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deems appropriate. The bureau shall analyze the data by_ type of license and
by. agency responsible and shall make its findings available to the public.

Sec. 15. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 362.45. is repealed.

Sec. 16. |362.489] REVOLVING FUND.

There is established a business license revolving fund. Any other law
notwithstanding, every agency issuing a business license after the effective date
of this act shall impose a two percent surcharge or $10. whichever is the lesser
amount, for the issuance or renewal of a business license through the period
ending June 30, 1982. A surcharge of one percent or $10, whichever is the
lesser amount, shall be imposed beginning July J^ 1982. Proceeds from the
license surcharge shall be deposited in the business license revolving fund.

Sec. 17. APPROPRIATION.

There is appropriated from the genera] fund to the bureau of business
licenses the sum of $450.000 for the purpose of implementing sections ]_ to 14 of
this article. This appropriation is available until June 30. J983. The comple-
ment of the department of economic Development is increased by four. The
funds deposited in the business license revolving fund shall be transferred to the
general fund m an amount not to exceed $450.000 for the biennium ending
June 30. 1983.

Sec. 18. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections ]_ to ^5 of this article are effective the day following final
enactment.

Approved June I, 1981

CHAPTER 343 —H.F.No. 1143

An act relating to taxation; income; property tax refund; adopting federal
income tax limitations on the deduction of interest; authorizing the commissioner to
provide a short form income tax return; clarifying the computation of the low income
alternative tax; providing for the computation of net operating loss; allowing the
commissioner to obtain information required on returns by court action; allowing the
commissioner to designate the places returns may be fifed; conforming information
return requirements to the federal requirements; requiring certain statements to be
furnished to subjects of information returns; providing that payment of taxes of a
decedent shall be made by successors in the absence of a personal representative;
adopting the federal requirements for withholding and reporting on tips; clarifying the
liability of employers in regard to withholding tax returns; conforming information
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requirements of withholding statements to federal law;, allowing notification of an
employer by the department that a withholding certificate is invalid; providing for
verification of withholding exemptions and appeal by the claimant; allowing certain
spouses to file a joint property tax return claim; conforming estimated tax requirements
with federal law; altering the computation of the corporate estimated tax; conforming
lax exempt provisions with federal law; altering filing requirements for corporations;
allowing the commissioner to adjust the computation of federal adjusted gross income in
certain circumstances; specifying or increasing interest rates on certain delinquent taxes
and penalties; abolishing an election relating to the lump sum distribution tax; providing
penalties; providing the computation of basis; providing for the liability of taxes due on
a combined return; amending Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections IOA.31. Subdivision I;
290.05; 290.06, Subdivision 3d; 290.067, Subdivision 2; 290.09, Subdivision 3; 290.095,
Subdivisions I, 9, and by adding a subdivision; 290.14; 290.37, Subdivision I; 290.39,
Subdivisions I, 2, and by adding a subdivision; 290.41, Subdivision 2, and by adding
subdivisions; 290.42; 290.43; 290.44; 290.46; 290.53, Subdivisions 3 and 3a; 290.61;
290.92, Subdivisions I, 2a, 7, 15, and by adding subdivisions; 290.93, Subdivisions I, 3
and 10; 290.931, Subdivision I; 290.934, Subdivisions 4 and 5; 290A.03, Subdivision 8;
290A.07, Subdivisions 2 and 3; 290A.08; 290A.ll, Subdivisions 2 and 4; repealing
Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections 290.032, Subdivision 4; and 290A.07, Subdivision 4,

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section IOA.31. Subdivision I. is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Effective with th« taxable years beginning a&ef Pecem-
b«f 54-; 1977. Every individual resident of Minnesota who files a tax return or a
renter and homeowner property tax refund return with the commissioner of
revenue may designate that $1 shall be paid from the general fund of the state
into the state elections campaign fund. If a husband and wife file a joint
return, each spouse may designate that $1 shall be paid. An individual who is
18 years of age or older, who is a resident of Minnesota, and who is a
dependent of another individual who files a tax return or a renter and
homeowner property tax refund return, may designate that $1 shall be paid
from the general fund of the state into the state elections campaign fund. No
individual shall be allowed to designate $1 more than once in any year.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.05, is amended to read:

290.05 EXEMPT INDIVIDUALS, ORGANIZATIONS, ESTATES,
TRUSTS.

Subdivision 1. The following corporations, individuals, estates, trusts,
and organizations shall be exempted from taxation under this chapter, provided
that every such person or corporation claiming exemption under this chapter, in
whole or in part, must establish to the satisfaction of the commissioner the
taxable status of any income or activity:

t**\ pJ3tion34 flnfi *itjit£ hsnics £xccot 3*v ̂ iicn bunk*^ &r<? "^ubi-oct t Q tho
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fb) Corporations, individuals, estates, and trusts engaged in the business
of mining or producing iron ore and other ores the mining or production of
which is subject to the occupation tax imposed by sections 298.01 and 298.011;
but if any such corporation, individual, estate, or trust engages in any other
business or activity or has income from any property not used in such business
it shall be subject to this tax computed on the net income from such property or
such other business or activity. Royalty (as defined in section 299.02) shall not
be considered as income from the business of mining or producing iron ore
within the meaning of this section;

(e) (b) Farmers' mutual insurance companies organized and existing
under the laws of the state and credit unions organized under chapter 52;

(d) (c) Fraternal beneficiary associations wherever organized, and public
department relief associations of public employees of this state or of any of its
political subdivisions;

(e) (d) Cooperative or mutual rural telephone associations; and coopera-
tive associations organized under the provisions of Laws 433^ Chapter 32&-, as
amended chapter 308. which are engaged in the transmission and distribution
of electrical heat, light or power upon a mutual and cooperative plan in areas
outside the corporate limits of any city; but if any such cooperative association
engages in supplying electrical heat, light or power to consumers within the
corporate limits of any city, then such association shall be subject to this tax
computed on that portion of its net income which its gross receipts from
consumers within such corporate limits bears to its total gross receipts;

ff) Labor. agricultural; and horticultural organizations; no part el the net
income ef which inures te the benefit of any private member, stockholder, ef
individual;

(g) Farmers', fruit growers', OF tike associations organized and operated
en a cooperative basis (a) fe-r the purpose ef processing OF marketing the
nrofj iif*! f f\f mfimhGrfc f)r f\t her PrOQ HCOrs jitiQ t iirn|f\p [MICK tj> thonfr tn^

proceeds ef- sales? less the necessary expenses; en the basis ef either (he quantity

purchasing supplies and equipment fef the use ef members OF other pefsonfc
and turning ever such supplies an4 equipment to them at actual cost; p***6

necessary expenses; exemption shaH not be denied any &ueh association
because it ha* capital stock, if the dividend raw ef- such stock is fi*ed 84 not te
exceed the legal pate of interest in the state ef incorporation OF eight percent per
annum, whichever is greater, 0n the value of the consideration for which the
stock was issued; and if substantially all such slock (other than non-voting
preferred stock, the owners el which are not entitled OF permitted te participate;
directly OF indirectly, in the profits ef the association, upon dissolution OF
otherwise, beyond the fixed dividends) is owned by producers who process or
market their products or purchase their supplies and equipment through the
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association; ner shati exemption be denied any such association because there
is accumulated and maintained by it a reserve required by state law er a
reasonable reserve for any necessary purpose? such an association may market
the products ef non -members in aft amount the value el which does net exceed
t-fUt V.llllrt >-^f t W^a f^rrt^4 m>jg m ** r-L* *±t f* si fj-tf +nt*rril\*p,r'f? fl flfl mfl V TM1 fr^ti^r^ C J I fM"h 1 Ift*!
"i**1 » 14.1 U^ ^Jt* ttJV L/I VU UXJT3 ttlUt n.ClC*U lt_P| IIIVIHLJUI J, UIIU IIIU J M«I V1IUOV 9ULTI-M1VJ

afld equipment for non 'members in an amount the value ef whieh dees net
exceed (he value ef th« supplies and equipment purchased for members.
provkie4 the value el the purchases made fef persons whe are neither members
nef producers dees net exceed 44 percent e£ (he value el aH Us purchases;
business done ler the United States ef any el ks agencies shall be disregarded
in determining the right K> exemption under this clause;

Ot) Corporations operating er conducting public burying grounds, public
school houses, public hospitals, academies; colleges, universities, seminaries el
teaming, churches, houses &f worship; and institutions el purely pubJic charity,
ne part el the net income el which inures te the benefit el any private member;
stockholder', ef individual ;-

(i) Any corporation, fund, foundation trust er assooiatioa organized fer
exclusively scientific, literary, religious, charitable, educational, er artistic pur-
poses, OF ler the purpose ef making contributions te er ler the use el the
Unitod Slates el America; the stale &f Minnesota er any ef its political
subdivioions for exclusively public purposes, er ler any combination el the
above enumerated purposes, il ne part ef the net income el any such oorpora-

; fund, foundation; trust er association inures te the benefit ef any private
r, stockholder, er individual^

fi nf\ com mftf ciifil cliios not orprinizcQ for profit

rte part el the net income ef which inures to the benefit ef any private member,
stockholder, er individual;

(k-) Gtubs organized a«d operated exclusively IOF pleasure^ recreation, er
ether n^n-profitable purposes, ne part el the net income ef whieh inures te the
benefit ef any private member, stockholder^ er individual;

0) Any corporation all the stock ef which is owned by the United States
er wfeiefe may be exempt from a state franchise ef income tax by federal lawf

(m) (e) The United States of America, the state of Minnesota or any
political subdivision of ei ther agencies or instrumentalities, whether engaged in
the discharge of governmental or proprietary functions,-.

(») Corporations organized by an association exempt under the previ-
sions ef clause (g); er members thereof; fer the purpose el financing the
ordinary crop operations ef such members ef other producers, and operated in
conjunction with sueh associations exemption sha41 net be denied any such
corporation because it has capital stock; if the dividend rate ef sueh slock is
fixed at net to exceed the legal rate ef interest in the state of incorporation or
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eight percent pw annum? whichever is greater, en the value ef the consideration
fer which the steek- was issuedf and if substantially all sueh steek Bother than
non-voting preferred stock, (he owners ef which afe rm entitled er- permitted te
participate; directly ef indirectly, in the profits ef the corporation. «pe»
dissolution ef otherwise; beyond the fixed dividends) is ewned by sueh associa-
tion. ef members thereof; ner- shall exemption b« denied any such corporation
because there is accumulated and maintained by it a reserve required by state
law er a reasonable reserve fer any necessary purpose?

