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betterment of land, buildings, and capital improvements for area vocational-
technical institutes. These grants shall only be made upon the conditions and
in accordance with all sjandards and criteria established in state board rules
and in the legislative act authorizing the specific post-secondary vocational
facilities project. • A grant shall cover 85 percent of the cost of the post-second-
ary vocatipnaj facilities authorized by the specific legislative act, and \5 percent
of the cost of these facilities shall be financed b^ the school district operating
the post-secondary vocational-technical school, unless otherwise provided by
the specific legislative act. No local bonds shall be authorized, issued, or sold,
nor shall any election be held to authorize the issuance of bonds, if the
proceeds will be used to finance a project for which specific legislative approval
is required, until after that specific legislative approval has been given.

Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE.

This act is effective the day following final enactment.

Approved June 1, 1981

CHAPTER 363— H.F.No. 553

An act relating to transportation; providing for the financing of certain services of
the department of transportation; adjusting the motor vehicle registration tax on certain
vehicles; increasing the fee for personalized license plates; defining and clarifying certain
gross weights; providing for temporary' farm truck licenses; increasing the tax on
gasoline; increasing fees for. motorized bicycle operator permits and for driver licenses;
establishing a fee for the Minnesota identification card; providing for uniform applica-
tion fees; requiring reexamination before issuance of new drivers license after revocation;
authorizing married applicants to use their maiden name as their middle name; increas-
ing bicycle registration fees; providing that the proceeds of the motor vehicle excise tax
be allocated between the general fund, the transit assistance fund, and the highway user
tax distribution fund for a certain period, and thereafter the proceeds to be deposited in
the highway user tax distribution and transit assistance fund; providing for financial
assistance for local transit service; providing for the coordination and financing of
metropolitan transit service demonstration program; establishing a' metropolitan transit
service demonstration program; providing for alternative uses of metropolitan transit tax
levies; authorizing the cities of Moorhead and Duluth to increase its mill rate for public
transportation services; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sec-
tions 84.87. Subdivision 2; 168.011, Subdivisions 7, 10, 16, 17, and 25; 168.013,
Subdivisions la, Ib, Ic, Id, le, If, Ig, Ih, 2, 3 and by adding a subdivision; 168.017,
Subdivisions I and 3; 168.12, Subdivisions 2 and 2a; 168.16; 168.27, Subdivision 16;
I68C.II, Subdivision 1; 169.11; 169.79; 169.95; 171.02, Subdivision 3; 171.04; 171.06,
Subdivisions I, 2, 3, 4 and by adding a subdivision; 171.07, Subdivisions I, 3 and by
adding a subdivision; 171.17; 171.29; 174.23, Subdivision 1; 174.24, Subdivision 3, and
by adding a subdivision; 174.31; 296.02, Subdivision I; 297B.035, Subdivision 2;
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297B.09; 299D.03, Subdivision 5; 473.164, Subdivision 3; 473.408, Subdivisions 6 and 7;
473.411, Subdivision 1; 473.446; Laws 1969, Chapters 192, Section 1; and 720, Section
II, Subdivision I, as amended; proposing new law coded in Minnesota Statutes,
Chapters 168 and 174; repealing Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections 168.013, Subdivision
17; 174.28; and 174.31, Subdivisions 6 and 7.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 84.87, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. OPERATION GENERALLY. It shall be unlawful for any
person to drive or operate any snowmobile in the following unsafe or harassing
ways:

(a) At a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under all the
surrounding circumstances;

(b) In a careless, reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the
person or property of another or to cause injury or damage thereto;

(c) While under the influence of intoxicating liquor an alcoholic bever-
age or narcotics er habit forming drugs a controlled substance;

(d) Without a lighted head and tail light when required for safety;

(e) In any tree nursery or planting in a manner which damages or
destroys growing stock.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.011, Subdivision 7, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7. PASSENGER AUTOMOBILE. "Passenger automobile"
means any motor vehicle designed and used for the carrying of not more than
eight ten persons but excluding motorcycles; and motor scooters; aad station
wagons. "Passenger automobile" includes pjcjtup trucks and station wagons.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.011, Subdivision 10, is
amended to read:

Subd. 10. TRUCK. "Truck" means any motor vehicle designed and
used for carrying things other than passengers, except pickup trucks included
within the definition of passenger automobile in subdivision 7.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.011, Subdivision 16, is
amended to read:

Subd. 16. GROSS WEIGHT. "Gross weight" means the actual un-
loaded weight of the vehicle, either a truck or tractor, or the actual unloaded
combined weight of a truck-tractor and semitrailer or semitrailers, or of the
truck-tractor, semitrailer and one additional semitrailer, fully equipped, for
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service, plus the weight of the maximum load which the applicant has elected to
carry on such vehicle or combined vehicles. The term gross weight applied to a
truck used for towing a trailer means the unloaded weight of the truck, fully
equipped for service, plus the weight of the maximum load which'the applicant
has elected to carry on such truck, including the weight of such part of the
trailer and its load as may rest upon the truck. The term gross weight applied
to school buses means the weight of the vehicle fully equipped with all fuel
tanks full of fuel, plus the weight of the passengers and their baggage computed
at the rate of 100 pounds per passenger seating capacity, including that for the
driver. The term gross weight applied to other buses means the weight of the
vehicle' fully equipped with all fuel tanks full of fuel, plus the weight of
passengers and their baggage computed at the rate of 150 pounds per passenger
seating capacity, including that for the driver. For bus seats designed for more
than one passenger, but which are not divided so as to allot individual seats for
the passengers that occupy them, allow two feet of its length per passenger to
determine seating capacity. The term gross weight applied to a truck, truck-
tractor or a truck used as a truck-tractor used exclusively by the owner thereof
for transporting unfinished forest products or used by the owner thereof to
transport agricultural, horticultural, dairy and other farm products including
livestock produced or finished by the owner of the truck and any other personal
property owned by the farmer to whom the license for such truck is issued,
from the farm to market, and to transport property and supplies to the farm of
the owner, as described in subdivision 17, shall be the actual weight'of the
truck, truck-tractor or truck used as a truck-tractor or the combined weight of
the truck-tractor and semitrailer plus the weight of the maximum load which
the applicant has elected to carry on such vehicle or combined vehicles and
shall be licensed and taxed as provided by section 168.013, subdivision Ic. The
term gross weight applied to a truck-tractor or a truck used as a truck-tractor
used exclusively by the owner thereof, or b^ a for hire carrier hauling
exclusively for one owner, for towing an equipment dolly shall be the actual
weight of the truck-tractor or truck used as a truck-tractor plus the weight of
such part of the equipment dolly and its load as may rest upon the truck-tractor
or truck used as a truck-tractor, and shall be licensed separately and taxed as
provided by section 168.013, subdivision le, and the equipment dolly shall be
licensed separately and taxed as provided in section 168.013, subdivision Id,
which is applicable for the balance of the weight of the equipment dolly and the
balance of the maximum load the applicant has elected to carry on such
combined vehicles. The term "equipment dolly" as used in this subdivision
means a heavy semitrailer used solely by the owner thereof, or by^ a for hire
carrier hauling exclusively for one owner, to transport his construction machin-
ery, equipment, implements and other objects used on a construction project,
but not to be incorporated in or to become a part of a completed project. The
term gross weight applied to a wrecker defined in section 169.01, subdivision 52,
means the weight of the wrecker fully equipped for service, including the weight
of the crane, winch and other equipment to control the movement of a towed
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vehicle, but does not include the weight of a wrecked or disabled vehicle towed
or drawn by the wrecker.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.011, Subdivision 17, is
amended to read:

Subd. 17. FARM TRUCK. "Farm truck" means all single unit trucks,
truck-tractors, tractors, semitrailers, and trailers used by the owner thereof to
transport agricultural, horticultural, dairy, and other farm products, including
livestock, produced or finished by the owner of the truck, and any other
personal property owned by the farmer to whom the license for sueh the truck
is issued, from the farm to market, and to transport property and supplies to
the farm of the owner. Trucks, truck-tractors, tractors, semitrailers, and trailers
registered as "farm trucks" may be used by the owner thereof to occasionally
transport unprocessed and raw farm products, not produced by the owner of
the truck, from the place of production to market when such the transportation
constitutes the first haul of such the products, and may be used by the owner
thereof, either farmer or logger who harvests and hauls forest products only, to
transport logs, pulpwood, lumber, chips, railroad ties and other raw and
unfinished forest products from the place of production to an assembly yard or
railhead when such the transportation constitutes the first haul thereof, provid-
ed that the owner and operator of such the vehicle transporting planed lumber
shall have in his immediate possession a statement signed by the producer of
such the lumber designating the governmental subdivision, section and town-
ship where stwh the lumber was produced and that this haul, indicating the
date, is the first haul thereof. Such The licensed vehicles may also be used by
the owner thereof to transport, to and from timber harvesting areas, equipment
and appurtenances incidental to timber harvesting, and gravel and other road
building materials for timber haul roads.

"Farm trucks" shall also include only single unit trucks, which, because
of their construction, cannot be used for any other purpose and are used
exclusively to transport milk and cream enroute from farm to an assembly
point or place for final manufacture, and for transporting milk and cream from
an assembly point to a place for final processing or manufacture. This section
shall not be construed to mean that the owner or operator of a*y swefe the truck
cannot carry on his usual accommodation services for his patrons on regular
return trips, such as butter, cream, cheese, and other dairy supplies.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.011, Subdivision 25, is
amended to read:

Subd. 25. RECREATIONAL EQUIPMENT. "Recreational equip-
ment" means house trailers including those which telescope or fold down,
chassis mounted campers, house cars, motor homes, tent trailers, slip in
campers, converted buses and converted vans.
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(1) House trailers, chassis mounted campers, house cars, motor homes,
tent trailers, slip in campers, converted buses and converted vans are units
designed and used for human living quarters and meeting the following
qualifications:

(a) Are not used as the residence of the owner or occupant.

(b) Are used for temporary living quarters by the owner or occupant
while engaged in recreational or vacation activities.

(c) Are self propelled or towed on the public streets or highways
incidental to such the recreational or vacation activities.

For loses of this subdivision, a motor home includes a unit
designed to provide temporary living quarters, built into as an integral part of,
or permanently attached to, a self propelled motor vehicle chassis or van that
contains a permanently installed indepjmderit life support system and provides
at least four of the following facilities: cooking, refrigeration or ice box, self
contained toilet, heating or air conditioning, a potable water supply system
including a faucet and sink, separate 110-125 volt electrical power supply, or a
liquid propane gas supply. The units include, but are not limited to, the
following:

(i) A raw chassis upon which is built a driver's compartment and an
entire body that provides temporary living quarters;

(ii) A completed van-ty
temporary living quarters; and

vehicle that has been altered to

(iii) An incomplete vehicle upon which is permanently attached a body
designed to provide temporary living quarters as defined above.

(2) Slip in campers are mounted into a pickup truck in the pickup box,
either by bolting through the floor of the pickup box or by firmly clamping to
the side of the pickup box. The vehicle may be registered, at the owner's
choice, as either a recreational vehicle under this definition ef may b« registered
as a track-; defined by subdivision 40 must be registered as a passenger
automobile.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision la, is
amended to read:

Subd. la. PASSENGER AUTOMOBILES; AMBULANCES;
HEARSES. On passenger automobiles as defined in section 168.011. subdivi-
sion 7, ambulances, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the tax shall be
$10 plus an additional tax equal to 1.25 percent of the base value, except that
9£ pickup trucks the tax shall be:

(a) for the 1982 registration year, $10 plus an additional tax equal to .75
percent of base value;
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(b) for the 1_983 registration year and each succeeding year. $10 plus an
additional tax equal to 1.25 percent of base value.

Subject to the classification provisions herein, "base value" means the
manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle including destination charge
as reflected on the price listing affixed to the vehicle in conformity with 15
U.S.C. 1231 to 1233 (Public Law 85-506) or otherwise suggested by the
manufacturer or determined by the registrar if no suggested retail price exists,
and shall not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment
separately added to the vehicle and the suggested retail price.

