 
by the employees of a commercial establishment including truck owner-operators hired 
by and paid by the commercial establishment, unless it is the delivery of mineral 
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aggregate that is incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the 
material substantially in place; or 

D. multiple site hauling operations include secondary hauling activities in 
addition to the hauling of materials on and off the public works project in order to 
complete the truck's round trip haul. The hauling of materials or products between 
these secondary off-site facilities as part of a multiple site hauling operation is not 
considered work under the contract as long as the time spent hauling between the 
secondary sites is properly documented in the trucking records and the time spent 
hauling on and off the project is properly compensated as required in subpart 3. 

Subp. 5. Commercial establishment, exceptions, definitions. For purposes of parts 
5200.1105 and 5200.1106 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44, the 
following terms have the meanings listed. 

A. "Laborer or mechanic" means a worker in a construction industry labor 
class identified in or pursuant to part 5200.1100. 

B. "Mineral aggregate" is sand, gravel, or crushed stone or rock, or earthen 
material suitable for roadway development, or mixtures of these naturally occurring 
substances with recycled materials, suitable for the base or shoulder of a highway or 
heavy project used to compose the shoulder, or support bituminous or concrete 
pavement, or used as a final gravel road surface. Mineral aggregate specifically does 
not include screenings, slag, riprap, recycled concrete and bituminous materials, ready-
mix concrete, bituminous concrete, asphalt, mastic, mortar, plaster, macadam, and 
other similar processed or manufactured materials or products. Additionally, mineral 
aggregate does not include materials such as clay, topsoil, fill, dirt, silt, boulders, wall 
stone, loam, gumbo, loess, peat, muck, hardpan, or other similar soils or mixed earth. 

C. "Incorporated into the work under the contract by depositing the material 
substantially in place" means the mineral aggregate is deposited on the project site 
directly or through spreaders where it can be spread from or compacted at the location 
where it was deposited. As used in this part, "depositing substantially in place" has the 
same meaning. 

D. To be a "fixed place of business," a commercial establishment must serve 
the government project from a location from which it served the public prior to and at 
the time of advertisement of the public works contract and that has sufficient utilities 
and equipment to serve the public upon demand. 

E. "Regularly supply" includes supply by a commercial establishment that is 
closed on a seasonal basis. 

F. The determination of whether a facility is a "commercial establishment" is 
made on a location-by-location basis and on a product-by-product basis, not on a 
businesswide basis. For purposes of parts 5200.1000 to 5200.1120 and Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44, production of mineral aggregate is considered 
production of one product. Construction projects are not considered commercial 
establishments. A "commercial establishment" is a business entity that has not set up at 
the location from which deliveries are made primarily to serve public works projects 
and, prior to and at the time of advertisement of the public works contract, it: 

(1) owned or leased the land on which it operates; 
(2) possessed business records indicating that sales from the location 

from which deliveries are made are for other than the contracting agency's public works 
contracts; 

(3) advertised the availability of material for sale to the general public 
from the location and had facilities available for effecting sales at the location; and 

(4) has acquired all necessary permits to operate from the location, and 
met all legal obligations of state and local regulations to excavate soils, sand, gravel, or 
rock for the purpose of receiving something of value for the product. 

Subp. 6. Prohibited payment practices. The contractor, subcontractor, trucking 
broker, or other person making payment to an employee laborer, mechanic, worker, or 
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truck owner-operator may not accept a rebate for the purpose of reducing or otherwise 
decreasing the value of the compensation paid. 

Subp. 7. Trucking definitions. The following terms have the meanings given them 
for the purpose of parts 5200.1105 and 5200.1106 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 
177.41 to 177.44. 

A. "Independent truck owner-operator" is an individual, partnership, or 
principal stockholder of a corporation who owns or holds a vehicle under lease and 
who contracts that vehicle and the owner's services to an entity which provides 
construction services to a public works project. In addition, an owner and operator of a 
vehicle that is licensed and registered as a truck, tractor, or truck-tractor by a 
governmental motor vehicle regulatory agency is an independent contractor, not an 
employee, only if each of the following factors are significantly present: 

(1) the individual, partnership, or corporation owns the equipment or 
holds it under a lease arrangement; 

(2) the individual, partnership, or corporation is responsible for the 
maintenance of the equipment; 

(3) the individual, partnership, or corporation bears the principal burden 
of the operating costs, including fuel, repairs, supplies, vehicle insurance, and personal 
expenses while on the road, but not including brokerage fees; 

(4) the owner drives the equipment; 
(5) the owner determines the details and means of performing the 

services in conformance with regulatory requirements, operating procedures, and 
specifications of the entity with which the individual or corporation contracts; and 

(6) the individual or corporation enters into a legally binding agreement 
that specifies the relationship to be that of an independent contractor and not that of 
an employee. 

B. "Trucking firm" is any legal business entity that owns more than one 
vehicle and hires the vehicles out for services to brokers or contractors on public works 
projects. 

C. "Trucking broker" is an individual or business entity, the activities of which 
include, but are not limited to: 

(1) contracting to provide trucking services in the construction industry to 
users of such services; 

(2) contracting to obtain such services from providers of trucking services; 
(3) dispatching the providers of the services to do work as required by the 

users of the services; 
(4) receiving payment from the users in consideration of the trucking 

services provided; and 
(5) making payment to the providers for the services. 

D. "Own" and "operate" have the following meanings and apply to indepen­
dent truck owner-operators and trucking firms. The notation "truck owner-operator" 
for the purposes of this part will apply to both the independent owner-operator and 
trucking firms unless otherwise defined: 

(1) "Own" means to have a legal and rightful title to the vehicle or to 
have an approved lease on the vehicle. 