(d) Corporations organized fer th« exclusive purpose ef holding title to
property? collecting income therefrom, etn4 turning ever the entire amount
thereof, less expenses, te an organization which itself is exempt from the tax
imposed by this chapter;

(f») Voluntary employed beneficiary associations providing for- the

association ef their dependents if ee part ef their net earnings inures (other
than through such payments) te the benefit ef any private shareholder er
individual

Subd. 2. (a) Corporations, individuals, estates? (fusts er organizations
claiming exemption under- the provisions ef subdivision 4? clauses (d-H (f)? (g>?
(*)* $h (k)r &b (e) or (p) shall furnish information as te theif exempt status
under the Internal Revenue Code ef 1954, as amended through December 34?

(b) Sueh corporations, mdividuals; estates, trusts; and organizations shall
file with the commissioner ef revenue a copy ef any annual report that is
r ftfll j j r ft/i *^ t*j* t lljml >.ij*l» thft T ***f*wnn I P j^tjjanii t* Cariiir'rt rm i fitter 1 nn fi If) nil rr«v»*«" *^̂ * ^y w 1 119U w Jtii titv illtvt IIUI FXVTUIIUU LJ\JI * Ivv. tnr iu*vi iiin Ji ITJ uu j\j

i iljh n r.*i rno xvit h the

naff-j-*^
L^VI CXIll

pa Fa £r a p n wno
rntsdemsanorT

R QVB n uo

a ffim^ti f\f a FaHarfi 1 rnf urn rtiiffitif^flt lc\t« Wl^T TTT a 1 mjUl Ul TVtUl II J^Wl LTUUf It T^

i aiis te me sucn retuf~n snau oe guilty

i« the event that the Internal Revenue Serviee revokes, cancels er
the exempt status ef any corporation? individual estate; trust er

organization referred te m clause (a) ef this subdivision, such eorporation-.
ifldividua4? estate? trust or organization shall notify the commissioner in writing
ef sueh action within 96 days after receipt ef notice ffem the Internal Revenue

Except as provided in subdivisions ]^ and 3. organizations are exempted
from taxation under this chapter if they are exempt from income taxation
pursuant to Subchapter F of the Internal Revenue Code.

S^bd. ^ (a) An organization exempt from taxation under subdivision 2
shad, nevertheless, be subject to tax under this chapter to the extent provided in
the following provisions of the Internal Revenue Code:

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.



Ch. 343 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1981 1571

Section 527 (dealing with political organizations) and (ii) section 528
with certain homeowners associations) but

notwithstanding this subdivision, shall be considered an organization
exempt from income tax for the purposes of any law which refers to organiza-
tions exempt from income taxes.

(b) The tax shall be imposed on the taxable income of political organiza-
tions or homeowner associations. The tax shall be at the corporate rates. The
tax shall only be imposed on income and deductions assignable to this state
under sections 290.17 to 290.20. Except for section 290.09. subdivision 29. to
the extent deducted in computing federal taxable income, the deductions
contained in sections 290.09 and 290.21 shall not be allowed in computing
Minnesota taxable net income.

Subd. 4. (a) Corporations, individuals, estates, trusts or organizations
claiming exemption under the provisions of subdivision j^ clause (c), or
subdivision 2 shall furnish information as to their exempt status under <he
Internal Revenue Code.

(b) Such corporations, individuals, estates, trusts, and organizations shall
file with the commissioner of revenue a copy of any annual report thaj is
required to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service, no later than ten days
after filing the same with the Internal Revenue Service.

Any person required to file a copy of a federal return pursuant to the
preceding paragraph who wilfully fails to file such return shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor.

(c) In the event that the Internal Revenue Service revokes, cancels or
suspends, in whole or part, the exempt status of any corporation, individual,
gstate. trust or organization referred to in clause (a) of this subdivision, or if the
amount of gross income, deductions, credits, items of tax preference or taxable
income is changed or corrected by either the taxpayer or the Internal Revenue
Service, or if the taxpayer consents to any extension of time for assessment of
federal income texes such corporation, individual, estate, trust or organization
shall notify the commissioner in writing of such action within 90 days thereaft-
er.

(d) The periods of limitations contained in section 290.56 shall apply
whenever there has been any action referred to in clause (c). notwithstanding
any period of limitations to the contrary.

Subd. 5. In the case of any failure to furnish annual report information
at the time and in the manner prescribed by subdivision 4, clause (b). unless'it
15 shown that such failure is due to reasonable cause, there shall be paid to the
commissioner by_ the exempt organization a penalty of $100 for each such
failure. The penalty shall be immediately due and payable upon notice and

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.



1572 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1981 Ch. 343

demand by the commissioner and may be collected in the same manner as any_
delinquent income tax.

Subd. 6. The Internal Revenue Code referred to in any of the subdivi^
sions of this section means the Internal Revenue Code of \954, as amended
through December 3U 1980.

Subd. 7^ Notwithstanding section 290.61. any information required to
be furnished to the commissioner of revenue pursuant to subdivisions 1 and 4
shall be open to public inspection at such times and m such places as the
commissioner may prescribe. The commissioner is also authorized to publish a
list of organizations exempt from taxation pursuant to this section. Nothing in
this subdivision shall authorize the commissioner to disclose the name or
address pf any contributor to any organization which is or was so exempt, or
which has applied for tax exempj status, or any other information which could
not be disclosed under section 6104 of the Internal Revenue Code.

. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 290.06, Subdivision 3d, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3d. LOW INCOME ALTERNATIVE TAX. A claimant as
defined in 290.012 may pay a tax computed under this subdivision in lieu of the
tax computed under sections 290.06, subdivisions 2c, 3e, 3f, 9, 9a, 11, 14 and
290.081 without the provisions of section 290.012 and this subdivision:

(1) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 1979, the alternative
tax shall be zero for the following claimants:

(a) An unmarried claimant with an income of $5,800 or less;

(b) A claimant with one dependent, with an income of $7,400 or less;

(c) A claimant with two dependents, with an income of $8,800 or less;

(d) A claimant with three dependents, with an income of $10,000 or less;

(e) A claimant with four dependents, with an income of $10,500 or less;
and

(f) A claimant with five or more dependents, with an income of $11,000
or less.

(2) In the case of a claimant with an income in excess of that set forth in
the appropriate category of clause (1), he may pay a tax equal to 15 percent of
that portion of his income that is in excess of the amount set forth in the
appropriate category of clause (I), or his tax obligation as it would have been in
the absence of section 290.012 and this subdivision, whichever is less.

(3) The total income for the entire calendar year of the claimant and his
spouse, if any, including income not assignable to this state, shall be the figure
employed for the purposes of this subdivision. No individual dependent upon
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and receiving his chief support from any other individual may be. a claimant
under section 290.012 and this subdivision. The commissioner of revenue shall
prescribe the additional forms or alterations in existing forms as necessary to
comply with the provisions of section- 290.012 and this subdivision. AJ1
claimants shall submit their returns on these forms.

The commissioner of revenue shall provide alternative tax tables which
thofid

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.067, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. LIMITATIONS. The credit for expenses incurred for the
care of each dependent shall not exceed $400 in any taxable year, and the total
credit for all dependents of a claimant shall not exceed $800 in a taxable year.
The total credit shall be reduced by five percent of the amount by which the
combined federal adjusted gross income, plus the ordinary income portion of
any lump sum distribution under section 402(e) of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954. as amended through December 31, 1980, of the claimant and -his
spouse, if any, exceeds $15,000. A married claimant shall file his income tax
return for the year for which he claims the credit either jointly or separately on
one form with his spouse. In the case of a married claimant only one spouse
may claim the credit. No expense for which a medical expense deduction is
claimed pursuant to section 290.09, subdivision 10, shall be claimed as a
dependent care expense.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.09. Subdivision 3. is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. INTEREST, (a) AH interest paid or accrued within the
taxable year on indebtedness, except as hereinafter provided.

(b) Interest paid or accrued within the taxable year on indebtedness
incurred or continued to purchase or carry obligations or securities the income
from which is excludable from gross income under section sections 290.01.
subdivision 20 or, 290.08, or shares of a regulated investment company which
during the taxable year of the holder thereof distributes Minnesota exempt-in-
terest dividends as defined in section 290.01, subdivision 27. or on indebtedness
incurred ef continued m connection with the purchasing er carrying ef a s4«g4e
Promi utn HI ̂  ifiGur-Qno-c onnmtv or pntifiwrn^nt Font rficl fchfill not RA flllo\vQ(i
as a deduction; (Fef purposes el th+s paragraph, a contract shall be treated as
a single premium contract if- substantially aH the premiums en (he contract are
pn ifi within 3 riftr'if'wj pf fonr vofirc f f Am th** fifltfl on which 44)^ con trjcl t£
purchased. eF if an amount is deposited after January -W 44&$ w4th (he insurer
fef payment ef a substantial number el future premiums en the contract.-)
described in section 264<a)(2) and (3). (b) and (c) (relating to life insurance) of
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended through December 31, 1980
shall not be allowed as a deduction.
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(c) If personal property or educational services are purchased under a
<-*r\rTtrfJ f*t "*k • **!* rVrj-v*Ti.-iar i h o * PH. n\, •Tia i-i * .-.f ******* f^y- qjl f"jf UUfc •*" t ••j-.l'ni J*A g^rij-U 1C lA
^.L*Illl«lfc-l " Ml^ll LSI WIU99 IJ1UL LIU THIVIll UT LTUl L VT Ull ^* IITV LfUl UllUL^pl 171 IW TO T^J

be made HI installments, and HI which carrying ehafges aw separately stated btrf
the interest charge cannot be ascertaiaed; then the payments made during the
taxable yea? under the contract shall be treated lef purposes el (his paragraph
ft f if thjfc^j inf 1^lfi^:^fl u^-t***-^*--* **•"*n«1 trt g iv •^^••^j**^ t .-.f thp HVf^nofl n ****** •^-1 nn m tlP^tt^ rr lltVT I T I V J uuvu nrivi w* tu uui «? 3IA \J\Jl vvil t trr TTT^ u T vi ucv uiiijuiu LJU.JUIIwv

under tha contract during the taxable year, and sueh interest shall be allowed as
a deduction. £ef purposes ef the preceding sentence, the average unpaid
balance is the sum el the unpaid balance omsiandiftg efi the f«*t day o( eaeb

" * *" *^^* uuh 11 v fi hla *f^r»- ^4i<f»^4^^! Vvy I y Ir\ £AA T**-** of n n Vu LI] nit t-iiv lujiuuiv yvm, ui viucu v j TCT TTT IITV uuinj ^7* uu T

TQ \vnj^h tnif nnr3£F3.On flDr^l Jftfi thfi 3mOtint trCQt^Q HS I ntorcfit IOF fltl V

taxable year shaU net exeaed the aggregate carrying charges which ate properly
attributable te such taxable year.

pj>r QllTTIOFvBK of fh \ f , ^lilTfiivi*ljon fh fh tftrm "aQllCHtlOnjl *>Qry^if'Qf'1< fHC3.nS

any service including lodging which is purchased from an educational institu-
Li6rin6Q in ^loction 151 (G\ (^~\ of the Intcrn.iI Rovcnuc GQQC of I Oj^l &s

through December 34r 1979) a»d which is provided fot a student ef
such institution the provisions of section 163(b) of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954, as amended through December 31, 1980 shall apply.