If the registrar is unable to determine the base value because the vehicle
is specially constructed, or for any other reason, he may establish such value
upon the cost'price to the purchaser or owner as evidenced by a certificate of
cost but not including Minnesota sales or use tax or any local sales or other
local tax.

The registrar shall classify every vehicle in its proper base value class as
follows:

FROM TO
$ 0 $199.99
200 399.99

and thereafter a series of classes successively set in brackets having a
spread of $200 consisting of such number of classes as will permit classification
of all vehicles.

The base value for purposes of this section shall be the middle point
between the extremes of its class.

The registrar shall establish the base value, when new, of every passenger
automobile, ambulance and hearse registered prior to the effective date of Extra
Session Laws 1971, Chapter 31, using list price information published by the
manufacturer or any nationally recognized firm or association compiling such
data for the automotive industry. If the registrar is unable to ascertain the base
value of any registered vehicle in the foregoing manner, he may use any other
available source or method. The tax on all previously registered vehicles shall
be computed upon the base value thus determined taking into account the
depreciation provisions of Extra Session Laws 1971, Chapter 31.

The annual additional tax computed upon the base value as provided
herein, during the first year of vehicle life shall be computed upon 100 percent
of the base value; for the second,year, 90 percent of such value; for the third
year, 75 percent of such value; for the fourth year, 60 percent of such value;
for the fifth year, 45 percent of such value; for the sixth year, 35 percent of
such value; for the seventh year, 30 percent of such value; for the eighth year,
20 percent of such value; for the ninth year, 15 percent of such value; for the
tenth.year, 10 percent of such value; for the eleventh and each succeeding year,
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the sum of $3 SI 3; provided that for registrations renewed on or after January
L *982, the annual additional tax for the eleventh and each succeeding year of
vehicle life shall be $13, for registrations renewed on or after January ^ 1983,
the annual additional tax shall be $18. for registrations renewed on or after
January \^ 1984, the annual additional tax shall be $22, and for registrations
renewed on or after January 1^ 1985, the annual additional tax shall be S25.

In no event shall the annual additional tax be less than $13 for any
registration renewed afler January I, _19_82, nor less than $UJ for any^ registration
renewed after January 1, 1983, $22 for any registration renewed after January 1^
1984, and $25 for any registration renewed after January l^ 1985.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision Ib, is
amended to read:

Subd. Ib. MOTORCYCLES. On motorcycles the tax is $5 $10, which
includes the surtax provided for in subdivision 14.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision Ic, is
amended to read:

Subd. Ic. FARM TRUCKS. (I) On farm trucks having a gross weight
of not more than 57,000 pounds, the tax shall be based on total gross weight
and shall be 30 45 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed by subdivision
le under Schedule I during each of the first si* eight years of vehicle life, but in
no event less than $49 $35. and during the seventh ninth and succeeding years
of vehicle life as taken from Schedule HT but in ne event less than $44 the tax
shall be 27 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed by subdivision |e, but
in no event less than $21, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision. On
farm trucks having a gross weight of not more than 57,000 pounds during each
of the first ejght years of vehicle life, the tax shall be:

(a) for the registration year 1982. 34 percent of the tax im
Minnesota base rate schedule;

sed in the

(b) for the registration year 1 983, 38 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(c) for the registration year _198_4. 42 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(d) for the registration year 1985. and each succeeding year. 45 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

On farm trucks having a gross weight of not more than 57.000 pounds
during the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life, the tax shall be:

(a) for the 1982 registration year. 20 percent of the tax itnj
Minnesota base rate schedule;

)sed in the
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(b) for the 1983 registration year. 22 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rale schedule;

(c) for the 1984 registration year, 24 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(d) for the 1985 registration year, and each succeeding year, 27 percent
of the Minnesota base rate schedule.

{2) On farm trucks having a gross weight of more than 57,000 pounds,
the tax shall be 60 percent of the Minnesota base rate during the first eight
years of vehicle life and 36 percent of the Minnesota base rate during the tenth
and succeeding years, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision. On
farm trucks having a gross weight of more than 57,000 pounds during the first
eight y_ears of vehicle life, the tax shall be:

(a) for the registration year 1982, 38 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

0^1 !°I !l!£ registration year 1983, 45 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

<£) for the registration year 1984, 53 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(d) for the registration year 1985, and each succeeding year, 60 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

On farm trucks having a gross weight of more than 57.000 pounds,
during the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life, the tax shall be;

^a) for the 1982 registration year, 23 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

^b) for the 1983 registration year. 27 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

l£) [PI i!l£ L984 registration year. 3J_ percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(d) for the J985 registration year, and each succeeding year. 36 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

In addition to «*eb the gross weight tax imposed on a truck-tractor or
truck used as a truck-tractor, each semitrailer shall be taxed a fee of $10 for a
one year period or $50 for a five year period whichever the applicant elects.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision Id, is
amended to read:
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Subd. Id. TRAILERS. On trailers the annual tax shall be based on
total gross weight and shall be 30 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed
in subdivision le, Schedule ly but in no event less than $3 $5, provided, that the
tax on trailers with a total gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less shall.be payable
biennially.

Sec. II. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision le, is
amended to read:

Subd. le. TRUCKS; TRACTORS; COMBINATIONS; EXCEP-
TIONS. On all trucks and tractors except those in this chapter defined as farm
trucks, and urban trucks, and on all truck-tractor and semi-trailer combinations
except those defined as farm combinations' and urban combinations and on
commercial zone vehicles, the tax based on total gross weight during the lifst
si* years el vehiele life shall be graduated according to Schedule I ef- the
Minnesota base rate schedule prescribed in this subdivision, but in no event less
than $2«V ao4 during (he seventh aad succeeding years el vehicle life (he tax
shall be graduated according te Schedule 44 el this subdivision. etrt in oe event

MINNESOTA BASE RATE SCHEDULE

TOTAL GROSS
WEIGHT

IN POUNDS

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T

.0
1,501
3,001
4,50!
6,001
9,001

12,001
15,001
18,001
21,001
27,001
33,001
39,001
45,001
51,001
57,001
63,001
69,001
73,281
2WJ-

- 1,500
- 3,000
- 4,500
- 6,000
- 9,000
- 12,000
- 15,000
- 18,000
-21,000
-27,000
-33,000
-39,000
-45,000
-51,000
-57,000
,- 63,000
-69,000
- 73,280
. 7-7 nnn1 ' f WV

78,001 -
78,000
81,000

Scheduled taxes include five percent
surtax provided for in subdivision 14

SCHEDULE 1

Tax

$ 15
55

44S9- 23
-19-00 55
-2»iee- 43
^f\ A/\ "7A
J7,UU /U

-62^6- 103
O^ fU\ I A£
Q\J.\J\J l*Tj

IM.OQ 190
-BS êO- 270
^^/\ AQ. 1A/1
XJU.vv JD\J

-320̂ 8- 475
420.00 590
546^8- 710
-690=00- 855

1010

SCHEDULE II

j

B on_O.Î J

lift flflI JO.W

-9?ftee- MSP
1320

^•n-i /w\
07J.UU

47260^9-
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For each vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 81,000 pounds an
additional tax of $36 $50 is imposed for each ton or fraction thereof in excess
of 81,000 pounds, subject to provisions of subdivision 12.

Provided however, that en al) trucks^ e*eept those in this chapter defined
as farm trucks and urban trucks; having a gross weight in excess of 18,000
ooiinQ'i piif jess tnjin *}7 OO1 oomtd^- d^4 t3.x En3ii be'

(a) Fef tn« registration year 1976; 76 percent el the applicable Schedule
I ef Schedule 44 ̂ f this subdivision:

(b) Fee the registration year 1977, 80 percent ef the applicable Schedule
44 of this subdivision:

(e) £er the registration year 1978. 90 percent ef- the applicable Schedule 1
H ef this subdivision^

(4) For the rcgictration year 4939 and thereafter. 400 percent ef the
applicable Schedule I ef Schedule II ef this subdivision.

Oft vehicles having a gross weight in excess ef 27.000 pounds, and used
fef the transportation ef livestock ef unprocessed and Faw faH» products shall
be taxed at 90 percent ef the Minnesota base rate prescribed by this subdivision
under Schedule I during each ef the first si* years ef vehicle life and during the
seventh and succeeding years ef vehicle life as taken from Schedule U? provided
the gross receipts derived frem such use equal or- exceed 60 percent of- th«
owner's total gfess receipts from the operation ef such vehicle during the 43
month period immediately preceding the date set by law for the registration
ef such vehicle. ^Fhe ewmtf shall famish such information as the commissioner
of pubiio safety may require, including sworn statements ef feet? aed tee
commissioner of public safety shall thereupon determine whether such owner
comes within the provisions ef this paragraph.

If a« ewB«f has net used such vehicle fer the transportation of livestock
Of unprocessed and raw farm products so as to ee able te report gross receipts
fer the 43 month period as herein set forth, he may? neverthelefiSj apply fer
registration hereunder and pay the reduced tax and the oommicGioner ef public
safety shall? after consideration of the established facts, determine whether such
owner is entitled to have such registration approved.

If an ewa«t fails te operate under (he eoaditions and limitations herein
set forth, he shall immediately notify the commissioner ef public safety ef such
fact and pay the difference between the scheduled gross weignt tax and the
reduced ta* proportionate te the number ef months remaining in the year. 1/4-3
ef the difference fer each month or fraction thereof? beginning with the month
in which such operations were discontinued or changed:

4f an ewn«r first uses such vehicle for the transportation of livestock and
unprocessed and raw farm products after the tan becomes due without reduc-
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tie**; ne adjustment ef refund ef tax-shatt be made during that calendar year fer
reasons ef transporting livestock and unprocessed and Faw farm products.

All truck-tractors except those herein defined as farm and urban truck-
tractors and commercial zone vehicles shall be taxed in accord with the
foregoing gross weight tax schedule on the basis of the combined gross weight
of such truck-tractor and any semi-trailer or semitrailers which the applicant
proposes to combine with the truck-tractor. In addition, to such the gross
weight tax imposed on the truck-tractor, each semi-trailer shall be taxed a Fee of
$10 for a one year period or $50 for a five year period whichever the applicant
elects.

Urban Commercial .zong trucks include only all trucks and ali truck-
tractors and semt-trftitefs used exclusively in transporting property within the
metropolitan area consisting ef Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Dakota. Afioka.
Washington and Carve* counties; ef within the cefperate limits ef any city ef
contiguous cities ef within ene mile ef- cities ef- the first and second elassr Per
the purposes ef this clause a land area ceded te the United States ef America
under General Laws 1889, Chapter $1-, is & statutory city? The vehicle shaH net
he operated outside the metropolitan area ef corporate limits ef such city ef
contiguous cities, ef beyond ea« mile ef- cities ef the first and second class?
encept that the commissioner ef public safely may. by special permit, authorize
the permanent removal ef such vehicle frem any registration area te another.
The license plates issued therefof shall be plainly marked. On urban trucks
and combinations the ta* shall he based en total gfess weight and shall be 30
percent ef the Minnesota base fate prescribed in this subdivision under
Schedule I during each ef- the &$t sis years ef vehicle life; but in ne event less
than $44; and during the seventh and succeeding years ef- vehicle We as taken
from Schedule Hy but in ne event less than $4-k t« addition te sueh gross
weight ta* imposed en the truck tractor, each semitrailer shall be ta*ed a fee ef
$4£ fer a ene year period or $50 fer a five year period whichever the applicant
eleetsr Provided that en vehicles used by an authorized leeal cartage carrier
operating under a permit issued pursuant le section 221.2% and whose gross
transportation revenue consist ef at least 60 percent obtained solely frem local
cartage carriage, snail be taxed at 90 percent ef the prescribed urban truck and
combination rates fef the life ef the vehicle during each year sueh vehic4e is
used; provided that the gross revenues obtained frem transportation services is
obtained from local cartage carriage is at least 60 percent ef all revenue
obtained from transportation services by said person: and provided fwthef;
that said tax shall in ne event be less than W^ and semi- trailers whigh are:

(12 usej by. 5H authorized local cartage carrier operating under a permit
issued pursuant to section 221.296 and whose gross transportation revenue
consists of at least 60 percent obtained soleh
are operated solely within the area defined in section 221.296. subdivision ]_;
or.
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(2) operated by an interstate carrier registered pursuant to section 221.61
or 221.62, or by_ an authorized local cartage carrier or other carrier receiving
operating authority pursuant to chapter 22V, and operated solely within a zone
exempt from regulation by_ the Interstate Commerce Commission pursuant to
49 U.S.C. 10526(b).

