Approved-March fifth, one thousand eight hundred and fiftythree.

ALEX. RAMSEY.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, St. Paul, March 16, 1853.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of the original on file in this office.

ALEX. WILKIN,

Secretary of the Territory of Minnesota.

March 5, 1853.

CHAPTER III .- AN ACT to establish the terms of the Supreme and District Courts of the Territory, and for other purposes.

Terms of Supreme Court.

Be it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Minnesota, That there shall be two terms of the Supreme Court annually at the seat of Government of said Territory, to be held on the last Monday of February and the first Monday of September, in each year, and such other special terms thereof as the judges of said court may deem necessary and shall from time to time order. Sec. 2. The terms of the District Court of the Territory shall

Ramsey county.

be held at the times and places following, to wit: In the county of Ramsey, on the third Monday of April and the third Monday of October, in each year.

Washington.

In the county of Washington, on the first Monday of April and on the first Monday of October, in each year.

Chisago.

In the county of Chisago, on the first Monday of June, in each year.

Benton.

In the county of Benton, on the second Monday of June and second Monday of December, in each year.

Hennepin.

In the county of Hennepin, on the first Monday of April and the first Monday of September, in each year.

Dakota.

In the county of Dakota, on the second Monday of September, in each year.

In the county of Scott, on the third Monday of September in

Scott.

each year.

Le Sueur.

In the county of Le Sueur, on the fourth Monday of September, in each year.

Blue Earth.

In the county of Blue Earth, on the first Monday of October, in

each year.

Nicollet.

In the county of Nicollet, on the second Monday of October, in each year.

Wabasha.

In the county of Wabasha, on the second Monday in June, in each year.

In the county of Fillmore, on the fourth Monday of June, in

Fillmore.

each year. The counties of Ramsey, Washington and Chisago,

First district.

shall constitute the first judicial district and the Hon. H. Z. Hayner, or any judge appointed in his place, is hereby assigned to the same as district judge thereof.

The counties west of the Mississippi river, except the counties of Pembina and Cass, shall constitute the second judicial district, and the Hon. David Cooper, or any judge appointed in his place, is hereby assigned to the same as district judge thereof.

And the counties of Benton, Cass and Pembina, shall constitute the third judicial district, and the Hon. B. B. Meeker, or any judge appointed in his place, is hereby assigned as district judge thereof.

Sec. 4. Either of the district judges are hereby authorized and empowered to hold any of the district courts assigned to any of the other district judges, or any of the special terms appointed to be held, not within his own district, or any of the chamber duties within each district at the request of the district judge to whom such district is assigned.

SEC. 5. For judicial and other purposes, to enforce civil rights and criminal justice, the county of Itasca is hereby attached to and made a part of Chisago, and for that purpose, all the officers necessary to effect the same, belonging to the county of Chisago, shall have and exercise full jurisdiction, power and authority over, and act in and for the county of Itasca as fully as if they were a part of the same. And for the like purposes and to the same extent, the counties of Cass and Pembina are hereby attached to the county of Benton. And for the like purposes and to the same extent, the county of Sibley is hereby attached to the county of Hennepin. And for the like purposes and to the same extent, the county of Pierce is hereby attached to the county of Nicollet. And for the like purposes and to the same extent, the county of Rice is hereby attached to the county of Dakota. And for the like purposes and to the same extent, the county of Goodhue is hereby attached to the county of Wabasha. Provided, That this act shall not interfere with the legal exercise of authority by the officers of the counties attached.

Sec. 7. All laws and parts of acts inconsistent with this act are hereby repealed, and this act is to take effect from its passage.

DAVID DAY,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

MARTIN McLEOD,

President of the Council.

APPROVED—March the fifth, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-three.

ALEX. RAMSEY.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, St. Paul, March 19, 1853.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy of the original on file in this office,

ALEX. WILKIN,

Secretary of the Territory of Minnesota.

Second district.

Third district.

Who may hold court.

Itasca county.

Cass & Pembina.

Sibley.

Pierce.

Goodhue.