This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

State of Minnesota

Printed Page No.

338

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

NINETY-THIRD SESSION

H. F. No. 3448

02/12/2024 Authored by Hassan and Xiong
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Economic Development Finance and Policy
03/25/2024 Adoption of Report: Placed on the General Register

A bill for an act

Read for the Second Time
04/08/2024 Referred to the Chief Clerk for Comparison with S. F. No. 4027

04/09/2024 Postponed Indefinitely

1.1

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.2 1.3	relating to economic development; modifying the membership of the energy transition advisory committee; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section
1.4	116J.5492, subdivision 2.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.5492, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.7	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory committee consists of 18 voting members and
1.8	eight ex officio nonvoting members.
1.9	(b) The voting members of the advisory committee are appointed by the commissioner
1.10	of employment and economic development, except as specified below:
1.11	(1) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader of the senate and
1.12	one appointed by the minority leader of the senate;
1.13	(2) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
1.14	house of representatives and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of
1.15	representatives;
1.16	(3) one representative of the Prairie Island Indian community;
1.17	(4) four representatives of impacted communities, of which two must represent counties

and two must represent municipalities, and, to the extent possible, of the impacted facilities

in those communities, at least one must be a coal plant, at least one must be a nuclear plant,

(5) three representatives of impacted workers at impacted facilities;

Section 1.

and at least one must be a natural gas plant;

11/22/23	REVISOR	EB/LN	24-05432

2.1	(6) one representative of impacted workers employed by companies that, under contract,
2.2	regularly perform construction, maintenance, or repair work at an impacted facility;
2.3	(7) one representative with professional economic development or workforce retraining
2.4	experience;
2.5	(8) two representatives of utilities that operate an impacted facility;
2.6	(9) one representative from a nonprofit organization with expertise and experience
2.7	delivering energy efficiency and conservation programs; and
2.8	(10) one representative of a school district facing revenue loss due to energy transition;
2.9	<u>and</u>
2.10	(10) (11) one representative from the Coalition of Utility Cities.
2.11	(c) The ex officio nonvoting members of the advisory committee consist of:
2.12	(1) the governor or the governor's designee;
2.13	(2) the commissioner of employment and economic development or the commissioner's
2.14	designee;
2.15	(3) the commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;
2.16	(4) the commissioner of labor and industry or the commissioner's designee;
2.17	(5) the commissioner of revenue or the commissioner's designee;
2.18	(6) the executive secretary of the Public Utilities Commission or the secretary's designee;
2.19	(7) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency or the commissioner's designee;
2.20	and
2.21	(8) the chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the chancellor's

Section 1. 2

designee.

2.22