The license plates issued for commercial zone vehicles shall be plainly
marked. Any person operating a commercial zone vehicle outside the zone or
area in which its operation is authorized is guilty of a misdemeanor and, in
addition to the penalty theretoj\ shall have the registration of the vehicle as a
commercial zone vehicle revoked by the registrar and shall be required to
re-register the vehicle at 100 percent of the full annual tax prescribed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule, and no part of this lax shall be refunded during
the balance of the registration year.

On commercial zone trucks the tax shall be based on the total gross
weight of the vehicle and during the first eight years of vehicle life shall be 75
perccjit of the Minnesota base rate schedule. During the ninth ajid succeeding
years of vehicle life the tax shall be 50 percent of the Minnesota base rate
schedule, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision. On commercial
zone trucks, during the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life, the tan shall
bej^

(a) for the 1982 registration year. 35 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule:

(b) for the 1983 registration year, 40 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule:

(c) for the 1984 registration year, 45 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule:

(d) for the 1985 registration year, and each succeeding year, 50 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

On al] trucks, truck-tractors and semi-trailer combinations, except those
defined as farm trucks and farm combinations, and except for those urban
trucks and combinations and commercial zone vehicles specifically provided for
in this subdivision, the tax [or the first eight years of vehicle life shall be 100
percent of the lax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule, and during the
ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life, the tax shall be 75 percent of the
Minnesota base rate prescribed by subdivision |e, except as otherwise provided
in this subdivision.

On all trucks, truck-tractors and semi-trailer combinations, except those
defined as farm trucks and farm combinations, and except for those urban
trucks and combinations and commercial zone vehicles specifically provided for
in this subdivision, during each of the first eight years of vehicle life the tax
shall be:

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by Mrikeout.



Ch. 363 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1981 2311

(a) for the registration year 1982, 83 percent of the lax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(b) for the registration year |983, 89 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(c_) for the registration year JJ84, 95 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(d) for the registration year 1985. and each succeeding year. 100 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision If, is
amended to read:

Subd. If. INTERCITY BUSES. On all intercity buses, the tax during
each the first two years of vehicle life shall be based on the gross weight of the
vehicle and graduated according to the following schedule:

Gross Weight of Vehicle Tax

Under 6,000 Ibs $125
6.000 to 8,000 Ibs., incl 125
8.001 to 10,000 Ibs., incl 125

10,001 to 12,000 Ibs., incl 150
12,001 to 14,000 Ibs., incl 190
14,001 to 16,000 Ibs., incl 210
16,001 to 18,000 Ibs., incl 225
18,001 to 20,000 Ibs., incl 260
20,001 to 22,000 Ibs., incl 300
22,001 to 24,000 Ibs., incl 350
24,001 to 26,000 Ibs., incl 400
26,001 to 28,000 Ibs., incl 450
28,001 to 30,000 Ibs., incl 500
30,001 and over 550

During each of the third and fourth years of vehicle life, the tax shall be
75 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; during the f i f th year of vehicle life,
the tax shall be 50 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; during the sixth year
of vehicle life, the tax shall be 37 1/2 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax;
and during the seventh and each succeeding year of vehicle life, the tax shall be
25 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; provided that the annual tax paid in
3ny year of its life for an intercity bus shall be not less than $175 for a vehicle
of over 25 passenger seating capacity and not less than $125 for a vehicle of 25
passenger and less seating capacity.

On all intracity buses operated by an auto transportation company in
the business of transporting persons for compensation as a common carrier and
Operating within the limits of cities having populations in excess of 200,000
inhabitants, the tax during each year of the vehicle life of each such bus shall
be $40; on all of such intracity buses operated in cities having a population of
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less than 200,000 and more than 70,000 inhabitants, the tax during each year of
vehicle life of each bus shall be $10; and on all of such intracity buses
operating in cities having a population of less than 70,000 inhabitants, the tax
during each year of vehicle life of each Bus shall be $2.

On all other buses the tax during each of the first three years of the
vehicle life shall be based on the gross weight of the vehicle and graduated
according to the following schedule: Where the gross weight of the vehicle is
6,000 pounds or less, $25. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than
6,000 pounds, and not more than 8,000 pounds, the tax shall be $25 plus an
additional tax of $5 per ton for the ton or major portion in excess of 6,000
pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than 8,000 pounds, and
not more than 20,000 pounds, the tax shall be $30 plus an additional tax of $10
per ton for each ton or major portion in excess of 8,000 pounds. Where the
gross weight of the vehicle is more than 20,000 pounds and not more than
24,000 pounds, the tax shall be $90 plus an additional tax of $15 per ton for
each ton or major portion in excess of 20,000 pounds. Where the gross weight
of the vehicle is more than 24,000 pounds and not more than 28,000 pounds,
the tax shall be $120 plus an additional tax of $25 per ton for each ton or major
portion in excess of 24,000 pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is
more than 28,000 pounds, the tax shall be $170 plus an additional tax of $30
per ton for each ton or major portion in excess of 28,000 pounds.

During each ef the fourth, fifth and swrth- and succeeding years of vehicle
life, the tax shall be 80 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax but in no event
less than $20 per vehicle.

During each ef- the seventh, eighth and ninth years ef- vehicle life; (he ta*
shall be 66 percent ef the foregoing scheduled tax but in ne event less than $44
AA£ vehicle

During the tentn and succeeding years ef vehiele life; the ta* shall be 46
percent ef the foregoing scheduled tax but it* ne event less than $42 per vehicle.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision Ig, is
amended to read:

Subd. Ig. RECREATIONAL VEHICLES. Selfpropelled recreational
vehicles shall be separately licensed and taxed annually on the basis of total
gross weight at 466 percent ef and the tax shall be graduated according to the
Minnesota base rate schedule prescribed in subdivision le under Schedule I
during eaeh ef the fifst si* years ef vehicle life, but in no event less than $44*

Schedule U? but in ne event less than $8 $20, except as otherwise provided in
this subdivision.

For all self-propelled recreational vehicles, the tax for the ninth and
succeeding years of vehicle life shall be:
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(a) for the 1982 registration year. 64 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(b) for the 1983 registration year. 68 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(c) for the 1984 registration year. 72 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rale schedule;

(d) for the _19_85 registration year and each succeeding year, 75 percent of
the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.

Towed recreational vehicles shall be separately licensed and taxed
annually on the basis of total gross weight at 30 percent of the Minnesota base
rate prescribed in subdivision le under Schedule I but in no event less than $5.

subdivision 2-^h shall be as provided fe* selfpropelled recreational vehicles unless
such ownef elects te register such slip-in camper as a truck-: H (he ewnef eleets

fet self propelled recreational vehicles OF the ta* imposed fef trucks en
the basis el grass weight m subdivision 4*? whichever is higher; Notwithstand-
ing any law to the contrary, all trailers and semitrailers taxed pursuant to this
section shall be exempt from any wheelage tax now or hereafter imposed by
any political subdivision or political subdivisions.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision Ih, is
amended to read:

Subd. Ih. MOTORIZED BICYCLES. On motorized bicycles the tax
is $3 $6, which includes the surtax provided for in subdivision 14.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, is amended by
adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. _ l i . URBAN TRUCKS. On all vehicles registered as urban
trucks for the registration year 1981. or any part thereof, and which are not
registered as commercial zone trucks for the registration year |982 and succeed-
ing years, the tax shall be:

(a) for the registration year 1982, 50 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule:

(b) for the registration year 1983. 67 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule;

(c± for the registration year 1984, 84 percent of the tax imposed in the
Minnesota base rate schedule:

(d) for the registration year 1985. and each succeeding year. 1_00 percent
of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule.
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Beginning with the registration year 1985, the registrar shall not issue
urban license plates.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. PRORATED FEES. When a motor vehicle first becomes
subject to taxation during the registration period for which the tax is paid, the
tax shall be for the remainder of the period prorated on a monthly basis, 1/12
of the annual tax for each calendar month or fraction thereof; provided,
however, that for a vehicle having an annual tax of $5 $10 or less there shall be
no reduction until on and after September 1 when sueh the annual tax shall be
reduced one-half.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.013, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. APPLICATION; CANCELATION CANCELLATION; EX-
CESSIVE GROSS WEIGHTS FORBIDDEN. The applicant for all licenses
based on gross weight shall state in writing upon oath, among other things, the
unloaded weight of such vehicle or trailer and the maximum load the applicant
proposes to carry thereon, the sum of which shall constitute the gross weight
upon which the license tax shall be paid, but in no case shall the declared gross
weight upon which the tax is paid be less than 1-1/2 1-1/4 times the declared
unloaded weight of the vehicle or trailer to be registered, except recreational
vehicles taxed under subdivision Ig, school buses taxed under subdivision 18
and wreckers defined in section 169.01, subdivision 52. The gross weight of a
wrecker is the actual weight of the wrecker fully equipped, but does not include
the weight of a wrecked or disabled vehicle towed or drawn by the wrecker.

The gross weight of no vehicle or trailer shall exceed the gross weight
upon which the license tax has been paid by more than four percent or 1000
pounds, whichever is greater.

The gross weight of the vehicle or trailer for which such license tax is
paid shall be indicated by a distinctive character on the license plate or plates
except as provided in subdivision 12 and the plate or plates shall be kept clean
and clearly visible at all times.

The owner, driver, or user of a vehicle or trailer upon conviction for
transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which it was
registered or for operating a vehicle with an axle weight exceeding the maxi-
mum lawful axle load weight shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and be subject to
increased registration or re-registration according to the following schedule:

(1) The owner, driver or user of a vehicle or trailer upon conviction for
transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which it is
registered by more than four percent or 1000 pounds, whichever is greater, but
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less than 25 percent or for operating or using a vehicle or trailer with an axle
weight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load as provided in section 169.83
by more than four percent or 1000 pounds, whichever is greater, but less than
25 percent, in addition to any penalty imposed on him for the misdemeanor
shall apply to the registrar to increase the authorized gross weight to be carried
on the vehicle to a weight equal to or greater than the gross weight of which the
owner, driver, or user was convicted of carrying, the increase computed for the
balance of the calendar year on the basis of 1/12 of (he annual tax for each
month remaining in the calendar year beginning with the first day of the month
in which the violation occurred. If the additional registration tax computed
upon that weight, plus the tax already paid, amounts to more than the regular
tax for the maximum gross weight permitted for such a vehicle under section
169.83, that additional amount shall nevertheless be paid into the highway fund,
but the additional tax thus paid shall hot be deemed to permit the vehicle to be
operated with a gross weight in excess of the maximum legal weight as provided
by section 169.83. Unless the owner within 30 days after such a conviction
shall apply to increase the authorized weight and pay the additional tax as
herein provided, the registrar shall revoke the registration on the vehicle and
demand the return of the registration card and plates issued by him on that
registration.

(2) The owner or driver or user of a vehicle or trailer upon conviction for
transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which the vehicle
or trailer was registered by 25 percent or more, or for operating or using a
vehicle or trailer with an axle weight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load
as provided in section 169.83 by 25 percent or more, in addition to any penalty
imposed on him for the misdemeanor, shall have the reciprocity privileges on
the vehicle involved if the same is being operated under reciprocity canceled by
the registrar, or if the vehicle is not being operated under reciprocity, the
certificate of registration on the vehicle so operated shall be canceled by the
registrar and the registrar shall demand the return of the registration certificate
and registration plates. The registrar may investigate any allegation of gross
weight violations and demand that the operator show cause why all future
operating privileges in the state should not be revoked unless the additional tax
assessed be paid.

