XX/JC

13-2859

as introduced

## SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

# S.F. No. 1564

# (SENATE AUTHORS: WIKLUND, Eken, Pappas and Hoffman)DATED-PGOFFICIAL STATUS

1686

**DATE** 04/08/2013 05/01/2013 **OFFICIAL STATUS** Introduction and first reading Referred to Rules and Administration Comm report: To pass as amended Second reading

1.1	A bill for an act
1.2	relating to metropolitan government; providing for redistricting of the
1.3	Metropolitan Council districts; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2012, section
1.4	473.123, subdivision 3d.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. PLAN ADOPTED.
1.7	Metropolitan redistricting plan, on file with the Geographical Information
1.8	Systems Office of the Legislative Coordinating Commission and published on its Web site
1.9	on, 2013, is adopted as the Metropolitan Council redistricting plan.
1.10	Sec. 2. METES AND BOUNDS DESCRIPTION.
1.10	
1.11	Within 90 days after enactment of this act and in accordance with Minnesota
1.12	Statutes, section 2.91, the revisor of statutes shall prepare a metes and bounds description
1.13	of the Metropolitan Council districts in a form suitable for publication in Minnesota
1.14	Statutes and file it with the secretary of state.
1.15	Sec. 3. APPLICATION.
1.16	This act applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
1.17	Scott, and Washington.
1 10	Sec. 4. REPEALER.
1.18	
1.19	Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 473.123, subdivision 3d, is repealed.
1.20	Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE.

1

Sec. 5.

2.1 <u>This act is effective the day following final enactment.</u>

#### APPENDIX Repealed Minnesota Statutes: 13-2859

### 473.123 METROPOLITAN COUNCIL.

Subd. 3d. District boundaries. The council district boundaries are as follows:

(1) The first council district consists of that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Champlin, Corcoran, Dayton, Greenfield, Independence, Loretto, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Medicine Lake, Medina, Plymouth, and Rogers, and the town of Hassan.

(2) The second council district consists of that portion of Anoka county consisting of the cities of Columbia Heights, Fridley, Hilltop, and Spring Lake Park, and that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Osseo, and Robbinsdale.

(3) The third council district consists of that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Chanhassen, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland.

(4) The fourth council district consists of Carver county, that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Minnetrista and St. Bonifacius, and that portion of Scott county in the metropolitan area.

(5) The fifth council district consists of that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Bloomington, Edina, and Richfield, and the unorganized territory of Fort Snelling.

(6) The sixth council district consists of that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the cities of Crystal, Golden Valley, New Hope, and St. Louis Park, and that portion of the city of Minneapolis lying within a line described as follows: commencing at the intersection of the southern boundary of the city of Minneapolis and Lyndale Avenue, northerly along Lyndale Avenue to its intersection with Interstate Highway 394, easterly along Interstate Highway 394 to its intersection with Interstate Highway 94, northerly along Interstate Highway 94 to its intersection with the second set of Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad tracks, westerly along that set of Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad tracks, westerly along Pacific Railway tracks, westerly and northerly along the Canadian Pacific Railway tracks to their most westerly intersection with the western boundary of the city of Minneapolis, southerly and then easterly along the western and southern boundaries of the city of Minneapolis to the point of origin.

(7) The seventh council district consists of that portion of the city of Minneapolis lying within a line described as follows: commencing at the intersection of the west bank of the Mississippi River with Interstate Highway 35W, southwesterly along Interstate Highway 35W to its intersection with State Highway 55, southerly along State Highway 55 to its intersection with Interstate Highway 94, easterly along Interstate Highway 94 to its intersection with 20th Avenue South, southerly along 20th Avenue South to its intersection with Cedar Avenue, southerly along Cedar Avenue to its intersection with East 42nd Street, westerly along East 42nd Street to its intersection with the eastern boundary of the sixth council district, northerly and then westerly along the city of Minneapolis, northerly and then easterly along the western and northern boundaries of the Mississippi River, southerly and easterly along the west bank of the Mississippi River to the point of origin.

(8) The eighth council district consists of that portion of the city of Minneapolis not included in the sixth or seventh council district, that portion of Hennepin county consisting of the city of St. Anthony, and that portion of Ramsey county consisting of the city of St. Anthony.

(9) The ninth council district consists of that portion of Anoka county consisting of the cities of Andover, Anoka, Bethel, Coon Rapids, East Bethel, Ham Lake, Oak Grove, Ramsey, and St. Francis, and the towns of Burns and Linwood.

(10) The tenth council district consists of that portion of Anoka county consisting of the cities of Blaine, Circle Pines, and Lexington, and that portion of Ramsey county consisting of the cities of Arden Hills, Blaine, Falcon Heights, Lauderdale, Mounds View, New Brighton, North Oaks, Roseville, Shoreview, and Spring Lake Park.

(11) The eleventh council district consists of that portion of Anoka county consisting of the cities of Centerville and Lino Lakes, and the town of Columbus, and that portion of Ramsey county consisting of the cities of Gem Lake, Little Canada, Maplewood, North St. Paul, Vadnais Heights, and White Bear Lake, and the town of White Bear, and that portion of Washington county consisting of the cities of Hugo, Landfall, Oakdale, and White Bear Lake.

(12) The twelfth council district consists of that portion of Washington county not included in the eleventh council district.

#### APPENDIX

#### Repealed Minnesota Statutes: 13-2859

(13) The thirteenth council district consists of that portion of Dakota county consisting of the cities of Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul, and that portion of Ramsey county consisting of that portion of the city of St. Paul lying east of Interstate Highway 35E.

(14) The fourteenth council district consists of that portion of Ramsey county consisting of that portion of the city St. Paul lying west of Interstate Highway 35E.

(15) The fifteenth council district consists of that portion of Dakota county consisting of the cities of Burnsville, Inver Grove Heights, and South St. Paul, and that portion of the city of Eagan lying north of a line described as follows: commencing at the intersection of Cliff Road with the western boundary of the city of Eagan, easterly along Cliff Road to its intersection with Robert Trail South and 110th Street West, then easterly along 110th Street West to the eastern boundary of the city of Eagan.

(16) The sixteenth council district consists of that portion of Dakota county in the metropolitan area not included in the thirteenth or fifteenth council district.

(17) In case of any discrepancy between the description of a district in this subdivision and the district as it appears in Metropolitan Council redistricting plan MC03, as adopted in Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 16, section 9, the district that appears in plan MC03 governs.