## **EXTRA SESSION**

## CHAPTER 61—H. F. No. 33

An act relating to judicial districts; amending Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 2.722, Subdivision 2, as amended.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

- Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 2.722, Subdivision 2, as amended by Laws 1959, Chapter 701, Section 1, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Tenth judicial district; number of judges.** Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts two or more judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:
- 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, LeSueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe;
  - 2. Ramsey; eight judges;
- 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmstead, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; five judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Owatonna, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;
  - 4. Hennepin; 14 judges;
- 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; five judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmount, New Ulm, and Mankato;
  - 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; six judges;
- 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
- 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; three judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Glenwood, Montevideo, and Litchfield;

Changes or additions indicated by italics, deletions by strikeout.

- 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass, and Koochiching; six judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls;
- 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, Washington; three four judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Lindstrom, Center City; and Stillwater; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Lindstrom-Center City, and Stillwater.

Approved June 5, 1961.

## EXTRA SESSION CHAPTER 62—H. F. No. 56

## [Coded]

An act relating to charges for care of patients at state institutions for the mentally retarded and the epileptic, and the liability of patients, relatives of patients and counties for such charges; repealing Minnesota Statutes 1957, Section 252.04, as amended.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota:

- Section 1. [252.041] Charges for patient care; definitions. Subdivision 1. For the purposes of this act, the terms set out in subdivisions 2 to 8 have the meanings ascribed to them.
- Subd. 2. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public welfare.
- Subd. 3. "State institution" means a state institution for the mentally retarded or epileptic now existing or hereafter established, or any state institution where the mentally retarded are receiving care.
- Subd. 4. "Patient" means any person receiving care or treatment at such a state institution whether he entered such institution voluntarily or under commitment.
- Subd. 5. "Cost of care" means the commissioner's determination of the average per capita cost of all maintenance,

Changes or additions indicated by italics, deletions by strikeout.