RESOLUTION 2–S.F.No. 445

A resolution relating to Lake of the Woods.

WHEREAS, the Lake of the Woods is the largest lake in Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the health and sustainability of Lake of the Woods is of vital importance to the social and economic sustainable development of Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency has placed Lake of the Woods on Minnesota's section 303(d) list of impaired waters approved by the Environmental Protection Agency in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Lake of the Woods is a boundary water as defined in the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909; and

WHEREAS, the 1925 Lake of the Woods Convention and Protocol assigned certain water level related responsibilities to the International Joint Commission; the International Joint Commission at present has no direct responsibilities for Lake of the Woods water quality, but since 1965, has monitored and reported to governments on Rainy River water quality, a major tributary and source of water to Lake of the Woods; and

WHEREAS, the International Joint Commission has brought concerns over potentially deteriorating water quality in the Lake of the Woods to the attention of the governments of the United States and Canada, and has recommended investigation by the International Joint Commission in cooperation with appropriate agencies, including those from Minnesota, Ontario, and Manitoba; and

WHEREAS, the International Joint Commission could help coordinate scientific investigation, monitoring and recommend actions across the multiple jurisdictions around the Lake of the Woods to ensure timely and effective investigation; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota that it supports the Lake of the Woods Water Sustainability Foundation in its request that the question of Lake of the Woods water quality be referred to the International Joint Commission for examination and report.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of State of the State of Minnesota is directed to prepare copies of this memorial and transmit them to the Governor of Minnesota, the President of the United States, the United States Department of State, and Minnesota's Senators and Representatives in Congress.