(3) When the registration on a motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer has
been revoked by the registrar according to provisions of this section, such
vehicle shall not be again operated on the highways of the state until it is
registered or re-registered, as the case may be, and new plates issued, and the
registration fee therefor shall be the annual tax for the total gross weight of the
vehicle at the time of violation.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.017, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:
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Subdivision I. All passenger automobiles, ambulances, hearses, pickup
trucks, and station wagons; beginning April -H 1975? shall be registered by the
registrar according to the monthly series system of registration prescribed by
this section.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.017, Subdivision 3, is
amended to, read;

Subd. 3. All vehicles subject to registration under the monthly series
system shall be registered by the registrar for a period of 12 consecutive
calendar months, except as follows:

(a) If the application is an original rather than renewal application; or,

(b) The application is the next registration occurring after a dealer or
distributor has registered a motor vehicle prior to its assessment or taxation as
personal property pursuant to section 168.28; or,

(c) The application is a renewal application for a pickup truck for the
registration year of 4£7£ 1982.

In such instance the registrar may register the vehicle which is the
subject of the application for a period of not less than three nor more than 15
calendar months, when the registrar determines that such registration will help
to equalize the registration and renewal work load of the department.

Sec. 20. 1168.018) QUARTERLY REGISTRATION OF FARM
TRUCKS.

The owner of any farm truck as defined in section 168.011. subdivision
M, may elect to register and license the farm truck only for one or more
quarters of a registration year, at a tax of one-fourth of the annual tax on the
vehicle plus $5 for each quarterly registration. The expiration date of a
quarterly registration shall be displayed on the license plate in such a manner as
the registrar shall direct. No farm truck registered on a quarterly basis shall be
operated on the public streets and highways more than ten days beyond the end
of the quarter for which it is registered unless the registration has been renewed
for another quarter or for the remainder of the registration ytar.

For purposes of this section registration quarters shall begin on March K,
June U September ], and December L

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.12, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

v
Subd. 2. AMATEUR RADIO STATION LICENSEE; SPECIAL

LICENSE PLATES. Any applicant who is an owner or joint owner of a motor
vehicle and a resident of this state, and who holds an official amateur radio
station license, or a citizens radio service class D license, in good standing,
issued by the Federal Communications Commission shall upon compliance with
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all laws of this state relating to registration and the licensing of motor vehicles
and drivers, be furnished with license plates for st»efe the motor vehicle, as
prescribed by law for passenger cars, upon which, in lieu of the numbers
required for identification under subdivision I, shall be inscribed the official
amateur call letters of such the applicant, as assigned by the Federal Communi-
cations Commission. The applicant shall pay in addition to the registration tax
required by law, the sum of $2.56 $10 for sueh the special license plates, and at
the time of delivery of sueb the special license plates the applicant shall
surrender to the registrar the current license plates issued for s«efe the motor
vehicle. This provision for the issue of special license plates shall apply only if
the applicant's passenger automobile is already registered in Minnesota so that
the applicant has valid regular Minnesota plates issued for that passenger
automobile under which to operate it during the time that it will take to have
the necessary special license plates made. If the applicant owns or jointly owns
more than one motor vehicle he may apply for special plates for each of not
more than two vehicles, and, if each application complies with this subdivision,
the registrar shall furnish the applicant with sueh the special plates, inscribed
with the official amateur call letters and such other distinguishing information
as the registrar considers necessary, for each of the two vehicles. And the
registrar may make such reasonable regulations governing the use of sueh the
special license plates as will assure the full compliance by the owner and holder
of &4eh the special plates, with all existing laws governing the registration of
motor vehicles, the transfer and the use thereof. When the ownership of a
motor vehicle for which sueh special license plates have been furnished by the
registrar, changes from one person to another, the special license plates herein
authorized shall be promptly removed from the motor vehicle by the seller and
returned to the registrar, at which time the seller or the buyer of s**eh the motor
vehicle shall be entitled to receive license plates for sueh the motor vehicle as
provided in section 168.15.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.12, Subdivision 2a, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2a. PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES. Personalized
license plates shall be issued to any applicant for registration of a passenger
automobile, station wagon, van or pickup truck with a gross weight of 9,000
pounds or less, or self-propelled recreational vehicle, upon compliance with all
laws of this state relating to registration of the vehicle, and upon payment of a
fee of $50 $100 in addition to the registration tax required by law for the
vehicle. In lieu of the numbers assigned as provided in subdivision 1, such
personalized license plates shall have imprinted thereon a series of not to
exceed any combination of six numbers and letters. When an applicant has
once obtained personalized plates, he shall have a prior claim for similar
personalized plates in the next succeeding year that plates are issued if he
makes application for them at least 30 days prior to the first date on which his
registration can be renewed. The commissioner of public safety shall adopt
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rules and regulations in the manner provided by chapter 15, regulating the
issuance and transfer of such personalized license plates. No words or
combination of letters placed on such personalized license plates may be used
for commercial advertising or be of an obscene, indecent or immoral nature, or
such as would offend public morals or decency. The call signals or letters of a
radio or television station shall not be construed as commercial advertising for
the purposes of this subdivision.

Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision I, personalized license
plates issued pursuant to this subdivision may be transferred to another motor
vehicle upon the payment of a fee of $5, which fee shall be paid into the state
treasury and credited to the highway user tax distribution fund. The registrar
may by regulation provide a form for such notification.

The fee prescribed for personalized license plates shall be paid only in
those years in which the number plate itself is issued, and shall not be payable
in any year in which a year plate, tab or sticker is issued in lieu of a number
plate.

All fees from the sale of personalized license plates shall be paid into the
state treasury and credited to the highway user tax distribution fund.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.16, is amended to read:

168.16 REFUNDS; APPROPRIATION.

After the tax upon any motor vehicle shall have been paid for .any year,
refund shall be made for errors made in computing the tax or fees and for the
error on the part of an owner who may in error have registered a motor vehicle
thai was not before, nor at the time of suoh registration, nor at any time
thereafter during the current past year, subject to suoh tax in this state,
provided that after more than two years after susb the tax was paid no refund
shall be made for any tax paid on any vehicle exempted from taxation by
reasons of nonuse as provided by section 168.012. S«oh The refundment shall
be made from any fund in possession of the registrar and shall be deducted
from his monthly report to the commissioner of finance. A detailed report of
sueh the refundment shall accompany the report. The former owner of a
transferred vehicle by an assignment in writing endorsed upon his registration
certificate and delivered to the registrar within the time provided herein may
sell and assign lo the new owner thereof the right to have the tax paid by him
accredited to s«eh the owner who duly registers such the vehicle. Any owner
at the time of such occurrence, whose vehicle shall be permanently destroyed,
permanently removed ffem the state-, or sold to the federal government, the
state, or political subdivision thereof, shall upon filing a verified claim be
entitled to a refund of the unused portion of the tax paid upon the vehicle,
computed as follows:
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(1) If the vehicle is registered under the calendar year system of
registration, the refund is computed pro rata by the month, one-twelfth of the
annual tax paid for each month of the year remaining after the month in which
the plates and certificate were returned to the registrar;

(2) In the case of a vehicle registered under the monthly series system of
registration, the amount of the refund is equal to the sum of the amounts of the
license fee attributable to those months remaining in the licensing period after
the month in which the plates and certificate were returned to the registrar.
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such surrender and

There is hereby appropriated to the persons entitled to swefe a refund,
from the fund or account in the state treasury to which the money was credited,
an amount sufficient to make the refund and payment.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168.27, Subdivision 16, is
amended to read:

Subd. 16. PLATES, DISTINGUISHING NUMBERS, (a) The regis-
trar shall issue to every motor vehicle dealer, upon a request from such motor
vehicle dealer licensed as provided in subdivisions 2 or 3, one or more pair of
number plates displaying a general distinguishing number upon the payment of
$10 to the registrar. In addition the dealer shall pay a motor vehicle excise tax
of $15 annually for each pair of dealer plates purchased as required by section
297B.035. The registrar shall deposit the tax in the state treasury and it shall
be credited te the general fund as provided in section 297B.09. Motor vehicles,
new or used, owned by such motor vehicle dealer and bearing such number
plates, except vehicles leased to the user who is not an employee of the dealer
during the term of the lease, held for hire, or customarily used by the dealer as
a tow truck, service truck, or parts pickup truck, may be driven upon the streets
and highways of this state by such motor vehicle dealer, or any employee of
such motor vehicle dealer or by any member of the immediate family of such
dealer or employee for either private or business purposes; or may be driven
upon the streets and highways for demonstration purposes by any prospective
buyer thereof for a period of 48 hours or in the case of a truck, truck-tractor, or
semi-trailer, for a period of seven days.

(b) A new or used motor vehicle sold by such motor vehicle dealer and
bearing the motor vehicle dealer's number plates may be driven upon the public
streets and highways for a period of 72 hours by the buyer for either of the
following purposes: (1) Removing the vehicle from this state for registration in
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another state, or (2) permitting the buyer to use the motor vehicle before he
receives number plates pursuant to his own registration. Use of a motor
vehicle by the buyer under the provisions of clause (2) of the preceding
sentence before he receives number plates pursuant to his own registration
constitutes a use of the public streets or highways for the purpose of the time
requirements for registration of motor vehicles.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 168C.11, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. APPOINTMENT. Subject to the provisions of subdi-
vision 2, the commissioner shall appoint as deputy registrars of bicycles any
bicycle dealer, or agent or employee thereof, or any agent or employee
designated by a municipality that sells bicycles at public auction who applies
for appointment in a manner prescribed by the commissioner; provided that
concurrently there may be no more than one such deputy for each separate
place of business of a bicycle dealer. Deputy registrars of bicycles shall act as
agents of the commissioner and may accept registrations as provided in Laws
1976, Chapter 199, except that no deputy registrar of bicycles shall be required
to register bicycles sold by other bicycle dealers. The commissioner, deputy
registrars of motor vehicles, and deputy registrars of bicycles may charge and
retain an additional 50 cents $1^ per registration granted for their services. In
the case of a deputy registrar of motor vehicles, the 50 eeftts $1 shall be
deposited in the treasury of the place for which he is appointed, or if the deputy
is not a public official he shall retain the filing fee. All other registration fees
collected by the commissioner, deputy registrars of motor vehicles and deputy
registrars of bicycles shall be processed, accounted for and transmitted to the
state treasurer as required by the commissioner.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 169.11, is amended to read:

169.11 CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE.

The commissioner of public safety shall revoke the driver's license; and
shall revoke the chauffeur's license, of any person convicted of the crime of
criminal negligence in the operation of a vehicle resulting in the death of a
human being.

Sec. 27: Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 169.79, is amended to read:

169.79 VEHICLE REGISTRATION.

No person shall operate, drive or park a motor vehicle on any highway
unless the vehicle is registered in accordance with the laws of this state and has
the number plates for the current year only, as assigned to it by the commis-
sioner of public safety, conspicuously displayed thereon in a manner that the
view of any plate is not obstructed. If the vehicle is a motorcycle, motor
scooter, motorized bicycle, motorcycle sidecar, trailer, or semitrailer, one such
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plate shall be displayed on the rear thereof; if the vehicle is a truck-tractor or,
road-tractor or farm truck, as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 17, but
excluding from that definition semitrailers and trailers, one such plate shall be
displayed on the front thereof; if it is any other kind of motor vehicle, one sueb
plate shall be displayed on the front and one on the rear thereof. All plates
shall be securely fastened so as to prevent them from swinging. The person
driving the motor vehicle shall keep the plate legible and unobstructed and free
from grease, dust, or other blurring material so that the lettering shall be plainly
visible at all times.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 169.95, is amended to read:

169.95 COURTS TO KEEP SEPARATE RECORDS OF VIOLA-
TIONS.

Every magistrate or judge of a court not of record, and every clerk of a
court of record, shall keep a full record of every case in which a person is
charged with any violation of this chapter or of any other law, or city
ordinance, regulating the operation of vehicles on highways.

