This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

## State of Minnesota

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

NINETY-SECOND SESSION

н. ғ. №. 3878

03/03/2022 Authored by Nelson, N.; Raleigh; Nash and Poston
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Agriculture Finance and Policy

1.2 1.3	relating to agriculture; modifying membership of the Food Safety and Defense Task Force; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 28A.21, subdivision 2.
1.4	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.5	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 28A.21, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.6	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The Food Safety and Defense Task Force consists of:
1.7	(1) the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee;
1.8	(2) the commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee;
1.9	(3) a representative of the United States Food and Drug Administration;
1.10	(4) a representative of the United States Department of Agriculture;
1.11	(5) a representative of the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute;
1.12	(6) one member of the Minnesota Grocers Association;
1.13	(7) one member from the University of Minnesota knowledgeable in food and food
1.14	safety issues; and
1.15	(8) one member from the University of Minnesota knowledgeable in cybersecurity; and
1.16	(8) nine (9) ten members appointed by the governor who are interested in food and food
1.17	safety, of whom:
1.18	(i) two persons are health or food professionals;
1.19	(ii) one person represents a statewide general farm organization;

Section 1.

02/24/22	REVISOR	BD/BM	22-06748
02/24/22	VE A I POL	DD/DIVI	22-00/40

- 2.1 (iii) one person represents a local food inspection agency;
- 2.2 (iv) one person represents a food-oriented consumer group; and
- 2.3 (v) one person represents a Minnesota-based manufacturer of microbial detection
- 2.4 equipment and remediation products-; and
- 2.5 (vi) one person is knowledgeable in cybersecurity.
- (b) Members shall serve without compensation. Members appointed by the governorshall serve four-year terms.
- 2.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Section 1. 2