(d) A cash basis taxpayer may elect to deduct interest as it accrues on a
reverse mortgage loan as defined in section 47.58, subdivision 1, rather than
when it is actually paid. This election must be made, if at all, in the first
taxable year in which it is available to the cash basis taxpayer and, if made,
shall be binding on the taxpayer for each subsequent taxable year until
maturity of the loan.

(e) In the case of a taxpayer other than a corporation, the amount of
interest c>n investment indebtedness allowable as a deduction shall be allowed
and limited as set forth in section 163(d) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954,
as amended through December 31, 1980. The limitation prescribed m section
163(d)(l)(A) for married individuals who file separate returns shall a|so arjply to
married individuals who file separately on one return.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 290.095, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. ALLOWANCE OF DEDUCTION, (a) There shall be
allowed as a deduction for the taxable year the amount of any net operating
loss deduction as defined in subdivision 2. clause (b); provided, however, that
the modifications specified in subdivision 4 shall be made in computing the
taxable net income for the taxable year before the net operating loss deduction
shall be allowed.

• (b) A net operating loss deduction shall be available-under this section
only to corporate taxpayers except as provided in subdivisions 6, 7 a»d, 9 and
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]_[ hereof; attd? «4*k respect te individuate; no deduction sheti be allowed fef OF
with respect te losses which constitute ta* preference items as set forth in
section 290.17, subdivision 4-.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.095, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. ]_K CARRYBACK OR CARRYOVER ADJUSTMENTS, (a)
For individuals the amount of a net operating loss that may be carried back or
carried over shall be the same dollar amount allowable m the determination of
federal adjusted gross income. For 'estates and trusts the amount of a net
operating loss that may be carried back or carried over shall be the same dollar
amount allowable in the determination of federal taxable income.

(b) The following adjustments to the amount of the net operating loss
that may be carried back or carried over must be made for:

(1) Nonassignable income or losses as required by section 290.17.
subdivision 2.

(2) Losses which constitute tax preference items as required in section
290.17, subdivision L

(3) Modifications required because of the restrictions on farm losses as
provided in section 290.09. subdivision 29.

(4) Adjustments to the determination of federal adjusted gross income
that must be made because of changes in the Internal Revenue Code that have
not yet been adopted by the legislature by updating the reference to the
Internal Revenue Code contained in section 290.01. subdivision 20.

W Modifications to income and loss contained in federal adjusted gross
income according to the provisions of section 290.01, subdivision 20. clause (c).

(6) Gains or losses which result from the sale or other disposition of
property having a higher adjusted basis for Minnesota income tax purposes
than for federal income tax purposes subject to the limitations contained in
section 290.01, subdivision 20, clause (b) (2) and (4).

(7) Interest, taxes, and other expenses not allowed under section 290.10.
clauses (9) and (10) or section 290.101.

(c) (I) The net operating loss carryback or carryover applied as a
deduction in the taxable year to which the net operating loss is carried back or
carried over shall be equal to the net operating loss carryback or carryover
applied in the taxable year in arriving at federal adjusted gross income (or
federal taxable- income for trusts and estates) subject to the modifications
contained in clause (b) and to the following modifications:
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(A) Increase the amount of carryback or carryover applied in the taxable
year by the amount of losses and interest, taxes and other expenses not
assignable or allowable to Minnesota incurred in the taxable year.

(B) Decrease the amount of carryback or carryover applied in the
taxable year by the amount of income not assignable to Minnesota earned in
the taxable year and the amount of federal jobs credit or WIN credit earned m
the taxable year.

(C) A taxpayer who is not a resident of Minnesota during any part of the
taxable year and who has no income . assignable to Minnesota during the
taxable year shall apply no net operating loss carryback or carryover in the
taxable year.

(2) The provisions of section I72(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of
1954 as amended through December 31. J980 (relating to carrybacks and
carryovers) shall apply. The net operating loss carryback or carryover to the
next consecutive taxable year shall be the net operating loss carryback or
carryovgr as calculated in clause (g) (1) less the amount applied in the earlier
taxable year(s). No additional net operating loss carryback or carryover shall
be allowed if the entire amount has been used to offset Minnesota income in a
year earlier than was possible on the federal return. A net operating loss
carryback or carryover that was allowed to offset federal income in a year
earlier than was possible on the Minnesota return shall still be allowed to offset
Minnesota income but only if the loss was assignable to Minnesota in the year
the loss occurred.

(d) A net operating loss shall be allowed to be carried back or carried
forward only to the extent that loss was assignable to Minnesota in the year the
loss occurred or in the year to which the loss was carried over, whichever would
allow more of the loss to be allowed for Minnesota purposes.

(e) |f a taxpayej has a net operating loss for federal purposes and the
provisions of the farm loss limitation as provided in section 290.09, subdivision
29 apply, the limitations applying 'to the farm losses that are carried back or
carried over are applied first and the net operating loss that is carried back or
carried over is limited to the excess, tf any, that the net operating loss exceeds
the farm loss limitation.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.095, Subdivision 9, is
amended to read:

Subd. 9. SPECIAL PERIOD OF LIMITATION WITH RESPECT
TO NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYBACKS. For the purposes of sections
290.46 and 290.50 if the claim for refund relates to an overpayment attributable
to a net operating loss carryback under this section or as the result in the case
of an individual of an adjustment of "federal adjusted gross income" because of
the carryback under section 172 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
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amended through December 31, 1979 in lieu of the period of limitation
prescribed in sections 290.46 and 290.50, the period shall be that period which
ends with the expiration of the 15th day of the 46th month (or the 45th month,
in the case of a corporation) following the end of the taxable year of the net
operating loss which results in such carryback or adjustment of "federal
adjusted gross income". During this extended period, married individuals who
elected to file separate returns or a combined return may change their election
and file a joint return.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.14, is amended to read:

290.14 GAIN OR LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY, BASIS.

The basis for determining the gain or loss from the sale or other
disposition of property acquired on or after January 1, 1933, shall be the cost to
the taxpayer of such property, with the following exceptions:

(1) If the property should have been included in the last inventory, it
shall be the last inventory value thereof;

(2) If the property was acquired by gift, it shall be the same as it would
be if it were being sold or otherwise disposed of by the last preceding owner not
acquiring it by gift; if the facts required for this determination cannot be
ascertained, it shall be the fair market value as of the date, or approximate date,
of acquisition by the last preceding owner, as nearly as the requisite facts can
be ascertained by the commissioner;

(3) If the property was acquired by gift through an inter vivos transfer in
trust, it shall be the same as it would be if it were being sold or otherwise
disposed of by the grantor;

(4) Except as otherwise provided in this clause, the basis of property in
the hands of a person acquiring the property from a decedent or to whom the
property passed from a decedent shall, if not sold, exchanged or otherwise
disposed of before the decedent's death by the person, be the fair market value
of the property at the date of decedent's death or in the case of an election
under section 2032 (relating to alternate valuation) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954. as amended through December 3K ]980, its valuation at the
applicable valuation date prescribed by that section, or in the case of an
election under section 2032A (relating to valuation of farm real property) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954. as amended through December 3_K 1980, its
value determined by that section.

For the purposes of the preceding paragraph, the following property
shall be considered to have been acquired from or to have passed from the
decedent:

(a) Property acquired by bequest, devise, or inheritance, or by the
decedent's estate from the decedent;
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(b) Property transferred by the decedent during his lifetime in trust to
pay the income for life to or on the order or direction of the decedent, with the
right reserved to the decedent at all times before his death to revoke the trust;

(c) Property transferred by the decedent during his lifetime in trust to
pay the income for life to or on the order or direction of the decedent with the
right reserved to the decedent at all times before his death to make any change
in the enjoyment thereof through the exercise of a power to alter, amend, or
terminate the trust;

(d) Property passing without full and adequate consideration under a
general power of appointment exercised by the decedent by will;

(e) In the case of a decedent's dying after December 31, 1956, property
acquired from the decedent by reason of death, form of ownership, or other
conditions (including property acquired through the exercise or non-exercise^af
a power of appointment), if by reason thereof the property is required to be
included in determining the value of the decedent's gross estate for Minnesota
inheritance or estate tax purposes. In this case, if the property is acquired
before the death of the decedent, the basis shall be the amount determined
under the first'paragraph of this clause reduced by the amount allowed to the
taxpayer as deductions in computing taxable net income under this chapter or
prior Minnesota income tax laws for exhaustion, wear and tear, obsolescence,
amortization, and depletion on the property before the death of the decedent.
The basis shall be applicable to the property commencing on the death of the
decedent. This paragraph shall not apply to annuities described in section
290.08; and property described in paragraphs (a), (b), (c) and (d) of this clause.

This clause shall not apply to property which constitutes a right to
receive an item of income in respect of a decedent under section 290.077. Nor
shall it apply to restricted stock options described in section 290.078 which the
employee has not exercised at death.