Within ten days after the conviction or forfeiture of bail of- a person
upon a charge of violating any provisions of this chapter or other law, or city
ordinance, regulating the operation of vehicles on highways, every magistrate of
the court, or clerk of the court of record in which such conviction was had or
bail was forfeited, shall prepare and immediately forward to the department of
public safety an abstract of the record of the court covering the case in which
the person was so convicted or forfeited bail, which abstract must be certified
by the person so required to prepare the same to be true and correct.

The abstract must be made upon a form furnished by the department of
public safety, and shall include the name and address of the party charged, the
driver's license number e* chauffeur's license number of the person involved,
the nature of the offense, the date of hearing, the plea, the judgment, or
whether bail forfeited, and the amount of the fine or forfeiture, as the case may
be.

Every court of record shall also forward a like report to the department
of public safety upon the conviction of any person of manslaughter or other
felony in the commission of which a vehicle was used.

The failure, refusal, or neglect of any such judicial officer to comply with
any of the requirements of this section shall constitute misconduct in the office
and shall be ground for removal therefrom.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.02, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. MOTORIZED BICYCLES. No motorized bicycle shall be
operated on any public roadway by any person who does not possess a valid
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drivers license, unless the person has obtained a motorized bicycle operator's
permit from the commissioner of public safety. The permit may be issued to
any person who has attained the age of 15 years and who has passed the
examination prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner may promul-
gate rules and regulations prescribing the content of the examination and the
information to be contained on the permit.

The fees for motorized bicycle operator's permit are as follows:

(a) Examination and operator's permit, valid for one year $2.50 $4
(b) Duplicate **^H
(c) Renewal permit before age 18 and valid until age 18 59- $6
(d) Renewal permit after age 18 and valid for four years -S5- $10
(e) Duplicate of any renewal permit $2- $3

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.04, is amended to read:

171.04 PERSONS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DRIVER'S LICENSES.

The department shall not issue a driver's license hereunder:

(1) To any person who is under the age of 16 years; to any person under
18 years unless such person shall have successfully completed a course in driver
education, including both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction, ap-
proved by the department of public safety or, in the case of a course offered by
a private, commercial driver education school or institute employing driver
education instructors, by the department of public safety, except when such
person has completed a course of driver education in another state or has a
previously issued valid license from another state or country; nor to any person
under 18 years unless the application of license is approved by either parent
when both reside in the same household as the minor applicant, otherwise the
parent having custody or with whom the minor is living in the event there is no
court order for custody, or guardian having the custody of such minor, or in the
event a person under the age of 18 has no living father, mother or guardian, the
license shall not be issued to such person unless his application therefor is
approved by his employer. Behind-the-wheel driver education courses offered
in any public school shall be open for enrollment to persons between the ages
of 15 and 18 years residing in the school district or attending school therein.
Any. public school offering behind-the-wheel driver education courses may
charge an enrollment fee for the behind-the-wheel driver'education course
which shall not exceed the actual cost thereof to the public school and the
school district. The approval required herein shall contain a verification of the
age of the applicant;

(2) To any person whose license has been suspended during the period of
suspension except that a suspended license may be reinstated during the period
of suspension upon the licensee furnishing proof of financial responsibility in
the same manner as provided in the Minnesota no-fault automobile insurance
act;
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(3) To any person whose license has been revoked except upon furnish-
ing proof of financial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the
Minnesota no-fault automobile insurance act and if otherwise qualified;

(4) To any person who is a* habitual drunkard as determined by
competent authority ef is addicted te (he use ef narcotic drugs a drug-depend-
ent person as defined in section 254A.02, subdivision 5;

(5) To any person who has been adjudged legally incompetent by reason
of mental illness, mental deficiency, or inebriation, and has not been restored to
capacity, unless the department is satisfied that such person is competent to
operate a motor vehicle with safety to persons or property;

(6) To any person who is required by this chapter to take an examina-
tion, unless such person shall have successfully passed such examination;

(7) To any person who is required under the provisions of the Minnesota
no-fault automobile insurance act of this state to deposit proof of financial
responsibility and who has not deposited such proof;

(8) To any person when the commissioner has good cause to believe that
the operation of a motor vehicle on the highways by such person would be
inimical to public safety or welfare;

(9) To any person when, in the opinion of the commissioner, such person
is afflicted with or suffering from such physical or mental disability or disease
as will affect such person in a manner to prevent him from exercising
reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle while operating the same
upon the highways; nor to a person who is unable to read and understand
official signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic.

.Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.06, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. FORMS OF APPLICATION. Every application for
an instruction permit or for a driver's license shall be made upon a form
furnished by the department, and every application shall be accompanied by
the proper fee. All sweb applications except applications for renewal shall be
signed in the presence of the person authorized to accept sweh the applications,
or the signature on the application shall may be verified by a notary public.
PA VjTidlt of 4n£ rd£ for thft CTIjifiE R lifj^nfifl ji nt\ flljifrr. A liconfvB tioon initinl
application wtU be at the pia^e ef- application.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171,06, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. FEES, (a) The fees for a license shall be and Minnesota
identification card are as follows:
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Classified Driver License ' C-S5- $10 B-WQ- SIS A-S45- $20
Classified Provisional D.L. C--£-$6 B- -5-$10
Instruction Permit - 2.00 $4
Duplicate Driver or Provisional License 1.50 53
Minnesota identification card, except as
otherwise provided in section j_71.07.
subdivisions 3 and 3a $6

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.06, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. CONTENTS OF APPLICATION. Every application shall
state the full name, date of birth, sex and residence address of the applicant, a
description of the applicant in such manner as the commissioner may require,

,and shall state whether or not the applicant has theretofore been licensed as a
driver; and, if so, when and by what state or country and whether any such
license has ever been suspended or revoked, or whether an application has ever
been refused; and, if so, the date of and reason for such suspension, revoca-
tion, or refusal, together with such facts pertaining to the applicant and his
ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety as may be required by the
commissioner. Such The application form shall contain a notification to the
applicant of the availability of the donor document provided pursuant to
section 171.07. subdivision 5, and shall contain spaces where the applicant must
indicate a desire to receive or not to receive the donor document. The
application shall be in the form prepared by the commissioner.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.06, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. MIDDLE NAME MAY BE MAIDEN NAME. For the
purposes of subdivision 3, and section 171.07. subdivision J^ the full name of a
married applicant may include, at the option of the applicant, the applicant's
family name prior to marriage instead of the applicant's given middle name,
notwithstanding the middle name specified on the applicant's marriage certifi-
cate. • (

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.06, Subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. APPLICATION, FILING. Any applicant for an instruction
permit, a driver's license, restricted license, or duplicate license may file h4s an
application with a clerk of the district court or at a state office. Suett The clerk
or state office shall and is hereby authorized to receive and accept sueh the
application. Te cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting er forwar-d-
ing te the department applications a«4 lees? tne sfate office may charge §0
cents for eaeh application fer aft instruction permit, duplicate license, driver
Ueense OF restricted licenser sueh additional fee ska44 a4se be forwarded te the
department. To cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting, or forward-
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ing to the department applications and fees, the clerk of the district court may
charge a»4 retain a county fee of $1 for each application for an a Minnesota
identification card, instruction permit, duplicate license, driver license, or
restricted license -, the county fee ef $4- shall be i» addition te the fees otherwise
provided by taw. The amount allowed to be retained by the clerk of the
district court shall be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general
revenue fund of the county. The clerk of court shall forward all applications
and fees, less the amount herein allowed to be retained for expense, to the
department within 45 ten days of the receipt by him. The clerks of the district
courts may appoint agents to assist in accepting applications, but the clerks
shall require every such agent to forward to the clerk by whom he is appointed
all applications accepted and fees collected by him, except that an agent may
retain one-half of the $1 county fee to cover his expenses involved in receiving,
accepting or forwarding the applications and fees. The clerks of court shall be
responsible for the acts of agents appointed by them and for the forwarding to
the department of all applications accepted and those fees collected by such
agents and by themselves as are required to be forwarded to the department.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.07, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. The department shall, upon the payment of the required
fee, issue to every applicant qualifying therefor a license designating the type or
class of vehicles he is authorized to drive as applied for, which license shall bear
thereon a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, the full name, date of
birth, residence address and permanent mailing address if different, a descrip-
tion of the licensee in such manner as the commissioner deems necessary, and a
space upon which the licensee shall write his usual signature with pen and ink.
No license shall be valid until it has been so signed by the licensee. Except in
the case of an instruction permit, every license shall bear thereon a colored
photograph of the licensee. Every license issued to an applicant under the age
of 18 shall be of a distinguishing color and plainly marked "provisional". The
department shall use such process or processes in the issuance of licenses that
prohibits as near as possible, the ability to alter or reproduce the licenses, or
prohibit'the ability to superimpose a photo on such licenses without ready
detection. Each license certificate issued shall be en an a41 plastic er laminated
plastic eaf4 with the identifying information embossed thereon. A license
issued to 'an applicant of age 65 or over shall be plainly marked "senior" if
requested by the applicant.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.07, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

SubcL ]a. PHOTOGRAPHIC NEGATIVES; FILING; DATA CLAS-
SIFICATION. The department shall file, or contract to file, all photographic
negatives obtained in the process of issuing driver licenses or Minnesota
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identification cards. The negatives shall be private data pursuant to section
15.162, subdivision Sa. Notwithstanding section jj.165. subdivision 3, the
department shall not be required to provide copies of photographic negatives to
data subjects. The use of the files is restricted to the issuance and control of
driver licenses and for law enforcement purposes in the investigation and
prosecution of felonies.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.07, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. Upon payment of the required fee fw a driver's
bearing a colored photograph, the department may issue to every applicant who
does not physically qualify for a driver's license, or any person not currently
licensed to drive, who does not intend to apply for a driver's license under this
section or who wishes to discontinue driving and surrenders his current driver's
license, a* Minnesota identification card. The card shall bear thereon a
distinguishing number assigned to the applicant, a colored photograph, the full
name, date of birth, residence address, a description of the applicant in suefe the
manner as the commissioner deems necessary, and a space upon which the
applicant shall write his usual signature with pen and ink.

Each Minnesota identification card shall be en an aH plastic &r laminat-
ed plastic card ef a distinguishing color and plainly marked "non-driver". The
fee for a Minnesota identification card issued to any person who is mentally
retarded, as defined in section 252A.02, subdivision 2, shall be 50 cents.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.17, is amended to read:

171.17 REVOCATION.

The department shall forthwith revoke the license of any driver upon
receiving a record of such driver's conviction of any of the following offenses:

(1) Manslaughter or criminal negligence resulting from the operating of a
motor vehicle;

(2) Operating a motor vehicle while tmdef th« influence of- intoxicating
tt^uef ef narcotic drug Any violation of section 169.121;

(3) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle was used;

(4) Failure to stop and disclose identity and render aid, as required
under the laws of this state, in the event of a motor vehicle accident resulting in
the death or personal injury of another;

(5) Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or statement to the
department under any law relating to the ownership or operation of a motor
vehicle;
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(6) Except as this section otherwise provides, conviction, plea of guilty,
or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon three charges of violating, within a
period of 12 months any of the provisions of chapter 169, or of the rules,
regulations, or municipal ordinances enacted in conformance therewith for
which the accused may be punished upon conviction by imprisonment;

(7) Conviction of an offense in another state which, if committed in this
state, would be grounds for the revocation of the driver's license.

When any judge of a juvenile court, or any of its duly authorized agents,
shall determine, formally or informally, that any person under the age of 18
years has committed any offense defined in this section, such judge, or duly
authorized agent, shall immediately report such determination to the depart-
ment, and the commissioner shall immediately revoke the license of that person.

