# CHAPTER 4716 MINNESOTA PLUMBING BOARD PLUMBER LICENSING AND APPRENTICE REGISTRATION

 4716.0010
 DEFINITIONS.
 4716.0040
 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.

 4716.0020
 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.
 4716.0050
 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE.

 4716.0030
 LICENSE APPLICATIONS.
 4716.0050
 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE.

### **4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.**

Subpart 1. **Scope.** The terms used in this chapter have the meanings given them in this part, in part 4715.0100, and in Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.01 and 326B.42.

Subp. 2. **Commissioner.** "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry or a duly designated representative of the commissioner who is either an employee of the Department of Labor and Industry or a person working under contract with the department.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 326B.435

History: 33 SR 2042

#### 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.

Subpart 1. **Examinations.** An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted journeyman or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyman and master plumber licenses shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than August 15.

A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:

(1) a current Minnesota journeyman plumber license and five years of practical plumbing experience;

(2) a current master plumber license from another state where the requirements of the licensing jurisdiction are equivalent to those of Minnesota, as determined by the commissioner; or

(3) a current Minnesota restricted master plumber license and five years of verifiable experience in business as a plumbing contractor in Minnesota.

B. An applicant for the journeyman examination:

(1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota and must have at least four years of practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;

(2) must have a current Minnesota restricted journeyman plumber license or restricted master plumber license and at least two years of practical plumbing experience gained while holding the restricted plumber license, as specified in subpart 2, item E; or

(3) must hold a current plumber's license from another state where the licensing jurisdiction requires at least four years of practical plumbing experience and an examination to qualify for licensure.

Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience described in subpart 1.

A. One year of practical plumbing experience consists of at least 1,750 hours.

B. The 1,750 hours necessary to gain one year of practical plumbing experience may be worked in more than one 12-month period; however, not more than 1,750 hours shall be credited for one calendar year.

# **MINNESOTA RULES 2009**

#### **4716.0020** PLUMBER LICENSING AND APPRENTICE REGISTRATION 942

C. Not more than two years of the practical plumbing experience from a state other than Minnesota shall be credited unless the applicant first obtains a plumber's license in the other state.

D. The applicant is responsible for verifying practical plumbing experience. The commissioner may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to evaluate practical plumbing experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy and acceptability of an applicant's practical plumbing experience.

E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyman plumber or a licensed restricted master plumber subitems (1) to (3) apply.

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included in the definition of plumbing in part 4715.0100; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of work and corresponding number of hours:

(a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;

(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and

(c) fixture installation, 500 hours.

(2) The applicant must have been a licensed restricted journeyman or a licensed restricted master plumber at all times while obtaining the practical plumbing experience.

(3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.

F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice subitems (1) to (3) apply.

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included in the definition of plumbing in part 4715.0100; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of work and corresponding number of hours:

(a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;

(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and

(c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.

(2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), the applicant must have been a registered plumber's apprentice at all times while obtaining the practical plumbing experience.

(3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:

(a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;

(b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the educational institution certifies the experience; or

(c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state or by a federal agency.

G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3), all practical plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed plumber or plumbing contractor who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the restricted master plumber's

# **MINNESOTA RULES 2009**

### 943 PLUMBER LICENSING AND APPRENTICE REGISTRATION 4716.0050

own experience. The employer of a journeyman plumber, restricted master plumber, restricted journeyman plumber, or plumber's apprentice is responsible for:

(1) recording the practical plumbing experience worked by each such employee; and

(2) maintaining these records of practical plumbing experience for at least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 326B.435

**History:** 33 SR 2042

#### 4716.0030 LICENSE APPLICATIONS.

Subpart 1. **Examination applications.** Applications to take the journeyman or master plumber's examination must be submitted to the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner together with the required fee. The fee must be submitted with the application and is not refundable.

# Subp. 2. License applications.

A. Any applicant who receives a passing grade on the journeyman plumber's examination may submit an application for a journeyman plumber's license.

B. Any applicant who receives a passing grade on the master plumber's examination may submit an application for a master plumber's license.

C. All initial applications for licensure must be on forms prepared by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 326B.435

History: 33 SR 2042

### 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.

Subpart 1. **Issuance and expiration.** Initial and renewal journeyman and master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyman and restricted master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is made and shall expire on December 31 of such year. Any journeyman plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyman plumber, or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee. Any licensed journeyman or master plumber who does not renew the license within two years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyman or restricted master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months will permanently forfeit the restricted license.

Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of the year preceding the year for which application is made. The application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyman and master plumbers who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyman and restricted master plumbers who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12 months after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due renewal fee plus the required late fee.

Statutory Authority: MS s 326B.435

**History:** 33 SR 2042

#### 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE.

Subpart 1. **Scope.** Subpart 2 shall not apply to registered plumber's apprentices under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1).

# **MINNESOTA RULES 2009**

## 4716.0050 PLUMBER LICENSING AND APPRENTICE REGISTRATION 944

Subp. 2. **Registration requirements.** No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A plumber's apprentice who submits a registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the required late fee.

A. A plumber's apprentice must be at least 18 years of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice employed and supervised by the apprentice's parent must be at least 16 years of age.

B. At the time of registration, an apprentice must provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical plumbing experience.

Statutory Authority: MS s 326B.435

History: 33 SR 2042