(5) If the property was acquired after December 31, 1932, upon an
exchange described in section 290.13, subdivision I, the basis shall be the same
as in the case of the property exchanged, decreased in the amount, of any
money received by the taxpayer and increased in the amount of gain or
decreased in the amount of loss to the taxpayer that was recognized upon the
exchange under ihe law applicable to the year in which the exchange was made.
If the property so acquired consisted in part of the type of property permitted
by section 290.13, subdivision 1, to be received without the recognition of gain
or loss, and in part of other property, the basis provided in this clause shall be
allocated between the properties, other than money, received, and for the
purpose of the allocation there shall be assigned to the other property an
amount equivalent to its fair market value at the date of the exchange. This
clause shall not apply to property acquired by a corporation by the issuance of
its stock or securities as the consideration, in whole or in part, for the transfer
of the property to it;
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(6) If substantially identical property was acquired in the place of stocks
Or securities which were sold or disposed of and in respect of which loss was
not allowed as a deduction under section 290.09, subdivision 5, the basis in the
case of property so acquired shall be the same as in the case of the stock or
Securities so sold or disposed of, increased by the excess of the repurchase price
of the property over the sale price of the stock or securities, or decreased by the
excess of the sale price of the stock or securities over the repurchase price of the
property;

(7) If the property was acquired after December 31, 1932, as the result of
a compulsory or involuntary conversion described in section 290.13, subdivision
5, the basis shall be the same as in the case of the property so converted,
decreased in the amount of any money received by the taxpayer which was not
expended in accordance with the provisions of law applicable to the year in
which conversion was made, determining the taxable status of the gain or loss
Upon conversion, and increased in the amount of gain or decreased in the
amount of loss to the taxpayer recognized upon conversion under the law
applicable to the year in which conversion was made.

(8) Neither the basis nor the adjusted basis of any portion of real
property shall, in the case of a lessor of the property, be increased or
diminished on account of income derived by the lessor in respect of the
property and excludable from gross income under section 290.08, subdivision
14.

If an amount representing any part of the value of real property
attributable to buildings erected or other improvements made by a lessee in
respect of the property was included in gross income of the lessor for any
taxable year beginning before January 1, 1943, the basis of each portion of the
property shall be properly adjusted for the amount included in gross income.

(9) If the property was acquired by the taxpayer as a transfer of property
in exchange for the release of the taxpayer's marital rights, the basis of the
property shall be the same as it would be if it were being sold or otherwise
disposed of by the person who transferred the property to the taxpayer.

(10) The basis of property subject to the provisions of section 1034 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended through December 31, 1979
(relating to the rollover of gain on sale of principal residence) shall be the same
as the basis for federal income tax purposes. The basis shall be increased by
the amount of gain realized on the sale of a principal residence outside of
Minnesota, while a nonresident of this state, which gain was not recognized
because of the provisions of section 1034.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.37, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. PERSONS MAKING RETURNS. The commissioner
of revenue shall annually determine the gross income levels at which individuals
and estates shall be required to file a return for each taxable year.
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In the case of a decedent who has gross income in excess of the
minimum amount at which an individual is required to file a return, the
decedent's final income tax return shall be filed by his or her personal
representative, if any. If there is no personal representative, the return shall be
filed by the successors (as defined in section 524.1-201) who receive any
property of the decedent.

The trustee or other fiduciary of property held in trust shall file a return
with respect to the taxable net income of such trust if that exceeds an amount
on which a tax at the rates herein provided would exceed the specific credits
allowed, or if the gross-income of such trust exceeds $750, if in either case such
trust belongs to the class of taxable persons.

Every corporation shall file a return with respeet te its taxable set
income if m excess ef $500, ef if its gross income exceeds $S>000. The return in
this case shall be signed by an officer of the corporation.

The receivers, trustees in bankruptcy, or assignees operating the business
or property of a taxpayer shall file a return with respect to the taxable net
income of such taxpayer if that exceeds an amount on which a tax at the rales
herein provided would exceed the specific credits allowed (0*^ tf the taxpayer is
a corporation, # tk« taxable net income exceeds $500). ef if saeh taxpayer^

Such return shall (a) be verified or contain a written declaration that it is
made under the penalties of criminal liability for wilfully making a false return,
and (b) shall contain a confession of judgment for the amount of the tax shown
due thereon to the extent not timely paid.

For purposes of this subdivision the term "gross income" shall mean
gross income as defined in section 61 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as
amended through December 31, 1979, modified and adjusted in accordance.
with the provisions of sections 290.01, subdivision 20, clauses (b)(l). (b)(6) and
(b)(ll), 290.08, and 290.17.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.39, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. IN GENERAL. Every return shall specifically set forth
the items of gross income, deductions, credits against net income, credits
against the tax, and any other data necessary for computing the amount of any
item required for determining the amount of the net income tax liability. The
return shall be in such form as the commissioner of revenue may prescribe.
The filing of a return required under this section shall be deemed an assessment
subject to revision of the tax shown due on the basis of such return.

hi the event a taxpayer files a return which does not contain all the
information required by this subdivision^ the commissioner may, in addition to
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any other remedies which may be available, bring an action in eguuy by the
slate against the taxpayer for an injunction ordering the taxpayer to file a
complete and proper return in. accordance with this subdivision. The district
courts of this state shall have jurisdiction over the action and disobedience of
an injunction issued under this subdivision shall be punished as a contempt of
district court.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.39, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

»

Subd. 2. SINGLE FORM FOR SEPARATE RETURNS SEPARATE
COMPUTATIONS ON A SINGLE RETURN. Notwithstanding the provi-
sions of section 290.61, a husband and wife may elect to file separate compute
their Minnesota income lax returns separately on a single form return, in which
event:

(a) if the sum of the payments by either spouse, including withheld and
estimated taxes, exceeds the amount of tax fef which of such spouse is
separately liable as computed separately, the excess may be applied by the
commissioner to the credit of the other spouse if the sum of the payments by
such other spouse, including withheld and estimated taxes, is less than the
amount of the tax fep which of such other spouse is separately liable as
computed separately;

(b) if the sum of the payments made by both spouses with respect to the
taxes fef which they afe separately liable of both as computed separately,
including withheld and estimated taxes, exceeds the total of the taxes due,
refund of the excess may be made payable to both .spouses or may be credited
against any liability in respect of Minnesota income tax on the part of either
spouse;

(c) if the sum of the payments made by both spouses with respect to the
taxes of both as computed separately, including withheld and estimated taxes, is
less than the total of the taxes due, the liability for the unpaid tax shall be joint
and several; provided that a spouse may be relieved of liability in those cases
contained in section 6QI3(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 as amended
through December 31. J980 (for purposes of computing the 25 percent test
contained in that section, the amount of gross income stated in the return shall
include the total gross income of both spouses);

(d) if the standard deduction provided for by section 290.09, subdivision
15, is not utilized, then the total of the Minnesota itemized deductions of a
husband and wife may be taken by either or divided between them as they
elect.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.39, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. X The commissioner may, in his discretion, provide for use a
short form individual income tax return which shajl be in the form and provide
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for items as the commissioner may prescribe which are consistent with the
provisions of this chapter, not withstand i ng any other law to the contrary. The
political checkoff provided in section 10A.31 shall be included on the short
form.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.41. Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. BY PERSONS OR, CORPORATIONS, COOPERATIVES,
GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES OR'SCHOOL DISTRICTS. Every person
ef, corporation, or cooperative, the slate of Minnesota and its political subdivi-
sions, and every city, county and school district in Minnesota, making pay-
ments in the regular course of a trade or business during the taxable year to any
person or corporation in excess of $600 on account of rents or royalties, or of
$10 or more on account of interest, or m e*eess el $10 or more on account of
dividends or patronage dividends, or in 6X€«ss ef $600 or more on account of
either wages, salaries, ef commissions, fees, prizes, awards, pensions, annuities.
or any other fixed or determinable gains, profits or income, not otherwise
reportable under section 290.92. subdivision 7, or on account of earnings in
excess of $10 distributed to its members by savings, building and loan associa-
tions or credit unions chartered under the laws of this state or the United
States, (a) shall make a return (except in cases where a valid agreement to
participate in the combined federal and state information reporting system has
been entered into, and such return is therefore filed only with the commissioner
of internal revenue pursuant to the applicable filing and informational reporting
requirements of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 as amended through
December 3j_, 1980) in respect to such payments in excess of the amounts
specified, giving the name's and addresses of the persons to whom such
payments were made, the amounts paid to each, and (b) shall make a return in
respect to the total number of such payments and total amount of such
payments, for each category of income specified, which were ill excess of the
amounts specified. This subdivision shall not apply to the payment of interest
or dividends to a person who was a nonresident of Minnesota for the entire
year. The state treasurer er ether corresponding officer-^ by whatever name
known, el every political subdivision el the state, el every erty and el evwy
school district; shall; en ef beler* the lif&t day ef March eaeH year; beginning
with March, 1938. make and file with the commissioner ef revenue a report
giving the name ef- eaeh employee ef official te whom the state ef sueh political
subdivisionj eity? ef seheel district, during the preceding calendar year, paid
any salary e? wages in excess el $600; together with th« last known address ef
such employee OF official

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.41, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. 7. UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION. Every person who
makes payments of unemployment compensation aggregating $JO or more to
any individual during any calendar year and who is required to make and file a
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return pursuant to section 6050B of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 as
amended through December 31, 1980, shall file with the commissioner of
revenue a copy of such return.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.41, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. 8. FAILURE TO FILE RETURN. In the case of each failure
to file a return required by this section on the date prescribed therefor
(determined with regard to any extension of time for filing), unless it is shown
that such failure is due to reasonable cause and not to wilful neglect, the payej"
failing to file such return shall p_ay to the commissioner a penalty of $10 for
each such failure, but the total amount imposed on the delinquent payer for all
such failures during, any calendar year shall not exceed SI.OOP. The penalty
shall be collected in the same manner as any_ delinquent income ta!x.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.42, is amended to read:

290.42 FILING RETURNS, DATE.

The returns required to be made under sections 290.37 to 290.39 and
290.41, other than those under section 290.41, subdivisions 3 and 4. which shall
be made within 30 days after demand therefor by the commissioner, shall be
filed at the following times:

(1) Returns made on the basis of the calendar year shall be filed on the
fifteenth day of April, following the close of the calendar year, except that
returns of corporations shall be filed on the fifteenth day of March following
the close of the calendar year;

(2) Returns made on the basis of the fiscal year shall be filed on the
fifteenth day of the fourth month following the close of such fiscal year, except
that returns of corporations shall be filed on the fifteenth day of the third
month following the close of the fiscal year;

(3) Returns made for a fractional part of a year as an incident to a
change from one taxable year to another shall be filed on the fifteenth day of
the fourth month following the close of the period for which made, except that
such returns of corporations shall be filed on the fifteenth day of the third
month following the close of the period for which made;

(4) Other returns for a fractional part of a year shall be filed on the
fifteenth day of the fourth month following the end of the month in which falls
the last day of the period for which the return is made, except that such returns
of corporations shall be filed on the fifteenth day of the third month following
the end of the month in which falls the last day of the period for which the
return is made:

In the case of a final return of a decedent for a fractional part of a year,
such return shall be filed on the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the
close of the twelve-month period which began with the first day of such
fractional part of a year.
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(4a) In the case of the return of a cooperative association such returns
shall be filed on or before the fifteenth day of the ninth month following the
close of the taxable year.