Upon revoking the license of any person, as hereinbefore in this chapter
authorized, the department shall immediately notify the licensee, in writing, by
depositing in the United States post-office a notice addressed to the licensee at
his last known address, with postage prepaid thereon.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 171.29, is amended to read:

171.29 REVOKED LICENSES; EXAMINATION FOR NEW
LICENSES.

Subdivision 1. No person whose drivers license has been revoked by
reason of conviction, plea of guilty, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon tbfee
charges ef careless et reckless driving, committed within a period el 44 months,

alcoholic beverage ef narcotic drug, under section 171.17 or 65B.67. or revoked
under section 169.123 shall be issued another license unless and until he shall
have successfully passed an examination as required for an initial license.

Subd. 2. Any person wfee is required te take aa examination as
provided in subdivision -t shall pay a fee ef- $2.50 for eaeh examination whose
drivers license has been revoked as provided in subdivision t shall pay a $30 fee
before his drivers license is reinstated.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 174.23, Subdivision I, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. GENERAL. The commissioner shall have all powers
necessary and convenient to carry out the provisions of sections 174.21 to
174.27 including the power to: (a) review applications for financial assistance,
execute contracts, and obligate and expend program funds, upon conditions
and limitations as the commissioner deems necessary for purposes of program
and project implementation, operation, and evaluation, (b) accept and disburse
federal funds available for the purposes of sections 174.21 to 174.27, and (c) act
upon request as the designated agent of any eligible person for the receipt and
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disbursal of federal funds. The commissioner shall perform the duties and
exercise the powers under sections 174.21 to 174.27 in coordination with and in
furtherance of statewide, regional, and local transportation plans and transpor-
tation development programs. The commissioner shall set guidelines for
financial assistance under the public transit subsidy program. The commis-
sjoner shall present any proposed guidelines regarding public transit financial
assistance to a legislative committee composed of equal numbers appointed b^
the house local and urban affairs and senate transportation committees. The
commissioner shall not implement any new guidelines regarding public transit
financial assistance, between the period January \^ 19JU to April |5, J982.
without the prior approval of that committee.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 174.24, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. Payment of financial assist-
ance shall be by contract between the commissioner and an eligible recipient.
The commissioner shall determine the operating deficit of any public transit
system receiving or applying for assistance in accordance with generally accept-
ed accounting principles, provided that any financial assistance received from
any agency of the federal government for the operation of a public transit
system shall be treated as revenue for the purposes of determining the operating
deficit. To be eligible for financial assistance an applicant or recipient shall
provide to the commissioner all financial records and other information and
shall permit any inspection reasonably necessary to determine the amount of
assistance which may be paid to the applicant or recipient. Where more than
one county or municipality contributes assistance to the operation of a public
transit system the commissioner shall identify one as lead agency for the
purpose of receiving moneys under this section. The commissioner may adopt
rules establishing performance standards for public transit systems for use in
determining the amount of assistance which may be paid to an eligible
recipient. Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, payments shall not
exceed two-thirds of the operating deficit of a public transit system. The
commissioner shall adopt rules establishing uniform performance standards for
private operators of regular route transit systems in the transit taxing district as
defined in section 473.446, subdivision 2. Payments to those private operators
shall be based on the uniform performance standards and shall not exceed 100
percent of the operating deficit. Payments te the metropolitan transit commiS'
sw« sfeali be based upon a performance funding system as provided m section
174.28.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 174.24, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. TRANSIT COMMISSION. The commissioner shall pro-
vide financial assistance b£ contract to the metropolitan transit commission
from appropriations provided! for that purpose.
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Sec. 44. J174.265I METROPOLITAN TRANSIT SERVICE DEMON-
STRATION PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. For the aoses of this section, the
terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them, unless the
context requires otherwise.

(a) "Available local transit funds'" means an amount equal to 90 percent
of the tax proceeds which would accrue to the metropolitan transit commission
from a tax levied in the applicant community or communities in accordance
with section 473.446, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (c).

(b) "Off-peak hours" has the meaning
subdivision 1.

»iven it in section 473.408,

Subd. 2. ESTABLISHMENT OF PROGRAM. A metropolitan tran-
ii^ serv'ce demonstration program is established to provide financial assistance
for projects designed to test the efficiency and effectiveness of alternative
methods of providing public transit service for communities that are within the
metropolitan transit taxing district but are not adequately served by existing
regular route transit.

Subd. 3. ELIGIBILITY. The commissioner may provide assistance
under the program to any statutory or home rule charter city or town, or group
of such cities or towns, which: (a) is located within the metropolitan transit
taxing district, as defined in section 473.446. subdivision 2; (b) is not served by
the metropolitan transit commission or is served only with bus routes which end
or begin within the city or town, or group of cities or towns; and (c) has fewer
than four scheduled runs of bus service provided by^ the commission during
off-peak hours. Eligible cities or towns may apply on behalf of any operator of
public transit with whom they propose to contract for service.

Subd. 4. ASSISTANCE FOR REPLACEMENT SERVICE. An ap-
plication for financial assistance for replacement services shall: describe the
existing service provided to the applicant by the metropolitan transit com mis-
sion, including the estimated number of passengers carried and the routes,
schedules, and fares; describe the transit service proposed for funding under
the demonstration program; including the anticipated number of passengers
and the routes, schedules, and fares; and indicate the total amount of available
local transit funds, the portion of the available local transit funds proposed to
be used to subsidize replacement services, and the amount of state assistance
requested for the replacement services. Financial assistance sjiall not be
granted under this subdivision unless the commissioner determines that the
service proposed for funding is intended and designed to replace and substitute
for that provided b^ the metropolitan transit commission at the lime of
application and that the average subsidy per passenger for the replacement
service will not exceed the average subsidy per passenger during the six months
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preceding the application on the commission's routes which serve the applicant
communities. If the applicant communities are not served by the commission
at the time of the application, the average subsidy per passenger for the
replacement service shall not exceed the average subsidy per passenger during
the six months preceding the application on all routes of the commission
extending into zone four. After the first year of replacement service, the
maximum subsidy shall be escalated at a rate equal to the rate of inflation in
the revised consumer price index for all urban consumers in the Minneapolis-Si.
Paul metropolitan area. The amount of financial assistance provided for
replacement service under this subdivision shall not exceed the sum of: (a) the
portion of the available local transit funds which the applicant proposes to use
to subsidize the service, and (b) an amount of state assistance bearing an
identical proportional relationship to the amount under (a) as the total amount
2l stete assistance available to the metropolitan transit commission under
section 33 bears to the total amount of taxes collected by the commission under
section 473.446. subdivision j^ clauses (a) to (c). The commissioner shall
transfer the amounts provided to the recipient from the assistance available to
the metropolitan transit commission pursuant to section 174.24, subdivision 3.

Subd. 5. ASSISTANCE FOR ADDITIONAL SERVICE. Any city or
town or group of cities or towns receiving financial assistance under subdivision
4 may also receive assistance pursuant to section 174.24, subdivision 3, or
section 174.25. In addition to the information required of applicants for
assistance under those sections, an application shall describe the portion of the
available local transit funds which are not obligated to subsidize replacement
service, under the assistance contract entered into pursuant to subdivision 4,
and which the applicant proposes to use to subsidize additional services. An
applicant which has exhausted its available local transit funds may use any
other local subsidy funds to complete the required local share. If the commis-
sioner grants financial assistance pursuant to this subdivision, the commissioner
shall transfer the portion of the available local transit funds which the applicant
proposes to use to subsidize the additional service from the assistance available
to the metropolitan transit commission
3.

pursuant to section 174.24, subdivision

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 174.31, is amended to read:

174.31 SPECIAL DEMONSTRATION PROJECT! COORDINATION
OF SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION SERVICE IN THE METROPOLITAN
AREA.

Subdivision 1. ESTABLISHMENT; OBJECTIVES. A special
onstration project for coordination of special transportation service in the
metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, shall be estab-
lished and implemented by the commissioner with the following objectives:
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(a) To provide greater access to transportation for the elderly, handi-
capped and others with special transportation needs in the metropolitan area
and particularly to fill all unmet needs for that transportation in the transit
taxing district as defined in section 473.446, subdivision 2; an4

(b) To develop an integrated system of special transportation service
providing transportation tailored to meet special individual needs in the most
cost-efficient manner iistnf? oxiEtiHQ oiioiic und rvrivflto oro vidorr, erf service*
and

(c) To use existing public and private providers of service wherever
possible, to supplement rather than replace existing service, and to increase the
productivity of all special transportation vehicles available in the area.

For the purpose of this section "project" means the demonstration
project established under this subdivision.

Subd. 2. FINANCING; IMPLEMENTATION; MANAGEMENT
AND ADVISORY GROUPS. The project shall be operated pursuant to the
rules governing and funded with money available under the para transit grant
program. The commissioner shall not operate the project but shall contract for
services necessary for its operation. All transportation service provided
through the project shall be provided under a contract between the commission-
er and'the provider which specifies the service to be provided and the rates for
providing it. The commissioner shall establish a committee to set management
policies for the project. The management policy committee shall include the
commissioner or his designee, representatives of persons contracting to provide
services for the project, a representative of the metropolitan council, a repre-
sentative of the metropolitan transit commission and at least two representa-
tives of the task force established to advise the committee. The meetings of the
management policy committee shall be public and minutes of all meetings shall
be taken, preserved and made available for public inspection. The commis-
sioner shall establish an advisory task force of individuals representing the
elderly, handicapped and other users of service provided by the project to
advise the management policy committee.

Subd. 3. DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER. In implementing the
project the commissioner shall:

(a) Encourage participation in the project by public and private provid-
ers of special'transportation service currently receiving capital or operating
assistance from a public agency;

(b) Contract with public and private providers that have demonstrated
their ability to effectively provide service at a reasonable cost;

(c) Encourage individuals using service provided through the project to
use the type of service most appropriate to their particular needs;
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(d) Insure thai all persons providing service through the project receive
equitable treatment in the allocation of the ridershtp;

(e) Encourage shared rides to the greatest extent practicable;

(f) Insure that a full range of service is made available through the
project to all parts of the metropolitan transit taxing district;

(g) Encourage public agencies that provide transportation to eligible
individuals as a component of human services and educational programs to
coordinate with the project and to allow reimbursement for services provided
through the project at rates that reflect the public cost of providing those
services,

(h) Adopt rules by January 15. |982. establishing criteria to be used in
determining individual eligibility for special transportation services.

Subd. 4. COORDINATION REQUIRED. The commissioner shall
not grant any financial assistance under section 174.24 or 174.25 to any
recipient that proposes to use any part of the grant to provide special
transportation service in the metropolitan area unless the program is coordinat-
ed with the project in the manner determined by the commissioner. A
recipient ef a gram made befefe Jw** S? 44W9 shall coordinate its program with
(he projoei as far as practicable but shall net be denied any additional grant &F
which it is otherwise qualified solely because it is eet coordinated with the

Subd. 4a. EQUITABLE ALLOCATION AND ANNUAL REALLO-
CATION. The commissioner shall distribute ali available funding under this
section in a manner designed to achieve an equitable allocation of special
transportation services based on the proportion of the number of elderly.
handicapped, disabled, or economically disadvantaged individuals with special
transportation needs who actually use the special transportation service and
who reside in the east and west service areas, including suburbs.

Subd. 5. COMPLIANCE WITH OPERATING AND SERVICE
STANDARDS. A vehicle providing special transportation service which is
subject to the operating standards adopted pursuant to section 174.30 shall not
be allowed to provide service through the project after January 1, 1981, unless a
current certificate of compliance has been issued to the vehicle. A person
operating or assisting the operation of a vehicle may leave the vehicle to enter
premises in order to help a passenger who does not require emergency
ambulance service. Operators and assistants shall provide the help necessary
for door- through -door service, including help in entering and leaving the vehicle
and help through the exterior entrance and over any exterior steps at either
departure or destination buildings, provided that both the steps and the
wheelchair are in good repair. If an operator or assistant refuses help because
of the condition of the steps or the wheelchair, the operator of the service shall
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send letters to the commissioner of transportation and the person denied service
describing the corrective measures necessary to qualify for service.