(2) "Operate" means the owner either physically drives the vehicle or 
hires another to physically drive the vehicle but maintains the right to direct the day-to­
day operations of the vehicle. 

Subp. 8. Trucking provisions. 
A. Independent truck owner-operators or the owner-driver of a trucking firm 

are not required to be paid the truck rental rate for: 
(1) time spent repairing or maintaining, or waiting to repair or maintain, 

the truck owner-operator's equipment, except that repair, maintenance, or time spent 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



5200.1106 WAGES AND LABOR 256 

waiting to load or unload which is attributable to the fault of the broker, contractor, 
agent thereof, or an employee of such entities, must be included in the hours worked 
and paid the hourly truck rental rate; and 

(2) time spent correcting work that was not performed according to the 
prime contract that can be directly attributed to the negligence of the truck owner-
operator. 

B. Employees of a trucking firm must always receive the appropriate prevail­
ing wage rate for any work performed under the contract. 

C. The owner of a trucking firm may either drive the vehicles or hire 
employees to drive the vehicles. If the owner drives the vehicle, then the truck hire is 
subject to the truck rental rates. If the owner hires an employee to drive the vehicle, 
the truck hire is subject to the truck rental rates and the employee driver is subject to 
the appropriate prevailing wage rate. These provisions apply regardless of who owns 
any trailer being pulled by the truck. 

Subp. 9. Required records. 
A. Upon agreement of a contractor or trucking broker with an independent 

truck owner-operator to perform work under the contract, the contractor or broker 
must keep the following records for a period of at least six years following the payment 
for services: 

(1) name, address, and social security number of the truck owner-
operator; 

(2) name, address, and phone number of the truck owner-operator's 
business and federal tax identification number; 

(3) time period covered by the agreement between the truck owner-
operator and the broker or contractor; 

(4) date and amount of each payment to the truck owner-operator, and 
for each payment: 

(a) number of hours the truck owner-operator performed work 
under the contract, not including hours excluded under subpart 7; 

(b) type of trucking equipment used for each job by the truck owner-
operator and if leased, the name and address of the individual or business entity which 
owns the equipment; 

(c) type of services performed; 
(d) hourly truck rental rate used to calculate the minimum payment 

due; and 
(e) an itemization of any deductions from the gross amount payable 

to the truck owner-operator; 
(5) a copy of the owner's certificate of insurance; and 
(6) a copy of the vehicle/truck registration. 

The contractor or broker must also keep the same records for owner-drivers 
of trucking firms working on the public works project unless the owner-drivers' 
information is submitted along with the employee information to a contracting agency 
as listed under subpart 10. 

B. Records required to be kept by item A and other similar records necessary 
to determine compliance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44, as 
determined by the commissioner of the department of transportation or the depart­
ment of labor and industry, must be provided upon request accompanied by a 
certification form approved by the requesting department. 

Subp. 10. Required employee records. Records pertaining to the proper payment 
of employees including, but not limited to, fringe benefit documentation, time cards, 
payroll ledgers, check registers, and canceled checks will be made available on request 
from the department for further review to determine if the employee was paid 
according to this part and Minnesota Statutes, sections 177.41 to 177.44. If the 
commissioner of the department of transportation or the department of labor and 
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industry requests any or all of the following information, the contractor, subcontractor, 
or trucking firm shall submit the following information to the department together with 
any certification forms approved by the requesting department: 

A. name, address, and social security number of the employee; 
B. the classification of work performed defined by part 5200.1100, master job 

classification; 
C. the hours worked per day and per week; 
D. legal deductions made from the employee's check; 
E. contract information regarding the public works projects worked on by the 

employee; 
F. hourly rate of pay, including any fringe benefit information deemed 

necessary to determine if the proper prevailing wage rate was paid; 
G. project gross amount earned; 
H. weekly gross and net amount of payroll check; or 
I. in the case of the owner-driver, information described in items A to E shall 

be submitted along with the hourly truck rental rate paid to the owner-driver. 
Subp. 11. Effective Date. Parts 5200.1105 and 5200.1106 are effective June 25, 

2001. Part 5200.1106 is effective for all projects as described in part 5200.1106, subpart 
2, item B, that are advertised for bid on and after June 25, 2001. The new truck rental 
rates to be issued under part 5200.1105 are effective for all projects as described in part 
5200.1106, subpart 2, item B, that are advertised on and after the publication in the 
State Register of the notice of certification of the truck rental rates. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171; 177.41 to 177.44 
History: 25 SR 1942 

5200.1110 POSTING OF WAGE RATES. 
Each contractor and subcontractor performing work on a public project shall post 

on the project the applicable prevailing wage rates and hourly basic rates of pay for the 
county or area within which the project is being performed, including the effective date 
of any changes thereof, in at least one conspicuous place for the information of the 
employees working on the project. (Minnesota Statutes 1974, sections 177.43, subdivi­
sion 4 and 177.44, subdivision 5.) The information so posted shall include a breakdown 
of contributions for health and welfare benefits, vacation benefits, pension benefits, and 
any other economic benefit required to be paid. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171 

5200.1120 EFFECTIVE DATE OF WAGE RATE DETERMINATIONS. 
Wage rate determinations previously certified by the department shall, subject to 

the review procedures contained in part 5200.1090, remain in effect until such time that 
new wage rates are determined in accordance with the provisions of parts 5200.1000 to 
5200.1120 as amended. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 175.171 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 2001

Copyright © 2001 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      