(5) If the due date for any return required under chapter 290 falls upon:

(A) A Saturday, such return filed by the following Monday shall be
considered to be timely filed;

(B) A legal holiday, such return filed on the next succeeding business
day shall be considered to be timely filed, except, that for the purpose of this
paragraph, Saturday shall not'be considered to be a business day.

(6) In case of sickness, absence, or other disability, or when, in his
judgment, good cause exists, the commissioner may extend the time for filing
these returns for not more than six months, except that where the failure is due
to absence outside the United States he may extend the period until 30 days
after the taxpayer's return to this state. He may require each taxpayer in any
of such cases to file a tentative return at the time fixed for filing the regularly
required return from him, and to pay a tax on the basis of such tentative return
at the times required for the payment of taxes on the basis of the regularly
required return from such taxpayer. The commissioner may exercise his power
under this clause by general regulation only.

(7) Every person making a return under section 290.41 (except subdjyi-
sions 3 and 4J sh_all furnish to each person whose name is set forth in the return
a written statement showing

(A) the name and address of the person making the return, and

(BJ the aggregate amount of payments to the person shown on the
return.

This written statement shall be furnished to the person on or before
January 3_[ of the year following the calendar year for which the return was
made. A duplicate of this written statement shall be furnished to the commis-
sioner on or before February 28 of the year following the calendar year for
which the return was made.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.43, is amended to read:

290.43 RETURNS, WHERE FILED.

The returns required to be made under sections 290.37 to 290.39 and
290.41 shall be filed with the commissioner at his office in St. Paul, or. such
other place as the commissioner may designate.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.44, is amended to read:

290.44 PAYMENT OF TAX, WHO MUST PAY.

The taxes imposed by this chapter, and interest and penalties imposed
with respect thereto, shall be paid by the taxpayer upon whom imposed, except
in the following cases:
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(1) The tax due from a decedent for that part of the taxable year in
which he died during which he was alive shall be paid by his personal
representativet, if any. If there is no personal representative, the tax shall be
paid by the successors (as defined in section 524.1-201) to the extent they
receive property from the decedent.

(2) The tax due from an infant or other incompetent person shall be paid
by his guardian or other person authorized or permitted by law to act for him;

(3) The tax due from the estate of a decedent shall be paid by the
personal representative thereof;

(4) The tax due from a trust, including those within the definition of
corporation, shall be paid by the trustee or trustees;

(5) The tax due from a taxpayer whose business or property is in charge
of a receiver, trustee in bankruptcy, assignee, or other conservator, shall be paid,
by the person in charge of such business or property so far as the tax is due to
the income from such business or property.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.46, is amended to read:

290.46 EXAMINATION OF RETURNS; ASSESSMENTS, RE-
FUNDS.

The commissioner shall, as soon as practicable after the return is filed,
examine the same and make any investigation or examination of the taxpayer's
records and accounts that he may deem necessary for determining the correct-
ness of the return. The tax computed by him on the basis of such examination
and investigation shall be the tax to be paid by such taxpayer. If the tax found
due shall be greater than the amount reported as due on the taxpayer's return,
the commissioner shall assess a tax in the amount of such excess and the whole
amount of such excess shall be paid to the commissioner within 60 days after
notice of the amount and demand for its payment shall have been mailed to the
taxpayer by the commissioner. If the understatement of the tax on the return
was false arid fraudulent with intent to evade the tax, the installments of the tax
shown by the taxpayer on his return which have not yet been paid shall be paid
to the commissioner within 60 days after notice of the amount thereof and
demand for payment shall have been mailed to the taxpayer by the commis-
sioner. If the amount of the tax found due by the commissioner shall be less
than that reported as due on the taxpayer's return, the excess shall be refunded
to the taxpayer in the manner provided by section 290.50 {except that no
demand therefor shall be necessary), if he has already paid the whole of such
tax, or credited against any unpaid installment thereof; provided, that no
refundment shall be made except as provided in section 290.50, after the
expiration of three and one-half years after the filing of the return.
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If the commissioner examines returns of a taxpayer for more than one
year, he may issue one order covering the several years under consideration
reflecting the aggregate refund or additional tax due.

The notices and demands provided for by sections 290.46 to 290.48 shall
be in such form as the commissioner may determine (including a statement)
and shall contain a brief explanation of the computation of the tax and shall be
sent by mail to the taxpayer at the address given in his return, or to his last
known address.

In cases where there has been an overpayment of a self-assessed liability
as shown on the return filed by the taxpayer, the commissioner may refund
such overpayment to the taxpayer and no demand therefor shall be necessary;
further, written findings by the commissioner, notice by mail to the taxpayer
and certificate for refundment by the commissioner shall not be necessary and
the provisions of section 270.10, in such case, shall not be applicable.

In the case of an individual, estate or trust, the commissioner may audit
and adjust the taxpayer's computation of fedgral adjusted gross income (or
federal taxable income for estates or trusts) to make it properly conform with
the provisions of section 290.01, subdivision 20.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.53, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. FAILURE TO FILE, FILING FALSE OR FRAUDULENT
RETURN; INTENT TO EVADE TAX; 50 PERCENT PENALTY. If any
person, with intent to evade the tax imposed by this aet chapter, shall fail to file
any return required by this aet chapter, or shall with such intent file a false or
fraudulent return, there shall also be imposed on him as a penalty an amount
equal to 50 percent of any tax (less any amounts paid by him on the basis of
such false or fraudulent return) found due from him for the period to which
such return related. The penalty imposed by this subdivision shall be collected
as part of the tax, and shall be in addition to any other penalties, civil and
criminal, provided by this section. ' The amount of the tax and any other
penalties together with this amount shall bear interest at the rate specified in
section 270.75 from the time the tax should have been paid until paid. This
amount shall be in lieu of any amount determined under subdivision 3a.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 290.53, Subdivision 3a, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3a. INTENTIONAL DISREGARD OF RULES AND REGU-
LATIONS. If any part of any additional assessment; as determined ttftdef
section 290.46; is due to negligence or intentional disregard of rules and
regulations (but without intent to defraud), there shall be added to the tax an
amount equal to five percent of such additional assessment. The amount of

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.



Ch. 343 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1981 1587

the lax together with this amount shall bear interest at the rate specified in
section 270.75 from the lime the tax should have been paid until paid.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.61, is amended to read:

290.61 PUBLICITY OF RETURNS, INFORMATION.

It shall be unlawful for the commissioner or any other public official or
employee to divulge or otherwise make known in any manner any particulars
set forth or disclosed in any report or return required by this chapter, or any
information concerning, the taxpayer's affairs acquired from his or its records,
officers, or employees while examining or auditing any taxpayer's liability for
taxes imposed hereunder, except in connection with a proceeding involving
taxes due under this chapter from the taxpayer making such return or to
comply with the provisions of section 290.612. The commissioner may furnish
a copy of any taxpayer's return to any official of the United States or of any
state having duties to perform in respect to the assessment or collection of any
tax imposed upon or measured by income, if such taxpayer is required by the
laws of the United States or of such state to make a return therein. Prior to the
release of any information to any official of the United States or any other state
under the provisions of this section, the person to whom the information is to
be released shall sign an agreement which provides that he will protect the
confidentiality of the returns and information revealed thereby to the extent
that it is protected under the laws of the state of Minnesota. The commissioner
and all other public officials and employees shall keep and maintain the same
secrecy in respect to any information furnished by any department, commis-
sion, or official of the United States or of any other state in respect to the
income of any person as is required by this section in respect to information
concerning the affairs of taxpayers under this chapter. Nothing herein con-
tained shall be construed to prohibit the commissioner from publishing statistics
so classified as not to disclose the identity of particular returns or reports and
the items thereof. Upon request of a majority of the members of the senate tax
committee or of the house tax committee or the tax study commission, the
commissioner shall furnish abstracted financial information to those commit-
tees for research purposes from returns or reports filed pursuant to this chapter,
provided that he shall not disclose the name, address, social security number,
business identification number or any other item of information associated with
any return or report which the commissioner believes is likely to identify the
taxpayer. The commissioner shall not furnish the actual return, or a portion
thereof, or a reproduction or copy of any return or portion thereof. "Abstract-
ed financial information" means only the dollar amounts set forth on each line
on the form including the f i l ing status.

Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a
gross misdemeanor.
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In order to locate the named payee on state warrants issued pursuant to
this chapter or chapter 290A and undeliverable by the United States postal
service, the commissioner may publish in any English language newspaper of
general circulation in this state a list of the name and last known address of the
payee as shown on the reports or returns filed with the commissioner. The
commissioner may exclude the names of payees whose refunds are in an
amount which is less than a minimal amount to be determined by the
commissioner. The published list shall not contain any particulars set forth on
any report or return. The publication shall include instructions on claiming the
warrants.