Subd. 6. EVALUATION AND REPORTS. The commissioner shall
evaluate the project and submit a report to the legislature in January, 1981,
including the following information:

(a) All amounts of money spent or obligated for the project by the
commissioner and the persons receiving those amounts;

(b) The types of service provided, number of individuals served and
areas covered;'

(c) A comparison of the cost of providing different types of service;

(d) A review of the achievements or failures of the project, problems
encountered in implementation and conclusions and recommendations concern-
ing future action.

The commissioner shall submit a preliminary report to the legislature in
January, 1980, covering the above information to the extent it is available at
that time.

Subd. 7. EXPIRATION OF PROJECT. The project shall expire June
30, 1981, and the commissioner shall not enter a contract or make any grant the
proceeds of which may be expended for the purpose of implementing or
continuing the project beyond June 30, 1981.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 296.02, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. TAX IMPOSED FOR MOTOR VEHICLE USE.
There is hereby imposed an excise tax of 4-1- ^3 cents per gallon on all gasoline
used in producing and generating power for propelling motor vehicles used on
the public highways of this state. This tax shall be payable at the times, in the
manner, and by persons specified in this chapter.

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the tax
imposed on special fuel sold by a qualified service station shall not exceed, or
the tax on gasoline delivered to a qualified service station shall be reduced to. a
rale not more than 3 cents ger gallon above the state lax rate imposed on such
products sold by a service station in a contiguous state located within the
distance indicated in clause (b).

(b) A "qualifying service station" means a service station located within
7.5 miles, measured by the shortest route by_ public road, from a service station
selling like product in the contiguous stale.

(c) A qualified service station shall be allowed a credit by the supplier or
distributor, or both, for the amount of reduction computed in accordance with
clause (a).
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A qualified service station, before receiving the credit, shall be registered
with the commissioner of revenue.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 297B.035, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. Motor vehicles which satisfy the definitions of subdivision 1,
shall be taxed at a yearly rate of $15 per set of dealer plates. This tax shall be
paid when dealer plates are purchased and shall be deposited in the state
treasury and credited te the general ftmd as provided in section 297B.09. This
tax shall be in lieu of any other state sales, excise, or use tax.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 297B.09, is amended to read:

297B.09 ALLOCATION OF REVENUE.

Subdivision L GENERAL FUND SHARE. All moneys collected and
received under Laws 49747 Chapter 8££? under this chapter shall be allocated
mrmtnlir t\\f ihrt ***-*•*.*.*•*.*- vmhif la »-jmij* trftr tfi trt^ f t f t t t* S*s-imn\ ife i-rtnar rtf r-A*ranu^irrvTiiiiiT \fj 11 ru iinriVM I'VIIIVTW ivituti01 w HIV OIQXV wiiinnwiuiivi vr i VTVIIUV

jitiff hy him £0311 n£ OQJd to tk-fi *ylflfft trOQfcilFCr flmj flholI h^ dfiOOSltcd Qfi

provided in section 297A.44. in the state treasury and credited as follows:

the
(a) All of the proceeds collected before June 30, 1983 shall be credited to

general fund;

(b) Three-fourths of the proceeds collected after June 30. 1983 and
before July ^, 1985 shall be credited to the general fund;

(c) One-half of the proceeds collected after June 30, 1985 and before
July |, 1987 shall be credited to the general fund;

(d) One-fourth of the proceeds collected after June 30, 1987 and before
July j^ 1989 shall be credited to the general fund;

(e) After June 30, 1989. none of the proceeds collected shall be credited
to the general fund.

Subd. 2. HIGHWAY USER TAX DISTRIBUTION FUND AND
TRANSIT ASSISTANCE FUND SHARE. The proceeds collected under this

iwaychapter and not credited to the ggneral fund shall be deposited in the hi;
user tax distribution fund and the transit assistance fund for apportionment in
the following manner:

(a) None of the proceeds collected before June 30, 1983 shall be credited
to either fund.

(b) 18.75 percent of the proceeds collected after June 30, 1983 and
before July j^ 1985 shall be credited to the highway user tax distribution fund
for apportionment in the same manna" and for the same purposes as other
money in that fund. The remaining 6.25 percgnt of the proceeds shall be
credited to the transit assistance fund account to be appropriated to the
commissioner of transportation for transit assistance within the state.
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(g) 37.5 percent of the proceeds collected after June 30, 1985 and before
July ^ |̂ 87 shall be credited to the highway user tax distribution fund for
apportionment in the same manner and for the same purposes as other money
in that fund The remaining 12.5 percent of the proceeds shall be credited to
the transit assistance fund account to be appropriated to the commissioner of
transportation for transit assistance within the state.

(d) 56.25 jroceeds collected after June 30, 1987 and
before July ^ 1989 shall be credited to the highway user tax distribution fund
for apportionment in the same manner and for the same purposes as other
money in that fund : The remaining lj.75 percent of the proceeds shall be
credited to the transit assistance fund account to be appropriated to the
commissioner of transportation for transit assistance within the state.

(e) 75 percent of the proceeds collected after June 30. 1989 shajl be
credited to the highway user tax distribution fund for apportionment in the
same manner and for the same purposes as other money in that fund. The
remaining 25 percent of the proceeds shall be credited lo the transit assistance
fund account to be appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for
transit assistance within the state.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 299D.03, Subdivision 5, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. FINES AND FORFEITED BAIL MONEY, (a) All fines and
forfeited bail money, from traffic and motor vehicle law violations, collected
from persons apprehended oT^frested by sucrTemployees, shall be paid by the
justice of the peace, or such other person or officer collecting such fines,
forfeited bail money or installments thereof, on or before the tenth day after the
last day of the month in which such moneys were collected, to the county
treasurer of the county where the violation occurred. Three-eighths of> such
receipts shall be credited to the general revenue fund of the county. The other
five-eighths of such receipts shall be transmitted by that officer to the state
treasurer and shall be credited to the trunk highway fund. If, however, the
violation occurs within a municipality and the city attorney prosecutes the
offense, and a plea of not guilty is entered, one-third of the receipts shall be
credited to the general revenue fund of the county, one-third of the receipts
shall be paid to the municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall be
transmitted to the state treasurer as provided in this subdivision. All costs of
participation in a nation-wide police communication system chargeable to the
state of Minnesota shall be paid from appropriations for that purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, all fines and forfeited
bail money from violations of statutes governing the maximum weight of motor
vehicles, collected from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of the
stale of Minnesota, by means of stationary or portable scales operated by such
employees, shall be paid by the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited
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bail money, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which
the collections were made, to the county treasurer of the county where the
violation occurred. All such receipts shall be transmitted by that officer to the
state treasurer and shall be credited to the trunk highway fund.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 473.164, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read: •

Subd. 3. At the conclusion of each budget year, the council, in cooper-
ation with each commission, shall adopt a final statement of costs incurred by
the council for each commission. Where costs incurred in the budget year have
exceeded the amount budgeted, each commission shall transfer to the council
the additional moneys needed to pay the amount of the costs in excess of the
amount budgeted, and shall include a sum in its next budget. Any excess of
budgeted costs over actual costs may be retained by the council and applied to
the payment of budgeted costs in the next year. Costs incurred during 1976
shall be reimbursed to the council by each commission on or before December
31, 1976 following receipt and in accordance with a statement of costs
transmitted by the council. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section.
after July ^ 1981, the metropolitan council shall not charge the metropolitan
transit commission for any costs incurred by the council for the study of light
rail transit unless the study plan and budget have been approved b^ the
metropolitan transit commission.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 473.408, Subdivision 6, is
amended to read:

Subd. 6. MONTHLY PASSES. The commission shall may offer
monthly passes for regular route bus service for sale to the general public. T-be

fyn DflGfjOG fiOld nv I h-ft COmiTlifcf^iQn 1FI jQflUflrV 1 97 V

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 473.408, Subdivision 7, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7. EMPLOYEE PLAN. The commission sh*H may offer month-
ly passes for regular route bus service for sale to employers at a special discount
subject to the provisions of this subdivision. An employer is may be eligible to
purchase passes at a special discount if the employer agrees to establish a
payroll deduction plan as a means for its employees to purchase the passes at a
price at or below the amount charged by the commission. The special discount
on passes sold pursuant to this subdivision shall be two dollars en a single zone
PUSS Q no & OFOPQ r t ton 3 to BTTvount on other PQSGCS 'i'tic EPOCIQ! dtscoun t i-s in
riddition t{\ the d ificoLt n t n ro v idod on miifiofi fiold to (4)4 concm! rmhlic deter-
mined bj£ the commission. ,

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 473.411, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:
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Subdivision I. DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM. The commission shall
prepare and submit in the manner provided in and satisfying the requirements
of section 473.161, a transportation development program, providing for the
implementation of the policy plan adopted by the council. In preparing the
program, the commission shall consult with counties and municipalities in the
metropolitan area, the state transportation department and the state planning
agency, and for that purpose may create such advisory committees as may be
necessary.

Such The program shall provide for coordination of routes and opera-
tions of all publicly and privately owned transportation transit and paratransit
facilities within the transit area to the end that combined efficient and rapid
transportation transit and paratransit may be provided for the use of the public
in the entire area. The commission may designate a segment of the system
planned as a pilot or demonstration transportation transit or paratransit project
using, without limitation, new technology including airborne systems, or tradi-
tional systems of evolved or modern form. The transportation development
program shall include the general alignment and profile, approximate points of
access, facility classification, approximate cost, relation to other existing and
planned transportation transit and paratransit routes and facilities, and a
statement of the expected general effect on present and future use of the
property within the corridor. The program shall be accompanied with a
statement of need for the proposed construction or improvement, a description
of alternate routes which were considered, and an explanation of the advan-
tages and disadvantages in the selection of any route considered. The trans-
portation development program shall also contain a description of the type of
right-of-way or routes required; the type of transit service to be provided in
each portion of the system; designation of transit mode; and appropriate
general operating criteria. The program shall also contain an operational
improvement program which shall at least describe performance objectives and
standards which the commission proposes to achieve in satisfying policies,
purposes, and goals established by the legislature and the council; identify
performance indicators by which to monitor and assess progress in achieving
the objectives and standards; and establish a route deficit limit as provided in
section 174.28, subdivision 5. The program may include such other informa-
tion as the council or the commission deems necessary.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 473.446, is amended to read:

473.446 TRANSIT TAX LEVIES.

Subdivision I. AMOUNT TAXATION WITHIN TRANSIT TAXING
DISTRICT. For the purposes of sections 473.401 to 473.451 and the metropol-
itan transit system, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision the metro-
politan transit commission shall levy each year upon all taxable property within
the metropolitan transit taxing district, defined herein in subdivision 2, a transit
tax consisting of:
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(a) An amount equal to 1.72 mills times the assessed value of all such
property, the proceeds of which shall be used for payment of the expenses of
operating regular route bus transit and paratransit service;

(b) An additional amount, if any, as the commission determines to be
necessary to provide for the full and timely payment of its certificates of
indebtedness and other obligations outstanding on July 1, 1977, to which
property taxes under this section have been pledged; and

(c) An additional amount necessary to provide full and timely payment
of certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations issued pursuant to
section 473.436 for purposes of acquisition and betterment of property and
other improvements of a capital nature and to which the commission has
specifically pledged tax levies under this clause.

In any statutory or home rule charter city or town in the metropolitan
transit taxing district which is receiving financial assistance under section 44,
the commission shall levy a tax equal to ten percent of the sum of levies
provided for in clauses (a) to (c). plus a levy sufficient to yield the amounts of
available local transit funds transferred pursuant to section 44 from the state
assistance available to the commission, less any amount paid to the commission
by the city or town under a contract for service entered into pursuant' to
subdivision 2 of this section.

