This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

EIGHTY-SEVENTH SESSION

H. F. No.

03/12/2012 Authored by Peppin

1.1

1.24

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations and Elections

1.2 1.3 1.4	relating to local government; providing for election of the two appointed members of the Three Rivers Park District; amending Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 383B.68, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; repealing Minnesota		
1.5	Statutes 2010, section 383B.68, subdivisions 2, 3.		
1.6	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:		
1.7	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 383B.68, subdivision 1, is amended to read		
1.8	Subdivision 1. As provided in this section. Notwithstanding any provision of		
1.9	sections 398.02 to 398.04, or any other law to the contrary, the Board of Park District		
1.10	Commissioners of the Three Rivers Park District shall consist of seven commissioners		
1.11	appointed or elected as provided in this section.		
1.12	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 383B.68, is amended by adding a subdivision		
1.13	to read:		
1.14	Subd. 3a. Election of park commissioners. (a) Seven park district commissioners		
1.15	shall be elected without party designation to represent those portions of Hennepin County		
1.16	outside of the city of Minneapolis. Elections under this subdivision must be held at the		
1.17	same time and in the same manner as elections for the office of county commissioner.		
1.18	(b) Five park district commissioners shall be elected from districts established		
1.19	pursuant to subdivision 4. Each park district commissioner elected under this paragraph		
1.20	must be a resident of the district represented. No more than one commissioner may be		
1.21	elected from each district. Each park district commissioner serves for a four-year term		
1.22	and until a successor is elected and qualified, except that the term of each park district		
1.23	commissioner elected at the general election held in the year of a federal census shall be		

two years and until a successor is elected and qualifies. At the general election following

Sec. 2. 1

03/07/12	REVISOR	CKM/KS	12-5720

redistricting as required in subdivision 4, the three commissioners from odd-numbered districts shall be elected for four-year terms and the two commissioners from even-numbered districts shall be elected for two-year terms. If a vacancy occurs in the office of any commissioner elected pursuant to this paragraph, the Board of Park District Commissioners shall appoint a successor residing in that district to fill the unexpired term.

(c) Two park district commissioners shall be elected to serve at large. Each at-large commissioner serves a four-year term and until a successor is elected and qualified. If a vacancy occurs in the office of any commissioner elected pursuant to this paragraph, the Board of Park District Commissioners shall appoint a successor to fill the unexpired term.

Sec. 3. TRANSITION.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

The two at-large commissioners shall be elected at the 2012 general election. One at-large commissioner shall be elected for a two-year term and one shall be elected for a four-year term. The 2012 ballot must indicate which position is designated for the two-year term. Thereafter, the at-large commissioners shall serve four-year terms.

Sec. 4. **REPEALER.**

Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 383B.68, subdivisions 2 and 3, are repealed.

Sec. 5. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**

Sections 1 to 4 are effective the day after the board of commissioners of the Three Rivers Park District and its chief clerical officer timely comply with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3, and apply to the election of park commissioners at the 2012 general election and thereafter.

Sec. 5. 2

APPENDIX

Repealed Minnesota Statutes: 12-5720

383B.68 SEVEN HENNEPIN REGIONAL PARK DISTRICT COMMISSIONERS.

Subd. 2. **Two residents appointed by county board.** Two park district commissioners shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Hennepin County. An appointee must be a resident of the Three Rivers Park District in order to qualify and serve as a park district commissioner. Each park district commissioner appointed pursuant to this subdivision shall serve for a four-year term. If a vacancy occurs among the commissioners appointed pursuant to this subdivision, the Board of Commissioners of Hennepin County shall appoint a successor.

Subd. 3. **Five elected from outside Minneapolis.** Five park district commissioners shall be elected as provided in this subdivision to represent those portions of Hennepin County outside of the city of Minneapolis. One park district commissioner shall be elected without party designation from each of the districts established pursuant to subdivision 4. Elections under this subdivision shall be held at the same time and in the same manner as elections for the office of county commissioner beginning at the 1986 general election. Each park district commissioner elected pursuant to this subdivision shall be a resident of the district represented and shall serve for a term of four years and until a successor is elected and qualifies, except that the term of office of each park district commissioner elected at the general election held in the year of a federal census shall be only two years and until a successor is elected and qualifies. At the general election following redistricting as required in subdivision 4, the three commissioners from odd-numbered districts shall be elected for four-year terms and the two commissioners from even-numbered districts shall be elected for two-year terms. If a vacancy occurs in the office of any commissioner elected pursuant to this subdivision, the Board of Park District Commissioners shall appoint a successor residing in that district to fill the unexpired term.