An employee of the department of revenue may, in connection with his
official duties relating to any audit, collection activity, or civil or criminal tax
investigation or any other offense under this chapter, disclose return informa-
tion to the extent that such disclosure is necessary in obtaining information.
which is not otherwise reasonably available, with respect to the correct determi-
nation of tax, liability for tax, or the amount to be collected or with respect to
the enforcement of any_ other provision of this chapter.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92. Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. DEFINITIONS. (1) WAGES. For purposes of this
section, the term "wages" means ati remuneration, other than fees paid te a
public official fef services performed by an employee for his employer, inolud-
*"fi tftv GflSfl Vat lie &T CTTX rcFTillFicFclliOn pQIQ rfl Hil V rTlCQiUfTl OlnCF ifluTl C'CtSlJ ,

ihftl fiiif'h tftf tn fihflil not llldudfi f6fT^ U fi^T-fl t lOfffr no. id

("*od 6 of 1 QS-^1 fl*j 3 mended through F^ecem HG r ^ 1 1 97^ or

performed in any eatendar quarter by &B employee, unless the easb remunera'
*n%rt |\Q|̂ J fftF ^iich ^orvico w x5Q or triQffi ^ no f^uch *ier vice f* T\jjr formed hv on

individual w4»e is regalafly employed by such employer te perform suoh service.
pfyr nu rriOFiefi of this 03 r3 &r3.oh AH • mj i viQUftl 'tho.ll bd deemed tct

i t\ f^ri ^if;h f±f FQtTift ^4 dfl vfi diit'iBP such Quarter ^uc-h i ndt vid 113 1

(u) Such individual was regularly employed (as determined under {*}) by
sueh employer m the performance of suoh sefvtee during the preceding calendar
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(d} For services performed by a duly ordained; commissioned, ef
licensed minister ef a ehurch in the exercise ef bis miftisiry eF by a member ef a
religious order w the exercise ef duties required by sueh ofder. eh

(e) (i) Per services performed by an individual under the ag* 4* in the
delivery or distribution of newspapers ef shopping news, net including delivery
er distribution te any point fef subsequent delivery er distribution, ef

(it) Per services performed by an individual in? and at the time of; tbe
sale of newspapers or magazines to ultimate consumers, under an arrangement
Uflde? which the newspapers OF magazines are to be sold by him at a fixed
price? his compensation being based on the retention ef the excess ef such price
ever (he amount at which the newspapers Of magazines are charged to htm-,
whether or net he is guaranteed a minimum amount of compensation for such

. of is entitled to be credited with the unsold newspapers OF magazines

(f) Fef services »e* m the course el the employer's trade OF business, te
(be extent paid in any medium other than cash, or

(g) Tor ef en behalf efrafl employee er his beneficiary, front &r te a trust
in section ^Qf) ^f\ xviiich is 0x6 mpt from tfl^fc under section 290 03

the time ef sueb paymant) miless sueh payment is made te an employee ef the
trust as remuneration fer services rendered as such employee and net as a
beneficiary ef the trust? er under or te an annuity plan which, at the urne ef
such payment, meets the requirements of seetien 29Q;26; the same as that term
[s defined in section 3401 (a) and (f) of the Internal Revenue Code of \9S4, as
amended through December 31. [980.

(2) PAYROLL PERIOD. For purposes of this section the term "payroll
period" means a period for which a payment of wages is ordinarily made to the
employee by his employer, and the term "miscellaneous payroll period" means
a payroll period other than a daily, weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, monthly,
quarterly, semi-annual, or annual payroll period.

(3) EMPLOYEE. For purposes of this section the term "employee"
means any resident individual performing services for an employer, either
within or without, or both within and without the state of Minnesota, and every
nonresident individual performing services within the state of Minnesota, the
performance of which services constitute, establish, and determine the relation-
ship between the parties as that of employer and employee. As used in the
preceding sentence, the term "employee" includes an officer of a corporation,
and an officer, employee, or elected official of the United States, a state,
territory, or any political subdivision thereof, or the District of Columbia, or
any agency or instrumentality of any one or more of the foregoing.

(4) EMPLOYER. For purposes of this section the term "employer"
means any person, including individuals, fiduciaries, estates, trusts, partner-
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ships, and corporations transacting business in or deriving any income from
sources within the state of Minnesota for whom an individual performs or
performed any service, of whatever nature, as the employee of such person,
except that if the person for whom the individual performs or performed the
services does not have legal control of the payment of the wages for such
services, the term "employer," except for purposes of paragraph (I), means the
person having legal control of the payment of such wages. As used in the
preceding sentence, the term "employer" includes any corporation, individual,
estate, [rust, or organization which is exempt from taxation under section
290.05 and further includes, but is not limited to, officers of corporations who
have legal control, either individually or jointly with another or others, of the
payment of the wages.

(5) NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING EXEMPTIONS CLAIMED. For
purposes of this section, the term "number of withholding exemptions claimed"
means the number of withholding exemptions claimed in a withholding exemp-
tion certificate in,effect under subdivision 5, except that if no such certificate is
in effect, the number of withholding exemptions claimed shall be considered to
be zero.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92, Subdivision 2a. is
amended to read:

Subd. 2a. COLLECTION AT SOURCE. (I) DEDUCTIONS. Every
employer making payment of wages shall deduct and withhold upon such
wages a lax as provided in this section.

(2) WITHHOLDING ON PAYROLL PERIOD. The employer shall
withhold the tax on the basis of each payroll period or as otherwise provided in
this section.

(3) WITHHOLDING TABLES. Unless the amount of tax to be
withheld is determined as provided in subdivision 3, the amount of tax to be
withheld for each individual shall be based upon tables to be prepared and
distributed by the commissioner. The tables shall be computed for the several
permissible withholding periods and shall take account of exemptions allowed
under this section; and the amounts computed for withholding shall be such
that the amount withheld for any individual during his taxable year shall
approximate in the aggregate as closely as possible the tax which is levied and
imposed under this chapter for that taxable year, upon his salary, wages, or
compensation for personal services of any kind for the employer, and shall take
into consideration the allowable deduction for federal income tax and the
deduction allowable under section 290.09, subdivision 15, and the credits
against the tax allowable under the Minnesota income tax act.

(4) MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD. If wages are paid with
respect to a period which is not a payroll period, the amount to be deducted
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and withheld shall be that applicable in the case of a miscellaneous payroll
period containing a number of days, including Sundays and holidays, equal to
the number of days in the period "with respect to which such wages are paid.

(5) MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD, (a) In any case in which
wages are paid by an employer without regard to any payroll period or other
period, (he amount to be deducted and withheld shall be thai applicable in the
case of a miscellaneous payroll period containing a number of days equal to the
number of days, including Sundays and holidays, which have elapsed since the
date of the last payment of such wages by such employer during the calendar
year, or the date of commencement of employment with such employer during
such year, or January 1 of'such year, whichever is the later.

(b) In any case in which the period, or the time described in clause (a),
in respect 'of any wages is less than one week, the commissioner, under
regulations prescribed by him, may authorize an employer to determine the
amount to be deducted and withheld under the tables applicable in the case of
a weekly payroll period, in which case the aggregate of the wages paid to the
employee during the calendar week shall be considered the weekly wages.

(6) WAGES COMPUTED TO NEAREST DOLLAR. If the wages
exceed the highest bracket, in determining the amount to be deducted and
withheld under this subdivision, the wages may, at the election of the employer,
be computed to the nearest dollar.

(7) REGULATIONS ON WITHHOLDING. The commissioner may,
by regulations, authorize employers:

(a) To estimate the wages which will be paid to any employee in any
quarter of the calendar year;

(b) To determine the amount to be deducted and withheld upon each
payment of wages to such employee during such quarter as if the appropriate
average of the wages so-estimated constituted the actual wages paid; and

(c) To deduct and withhold upon any payment of wages to such
employee during such quarter such amount as may be necessary to adjust the
amount actually deducted and withheld upon wages of such employee during
such quarter to the amount required to be deducted and withheld during such
quarter without regard to this paragraph (7).

(8) ADDITIONAL WITHHOLDING. The commissioner is authorized
to provide by regulation, under such conditions and to such extent as he deems
proper, for withholding in addition to that otherwise required under this
subdivision and subdivision 3 in cases in which the employer and the employee
agree to such additional withholding. Such additional withholding shall for all
purposes be considered tax required to be deducted and withheld under this
section.
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(9) TIPS. In the case of tips which constitute wages, this subdivision
shall be applicable only to such tips as are included in a written statement'
furnished to the employer pursuant to section 6053 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, as amended through December 31, 1980, and only to the extent
that the tax can be deducted and withheld by the employer, at or after the time
such statement is so furnished and before the close of the calendar year in
which such statement is furnished, from such wages of the employee (excluding
tips, but including funds turned over by the employee to the employer for the
purpose of such deduction and withholding) as are under the control of the
employer; and an employer who is furnished by an employee a written
statement of tips (received ma calendar month) pursuant to section 6053 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954 as amended through December 31, 1980 to
which subdivision j^ is applicable may deduct and withhold the tax with respect
to such tips from any wages of the employee (excluding tips) under his control,
even though at the time such statement is furnished the totaj amount of the tips
included in statements furnished to the employer as having been received by
the employee in such calendar month in the course of his employment by such
employer is less than $20. Such tax shall not at any time be deducted and
withheld in an amount which exceeds the aggregate of such wages and funds as
are under the control of the employer minus any tax required by other
provisions of state or federal law to be collected from such wages and funds.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:

Subd. 5a. VERIFICATION OF WITHHOLDING EXEMPTIONS;
APPEAL. (1) An employer shall submit to the commissioner a copy of any
withholding exemption certificate received from an employee on which the
employee claims any of the following:

(a) a total number of withholding exemptions in excess of nine, or

(b) a status that would exempt the employee from Minnesota withhold-
ing, unless the employee is a nonresident exempt from withholding under
subdivision 4a, clause (3), or the employer reasonably expects, at the lime that
the certificate is received, that the employee*s wages under subdivision ]_ from
the employer will not then usually exceed $200 p_er week, or

(c) any number of withholding exemptions which the employer has
reason to believe is in excess of the number to which the employee is entitled.

(2) Copies of exemption certificates required to be submitted by clause
(1) shall be submitted to the commissioner within 30 days after receipt by the
employer unless the employer is also required by federal law to submit copies to
the Internal Revenue Service, in which case the employer may eject to submit
the copies to the commissioner at the same time that he is required to submit
them to the Internal Revenue Service.
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(3) An employer who submits a copy of a withholding exemption
certificate in accordance with clause (1) shall honor the certificate until notified
by the commissioner that the certificate is invalid. The commissioner shall
mail a copy of any such notice to the employee. Upon notification that a
particular certificate is invalid, the employer shall not honor that certificate or
any subsequent certificate unless instructed to do so by the commissioner. The
employer shall allow the employee the number of exemptions and compute the
withholding tax as instructed by the commissioner in accordance with clause
(4). ~

(4) The commissioner may require an employee to verify that he or she is
entitled to the numbej" of exemptions or to the exempt status claimed on' the
withholding exemption certificate or, that he or she is a nonresident. The
employee shall be allowed at least 30 days to submit the verification, after
which time the commissioner shall, on the basis of the besj information
available to him, determine the employee's status and allow the employee the
maximum number of withholding exemptions allowable under this chapter.
The commissioner shall mail a notice of this determination to the employee at
the address listed on the exemption certificate in question. Notwithstanding
the provisions of section 290.61, the commissioner may notify the employer of
this determination and instruct the employer to withhold tax in accordance with
the determination.