Subd. la. TAXATION WITHIN TRANSIT AREA. For the purposes
of sections 473.401 to 473.451, and the metropolitan transit system, the metro-
politan transit commission shall levy upon all taxable property within the
metropolitan transit area but outside of the metropolitan transit taxing district,
defined hw«m in subdivision 2, a transit tax, which shall be equal to ten percent
of the sum of the levies provided in subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (c). The
proceeds of this tax shall be used only for paratransit services or ride sharing
programs designed to serve persons located within the transit area but outside
of the transit taxing district.

Subd. 2. TRANSIT TAXING DISTRICT. The metropolitan transit
taxing district is hereby designated as that portion of the metropolitan transit
area lying within the following named cities, towns, or unorganized territory
within the counties indicated:

(a) Anoka county. Anoka, Blaine, Centerville, Columbia Heights, Coon
Rapids, Fridley, Circle Pines, Hilltop, Lexington, Lino Lakes, Spring Lake
Park;

(b) Carver county. Chanhassen, the city of Chaska^ Victoria;

(c) Dakota county. Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Inver Grove
Heights, Lillydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Rosemount, South St. Paul,
Sunfish Lake, West St. Paul;
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(d) Ramsey county. All of the territory within Ramsey county;

(e) Hennepin county. Bloomington, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park,
Champlin, Chanhassen, Crystal, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior,
Golden Valley, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Maple Grove, Medicine
Lake, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Mound, New Hope,
Orono, Osseo, Plymouth, Richfield, Robbinsdale, St. Anthony, St. Louis Park,
Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, Woodland, the unorganized
territory of Hennepin county;

(0 Scott county. Prior Lake, Savage, Shakopee;

(g) Washington county. Baytown, the city of Stillwater, White Bear
Lake, Bayport, Birchwood, Cottage Grove, Dellwood, Lake Elmo, Landfall,
Mahtomedi, Newport, Oakdale, Oak Park Heights, Pine Springs, St. Paul Park,
Willernie, Woodbury.

The "commission in its sole discretion may provide transit service by
contract beyond the boundaries of the metropolitan transit taxing district or to
cities and towns within the taxing district which are receiving financial assist-
ance under section 44, upon petition therefor by an interested city, township or
political subdivision within the metropolitan transit area. The commission may
establish such terms and conditions as it deems necessary and advisable for
providing the transit service, including such combination of fares and direct
payments by the petitioner as will compensate the commission for the full
capital and operating cost of the service and the related administrative activities
of the commission. The amount of the levy made by any municipality to pay
for the service shall be disregarded when calculation of levies subject to
limitations is made, provided that cities and towns receiving financial assistance
under section 44 shall not make a special levy under this subdivision without
having first exhausted the available local transit funds as defined in section 44.
The commission shall not be obligated to extend service beyond the boundaries
of the taxing district, or to cities and towns within the taxing district which are
receiving financial assistance under section 44, under any law or contract unless
or until payment therefor is received.

Subd. 2a. PROTECTION OF RIGHTS OF HOLDERS OF OUT-
STANDING INDEBTEDNESS. The provisions of subdivision subdivisions |
and 2 or any other law changing the boundaries of the metropolitan transit
taxing district or reducing the levy otherwise required to be levied within the
district shall not be deemed to impair the rights of holders of outstanding
indebtedness of the commission to require the levy of property taxes, if
necessary to provide for any deficiency in accordance with the conditions of
such indebtedness, on all property within the limits of the metropolitan transit
taxing district as such limits were in effect at the date of issuance of such
indebtedness.
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Subd. 3. CERTIFICATION AND COLLECTION. On or before Oc-
tober 10 in each year the commission shall certify the total amount of the tax
levied pursuant to subdivision 1 to the auditor of each metropolitan county.
Each county auditor shall then assess and extend upon the tax rolls in his
county that proportion of the tax which the assessed value of taxable property
in his county bears to the assessed value of all taxable property in the
metropolitan area. Each county treasurer shall collect and make settlement of
such taxes with the treasurer of the commission. The levy of transit taxes
pursuant to this section shall not affect the amount or rate of taxes which may
be levied by any county or municipality or by the commission for other
purposes authorized by law and shall be in addition to any other property tax
authorized by law.

Sec. 55. APPROPRIATION.

Subdivision L PUBLIC TRANSIT. The sum of $50,800.000 is appro-
priated from the general fund to the commissioner of transportation. Of this
appropriation. $21,600,000 shall be available for expenditure the first year and
$29,200,000 for expenditure the second year of the biennium. The actual line
item amounts shall be detailed on the worksheets of the appropriate standing
committees of the senate and house of representatives, a true copy of which is
on file in the office of the commissioner of transportation. The appropriation
shall be available for the purpose of providing the Following:

(a) metropolitan transit commission operating grants;

(bj metropolitan transit commission sociaj fares^

(c) metropolitan transit commission project mobility;

(d) metro mobility projects;

(e) metro mobility control center;

(fj private operators — metropolitan area:

(g) non-metropolitan transit commission operating assistance statewide;

For purposes of this subdivision, the payments to the non-metropolitan
transit systems shall be made in the following manner:

50 percent of the total contract amount in the first month of operation;

40 percent of the total contract amount in the sixth month of operation;
and

JO percent of the total contract amount after final audit.

(h) public transit capital grants;
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(i) Amtrak rail subsidy - Duluth-Twin Cities. The funds are available to
match federal Amtrak funds. This appropriation is available until December
31, 1981.

The metropolitan transit com mission shall not raise its base fare more
than ten cents over the level existing on January j^ 198L

The metropolitan transit commission shall not increase its support staff
beyond the actual level existing on December .!_, 1980. For purposes of this
subdivision, support staff includes all staff other than drivers, mechanics, and

;y_ personnel.

The commission may fuel and
utilities contingent account in order to offset unanticipated fuel cost increases.

The sum of $20,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the
legislative coordinating commission to conduct a study of state subsidies to
public transit. The commission may delegate responsibility and appropriations
for the study to an existing staff office of the house of representatives or the
senate, a joint legislative commission or office, a state agency, or contract
independently for research services. The purpose of the study is to evaluate
transit systems receiving financial and technical assistance under sections
174.24 and 174.25. to evaluate alternative methods of allocating state subsidy
funds, and to develop state policy on the subsidy of local transit systems. The
commission shall require preparation of a research design and work plan as a
condition of delegation of responsibility and appropriations.

Subd. 2. RIDE SHARING. The sum of S75,000 for the first year and
$50.000 for the second year of the biennium are appropriated from the trunk
highway fund to the commissioner of transportation to continue operation of
the rideshare program implemented pursuant to section 174.257. The commis-
sioner shall complete program development and transfer responsibility for local
program planning and operation activity to private operators or local authori-
ties, or any combination of them, b^ June 30. 1983. when the state participation
in the program shall cease. A status report shall be presented to the legislature
by January 15. 1982. The rideshare program shall be administered so as to
ensure maximum use of available federal aid. The commissioner shall not
expend more than $250.000 for the first year and $150.000 for the second year
of federal aid fuiids for any activities related to ridesharing. including but not
limited to, promoting ridematching and professional services if federal funds
are or may be available for highway improvement or maintenance purposes.

Subd. 3^ BALANCES. Any encumbered balance remaining in the
first year shall not cancel but be available for the second year of the biennium.

Sec. 56. Laws 1969, Chapter 192. Section 1, is amended to read:

Section I. MOORHEAD, CITY OF; BUS SERVICE. The governing
body of the city of Moorhead may eofttr-aet w4& the owners of operators ef- a
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bus transportation sefviee upon such terms and conditions as may b« agreed
upon between tb«m fer public transportation se*=viee is authorized to provide
and assist public transportation services through acquisition, construction or
operation, directly or by lease or contract, within the city- Moorhead-Fargo
urbanized area. The city's annual obligation, if any, under such contract shall
not exceed the amount produced by applying ene mitt two mills to the dollar
value of all taxable property within the city. The limitation imposed under this
section is expressed as an amount determined after the enactment of Minnesota
Statutes, Sections 273.TT01 to 273.1103. The levy permitted b% this section
shall be disregarded in the calculation of any other levies or limitations on
levies permitted or provided by_ otner Jaw or charter.

Sec. 57. Laws 1969, Chapter 720, Section 11, Subdivision I, as amend-
ed by Laws 1973, Chapter 325, Section 1, is amended to read:

Sec. 11. DULUTH, CITY OF; TRANSIT AUTHORITY.

Subdivision 1. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in
the charter of the city of Duluth, any ordinance thereof, or any statute
applicable thereto, limiting the amount levied in any one year for general or
special purposes, the city council of the city of Duluth shall each year, at the
time the tax levies for the support of the city are made, levy a tax on all taxable
property in an amount not to exceed ±£ 3 mills in any year, by ordinance*
subject te the referendum provisions of- tfee home F«4e charter el th« eity- ef
Duluth. An ordinance fixing the levy shall take effect immediately upon its
passage and approval. The proceeds from such levy shall be paid into the city
treasury, and shall be deposited in the operating fund provided for in section 4,
subdivision 3, of this act.

Sec. 58. REPEALER.

Minnesoja Statutes 1980, Sections 168.013. Subdivision 17; 174.28; and
174.3 ,̂ Subdivisions 6 and 7, are repealed.

Sec. 59. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 2 to 2J and 27, and tlie repeal of Minnesota Statutes 1980.
Section 168.013, Subdivision 17, are effective November 15, 1981, for the year
1J82 and subsequent years, provided that for vehicles registered under the
monthly system on November 15, 198K the increases provided in section 7 are
effective on the date of the first renewal application. Sections 23, 25, 29, 31,
32, 33, 36, 38, 40, 42, 43,~44, "45749, 5^ 52, 53, 54, 55, and 5S are effective July
L 1981- Sections 22, 37, 41^ and 50 are effective the day following final
enactment. Section 34 is effective January 1. 1983. Section 46 is effective June
]^ 1981. and applies to all gasoline in distributor storage on that date. Section
56 is effective the day after the filing of a certificate of local approval by^ the
governing body of the city of Moorhead in compliance with Minnesota
Statutes, Section 645.021, Subdivision 3. Section 57 is effective only with
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approval of a majority of the voters of the city voting on the question of its
approval at a special or regular election. It shall then lake effect the day after
compliance with Minnesota Statutes, Section 645.021. Subdivision 2.

Approved May 29, 1981

CHAPTER 364 — S.F.No. 939

An act relating to human rights; authorizing injunctions for acts of reprisal;
increasing the award of punitive damages; permitting the recovery of damages for mental
anguish and suffering; amending Minnesota Statutes 3980, Sections 363.06, Subdivision
4; and 363.071, Subdivision 2.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 363.06, Subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. INQUIRY INTO CHARGE. When a charge has been filed,
the commissioner shall promptly inquire into the truth of the allegations of the
charge. The commissioner shall make an immediate inquiry when necessary to
prevent a charging party from suffering irreparable loss in the absence of
immediate action. On each charge the commissioner shall make a determina-
tion as to whether or not there is probable cause to credit the allegation of
unfair discriminatory practices, and

(1) If the commissioner shall determine after investigation that no
probable cause exists to credit the allegations of the unfair discriminatory
practice, the commissioner shall, within ten days of the determination, serve
upon the charging party and respondent written notice of the determination.
Within ten days after receipt of notice, the charging party may request in
writing on forms prepared by the department that the commissioner reconsider
his determination. The request shall contain a brief statement of the reasons
for and new evidence in support of the request for reconsideration. At the time
of submission of the request to the commissioner, the charging party shall
deliver or mail to the respondent a copy of the request for reconsideration.
The commissioner shall either reaffirm or reverse his determination of no
probable cause within 20 days after receipt of the request for reconsideration,
and he shall within ten days notify in writing the charging party and respondent
of his decision to reaffirm or reverse. A decision by the commissioner that no
probable cause exists to credit the allegations of an unfair discriminatory
practice shall hot be appealed to district court pursuant to section 363.072 or
section 15.0424.
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