(5) The commissioner's determination under clause (4) shall be appeala-
ble to tax court in accordance with section 271.06, and shall remain in effect for
withholding tax purposes pending disposition of any appeal.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92, Subdivision 7, is
amended to read:

Subd. 7. WITHHOLDING STATEMENT TO EMPLOYEE OR
PAYEE AND TO COMMISSIONER. (1) Every person required to deduct
and withhold from an employee a tax under subdivision 2a or subdivision 3, or
who would have been required to deduct and withhold a tax under subdivision
2a or subdivision 3, determined without regard to subdivision 19, if the
employee had claimed no more than one withholding exemption, or who paid
wages not subject to withholding under subdivision 2a or 3 to an employee in
excess of $600, or who has entered into a voluntary withholding agreement with
a payee pursuant to subdivision 20, shall furnish to each such employee in
respect to the remuneration paid by such person to such employee during the
calendar year, on or before January 31 of the succeeding year, or, if his
employment is terminated before the close of such calendar year, e« (Jw day e«
which at the employee's request within 30 days after the last payment of
remuneration is made, a written statement showing the following:

(a) Name of such person,
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(b) The name of the employee or payee and his social security account
number,

(c) The total amount of wages as that term is defined in subdivision 1(1),
and/or the total amount of remuneration subject to withholding pursuant to
subdivision 20. and the amount of sick pay as required under section 6051(0 of
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954. as amended through December 31, 1980.

(d) The total amount deducted and withheld as tax under subdivision 2a
or subdivision 3.

(2) The statement required to be furnished by this subdivision in respect
of any remuneration shall be furnished at such other times, shall contain such
other information, and shall be in such form as the commissioner may
prescribe.

(3) The commissioner may prescribe regulations providing for reasonable
extensions of time, not in excess of 30 days, to employers or payers required to
furnish such statements to their employees or payees under this subdivision.

(4) A duplicate of any statement made pursuant to this subdivision and
in accordance with regulations rules prescribed by the commissioner, along, with
a reconciliation in such form as the commissioner rrmy_ prescribe of all such
statements for the calendar year (including a reconciliation of the quarterly
returns required to be filed pursuant to subdivision 6), shall be filed with the
commissioner at sueh time as he may by regulations prescribe on or before
February 28 of the year after the payments were made. &**eh duplicate when
se filed shaH constitute the information return required te b« made in respeet ef
wages, salaries and commissions under section 3ftOr41, subdivision 2r

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92, Subdivision 15, is
amended to read:

Subd. 15. PENALTIES. (I) If any tax required lo be deducted and
withheld under subdivision 2a or subdivision 3, or any portion thereof, is not
paid to or deposited with the commissioner within the time specified in
subdivision 6 for the payment thereof, there shall be added thereto a penally
equal lo ten percent of the amount so remaining unpaid. Such penalty shall be
collected as part of said tax. and the amount of said tax not timely paid,
together with said penalty, shall bear interest at the rate specified in section
270.75 from the time such tax should have been paid or deposited until paid.
Where an extension of time for payment has been granted under the provisions
of subdivision 6, interest shall be paid at the rate specified in section 270.75
from the date when such payment or deposit should have been made if no
extension had been granted, until such tax is paid. If payment is not made at
the expiration of the extended period the penalties provided in this subdivision
shall apply.
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(2) In ihe case of any failure lo withhold a tax on wages, make and file
quarterly returns or make payments to or deposits with the commissioner of
amounts withheld, as required by this section, within the time prescribed by
law, unless it is shown that such failure is not due to wilful neglect, there shall
be added to the tax in lieu of the penalty provided in paragraph (1) a penalty
equal to ten percent of the amount of tax that should have been properly
withheld and paid over to or deposited with the commissioner if the failure is
for not more than 30 days with an additional five percent for each additional 30
days or fraction thereof during which such failure continues, not exceeding 25
percent in the aggregate. The amount of the tax together with this amount
shall bear interest at the rate specified in section 270.75 from the time the tax
should have been paid until paid. The amount so added to the tax shall be
collected at the same time and in the same manner and as a part of the tax
unless the tax has been paid before the discovery of the negligence, in which
case the amount so added shall be collected in the same manner as the tax.

(3) If any employer required to withhold a tax on wages, make deposits,
make and file quarterly returns and make payments to the commissioner of
amounts withheld, as required by sections 290.92 to 290.97, wilfully fails to
withhold such a tax or make such deposits, files a false or fraudulent return,
wilfully fails to make such a payment or deposit, or wilfully attempts in any
manner to evade or defeat any such tax or the payment or deposit thereof, there
shall also be imposed on such employer as a penalty an amount equal to 50
percent of the amount of tax (less any amount paid or deposited by such
employer on the basis of such false or fraudulent return or deposit) that should
have been properly withheld and paid over or deposited with the commissioner.
The amount of the tax together with this amount shall bear interest at the rate
specified in section 270.75 from, the time the tax should have been paid until
paid. The penalty imposed by this paragraph shall be collected as a part of the
tax, and shall be in addition to any other penalties civil and criminal,
prescribed by this subdivision.

(4) If any person required under the provisions of subdivision 7 to
furnish a statement to an employee or payee and a duplicate statement to the
commissioner, or to furnish a reconciliation of such statements (and quarterly
returns) to the commissioner, wilfully furnishes a false or fraudulent statement
to an employee or payee or a false or fraudulent duplicate statement or
reconciliation of statements (and quarterly returns} to the commissioner, or
wilfully fails to furnish a statement or such reconciliation in the manner, at the
time, and showing the information required by the provisions of subdivision 7,
or regulations prescribed by the commissioner thereunder, there shall be
imposed on such a person a penalty of $10 for each such act or failure to act.
The penalty imposed by this paragraph shall become due and payable within
ten days after the mailing of a written demand therefor, and may be collected
in the manner prescribed in subdivision 6(8),

Changes or additions are Indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.



1596 LAWS of MINNESOTA for 1981 Ch. 343

(5) In addition to the penalties hereinbefore prescribed, any person
required to withhold a tax on wages, make and file quarterly returns and make
payments or deposits to the commissioner of amounts withheld, as required by
this section, who wilfully fails to withhold such a tax or truthfully make and file
such a quarterly return or make such a payment or deposit, shall be guilty of a
gross misdemeanor.

(6) In lieu of any other penalty provided by law, except the penalty
provided by paragraph (4), any person required under the provisions of
subdivision 7 to furnish a statement of wages to an employee and a duplicate
statement to the commissioner, who wilfully furnishes a false or fraudulent
statement of wages to an employee or a false or fraudulent duplicate statement
of wages to the commissioner, or who wilfully fails to furnish such a statement
in the manner, at the time, and showing the information required by the
provisions of subdivision 7, or regulations prescribed by the commissioner
thereunder, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(7) Any employee required to supply information to his employer under
the provisions of subdivision 5, who wilfully fails to supply information
thereunder which would require an increase in the tax to be deducted and
withheld under subdivision 2a or subdivision 3, shall be guilty of a misdemean-
or.

(8) The term "person," as used in this section, includes an officer or
employee of a corporation, or a member or employee of a partnership, who as
such officer, employee, or member is under a duty to perform the act in respect
of which the violation occurs.

(9) All payments received shall be credited first to penalties, next to
interest, and then to the tax due.

(10) hi addition to any other penalty provided by law, any employee
who furnishes a withholding exemption certificate to his employer which the
ejnployee has reason to know contains a materially incorrect statement shall be
liable to the commissioner of revenue for a penalty of SjOO for each instance.
The penalty shall be immediately due and payable and may be collected in the
same manner as any delinquent income tax.

(I I) hi addition to any other penally provided by law, any employer
who fails to submit a copy of a withholding exemption certificate required by
section 26. clause (l)(a). (1 )(b), or (2) shall be liable to the commissioner of
revenue for a penalty of $50 for each instance. The penalty shall be immedi-
ately due and payable and may be collected in the manner provided in
subdivision 6(8).

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.92, is amended by add-
ing a subdivision to read:
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Subd. 25. DELEGATION OF DUTY OF EMPLOYER. The delega-
tion to an agent, Fiduciary or employee of an employer of any duty prescribed
for the employer by this section shall not relieve the employer of full compli-
ance with such duty.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.93, Subdivision I. is
amended to read:

Subdivision I. REQUIREMENT OF DECLARATION. (1) Every in-
dividual shall, at the time prescribed in subdivision 5 of this section, make and
file with the commissioner a declaration of his estimated tax for the taxable
year if

(a) The gross income (as defined in section 290.01, subdivision 20) for
the taxable year can reasonably be expected to exceed the gross income
amounts set forth in section 290.37, subdivision I pertaining to the requirements
for making a return; and

(b) Such gross income can reasonably be expected to include more than
$500 from sources other than wages upon which a tax has been deducted and
withheld under section 290.92, subdivision 2a or subdivision 3.

(2) If the individual is an infant or incompetent person, the declaration
shall be made by his guardian.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, no declaration is
required if the estimated tax (as defined in subdivision 3) can reasonably be
expected to be less than $50 SIOO.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.93, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. ESTIMATED TAX DEFINED. For purposes of this section,
in the case of an individual, the term "estimated tax" means the amount which
the individual estimates as the sum of the taxes imposed by this chapter (other
than the tax imposed by_ section 290.091). for the taxable year, minus the
amount which the individual estimates as his allowable credits against income
tax under this chapter.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.93, Subdivision 10, is
amended to read:

Subd. 10. UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX. (1) In the case
of any underpayment of estimated tax by an individual, except as provided in
paragraph (4), there may be added to and become a part of the taxes imposed
by this chapter, for the taxable year an amount determined at the rate specified
in section 270.75 upon the amount of the underpayment for the period of the
underpayment.

(2) For purposes of the preceding paragraph, the amount of underpay-
ment shall be the excess of
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(a) The amount of the installment which would be required to be paid if
the estimated tax were equal to TO 80 percent (66 2/3 percent in the case of
farmers referred to in subdivision 5(2) of this section) of the taxes shown on the
return for the taxable year or the taxes for such year if no return was filed, over

(b) The amount, if any, of the installment paid on or before the last day
prescribed for such payment.

(3) The period of the underpayment shall run from the date the
installment was required to be paid to whichever of the following dates is the
earlier

(a) The 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the taxable
year.

(b) With respect to any portion of the underpayment, the date on which
such portion is paid. For purposes of this sub-paragraph, a payment of
estimated tax on any installment date shall be considered a payment of any
previous underpayment only to the extent such payment exceeds the amount of
the installment determined under paragraph (2) (a) for such installment date.

(4) The addition to the tax with respect to any underpayment of any
installment shall not be imposed if the total amount of all payments of
estimated tax made on or before the last date prescribed for the payment of
such installment equals or exceeds the amount which would have been required
to be paid on or before such date if the estimated tax were whichever of the
following is the lesser

(a) The total tax liability shown on the return of the individual for the
preceding taxable year (if a return showing a liability for such taxes was filed
by the individual for the preceding taxable year of 12 months), or

(b) An amount equal to the tax computed, at the rates applicable to the
taxable year, on the basis of the taxpayer's status with respect to oredks allowed
fey section 290.06, subdivision 3er the personal credits for the taxable year, but
otherwise on th.e basis of the facts shown on his return for, and the law
applicable to the preceding taxable year, or

(c) An amount equal to 70 80 percent (66 2/3 percent in the case of
farmers referred to in subdivision 5(2) of this section) of the tax for the taxable
year (after deducting personal credits) computed by placing on an annualized
basis the taxable income for the months in the taxable year ending before the
month in which the installment is required to be paid. For purposes of this
sub-paragraph, the taxable income shall be placed on an annualized basis by

(i) Multiplying by 12 (or in the case of a taxable year of less than 12
months, the number of months in the taxable year) the taxable income
computed for the months in the taxable year ending before the month in which
the installment is required to be paid.
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(ii) Dividing the resulting amount by the number of months in the
taxable year ending before the month in which such installment date falls, or

(d) An amount equal to 90 percent of the tax computed, at the rates
applicable to the taxable year, on the basis of the actual taxable income for the
months in the taxable year ending before the month in which the installment is
required to be paid.

(5) For the purposes of applying this subdivision, the estimated tax shall
be computed without any reduction for the amount which the individual
estimates as his credit under section 290.92, subdivision 12 (relating to tax
withheld at source on wages), and the amount of such credit for the taxable
year shall be deemed a payment of estimated tax, and an equal part of such
amount shall be deemed paid on each installment date (determined under
subdivisions 6 and 7 of this section) for such taxable year, unless the taxpayer
establishes the dates on which all amounts were actually withheld, in which
case the amounts so withheld shall be deemed payments of estimated tax on the
dates on which such amounts were actually withheld.

(6) :Phe application ef tfeis subdivision te taxable years of less than 44
months shall be in accordance with regulations prescribed by the commissioner.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.931, Subdivision 1, is
amended to read:

Subdivision 1. REQUIREMENTS OF DECLARATION. Every cor-
poration subject to taxation under this chapter (excluding section sections
290.091 and 290.92) shall make a declaration of estimated tax for the taxable
year if its tax liability so computed can reasonably be expected to exceed
$1,000.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.934, Subdivision 4, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4. EXCEPTION. Notwithstanding the provisions of the pre-
ceding subdivisions, the addition to the tax with respect to any underpayment
of any installment shall not be imposed if the total amount of all payments of
estimated tax made on or before the last date prescribed for the payment of
such installment equals or exceeds the amount which would have been required
to be paid on or before such date if the estimated tax were whichever of the
following is the lesser

(1) The tax shown on the return of the corporation for the preceding
taxable year reduced by $1.000. if a return showing a liability for tax was filed
by the corporation for the preceding taxable year and such preceding year was
a taxable year of 12 months.

{2} An amount equal to the tax computed at the rates applicable to the
taxable year but otherwise on the basis of the facts shown on the return of the
corporation for, and the law applicable to, the preceding taxable year.
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Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290.934, Subdivision 5, is
amended to read:

Subd. 5. DEFINITION OF TAX. The term "tax" means the e*e«ss ef
th« tax imposed by chapter 290 eve* $4.000.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.03, Subdivision 8, is
amended to read:

Subd. 8. CLAIMANT. "Claimant" means a person, other than a
dependent, who filed a claim authorized by sections 290A.01 to 290A.2I and
who was domiciled in this state during the calendar year for which the claim for
relief was filed. In the case of a claim relating to rent constituting property
taxes, the claimant shall have resided in a rented or leased unit on which ad
valorem taxes or payments made in lieu of ad valorem taxes are payable at
some time during the calendar year covered by the claim, except that a
claimant who is disabled or who has attained the age of 65 on the date specified
in section 290A.04, subdivision 1, may file a claim based on residence in a unit
on which ad valorem taxes were not payable. In the case of a claim for rent
constituting property taxes of a part year resident, the income and rental
reflected in this computation shall be for the period of Minnesota residency
only. Any rental expenses paid which may be reflected in arriving at federal
adjusted gross income cannot be utilized for this computation. When two
individuals of a household are able to meet the qualifications for a claimant,
they may determine among them as to who the claimant shall be. If they are
unable to agree, the matter shall be referred to the commissioner of revenue
and his decision shall be final. If a homestead property owner was a part year
resident, the income reflected in the computation made pursuant to section
290A.04 shall be for the entire calendar year, including income not assignable
to Minnesota.

If a homestead is occupied by two or more renters, who are not husband
and wife, the rent shall be deemed to be paid equally by each, and separate
claims shall be filed by each. The income of each shall be his household
income for purposes of computing the amount of credit to be allowed.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.07, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. A claimant who is a renter or who had attained the age of 65
or had been disabled prior to June 1 of the year following the year for which
the taxes were levied or in which the rent was paid shall receive f u l l payment no
later than 60 days after receipt of the application or may elect to take as a
credit against his income tax the ful l amount. Interest shall be added at six
percent per annum beginning 30 dayjj after the 60 days have elapsed and until
the date the claim is paid. If the claimant ejected to take the credit against the
income tax, interest shall be paid as required under section 290.92. subdivision
TI
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Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.07, Subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. Any claimant not included in subdivision 2 shall receive full
payment after September 30 and prior to October 15. Interest shall be added
at six percent per annum from October ^5 or 60 days after receipt of the
application if the application is filed after August 31. Interest will be comput-
ed unti l the date the claim is paid.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.08, is amended to
read:

290A.08 ONE CLAIMANT PER HOUSEHOLD.

Only one claimant per household per year is entitled to relief under
sections 290A.01 to 290A.21. Payment of the claim for relief may be made
payable to the husband and wife as one claimant. The commissioner, upon
written request, may issue separate checks, to the husband and wife for one-half
of the relief provided the original check has not been issued or has been
returned. Individuals related as husband and wife who were married during
the year may elect (o file a joint claim which shall include each spouse's
income, rent constituting property taxes, and property taxes payable. The
maximum dollar amount allowable for a joint claim shall not exceed the
amount that one person could receive.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.I1, Subdivision 2, is
amended to read:

Subd. 2. FRAUDULENT CLAIM; PENALTY. In any case in which
it is determined that the claim is or was excessive and was filed with fraudulent
intent, the claim shall be disallowed in ful l . If the claim has been paid, the
amount disallowed shall be recovered by assessment and collection in the
manner'provided in chapter 290 for collection of income tax. The assessment
shall bear interest from the date the claim is paid by the state until the date of
repayment by the claimant, at the rate ef si* percent pef annum specified in
section 210.15. The claimant, and any person who assisted in the preparation
of f i l ing of the excessive claim or supplied information upon which the
excessive claim was prepared, with fraudulent intent, is guilty of a misdemean-
or.

Any person who knowingly prepares, assists in preparing, or files false or
excessive claims with the intent of defrauding the state of Minnesota of $2.500
or more, aggregated within any ^2 month period, is guilty of a felony and upon
conviction may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to
pay mem of a f ine of not more than $10.000. or both.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 290A.11, Subdivision 4. is
amended to read:
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Subd. 4. INTEREST. Amounts to be repaid to the slate shall bear
interest at si* percent pef annum the rate specified in section 270/75 from the
date the state paid the claim until the date of repayment by the claimant.

Sec. 42. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 1980. Section 290.032. Subdivision 4, is repealed.

Sec. 43. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 290A.07. Subdivision 4, is repealed.

Sec. 44. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections l^l^UJ,^),^^^^ 31, and 33 are effective the day
after final enactment. Sections 3. 4. 6, 7, K). \2, |3. U, 15. 16. IT, 19. 27 and
42 are effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 1980. Section
2, Subdivisions \ to 6, are effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 198fl Section 2, Subdivision 7, is effective the day after enactment.
Section 5 is effective for taxable years beginning after December 3_1_, 1980
provided that interest on investment indebtedness pajd or accrued in a taxable
year beginning before January 1, 1981 may not be carried over to taxable years
beginning after December 31. 1980. Section 9 is effective for estates of
decedents dying after December 31, J979. Sections 24, 25, 26 and 28 are
effective July 1, 1981. Sections 30 and 32 are effective for taxable years
beginning after December 3j, 1981. Sections 34 and 35 are effective for
taxable years beginning after June 30, 198L Sections 39 and 41 are effective
for claims based on rent paid in 1980 and subsequent years and property taxes
payable in 1981 and subsequent years. Sections 36, 37, 38, and 43 are effective
for claims based on rent paid in 1981 and subsequent years and property taxes
payable in 1982 and subsequent years. That part of section 40 that relates to
interest rates is effective for claims based on rent paid m 1980 and subsequent
years and property taxes payable in 198J^ and subsequent years. That part of
section 40 that relates to the crime of defrauding the state is effective the day
after enactment.

Approved June I, 1981

CHAPTER 344 —H.F.No. 1210

An act relating Co taxation; providing Chat an electing small business corporation
for federal income tax purposes shall be an electing small business corporation for
Minnesota income tax purposes; amending Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections 290.01,
Subdivision 20; 290.974; proposing new law coded in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 290;
repealing Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections 290.971; 290.972; and 290.975.
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